DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1, 3-15 and 17-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 19 are independent. Claim 1 is amended in the response filed
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/9/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants urge that Huang et al. do not teach the 1,6 glucan backbone structure A via a linkage according to -O- specifically represented by the dotted line in the specification [0021].
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Huang et al. page 15, structure III copied herein below depicts a 1,6 glucan backbone via a linkage according to -O- specifically highlighted in red for clarity.
With respect to the amendment of claim 1, see the office action below addressing that on page 83, lines 1-5 Huang et al. guide one of ordinary skill to the preparation of two samples of poly alpha-1 ,6-glucan where Sample #1 contained 10.2% alpha-1 ,2-branching. Sample #2 contained 23.7% alpha-1 ,2-branching. Huang et al. teach on page 2,ln.24-25 that the poly alpha-1 ,6-glucan has a degree of alpha-1 ,2-branching that is less than 50%. Accordingly the claim amendments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Huang et al, WO 2018/112187.
Huang et al. teach a laundry care or dish care composition (see page 42,ln.25-35) comprising a poly alpha-1,6-glucan ester compound, where the poly alpha-1,6-glucan ester compound has a degree of polymerization (DPn) in the range of about 5 to about 1400 (see page 20,ln.32-33)
Claim 1 (i) wherein the poly alpha-1,6-glucan comprises (i) a backbone of glucose monomer units wherein greater than or equal to 70% of the glucose monomer units are linked via alpha-1,6-glycosodic linkages is taught on page 21 teaching their poly alpha-1,6-glucan comprises a backbone of glucose monomer units wherein greater than or equal to 40%-90% of the glucose monomer units are linked via alpha-1,6-glycosodic linkage.
Claim 1 (ii) limitation to wherein the poly alpha 1,6 glucan ester comprises (ii) one or more ester groups selected from: (a) an aryl ester group; (b) a first acyl group comprising -CO-R", wherein R" comprises a chain of about 1 to about 24 carbon atoms, and (c) a second acyl group comprising -CO-Cx-COOH, wherein the -Cx-portion of the second acyl group comprises a chain of about 2 to about 24 carbon atoms is met by teach a composition comprising a poly alpha-1,6-glucan substituted with at least one ester group (see abstract and claim 11 copied herein:
. Claim 1 limitation to wherein the one or more ester groups are connected to the poly alpha-1,6-glucan backbone via a linkage according to -0-; is encompassed by Huang et al. page 3, structure III copied herein
Claim 1 limitation to wherein at least about 5% of glucose units of the poly alpha 1,6 glucan backbone contain branches via alpha 1,2 glycosidic linkages, see page 83, lines 1-5 Huang et al. guiding one of ordinary skill to the preparation of two samples of poly alpha-1 ,6-glucan where Sample #1 contained 10.2% alpha-1 ,2-branching. Sample #2 contained 23.7% alpha-1 ,2-branching. And Huang et al. teach on page 2,ln.24-25 that the poly alpha-1 ,6-glucan has a degree of alpha-1 ,2-branching that is less than 50%.
Claim 1 limitation to wherein the degree of substitution (DoS) of ester groups is from about 0.001 to about 1.50 is met by Huang et al. teaching the polysaccharide has a degree of substitution of about 0.001 to about 3.0. See sentence linking pages 3-4.
Claim 1 limitation to further ingredients is met by Huang et al. teaching their composition further contains surfactants and amylase enzymes, (see pg. 4, lines 8-21).
Huang et al. examples 6A, 7-8 on pages 92-94 teach the poly alpha 1,6 glucan ester in a detergent in table 10 but do not explicitly exemplify the claim 1 limitation to the connection to the poly alpha 1,6-glucan backbone via a linkage according to -O- as is required by the claim 1. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the claimed composition, because Huang et al. teach the same poly alpha 1,6 glucan ester with the same degree of alpha-1 ,2-branching, DPn, DoS, and surfactant and enzyme ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Regarding claims 3-11, page 11,ln.20-30 teach the term "aryl" means an aromatic carbocyclic group having a single ring (e.g., phenyl), multiple rings (e.g., biphenyl), or multiple condensed rings in which at least one is aromatic, (e.g., 1,2,3,4-tetrahydronaphthyl, naphthyl, anthryl, or phenanthryl), which is optionally mono-, di-, or trisubstituted with alkyl groups. By aryl is also meant heteroaryl groups where heteroaryl is defined as 5-, 6-, or 7-membered aromatic ring 25 systems having at least one hetero atom selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, oxygen and sulfur. Examples of heteroaryl groups include pyridyl, pyrimidinyl, pyrrolyl, pyrazolyl, pyrazinyl, pyridazinyl, oxazolyl, furanyl, quinolinyl, isoquinolinyl, thiazolyl, and thienyl, which can optionally be substituted with alkyl groups. Huang et al teach suitable aryl ester groups comprise a C1-18 alkyl group and a benzylating group (see page 41, lines 5-10), meeting claim benzoyl group substitution because page 41, lines 5-10 teach a carbonyl group C=O attached to a benzyl in line 9, which meets the claim language to a benzoyl group.
Structure A of claim 19 is taught on page 17 as structure III. Huang et al. teaches the limitations that the polysaccharide has a degree of substitution of 0.001-3.0 (see page 3, line 33-page 4, line 1), meeting the claims 1, 12, 19-20.
Limitation to claim 19 wherein the poly alpha-1,6-glucan comprises a backbone of glucose monomer units wherein greater than or equal to 70% of the glucose monomer units are linked via alpha-1,6-glycosodic linkages is taught on page 21 teaching their poly alpha-1,6-glucan comprises a backbone of glucose monomer units wherein greater than or equal to 40%-90% of the glucose monomer units are linked via alpha-1,6-glycosodic linkage.
Huang et al. meets the claim 13 and 19 limitation to a degree of polymerization of at least 5 on page 18 line 14 of Huang et al. teaching DPw (weight average degree of polymerization) in the range of 5-1000.
Huang et al. teach that the composition is in the form of a liquid, gel or pouch (see page 4, lines 4-7), meeting the limitations of claims 15 and 19. See also claims 1, 4- 19 and the examples 6A, 7-8 on pages 92-94, and page 1,ln.25-30.
Huang et al. teach that the hydrophobic group is linked to the polysaccharide through an ether moiety or a carbamate moiety (see page 14, lines 10-18), and that suitable polysaccharides include dextran, which contains at least 95% of alpha-1,6 linkages with side chains of alpha 1,3-glucan (see page 20, lines 11-18), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1A-17 and Tables 1-11. Note, Huang et al is silent with respect to the biodegradability value of their polysaccharides as required in claim14, however, Examiner asserts that the polysaccharides disclosed in Huang et al would inherently meet the biodegradability requirements of the instant invention, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, absent a showing otherwise.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3-15 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-19 of copending Application No. 17/351,616 having publication US 2021/0395655 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cationically modified poly alpha 1,6 glucan of the copending Application No. 17/351,616 encompasses the claimed poly alpha 1,6 glucan substituted with the claimed ester. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,965,147 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,965,147 recite limitation to a product comprising the claimed poly alpha 1,6 glucan substituted with the claimed ester with the same substitution and properties of the instant claims.
Claims 1,3-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15-29 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,383 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 15-29 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,383 recite limitation to a product comprising the claimed polysaccharide with the same substitution and properties of the instant claims.
Claims 1,3-15 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 9-21 and 24-27 of copending Application No. 18/007,583 having publication US20230212325 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the industrial product of the copending Application No. 18/007,583 encompasses the claimed laundry or dish care composition comprising the same poly alpha 1,6 glucan substituted with the claimed ester and has the same degree of polymerization and degree of substitution and enzyme. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-15 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/008,213 having publication US20230287148A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the personal care or industrial product of the copending Application No. 18/008,213 encompasses the claimed laundry or dish care composition comprising the same poly alpha 1,6 glucan substituted with the claimed ester and has the same degree of polymerization and degree of substitution and enzyme. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/PREETI KUMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761