DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 21-40 and 42-44 are pending in the application. Claims 21-40 and 42 are withdrawn and Claims 43-44 are examined herein.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant again argues that Yu provides no specific motivation to select a hydroxy substituent at the C11 position. Applicant further argues Yu does not provide motivation to select a specific configuration of the hydroxyl group suggested by Yu. Applicant argues the stereoisomer is not prima facie obvious because Compound 100 is unexpectedly selective for FXR modulators (Spec: Page 1). Compound 100 is a hydrogenated form of the claimed intermediate, rather than the compound itself. Applicant argues that it is unexpected that such an intermediate can be used to form a potent, selective FXR modulator and that number, position, and orientation of hydroxyl groups affects properties significantly. It is known in the art that the addition of a beta hydroxyl at C11 of bile acid derivatives yields selective FXR agonist. Applicant corroborates this, citing US Patent No. 9611289. Further, Pellicciari (WO2014184271) teaches the selection of a beta hydroxy group at the C11 position of bile acid derivatives yields selective FXR agonists (Page 32, Lines 4-5 and Table 1; Figure 1). Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and persuasive because Yu teaches TGR5 modulators, whereas the products formed from the claimed intermediates are selective for FXR and have no activity against TGR5 (Pellicciari: Page 32, Table 1). Therefore, the rejection issued over Yu is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments. A new rejection over 35 USC 103 is issued below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forman (Steroids 77 (2012) 1335–1338) in view of Pellicciari (WO2014184271, 9/5/2023 IDS).
Forman teaches methods of synthesizing a potent selective FXR agonist as follows (Abstract; Page 1336, Fig. 2):
.
Intermediate 3 differs from the claimed intermediate in that Int 3 lacks a C11 beta hydroxy group.
Forman does not suggest the addition of a beta hydroxy at the C11 position before or after the synthesis of Int 3.
Pellicciari teaches Compound 100,
, which differs from Compound 4, the product of Forman, by the addition of a beta hydroxy at the C11 position (Page 30). Pellicciari teaches the particular addition of the beta hydroxy group yields a potent, and selective FXR agonist, the same result desired in Forman (Page 32, Table 1). Pellicciari specifically compares Compound 100 to Forman Compound 4/Obeticholic Acid/INT-747/Pellicciari Compound A, noting increased potency (Figure 1):
.
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to form a potent, selective FXR modulator as described by both Forman and Pellicciari, would find it obvious to modify the Forman synthesis through the addition of the beta hydroxy at the C11 to any of the intermediates or starting material of Fig. 2. Such a modification would yield applicant’s elected species as an intermediate when forming the selective, potent FXR agonist. One would expect success in forming the intermediate for the synthesis of the potent end product of Pellicciari before the effective filing date of the instant application because the synthetic route deployed in Forman only serves to add an ethyl group to C6 and hydrogenate the oxo group at C7, leaving the hydroxy groups in tact or preserved by a protecting group.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
Claims 43-44 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 4-5, 10-20, 24-25 of copending Application No. 18878533 (hereinafter referred to as intercept).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of bile acid derivatives.
Intercept teaches methods which require the compounds of the instant claims.
Formula (B) of intercept
and the elected species
differ in that the elected species possesses an oxo substituent at C7. Intercept teaches the hydroxy and hydrogen at C7 may instead be a single oxo.
One of skill in the art, in view of Intercept teaching oxo as an alternative embodiment to OH and H, would find it obvious to modify formula (B) accordingly and expect the resulting compound, within the scope of formula (I), to treat cognitive impairment as taught by Intercept.
Since both applications teach bile acid derivatives, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Intercept.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627