DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated April 16, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-15, and 22-30 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's remarks and amendments filed April 16, 2026. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s amendment of claim 1. Claims 3, 5, 8, 11, 12, 16-21, and 31-37 were previously canceled.
Applicants elected without traverse breast cancer as the elected cancer species; 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 as the vitamin D compound species; a formulation species comprising 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 as the vitamin D compound species, and a vehicle comprising propylene glycol and anhydrous ethanol in the reply filed on May 22, 2023. The requirement is still deemed proper. Claim 25 remains withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-15, and 22-30 are presently under examination as they pertain to the elected species: breast cancer, calcitriol, propylene glycol and anhydrous ethanol.
Priority
The present application is a Continuation of US Application No. 16/424,037 filed on May 28, 2019, which is a Continuation of US Application No. 14/953,334 filed on November 28, 2015, which is a Continuation of PCT/US2014/040084 filed on May 29, 2014, which claims benefit of US Provisional Application No. 61/828,448 filed on May 29, 2013. The effective filing date of the instant application is May 29, 2013.
Objections and/or Rejections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Objections and/or Rejections) or newly applied (New Objections and/or Rejections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Objections and/or Rejections, NOT Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Modified Objections and/or Rejections
Modifications Necessitated by Claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-15, 22-24, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jimenez et al (US 2011/0059917 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jimenez ‘917, cited in a previous Office Action) in view of Pitre et al (EP 1,952,808 A2, cited in a previous Office Action) and Dr. Mercola® Premium Supplements (http://products.mercola.com/vitamin-d-spray/, Internet Archive Wayback Machine date, March 3, 2011, cited in a previous Office Action) as evidenced by Sunshine Mist™ Vitamin D Spray product label obtained from the archived webpage: (https://web.archive.org/web/20110303080308/http://mercola.fileburst.com/PDF/product-labels/vitaminD-spray-label-v100.pdf, cited in a previous Office Action).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 22-24, and 26-30, Jimenez ‘917 teaches a method of preventing or treating alopecia in an individual, comprising topically administering to the individual a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound formulated to be delivered to epidermis while substantially avoiding dermis delivery (claim 1) wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises about 40% (w/w) propylene glycol and about 60% (w/w) anhydrous absolute ethanol (200 proof, U.S.) (claim 2); wherein the vitamin D compound is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 5); wherein the alopecia is chemotherapy-induced alopecia (CIA) (claim 15); wherein alopecia has not commenced in the individual (claim 20), wherein the individual is undergoing or about to undergo chemotherapy (claim 21); wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered to the individual prior to chemotherapy or concurrent with chemotherapy (claim 22); wherein the pharmaceutical composition does not substantially reduce the efficacy of chemotherapy (claim 24). Jimenez ‘917 teaches the composition can be formulated for topical administration in a spray [0269].
Regarding the limitation wherein the topical administering step is performed for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy, Jimenez ‘917 teaches in certain embodiments, the vitamin D compounds of the invention is administered to the individual over a period of about 6 weeks, 8 about weeks, about 3 months, about 4 months, about 5 months, about 6 months, about 7 months, about 8 months, about 9 months, about 10 months, about 11 months or about a year [0169]. 1,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 administered 2 weeks prior to commencement of chemotherapy and concurrently with chemotherapy for about 6 weeks reads on for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy.
Jimenez ‘917 does not explicitly teach the composition is topically administered using a metered spray unit.
However, Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol that is sprayable (claim 1) wherein the calcitriol is in an amount of between 0.0001 and 20% (claim 2). Pitre teaches the composition is preferably in a dosing spray bottle, for which the application area and dose characteristics are controlled and reproducible; the spray device used consists of a bottle equipped with a 25µl dosing valve [0044]. This reads on a metered spray unit. Pitre further teaches that the composition is suitable for producing a medicinal product intended for treating alopecia, in particular alopecia caused by chemotherapy or radiation [0045]. The Examiner notes that 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 is equivalent to calcitriol.
As such, since Jimenez ’97 teaches a method of preventing chemotherapy-induced alopecia comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to a patient undergoing or about to undergo chemotherapy, and since Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol formulated in a spray composition for use in a metered spray bottle which is useful for treating alopecia of various origins, in particular alopecia caused by chemotherapy, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a metered spray unit to deliver composition taught by Jimenez topically to the scalp for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents since the prior art teaches this as a method of administration for administering calcitriol for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents.
Regarding the amounts of vitamin D of instant claims 1, 6 and 7, Jimenez ‘917 teaches in human subjects, a total dose of calcitriol (or other equivalent amount of vitamin D compounds) of about 2.5 μg, 5 μg, 10 μg, 25 μg, 50 μg, 75 μg, or 100 μg may be used. Regarding claim 10, Jimenez ‘917 teaches the concentration of the vitamin D compound in the topical formulation is about 0.1, 0.2, 0.5, 1.0, 2, 3, 5, 10, 20, 30, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, or 400 μg/mL. MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding the limitation the pharmaceutical composition is administered in an about 1.0 mL dose (instant claim 1) or 0.25 mL (instant claim 9), Jimenez ‘917 teaches applying amounts of 5.07, 10.31, and 55.34 µg/mL administered at a dose volume of 2.1 mL [0451] ml and Pitre teaches a spray bottle with a 25µl dosing valve. Moreover, Dr. Mercola Premium Supplements Sunshine Mist™ Vitamin D Spray product label teaches serving size is 6 sprays (approximately 0.78 mL) and that the container contains approximately 32 servings. Thus, Dr. Mercola Premium Supplements teaches a metered pump designed to dispense 0.13-ml, 6 times, and that the container contains about 192 sprays.
As such, since Jimenez ‘917 teaches a topical solution for inhibiting alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents comprising 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3, propylene glycol and ethyl alcohol wherein 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 is administered in a concentration of 0.1, 0.2, 0.5, 1.0, 2, 3, 5, 10, 20, 30, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, or 400 μg/mL at a dose volume of 2.1 mL, since Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol formulated in a spray composition for use in a metered spray bottle equipped with a 25µl dosing valve, and since Dr. Mercola Premium Supplements teaches a metered dose spray composition comprising vitamin D wherein the serving size is 6 sprays (approximately 0.78 mL) in a container containing about 32 servings, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the dispense dose, number of spray doses, and amount of dispenses (sprays) the container holds taught by Dr. Mercola Premium Supplements as a starting point for optimizing the spray dispenser to deliver the optimum dose of the vitamin D derivative calcitriol for supplementing the subject without overdosing. Regarding the limitation directed to administering the composition to each of the four quadrants of the scalp (instant claim 9), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to evenly distribute the composition across the scalp in order to evenly treat the scalp to reduce chemotherapy induced alopecia evenly throughout the scalp.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Jimenez ‘917 teaches the vitamin D compounds of the invention is topically administered to the scalp twice daily each day for two consecutive weeks prior to the commencement of chemotherapy in order to prevention or reduce the severity of any CIA that may occur upon commencement of chemotherapy [0172].
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 22-24, and 26-30 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 13-15, Jimenez ‘917 teaches the chemotherapy includes gemcitabine (claim 26) and Gemcitabine is used in the treatment of various carcinomas, including breast cancer [0357]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the method of reducing chemotherapy-induced alopecia suggested by Jimenez ‘917 and Pitre in a subject having breast cancer treated with gemcitabine since the prior art teaches gemcitabine is a chemotherapeutic used to treat breast cancer, resulting in the practice of the method of claims 13-15 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
The '917 application, Pitre, Dr. Mercola and Sunshine Mist
Applicant argues:
While the '917 application fully supports and enables all of the embodiments disclosed and claimed therein, the '917 application does not disclose the particular administration method required by the present claims, i.e., topically administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to the scalp of the subject using a metered spray unit wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises the vitamin D compound at a concentration of 5-20 µg/mL, and the pharmaceutical composition is administered in an about 1.0 mL dose and at a total daily dose of about 10-100 µg of the vitamin D compound for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy. Accordingly, the safety and efficacy of this particular administration method demonstrated by Applicant would not have been expected from the teachings of the '917 application. Pitre fails to teach or suggest any total daily dose of a Vitamin D compound, much less the particular daily dose range required. Pitre fails to provide any experimental evidence demonstrating that any treatment regimen of a Vitamin D is effective for the treatment of alopecia.
Dr. Mercola and Sunshine Mist fail to cure the deficiencies of the ‘917 application and Pitre. Dr. Mercola and Sunshine Mist describe oral administration of Vitamin D. Dr. Mercola and Sunshine Mist fail to teach or suggest administering the disclosed Vitamin D spray topically to the scalp, as required by the present claims, much less the relatively high topical daily dose required by the claims as currently amended, i.e., a total daily dose of about 10-100 µg of a Vitamin D compound administered for at least one month after commencement of chemotherapy. Thus Dr. Mercola and Sunshine Mist, even when combined with Pitre and Jimenez, fail to teach or suggest that a total daily dose of about 10-100 µg of a Vitamin D compound by topical administration would result in safe and effective prevention of alopecia, as demonstrated by Applicant.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Applicants are reminded that it must be remembered that the references are relied upon in combination and are not meant to be considered separately as in a vacuum. It is the combination of all of the cited and relied upon references, which make up the state of the art with regard to the claimed invention. As set forth above, Jimenez ‘917 teaches a topical solution for inhibiting alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents comprising 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3, propylene glycol and ethyl alcohol wherein 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 is administered in a concentration of 0.1, 0.2, 0.5, 1.0, 2, 3, 5, 10, 20, 30, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, or 400 μg/mL at a dose volume of 2.1 mL. As set forth above, regarding the limitation wherein the topical administering step is performed for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy, Jimenez ‘917 teaches in certain embodiments, the vitamin D compounds of the invention is administered to the individual over a period of about 6 weeks, 8 about weeks, about 3 months, about 4 months, about 5 months, about 6 months, about 7 months, about 8 months, about 9 months, about 10 months, about 11 months or about a year [0169]. 1,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 administered 2 weeks prior to commencement of chemotherapy and concurrently with chemotherapy for about 6 weeks reads on for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy. As set forth above, Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol formulated in a spray composition for use in a metered spray bottle equipped with a 25µl dosing valve. As set forth above, Dr. Mercola Premium Supplements teaches a metered dose spray composition comprising vitamin D wherein the serving size is 6 sprays (approximately 0.78 mL) in a container containing about 32 servings. As set forth above, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the dispense dose, number of spray doses, and amount of dispenses (sprays) the container holds taught by Dr. Mercola Premium Supplements as a starting point for optimizing the spray dispenser to deliver the optimum dose of the vitamin D derivative calcitriol for supplementing the subject without overdosing.
Maintained Objections and/or Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 27-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 5,486,509 in view of Pitre et al (EP 1,952,808 A2, cited in the IDS filed January 31, 2020) and Jimenez et al (US 2011/0059917 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jimenez ‘917, cited in a previous Office Action).
The instant claims are directed to a method of preventing or mitigating chemotherapy-induced alopecia in a human subject comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to the scalp of the subject using a metered spray unit.
The previously allowed claims are directed to a method of reducing chemotherapy-induced alopecia comprising administering an effective amount of vitamin D3 or derivative thereof (claim 1) wherein said derivative is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 2) wherein said vitamin D3 is administered topically (claim 3), wherein the composition is administered prior to the initiation of said chemotherapy (claim 9). The previously allowed claims do not specifically recite topically is administered using a metered spray unit.
However, Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol that is sprayable (claim 1) wherein the calcitriol is in an amount of between 0.0001 and 20% (claim 2). Pitre teaches the composition is preferably in a dosing spray bottle, for which the application area and dose characteristics are controlled and reproducible; the spray device used consists of a bottle equipped with a 25µl dosing valve [0044]. This reads on a metered spray unit. Pitre further teaches that the composition is suitable for producing a medicinal product intended for treating alopecia, in particular alopecia caused by chemotherapy or radiation [0045]. The Examiner notes that 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 is equivalent to calcitriol.
Jimenez ‘917 teaches a method of treating alopecia in an individual, comprising topically administering to the individual a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound formulated to be delivered to epidermis while substantially avoiding dermis delivery (claim 1); wherein the vitamin D compound is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 5); wherein the alopecia is chemotherapy-induced alopecia (CIA) (claim 15). Moreover, Jimenez ‘917 teaches administering 5.07 and 10.31 µg/mL at a dose volume of 2.1 mL [0451]. Regarding the limitation wherein the topical administering step is performed for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy, Jimenez ‘917 teaches in certain embodiments, the vitamin D compounds of the invention is administered to the individual over a period of about 6 weeks, 8 about weeks, about 3 months, about 4 months, about 5 months, about 6 months, about 7 months, about 8 months, about 9 months, about 10 months, about 11 months or about a year [0169]. 1,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 administered 2 weeks prior to commencement of chemotherapy and concurrently with chemotherapy for about 6 weeks reads on for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy.
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a metered spray unit to deliver the composition recited by the previously allowed claims topically to the scalp for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents since the prior art teaches this as a method of administration for administering calcitriol for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents. It would have been further prima facie obvious to utilize the dose volume and dosing regimen taught by the previously allowed claims and Jimenez ‘917 as a starting point for optimizing the dosing volume for administering the vitamin D3 compound to treat alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents. The skilled artisan would arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Pitre and Jimenez ‘917.
Claims 1, 2, and 27-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 6,291,443 B1 in view of Pitre et al (EP 1,952,808 A2, cited in the IDS filed January 31, 2020) and Jimenez et al (US 2011/0059917 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jimenez ‘917, cited in a previous Office Action).
The instant claims are directed to a method of preventing or mitigating chemotherapy-induced alopecia in a human subject comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to the scalp of the subject using a metered spray unit.
The previously allowed claims are directed to a method of reducing chemotherapy-induced alopecia comprising administering an effective amount of vitamin D3 or derivative thereof (claim 1) wherein said derivative is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 2) wherein said vitamin D3 is administered topically (claim 3), wherein the composition is administered prior to the initiation of said chemotherapy (claim 9). The previously allowed claims do not specifically recite topically is administered using a metered spray unit.
However, Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol that is sprayable (claim 1) wherein the calcitriol is in an amount of between 0.0001 and 20% (claim 2). Pitre teaches the composition is preferably in a dosing spray bottle, for which the application area and dose characteristics are controlled and reproducible; the spray device used consists of a bottle equipped with a 25µl dosing valve [0044]. This reads on a metered spray unit. Pitre further teaches that the composition is suitable for producing a medicinal product intended for treating alopecia, in particular alopecia caused by chemotherapy or radiation [0045]. The Examiner notes that 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 is equivalent to calcitriol.
Jimenez ‘917 teaches a method of treating alopecia in an individual, comprising topically administering to the individual a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound formulated to be delivered to epidermis while substantially avoiding dermis delivery (claim 1); wherein the vitamin D compound is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 5); wherein the alopecia is chemotherapy-induced alopecia (CIA) (claim 15). Moreover, Jimenez ‘917 teaches administering 5.07 and 10.31 µg/mL at a dose volume of 2.1 mL [0451]. Regarding the limitation wherein the topical administering step is performed for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy, Jimenez ‘917 teaches in certain embodiments, the vitamin D compounds of the invention is administered to the individual over a period of about 6 weeks, 8 about weeks, about 3 months, about 4 months, about 5 months, about 6 months, about 7 months, about 8 months, about 9 months, about 10 months, about 11 months or about a year [0169]. 1,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 administered 2 weeks prior to commencement of chemotherapy and concurrently with chemotherapy for about 6 weeks reads on for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy.
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a metered spray unit to deliver the composition recited by the previously allowed claims topically to the scalp for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents since the prior art teaches this as a method of administration for administering calcitriol for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents. It would have been further prima facie obvious to utilize the dose volume taught by Jimenez as a starting point for optimizing the dosing volume for administering the vitamin D3 compound to treat alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents. The skilled artisan would arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Pitre and Jimenez ‘917.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 22-24, and 26-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-57 of U.S. Patent No. 9,901,637 B2 in view of Pitre et al (EP 1,952,808 A2, cited in the IDS filed January 31, 2020) and Jimenez et al (US 2011/0059917 A1, hereinafter referred to as Jimenez ‘917, cited in a previous Office Action).
The instant claims are directed to a method of preventing or mitigating chemotherapy-induced alopecia in a human subject comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to the scalp of the subject using a metered spray unit.
The previously allowed claims are directed to a method of treating chemotherapy-induced alopecia comprising topically administering to the individual a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound and a carrier, wherein the carrier consists of propylene glycol and anhydrous absolute ethanol at a % (w/w) ratio of propylene glycol to ethanol range which includes 40:60 (claim 1) (which is the same or similar to the carrier and ratio of instant claims 23 and 24); wherein the vitamin D compound is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 2); wherein alopecia has not commenced in the individual (claim 5), wherein the composition is administered to the individual prior to administration of chemotherapy or concurrent with administration of chemotherapy to the individual (claim 11); wherein the pharmaceutical composition does not substantially reduce the efficacy of the chemotherapy (claim 7). The previously allowed claims do not specifically recite that the topically administered composition is administered using a metered spray unit.
However, Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol that is sprayable (claim 1) wherein the calcitriol is in an amount of between 0.0001 and 20% (claim 2). Pitre teaches the composition is preferably in a dosing spray bottle, for which the application area and dose characteristics are controlled and reproducible; the spray device used consists of a bottle equipped with a 25µl dosing valve [0044]. This reads on a metered spray unit. Pitre further teaches that the composition is suitable for producing a medicinal product intended for treating alopecia, in particular alopecia caused by chemotherapy or radiation [0045]. The Examiner notes that 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 is equivalent to calcitriol.
Jimenez ‘917 teaches a method of treating alopecia in an individual, comprising topically administering to the individual a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound formulated to be delivered to epidermis while substantially avoiding dermis delivery (claim 1); wherein the vitamin D compound is 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3 (claim 5); wherein the alopecia is chemotherapy-induced alopecia (CIA) (claim 15). Moreover, Jimenez ‘917 teaches administering 5.07 and 10.31 µg/mL at a dose volume of 2.1 mL [0451]. Regarding the limitation wherein the topical administering step is performed for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy, Jimenez ‘917 teaches in certain embodiments, the vitamin D compounds of the invention is administered to the individual over a period of about 6 weeks, 8 about weeks, about 3 months, about 4 months, about 5 months, about 6 months, about 7 months, about 8 months, about 9 months, about 10 months, about 11 months or about a year [0169]. 1,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D3 administered 2 weeks prior to commencement of chemotherapy and concurrently with chemotherapy for about 6 weeks reads on for at least one month after commencement of the chemotherapy.
As such, since the instant claims are directed to a method of preventing chemotherapy-induced alopecia comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to a patient undergoing or about to undergo chemotherapy, and since Pitre teaches a composition comprising calcitriol formulated in a spray composition for use in a metered spray bottle which is useful for treating alopecia of various origins, in particular alopecia caused by chemotherapy, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a metered spray unit to deliver composition taught by Jimenez topically to the scalp for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents since the prior art teaches this as a method of administration for administering calcitriol for treating alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents. It would have been further prima facie obvious to utilize the dose volume taught by Jimenez as a starting point for optimizing the dosing volume for administering the vitamin D3 compound to treat alopecia induced by chemotherapeutic agents. The skilled artisan would arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Pitre and Jimenez ‘917.
Regarding the amounts of vitamin D of instant claims 6-8 and 10, the previously allowed claims are directed to wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises 3-100 μg/mL of 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3; and wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises about 5, 10 or 20 μg/mL of 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D3. It would have prima facie obvious to utilize the amounts of the previously granted claims to arrive at the doses and amounts of the sprayable composition of the instant claims. Similarly, it would have been well with the skill of the skilled artisan to optimize the treatment regimen recited in the previously granted claims to arrive at the treatment regimen of instant claims 3, 4, 9, 11 and 12, Jimenez ‘917 teaches the vitamin D compounds of the invention is topically administered to the scalp twice daily each day for two consecutive weeks prior to the commencement of chemotherapy in order to prevention or reduce the severity of any CIA that may occur upon commencement of chemotherapy [0172]. Two weeks prior to commencement of chemotherapy reads on the limitation “wherein step (2) is performed for a sufficient time prior to the commencement of chemotherapy such that the catagen stage of hair follicles is induced in the treated area of the subject” as evidenced by instant claim 4.
Regarding previously allowed claims 49-58 which are directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising vitamin D compounds, the composition of the previously allowed claims would anticipate the instantly claimed composition.
In Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010), the Court determined that Claims of a later patent were held invalid for obviousness-type double patenting when the earlier patent claimed a compound and disclosed its utility in specification, and later patent claimed a method of using compound for use described in specification of earlier patent.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 22-24, and 26-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,305,016 B2.
The previously allowed claims are directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a vitamin D compound, propylene glycol and ethanol which would anticipate the instantly claimed composition. The specification of the previously allowed claims discloses the composition can be formulated in a spray formulation, and the compositions are useful for preventing or treating alopecia in an individual by topically administering the composition (col 1, lines 56-61) wherein the alopecia is chemotherapy induced alopecia (page 1, lines 50-54) and dose concentrations were 5.07 and 10.31 µg/mL at a dose volume of 2.1 mL (col 68, lines 18-19).
In Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010), the Court determined that Claims of a later patent were held invalid for obviousness-type double patenting when the earlier patent claimed a compound and disclosed its utility in specification, and later patent claimed a method of using compound for use described in specification of earlier patent.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 22-24, and 26-30 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 13-17, 19, 28-31, 33, 38, 40, and 44 of copending Application No. 17/981,038 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant claims are directed to a method of preventing or mitigating chemotherapy-induced alopecia in a human subject comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a vitamin D compound to the scalp of the subject using a metered spray unit.
The copending claims are directed to a method of preventing or mitigating chemotherapy-induced alopecia in a human subject comprising the steps of:(1) selecting a human subject having a cancer and who is scheduled to receive, or is receiving, a chemotherapy; and (2) topically administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a vitamin D compound in a total daily dose of 105 µg to 180 µg of the vitamin D compound to the scalp of the subject, wherein step (2) is performed prior to and/or concurrently with the chemotherapy, thereby preventing or mitigating chemotherapy-induced alopecia in the subject (claim 1), wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered in an about 1.0 mL dose (claim 9); wherein about 0.25 mL is administered to each of the four quadrants of the scalp (claim 10) wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered using a metered spray unit (claim 13). The copending claims differ from the instant claims in the amount of vitamin D administered. However, it would be obvious to utilize the amounts of vitamin D recited in the copending claims as a starting point for optimizing the amount of vitamin D administered to arrive at the method of the instant claims because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Claims 1, 2, and 27-30 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 5,486,509 (Jimenez) in view of Pitre. Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. The present claims as currently amended are not obvious over claims 1-27 of Jimenez in view of Pitre for at least the reasons provided above under the obviousness rejection.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Applicant has not independently argued the merits of this rejection. Arguments regarding Pitre and ‘917 and the obviousness rejection have been addressed above. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth on the record and for those set forth in the response to the arguments above.
Applicant argues:
Claims 1, 2, and 27-30 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 6,291,443 B1 in view of Pitre. Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated in the present application.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Applicant’s request for maintaining the rejection on the grounds of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting over US Patent No. 6,291,443 B1 is noncompliant with the regulations under 37 C.F.R. 1.111. The instant rejection is not a provisional rejection as the claims of US Patent 6,291,443 B1 have been issued. In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner has examined the instant application. However, in order for the response to the instant Office Action to be fully responsive and in compliance with the regulations under 37 C.F.R. 1.111, the Applicant should either file a terminal disclosure or traverse the rejection based on US Patent No. 6,291,443 B1. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the instant non-statutory obviousness-type double patent rejection in view of US Patent No. 6,291,443 B1 and no Terminal Disclaimer has been filed, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues:
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 22-24, and 26-30 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory
double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-57 of U.S. Patent No. 9,901,637 B2 in view of Pitre. The '637 patent issued from the '917 application discussed above under the obviousness rejection. Thus, the claims as currently amended are not obvious over claims 1-57 of the '637 patent for at least the reasons provided above regarding the '917 application. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Applicant has not independently argued the merits of this rejection. Arguments regarding Pitre and ‘917 application and the obviousness rejection have been addressed above. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth on the record and for those set forth in the response to the arguments above.
Applicant argues:
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 22-24, and 26-30 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,305,016 B2. Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. The '016 patent issued from a continuation application claiming priority to the '917 application discussed above under the obviousness rejection. Thus, the claims as currently amended are not obvious over claims 1-20 of the '016 patent for at least the reasons provided above regarding the '917 application. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Applicant has not independently argued the merits of this rejection. Arguments regarding Pitre and 928 application and the obviousness rejection have been addressed above. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth on the record and for those set forth in the response to the arguments above.
Applicant argues:
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 22-24, and 26-30 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 13-17, 19, 28-31, 33, 38, 40, and 44 of copending Application No. 17/981,038. Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated in the present application.
Examiner's response:
With regard to the double patenting rejection, applicant's request for this rejection to be held in abeyance until all other rejections are overcome has been acknowledged. The double patenting rejection is maintained and held in abeyance.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-15, 22-24, and 26-30 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/Rayna Rodriguez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628