DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
All the objections and rejections in the previous Office Action not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8-10, 13-17, 21-22, 24-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 8 recites the limitations "a recoverable aggregate of cells suspended in liquid medium in the at least one of the microwells," in lines 10-11" however, said limitation constitute new matter. Applicant’s disclosure is directed to methods and devices for the production and recovery of cell aggregates (see, e.g., abstract). Further, as described in paragraph [0158], the method includes culturing cells to make aggregates. However, the claims as currently presented define the cell aggregates as being an element of the claimed cell culture device. As discussed above, the specification does not disclose an instance wherein the cell aggregates are element of the claimed cell culture apparatus. Rather, the cell aggregates are materials produced by the cell culture device. As such, said limitation constitute new matter. Independent claims 9 and 24 are rejected for the same reasons. Dependent claims 4, 10, 13-17, 21-22, 25-26 and 29-30 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4, 8-10, 13-17, 21-22, 24-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a recoverable aggregate of cells suspended in liquid medium in the at least one of the microwells," in lines 10-11. However, said limitation is inconsistent with what is described in the Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed. Applicant’s disclosure is directed to methods and devices for the production and recovery of cell aggregates (see, e.g., abstract). Further, as described in paragraph [0158], the method includes culturing cells to make aggregates. However, the claims as currently presented define the cell aggregates as being an element of the claimed cell culture device. As discussed above, the specification does not disclose an instance wherein the cell aggregates are element of the claimed cell culture apparatus. Rather, the cell aggregates are materials produced by the cell culture device. As such, the claim is indefinite (see MPEP 2173). Independent claims 9 and 24 are rejected for the same reasons. Dependent claims 4, 10, 13-17, 21-22, 25-26 and 29-30 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 9, 14, 17, 21-22, 25-26 and 30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ravkin et al. (US 2006/0013031; “Ravkin”) in view of Sakamoto (US 2005/0106074), Duffy et al. (US 2005/0100974; “Duffy”) and Wikswo et al. (US 2006/0099705; hereinafter “Wikswo”).
Regarding claims 9, 14, 21-22 and 30, Ravkin discloses a plastic microwell cell culture device ([0048]) comprising: a) a body comprising an upper region defining an upper plane (FIGS. 6A-6C; [0095]-[0097]); b) a plurality of distinct wells extending downwardly from the upper plane into the body, each of the plurality of wells comprising an array of microwells in a closed bottom wall thereof (a plurality of wells (134) comprising an array of sub-wells (136); see [0095]-[0097]; see FIGS. 6B-6C); c) each of the microwells comprising an axis extending perpendicularly to the upper plane (FIGS. 5 and 6C); d) each of the microwells comprising a sidewall (FIGS. 6B-C: frustoconical sub-wells; [0097]), wherein the microwells are defined by a width (e.g., width measured along the floor or opening of the sub-wells; see FIG. 6C), and a distance between two adjacent microwells along a bottom wall upper plane (FIG. 6: 142); and e) a recoverable cells suspended in liquid medium in the at least one of the microwells ([0034], [0074]). Ravkin discloses wherein each of the microwells comprises a sidewall (FIGS. 6B-C: frustoconical sub-wells; [0097]), but does not explicitly disclose the sidewall of at least one of the microwells having four wall components and a base wall extending between the four wall components, the four wall components extending inwardly towards the axis. However, Ravkin does disclose wherein the microwells can be any desired shape and size ([0042]). Sakamoto discloses a microwell cell culture device comprising a plurality of microwells (FIG. 1: plate (1); [0058]), each of the wells can have various shapes including microwells having four wall components and a base wall extending between the four wall components (FIGS. 4A-4D; [0059]). In view of Sakamoto, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the shape of the microwells of Ravkin to have inverted pyramid shape as disclosed by Sakamoto ([0059]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification since Ravkin discloses that the microwells can have desired shape and size ([0042]). Modified Ravkin does not explicitly disclose wherein the four wall components are at an angle between 20° to 80° with respect to the upper plane. Duffy discloses a device comprising a plurality of wells (FIG. 3). Each of the wells can have an inverted truncated pyramid ([0116]). Duffy further discloses that the angle can be adjusted as desired for a particular application ([0116]). In view of Duffy, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the microwells of modified Ravkin to have the claimed angle to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Duffy discloses that the angle of the walls can be adjusted as desired for particular application ([0116]). Furthermore, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Modified Ravkin a recoverable cells suspended in liquid medium in the microwells ([0034], [0074]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cells are cell aggregate. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to employ cell aggregates in place of cells in the microwells of modified Ravkin because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of processing cell aggregates in the microwells.
Modified Ravkin discloses wherein the microwells are defined by a width (e.g., width measured along the floor or opening of the sub-wells; see FIG. 6C), and two adjacent microwells are spaced apart by a distance (see FIGS. 6A-6C). Modified Ravkin does not explicitly disclose wherein the microwells are defined by a width of less than 1 millimeter, and a distance between any two adjacent microwells along the bottom wall is less than the width and less than 100 microns. However, in another embodiments, modified Ravkin does disclose that the microwells can have any desired shape, size and spacing between the microwells ([0042]-[0043]). For example, a spacing between two adjacent microwells (apertures or sub-wells) can be less than a width of the microwells (a width of less than 1 millimeter; see [0038]; [0051]-[0054]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the width and spacing between adjacent microwells of modified Ravkin to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of maximizing sample capacity and minimize sample cross-contamination as disclosed by modified Ravkin ([0052]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been a matter of an engineering design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious since the claimed device would not perform differently than the prior art device of modified Ravkin. Modified Ravkin discloses wherein each of the microwells comprises an adherent cells ([0034]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sidewall comprises an anti-adherence treatment such that cells do not adhere to the sidewall. However, modified Ravkin does disclose wherein the adherent cells can be allowed to adhere to the sidewall, the bottom of the microwells, or both ([0034], [0074]). Wikswo discloses a bioreactor comprising a substrate having a plurality of array of chambers (FIG. 1A: 204; [0076]), each comprising a plurality of chambers (see, e.g., FIGS. 1A-1B: chambers 206; [0076]). Wikswo further discloses wherein sidewalls of the plurality of chambers can be coated with materials that inhibit or enhance cell adhesion (Wikswo at [0080]-[0081]). In view of Wikswo, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed the anti-adherent treatment of Wikswo to the sidewall of the microwells of modified Ravkin to prevent the adherent cells to attach to the sidewall when not desired (i.e., when adherence cells attachment to the bottom of the microwells is desired; [0074]). Furthermore, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Regarding claim 17, modified Ravkin further discloses wherein the wells have a dimension (width) at the upper plane (see, e.g., Ravkin at FIG. 6c), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the wells have the claimed dimension. However, Modified Ravkin further discloses that the wells can have any suitable size and shape ([0041]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the dimensions of the wells of modified Ravkin to comprise the claimed dimension since Ravkin discloses that the wells can be any suitable size and shape (Ravkin at [0041]). Moreover, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Regarding claims 25-26, modified Ravkin further discloses wherein the wells have a dimension (width) at the upper plane (see, e.g., Ravkin at FIG. 6C), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the wells have the claimed dimension. However, Modified Ravkin further discloses that the wells can have any suitable size and shape ([0041]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the dimension of the wells of modified Ravkin to comprise the claimed dimension since Ravkin discloses that the wells can be any suitable size and shape (Ravkin at [0041]). Moreover, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4, 8-10, 13-17, 21-22 and 24-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
In response to the Applicant’s argument regarding the spacing between the microwells (Remarks/Arguments at page 10), Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Ravkin explicitly discloses that spacing between the microwells is less that the width of the microwells and that such configuration allows the microwells capacity to be maximized and cross-contamination reduced. The Applicant has not presented any convincing evidence that the configuration disclosed by Ravkin maximizes cross-contamination.
In response to the Applicant’s argument regarding that the combination of the references of Ravkin and Wikswo (pages 10-11), it is respectfully submitted that claim 8 is no longer rejected by said combination.
As to the Applicant’s argument that combination is improper (pages 11-12), the applied prior art are considered pertinent to the claimed invention because they are all related to processing cells within a receptacle. For example, Wikswo discloses culturing cells in a bioreactor chamber while Ravkin discloses processing cells with a well of a plate. Thus, both reference are related because they disclose processing cells in a receptacle.
As to the Applicant’s argument that modifying Ravkin would render Ravkin inoperable (pages 10-11), this is not persuasive. As discussed in the rejection, Ravkin proposes the option for the cells to be allowed to adhere to the sidewall, the bottom of the microwells, or both. Thus, applying non-adherent material to the sidewalls, for example, would not render the device of Ravkin inoperable for its intended purpose.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799