Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15,16,19,26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches a light emitting module, comprising: a circuit board (1206, fig. 3); a plurality of unit pixels (151-153) mounted on the circuit board; a molding layer (170) covering the plurality of unit pixels and having a uniform upper surface disposed above upper surfaces of the plurality of unit pixels, and extending continuously over the plurality of unit pixels and over a region between neighboring unit pixels, wherein the molding layer has a region including a light absorbing material (black filler 171, paragraph [0097]); wherein the plurality of unit pixels includes a unit pixel that includes a transparent substrate (sapphire substrate 51, paragraph [0088]).
Lim does not teach that the unit pixels are bonded to a surface of the circuit board via a solder material.
In the same field of endeavor, Liang teaches Gibb teaches a light emitting device is bonded to a surface of a support via a solder material (44, fig. 2), for the benefit of securing the light emitting device to the support (abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to bond the unit pixels to a surface of the circuit board via a solder material, for the benefit of securing unit pixels to the circuit board.
Lim does not teach an anti-glare layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Liang teaches an anti-glare layer (6, fig. 3) disposed on the molding layer (5), wherein a side surface of the circuit board (2), a side surface of the molding layer, and a side surface of the anti-glare layer are flush with one another, for the benefit of reducing reflection of light (paragraph [0028]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose an anti-glare layer on the molding layer, wherein a side surface of the circuit board, a side surface of the molding layer, and a side surface of the anti-glare layer were flush with one another, for the benefit of reducing reflection of light.
Lim does not teach the plurality of unit pixels includes a unit pixel that includes a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board and away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack is disposed between the first LED stack and the third LED stack and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer, an active layer disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other, wherein the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer that is in direct contact with a surface of the third LED stack and covers the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack, the surface of the third LED stack being a surface of the first semiconductor layer or the second semiconductor layer and parallel to the surface of the circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches a unit pixel that includes a transparent substrate (sapphire 100, fig. 3, paragraph [0048]), a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack (blue, LE2, paragraph [0049]) is disposed between the first LED stack (green, LE1, paragraph [0049]) and the third LED stack (red, LE3, paragraph [0049]) and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer (306), an active layer (304) disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer (302) disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other (paragraph [0054]), and wherein sidewalls of the first LED stack, sidewalls of the second LED stack, and sidewalls of the third LED stack are aligned along the vertical direction, for the benefit of creating a compact display (paragraph [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the plurality of unit pixels to include a unit pixel that included a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board and away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack is disposed between the first LED stack and the third LED stack and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer, an active layer disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other, wherein the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer that is in direct contact with a surface of the third LED stack and covers the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack, the surface of the third LED stack being a surface of the first semiconductor layer or the second semiconductor layer and parallel to the surface of the circuit board; wherein sidewalls of the first LED stack, sidewalls of the second LED stack, and sidewalls of the third LED stack are aligned along the vertical direction, for the benefit of reducing providing a compact display.
Lim in view of Jang teaches “the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board” and “the third LED stack, the second LED stack, and the first LED stack are sequentially disposed in the vertical direction that is away from the circuit board.”
Lim does not teach the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer extends along a surface of the third LED stack that is parallel to the surface of the circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer (Bragg reflector 361, fig. 38B) extends along a surface of the third LED stack, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to an insulation layer extends along a surface of the third LED stack, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Lim in view of Kim teaches “an insulation layer extends along a surface of the third LED stack that is parallel to the surface of the circuit board” because Lim teaches the surface of the LED stack to be parallel to the surface of the circuit board (fig. 3) and Kim teaches the insulation layer to be parallel to the surface of the third LED stack (fig. 38B).
Regarding claim 16, Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 15, wherein the molding layer includes a uniform material (170, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Lim in view of Gibb teaches (see claim 15) a display apparatus, comprising: a display substrate (1010, fig. 9 of Lim) ; and a plurality of light emitting modules (100, figs. 3 and 9 of Lim) arranged on the display substrate, each of the plurality of light emitting modules comprising: a circuit board; a plurality of unit pixels mounted on the circuit board and bonded to a surface of the circuit board via a solder material; a molding layer covering the plurality of unit pixels and having an upper surface disposed above upper surfaces of the plurality of unit pixels and extending continuously over the plurality of unit pixels and over a region between neighboring unit pixels; and an anti-glare layer disposed on the molding layer, wherein the molding layer has a region configured to absorb light emitted by the plurality of unit pixels, wherein a side surface of the circuit board, a side surface of the molding layer, and a side surface of the anti-glare layer are flush with one another.
Lim does not teach the plurality of unit pixels includes a unit pixel that includes a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board and away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack is disposed between the first LED stack and the third LED stack and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer, an active layer disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other, wherein the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer that is in direct contact with a surface of the third LED stack and covers the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack, the surface of the third LED stack being a surface of the first semiconductor layer or the second semiconductor layer and parallel to the surface of the circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches a unit pixel that includes a transparent substrate (sapphire 100, fig. 3, paragraph [0048]), a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack (blue, LE2, paragraph [0049]) is disposed between the first LED stack (green, LE1, paragraph [0049]) and the third LED stack (red, LE3, paragraph [0049]) and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer (306), an active layer (304) disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer (302) disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other (paragraph [0054]), and wherein sidewalls of the first LED stack, sidewalls of the second LED stack, and sidewalls of the third LED stack are aligned along the vertical direction, for the benefit of creating a compact display (paragraph [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the plurality of unit pixels to include a unit pixel that included a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board and away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack is disposed between the first LED stack and the third LED stack and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer, an active layer disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other, wherein the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer that is in direct contact with a surface of the third LED stack and covers the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack, the surface of the third LED stack being a surface of the first semiconductor layer or the second semiconductor layer and parallel to the surface of the circuit board; wherein sidewalls of the first LED stack, sidewalls of the second LED stack, and sidewalls of the third LED stack are aligned along the vertical direction, for the benefit of reducing providing a compact display.
Lim in view of Jang teaches “the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board” and “the third LED stack, the second LED stack, and the first LED stack are sequentially disposed in the vertical direction that is away from the circuit board.”
Lim does not teach the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer extends along a surface of the third LED stack that is parallel to the surface of the circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer (Bragg reflector 361, fig. 38B) extends along a surface of the third LED stack, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to an insulation layer extends along a surface of the third LED stack, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Lim in view of Kim teaches “an insulation layer extends along a surface of the third LED stack that is parallel to the surface of the circuit board” because Lim teaches the surface of the LED stack to be parallel to the surface of the circuit board (fig. 3) and Kim teaches the insulation layer to be parallel to the surface of the third LED stack (fig. 38B).
Regarding claim 26, Lim teaches the molding layer contains black filler (paragraph [0097]). Thus, it appears that the molder layer in Lim can function as a prevention against optical interference between the plurality of unit pixels.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the molding layer capable of preventing optical interference between the plurality of unit pixels for the known benefit of preventing cross-talk between pixels.
Regarding claim 27, Lim teaches the light emitting module of claim 15, wherein the molding layer includes at least one of a dry-film type solder resist (DFSR), a photoimageable solder resist (PSR), or a black material (BM) (171, black filler, paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 28, Liang teaches the light emitting module of claim 15, wherein the anti-glare layer covers an upper surface of the molding layer and configured to prevent light reflection (paragraph [0028]), or wherein the anti-glare layer includes an ultraviolet-curable material.
Claim(s) 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1) as applied to claims 17 and 22 above, and further in view of Krall et al (PG Pub 2014/0231788 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 23, the previous combination remains as applied in claims 17 and 22.
Jang further teaches the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are configured to emit green light, blue light, and red light, respectively (fig. 3, paragraph [0049]).
The previous combination does not teach a luminous intensity ratio of the red light, the green light, and the blue light is approximately 3: 6: 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Krall teaches a luminous intensity ratio of the red light, the green light, and the blue light (paragraphs [0145][0153]) is approximately 3: 6: 1, for the benefit of generating white light that is according to human visual response (paragraphs [0145][0153]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Liu et al (PG Pub 2016/0248040 A1).
Regarding claim 21, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 19.
The previous combination does not teach the molding layer includes an ultraviolet-curable material.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches an ultraviolet-curable material can achieve benefits such as increased curing speed and reduced energy consumption (paragraph [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the molding layer to include an ultraviolet-curable material, for the benefits of increasing curing speed and reduced energy consumption during manufacturing.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Bert (PG Pub 2008/0197376 A1) and Matsumoto et al (PG Pub 2013/0122251 A1).
Regarding claim 24, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 15.
The previous combination does not teach the molding layer includes an ultraviolet-curable material.
In the same field of endeavor, Bert teaches forming an optical element that includes acrylate (paragraph [0060]) to improve the hardness of the element, which improves the element resistant to mechanical effects (paragraph [0076]). Matsumoto teaches acrylate to be ultraviolet-curable (paragraph [0063]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the molding layer to include an ultraviolet-curable material, for the benefit of improving its resistant to mechanical effects.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1), Bert (PG Pub 2008/0197376 A1) and Matsumoto et al (PG Pub 2013/0122251 A1) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Kameshima et al (PG Pub 2022/0037567 A1).
Regarding claim 25, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 24.
The previous combination does not explicitly teach the molding layer has a hardness greater than a thermosetting resin.
Bert teaches the molding layer has a hardness greater than pure silicone (paragraph [0076]).
Kameshima teaches silicone to be a thermosetting resin (paragraph [0052]).
Thus, Bert in view of Kameshima teaches the molding layer has a hardness greater than a thermosetting resin.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Fukuda et al (PG Pub 2008/0241524 A1).
Regarding claim 29, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 15.
The previous combination does not teach the anti-glare layer includes at least one silica, melamine, or acryl.
In the same field of endeavor, Fukuda teaches the anti-glare layer includes at least one silica, melamine, or acryl (acrylate, paragraph [0006]), for the benefit of achieving physical strength (paragraph [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the anti-glare layer to include at least one silica, melamine, or acryl, for the benefit of achieving physical strength.
Claim(s) 30, 34, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1), and Liu et al (PG Pub 2016/0248040 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Lim in view of Gibb, Liang, Jang, and Kim (see claim 15) teaches a light emitting module, comprising: a circuit board; a plurality of unit pixels disposed on the circuit board and bonded to a surface of the circuit board via a solder material; a molding layer disposed on the circuit board and having a light absorbing material; and an anti-glare layer disposed on the circuit board, wherein the molding layer includes an ultraviolet-curable material and covers an upper region of the circuit board and a side surface of the plurality of unit pixels, and wherein the anti-glare layer contacts a region of the molding layer, wherein the plurality of unit pixels includes a unit pixel that includes a transparent substrate, a first LED stack, a second LED stack, and a third LED stack, wherein the first LED stack, the second LED stack, and the third LED stack are sequentially stacked in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to a surface of the circuit board and away from the transparent substrate, and wherein the second LED stack is disposed between the first LED stack and the third LED stack and configured to emit light having a shorter wavelength than wavelengths of the first LED stack and the third LED stack, wherein the third LED stack includes a first semiconductor layer, an active layer disposed directly on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer disposed directly on the active layer, the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer having opposite polarities from each other, wherein the unit pixel further includes an insulation layer extends along the surface of the third LED stack that is parallel to the surface of the circuit board, wherein the third LED stack, the second LED stack, and the first LED stack are sequentially disposed in the vertical direction that is away from the circuit board, and wherein sidewalls of the first LED stack, sidewalls of the second LED stack, and sidewalls of the third LED stack are aligned along the vertical direction.
Lim does not teach the molding layer includes an ultraviolet-curable material.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches an ultraviolet-curable material can achieve benefits such as increased curing speed and reduced energy consumption (paragraph [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the molding layer to include an ultraviolet-curable material, for the benefits of increasing curing speed and reduced energy consumption during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 34, Kim does not teach the light emitting module of claim 30, wherein a unit pixel has an area of 500 µm x 500 µm or less.
Official notice: It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the size of the unit pixel according to the use of the device (indoor use for smaller screens versus outdoor use for larger screen and viewed from afar). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1), and Liu et al (PG Pub 2016/0248040 A1) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Krall et al (PG Pub 2014/0231788 A1).
Regarding claim 32, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 30.
The previous combination does not teach a luminous intensity ratio of the red light, the green light, and the blue light is approximately 3: 6: 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Krall teaches a luminous intensity ratio of the red light, the green light, and the blue light is approximately 3: 6: 1 (paragraphs [0145][0153]), for the benefit of generating white light that is according to human visual response (paragraphs [0145][0153]).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1), and Liu et al (PG Pub 2016/0248040 A1) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Bert et al (PG Pub 2008/0197376 A1) and Kameshima et al (PG Pub 2022/0037567 A1).
Regarding claim 33, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 30.
The previous combination does not teach the molding layer has a hardness greater than a thermosetting resin.
In the same field of endeavor, Bert teaches forming an optical element of a hybrid material (paragraph [0060]) to improve the hardness of the element, which improves the element resistant to mechanical effects (paragraph [0076]). Bert also teaches the molding layer has a hardness greater than pure silicone (paragraph [0076]).
Kameshima teaches silicone to be a thermosetting resin (paragraph [0052]).
Thus, Bert in view of Kameshima teaches the molding layer has a hardness greater than a thermosetting resin.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067255 A1), Gibb et al (PG Pub 2003/0010975 A1), Liang et al (PG Pub 2021/0242373 A1), Jang et al (PG Pub 2020/0058825 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0214373 A1), and Liu et al (PG Pub 2016/0248040 A1) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Fukuda et al (PG Pub 2008/0241524 A1).
Regarding claim 35, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 30.
The previous combination does not teach a thickness of the anti-glare layer is about 10 µm.
In the same field of endeavor, Fukuda teaches a thickness of the anti-glare layer is about 10 µm (paragraph [0006]), for the benefit of achieving physical strength (paragraph [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make a thickness of the anti-glare layer is about 10 µm, for the benefit of achieving physical strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15,16,18,19,21,23-30,32-35 have been considered but are not persuasive because the currently cited references teach the added features. See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899