DETAILED ACTION
Regarding Claims 8, 12, 21-40. (Cancelled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. Previous rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/08/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elwell, US-PGPUB 2018/0372364 (hereinafter Elwell) in views of Aggarwal et al., US-PGPUB 2014/0354161 (hereinafter Aggarwal), Fan et al., US-PGPUB 2019/0296550 (hereinafter Fan) and Han et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0049501 (hereinafter Han)
Regarding Claim 1. Elwell discloses providing diagnostic information for an environmental control system using a lighting network that comprises a plurality of intelligent lighting modules (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
collecting ambient environmental data in a room (Paragraph [0025], Fig. 1A, B, room), using at least one environment sensor in an intelligent lighting module in the first group of intelligent lighting modules, the at least one environmental sensor comprising at least one of an ambient temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, or a relative humidity sensor, (Fig. 1B, Fig. 4; Paragraph [0031], using sensors to measure various parameters, including pressure humidity, temperature; Paragraph [0054]), the intelligent lighting module further comprising processing circuitry connected to the at least one environmental sensor and to communication circuitry, the processing circuitry and the communication circuitry positioned within the housing of the intelligent lighting module in the first group of intelligent lighting modules, (Fig. 4, sensors, communication module, transceiver, hardware processor, controller, sensors), transmitting, over one or more networks, the ambient environmental data to the environmental control system (Paragraphs [0037]-[0041], particularly Paragraph [0041]), transmitting, over one or more networks, the diagnostic to the environmental control system, transmitting, over one or more networks, the ambient environmental data and a diagnostic from the communications circuitry of the intelligent lighting module in the first group of intelligent lighting modules to the environmental control system, the diagnostic comprising a fault condition based on a differential measurement (Paragraph [0029], differential pressure sensor in each intelligent lighting modules; Paragraph [0031]; Paragraphs [0034], pressure differential involving one or more volumes of space),
wherein the environmental control system is a heating ventilation and air conditioning system and is configured to adjust at least one of ambient temperature, pressure or humidity within the first room based on the ambient environment data and the diagnostic (Fig. 4; Paragraph [0003], HVAC; [0036]; Paragraph [0042], control and optimization, including adjustments on the pressure differential))
Elwell further discloses positioning the intelligent lighting modules in one or more of any of a number of environments, including climate-controlled or non-climate-controlled locations (Paragraph [0016]), and controlled room (Paragraph [0090]), as well as detecting the differential between the pressure measured by the first and second port of the intelligent lighting module (Abstract; Fig. 1A, differential pressure between plenum volume of space 182 that is not controlled and occupiable volume of space that is controlled 181 based on the first and second ports of the intelligent lighting module, Paragraph [0005], pressure sensors) to determine a faulty condition (Paragraph [0042], excessively high differential)
Elwell does not explicitly disclose monitoring a differential measurement between the ambient environmental data collected by the first group of intelligent lighting modules and ambient environmental data collected by the second group of intelligent lighting modules, wherein the fault condition is provided by comparing the differential measurement to previously established baseline differences between the first group of intelligent lighting modules and the second group of intelligent lighting modules, first group of intelligent lighting modules in a first room in a controlled environment and the second group of intelligent lighting modules in a second room outside the controlled environment, detecting a diagnostic comprising a fault condition of the differential measurement. Elwell also does not disclose the differential measurement being configured to account for a pressure offset based on dissimilar mounting heights of the first group of intelligent lighting modules relative to the second group of lighting modules
Aggarwal discloses intelligent lighting devices with sensors for detecting one or more external conditions and networked system using such devices (Paragraph [0032]), a first group of intelligent lighting modules and a second group of lighting modules, the first group of intelligent lighting modules being positioned in an adjacent room relative to the second group of intelligent lighting modules (Abstract; Paragraph [0006], Intelligent lighting devices, Paragraph [0020], [0033]-[0038]; Fig. 1, group of intelligent lighting devices 11A’s, 11B’s in each different rooms, Paragraph [0087]-[0090]; Fig. 2, although the figure 2 discloses a single enhanced fixture in each room, said figure is merely an example, and based on Figure 1 that shows a group of intelligent lighting modules in each room, it’s obvious that group of intelligent lighting modules can be positioned in an adjacent room relative to the second group of intelligent lighting modules as well.; Paragraphs [0005]-[0009])
Fan discloses comparing the differential measurement to previously established baseline differences between the first group of intelligent lighting modules and the second group of intelligent lighting modules (Paragraphs [0086]-[0087], as an example, temperature differences between rooms 12A and 12B, where each rooms has more than one smart light switches as disclosed in Paragraph [0027], with each smart switches having temperature sensor as disclosed in Paragraph [0037])
Han discloses the differential measurement is configured to account for a pressure offset based on the differential height of the first environmental sensor relative to the second environmental sensor (Paragraph [0056], pressure difference between the floors using the pressure measured by the mobile devices on different floors. Fig. 1-7, temperature difference between the floors, Abstract; Paragraphs [0001]-[0002]; Paragraph [0008], HVAC) ;
Elwell discloses determining the differential measurement from controlled and uncontrolled spaces using the intelligent lighting modules (Fig. 1B, 102’s in 181 and 182, respectively) to detect a fault condition of the differential measurement as shown above. The claim recites the controlled and uncontrolled locations to be rooms, but the locations being rooms is not critical (and the Applicant’s original disclosure does not disclose any such criticality. Meanwhile, Fan discloses comparing differential measurements to the baseline differential values. As such, at the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Aggarwal and Fan in Elwell and have a first group of intelligent lighting modules and a second group of lighting modules, the first group of intelligent lighting modules being positioned in a first room comprising a controlled environment and the second group of intelligent lighting modules being positioned in a second room that is outside the controlled environment, monitoring a differential measurement between the ambient environmental data collected by the first group of intelligent lighting modules and ambient environmental data collected by the second group of intelligent lighting modules, wherein the fault condition is provided by comparing the differential measurement to previously established baseline differences between the first group of intelligent lighting modules and the second group of intelligent lighting modules, first group of intelligent lighting modules in a first room in a controlled environment and the second group of intelligent lighting modules in a second room outside the controlled environment, detecting a diagnostic comprising a fault condition of the differential measurement, wherein the differential measurement being configured to account for a pressure offset based on dissimilar mounting heights of the first group of intelligent lighting modules relative to the second group of lighting modules, so as to efficiently utilize the intelligent lighting modules in various applications, locations, systems and configurations.
Regarding Claim 2. Elwell discloses providing diagnostic to the remote device (Fig. 4, network manager 480; Paragraph [0038]; Paragraph [0052], send the results to the network manager)
Regarding Claim 3. Elwell discloses providing diagnostic to a user interface device (Fig. 4, user 450; Paragraph [0037])
Regarding Claims 4 and 5. Elwell discloses receiving control information from the environmental control system and using the control information in determining the diagnostic, wherein the control information comprises a set-point of the environmental control system (Paragraph [0042], threshold)
Regarding Claim 6. Elwell discloses the ambient environmental data is collected from each intelligent lighting module from a first group of intelligent lighting modules in the lighting network (Fig. 1B, 102’s)
Regarding Claim 7. Elwell discloses the ambient environmental data comprises air pressure data (Paragraph [0042])
Regarding Claim 13. Elwell discloses a lighting system, comprising:
a lighting fixture (Figs.1, 102’s; Fig. 4, 402);
a first intelligent lighting module in a plurality of intelligent lighting modules, comprising an environmental sensor (Fig. 4, 460; Paragraph [0031]); and a processing device in communication with the plurality of intelligent lighting modules (Fig. 4, controller 404) and the first intelligent lighting module comprising a first environmental sensor comprising at least one of an ambient temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, or a relative humidity sensor, the second intelligent lighting module comprising a second environmental sensor comprising at least one of an ambient temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, or a relative humidity sensor, the first environmental sensor being mounted at a different height than the second environmental sensor (Paragraph [0031], using sensors to measure various parameters, including pressure humidity, temperature; Paragraphs [0044]-[0045], various types of environmental sensors), and a processing device in communication with the intelligent lighting modules configured to: receive environmental data from the first and second environmental sensors (Paragraph [0054]) and transmit, over one or more networks, diagnostic information to the environmental control system, the diagnostic information including the potential failure of the environmental control system and the environmental data, the potential failure based on a differential measurement between the environmental data (Fig. 4; Paragraphs [0034]-[0042]; Paragraph [0052]),
Elwell further discloses positioning the intelligent lighting modules in one or more of any of a number of environments, including climate-controlled or non-climate-controlled locations (Paragraph [0016]), and controlled room (Paragraph [0090]), as well as detecting the differential between the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor measured by the first and second port of the intelligent lighting module (Abstract; Fig. 1A, differential between plenum volume of space 182 that is not controlled and occupiable volume of space that is controlled 181 based on the first and second ports of the intelligent lighting module, Paragraph [0005], pressure sensors) to determine a faulty condition (Paragraph [0042], excessively high differential), wherein the environmental control system is a heating ventilation and air conditioning system and is configured to adjust at least one of ambient temperature, pressure or humidity within the first room based on the ambient environment data and the diagnostic (Fig. 4; Paragraph [0003], HVAC; [0036]; Paragraph [0042], control and optimization, including adjustments on the pressure differential)
Elwell does not explicitly disclose monitoring a differential measurement between the first group of intelligent lighting modules in a first room in a controlled environment and the second group of intelligent lighting modules in a second room outside the controlled environment, detecting a diagnostic comprising a fault condition of the differential measurement between the environmental data from the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor as compared to previously established baseline differences between the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor, and wherein the differential measurement is configured to account for a pressure offset based on the differential height of the first environmental sensor relative to the second environmental sensor.
Aggarwal discloses intelligent lighting devices with sensors for detecting one or more external conditions and networked system using such devices (Paragraph [0032], temperature a first group of intelligent lighting modules and a second group of lighting modules, the first group of ILMs being positioned in an adjacent room relative to the second group of ILMs (Abstract; Paragraph [0006], Intelligent lighting device, Paragraph [0020]; Fig. 1, group of intelligent lighting devices 11A’s in each room, Paragraph [0087]-[0090]; Fig. 2, although the figure 2 discloses a single enhanced fixture in each room, said figure is merely an example, and based on Figure 1 that shows a group of ILMs in each room, it’s obvious that group of ILMs can be positioned in an adjacent room relative to the second group of ILMs as well.; Paragraphs [0005]-[0009])
Fan discloses a fault condition of the differential measurement between the environmental data from the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor as compared to previously established baseline differences between the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor (Paragraphs [0086]-[0087], Paragraph [0027], Paragraph [0037])
Han discloses the differential measurement being configured to account for a pressure offset based on dissimilar mounting heights of the first group of intelligent lighting modules relative to the second group of lighting modules (Paragraph [0056], pressure difference between the floors using the pressure measured by the mobile devices on different floors. Fig. 1-7, temperature difference between the floors, Abstract; Paragraphs [0001]-[0002]; Paragraph [0008], HVAC) ;
Elwell discloses determining the differential measurement from controlled and uncontrolled spaces using the intelligent lighting modules (Fig. 1B, 102’s in 181 and 182, respectively) to detect a fault condition of the differential measurement as shown above. The claim recites the controlled and uncontrolled locations to be rooms, but the locations being rooms is not critical (and the Applicant’s original disclosure does not disclose any such criticality. As such, at the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Aggarwal and Fan in Elwell and have a first group of intelligent lighting modules and a second group of lighting modules, the first group of intelligent lighting modules being positioned in a first room comprising a controlled environment and the second group of intelligent lighting modules being positioned in a second room that is outside the controlled environment, monitoring a differential measurement between the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor, detecting a diagnostic comprising a fault condition of the differential measurement from the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor as compared to previously established baseline differences between the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor, wherein the differential measurement is configured to account for a pressure offset based on the differential height of the first environmental sensor relative to the second environmental sensor, so as to efficiently utilize the intelligent lighting modules in various applications, systems and configurations.
Regarding Claim 14. Elwell discloses the intelligent lighting module comprises the processing device (Fig. 4; controller 404).
Regarding Claim 15. Elwell discloses the first intelligent lighting module further comprises a occupancy sensor (Paragraph [0092]) and an ambient light sensor (Paragraph [0030]), the first intelligent lighting module is configured to generate an intelligent lighting module instruction based on sensor data from at least one of the environmental sensor, the occupancy sensor, or the ambient light sensor, and a driver module of the lighting fixture drives a light source based on the intelligent lighting module instruction (Paragraph [0030], parameter such as ambient light affecting the operation of the light fixture)
Regarding Claim 16. Elwell discloses the processing device communicates with the plurality of intelligent lighting modules using wired communication circuitry or wireless communication circuitry (Paragraph [0037])
Regarding Claim 17. Elwell discloses the processing device is configured to receive the environmental data from a plurality of intelligent lighting modules, each intelligent lighting module in the plurality of intelligent lighting modules comprising an environmental sensor (Fig. 1’s; Paragraphs [0028]-[0029], 102’s; Paragraph [0029])
Regarding Claim 18. Elwell discloses the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor comprise at least one of an ambient temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, or a relative humidity sensor (Paragraphs [0031]-[0032])
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elwell, US-PGPUB 2018/0372364 in views of Aggarwal, US-PGPUB 2014/0354161 and, Fan, US-PGPUB 2019/0296550, Lizst et al., US Pat No. 9,894,740 (hereinafter Liszt) and Han, US-PGPUB 2020/0049501.
Regarding Claim 19. Elwell discloses an intelligent lighting module for a lighting fixture that has a light source that outputs light for general illumination (Fig. 4; Paragraph [0036]), the intelligent lighting module comprising:
a first environmental sensor within the housing, the first environmental sensor comprising at least one of an ambient temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, or a relative humidity sensor in a room with a controlled environment (Fig. 1B, Fig. 4; Paragraph [0031], using sensors to measure various parameters, including pressure humidity, temperature; Paragraph [0054]),) in a location with a controlled environment (Fig.1A, 181);
processing circuitry within the housing (Fig. 4, controller 404) and configured to receive environmental data from the first environmental sensor, at least one of the temperature data, the pressure data, or the humidity data to provide a diagnostic of an environmental control system, the diagnostic comprising a fault condition of a differential measurement, the differential measurement based on at least one of the temperature data, the pressure data, or the humidity (Paragraph [0005]; Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]) and communications circuitry within the housing and configured to send the diagnostic of the environmental control system, and based on the diagnostic, send at least the temperature data, the pressure data or the humidity data to another device (Paragraph [0034]-[0042]; Paragraph [0052]-[0053])),
Elwell further discloses positioning the intelligent lighting modules in one or more of any of a number of environments, including climate-controlled or non-climate-controlled locations (Paragraph [0016]), and controlled room (Paragraph [0090]), as well as detecting the differential between the first environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor measured by the first and second port of the intelligent lighting module (Abstract; Fig. 1A, differential between plenum volume of space 182 that is not controlled and occupiable volume of space that is controlled 181 based on the first and second ports of the intelligent lighting module, Paragraph [0005], pressure sensors) to determine a faulty condition (Paragraph [0042], excessively high differential)
Elwell does not disclose the diagnostic based on at least one of the temperature data, the pressure data, or the humidity data and additional data from a second environmental sensor in a controlled room, and additional data from the second environmental sensor in an adjacent room that is outside the controlled environment, and a housing configured to releasably engage with a wall switch, a lighting network coordinator, or a zone controller of an intelligent lighting network, and wherein the fault condition is provided by comparing the differential measurement to previously established baseline differences between the environmental sensor and the second environmental sensor in the adjacent room, wherein the differential measurements is configured to account for a pressure offset based on the different height of the first environmental sensor relative to the second environmental sensor
Liszt discloses the intelligent lighting module further comprising a housing configured to releasably engage with a lighting fixture, a well switch or a lighting network coordinator (Col. 9, lines 34-67; Col. 10, lines 1-53; Col. 11, lines 31-41. When replaced and newly attached to the cradle, new ILM networks with other lighting fixtures or remote entities. The cradle is at least a lighting network coordinator as the new ILM is attached to the cradle to engage in networking.)
Aggarwal discloses intelligent lighting devices with sensors for detecting one or more external conditions and networked system using such devices (Paragraph [0032], temperature) a first group of intelligent lighting modules and a second group of lighting modules, the first group of ILMs being positioned in an adjacent room relative to the second group of ILMs (Abstract; Paragraph [0006], Intelligent lighting device, Paragraph [0020]; Fig. 1, group of intelligent lighting devices 11A’s in each room, Paragraph [0087]-[0090]; Fig. 2, although the figure 2 discloses a single enhanced fixture in each room, said figure is merely an example, and based on Figure 1 that shows a group of ILMs in each room, it’s obvious that group of intelligent lighting modules can be positioned in an adjacent room relative to the second group of intelligent lighting modules as well.; Paragraphs [0005]-[0009])
Fan discloses the fault condition is provided by comparing the differential measurement to previously established baseline differences between the environmental sensor and the other environmental sensor in the adjacent room (Paragraphs [0086]-[0087], Paragraph [0027], Paragraph [0037])
Han discloses the differential measurements is configured to account for a pressure offset based on the different height of the first environmental sensor relative to the second environmental sensor (Paragraph [0056], pressure difference between the floors using the pressure measured by the mobile devices on different floors. Fig. 1-7, temperature difference between the floors, Abstract; Paragraphs [0001]-[0002]; Paragraph [0008], HVAC) ;
Elwell discloses determining the differential measurement from controlled and uncontrolled spaces using the intelligent lighting modules (Fig. 1B, 102’s in 181 and 182, respectively) to detect a fault condition of the differential measurement as shown above. The claim recites the controlled and uncontrolled locations to be rooms, but the locations being rooms is not critical (and the Applicant’s original disclosure does not disclose any such criticality. As such, at the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Aggarwal and Liszt in Elwell and have an environmental sensor configured to detect at least one of temperature data, pressure data, or humidity data in a room with a controlled environment, the diagnostic based on at least one of the temperature data, the pressure data, or the humidity data and additional data from another environmental sensor in a controlled room, and additional data from another environmental sensor in an adjacent room that is outside the controlled environment in an improved networked arrangement and have a housing configured to releasably engage with the lighting fixture, wherein the fault condition is provided by comparing the differential measurement to previously established baseline differences between the environmental sensor and the other environmental sensor in the adjacent room, wherein the differential measurements is configured to account for a pressure offset based on the different height of the first environmental sensor relative to the second environmental sensor so as to efficiently utilize the intelligent lighting modules in various applications, locations, systems and configurations.
Regarding Claim 20. Liszt discloses the intelligent lighting module is configured to be installed in the wall controller, the lighting network coordinator or the zone controller with a snap-fit connection (Col. 9, lines 34-67; Col. 10, lines 1-53; Col. 11, lines 31-41. When replaced and newly attached to the cradle, new ILM networks with other lighting fixtures or remote entities. The cradle is at least a lighting network coordinator as the new ILM is attached to the cradle to engage in networking.)
Claim 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elwell, US-PGPUB 2018/0372364 in views of Aggarwal, US-PGPUB 2014/0354161, Fan, US-PGPUB 2019/0296550 and Han, US-PGPUB 2020/0049501, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wentzloff et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0041383 (hereinafter Wentzloff)
Regarding Claims 9 and 10 Elwell discloses the ambient environmental data comprises at least one of temperature data and relative humidity and (Claim 10. further comprising detecting temperature cycles in the temperature data or relative humidity cycles in the relative humidity data, wherein the temperature cycles are based on a fast Fourier transform of the temperature data).
Wentzloff discloses performing the diagnostic of the environmental control system comprises detecting cycles of the environmental control system from the ambient environmental data (Claim 9) wherein the ambient environmental data comprises at least one of temperature data and relative humidity data; and the cycles of the environmental control system are detected based on at least one of temperature cycles and relative humidity cycles in the at least one of temperature data and relative humidity data (Claim 10. further comprising determining the temperature cycles from a fast Fourier transform of the temperature data) (Paragraph [0098]; Abstract; Paragraph [0002]; Paragraph [0046])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Wentloff in Elwell and perform the diagnostic of the environmental control system comprising detecting cycles of the environmental control system from the ambient environmental data (Claim 9) wherein the ambient environmental data comprises at least one of temperature data and relative humidity data, and the cycles of the environmental control system are detected based on at least one of temperature cycles and relative humidity cycles in the at least one of temperature data and relative humidity data (Claim 10. further comprising determining the temperature cycles from a fast Fourier transform of the temperature data, so as to accurately monitor the environmental control system such as HVAC.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elwell, US-PGPUB 2018/0372364 in views of Fan, US-PGPUB 2019/0296550, Aggarwal, US-PGPUB 2014/0354161, Han, US-PGPUB 2020/0049501 and Wentzloff, US-PGPUB 2021/0041383 as applied to Claim 8 above, and in view of Mowris, US-PGPUB 2019/0195523 (hereinafter Mowris)
Regarding Claim 11. The modified Elwell does not disclose wherein determining that the ambient environmental data indicates a diagnostic further comprises determining a cycle duration of the environmental control system from the ambient environmental data (Claim 12) wherein if the cycle duration is below a first threshold or above a second threshold, the diagnostic indicates a malfunction of the environmental control system
Mowris discloses determining a cycle duration of the environmental control system from the ambient environmental data (Claim 12) wherein if the cycle duration is below a first threshold or above a second threshold, the diagnostic indicates a malfunction of the environmental control system (Figs 4-8; Paragraph [0061], heating and cooling cycle; Paragraph [0063], accidently turned ON or malfunctioning control system, where the ON time greater than threshold; Paragraph [0058]; Paragraph [0065])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Mowris in the modified Elwell and determine a cycle duration of the environmental control system from the ambient environmental data (Claim 12) wherein if the cycle duration is below a first threshold or above a second threshold, the diagnostic indicates a malfunction of the environmental control system, and thereby improve energy efficiency and thermal comfort.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857