DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 22-24 are new.
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 10, 12 and 17-18 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 15 and 21 are amended.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11, 13-16 and 19-24 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities: Claims Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasker (CA 2948991 A1) in view of Whitelaw (GB 2496397) or Cioanta (US 20170081000 A1) and Van Rens (WO 2014097054 A2) or Menzes 4922468 A) or Lindberg (US 5530683 A) and Courson (US 6468358 B1) and Sato (US 20180099733 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tasker teaches An anti-fouling system for a vessel [Fig 1 ]comprising a first control module[#18 in Fig 1];
a first set of teach independently controlled transducers capable of producing varying oscillations cooperatively connected to the first control module and mounted within a vessel[#14 are transducers in vessel #100; 0005 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside vessel; Abstract and 0016-0017 has optimizing transducer by modifying output frequency ie producing varying oscillations; See also claim 1];
a second set of teach independently controlled transducers capable of producing varying oscillations cooperatively connected to the first control module and mounted….. to vessel[#14 are transducers in vessel #100; 0005 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside vessel; Abstract and 0016-0017 has optimizing transducer by modifying output frequency ie producing varying oscillations; See also claim 1]
wherein the transducers produce a sound wave able to impinge upon a submerged surface and…..[ships hull];
at least one wave form generator cooperatively connected to the first control module and the transducers[#16 being waveform generator]:
at least one power amplifier cooperatively connected to the at least one wave form generator and the transducers[#24 is amplifier],…..
and at least one sensor cooperatively connected to the first control module[#26 or #28 is sensor], wherein the at least one sensor collects data that the first control module processes to control the first set and the second set of transducers[#26 or #28 is sensor and 0016-0017 have sensors monitoring for feedback control]
a second control module located distal to the vessel and in wireless communication with the first control module; [0016 has microcontroller with other interfaces meaning more computing modules; moreover this appears to be a duplication of parts and location of parts and would not carry much patentable weight] …..
and upon the collection of data from the at least one sensor, the first set or the second set of independently controlled transducers are activated. [ 0016-0017 have sensors monitoring for feedback control]
Tasker does not explicitly teach, ….. external transducers….. wherein the first and second set of transducers are steerable by the first control module….. wherein the at least one power amplifier substantially matches the impedance of the at least one waveform generator…..
wherein the first control module activates the anti-fouling system through detection of the vessel at a predetermined location[this appears to be an intended use or an automated activation and would not have much patentable weight];
Whitelaw teaches independently controlled transducers capable of producing varying oscillations [Abstract has optimizing transducer operation Page 2 Lines 5-25 and claim 5 has each transducer being independently controlled with regards to frequency ie producing varying oscillations]and external transducers[Page 3 Lines 15-25 has externally mounted transducers] and
Cioanta also teaches external transducers [Fig 1 and 2 show transducers external to the vessel]…..wherein the first control module activates the anti-fouling system through detection of the vessel at a predetermined location[0054 and 0080 have the system working autonomously when the vessel is docked as shown in Fig 3]
Van Rens teaches wherein the first and second set of transducers are steerable by the first control module [Fig 1 and Page 6, Lines 15-25]. Similarly Menzes [Col 8, Lines 10-25 and Col 14; Lines 25-40 ] or Lindberg [Title and Abstract and Col 1 Lines 20-25 ]also teaches transducers are steerable.
Menzes also has a second control module located distal to the vessel and in wireless communication with the first control module; [Fig 1 has control unit #10, computer #16 and Analyzer #14 and this appears to be a duplication of parts and would not carry much patentable weight]
Courson teaches wherein the at least one power amplifier substantially matches the impedance of the at least one waveform generator[Claims 6, 7, 8 and Col 4, Lines 30-55 has amplifier and impedance matching];
Sato also teaches a second control module located distal to the vessel and in wireless communication with the first control module.[0020 has remote controlling system while on boat or land meaning controller is distal to the vessel and wireless]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the anti fouling system of Tasker with the with external transducers and automation of Cianta and independently controlled transducers of Whitelaw, the steerable transducers of Van Rens, or Menzes or Lindberg with the impedance matching of Courson and the wireless communication of Van Rens to reduce amount of transducers and impedance match the amplifier and generator and have wireless communications and as internal or external transducers with the remote control of Sato to control the device from the boat or shore would have been an obvious matter of design choice as neither design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with internal or external transducers as well being an obvious matter of duplication of parts and location of parts to have more than one control module in different locations.
Regarding claim 4, Tasker, as modified, teaches that wherein the first control module optimizes the transducers by varying frequency, amplitude, and waveform of the transducers. [Page 4; Lines 10-20 has frequency, output being optimized].
Regarding claim 5, Tasker, as modified, teaches that wherein the transducers are mounted to a vessel or a structure. [Fig 1 and 0005, 0016 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside and attached to hull which is a vessel or structure]
Regarding claim 6, Tasker, as modified, teaches that wherein the at least one power amplifier power, provides a variable voltage output between 5 and 45 root-means-square (RMS) voltage. [Page 4; Lines 10-20 has frequency, output being optimized, 0010 and 0017 -0018 have output voltage monitored].
Moreover it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have 5 and 45 RMS voltage, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Tasker, as modified, teaches that wherein the transducers produce a sound wave with a frequency of at least 20kHz and not more than 1MHz. [0020 has the claimed frequency being taught].
Regarding claim 11, Tasker, as modified, teaches that, further comprising a substantially waterproof enclosure encapsulating the second group of transducers. [0005 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside waterproof vessel]
Cioanta also teaches, further comprising a substantially waterproof enclosure encapsulating the second group of transducers[Fig 1 and 2 show transducers external to the vessel and underwater meaning it is waterproof]
Whitelaw also teaches, further comprising a substantially waterproof enclosure encapsulating the second group of transducers[Page 3 Lines 15-25 has externally mounted transducers external to the vessel and underwater meaning it is waterproof]
Regarding claim 13, Tasker, as modified, teaches that wherein a first group of the at least one power amplifier, a first group of the at least one wave generator, and the first group of the transducer are contained within the substantially waterproof enclosure. [0005 has system in the boat meaning it is located inside a waterproof enclosure]
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasker (CA 2948991 A1) in view of Whitelaw (GB 2496397) or Cioanta (US 20170081000 A1) and Van Rens (WO 2014097054 A2) or Menzes (US 4922468 A) or Lindberg (US 5530683 A) and Courson (US 6468358 B1) and Benham (US 6021033 A).
Regarding claim 14, Tasker teaches A mounted anti-fouling system comprising[Fig 1] computing module[#18 in Fig 1];
transducers connected to the computing module[#14 are transducers], wherein the transducers are positioned internally[0005 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside vessel] and ….. of a vessel and wherein multiple transducers in close proximity can be formed into arrays[#14 in array #12 in Fig 1], wherein each transducer produces a sound wave able to impinge upon a submerged surface[ships hull];…..
at least one wave form generator cooperatively connected to the computing module and the transducers[#16 being waveform generator];
at least one power amplifier cooperatively connected to the at least one wave form generator and the transducers[#24 is amplifier];
at least one sensor cooperatively connected to the computing module and positioned relative to the transducers, wherein the at least one sensor is enclosed in a waterproof enclosure[#26 or #28 is sensor in the boat monitoring meaning it is located inside a waterproof enclosure],…..
wherein the at least one sensor receives the sound wave produced by at least on the transducers[#26 or #28 is sensor and 0016-0017 have sensors monitoring for feedback control].
Tasker does not explicitly teach external transducers….. a mechanical system to secure the externally positioned transducers and arrays in a predetermined location, wherein the mechanical system provides a substantially waterproof enclosure for the transducers and the arrays [0005 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside waterproof vessel]….. wherein the at least one power amplifier substantially matches an impedance of the at least one waveform generator; wherein the arrays of transducers are steerable…..and is able to detect stray electricity leaks
Cioanta[Fig 1 and 2 show transducers external to the vessel and underwater meaning it is mechanically positioned in a certain position and waterproof] or Whitelaw [Page 3 Lines 15-25 has externally mounted transducers external to the vessel and underwater meaning it is mechanically positioned in a certain position and waterproof] teaches external transducers and a mechanical system to secure the externally positioned transducers and arrays in a predetermined location, wherein the mechanical system provides a substantially waterproof enclosure for the transducers and the arrays.
Courson teaches wherein the at least one power amplifier substantially matches an impedance of the at least one waveform generator[Claims 6, 7, 8 and Col 4, Lines 30-55 has amplifier and impedance matching];
Van Rens teaches wherein the arrays of transducers are steerable[Fig 1 and Page 6, Lines 15-25]. Similarly Menzes [Col 8, Lines 10-25 and Col 14; Lines 25-40] or Lindberg [Title and Abstract and Col 1 Lines 20-25] also teaches wherein the arrays of transducers are steerable.
Benham teaches detection of stray electricity leaks[Abstract, Claims 1-56 relate to sensing electricity in water, Col 12, Lines 40-50 have water electrification sensing]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the anti fouling system of Tasker with the with external transducers of Cianta or Whitelaw, and the water electrification monitoring of Benham and the steerable transducers of Van Rens, or Menzes or Lindberg with the impedance matching of Courson and the wireless communication of Van Rens to reduce amount of transducers and impedance match the amplifier and generator and have wireless communications as internal or external transducers would have been an obvious matter of design choice as neither design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with internal or external transducers.
Claims 15 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasker (CA 2948991 A1) in view of Van Rens (WO 2014097054 A2) or Menzes (US 4922468 A) or Lindberg (US 5530683 A) and Courson (US 6468358 B1) and Benham (US 6021033 A) and Sato (US 20180099733 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Tasker teaches An anti-fouling system for a partially submerged vessel comprising[Fig 1]:
a first control module located within the partially submerged vessel[#18 in Fig 1];
a set of ….. independently controlled transducers[#14 in Fig 1; Abstract, 0009 0017 has controller controlling checking and controlling output frequencies meaning independent] cooperatively connected to the first control module[#100 in Fig 1], and wherein groups of ….. transducers form arrays[#1 in array #12 in Fig 1], each of the …..transducers of the array produces independent sound waves able to impinge upon a submerged surface[ships hull], wherein at least one of the at least one transducer is secured inside of a vessel[0005 has transducer on inboard of hull meaning inside vessel];
at least one wave form generator cooperatively connected to the first control module and the set of ….. transducers[# being waveform generator];
at least one power amplifier cooperatively connected to the at least one wave form generator and the set of ….. transducers[#24 is amplifier];
and at least one sensor cooperatively connected to the first control module and positioned relative to a vessel hull and the ….. transducers [#26 or #28 is sensor];…..
wherein each of the ….. transducers of the array are able to operate independently of the other transducers in the array[0009, 0019 and Claim 2 have each output being controlled meaning the transducers can operate independent of each other];…..
Tasker does not explicitly teach steerable transducers…..wherein the at least one power amplifier substantially matches the impedance of the at least one waveform generator;
wherein the set of transducers, and the at least one sensor are wirelessly connected to the first control module ….. wherein the atleast one sensor is able to detect stray electricity leaks
Van Rens teaches Steerable transducers 1 and Page 6, Lines 15-25], similarly Menzes [Col 8, Lines 10-25 and Col 14; Lines 25-40] and Lindberg [Title and Abstract and Col 1 Lines 20-25] also teach the same
Courson teaches wherein the at least one power amplifier substantially matches the impedance of the at least one waveform generator[Claims 6, 7, 8 and Col 4, Lines 30-55 has amplifier and impedance matching];
Van Rens teaches wherein the set of transducers, and the at least one sensor are wirelessly connected to the first control module. [Page 11 has wireless communications]
Benham teaches detection of stray electricity leaks[Abstract, Claims 1-56 relate to sensing electricity in water, Col 12, Lines 40-50 have water electrification sensing]
Sato also teaches a control module.[0020 has autonomous navigation meaning vessel can control itself with controller in it]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the anti fouling system of Tasker with the water electrification monitoring of Benham and steerable transducers of Van Rens, or Menzes or Lindber with the impedance matching of Courson and the wireless communication of Van Rens with the autonomous control of Sato to reduce amount of transducers and impedance match the amplifier and generator and have wireless communications.
Regarding claim 19, Tasker does not explicitly teach further comprising a mechanically steerable mount, wherein the set of steerable transducers are attached to the mechanically steerable mount.
Menzes[Co] 8 Lines 20-25 has mechanical steering] or Lindberg [Col 1 Lines 60-65 has mechanical steering] teaches that further comprising a mechanically steerable mount, wherein the set of steerable transducers are attached to the mechanically steerable mount.
Regarding claim 20, Tasker does not explicitly teach wherein the arrays of steerable transducers are electronically steerable.
Van Rens teaches that wherein the arrays of steerable transducers are electronically steerable. [Fig 1 and Page 6, Lines 15-25 have electronic steering]
Regarding claim 21, Tasker, as modified, teaches wherein when the first control module and the second control module communicate and remotely control the set of steerable transducers and the at least one sensor. [0016 has microcontroller with other interfaces meaning more computing modules]
Van Rens teaches Steerable transducers[Fig 1 and Page 6, Lines 15-25], similarly Menzes [Col 8, Lines 10-25 and Col 14; Lines 25-40] and Lindberg [Title and Abstract and Col 1 Lines 20-25] also teach the same.
Menezez also has more than one computing module [Fig 1 shows control unit #10, Computer #16 and Analyzer #14]
Sato also teaches first control module and the second control module communicate and remotely control the set of steerable transducers and the at least one sensor.[0020 has remote controlling system while on boat or land meaning remote control and wireless]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second processor, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 16, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasker (CA 2948991 A1) in view of Van Rens (WO 2014097054 A2) or Menzes (US 4922468 A) or Lindberg (US 5530683 A) and Courson (US 6468358 B1) and Benham (US 6021033 A) and Sato (US 20180099733 A1) as applied to claim15 above, and further in view of as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Cioanta (US 20170081000 A1) or Whitelaw (GB 2496397).
Regarding claim 16, Tasker does not explicitly teach wherein steerable transducers which are positioned externally of a vessel-are mounted a predetermined distance from the vessel.
Cioanta [Fig 1 and 2 show transducers external and a distance from the vessel]. Or Whitelaw [Page 3 Lines 15-25 has externally mounted transducers] teaches that further comprising a mechanically steerable mount, wherein the set of steerable transducers are attached to the mechanically steerable mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the anti fouling system of Tasker with external transducers of Cianta or Whitelaw as internal or external transducers would have been an obvious matter of design choice as neither design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with internal or external transducers
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Tasker as modified, teaches wherein the second control module is located on a stationary structure where the vessel docks. [0016 has microcontroller with other interfaces meaning more computing modules; moreover this appears to be a duplication of parts and location of parts and would not carry much patentable weight].
Cioanta also teaches wherein the second control module is located on a stationary structure where the vessel docks[0054 and 0080 have the system working autonomously when the vessel is docked as shown in Fig 3]
Sato also teaches wherein the second control module is located on a stationary structure where the vessel docks. [Fig 3 has base station #400 meaning it is controlled from stationary docking structure]
Moreover it would have been an obvious matter of design choice as neither design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well the location of parts to have more than one control module in different locations.
Regarding claim 24, Tasker as modified, teaches wherein the second control module is in communication with at least one transducer and at least one sensor located on the stationary structure, and the at least one transducer and at least one sensor is in communication with the first and second control module. [0016 has microcontroller with other interfaces meaning more computing modules; moreover this appears to be a duplication of parts and location of parts and would not carry much patentable weight].
Cioanta also teaches wherein the second control module is located on a stationary structure where the vessel docks [0054 and 0080 have the system working autonomously when the vessel is docked as shown in Fig 3]
Sato also teaches wherein the second control module is in communication with at least one transducer and at least one sensor located on the stationary structure, and the at least one transducer and at least one sensor is in communication with the first and second control module. [Fig 3 has base station #400 meaning it is controlled from stationary docking structure]
Moreover it would have been an obvious matter of design choice as neither design solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well the location of parts to have more than one control module in different locations)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Said another way applicant is arguing that having a secondary control or duplicate or remote control and sensors is non-obvious. The prior art shows more than one control system and moreover it would have been an obvious matter of design choice as well being an obvious matter of duplication of parts and location of parts to have more than one control module in different locations.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645