Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 08/05/2025 has been entered. The status of claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 3, 9 and 15 are amended.
Response to Arguments
In reference to the Rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(a) – New Subject Matter:
Applicant’s amendments reciting that “the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another” does not overcome the 35 U.S.C 112 rejections because the limitation lacks written description support in the originally filed Specification. Paragraph ¶[0038] of the Instant Specification discloses that the searching blocks may be the same or different, which means the searching blocks are not required to be structurally or functionally separate or distinct. Accordingly, the amendments introduce subject matter that was not originally disclosed and the rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(a) is maintained.
In reference to the Rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(b):
Applicant’s amendments reciting that “the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another” does not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b), as the claim additionally recite in Claim 1-Line 14, Claim 9 – Lines 20-21, Claim 15 – Lines 17 that “wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another”. The recitation that the searching blocks are both “separate and distinct” while simultaneously being “interconnected” renders the scope of the claim unclear because these limitations are logically inconsistent without further clarification as to the nature and extent of the separation and the interconnection. It is therefore unclear whether the searching blocks are required to be structurally independent, functionally independent, or merely logically partitioned while still performing a single integrated component. Accordingly, one of the ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b) is therefore maintained.
In reference to the Rejections under 35 U.S.C 103:
Applicant asserts in Remarks pg. 10-11 that Zhang, Zoph and Mao, whether taken individually or in combination fail to disclose or render obvious at least "a first parallel module including a first plurality of stacked searching blocks and a second plurality of stacked searching blocks, wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks is configured to output first feature maps of a first resolution and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks is configured to output second feature maps of a second resolution, wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another," as recited in claim 1.
Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s remarks do not constitute a substantive traversal of the rejection. The response merely summarizes what Zhang, Zoph and Mao disclose, but fails to address the Office Action’s particular findings as to how the cited references cure the noted deficiencies, and provides no explanation as to why the articulated rationale for reliance on Zhang, Zoph and Mao is in error. Specifically, Applicant merely characterizes Mao as a conventional DS-FPN implementation and notes example feature-map constructions (e.g., C2-C4 to F2-F4), but does not explain how this purported conventionality negates the Office Action’s mappings. The rejection does not rely on Mao for novelty of FPN per se, but for its disclosure of dual-stream, parallel DS-blocks at feature pyramid scales, i.e., separate and distinct from one another that generate different resolution feature maps. Mao expressly teaches DS-Blocks that generate two feature maps with different resolutions, which reasonably corresponds, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, to plurality of blocks that are separate and distinct from one another. Therefore the rejection is maintained as shown in the previous office action.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – New Matter
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The recitation of “wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another” in claims 1, 9 and 15 is not supported by the specification. Examiner respectfully notes that the originally filed specification and drawings fail to support this newly amended limitation. In particular, paragraph ¶[0038] of the Instant Specification discloses that the searching blocks may be the same or different, which means the searching blocks are not required to be structurally or functionally separate or distinct. Without support or a structural distinction in the drawings, the assertion of independence constitutes new matter and therefore the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(a) as new matter.
The dependent claims 2-8, 10-14 and 16-20 inherit the deficiencies of the independent claims and therefore they are also rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another” and “wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another” (line 14). It is unclear how the searching blocks can be both separate and distinct from one another and interconnected with one another, as these terms are logically inconsistent without further clarification. The claims fail to provide sufficient context to distinguish whether these limitations refer to the same searching blocks, or different searching blocks. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. As a result, it remains unclear how the searching blocks can simultaneously be separate, distinct and interconnected. For the purpose of examination, the “searching blocks” is being interpreted as being interconnected because FIG.3 clearly shows the arrows between these searching blocks which suggests a data flow or sequential operation. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to clarify the distinction and avoid internal inconsistency.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites “wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another” and “wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another” (line 20-21). It is unclear how the searching blocks can be both separate and distinct from one another and interconnected with one another, as these terms are logically inconsistent without further clarification. The claims fail to provide sufficient context to distinguish whether these limitations refer to the same searching blocks, or different searching blocks. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. As a result, it remains unclear how the searching blocks can simultaneously be separate, distinct and interconnected. For the purpose of examination, the “searching blocks” is being interpreted as being interconnected because FIG.3 clearly shows the arrows between these searching blocks which suggests a data flow or sequential operation. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to clarify the distinction and avoid internal inconsistency.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites “wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another” and “wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another” (line 17). It is unclear how the searching blocks can be both separate and distinct from one another and interconnected with one another, as these terms are logically inconsistent without further clarification. The claims fail to provide sufficient context to distinguish whether these limitations refer to the same searching blocks, or different searching blocks. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. As a result, it remains unclear how the searching blocks can simultaneously be separate, distinct and interconnected. For the purpose of examination, the “searching blocks” is being interpreted as being interconnected because FIG.3 clearly shows the arrows between these searching blocks which suggests a data flow or sequential operation. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to clarify the distinction and avoid internal inconsistency.
The dependent claims 2-8, 10-14 and 16-20 inherit the deficiencies of the independent claims and therefore they are also rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (“DCNAS: Densely Connected Neural Architecture Search for Semantic Image Segmentation”) in view of Mao et al (“Dual-stream Network for Visual Recognition”) and further in view of Zoph et al (US 2021/0081796 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Zhang explicitly discloses:
a first parallel module including a first plurality of stacked searching blocks and a second plurality of stacked searching blocks, (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Upsample block unchanged. Dashed lines represent candidate connections in DCSS, to keep clarity, we only demonstrate several connections among all the candidates.”
Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “As illustrated by the bottom left part in Figure 1, the fusion module consists of the shape-alignment layer besides the mixture layer. The shape alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 discloses a search space with a multi-branch parallel module including multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks)]
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks is configured to output first feature maps of a first resolution and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks is configured to output second feature maps of a second resolution; (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.”, Page 4, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “The shape-alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form. Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape.”, Page 6, Col. 1, Section 4.1, ¶[1]: “In our experiments, for the shape of feature maps, we set the spatial resolution space S to be {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}, and the corresponding widths are set to F, 2F, 4F, 8F, where we set F to be 64 for our best model”.) [Examiner’s note: “output first feature maps of a first resolution” and “output second feature maps of a second resolution” i.e., dispatching each feature-map to the corresponding branches, which have respective resolution {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}]
a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks, wherein the fusion module is configured to generate multiscale feature maps by fusing one or more feature maps of the first resolution received from the first parallel module with one or more feature maps of the second resolution received from the first parallel module, and (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
“Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS... Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.”, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: “a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks” i.e., Figure 1 discloses a fusion module which includes multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks). The highlight shows that the fusion module performing multi-scale features fusion by aggregating (i.e., fusing) feature maps of corresponding resolution (i.e., dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches)]
wherein the fusion module is configured to output the multiscale feature maps and output third feature maps of a third resolution; and (Zhang, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”, Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.
”) [Examiner’s note: The fusion module (bottom left in Fig. 1) aggregates feature maps from multiple scales (e.g., resolution ¼, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32) using element-wise addition
, creating a unified multiscale representation. The third feature map of the third resolution (e.g., 1/16) is produced by selecting and operating on the fused multiscale features at the desired resolution.]
a second parallel module configured to receive the multiscale feature maps and the third feature maps of the third resolution from the fusion module, and output fourth feature maps of the first resolution, fifth feature maps of the second resolution, and sixth feature maps of the third resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
“Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Up sample block unchanged. Dashed lines represent candidate connections in DCSS, to keep clarity, we only demonstrate several connections among all the candidates. Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones. Bottom Right: Mixture layer may further save GPU memory consumption and accelerating the searching process by sampling and operating on a portion of features while bypassing the others.”) [Examiner’s note: The fusion module (bottom left of Fig. 1) aggregates feature maps from various scales, combining multiscale information into a unified feature map (ft/st). The densely connected pathways in the search space enable the fused feature map of the third resolution (e.g., 1/16) to be passed to a parallel mixture layer. In the mixture layer (bottom right of Fig. 1), the received multiscale feature maps are split and processed through separable convolutions of varying kernel sizes. These processed features are then concatenated to form new output feature maps. Through this process, the mixture layer dynamically generates the fourth feature maps at the first resolution (e.g., 1/4), the fifth feature maps at the second resolution (e.g., 1/8) and the sixth feature maps at the third resolution by operating on both the fused multiscale maps and resolution-specific inputs from the fusion module.]
Zhang fails to disclose:
A system for neural architecture search, the system comprising: a processor; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to implement a search space comprising:
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another;
a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks, wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another,
and a second parallel module including a third plurality of stacked searching blocks and a fourth plurality of stacked searching blocks, the second parallel module configured to receive the multiscale feature maps and the third feature maps of the third resolution from the fusion module, and
wherein each of the searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching
blocks, the second plurality of stacked searching blocks, the third plurality of stacked searching blocks, the fourth plurality of stacked searching blocks, and the plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer.
However, Zoph explicitly discloses:
A system for neural architecture search, the system comprising: a processor; and (Zoph, ¶[0088]: “Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program can be based on general or special purpose microprocessors or both, or any other kind of central processing unit. Generally, a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both.”)
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to implement a search space comprising: (Zoph, ¶0089]: “Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non volatile memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks, e.g., internal hard disks or removable disks; magneto optical disks; and CD ROM and DVD-ROM disks.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Zoph. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Zoph teaches a method of neural architecture search for dense image prediction tasks. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Zoph because MPEP 2143 sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness including: (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E): “Obvious to try” choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of the ordinary skill in the art.
However, Mao explicitly discloses:
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another; (Mao, Page 2, ¶[2]: “In this paper, we address the these issues by introducing a Dual-stream Network (DS-Net). Instead of single stream architecture as previous works, our DS-Net adopts Dual-stream Blocks (DS-Blocks), which generates two feature maps with different resolutions, and retains both local and global information of the image via two parallel branches.”, Page 6, Section 3.4, Figure 3:
Section 3.4, ¶[1]: “we apply our Dual-stream design into FPN, named Dual-stream Feature Pyramid Networks(DS-FPN), by simply adding DS-Blocks to every feature pyramid scale. In this way, DS-FPN is able to better attain non-local patterns and local details with marginal increased costs at all scales, which further enhance the performance of subsequent object detection and segmentation heads.”) [Examiner’s note: “dual-stream blocks” is being interpreted as the “stacked searching blocks” because they have the similar function of generating feature maps with different solutions. The term “simply adding DS-Blocks to every feature pyramid scale” indicates parallel and independent blocks]
a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks, wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another, (Mao, Page 6, ¶[1]: “Such a bidirectional information flow is able to identify cross-scale relations between local and global tokens, by which dual-scale features are highly aligned and coupled with each other. After this, we could safely up sample low-resolution representation hG, concatenate it with high-resolution hL and perform 1 by 1 convolution for channel-wise dual-scale information fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: the highlight discloses the concept of a fusion module that includes a plurality of components which are interconnected through bidirectional information flow. It explains that local and global features are aligned and combined via concatenation and 1 x 1 convolution, indicating that the blocks are interconnected when performing channel-wise dual scale fusion]
and a second parallel module including a third plurality of stacked searching blocks and a fourth plurality of stacked searching blocks, the second parallel module configured to receive the multiscale feature maps and the third feature maps of the third resolution from the fusion module, and (Mao, Page 2, ¶[2]: “In this paper, we address the these issues by introducing a Dual-stream Network (DS-Net). Instead of single stream architecture as previous works, our DS-Net adopts Dual-stream Blocks (DS-Blocks), which generates two feature maps with different resolutions, and retains both local and global information of the image via two parallel branches. We propose a Intra-scale Propagation module here to process two feature maps.”, Page 4, Figure 2:
)
wherein each of the searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching
blocks, the second plurality of stacked searching blocks, the third plurality of stacked searching blocks, the fourth plurality of stacked searching blocks, and the plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer. (Mao, Page 6, Figure 3:
Page 6, Section 3.4, ¶[2-3]: “Fig 3(b) shows our DS-FPN pipeline in RetinaNet. Similar to FPN in Fig 3(a), we take image features from various scales from the backbone as input, and output corresponding refined feature maps of fixed channels number by a top-down aggregation methods. Our structure is composed of bottom-up pathways, Dual-stream lateral connections, and top-down pathways… Specifically, we denote feature maps of bottom-up pathways as {C2, C3, C4}, where C1 is ignored due to its low semantics and high resolutions. After processed by lateral DS-Blocks and aggregated with the upsampled features from top-down pathway, we obtain final {F2, F3, F4}. When extra feature outputs are needed, FPN utilizes 3 x 3 convolution with stride 2 to obtain F5 from C4, while DS-FPN adopts 2 x 2 patches embedding to down sample the image and follows a DS-Block to generate dual-scale features.”, Page 8, Section 4.4, ¶[1]: “Settings. Experiments of DS-FPN are implemented on DS-Net-T and Swin Transformer [22] for object detection and instance segmentation on MSCOCO 2017 [20], by replacing the original FPN with DS-FPN.”) [Examiner’s note: The highlight indicates that features are extracted from at least three different layers in the backbone (C2, C3, C4) which are typical outputs of intermediate layers in CNNs]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Mao. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Mao teaches a generic Dual-stream Network (DS-Net) to fully explore the representation capacity of local and global pattern features for image classification. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Mao to improve the model’s ability to identify optimal sub-architectures for high-resolution tasks by combining local feature refinement with long-range contextual awareness.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph further discloses:
wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause
the system to (Zoph, ¶0089]: “Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non volatile memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks, e.g., internal hard disks or removable disks; magneto optical disks; and CD ROM and DVD-ROM disks.”)
wherein at least one searching block of the plurality of searching blocks of the fusion module is configured to down-sample feature maps, and (Zhang, Page 8, Col. 1, ¶[3]: “our DCNAS inherently and repeatedly applying top-down and bottom-up multi-scale features fusion, hence results in leading performance.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
. “Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Up sample block unchanged.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 show that at least one searching block (i.e., the parallel mixture layer) is configured to down-sample and up-sample feature maps, where the dashed green lines represent down-sampling connections and the dashed purple lines represent up-sampling connections.]
wherein at least one searching block of the first plurality of searching blocks of the fusion module is configured to up-sample feature maps. (Zhang, Page 8, Col. 1, ¶[3]: “our DCNAS inherently and repeatedly applying top-down and bottom-up multi-scale features fusion, hence results in leading performance.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
. “Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Up sample block unchanged.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 show that at least one searching block (i.e., the parallel mixture layer) is configured to down-sample and up-sample feature maps, where the dashed green lines represent down-sampling connections and the dashed purple lines represent up-sampling connections.]
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph further discloses:
wherein the first resolution is greater than the second resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
, Page 6, Col. 1, Section 4.1: “In our experiments, for the shape of feature maps, we set the spatial resolution space S to be {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}, and the corresponding widths are set to F; 2F; 4F; 8F, where we set F to be 64 for our best model.”) [Examiner’s note: “first resolution” is being interpreted as ¼, “second resolution” is being interpreted as 1/8. ]
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph further discloses:
wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the search space to further comprise (Zoph, ¶0089]: “Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non volatile memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks, e.g., internal hard disks or removable disks; magneto optical disks; and CD ROM and DVD-ROM disks.”)
a second fusion module including a second plurality of searching blocks, wherein the second fusion module is configured to generate multiscale feature maps of the second resolution by combining a down-sampled feature map received from the second parallel module with an up-sampled feature map received from the second parallel module, and
wherein each of the searching blocks of the second plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer. (Mao, Page 6, Figure 3:
Page 6, Section 3.4, ¶[2-3]: “Fig 3(b) shows our DS-FPN pipeline in RetinaNet. Similar to FPN in Fig 3(a), we take image features from various scales from the backbone as input, and output corresponding refined feature maps of fixed channels number by a top-down aggregation methods. Our structure is composed of bottom-up pathways, Dual-stream lateral connections, and top-down pathways… Specifically, we denote feature maps of bottom-up pathways as {C2, C3, C4}, where C1 is ignored due to its low semantics and high resolutions. After processed by lateral DS-Blocks and aggregated with the upsampled features from top-down pathway, we obtain final {F2, F3, F4}. When extra feature outputs are needed, FPN utilizes 3 x 3 convolution with stride 2 to obtain F5 from C4, while DS-FPN adopts 2 x 2 patches embedding to down sample the image and follows a DS-Block to generate dual-scale features.”, Page 8, Section 4.4, ¶[1]: “Settings. Experiments of DS-FPN are implemented on DS-Net-T and Swin Transformer [22] for object detection and instance segmentation on MSCOCO 2017 [20], by replacing the original FPN with DS-FPN.”) [Examiner’s note: The highlight indicates that features are extracted from at least three different layers in the backbone (C2, C3, C4) which are typical outputs of intermediate layers in CNNs]
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph further discloses:
wherein the fusion module is configured to fuse feature maps from searching blocks of three different resolutions. (Zhang, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”, Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.
”) [Examiner’s note: The fusion module (bottom left in Fig. 1) aggregates feature maps from multiple scales (e.g., resolution ¼, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32) using element-wise addition
, creating a unified multiscale representation. The third feature map of the third resolution (e.g., 1/16) is produced by selecting and operating on the fused multiscale features at the desired resolution]
Regarding claim 8, Zhang explicitly discloses:
further comprising another fusion module configured to receive a convolution stream and output feature maps of the first resolution to the first parallel module and output feature maps of the second resolution to the first parallel module. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: “another fusion module configured to receive a convolution stream and output feature maps” is being interpreted as the concat module of the mixture layer. The mixture layer receives input feature maps, which are processed through multiple parallel convolution streams with different kernel sizes (3 x 3, 5 x 5, 7 x 7). After processing through the convolution streams, the resulting feature maps are concatenated. This fusion combines the information from all streams into a unified representation. The concatenated feature maps are then further processed or adjusted to produce output feature maps at the first resolution (e.g., 1/4) and the second resolution (e.g., 1/8)]
Zhang fails to disclose:
wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the search space to further comprise
wherein the other fusion module comprises a second plurality of searching blocks that are interconnected with each other, and wherein each of the searching blocks of the second plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer.
However, Zoph explicitly discloses:
wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the search space to further comprise (Zoph, ¶0089]: “Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non volatile memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks, e.g., internal hard disks or removable disks; magneto optical disks; and CD ROM and DVD-ROM disks.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Zoph. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Zoph teaches a method of neural architecture search for dense image prediction tasks. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Zoph because MPEP 2143 sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness including: (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E): “Obvious to try” choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of the ordinary skill in the art.
However, Mao explicitly discloses:
wherein the other fusion module comprises a second plurality of searching blocks that are interconnected with each other, and wherein each of the searching blocks of the second plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer. (Mao, Page 6, Figure 3:
Page 6, Section 3.4, ¶[2-3]: “Fig 3(b) shows our DS-FPN pipeline in RetinaNet. Similar to FPN in Fig 3(a), we take image features from various scales from the backbone as input, and output corresponding refined feature maps of fixed channels number by a top-down aggregation methods. Our structure is composed of bottom-up pathways, Dual-stream lateral connections, and top-down pathways… Specifically, we denote feature maps of bottom-up pathways as {C2, C3, C4}, where C1 is ignored due to its low semantics and high resolutions. After processed by lateral DS-Blocks and aggregated with the upsampled features from top-down pathway, we obtain final {F2, F3, F4}. When extra feature outputs are needed, FPN utilizes 3 x 3 convolution with stride 2 to obtain F5 from C4, while DS-FPN adopts 2 x 2 patches embedding to down sample the image and follows a DS-Block to generate dual-scale features.”, Page 8, Section 4.4, ¶[1]: “Settings. Experiments of DS-FPN are implemented on DS-Net-T and Swin Transformer [22] for object detection and instance segmentation on MSCOCO 2017 [20], by replacing the original FPN with DS-FPN.”) [Examiner’s note: The highlight indicates that features are extracted from at least three different layers in the backbone (C2, C3, C4) which are typical outputs of intermediate layers in CNNs]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Mao. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Mao teaches a generic Dual-stream Network (DS-Net) to fully explore the representation capacity of local and global pattern features for image classification. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Mao to improve the model’s ability to identify optimal sub-architectures for high-resolution tasks by combining local feature refinement with long-range contextual awareness.
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (“DCNAS: Densely Connected Neural Architecture Search for Semantic Image Segmentation”) (hereafter referred to as “Zhang”) in view of Mao et al (“Dual-stream Network for Visual Recognition”) (hereafter referred to as “Mao”), Zoph et al (US 2021/0081796 A1) (hereafter referred to as “Zoph”), and further in view of Dosovitskiy et al (“AN IMAGE IS WORTH 16X16 WORDS: TRANSFORMERS FOR IMAGE RECOGNITION AT SCALE”) (hereafter referred to as “Dosovitskiy”)
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph discloses all the limitation of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph further discloses:
wherein the transformer of one or more searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks is configured to (Mao, Page 6, Figure 3:
Page 6, Section 3.4, ¶[2-3]: “Fig 3(b) shows our DS-FPN pipeline in RetinaNet. Similar to FPN in Fig 3(a), we take image features from various scales from the backbone as input, and output corresponding refined feature maps of fixed channels number by a top-down aggregation methods. Our structure is composed of bottom-up pathways, Dual-stream lateral connections, and top-down pathways… Specifically, we denote feature maps of bottom-up pathways as {C2, C3, C4}, where C1 is ignored due to its low semantics and high resolutions. After processed by lateral DS-Blocks and aggregated with the upsampled features from top-down pathway, we obtain final {F2, F3, F4}. When extra feature outputs are needed, FPN utilizes 3 x 3 convolution with stride 2 to obtain F5 from C4, while DS-FPN adopts 2 x 2 patches embedding to down sample the image and follows a DS-Block to generate dual-scale features.”, Page 8, Section 4.4, ¶[1]: “Settings. Experiments of DS-FPN are implemented on DS-Net-T and Swin Transformer [22] for object detection and instance segmentation on MSCOCO 2017 [20], by replacing the original FPN with DS-FPN.”) [Examiner’s note: The highlight indicates that features are extracted from at least three different layers in the backbone (C2, C3, C4) which are typical outputs of intermediate layers in CNNs]
Zhang in view of Mao and Zoph fails to disclose:
provide an attention map based on feature maps received from another searching block of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks.
However, Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses:
provide an attention map based on feature maps received from another searching block of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks. (Dosovitshiy, Page 3, Figure 1: “Model overview. We split an image into fixed-size patches, linearly embed each of them, add position embeddings, and feed the resulting sequence of vectors to a standard Transformer encoder. In order to perform classification, we use the standard approach of adding an extra learnable “classification token” to the sequence.”
, Page 3, Section 3.1, ¶[4]: “The Transformer encoder (Vaswani et al., 2017) consists of alternating layers of multiheaded self attention (MSA, see Appendix A) and MLP blocks”, Page 4, ¶[2]: “As an alternative to raw image patches, the input sequence can be formed from feature maps of a CNN”, Page 8, Figure 6: “Representative examples of attention from the output token to the input space.”
) [Examiner’s note: feature map i.e., “the input sequence can be formed from feature maps”, Fig. 6 shows attention maps is provided based on feature maps (i.e., input sequence)]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Zoph teaches a method of neural architecture search for dense image prediction tasks. Mao teaches a generic Dual-stream Network (DS-Net) to fully explore the representation capacity of local and global pattern features for image classification. Dosovitskiy teaches experiment with applying a standard Transformer directly to images, with the fewest possible modifications, which is inspired by the Transformer scaling successes in NPL. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy to enhance the network’s ability to capture long-range dependencies and contextual relationships within the feature maps received from other searching blocks, thereby improving feature representation and enabling more effective multiscale learning.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy discloses all the limitation of claim 3 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein one or more searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks includes a plurality of convolution layers arranged in a depth-wise manner, each convolution layer of the plurality of convolution layers having a different kernel size. (Zhang, Page 3, Col. 2, Section 3.1, ¶[2]: “The mixture layer is the elementary structure in search space represents a collection of available operations. Similar to [2], we construct the operator space O with various configurations of mobileNet-v3 [23], i.e., kernel sizes k ϵ {3; 5; 7}, expansion ratios r ϵ {3; 6}.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 discloses the Mixture Layer (bottom right) dividing the input feature maps into multiple parallel paths where each path uses a different kernel size, such as 3 x 3, 5 x 5, and 7 x 7, to perform depth-wise separable convolutions.]
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang explicitly discloses:
a first branch including a first plurality of stacked searching blocks for image features of a first resolution, (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Upsample block unchanged. Dashed lines represent candidate connections in DCSS, to keep clarity, we only demonstrate several connections among all the candidates.”
Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “As illustrated by the bottom left part in Figure 1, the fusion module consists of the shape-alignment layer besides the mixture layer. The shape alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form.”) [Examiner’s note:
Figure 1 discloses a search space with a multi-branch parallel module including multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks)]
one or more searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks including a plurality of convolution layers (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: plurality of stacked searching blocks i.e., the multiple mixture layers, plurality of convolution layers i.e., convolution layers with various sizes (3 x 3, 5 x 5, 7 x 7)]
a second branch including a second plurality of stacked searching blocks for image features of a second resolution, (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Upsample block unchanged. Dashed lines represent candidate connections in DCSS, to keep clarity, we only demonstrate several connections among all the candidates.”
Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “As illustrated by the bottom left part in Figure 1, the fusion module consists of the shape-alignment layer besides the mixture layer. The shape alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 discloses a search space with a multi-branch parallel module including multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks)]
one or more searching blocks of the second plurality of stacked searching blocks
including a plurality of convolution and (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: plurality of stacked searching blocks i.e., the multiple mixture layers, plurality of convolution layers i.e., convolution layers with various sizes (3 x 3, 5 x 5, 7 x 7)]
a fusion module configured to fuse image features output by the one or more searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and image features output by the one or more searching blocks of the second plurality of stacked searching blocks, wherein the fusion module is configured to output image features of the first resolution and image features of the second resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: “another fusion module configured to receive a convolution stream and output feature maps” is being interpreted as the concat module of the mixture layer. The mixture layer receives input feature maps, which are processed through multiple parallel convolution streams with different kernel sizes (3 x 3, 5 x 5, 7 x 7). After processing through the convolution streams, the resulting feature maps are concatenated. This fusion combines the information from all streams into a unified representation. The concatenated feature maps are then further processed or adjusted to produce output feature maps at the first resolution (e.g., 1/4) and the second resolution (e.g., 1/8)]
Zhang fails to disclose:
A system for neural architecture search, the system comprising:
a processor; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to implement a search space comprising:
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from another searching block of the first branch;
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from another searching block of the second branch; and
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another;
a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks, wherein each searching block of the plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer,
wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another
However, Zoph explicitly discloses:
A system for neural architecture search, the system comprising:
a processor; and (Zoph, ¶[0088]: “Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program can be based on general or special purpose microprocessors or both, or any other kind of central processing unit. Generally, a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both.”)
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to implement a search space comprising: (Zoph, ¶0089]: “Computer readable media suitable for storing computer program instructions and data include all forms of non volatile memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks, e.g., internal hard disks or removable disks; magneto optical disks; and CD ROM and DVD-ROM disks.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Zoph. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Zoph teaches a method of neural architecture search for dense image prediction tasks. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Zoph because MPEP 2143 sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness including: (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E): “Obvious to try” choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of the ordinary skill in the art.
However, Dosovitskyi explicitly discloses:
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from another searching block of the first branch; (Dosovitshiy, Page 3, Figure 1: “Model overview. We split an image into fixed-size patches, linearly embed each of them, add position embeddings, and feed the resulting sequence of vectors to a standard Transformer encoder. In order to perform classification, we use the standard approach of adding an extra learnable “classification token” to the sequence.”
, Page 3, Section 3.1, ¶[4]: “The Transformer encoder (Vaswani et al., 2017) consists of alternating layers of multiheaded self attention (MSA, see Appendix A) and MLP blocks”, Page 4, ¶[2]: “As an alternative to raw image patches, the input sequence can be formed from feature maps of a CNN”, Page 8, Figure 6: “Representative examples of attention from the output token to the input space.”
) [Examiner’s note: feature map i.e., “the input sequence can be formed from feature maps”, Fig. 6 shows attention maps is provided based on feature maps (i.e., input sequence)]
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from another searching block of the second branch; and (Dosovitshiy, Page 3, Figure 1: “Model overview. We split an image into fixed-size patches, linearly embed each of them, add position embeddings, and feed the resulting sequence of vectors to a standard Transformer encoder. In order to perform classification, we use the standard approach of adding an extra learnable “classification token” to the sequence.”
, Page 3, Section 3.1, ¶[4]: “The Transformer encoder (Vaswani et al., 2017) consists of alternating layers of multiheaded self attention (MSA, see Appendix A) and MLP blocks”, Page 4, ¶[2]: “As an alternative to raw image patches, the input sequence can be formed from feature maps of a CNN”, Page 8, Figure 6: “Representative examples of attention from the output token to the input space.”
) [Examiner’s note: feature map i.e., “the input sequence can be formed from feature maps”, Fig. 6 shows attention maps is provided based on feature maps (i.e., input sequence)]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Dosovitskiy. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Dosovitskiy teaches experiment with applying a standard Transformer directly to images, with the fewest possible modifications, which is inspired by the Transformer scaling successes in NPL. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Dosovitskiy to enhance the network’s ability to capture long-range dependencies and contextual relationships within the feature maps received from other searching blocks, thereby improving feature representation and enabling more effective multiscale learning.
However, Mao explicitly discloses:
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another; (Mao, Page 2, ¶[2]: “In this paper, we address the these issues by introducing a Dual-stream Network (DS-Net). Instead of single stream architecture as previous works, our DS-Net adopts Dual-stream Blocks (DS-Blocks), which generates two feature maps with different resolutions, and retains both local and global information of the image via two parallel branches.”, Page 6, Section 3.4, Figure 3:
Section 3.4, ¶[1]: “we apply our Dual-stream design into FPN, named Dual-stream Feature Pyramid Networks(DS-FPN), by simply adding DS-Blocks to every feature pyramid scale. In this way, DS-FPN is able to better attain non-local patterns and local details with marginal increased costs at all scales, which further enhance the performance of subsequent object detection and segmentation heads.”) [Examiner’s note: “dual-stream blocks” is being interpreted as the “stacked searching blocks” because they have the similar function of generating feature maps with different solutions. The term “simply adding DS-Blocks to every feature pyramid scale” indicates parallel and independent blocks]
a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks, wherein each searching block of the plurality of searching blocks includes a plurality of neural network layers and a transformer, (Mao, Page 6, Figure 3:
Page 6, Section 3.4, ¶[2-3]: “Fig 3(b) shows our DS-FPN pipeline in RetinaNet. Similar to FPN in Fig 3(a), we take image features from various scales from the backbone as input, and output corresponding refined feature maps of fixed channels number by a top-down aggregation methods. Our structure is composed of bottom-up pathways, Dual-stream lateral connections, and top-down pathways… Specifically, we denote feature maps of bottom-up pathways as {C2, C3, C4}, where C1 is ignored due to its low semantics and high resolutions. After processed by lateral DS-Blocks and aggregated with the upsampled features from top-down pathway, we obtain final {F2, F3, F4}. When extra feature outputs are needed, FPN utilizes 3 x 3 convolution with stride 2 to obtain F5 from C4, while DS-FPN adopts 2 x 2 patches embedding to down sample the image and follows a DS-Block to generate dual-scale features.”, Page 8, Section 4.4, ¶[1]: “Settings. Experiments of DS-FPN are implemented on DS-Net-T and Swin Transformer [22] for object detection and instance segmentation on MSCOCO 2017 [20], by replacing the original FPN with DS-FPN.”) [Examiner’s note: The highlight indicates that features are extracted from at least three different layers in the backbone (C2, C3, C4) which are typical outputs of intermediate layers in CNNs]
wherein the plurality of searching blocks are interconnected with one another (Mao, Page 6, ¶[1]: “Such a bidirectional information flow is able to identify cross-scale relations between local and global tokens, by which dual-scale features are highly aligned and coupled with each other. After this, we could safely up sample low-resolution representation hG, concatenate it with high-resolution hL and perform 1 by 1 convolution for channel-wise dual-scale information fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: the highlight discloses the concept of a fusion module that includes a plurality of components which are interconnected through bidirectional information flow. It explains that local and global features are aligned and combined via concatenation and 1 x 1 convolution, indicating that the blocks are interconnected when performing channel-wise dual scale fusion]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Mao. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Mao teaches a generic Dual-stream Network (DS-Net) to fully explore the representation capacity of local and global pattern features for image classification. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Mao to improve the model’s ability to identify optimal sub-architectures for high-resolution tasks by combining local feature refinement with long-range contextual awareness.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy discloses all the limitation of claim 9 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein the fusion module is configured to initiate a third branch and output image features of a third resolution. (Zhang, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”, Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.
”) [Examiner’s note: The fusion module (bottom left in Fig. 1) aggregates feature maps from multiple scales (e.g., resolution ¼, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32) using element-wise addition
, creating a unified multiscale representation. The third feature map of the third resolution (e.g., 1/16) is produced by selecting and operating on the fused multiscale features at the desired resolution.]
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy discloses all the limitation of claim 10 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein the first resolution is greater than the second resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
, Page 6, Col. 1, Section 4.1: “In our experiments, for the shape of feature maps, we set the spatial resolution space S to be {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}, and the corresponding widths are set to F; 2F; 4F; 8F, where we set F to be 64 for our best model.”) [Examiner’s note: “first resolution” is being interpreted as ¼, “second resolution” is being interpreted as 1/8. ]
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy discloses all the limitation of claim 10 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein the plurality of searching blocks of the fusion module includes a searching block configured to down-sample image features of the first branch and up-sample image features of the third branch, (Zhang, Page 8, Col. 1, ¶[3]: “our DCNAS inherently and repeatedly applying top-down and bottom-up multi-scale features fusion, hence results in leading performance.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
. “Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Up sample block unchanged.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 show that at least one searching block (i.e., the parallel mixture layer) is configured to down-sample and up-sample feature maps, where the dashed green lines represent down-sampling connections and the dashed purple lines represent up-sampling connections.]
the fusion module configured to generate multiscale image features by fusing the down-sampled image features and the up-sampled image features to output multiscale image features of the second resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
“Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS... Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.”, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: “a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks” i.e., Figure 1 discloses a fusion module which includes multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks). The highlight shows that the fusion module performing multi-scale features fusion by aggregating (i.e., fusing) down-sampled feature maps and up-sampled feature map (i.e., dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches)]
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy discloses all the limitation of claim 9 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein one or more searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks includes a plurality of convolution layers arranged in a depth- wise manner, each convolution layer of the plurality of convolution layers having a different kernel size. (Zhang, Page 3, Col. 2, Section 3.1, ¶[2]: “The mixture layer is the elementary structure in search space represents a collection of available operations. Similar to [2], we construct the operator space O with various configurations of mobileNet-v3 [23], i.e., kernel sizes k ϵ {3; 5; 7}, expansion ratios r ϵ {3; 6}.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 discloses the Mixture Layer (bottom right) dividing the input feature maps into multiple parallel paths where each path uses a different kernel size, such as 3 x 3, 5 x 5, and 7 x 7, to perform depth-wise separable convolutions.]
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhang, Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy discloses all the limitation of claim 9 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Mao, Zoph and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
a third branch including a third plurality of stacked searching blocks for image features of a third resolution, (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Upsample block unchanged. Dashed lines represent candidate connections in DCSS, to keep clarity, we only demonstrate several connections among all the candidates.”
Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “As illustrated by the bottom left part in Figure 1, the fusion module consists of the shape-alignment layer besides the mixture layer. The shape alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 discloses a search space with a multi-branch parallel module including multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks)]
wherein one or more searching blocks of the third plurality of stacked searching blocks includes a transformer. (Dosovitshiy, Page 3, Figure 1: “Model overview. We split an image into fixed-size patches, linearly embed each of them, add position embeddings, and feed the resulting sequence of vectors to a standard Transformer encoder. In order to perform classification, we use the standard approach of adding an extra learnable “classification token” to the sequence.”
, Page 3, Section 3.1, ¶[4]: “The Transformer encoder (Vaswani et al., 2017) consists of alternating layers of multiheaded self attention (MSA, see Appendix A) and MLP blocks”, Page 4, ¶[2]: “As an alternative to raw image patches, the input sequence can be formed from feature maps of a CNN”, Page 8, Figure 6: “Representative examples of attention from the output token to the input space.”
) [Examiner’s note: feature map i.e., “the input sequence can be formed from feature maps”, Fig. 6 shows attention maps is provided based on feature maps (i.e., input sequence)]
Claim(s) 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (“DCNAS: Densely Connected Neural Architecture Search for Semantic Image Segmentation”) (hereafter referred to as “Zhang”) in view of Mao et al (“Dual-stream Network for Visual Recognition”) (hereafter referred to as “Mao”), and further in view of Dosovitskiy et al (“AN IMAGE IS WORTH 16X16 WORDS: TRANSFORMERS FOR IMAGE RECOGNITION AT SCALE”) (hereafter referred to as “Dosovitskiy”)
Regarding claim 15, Zhang explicitly discloses:
A method of searching a search space, the method comprising: generating image features of a first resolution using a first parallel module including a first plurality of stacked searching blocks, (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.”, Page 4, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “The shape-alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form. Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape.”, Page 6, Col. 1, Section 4.1, ¶[1]: “In our experiments, for the shape of feature maps, we set the spatial resolution space S to be {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}, and the corresponding widths are set to F, 2F, 4F, 8F, where we set F to be 64 for our best model”.) [Examiner’s note: “output first feature maps of a first resolution” and “output second feature maps of a second resolution” i.e., dispatching each feature-map to the corresponding branches, which have respective resolution {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}]
wherein one or more searching blocks of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks includes a plurality of convolution layers and (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: plurality of stacked searching blocks i.e., the multiple mixture layers, plurality of convolution layers i.e., convolution layers with various sizes (3 x 3, 5 x 5, 7 x 7)]
generating image features of a second resolution using the first parallel module, (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.”, Page 4, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “The shape-alignment layer is in a multi-branch parallel form. Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape.”, Page 6, Col. 1, Section 4.1, ¶[1]: “In our experiments, for the shape of feature maps, we set the spatial resolution space S to be {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}, and the corresponding widths are set to F, 2F, 4F, 8F, where we set F to be 64 for our best model”.) [Examiner’s note: “output first feature maps of a first resolution” and “output second feature maps of a second resolution” i.e., dispatching each feature-map to the corresponding branches, which have respective resolution {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}]
wherein the first parallel module includes a second plurality of stacked searching blocks and one or more searching blocks of the second plurality of stacked searching blocks includes a plurality of convolution layers and (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: plurality of stacked searching blocks i.e., the multiple mixture layers, plurality of convolution layers i.e., convolution layers with various sizes (3 x 3, 5 x 5, 7 x 7)]
fusing one or more image features received from the first plurality of stacked searching blocks with one or more image features received from the second plurality of stacked searching blocks to output multiscale image features of the first resolution and multiscale image features of the second resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
“Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS... Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.”, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: “a fusion module including a plurality of searching blocks” i.e., Figure 1 discloses a fusion module which includes multiple mixture layers (i.e., the stacked searching blocks). The highlight shows that the fusion module performing multi-scale features fusion by aggregating (i.e., fusing) feature maps of corresponding resolution (i.e., dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches)]
Zhang fails to disclose:
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from another searching block;
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from a different searching block; and
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another; and
via a plurality of searching blocks that are interconnected with one another,
However, Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses:
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from another searching block; (Dosovitshiy, Page 3, Figure 1: “Model overview. We split an image into fixed-size patches, linearly embed each of them, add position embeddings, and feed the resulting sequence of vectors to a standard Transformer encoder. In order to perform classification, we use the standard approach of adding an extra learnable “classification token” to the sequence.”
, Page 3, Section 3.1, ¶[4]: “The Transformer encoder (Vaswani et al., 2017) consists of alternating layers of multiheaded self attention (MSA, see Appendix A) and MLP blocks”, Page 4, ¶[2]: “As an alternative to raw image patches, the input sequence can be formed from feature maps of a CNN”, Page 8, Figure 6: “Representative examples of attention from the output token to the input space.”
) [Examiner’s note: feature map i.e., “the input sequence can be formed from feature maps”, Fig. 6 shows attention maps is provided based on feature maps (i.e., input sequence)]
at least one transformer configured to provide an attention map based on image features from a different searching block; and (Dosovitshiy, Page 3, Figure 1: “Model overview. We split an image into fixed-size patches, linearly embed each of them, add position embeddings, and feed the resulting sequence of vectors to a standard Transformer encoder. In order to perform classification, we use the standard approach of adding an extra learnable “classification token” to the sequence.”
, Page 3, Section 3.1, ¶[4]: “The Transformer encoder (Vaswani et al., 2017) consists of alternating layers of multiheaded self attention (MSA, see Appendix A) and MLP blocks”, Page 4, ¶[2]: “As an alternative to raw image patches, the input sequence can be formed from feature maps of a CNN”, Page 8, Figure 6: “Representative examples of attention from the output token to the input space.”
) [Examiner’s note: feature map i.e., “the input sequence can be formed from feature maps”, Fig. 6 shows attention maps is provided based on feature maps (i.e., input sequence)]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Dosovitskiy. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Dosovitskiy teaches experiment with applying a standard Transformer directly to images, with the fewest possible modifications, which is inspired by the Transformer scaling successes in NPL. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Dosovitskiy to enhance the network’s ability to capture long-range dependencies and contextual relationships within the feature maps received from other searching blocks, thereby improving feature representation and enabling more effective multiscale learning.
However, Mao explicitly discloses:
wherein the first plurality of stacked searching blocks and the second plurality of stacked searching blocks are separate and distinct from one another; and (Mao, Page 2, ¶[2]: “In this paper, we address the these issues by introducing a Dual-stream Network (DS-Net). Instead of single stream architecture as previous works, our DS-Net adopts Dual-stream Blocks (DS-Blocks), which generates two feature maps with different resolutions, and retains both local and global information of the image via two parallel branches.”, Page 6, Section 3.4, Figure 3:
Section 3.4, ¶[1]: “we apply our Dual-stream design into FPN, named Dual-stream Feature Pyramid Networks(DS-FPN), by simply adding DS-Blocks to every feature pyramid scale. In this way, DS-FPN is able to better attain non-local patterns and local details with marginal increased costs at all scales, which further enhance the performance of subsequent object detection and segmentation heads.”) [Examiner’s note: “dual-stream blocks” is being interpreted as the “stacked searching blocks” because they have the similar function of generating feature maps with different solutions. The term “simply adding DS-Blocks to every feature pyramid scale” indicates parallel and independent blocks]
via a plurality of searching blocks that are interconnected with one another, (Mao, Page 6, ¶[1]: “Such a bidirectional information flow is able to identify cross-scale relations between local and global tokens, by which dual-scale features are highly aligned and coupled with each other. After this, we could safely up sample low-resolution representation hG, concatenate it with high-resolution hL and perform 1 by 1 convolution for channel-wise dual-scale information fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: the highlight discloses the concept of a fusion module that includes a plurality of components which are interconnected through bidirectional information flow. It explains that local and global features are aligned and combined via concatenation and 1 x 1 convolution, indicating that the blocks are interconnected when performing channel-wise dual scale fusion]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Mao. Zhang teaches a novel Densely Connected NAS (DCNAS) framework, which directly searches the optimal network structures for the multi-scale representations of visual information, over a large-scale target dataset without proxy. Mao teaches a generic Dual-stream Network (DS-Net) to fully explore the representation capacity of local and global pattern features for image classification. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Mao to improve the model’s ability to identify optimal sub-architectures for high-resolution tasks by combining local feature refinement with long-range contextual awareness.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Zhang, Mao and Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses all the limitation of Claim 15 (as shown in the rejection above)
Zhang in view of Mao and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
generating down-sampled image features of the second resolution using a searching block that receives image features from a searching block of the first plurality of stacked searching blocks. (Zhang, Page 8, Col. 1, ¶[3]: “our DCNAS inherently and repeatedly applying top-down and bottom-up multi-scale features fusion, hence results in leading performance.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
. “Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Up sample block unchanged.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 show that at least one searching block (i.e., the parallel mixture layer) is configured to down-sample and up-sample feature maps, where the dashed green lines represent down-sampling connections and the dashed purple lines represent up-sampling connections.]
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Zhang, Mao and Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses all the limitation of Claim 16 (as shown in the rejection above)
Zhang in view of Mao and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
further comprising generating up-sampled image features of the second resolution using a searching block that receives image features from a searching block of a third plurality of stacked searching blocks. (Zhang, Page 8, Col. 1, ¶[3]: “our DCNAS inherently and repeatedly applying top-down and bottom-up multi-scale features fusion, hence results in leading performance.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
. “Figure 1. Framework of DCNAS. Top: The densely connected search space (DCSS) with layer L and max down sampling rate 32. To stable the searching procedure, we keep the beginning STEM and final Up sample block unchanged.”) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 show that at least one searching block (i.e., the parallel mixture layer) is configured to down-sample and up-sample feature maps, where the dashed green lines represent down-sampling connections and the dashed purple lines represent up-sampling connections.]
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Zhang, Mao and Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses all the limitation of Claim 15 (as shown in the rejection above)
Zhang in view of Mao and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
generating, by a fusion module, multiscale image features of a third resolution. (Zhang, Page 4, Col. 1, ¶[2]: “Fusion Module. To explore various paths in DCSS, we introduce the fusion module with the ability of aggregating semantic features from preceding fusion modules besides the feature pyramids and attaching transformed semantic features to succeeding ones… Given an array of feature-maps with different shapes (e.g., spatial resolutions and channel widths), the shape-alignment layer dispatches each feature-map to the corresponding branches to align them to the target shape. Semantic features are well-aligned and fully aggregated, then feed into the mixture layer to perform efficient multi-scale features fusion.”, Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Bottom Left: Fusion module targets at aggregating feature-maps derived by previous layers, and solving the intensive GPU memory requirement problem by sampling a portion of connections from all possible ones.
”) [Examiner’s note: The fusion module (bottom left in Fig. 1) aggregates feature maps from multiple scales (e.g., resolution ¼, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32) using element-wise addition
, creating a unified multiscale representation. The third feature map of the third resolution (e.g., 1/16) is produced by selecting and operating on the fused multiscale features at the desired resolution.]
the fusion module comprising the plurality of searching blocks. (Mao, Page 6, ¶[1]: “Such a bidirectional information flow is able to identify cross-scale relations between local and global tokens, by which dual-scale features are highly aligned and coupled with each other. After this, we could safely up sample low-resolution representation hG, concatenate it with high-resolution hL and perform 1 by 1 convolution for channel-wise dual-scale information fusion.”) [Examiner’s note: the highlight discloses the concept of a fusion module that includes a plurality of components which are interconnected through bidirectional information flow. It explains that local and global features are aligned and combined via concatenation and 1 x 1 convolution, indicating that the blocks are interconnected when performing channel-wise dual scale fusion]
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Zhang, Mao and Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses all the limitation of Claim 15 (as shown in the rejection above)
Zhang in view of Mao and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein at least one searching block of the first parallel module includes a plurality of depth-wise convolution layers, each convolution layer of the plurality of depth-wise convolution layers generating an output using a different kernel size. (Zhang, Page 3, Col. 2, Section 3.1, ¶[2]: “The mixture layer is the elementary structure in search space represents a collection of available operations. Similar to [2], we construct the operator space O with various configurations of mobileNet-v3 [23], i.e., kernel sizes k ϵ {3; 5; 7}, expansion ratios r ϵ {3; 6}.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
) [Examiner’s note: Figure 1 discloses the Mixture Layer (bottom right) dividing the input feature maps into multiple parallel paths where each path uses a different kernel size, such as 3 x 3, 5 x 5, and 7 x 7, to perform depth-wise separable convolutions.]
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Zhang, Mao and Dosovitskiy explicitly discloses all the limitation of Claim 15 (as shown in the rejection above)
Zhang in view of Mao and Dosovitskiy further discloses:
wherein the first resolution is greater than the second resolution. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1:
, Page 6, Col. 1, Section 4.1: “In our experiments, for the shape of feature maps, we set the spatial resolution space S to be {1/4; 1/8; 1/16; 1/32}, and the corresponding widths are set to F; 2F; 4F; 8F, where we set F to be 64 for our best model.”) [Examiner’s note: “first resolution” is being interpreted as ¼, “second resolution” is being interpreted as 1/8. ]
Conclusion
/AMY TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/LUIS A SITIRICHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2126