DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of claim amendments filed on 28 August 2025.
Claims 1, 11-12 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 9-10 have been canceled.
Claims 19-20 remains withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are presented for examination herein to the extent that the film former is carrageenan, e.g., applicant elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 08/27/2025 has been considered by the Examiner. A signed and initialed copy of the IDS is included with the instant Office Action.
Objections and/or Rejections Withdrawn
The objection of claims 1 and 16 is withdrawn in view of the amendment of claims 1 and 16.
The rejection of claims 11-12 under U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, is withdrawn in view of the amendment of claims 11-12.
Rejections Modified as Necessitated by the Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-7, 11-12 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of US 2015/0190333 (publication date: 9 July 2015, hereafter ‘333) and US 2008/0031841 (publication date: 7 February 2008, hereafter ‘841) is maintained.
In claim 16, component d) is optionally, which means it can be present or absent. Art is applied for claims 16-18 where component d) is absent.
US‘333 teaches hair cosmetic (claimed composition for treating keratin fibers) and at [0015] teaches:
US ‘333 at [0025] teaches cyclodextrins and this includes alpha cyclodextrin, beta cyclodextrin and gamma cyclodextrins and also derivatives (claims 1-3 and 16-17) and at [0026] teaches the amount of cyclodextrins, which is from 0.1 to 30% by mass and the claimed amount of 0.1-1 and 0.5-1% is within this amount (claims 1 and 4, respectively) and the claimed amount of claim 16, which is from about 0.1 to about 1% is within the amount taught by US ‘333. US ’333 at [0028] teaches water (drawn to claimed solvent (claims 1 and 5)) and at [0037] teaches:
The above paragraph reads on claims 5-6 and claims 16 and 18. Propylene glycol, 1,3 butane diol, diethylene glycol and dipropylene glycol reads on linear unsubstituted C2-C8 polyols of claim 18. For claim 16, note that the amount 0.1 to about 1% is within the preferred amount which is 0-15% and overlaps with more preferably amount which is 0-6%.
US ’333 at [0045] teaches that the hair cosmetic composition is suitable as a hair styling agent. See also paragraphs [0085-0092] for set retentivity, washability and sprayability. See also examples.
Examples 2-7 and 9-10 has weight percent of cyclodextrin as 5% (alpha or gamma cyclodextrin) and the content of solvent other than water is more preferably as 0-6% and when the solvent other than water is 3 % then the ratio is 5/3 and this is 1.66 and this is within the ratio of about 5:1 to about 1:5 of cyclodextrin: additional solvent (claim 7).
When the amount of cyclodextrin is 5% and when the solvent other than water is 3 % then the ratio is 5/5 and this is 1.00 and this is within the ratio of about 5:1 to about 1:5 of cyclodextrin: additional solvent (claim 7).
When the amount of cyclodextrin is 5% and when the solvent other than water is 1 % then the ratio is 5/1 and this is 5.00 and this is within the ratio of about 5:1 to about 1:5 of cyclodextrin: additional solvent (claim 7).
The difference between US ‘333 and instant application is US ’333 does not teach the claimed film former species.
US ‘841 teaches cosmetic compositions comprising at least one lambda carrageenan ( claims 1 and 16) for fixing and caring of keratin fibers (claimed keratin fibers) and teaches claimed carrageenan at paragraphs [0021-0024] and at [0025] teaches the amount which is 0.1 to 30% by mass and the claimed amount “ about 0.01 to about 1%” and “0.25% to about 0.75%” overlaps with the amount taught by US ‘841 (claims 1 and 11, respectively) and at [ 0348] teaches the cosmetically acceptable medium, which can be water or C1-C4 alcohols and example 2 exemplifies carrageenan and the amount is 1.4% and the ratio of cyclodextrin from the example to the carrageenan from the example is 5/1.4 and this is 3.571 and this is within the “weight ratio of the at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof to the at least one film former ranges from about 2:1 to about 10:1” of claim 1 and also within the “weight ratio of the at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof to the at least one film former ranges from about 2:1 to about 5:1” of claim 12 and also within “weight ratio of the at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof to the at least one film former ranges from about 3:1 to about 10:1”.
Accordingly, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare compositions for treating hair using cyclodextrins taught and exemplified by US’333 and solvent taught by US ‘333 and add the carrageenan taught by US ‘841 to the compositions with the reasonable expectation of success that the modified compositions not only provide preventing keratin fiber (hair) from detangling after application, retain hair setting property after long time even in humidity but also can be used for fixing the hair. This is a prima facie case of obviousness.
The rejection of claims 8 and 13-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of US 2015/0190333 (‘333) and US 2008/0031841 (‘841) as applied to claims 1-7 and 9-12 and 16-18 above, and further in view of US 2019/0125650 (‘650) is maintained.
US ’333 teaches as solvents propylene glycol but not hexylene glycol or pentylene glycol, which are polyols.
The references above do not teach the limitation of claims 13-15 drawn to acids and the amount.
US ‘650 teaches hair care compositions and at [107] teaches cosmetically acceptable solvents and describes propylene glycol and hexylene glycol and at b[0108] teaches pentylene glycol and also propylene glycol. Propylene glycol taught by US ’333 is functionally equivalent to hexylene glycol and also pentylene glycol and all these are solvents.
US ‘650 at [0122] pH adjusters and this includes claimed citric acid and ascorbic acid (claims 13 and15) and teaches the amount at [0125] and this is 0.01 to 0.75% by weight and there is overlap with the claimed amount which is from about 0.1 to about 5% (claim 14).
Accordingly, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare compositions for treating hair using cyclodextrins taught and exemplified by US’333 and solvent taught by US ‘333 and change the solvent from propylene glycol to any solvents including hexylene glycol or pentylene glycol taught by US ‘650 and also add the pH adjusters taught by US ‘650 and add the carrageenan taught by US ‘841 to the compositions and with the reasonable expectation of success that the modified compositions not only provide preventing keratin fiber (hair) from detangling after application, retain hair setting property after long time even in humidity but also can be used for fixing the hair. This is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Tanimura does not teach or suggest the claimed film former species and that Laurent also does not teach or suggest either the claimed “(i) nonionic film forming polymers chosen from vinylpyrrolidone homopolymers” or the claimed “(ii) anionic film forming polymers chosen from the group consisting of carrageenan and xanthan gum” (e.g., applicant elected species is carrageenan).
Applicant's arguments filed on 28 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response, US‘333 (e.g., Tanimura) discloses a hair cosmetic composition for styling hair comprising cyclodextrin, a solvent including water and other solvents other than water (paragraphs [0015], [0026], [0028] and [0037]). US’333 (e.g., Tanimura) discloses that the amount of cyclodextrin is from 0.1 to 30% (paragraph [0026]). US ‘841 (e.g., Laurent) teaches a composition for treating hair including fixing hair (e.g., styling) that comprises lambda-carrageenan (e.g., anionic film forming polymer) (paragraph [0026]). US ‘841 teaches that in the composition the lambda-carrageenan provide better texture, which are less brittle and less hard and is easier to apply (paragraph [0012]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the lambda-carrageenan of US ‘841 (e.g., Laurent) into the composition of US’333 (e.g., Tanimura) in order to obtain a hair cosmetic composition that has additional benefits including provide better texture including less brittle and less hard and which is easier to apply.
Thus, for the reasons of record and for the reasons presented above claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Conclusion and Correspondence
No claims are allowed.
/JOHN P NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600