DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 15 September 2023 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Arguments have overcome every Drawing Objection. The Drawing Objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome every Specification Objection. The Specification Objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Double Patenting Rejection. The Double Patenting Rejection has been withdrawn.
The examiner fully considered the Applicant’s amendments and arguments regarding the 35 USC 112 rejections. Most of the rejections were removed; however, the examiner was not persuaded by some of the Applicant’s arguments. As a result, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC 112 still stand.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-15, filed 15 September 2023, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 12 under 35 USC § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon conducting an updated search, additional references were found which teach the amended and new portions of the claims. Therefore, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 103 still stand.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 15 September 2023, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 3, and 7 have been amended. Claims 10-16 are new.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “…adjusting the laser processing system .. for adjustment of energy of the plurality of laser beams as a function of at least one parameter…” However, the Specification does not disclose how the energy of the laser beams is adjusted. Although fig. 1 shows a spherical aberration compensation 40 and a beam widening 42, it is not clear how these mechanisms are able to change the energy applied by the laser beams.
Claims 6 and 7 recite “tilting” the solid-state material. However, the Specification does not disclose how the solid-state material is tilted.
Claims 2-5 and 8-11 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1. Claims 13-16 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 12.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “…adjusting the laser processing system .. for adjustment of energy of the plurality of laser beams.” However, it is not clear how the energy adjusts. Normally, energy is conserved in a system. Although it clear from the Specification that the beams can be focused to concentrate energy at a specific surface area, in such a system, focusing the beams would not cause the total energy to change. Additionally, claims 1 and 12 already recite “adjusting the laser processing system for defined focusing of the plurality of laser beams.” Because the limitation “.. for adjustment of energy of the plurality of laser beams” is not required to be met in order satisfy the limitations of claims 1 and 12, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claims 6-8 are method claims that include contingent limitations, i.e., “due to placement errors” (claim 6), “with response to machine holders that hold the solid-state material” (claim 7), and “based on planarity errors in the semiconductor ingot” (referencing MPEP 211.04.II). In particular, the claims do not positively recite a placement step (for claim 6), a holding step (for claim 7), or a planarity error identification step (for claim 8). It is also not clear in the scenario when the condition precedents are not met, then whether the corresponding causal limitations are necessary limitations e.g., if no errors are present as recited in claims 6 and 8. Because each of these condition precedents are not included in steps that must be performed, then the limitations of claims 6-8 are not required to be met under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
The term “error” in claims 6 and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “error” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is not clear what the Applicant considers to be an error or what the Applicant considers to be acceptable such that no error has occurred. Since there is no way of determining the requisite degree of the term “error,” as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended.
Claims 2, 4-5, and 9-11 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1. Claims 13-16 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Fukuyo et al. (US-20150111365-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baer teaches a method for separating a solid-state layer from a solid-state material (“A method for producing thin wafers from a brittle crystalline material,” claim 1), the method comprising:
moving the solid-state material relative to a laser processing system (device shown in fig. 9, which illuminates the volume 13 along the dotted line 3 shown in fig. 8; “the ingot and the focusing system are moved relative to each other,” column 5, lines 30-31);
successively emitting a plurality of laser beams (beams shown in fig. 9) from the laser processing system to the solid-state material to create modifications within the solid-state material (“a line of light on volume 13,” column 10, lines 40-41; “on heating, the silicon in the volume 13 expands,” column 5, line 16);
adjusting the laser processing system for defined focusing of the plurality of laser beams (“adjusting said source of radiation so that as said radiation is converging to said first region of maximum intensity,” claim 1; fig. 16 shows how adjustments are made to heat different planes, which is where the beams focus) and/or for adjustment of energy of the plurality of laser beams (not explicitly disclosed) as a function of at least one parameter (“by cleaving said material at a chosen plane in said material,” claim 1; detecting the presence of scattering particles in a specific plane according to the description of fig. 16 is construed as the “at least one parameter”); and
detaching the solid-state layer from the solid-state material in a region of the modifications (“separating the part of said crystal between said flat surface and said chosen plane from the remaining part of said crystal,” claim 1);
wherein the at least one parameter includes a second parameter (“chosen plane,” claim 1) that is a depth of processing in the region of the solid-state material (in fig. 16, plane 119 is the “chosen plane;” as shown in fig. 16, each plane corresponds with a depth of the material) that is to be traversed by the plurality of laser beams (“two-dimensional scanning,” column 8, line 38).
Baer, figs. 8-9 and 16
Baer does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter includes a first parameter that is an average refractive index of the solid-state material or the refractive index of the solid-state material in a region of the solid-state material that is to be traversed by the plurality of laser beams.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting semiconductor substrates, Fukuyo teaches wherein the at least one parameter includes a first parameter that is an average refractive index of the solid-state material (not explicitly disclosed) or the refractive index of the solid-state material in a region of the solid-state material that is to be traversed by the plurality of laser beams (“After the focus adjustment of light emitted from the observation light source 117 is completed, the light-converging point of laser light L is moved to a light-converging point corresponding to the thickness and refractive index of the material to be cut,” para 0308; fig. 22 shows how the refractive index is compensated for, described in para 0307).
Fukuyo, fig. 22
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of to include, wherein the at least one parameter includes the refractive index of the solid-state material in a region of the solid-state material that is to be traversed by the plurality of laser beams, in view of the teachings of Fukuyo, by compensating for the refractive index, as taught by Fukuyo, in the method for cleaving wafers, as taught by Baer, in order to converge the point of the laser light at a desirable position in the thickness direction of the object, because the refractive index of the atmosphere as well as the refractive index of the material to be cut causes the actual position of the point of the laser light to be located deeper than the intended position of the light converging point (Fukuyo, paras 0115 and 0307).
Regarding claim 8, Baer teaches wherein the solid-state material is a semiconductor ingot (ingot 1, fig. 8), and wherein the adjusting of the laser processing system (fig. 16) is implemented based on planarity errors in the semiconductor ingot (“a scattering particle in plane 119,” column 15, line 19).
Claims 2-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Fukuyo et al. (US-20150111365-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Richter et al. (DE-102014014486-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 2, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein detaching the solid-state layer from the solid-state material in the region of the modifications comprises: providing a receiving layer on the solid-state material, the receiving layer comprising a polymer material; applying a thermal treatment to the receiving layer such that the polymer material undergoes a glass transition which imparts mechanical stresses in the solid- state material, the mechanical stresses causing a crack to propagate in the solid-state material along a crack guidance region defined by the modifications; and detaching the solid-state layer from the solid-state material along the crack guidance region.
However, in the same field of endeavor of separating layers from semiconductor substrates, Richter teaches wherein detaching the solid-state layer from the solid-state material in the region of the modifications (“detachment stresses causing a crack in the Workpiece 2 spreads along the crack guide layer 8, which separates the solid layer 4 from the workpiece 2.,” para 0124; figs. 1b-1c) comprises: providing a receiving layer (polymer layer 10, fig. 1b) on the solid-state material (workpiece 2; “solid,” para 0075), the receiving layer comprising a polymer material (polymer layer 10, fig. 1b); applying a thermal treatment to the receiving layer such that the polymer material undergoes a glass transition which imparts mechanical stresses in the solid- state material (paras 0005 and 0124), the mechanical stresses causing a crack to propagate in the solid-state material along a crack guidance region defined by the modifications (crack-guiding layer 8, fig. 1a); and detaching the solid-state layer from the solid-state material along the crack guidance region (fig. 1c).
Richter, figs. 1a-1c
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, arranging a polymer layer onto the workpiece and initiating a crack by cooling to enable the wafer to be separated from the workpiece, in view of the teachings of Richter, by cooling a polymer layer 10, as taught by Richter, that was applied to the face 2 of the ingot 1, as taught by Baer, because a polymer layer has a thermal expansion coefficient which is two orders of magnitude higher than the workpiece, and by thermal loading the polymer layer, local stresses are induced, which are sufficient to cause a crack to propagate in the desired crack-guiding layer (Richter, paras 0005 and 0124; Baer teaches using a “thermally active adhesive” to remove the “newly formed wafer” in figs. 12A-12C and column 12, lines 20-34).
Regarding claim 3, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer material is polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) or an elastomer or an epoxy resin or a combination of PDMS, elastomer, or epoxy resin.
However, in the same field of endeavor of separating layers from semiconductor substrates, Richter teaches wherein the polymer material is polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) (“PDMS,” para 0121) or an elastomer or an epoxy resin or a combination of PDMS, elastomer, or epoxy resin (not explicitly disclosed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, arranging a polymer layer of PDMS onto the workpiece and initiating a crack by cooling to enable the wafer to be separated from the workpiece, in view of the teachings of Richter, by cooling a PDMS polymer layer 10, as taught by Richter, that was applied to the face 2 of the ingot 1, as taught by Baer, because a polymer layer has a thermal expansion coefficient which is two orders of magnitude higher than the workpiece, and by thermal loading the polymer layer, the local stresses are induced, which are sufficient to cause a crack to propagate in the desired crack-guiding layer (Richter, paras 0005 and 0124; Baer teaches using a “thermally active adhesive” to remove the “newly formed wafer” in figs. 12A-12C and column 12, lines 20-34).
Regarding claim 6, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the adjusting of the laser processing system is implemented based on differentiating tilting of the solid-state material due to placement errors.
However, in the same field of endeavor of separating layers from semiconductor substrates, Richter teaches wherein the adjusting of the laser processing system is implemented based on differentiating tilting (fig. 3a; para 0088) of the solid-state material due to placement errors (“the defect can be produced as error-free as possible.,” para 0127).
Richter, fig. 3a
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, producing an inclined workpiece, in view of the teachings of Richter, by tilting, as taught by Richter in fig. 3a, the ingot 1, as taught by Baer, because customers may request the production of wafers according to the EPI process, and it is advantageous to incline the crystal plane when forming EPI wafers since the tilted crystal plane facilitates directional growth of EPI layer (Richter, para 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tilting is differentiated with respect to machine holders that hold the solid-state material.
However, in the same field of endeavor of separating layers from semiconductor substrates, Richter teaches wherein the tilting (fig. 3a; fig 3a correlates with fig. 2a and fig. 2a correlates with fig. 1a, paras 0123 and 0127) is differentiated with respect to machine holders (holding layer 12 and further layer 20, fig. 1b) that hold the solid-state material (as shown in fig. 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, producing an inclined workpiece, in view of the teachings of Richter, by tilting, as taught by Richter in fig. 3a, the ingot 1, as taught by Baer, because customers may request the production of wafers according to the EPI process, and it is advantageous to incline the crystal plane when forming EPI wafers since the tilted crystal plane facilitates directional growth of EPI layer (Richter, para 0044).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Fukuyo et al. (US-20150111365-A1) and Richter et al. (DE-102014014486-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claims 1-2 above and further in view of Lowe et al. (US-20150279762-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving layer comprises a polymer-hybrid material which forms a polymer matrix, and wherein a filler is in the polymer matrix.
However, in the same field of endeavor of adhesives for semiconductor substrates, Lowe teaches wherein the receiving layer comprises a polymer-hybrid material which forms a polymer matrix (“silicone polymer matrix,” para 0071; construed as being a hybrid of silicon and a polymer), and wherein a filler is in the polymer matrix (“filler loading,” para 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, the polymer thermal interface material (PTIM), in view of the teachings of Lowe, by using the PTIM, as taught by Lowe, as the material for the polymer layer 10, as taught by Richter, in order to use a material that exhibits better package-level thermal performance than other interface materials and that causes less voiding, so that thermal performance is not reduced and so that reliability is not degraded as a result of the interface materials that are used for a microelectronic package (Lowe, paras 0022-0023).
Regarding claim 5, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer matrix is a polydimethylsiloxane matrix, and wherein an amount by weight of the polymer matrix in the polymer-hybrid material is between 80% to 99%.
However, in the same field of endeavor of adhesives for semiconductor substrates, Lowe teaches wherein the polymer matrix is a polydimethylsiloxane matrix, and wherein an amount by weight of the polymer matrix in the polymer-hybrid material is between 80% to 99% (“a thermally conductive filler comprising at least 85% by weight of the material,” abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, the polymer thermal interface material (PTIM), in view of the teachings of Lowe, by using the PTIM, as taught by Lowe, as the material for the polymer layer 10, as taught by Richter, in order to use a material that exhibits better package-level thermal performance than other interface materials and that causes less voiding, so that thermal performance is not reduced and so that reliability is not degraded as a result of the interface materials that are used for a microelectronic package (Lowe, paras 0022-0023).
Claims 9- 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Fukuyo et al. (US-20150111365-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Arieli et al. (US-20110216324-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser processing system is adjusted by a refractive index determination sensor and a topography determination sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of equipment used in semiconductor manufacturing, Arieli teaches wherein the laser processing system (“registration between several layers, one upon the other, is monitored,” para 0041; construed as being the process taught by Baer in fig. 16) is adjusted by a refractive index determination sensor (spectral imaging camera 34, fig. 3 “the thicknesses or the refractive indices of the substance at each pixel, can be calculated,” para 0035) and a topography determination sensor (“2-D array of chromatic Confocal Microscopes,” para 0037; Applicant discloses that the claimed topography determination sensor can be a “ confocal-chromatic distance sensor,” para 0023 of the Specification).
Arieli, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, the optical apparatus in which a 2D array of chromatic Confocal Microscopes is combined with a spectral imaging optical system, in view of the teachings of Arieli, by using the optical apparatus to conduct an overlay inspection, as taught by Arieli, instead of the light detector 121 that facilitates the planar adjustment of the ingot 1, as taught by Baer in fig. 16, in order to use a “single point” viewing system that enables scanning of the object surface in the x-y direction to determine the micro-topographic structure of any type of surface (Arieli, para 0038; Baer teaches using slits 112 and 120 to limit observation to the plane 119 in fig. 16).
Regarding claim 10, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining the first parameter by spectral reflection.
However, in the same field of endeavor of equipment used in semiconductor manufacturing, Arieli teaches further comprising: determining the first parameter by spectral reflection (spectral imaging camera 34, fig. 3 “the thicknesses or the refractive indices of the substance at each pixel, can be calculated,” para 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, determining the first parameter by spectral reflection, in view of the teachings of Arieli, by using the optical apparatus to conduct an overlay inspection, as taught by Arieli, instead of the light detector 121 that facilitates the planar adjustment of the ingot 1, as taught by Baer in fig. 16, in order to use a “single point” viewing system that enables scanning of the object surface in the x-y direction to determine the micro-topographic structure of any type of surface (Arieli, para 0038; Baer teaches using slits 112 and 120 to limit observation to the plane 119 in fig. 16).
Regarding claim 11, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining the second parameter using a confocal-chromatic distance sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of equipment used in semiconductor manufacturing, Arieli teaches further comprising: determining the second parameter using a confocal-chromatic distance sensor (“2-D array of chromatic Confocal Microscopes,” para 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, determining the second parameter using a confocal-chromatic distance sensor, in view of the teachings of Arieli, by using the optical apparatus to conduct an overlay inspection, as taught by Arieli, instead of the light detector 121 that facilitates the planar adjustment of the ingot 1, as taught by Baer in fig. 16, in order to use a “single point” viewing system that enables scanning of the object surface in the x-y direction to determine the micro-topographic structure of any type of surface (Arieli, para 0038; Baer teaches using slits 112 and 120 to limit observation to the plane 119 in fig. 16).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Hanaoka et al. (US-20110183445-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Baer teaches a method for separating a solid-state layer from a solid-state material (“A method for producing thin wafers from a brittle crystalline material,” claim 1), the method comprising:
moving the solid-state material relative to a laser processing system (device shown in fig. 9, which illuminates the volume 13 along the dotted line 3 shown in fig. 8; “the ingot and the focusing system are moved relative to each other,” column 5, lines 30-31);
successively emitting a plurality of laser beams (beams shown in fig. 9) from the laser processing system to the solid-state material to create modifications within the solid-state material (“a line of light on volume 13,” column 10, lines 40-41; “on heating, the silicon in the volume 13 expands,” column 5, line 16);
adjusting the laser processing system for defined focusing of the plurality of laser beams (“adjusting said source of radiation so that as said radiation is converging to said first region of maximum intensity,” claim 1; fig. 16 shows how adjustments are made to heat different planes, which is where the beams focus) and/or for adjustment of energy of the plurality of laser beams (not explicitly disclosed) as a function of at least one parameter (“by cleaving said material at a chosen plane in said material,” claim 1; detecting the presence of scattering particles in a specific plane according to the description of fig. 16 is construed as the “at least one parameter”); and
detaching the solid-state layer from the solid-state material in a region of the modifications (“separating the part of said crystal between said flat surface and said chosen plane from the remaining part of said crystal,” claim 1).
Baer does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter includes a degree of doping of the solid-state material at a predetermined location or in a predetermined region.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting semiconductor substrates, Hanaoka teaches wherein the at least one parameter includes a degree of doping of the solid-state material at a predetermined location (embrittlement region 111, fig. 3C) or in a predetermined region (“an ion doping apparatus is used for the formation of the embrittlement region 111…a dose of 2.7×1016 ions/cm2,” para 0098).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, wherein the at least one parameter includes a degree of doping of the solid-state material at a predetermined location or in a predetermined region, in view of the teachings of Hanaoka, by using an ion doping apparatus, as taught by Hanaoka, at the desired cleavage plane, as taught by Baer, in order to form an embrittlement region by irradiating the semiconductor wafer with ions have kinetic energy, because by controlling the induced electric field for the ions, the acceleration of the ions can be controlled, such that ions cause an embrittlement region to form at a specific depth (Hanaoka, paras 0061 and 0095).
Regarding claim 13, Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by analysis of backscattered light within elastic scattering.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting semiconductor substrates, Hanaoka teaches further comprising: determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by analysis of backscattered light within elastic scattering (“Raman spectroscopy,” para 0085; interpreted in view of the Specification, which discloses that this limitation means “Raman scattering”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by analysis of backscattered light within elastic scattering, in view of the teachings of Hanaoka, by using Raman spectroscopy to measure crystal defects after separating the semiconductor waver, as taught by Hanaoka, in the cleaving method, as taught by Baer, in order to evaluate whether any defects have formed in the semiconductor wafer as a result of the ion doping used in the separation process (Hanaoka, para 0084).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Hanaoka et al. (US-20110183445-A1) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Venturini (US-20120037603-A1).
Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by ellipsometric measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting semiconductor substrates, Venturini teaches determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by ellipsometric measurement (“the depth of the melted region part may be determined by using time-resolved interferometry or ellipsometry as well,” para 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by ellipsometric measurement, in view of the teachings of Venturini, by using ellipsometry to measure the depth of a melted region, as taught by Venturini, at the embrittlement region 111, as taught by Hanaoka, in order to measure the reflectivity of the irradiated surface so that the irradiation process can be monitored accurately in real-time, resulting in uniformity between the different treated surface regions and uniformity in electronic device performance (Venturini, paras 0033 and 0060).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Hanaoka et al. (US-20110183445-A1) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Bogdanowicz et al. (US-20130155409-A1).
Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by a transmission measurement calibrated optically, wherein the calibration is performed by a Hall measurement and a 4-point measurement.
However, in the same field of semiconductor manufacturing, Bogdanowicz teaches determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by a transmission measurement calibrated optically (“optical measurement on the doping profile,” para 0012), wherein the calibration is performed by a Hall measurement (“Dopant activation may be defined as the percentage of the active dose to the as-implanted dose (as determined for example by Hall measurements),” para 0048) and a 4-point measurement (“Sheet resistance has been measured using a Four-Point Probe,” para 0107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer, to include, determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by a transmission measurement calibrated optically, wherein the calibration is performed by a Hall measurement and a 4-point measurement, in view of the teachings of Bogdanowicz, by using Hall measurements and a Four-Point Probe to obtain Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS) profiles, in order to measure the total doping profile, both electrically active and inactive, where the sheet resistance measured by a Four-Point Probe provides a useful comparison for correction of the SIMS measurements and because the SIMS measurements correlate well with the junction depth (Bogdanowicz, paras 0014 and 0106-0107).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer (US-8835802-B2) in view of Hanaoka et al. (US-20110183445-A1) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Levy et al. (US-20100271621-A1).
Baer teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by an eddy current measurement.
However, in the same field of semiconductor manufacturing, Bogdanowicz teaches further comprising: determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by an eddy current measurement (“use of eddy current monitoring to measure junction leakage,” para 0388).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Baer to include, determining the degree of doping of the solid-state material by an eddy current measurement, in view of the teachings of Levy, by using eddy current monitoring to measure junction leakage, in order to determine the junction types from a combination of surface photovoltage and eddy current characteristics and to ensure that there is no junction leakage present in the specimen (Levy, para 0388).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 15 September 2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
112(a) Rejections
On page 12, the Applicant appears to suggest that doping the material can be used to determine the laser energy. However, the claim recites “adjustment of energy of the plurality of laser beams.” Respectfully submit that changes to the material should not have any effect on the energy applied by the laser beams. The examiner cannot find any evidence in the Specification indicating that the Applicant has possession of an invention that is able to adjust the “energy of the plurality of the laser beams” nor is it clear from the Specification what mechanism is able to cause this “adjustment of energy of the plurality of the laser beams” as recited in the claims.
On pages 12-13, the Applicant suggests that an algorithm executed by a control system and a distance sensor are able to tilt the solid-state material; however, it is not clear to the examiner how this structure is sufficient to be able to tilt a material. Instead, respectfully submit that there should be some type of mechanical system present in order to be able to tilt the material.
112b rejections
On 13, the Applicant states that there are no contingent limitations present in claims 6-8. However, the examiner disagrees. For example, claim 6 recites “wherein the adjusting of the laser processing system is implemented based on differentiating tilting of the solid-state material due to placement errors.” The examiner understands this limitation such that if there are not any placement errors, then the step of “differentiating tilting” is not required because “placement errors” are not positively recited in the claim.
On page 13, the Applicant suggests that “placement errors” and “planetary errors” are definite; however, it is still not clear to the examiner what the Applicant considers to be an “error.” The Specification does not provide a standard for “placement errors” or “planetary errors.” Thus, the term “error” is relative depending on what one considers to be an error.
102/103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejections of Baer combined with Fukuyo or Hanaoka.
For the above reasons, rejections to the pending claims are respectfully sustained by the examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/24/2023
/TU B HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761