Claim Status
Applicant’s declaration, specification amendments, claim amendments and arguments in the response filed 27 July 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 & 16-18 are pending.
Claims 3, 13-15 & 19-23 are cancelled.
Claim 16 is withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 17 & 18 are under consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
It is noted foreign priority has not been perfected. An English language translation of the foreign application has not been filed. Should Applicant choose to file an English translation, the English language translation should be accompanied with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See 37 CFR 1.55 and MPEP §§ 215 and 216. The effective filed date of the instant application is 12/05/2019.
Declaration Filed Under § 1.132
The declaration filed on 27 July 2026 by Applicant is acknowledged. The declaration is addressed in the response to Applicant’s traverse below
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to the disclosure is withdrawn due to amendment which correct the misspelled word, “Ceteares”.
The objection to claim 21 and the rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn due to cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of claim 20 under 35 USC 112(d) and under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn due to cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of claims 3, 22 & 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botto, The Herbarie and Snow White is withdrawn due to cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of claims 3 & 19-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kranzmann in view of Snow White and The Herbarie is withdrawn due to cancellation of the claims.
New & Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botto (US 2019/0365623; Published 12/05/2019; Filed: 05/31/2018; previously cited), The Herbarie (Published: 10/25/2012; previously cited) and Snow White (Published: 09/21/2014; previously cited).
This rejection is maintained but has been modified to address the amended claims.
With regard to claims 1, 2 & 4-12, Botto teaches a nonsulfate concentrated rinse off cleansing composition (title). Botto in the Example 2 concentrated shampoo Formulation 4 teaches inclusion of sodium stearoyl glutamate (i.e. acyl acidic amino acid) in an amount of 3.0% and an amphoteric surfactant which may be cocoamidopropyl betaine and/or coco-betaine in an amount of 5.4%. With regard to claim 4, the ratio of the acyl acidic amino acid to the amphoteric surfactant is 0.55 (Math: 3/5.4 =0.555). With regard to claim 5, the mass of the acyl acidic amino acid and the amphoteric surfactant is 8.4% of the composition. More broadly, Botto teaches amphoteric surfactants for use in their invention include coco betaine, cocamidopropyl betaine cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine, lauryl hydroxysultaine and mixtures thereof as non-limiting examples [0020]. With regard to claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Botto’s shampoo composition by substituting cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine and lauryl hydroxysultaine for the cocoamidopropyl betaine and/or coco-betaine as suggested by Botto because Botto teaches the compositions of their invention may comprise amphoteric surfactants including cocamidopropyl betaine, coco-betaine, cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine and lauryl hydroxysultaine. With regard to claims 8 & 9, Botto also teaches inclusion of high melting point, non-silicone, fatty compounds including cetyl alcohol in their invention (i.e. oil agent; [0141] & [0149]). With regard to claim 7, Botto teaches inclusion of acrylates/C10-C30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymers, for inclusion in the composition as a thickener ([0191] & [0195]). It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Botto’s shampoo by adding acrylates/C10-C30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymers to the shampoo as directed by Botto. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to thicken the shampoo with a thickener taught as suitable by Botto. More broadly, with regard to claims 10-12, Botto teaches inclusion of water soluble solvents which include glycerin and polyhydric alcohols for inclusion in their invention in an amount between about 0.01 to about 25 wt% and exemplifies inclusion of glycerin in the Example 2 Formulae 2, 3 & 5 shampoos in an amount between 0.7, 0.7 & 5 % respectively ([0210]-[02130] & [0292]). With regard to claim 1, Botto teaches the viscosity of their composition can be from about 2500 cP to about 15,000 cp at a temperature of 25° C (i.e. about 2,500 mPa*s to about 15,000 mPa*s; [0284]). Botto teaches inclusion of water-soluble synthetic polymers including starch derivatives (for example, starch oxide, dialdehyde starch, dextrin, British gum, acetyl starch, starch phosphate, carboxymethyl starch, hydroxyethyl starch, hydroxypropyl starch) [0208] .
Botto does not teach the starch derivative is hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, its amount, or the pH of the cleaning composition.
With regard to claims 1 & 2, in the same field of invention, The Herbarie teaches hydroxypropyl starch phosphate is water soluble, is used in an amount of 1-10%, and is used as a co-emulsifier and thickener for shampoos (pg. 3).
With regard to claim 1, in the same field of invention of cleansers, Snow White teaches that natural skin surfaces have an average pH of below 5 which is beneficial for the skin’s resident flora and acidic cleansers don’t disrupt the skin’s pH like alkaline ones and a low pH is inhospitable to acne (pg. 2 & 5). Snow White concludes “the pH of your cleanser really does matter” and “[y]our cleanser should be acidic, no more than pH 5.6; anything higher could compromise your skin and worsen acne” (pg. 7).
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Here, at least rationale (G) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Botto’s shampoo by substituting Botto’s generically taught water-soluble starch derivative with 1-10% hydroxypropyl starch phosphate as suggested by The Herbarie and adjusting the pH of the shampoo to be 5 or less as suggested by Snow White because Botto, The Herbarie, and Snow White are directed to cleansers (including shampoos) which are applied to the skin/scalp and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with expectation of success, in order to thicken and improve the stability of Botto’s shampoo formulation through inclusion of 1-10% hydroxypropyl starch phosphate and select a pH for the shampoo that is art recognized as suitable for the skin/scalp which does not disrupt the resident flora of the skin/scalp.
With specific regard to the relationship value for the formula 1 recited by claim 1, the combined teachings of Botto’s Example 2 and The Herbarie teach a formula 1 value between 0.84-8.4 (Math: 8.4/1= 8.4; 8.4/10 = 0.84). A ratio of 8.4 is close to the recited value of 8.6. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the instant case, Botto teaches addition of acrylates as thickeners, as such it is obvious to add acrylates to Botto’s Example 2 composition to thicken it and achieve Botto’s taught viscosity of about 2,500 mPa*s to about 15,000 mPa*s which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range.
With regard to the recited amounts of hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, acyl acidic amino acid; acyl acidic amino acid and amphoteric surfactant; and polyhydric alcohol; Formula 1 relationship; weight ratio of acyl acidic amino acid to amphoteric surfactant; viscosity; and pH range; the combined teachings of Botto, The Herbarie, and Snow White teach these parameters with values that fall within or overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the alternative, Botto teaches hair treatments which are cleansing compositions that may be a gel ([0189] & [0289]). With regard to claims 1, 6 & 17, Botto teaches the total amount of non-sulfate anionic surfactants in the cleansing compositions can vary but typically ranges from about 5 to about 50 wt. % which may be acyl glutamates including disodium cocoyl glutamate, potassium cocoyl glutamate, sodium cocoyl glutamate and mono-cocoyl glutamate ([0038], [0040] & [0084]). With regard to claims 1 & 17, Botto teaches inclusion of amphoteric surfactants in an amount of about 2 to about 25 wt. % and these may be alkyl sultaines including hydroxyl sultaines ([0098] , [0103] & [0106]). With regard to claims 4 & 17, this yields a (A/B) ratio of 0.2 to 25 including 2 and 2.5 (Math: 50/2= 25; 5/25 =0.2; 50/25 = 2; 5/2 =2.5). With regard to claim 5, Botto teaches the total content of (A) and (B) is 7 to 52% (Math: 5 + 2=7; 50 +25 = 75). With regard to claim 7, Botto teaches inclusion of acrylates/C10-C30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymers in the composition as a thickener ([0191] & [0195]). It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Botto’s shampoo by adding acrylates/C10-C30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymers to the shampoo as directed by Botto. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with an expectation of success, in order to thicken the shampoo with a thickener taught as suitable by Botto. With regard to claims 8 & 9, Botto also teaches inclusion of high melting point, non-silicone, fatty compounds including cetyl alcohol in their invention (i.e. oil agent; [0141] & [0149]). More broadly, with regard to claims 10-12, Botto teaches inclusion of water soluble solvents which include glycerin and polyhydric alcohols for inclusion in their invention in an amount between about 0.01 to about 25 wt% and exemplifies inclusion of glycerin in the Example 2 Formulae 2, 3 & 5 shampoos in an amount between 0.7, 0.7 & 5 % respectively ([0210]-[02130] & [0292]). With regard to claims 1 & 17, Botto teaches the viscosity of their composition can be from about 2500 cP to about 15,000 cp at a temperature of 25° C (i.e. about 2,500 mPa*s to about 15,000 mPa*s; [0284]). Botto teaches inclusion of water-soluble synthetic polymers including starch derivatives (for example, starch oxide, dialdehyde starch, dextrin, British gum, acetyl starch, starch phosphate, carboxymethyl starch, hydroxyethyl starch, hydroxypropyl starch) [0208] .
Botto does not teach the starch derivative is hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, its amount, or the pH of the cleaning composition.
With regard to claims 1, 2, 17 & 18 in the same field of invention, The Herbarie teaches hydroxypropyl starch phosphate is water soluble, is used in an amount of 1-10%, and is used as a co-emulsifier and thickener for shampoos (pg. 3).
With regard to claims 1 & 17, in the same field of invention of cleansers, Snow White teaches that natural skin surfaces have an average pH of below 5 which is beneficial for the skin’s resident flora and acidic cleansers don’t disrupt the skin’s pH like alkaline ones and a low pH is inhospitable to acne (pg. 2 & 5). Snow White concludes “the pH of your cleanser really does matter” and “[y]our cleanser should be acidic, no more than pH 5.6; anything higher could compromise your skin and worsen acne” (pg. 7).
Here, at least rationale (G) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Botto’s gel hair cleansing composition by substituting Botto’s generically taught water-soluble starch derivative with 1-10% hydroxypropyl starch phosphate as suggested by The Herbarie and adjusting the pH of the shampoo/cleanser to be 5 or less as suggested by Snow White because Botto, The Herbarie, and Snow White are directed to cleansers (including shampoos) which are applied to the skin/scalp and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with expectation of success, in order to thicken and improve the stability of Botto’s shampoo formulation through inclusion of 1-10% hydroxypropyl starch phosphate and select a pH for the shampoo that is art recognized as suitable for the skin/scalp which does not disrupt the resident flora of the skin/scalp.
With specific regard to the relationship value for the formula 1 recited by claims 1 & 17, the combined teachings of Botto and The Herbarie teach a formula 1 value between 0.7-75, including 7.5 (Math: 1/10= 0.7; 75/1 = 75; 75/10 = 7.5) which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regard to the recited amounts of hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, acyl acidic amino acid; total content of acyl acidic amino acid and amphoteric surfactant; and polyhydric alcohol; Formula 1 relationship; weight ratio of acyl acidic amino acid to amphoteric surfactant; viscosity; and pH range; the combined teachings of Botto, The Herbarie, and Snow White teach these parameters with values that fall within or overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kranzmann (WO 2018/206215; Published: 11/15/2018) in view of Snow White (Published: 09/21/2014; previously cited) and The Herbarie (Published: 10/25/2012; previously cited).
This rejection is maintained but has been modified to address the amended claims.
With regard to claims 1, 4-6 & 17, Kranzmann teaches a lamellar personal cleansing composition comprising preferably from 1 to 8% of acyl glutamate and preferably 1.0 to 4.0% of an amphoteric surfactant which may be cocoamidopropylhydroxysultaine which yields an (A/B) ratio of 0.25-8 including 1, and 2 and a total content of (A) + (B) of 2 to 12% (pg. 4, ll. 15-30; pg. 11, ll. 5-10; Math: 1 /4= 0.24; 1/1 = 1; 8/4 =2; 8/1 =8). With regard to claims 1 & 17, more broadly, Kranyzmann teaches the viscosity range of the composition is 20,000cP to 300,000cP (i.e. 20,000 mPa*s to 300,000 mPa*s; Kranzmann’s claim 10). With regard to claims 1 & 17, Kranzmann teaches inclusion of thickeners which include polyethylene glycol distearates and starch derivatives and teaches sodium hydroxypropyl starch phosphate to be an example of a starch derivative (pg. 16, ll. 29-end). With regard to claim 7, more broadly, Kranzmann teaches inclusion of terpolymers which can bind the skin (pg. 20, ll. 15-25). With regard to claims 8 & 9, more broadly, Kranzmann teaches inclusion of emollients with petrolatum and partially hydrogenated triglyceride oils preferred (pg. 16, ll. 20-25). With regard to claims 10-12, more broadly, Kranzmann teaches inclusion of polyhydric alcohols, which may be glycerin at a minimum amount of 1% and a maximum amount of 10% by weight (pg. 15, ll. 10-20). Kranzmann teaches the composition of their invention have a pH of 6.0 to 8.0 (pg. 23, ll. 20-25). Kranzmann teaches the compositions of their invention are for cleansing the human body such as skin and hair (pg. 1, ll. 5-10). Kranzmann teaches their cleansing composition for hair and skin has a lotion-like appearance and may comprise sodium hydroxyl propyl starch phosphate (abstract).
Kranzmann does not teach the pH of the composition is 5.3 or less or that the starch derivative is hydroxypropyl starch phosphate.
With regard to claims 1 & 17, the teachings of Snow White are described above.
With regard to claims 1, 2, 17 & 18, the teachings of The Herbarie are described above.
With regard to claims 1 & 17, at least rationale (G) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Kranzmann’s skin and hair cleansing composition by adjusting the pH of the composition to be 5 or less as suggested by Snow White because Kranzmann and Snow White are directed to cleansers (including shampoos) which are applied to the skin/scalp and hair and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with expectation of success, in order to select a pH for the skin and hair cleanser that is art recognized as suitable for the skin/scalp and hair which does not disrupt the resident flora of the skin/scalp and hair.
With regard to claims 1, 2, 17 & 18, at least rationale (B) may be employed in which it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to have modified Kranzmann’s skin and hair cleansing composition by substituting Kranzmann’s generically taught water-soluble starch derivative with 1-10% hydroxypropyl starch phosphate as suggested by The Herbarie because Kranzmann and The Herbarie are directed to cleansers and lotions which are applied to the skin/scalp and hair and it is obvious to modify similar compositions in the same way. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with expectation of success, in order to thicken and improve the stability of Kranzmann’s skin and hair cleansing composition through inclusion of 1-10% hydroxypropyl starch phosphate.
With specific regard to the relationship value for the formula 1 recited by claims 1 & 17, the combined teachings of Kranzmann and The Herbarie teach a formula 1 value between 0.2 to 12 (Math: 12/1= 12; 2/10 = 0.2).
With regard to the recited amounts of hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, acyl acidic amino acid; total content of acyl acidic amino acid and amphoteric surfactant; and polyhydric alcohol; Formula 1 relationship; weight ratio of acyl acidic amino acid to amphoteric surfactant; viscosity; and pH range; the combined teachings of Kranzmann, Snow White and The Herbarie and teach these parameters with values that fall within or overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
In the traverse of the rejection over the cited references, Applicant argues none of the cited references teach a Formula 1 value from 8.6 to 20 as required by the instant claims (reply, pg. 7-10). Applicant argues the composition suggested by the combined teachings of Botto, The Herbarie and Snow White teach a value of 0.84 and the combination of Kranzmann, Snow White, and The Herbarie teach a value of 0.464 (reply, pg. 9-10).
This is not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the formula 1 value are grounded in Examples present in Botto and Kranzmann. However, MPEP 2123 is quite clear that nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Nonetheless, the combined teachings of Botto and The Herbarie teach a formula 1 value between 0.7-75, including 7.5. The combined teachings of Kranzmann and The Herbarie teach a formula 1 between 0.2 to 12.
Applicant argues a feature of their invention is a viscosity of 10,000 mPa*s or more which is a viscosity that permits easy discharge from an inverse stand tube (reply, pg. 9). Applicant argues data supplied in a Declaration show that a Formula 1 value of 8.4 does not exhibit sufficient viscosity (reply, pg. 9-10; Declaration, pg. 2-3).
This is not persuasive. First, Botto and Kranzmann teach viscosity ranges for their respective formulations which overlap or fall within Applicant’s preferred range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Next, the transitional phrase of independent claims 1 & 17 is “comprising” which permits additional unrecited reagents. Botto teaches inclusion of thickeners which may be acrylates. Kranzmann teaches inclusion of thickeners (Kranzmann’s claim 4). It would be obvious to add thickeners to the respective compositions to achieve the taught viscosities.
With regard to Applicant’s argument that a Formula 1 value of 8.4 as taught by Botto’s Example 2 does not achieve the recited viscosity, it is noted that none of claims 1 & 17 link/create a nexus between the Formula 1 value and the viscosity. The claims merely recite “a viscosity…of 10,000 mPa*s or more” and “ a content (A)…a content (b)…and a content (c) satisfy a relationship…” As such, Applicant is arguing unclaimed features. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Also, Botto’s exemplified 8.4 value is close to the recited 8.6 value. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the instant case, the instant specification at paragraph [0031] discloses the configuration of an acyl acidic amino acid or a salt thereof, an amphoteric surfactant, a pH of 5.3 or less, and hydroxypropyl starch phosphate yields a viscosity suitable for tube-filled use without impairing foam performance. The instant specification at paragraph at [0073] teaches the suitable viscosity is “3,500 mPa·s or more, preferably 4,000 mPa·s or more, more preferably 5,000 mPa·s or more, further preferably 10,000 mPa·s or more, and 300,000 mPa·s or more” which overlaps with Botto’s range. The instant specification teaches the suitable ratio yields a viscosity suitable for tube-filled use is 2.5 to 20 (see original claim 3). The ratio taught by the combined teachings of Botto, The Herbarie, and Snow White (i.e. 8.4) falls within this suitable range. Further, the transitional is comprising which permits inclusion of additional thickeners. The instant specification at paragraph [0057] teaches inclusion of additional polymers which include acrylates and alkyl methacrylates. Botto teaches addition of acrylates as thickeners, as such it is obvious to add acrylates to Botto’s Example 2 composition to thicken it and achieve Botto’s taught viscosity of about 2,500 mPa*s to about 15,000 mPa*s which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range.
Lastly, the declaration is not persuasive because it is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. The claims are generic to amounts of acyl glutamic acid, sultaine-type amphoteric surfactant, and hydroxypropyl starch phosphate. The recited acyl glutamic acid and sultaine-type amphoteric surfactant are broad genera. Yet, Declarant only evaluated one species of acyl glutamic acid and sultaine-type amphoteric surfactant in a singular amount. "[O]bjective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980).
Further, the evaluated composition in the declaration was not the closest prior art. The closest prior art is the composition taught by Botto and/or Kranzmann. An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LORI K MATTISON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/NICOLE P BABSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619