DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the amendment filed on 01/02/2026, in which, claim(s) 1-15 and 17-22 are pending. Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, 11, 13, 17 and 21-22 are amended. Claim(s) 16 is cancelled. No claim(s) are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with rejection of claim(s) 1-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 22, Applicant argued “Those of ID and SAP on common general knowledge”. As the acronym “SAP” could stand for several different things such as “Special Access Program” or “Service Access Point” or “Service Advertising Protocol” or a company (SAP is a German multinational enterprise-software company), etc., and “ID” could stand for “I Do”, applicant is encouraged to spell out the acronyms for clarification.
Besides, applicant did not address the rejections of claims 1, 5, 8, 11-12, and 19-22 in the non-Final Office action, therefore, the rejection of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim(s) 1-22 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued “what is claimed is a system which by definition must have a hardware structure to exist. there is no need to specify which parts of the system are performed by hardware and which parts are performed by software”.
First of all, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, claim 1 recites “A Hyper connected network” in the preamble, “inter connected nodes, each of which comprises a plurality of Artificial Intelligence (Al) agents, a transaction engine, a network connector permitting and a graph database” and “central server”, in the claim body. As recited in the body of the claim, the claimed network lacks a structural component because the nodes, agents, engine, connector, database and the server can be implemented as software only. Claim 1 is directed to non-statutory subject matter for lack of a hardware component. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Therefore, the rejection of 35 USC §101 regarding claim(s) 1-21 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ arguments, see pages 1-12, filed 01/02/2026, regarding the U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See MPEP 2145 IV.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Nor does the prior art describe “smart cognitive packets that route themselves", “No cited reference performs “multi-institutional triangulation of identity into a weighted identity graph”, “rotating quantum-resistant keys, multi-layer cryptography (lattice + AES + obfuscation), moving-target defense shuffling encryption behaviors dynamically”, “The cited prior art has no system for migrating millions of users into a universal identity without user disruption”, “The claimed invention assigns: multi-factor identity legitimacy score risk graphs, behavioral analysis, and cross-ecosystem identity correlation”, etc. (see page 1-12 in the Remarks)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a network connector permitting”. It is not clear what is the connector “permitting”? please clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention
Claim 1 recites acronyms “ID” and claim 22 recites acronyms “AI” and “ID”. Claim 21 recites acronyms “SAP”. The acronyms need to be spelled out when recited in the claim for the very first time.
Claim 1 and claim 22 recite “smart ID”, claim 7 recites “SmartID”, claim 10 recites “Smart ID” and claim 21 recites “SmartID” and “Smartchain ID”. Please clarify if all these terms point to the same thing.
Claim 5 recites “wherein information passing between nodes is subjected to review by a quantum resistant algorithm”. It cannot be ascertained from the scope of the claim what the metes and bounds of the terms are, how an algorithm “review” information?
Claim 8 recites “wherein separate AI agents are tasked with tasks”. It is indefinite with the limitation “tasked with tasks”.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the central global server comprises a central network and a plurality of distributed nodes”. It is beyond understanding how a server comprises a network.
Claim 19 recites “to perform non-vital actions based on use cases”. It cannot be ascertained from the scope of the claim what the metes and bounds of the terms are.
Claim 20 recites “to parse structured/unstructured data into a graph database or other appropriate database”. It cannot be ascertained from the scope of the claim what the metes and bounds of the terms are.
Claim 21 recites “to get data from 3rd party sources such as SAP or Fiserv” and “data is passed through a high speed network using, e.g., a Python socket library”. It cannot be ascertained from the scope of the claim what the metes and bounds of the terms are.
Claims 2-21 don't cure the deficiency of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for their dependency upon claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 1 recites “A Hyper connected network” in the preamble, “inter connected nodes” and “central server”, in the claim body. As recited in the body of the claim, the claimed network lacks a structural component because the nodes, agents, engine, connector, database and the server can be implemented as software only. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to non-statutory subject matter for lack of a hardware component. The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claim be further amended to positively recite at least one hardware element within the body of the claim to make the claim statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 such as “inter connected hardware nodes”.
Claims 2-21 don't cure the deficiency of Claim 1, e.g., the API and module recited in claim 21 can be implemented as software also. Therefore, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for their dependency upon Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, 14-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Caso et al. (US 2018/0089410 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gilliard discloses
directing packets of information associated with smart IDs to correct destinations within the network ([0059], “messaging bus 204 transmits packets to each destination for which a rule specifies that such packets should be transmitted. Rules direct packets to destinations by specifying that packets having particular emitter IDs (which are associated with particular applications 214) should be directed to one or more destinations”),
wherein the smart ID includes relevant and valid data belonging to each individual using the network, and wherein strips the smart ID of any information that is not relevant to its destination ([0059], “a first rule may specify that a packet from a first application should be directed to the log server 206 and the event server 210 and a second rule may specify that a packet from a second application should be directed to only the log server 206. Messaging bus 204 would transmit packets specifying those emitter ID's accordingly”),
Gilliard does not explicitly teach but Caso teaches
A Hyper connected network for passing information between users comprising inter connected nodes, each of which comprises a plurality of Artificial Intelligence (Al) agents, a transaction engine, a network connector permitting and a graph database each of said nodes being directly or indirectly connected to a central server wherein said central server uses Al to delegate tasks to master Als associated with said nodes wherein said master Als ([0007-0009], “a dual-protocol security and sensing mesh network”, “forwarding mesh data from at least the first mesh-connected devices to an external network via a bi-directional gateway device coupled to at least one of the first mesh-connected device and dual protocol devices; and periodically altering the security status indicator(s) for validated badge(s) or validated tag(s) via a server coupled to the external network”, “further comprising changing at least one of the first and second mesh devices' status or operational parameter from an instruction from the server; and/or further comprising generating an adaptive beacon filtering table for appending/editing/deleting new Beacon Company IDs in or out of the first or second mesh devices; and/or further comprising using localized artificial intelligence”),
wherein said network is in the form of a hybrid of the distributed and decentralized networks within a mesh network, where each node can be treated as a master node when that node distributes the data information in a private mesh network ([0006-0008], “a dual-protocol security and sensing mesh network is provided, comprising: a first mesh network formed from at least one of a plurality of wearable digital identification badges, having a microprocessor, a badge security status indicator, and RF communication capabilities with other mesh-connected devices, and a plurality of asset tags, having a microprocessor, an asset security status indicator, and RF communication capabilities with other mesh-connected devices; at least one dual protocol device, having hardware for a first and second communication protocol, in wireless communication with the at least one badges and tags; a bi-directional gateway device coupled to at least one of the first mesh devices and the at least one dual protocol devices, forwarding data from the mesh-connected devices to an external network”, “wherein the coupled bi-directional gateway device and dual protocol device is a single hybrid device”, “mesh connected devices”),
Gilliard and Caso are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Caso with the disclosure of Gilliard. The motivation/suggestion would have been for asset locating, environmental monitoring, verifiable employee identification, distributed messaging, bidirectional notification, across a multi-protocol capable dynamic mesh network (Caso, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein the hyper-connected network comprises sub-networks comprising interconnected nodes (Gilliard, see Fig. 2 sub networks 204 205).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein said sub-networks from distinct platforms or systems (Gilliard, see Fig. 2 distinct platforms 205).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein said smart ID includes biometric data associated with a user (Caso, [0044], “confirm biometrics, and issuance of badge”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein a user can tell the SmartID what information can be accessed based on a system from which a request originates by providing rights to that specific system to access the data through said SmartID (Gilliard, [0095], “particular emitter IDs”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein AI agents check whether information being supplied is being used for legal purposes (Caso, [0054], “a defined formula for compliance with State laws”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein information to be passed through the network is aggregated into packets from more than one hosts and associated with a Smart ID before being transmitted through the network (Gilliard, [0095], “direct packets to destinations by specifying that packets having particular emitter IDs (which are associated with particular applications 214) should be directed to one or more destinations”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein said packets are configured to route themselves through the network based on goals assigned to them before entering the network and to pursue these goals adaptively (Gilliard, [0095], “direct packets to destinations by specifying that packets having particular emitter IDs (which are associated with particular applications 214) should be directed to one or more destinations”).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
in the form of a distributed data management system, comprising: a central global server: wherein the central global server comprises a central network and a plurality of distributed nodes. wherein the central global server can communicate with a plurality of ecosystems, wherein the central network is configured to store information of transactions between the plurality of ecosystems and the central global server, wherein each of the plurality of distributed nodes comprises: a plurality of artificial intelligence agents (AI agents), a transaction engine, a network connector for peer-to-peer, and a graphics database, wherein each of the plurality of distributed nodes directly or indirectly communicates with the central network (Gilliard, [0029], “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a data management system 200, according to an example. As shown, data management system 200 includes one or more data management (“DM”) servers 202, a messaging bus 204, and packet destinations 205 (also referred to simply as “destinations” herein)”, Caso, [0009], “using localized artificial intelligence”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein at least one of the plurality of distributed nodes is configured to communicate with an ecosystem and to handshake with a new ecosystem (Gilliard, [0036], “to handle packets from which emitters IDs and thus determine which destinations 205 are”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein the plurality of distributed nodes are configured to directly communicate with each other (Gilliard, see Fig. 2 sub networks 204 205).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
permit sub networks to make transactions to each other. where each transaction can be analyzed by automated applied programming interfaces of AI agents on nodes in the network (Gilliard, see Fig. 2 sub networks 204 205, Caso, [0009], “using localized artificial intelligence”).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso teaches
wherein at least one node comprises a transaction engine to parse structured/unstructured data into a graph database or other appropriate database (Gilliard, [0041], “storing information found in packets into a database”).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Caso et al. (US 2018/0089410 A1) further in view of Mousseau et al. (US 2019/0121989 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but Mousseau teaches
wherein information passing between nodes is subjected to review by a quantum resistant algorithm ([0183], “to protect the files using some advanced cryptographic solution like a Quantum-safe encryption algorithm” as a quantum resistant algorithm),
Gilliard, Caso and Mousseau are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mousseau with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been to protect the files using some advanced cryptographic solution (Mousseau, [0183]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but Mousseau teaches
wherein transfer of information between nodes is through a secure tunnel with quantum-safe encryption which provides an encrypted link between a host of the information and its destination ([0183], “to protect the files using some advanced cryptographic solution like a Quantum-safe encryption algorithm” as a quantum resistant algorithm),
Gilliard, Caso and Mousseau are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mousseau with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been to protect the files using some advanced cryptographic solution (Mousseau, [0183]).
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Caso et al. (US 2018/0089410 A1) further in view of Moustafa et al. (US 2020/0301743 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but Moustafa teaches
wherein separate AI agents are tasked with tasks selected from optimizing the infrastructure, cleaning data, and making specific information data available based on the origin of a request for such information (Moustafa, claim 9, “delegate the required computation to one of the plurality of distributed AI nodes”).
Gilliard, Caso and Moustafa are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moustafa with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been to dynamic distribution of computational requirements (Moustafa, [0001]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but Moustafa teaches
wherein a plurality of AI agents comprises at least one of a network optimizer (Moustafa, claim 9, “delegate the required computation to one of the plurality of distributed AI nodes”).
Gilliard, Caso and Moustafa are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moustafa with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been to dynamic distribution of computational requirements (Moustafa, [0001]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Caso et al. (US 2018/0089410 A1) further in view of Kwatra et al. (US 2020/0286084 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but Kwatra teaches
wherein whenever a transaction occurs, each relevant node connected into the network is updated with that transaction and a ledger will be maintained on each node ([0062], “to submit the transaction to the ordering node service 284 to update the ledger”),
Gilliard, Caso and Kwatra are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwatra with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been to analyzing and modifying endorsement policies in smart contracts of blockchain systems (Kwatra, [0001]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Caso et al. (US 2018/0089410 A1) further in view of Enguehard et al. (US 2020/0389426 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but Enguehard teaches
one or more master nodes and one or more secondary nodes, wherein the master nodes linked to an entire ecosystem and has rules of the Al agents and other policies, and wherein the secondary nodes can be configured to perform non-vital actions based on use cases ([0018-0023], “Some additional examples of use cases of an intent-based network:… and artificial intelligence agents running in the network can continuously monitor and analyze network traffic and connections, compare activity against pre-defined intents such as application performance or security policies”),
Gilliard, Caso and Enguehard are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Enguehard with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been for network policy enforcement (Enguehard, [0001]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Caso et al. (US 2018/0089410 A1) further in view of LaFever et al. (US 2018/0307859 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso does not explicitly teach but LaFever teaches
an API (application programming interface) to receive user data from banks ([0261], “Banking”, [0585], “API calls”);
a module to clean the data; a module to preprocess the data ([0170], “identify the Data Subjects and Personal Data from “cleansed” data”);
cryptographic encryption to create SmartID for end users ([0160], “use Dynamic Anonymity-defined procedures to obscure, encrypt”);
storing data in centralized database (Smartchain ID and KYC rating) ([0122], “data elements contained in one or more databases”);
callback hook to send Smartchain ID back to banks ([0261], “Banking”, [0585], “API calls”);
API to get KYC data of a user from bank; Cleaning data using a data cleaning module; preprocessing the data using a preprocessing module ([0170], “identify the Data Subjects and Personal Data from “cleansed” data”, [0261], “Banking”, [0585], “API calls”);
an API to get data from government databases ([0261], “Banking”, [0585], “API calls”);
an API to get data from social media ([0261], “Banking”, [0585], “API calls”);
an API to get data from 3rd party sources such as SAP or Fiserv ([0261], “Banking, Brokerage, etc”, [0585], “API calls”);
cleaning data using the data cleaning module; preprocessing the data using the preprocessing nodule ([0170], “identify the Data Subjects and Personal Data from “cleansed” data”);
storing user related data in a distributed database ([0122], “data elements contained in one or more databases”);
an API to get a Smartchain ID strength rating ([0261], “Banking, Brokerage, etc.”, [0585], “API calls”);
an API to get the Smartchain ID financial rating ([0261], “Banking, Brokerage, etc.”, [0585], “API calls”);
a socket library implemented to use data transfer protocol ([0576], “small library that transparently intercepts API calls”);
a module (Machine Learning (ML) models) to check regulations and policies for data communication ([0269], “Fraud detection”);
a module (ML models) for real time fraud detection ([0269], “Fraud detection”);
a module (ML models) for Anti-Money Laundering (payments) ([0269], “Fraud detection”);
an API to send a report to regulatory institutes ([0261], “Banking, Brokerage, etc”, [0585], “API calls”);
a Quantum resistant cryptography to encrypt data ([0160], “use Dynamic Anonymity-defined procedures to obscure, encrypt”);
whereby data is passed through a high speed network using, e.g., a Python socket library ([0594], “massive parallelism and speed”);
data is decrypted at the receivers end; and transactional details updated at both senders and receivers ends ([0417], “be connected to the Trusted Party in order to decrypt the data”),
Gilliard, Caso and LaFever are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LaFever with the combined teaching of Gilliard and Caso. The motivation/suggestion would have been to improving data security, privacy, and accuracy (LaFever, [0003]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilliard et al. (US 2017/0118310 A1) in view of Moustafa et al. (US 2020/0301743 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Gilliard discloses
directing packets of information associated with smart IDs to correct destinations within the network ([0059], “messaging bus 204 transmits packets to each destination for which a rule specifies that such packets should be transmitted. Rules direct packets to destinations by specifying that packets having particular emitter IDs (which are associated with particular applications 214) should be directed to one or more destinations”),
wherein the smart ID includes relevant and valid data belonging to each individual using the network, and wherein strips the smart ID of any information that is not relevant to its destination ([0059], “a first rule may specify that a packet from a first application should be directed to the log server 206 and the event server 210 and a second rule may specify that a packet from a second application should be directed to only the log server 206. Messaging bus 204 would transmit packets specifying those emitter ID's accordingly”),
Gilliard does not explicitly teach but Moustafa teaches
delegating, by the central server using Al tasks to master AIs associated with said nodes; the Al associated with a node (claim 9, “identify a plurality of distributed Artificial Intelligence (AI) nodes… and delegate the required computation to one of the plurality of distributed AI nodes”),
Gilliard and Moustafa are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of information security. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moustafa with the disclosure of Gilliard. The motivation/suggestion would have been to dynamic distribution of computational requirements (Moustafa, [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG-FENG HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497