DETAILED FINAL OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s Response filed 11/13/2025, to a Non-Office Action.
Reissue
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions. This reissue application was filed 06/09/2021. Thus, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 made in this application are to the current provisions.
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which Patent No. 10,321,038 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Applicant is notified that any subsequent amendment to the specification and/or claims must comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
When reading the claim limitations, in light of the specification, it would appear that the claim limitations connoted sufficient, definite structure, and therefore do not appear to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato U.S. Patent No. 8,891,823, (hereinafter “Sato”), in view of Kozakura U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0344758, (hereinafter “Kozakura”), in further view of Higaki U.S. Patent No. 8,570,399, (hereinafter Higaki), in further view of Gum et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0097494, (hereinafter Gum)
Claim 1:
An imaging apparatus comprising:
a controller programmed to acquire image data from an optical image and a position calculation signal;
Sato teaches the use of operation unit, capturing unit, and an image processing unit, along with GPS control unit, position data acquiring unit, and a processor, (e.g., Figs. 1, 2, 7, 8, 17, and 18 and supporting areas of the specification).
a first memory configured to temporarily store the image data;
It is seen in column 3 of Sato that the record/reproduction unit 106 has a recording medium, “not shown”, (e.g., 4:1 – 14, “temp storage”). The limitation of “to temporarily store the image data” is non-functional descriptive language. The broadest reasonable interpretation is that all storage can be “temporary” since one can delete what is stored on memory at any point, i.e., permanent vs. temporary. To this extent, Sato teaches this type of memory in Figs. 2, 8, and 18). In the alternative where Applicant does not believe Sato teaches a first memory, Kozakura teaches such a memory, (e.g., ¶0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Kozakura with Sato because a first memory configured to temporarily store information would yield a predictable result of a storage unit performing the function it is intended to do, which is store information when needed.
a storage medium configured to store the image data from the first memory and metadata; and
Sato teaches a storage medium configured to store image data and metadata, (e.g., Figs. 2, 8, and 18 and the description of these figures in the specification). Kozakura teaches both the use of a primary and secondary storage that are configured to store image data and metadata, (e.g., ¶¶0028 et seq., and 0062 et seq.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato for similar reasons stated above.
a display unit,
Sato teaches a display, (e.g., Figs. 1, 7, and 17 and the description of these figures in the specification).
wherein the controller is programmed to acquire position information corresponding to a portion of the acquired image data from the position calculation signal,
Sato teaches acquiring position information, (e.g., Fig. 12 and the description of these figures in the specification. Also see Figs 3A – 5B, & 21A et seq.).
wherein the controller is programed to operate in a first control mode to:
when the position calculation signal is not acquired, execute a position information acquisition process to acquire the position information within a preset time from a time of turning on the imaging apparatus,
Sato teaches acquiring position information, (e.g., Fig. 12 and the description of these figures in the specification. Also see Figs 3A – 5B, & 21A et seq. and the description of these figures in the specification). Higaki specifically teaches executing a position information acquisition process to acquire the position information within a preset time from a time of turning on the imaging apparatus, (e.g., 6:3 – 7:30 et seq. & Figs. 4 – 7 with supporting areas of the specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Higaki with Sato and Kozakura because it is well known in the art that when location information is unknown to the system and the GPS is started, the predictable result in a system requiring a set amount of time to recover location information is needed. Once the GPS has power to start the process, it will complete the process and have location information, i.e., do the job it is programed to do, (e.g., Higaki, 1:57 et seq., “It is noted that the time required by the GPS receiver to capture radio waves from the GPS satellite is generally 30 seconds or more when the past history is not retained in the camera (startup from the low power consumption mode, which is the minimum required power consumption: Hot start).”). Furthermore, having a predetermined time to set the location data allows the accuracy of a location to be better, (e.g., Higaki, 7:1 et seq., “However, if the period t2 shown in Fig. 3 exceeds a previously defined period (predetermined period), then the second location information lacks accuracy as the imaging-time location information.”).
when the position information is acquired within the preset time, record the image data temporarily stored in the first memory and the metadata to which the acquired position information is added in the storage medium,
Sato teaches such a process, (e.g., 8:21 – 32 et seq., 13:4 et seq., 19:19 – 40, & Figures 21A et seq. and the description of these figures in the specification). Kozakura teaches utilizing a temporary storage, (e.g., ¶¶ 0028 et seq., 0062 et seq.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato because of similar reasons stated above.
when the position information is not acquired within the preset time, record the image data temporarily stored in the first memory and the metadata within position information in the storage medium,
As seen in Sato, Fig. 21A, element S2306, if the position information acquisition fails, the system stores the current time and shot image, (e.g., Fig. 21A, element S2306, and the description of these figures in the specification). Kozakura teaches utilizing a temporary storage, (e.g., ¶¶ 0028 et seq., 0062 et seq.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato because of similar reasons stated above.
wherein the controller is programmed to operate in a second control mode to:
add position information to the metadata of the image data which was previously recorded in the storage medium without position information,
As can be seen in Sato, Figs. 21A et seq., the invention continually attempts to add positional metadata to the image, (e.g., Figs. 21A et seq., and the description of these figures in the specification).
wherein, in the second control mode, the controller is programmed to selectively extract only one or more thumbnails of the image data previously recorded in the storage medium in which the metadata was stored without position information in response to detecting selection of an icon for adding position information to the metadata of the image data which was previously recorded in the storage medium without position information, and
to display a list of the extracted one or more thumbnails on the display unit in a selectable state without displaying other thumbnails of the image data to which the acquired position information is added in the storage medium, and to add position information to the metadata of the image data corresponding to one or more thumbnails selected from the list in response to a user selection.
Sato discloses such an icon/ thumbnail, (e.g., 19:28 – 40). Kozakura specifically teaches display a list of the extracted one or more thumbnails on the display unit in a selectable state, (e.g., Figs. 4A et seq., and the description of these figures in the specification., ¶¶ 0046, 0056 – 0064 et seq.). Kozakura further teaches the act of manually adding positional information to the thumbnails that are selected by the user selecting the icon that is superimposed on the thumbnail, (e.g., Fig. 9 & ¶¶ 0062 – 0066 et seq., “For example, when the item “copy” is selected, it is possible to copy the detailed information such as the spot information, the number of GPS satellites and the positioning reliability, recorded in the image data of the right-clicked GPS icon, and the positioning method, recorded in the image data, in the temporary storage memory (generally referred to as a “clip board”)…. Icon “add”, the detailed information of the above-described other image data, as a copy original data and the positioning method are added to the copy destination image data.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato because being able to select specific icons/ thumbnails would yield in the predicable result of a user being able to select a specific file to view, edit, or copied if desired.
However, the prior art of Kozakura and Sato does not specifically teach, “display a list of the extracted one or more thumbnails on the display unit in a selectable state without displaying other thumbnails of the image data to which the acquired position information”.
Gum specifically teaches selecting a specific batch of images and only tagging those selected plurality of images with determined positional information, (e.g., ¶¶ 0008 – 0010). Gum further explains that images listed are filtered based on whether or not they have a “location fix”, (e.g., ¶¶ 0065 – 0066 et seq., “The listing of images may be filtered or ordered based on a quality of location fix (GPS fix, coarse fix, no fix) and/or a date and time the image was captured. For example, only untagged images may be listed, or alternatively, only images without a GPS location fix may be listed. In addition, the images may be displayed as a list with associated attributes or as reduced images (thumbnails).”, & 0086 et seq.). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Gum with the combine inventions of Sato, Kozakura, and Higaki because when one filters out unwanted information, it allows the user to specifically focus on only files that are of interest to them. Therefore, making it easier to view the information instead of having to weed through all the files that also have files that are not of interest. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to add a filtering action to the images because doing such would result in a predictable result of the main purpose of filtering data, i.e., separating information to only work or use data wanted.
the position information to be added being selected from among a plurality of types of position information displayed on the display, the plurality of types including, (i) position information newly acquired via the position information acquisition process, (ii) position information previously acquired and stored, and (iii) position information received from an external device via the radio communication unit.
Sato teaches the selecting positional information that was previously acquired and stored, (e.g., 7:4 – 60 et seq.) As clearly seen in Kozakura, the use of multiple different positional information is acquired through multiple means, (e.g., Fig2 4A – 4C, & ¶¶ 0041 – 0047 et seq.). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Kozakura with Sato because of similar reasons stated above.
Claims 7 and 17 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 2:
The image apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the position calculation signal is a GPS signal, and wherein the controller is programmed to calculate the position information from the GPS signal.
Sato teaches the position information being GPS signal and calculating the position from said GPS signal, (e.g., 4:63 et seq., 16:20 et seq., 18:35 et seq., also previously cited areas of Sato.).
Claim 8 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 3:
The imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a radio interface configured to acquire unique information of a wireless access point and connectable with a server connected through a communication line,
Sato teaches the use of wireless LAN communication through a wireless LAN antenna along with a GPS antenna, (e.g., Figs. 17 et seq., elements 1913& 1916 respectfully.). Sato also discloses being in contact with a server, (e.g., Fig. 19 et seq., and the supporting description of these figures in the specification).
wherein, when the position calculation signal is not acquired, the controller is programmed to acquire the position information based on the unique information.
Sato teaches using the wireless LAN antenna to gather other position information, i.e., “unique information”, (e.g., Fig. 21A, elements S2304, S2305, S2314 & Figs. 21B et seq., and the supporting description of these figures in the specification).
Claim 9 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 4:
The imaging apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the unique information is an SSID and a MAC address of the wireless access point, and the position information is acquired by inquiring to the server about the position information data tied to the SSID and the MAC address.
Sato teaches the information being an SSID and a MAC address, (e.g., 23:31 – 37, 27:11 – 27).
Claim 10 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 5:
The imaging apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, when the radio interface cannot inquire to the server, the controller is programmed to record, in the storage medium, the temporarily stored image data and the metadata to which the unique information acquired from the wireless access point is added.
Sato teaches a similar process, (e.g., Fig. 21A, element S2303 – S2305, S2314; Figs. 21B et seq. and the supporting description of these figures in the specification).
Claim 11 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 6:
The imaging apparatus according to claim 4, wherein, when the radio interface accesses a plurality of the wireless access points, the controller is programmed to acquire, as the unique information reception levels of the radio waves of the plurality of wireless access points and correct the position information from the reception levels of the radio waves of the plurality of the wireless access points.
Sato teaches a storing the radio field intensity of a plurality of wireless LAN access points presented around the digital camera, (e.g., 23:31 – 37, 27:11 – 27). Kozakura teaches utilizing the radio wave intensities to aid in updating the position information, (e.g., ¶¶ 0032, 0035, 0037 et seq.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato because utilizing the strongest signal of the plurality of APs would yield the predictable result of a more accurate measurement of positional information since the stronger signal would indicate the device being closer to the AP.
Claim 12 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 13:
The imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a radio interface configured to perform radio communication with a device external to the imaging apparatus,
Sato teaches this limitation as previously rejected above, see all above rejected limitations and their cited sections.
wherein the controller is programmed to operate in the second control mode to further display, on the display unit, a screen to select any of newly acquired position information, past position information, or position information acquired via the radio interface as the position information which is added to the metadata.
Kozakura teaches updating images with different position information and displaying the different types of metadata that is stored with the image via a thumbnail, (e.g., Figs. 5 – 13, and the supporting description of these figures in the specification, emphasis on Figures 6, 11A, and 11B ). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato because being able to edit an image would yield the predictable result of an image having information added or deleted to its file, i.e., update image metadata once the device is in range of receiving a wireless signal or GPS signal.
Claim 15 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 13 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 14:
The imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is programmed to operate in a third control mode to change the position information added to the metadata of the image data recorded in the storage medium,
Sato teaches this limitation in a recursive function till add past images are updated with a high accuracy position information, (e.g., Fig. 22, 24:14 et seq., Also see Figures 21A & 21B).
wherein, in the third control mode, the controller is programmed to selectively extract one or more thumbnails of the image data previously recorded in the storage medium in which the metadata was added, and to display a list of the extracted one or more thumbnails on the display unit in a selectable state.
Sato discloses such an icon/ thumbnail as discussed above, (e.g., 19:28 – 40). Kozakura specifically teaches display a list of the extracted one or more thumbnails on the display unit in a selectable state, (e.g., Figs. 4A et seq., and the description of these figures in the specification., ¶¶ 0046, 0056 – 0064 et seq.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Kozakura with Sato because being able to select specific icons/ thumbnails would yield in the predicable result of a user being able to select a specific file to view, edit, or copied if desired.
Claim 16 teaches substantially similar limitations as claim 14 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID E. ENGLAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3992
/DAVID E ENGLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 /ROBERT J HANCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 /M.F/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992