DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 08/26/2025 (“Amendment”). Claims 1-12 and 21-26 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 8, and 22, as well as the addition of new claims 24-26. Claims 13 and 16-20 remain withdrawn (claims 14 and 15 having been cancelled).
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “more relaxed” in claim 1 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear what makes something relaxed, or more relaxed.
Regarding claim 9, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation of “said at least one exercise.”
Regarding claim 23, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation of “said sensory interface.”
Claims 2-12 and 21-26 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0159715 (“Mishra”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0069707 (“Sandford”).
Regarding claim 1, Mishra teaches [a] method for training a subject diagnosed with a stress disorder caused by a trauma (Abstract, cognitive fitness training, ¶ 0026, PTSD), comprising: exposing said subject to a scenario …, wherein said scenario … comprises a challenge expected to trigger at least one symptom of said stress disorder (Fig. 1, stimulus 101, ¶ 0149 - also see ¶ 0120, neural feedback is part of a feedback loop that influences subsequent rounds of the cognitive task, such as whether difficulty is increased or decreased. This involves a selection. ¶ 0127 describes an appropriate difficulty level, and ¶ 0165 describes cognitive impairment as a symptom of PTSD. Thus, the cognitive task at a particular difficulty level is expected to trigger a symptom, i.e., cognitive impairment, at least some of the time (¶ 0127). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the difficulty to a point where the cognitive impairment (or any other symptom) was likely to emerge, for the purpose of training the individual (i.e., you want to train a person having PTSD (¶ 0026), and presenting some degree of difficulty is the way to do it) – also see ¶ 0092; ¶ 0149 describes delivering the challenge/stimulus via an interface such as a display); …; recording electrical signals generated by the brain of said subject by at least one electrode, in conjunction with said exposing (Fig. 1, ¶ 0087 – also see ¶ 0092, describing the stimulus and recorded signals being time-locked); processing during said exposing said recorded electrical signals to estimate an activation level of at least one specific brain region (¶ 0059, evaluating neural performance relative to various standards such as a subject’s prior performance or the level equivalent to an average healthy subject – also see ¶ 0185, describing the calculation of average cognitive efficiency, and ¶¶s 0081, 0082, etc., describing measuring e.g. an increase or decrease of neural activity of a particular brain structure such as the amygdala; ¶ 0061, real-time); presenting during said exposing at least one indication of said estimated activation level to said subject (¶ 0123, neural performance level is provided as feedback to the subject. ¶ 0115, providing feedback as positive or negative indicators based on desired or undesired outcomes), wherein said presenting comprises providing feedback to said subject by modifying said scenario delivered to said subject during said exposing, according to said activation level of said at least one specific brain region (as above, ¶ 0120 describes neural feedback as influencing subsequent rounds of the cognitive task, such as whether difficulty is increased or decreased – also see ¶ 0124, etc.), …; and repeating said recording, said processing and said presenting (Fig. 1, ¶¶s 0122, 0123, etc., a feedback loop – also see ¶ 0124, multiple sessions).
Mishra does not appear to explicitly teach exposing said subject to a scenario having an unrest level, wherein said scenario is configured to move between a resting state and an agitated state, instructing said subject to apply during said exposing at least one mental strategy, to modify said scenario into a more relaxed scenario, wherein said modifying comprises modifying during said exposing said unrest level of said scenario according to said activation level of said at least one specific brain region (although e.g. ¶ 0118 does describe presenting a cognitive task in the form of e.g. a video game, and providing feedback as in-game rewards or penalties).
Sandford teaches a video-game based neurofeedback modality that e.g. slows down objects to make them easier to hit when a user is focusing (i.e., achieving a desired mental state or activation level via a mental strategy), and speeding them up otherwise (¶ 0015). The unrest level is the speed of the objects, which can move between an resting state (slow) and an agitated state (fast). A more relaxed scenario is one in which the objects move more slowly. The unrest level is modified based on activation level.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the video-game based neurofeedback of Mishra as in Sandford, by e.g. presenting a scenario comprising moving target objects that determine an unrest level, instructing users to perform an activity such as paying attention or focusing, and presenting an indication by slowing down the moving objects (i.e., modifying the scenario) in response to the activity, for the purpose of enhancing neurofeedback training (Sandford: ¶ 0015), and as the simple substitution of one known means of neurofeedback training for another with predictable results (helping users focus via a reward mechanism).
Regarding claim 2, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said exposing to said challenge affects an activation level of said at least one specific brain region (Mishra: ¶ 0059, evaluating neural performance relative to various standards such as a subject’s prior performance or the level equivalent to an average healthy subject – also see ¶ 0185, describing the calculation of average cognitive efficiency, and ¶¶s 0081, 0082, etc., describing measuring e.g. an increase or decrease of neural activity of a particular brain structure such as the amygdala).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said at least one specific brain region is a brain region of a limbic system, wherein said challenge comprises a challenge selected to activate an amygdala and/or brain regions connected to the amygdala by a neural network (Mishra: ¶ 0082, amygdala (limbic system)(limbic lobe)).
Regarding claim 6, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said stress disorder comprises post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) (Mishra: ¶¶s 0026, 0165, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said challenge is selected to upregulate activation of said at least one specific brain region, and wherein said at least one indication is continuously presented according to an ability of said subject to downregulate said activation level (Mishra: ¶¶s 0120, 0124, etc., adjusting difficulty based on biofeedback to train the subject; ¶ 0197, challenging an individual to improve on the extent of their neural signal modulation, which includes decreasing difficulty when cognitive impairment is evident, or increasing difficulty when improvement is observed (¶¶s 0120, 0127, 0165, 0190, etc.)).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said instructing comprises instructing said subject to apply at least one mental strategy selected to affect an activation level of said at least one specific brain region (Mishra: Fig. 1, behavioral response 103; ¶ 0057, instructing the individual to perform a task of e.g. identifying or recognizing a particular stimulus, and e.g. acting on it by pressing a button, ¶¶s 0065, 0066, 0183, etc. – also see Sandford: ¶ 0015, paying attention or focusing is a mental strategy), wherein said presenting comprises presenting said at least one indication according to an ability of said subject to modulate an activation level of said at least one specific brain region by performing said at least one exercise (Mishra: as above in e.g. ¶¶s 0120, 0127, etc., the biofeedback is based on the success or failure of the subject in performing the task – also see ¶ 0165, describing using the biofeedback training to combat anxiety, stress, panic, etc.).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said providing feedback comprises continuously modifying an intensity or severity of said challenge according to said activation level of said at least one specific brain region (Mishra: ¶ 0120, based on the biofeedback - also see ¶ 0124, etc.), wherein said continuously modifying comprises lowering an intensity or severity of said challenge if an activation level of said at least one specific brain region is lowered, based on said processing (Mishra: ¶ 0197, challenging an individual to improve on the extent of their neural signal modulation, which includes decreasing difficulty when cognitive impairment is evident (¶¶s 0120, 0127, 0165, 0190, etc.)).
Regarding claim 21, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said at least one mental strategy comprises a self-generated mental strategy generated by the subject (Sandford: ¶ 0015, their own way of focusing).
Regarding claim 22, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches generating an indication based on an ability of said subject to reach a desired activation level of said at least one specific brain region by applying said at least one mental strategy (Sandford: ¶ 0015, slowing the moving targets down).
Regarding claim 23, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said sensory interface is suitable to evoke a stress response in said subject (Mishra: ¶¶s 0135, 0165 – also see Fig. 1, stimulus 101, ¶ 0082, detecting activity from the amygdala).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said providing feedback comprises continuously modifying during said exposing said unrest level of said scenario according to said activation level of said at least one specific brain region (Sandford: ¶ 0015, modifying the speed of the targets based on focus), wherein said continuously modifying comprises lowering said unrest level of said scenario if an activation level of said at least one specific brain region is lowered, based on said processing (Sandford: ¶ 0015, lowering the speed of the targets when there is greater focus. It would have been obvious to do this based on e.g. lower activation of the limbic region, which corresponds to less stress/panic).
Regarding claim 26, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford further teaches wherein said scenario comprises characters and wherein behavior of said characters in said scenario is modified according to said activation level of said at least one specific brain region (Sandford: ¶ 0015, modifying the speed of the targets (which may be characters) based on focus – also see ¶ 0016, using game characters).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra-Sandford in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0148657 (“Hendler”).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Mishra-Sandford teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Mishra-Sandford does not appear to explicitly teach identifying a relation between at least a portion of said recorded electrical signals and an electrical fingerprint indicating an activation level of said at least one brain region, and wherein said presenting comprises presenting said at least one indication based on said identified relation, or providing at least one EEG electrical fingerprint indicating an activity level of said at least one specific brain region, and wherein said processing comprises processing said recorded electrical signals with said at least one EEG electrical fingerprint to identify a relation between at least a portion of said electrical signals and said at least one EEG electrical fingerprint, and wherein said activation level of said at least one specific brain region is estimated based on said identified relation.
Hendler teaches identifying a relationship between brain electrical activity and a fingerprint/signature (¶¶s 0013, 0100, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify a relation between the recorded brain signals of the combination and an electrical fingerprint indicating activation level of a particular brain region (or to provide the fingerprint and identify a relation to estimate an activation level), as in Hendler, for the purpose of more easily identifying a brain state or response (Hendler: ¶ 0013).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 21-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/319,265 in view of Mishra, Sandford, and/or Hendler. Claim 1 of the reference application teaches all features except for those made up for by Mishra, Sandford, and/or Hendler as outlined above
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered, and they are persuasive to the extent that Mishra is not explicit regarding the new claims limitations. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made in further view of Sandford, and all claims remain rejected in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791