Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on June 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
To clarify the record, the election of June 18, 2025 is without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The formulas and equivalents of Claim 1 necessarily result in the structure of Claim 6 as amines and epoxies necessarily react in ring opening mechanism. Therefore, Claim 6 does not further limit Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN107154513).
Li teaches in the abstract figure and throughout the disclosure the reaction of polyethylene glycol diglycidyl ether with a polyether amine based on polypropylene (DPPO). The figure shows crosslinking between the chains anticipating the crosslinked resin of Claim 1. The gel teaching of ¶[0002] also reasonably suggests the crosslinking of the claims must be present. The hydroxyl groups are on the main chain as will be the remaining glycidyl groups that are unreacted. Further, ¶[0015] teaches discrete values of the molecular weight of the epoxy ether polymer (500) and also the molecular weight of the polyamine (2000 – exemplified ¶[0030]). The specific combination of 500 and 2000 is exemplified in ¶[0057]. See also ¶[0046]. These are sufficiently specific to anticipate the ranges of Claim 3 and Claim 5 along with the structures of Claim 2 and Claim 4 and the combination reaction product of Claim 6 as this is the intermediate reaction product that leads to the formation of the crosslinked network.
¶[0072] exemplifies 0.2 g PEGDE(1 mol/500g)(2 epoxy eq/ 1 mol) = 0.0008 eq epoxy.
0.4 g DPPO(1 mol/2000g)(4 amine eq/ 1 mol) = 0.0008 eq amine.
Amine and epoxy are equivalents anticipating Claim 1’s range. Additionally to get the reaction product of Claim 6 the amount of equivalents must be equal and as Claim 6 is anticipated therefore, the equal equivalent limitation is also anticipated.
As the network is formed from reaction of epoxy with amine groups the secondary hydroxyls formed are on the main chain along with the epoxy groups being on the main chain as the epoxy used is difunctional rather than tri- or higher functional (i.e. there is no branching in the monomers used to form the network as a crosslinked network will have branching regardless because it is crosslinked). This anticipates said limitation of Claim 1 and also Claim 8 as the lack of branching reasonably suggests the hydroxyl groups are restricted to the main chain as recited. Additionally, the as-filed specification gives no other information as to how the secondary hydroxyls could not be restricted as recited with it comes to reacting diglyceryl ethers with diamines. As the hydroxyl groups are restricted as claimed and Applicant discloses this state leads to higher oxidation potentials (¶[0070] as-filed specification), and the epoxy ether polymer is PEGDGE as Applicant has used, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the oxidation potential of the resin must be 4.36V as claimed in Claim 7.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12, 13, 14, and 16 of copending Application No. 17/335376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 12, 13, 14 and 16 of 17/335376 specifically teach instant Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 and 8 in a specific application environment. The oxidation potential of Claim 7 must be present as the specific epoxy resin is used that produces this oxidation potential according to Applicant’s as-filed specification. (¶[0070] as-filed specification)
To get the reaction product of Claim 6 the amount of equivalents must be equal and as Claim 6 is anticipated therefore, the equal equivalent limitation is also anticipated.
The reliance upon the specification by the Office to establish inherent properties has been supported by the Federal Circuit. In re Kao, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1809 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,579,117. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 8-14 of U.S. 11,579,117 specifically teach instant Claims 1-8 in a specific application environment. The oxidation potential of Claim 7 must be present as the specific epoxy resin is used that produces this oxidation potential according to Applicant’s as-filed specification. (¶[0070] as-filed specification)
To get the reaction product of Claim 6 the amount of equivalents must be equal and as Claim 6 is anticipated therefore, the equal equivalent limitation is also anticipated.
The reliance upon the specification by the Office to establish inherent properties has been supported by the Federal Circuit. In re Kao, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1809 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,664,533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because practicing the method of Claims 1-9 of U.S. 11,664,533 necessarily leads one of ordinary skill in the art to products that anticipate instant claims 1-8. To get the reaction product of Claim 6 the amount of equivalents must be equal and as Claim 6 is anticipated therefore, the equal equivalent limitation is also anticipated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered but are not sufficient to move the application to allowance. §112 rejections and §102 rejections over Ohfuska and Pastine are withdrawn as Ohfuska and Pastine do not reject Claim 6 which is considered to require equal equivalents of epoxy and amine to accomplish. The new §112 4th and modification the rejection of Li have been necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendment to epoxy:amine equivalents. Additionally, the non-statutory double patenting rejections of record have been updated to address the new limitation which is also necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s remarks filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant present no arguments to the non-statutory double patenting rejections of record and, therefore, these rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s remarks to Li are not persuasive. As above, Li teaches the equivalents Applicant argues are not present in Li. Applicant provides no other arguments to Li not specifying the equivalents limitation other than simply Li does not state the limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766