Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 03/14/2025. Claims 1, 23, and 24 are amended. Claims 25 – 26 are new. Claims 8 – 9 and 12 – 19 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 3 – 4, 7, 10 – 11, and 20 – 26 are pending review in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, the recitation “wherein the current comprises” appears to be missing the word “collector” after “current”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 4, 7, 10 – 11, 20 and 22 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (WO2013038880A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 01/23/2025) in view of Verhoog (US5741612A, cited in previous Office action mailed 01/23/2025), Buscca (US PG Pub. 2020/0350633 A1 – effectively filed 11/15/2018), and Teiichi (JP2017183052A, Machine translation provided) .
Regarding Claim 1 and 7, Hayashi discloses a battery (all solid-state battery; Fig. 7; [0031];[0094]) comprising: a plurality of cells that are electrically connected in parallel ([0031]), each of the plurality of cells including a positive electrode layer (Fig. 7, 1; [0031]), a negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 3; [0031]), a current collector that is in contact with the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 4; ([0031]), and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 2; [0031]).
In the instant specification, the applicant discloses that side surfaces of collector 13 include exposed portion 13a and shielded portion 13b, and that the “side surfaces” are surfaces other than the main surface which is defined by the applicant to be the surface of the collector with the largest area (Instant Specification: Figs. 1 – 2; [0039]). The applicant further discloses that the exposed portion is in contact with the terminal and is not in contact with the electrolyte and that the shieled portion is in contact with the electrolyte layer (Instant specification: [0039];[0046]).
Annotated Fig. 7 showing the shielded and exposed portions in Hayashi
As shown by annotated Fig. 7 above, the battery taught by Hayashi includes portions corresponding the claimed shielded and exposed portions. In the laminate 30, the solid electrolyte is taught to surround the battery elements, which would include the electrode collectors of the battery (Fig. 7; [0085]). Furthermore, the dimensions of electrolyte layers {i.e. length and width} are taught to be larger than the dimensions of the collector 4 within the laminate ([0085]). Therefore, because Hayashi teaches and shows the electrolyte surrounding the collector, excluding the side attached to the terminal, and the dimensions of the electrolyte are taught to be larger than the collector, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect a side surface of the collector in the portion circled in annotated Fig. 7 above to be shielded {i.e. in contact with/surrounded} by the electrolyte layer, and thus read upon being the claimed shielded portion. The end portion of the collector in annotated Fig. 7 above reads on being the claimed exposed portion, because it is a side surface of the collector exposed from the electrolyte layer {i.e. not in contact with the electrolyte} by being in contact with the terminal. In annotated Fig. 7, the shielded portion of the collector is shown to encompasses a greater portion of the collector in comparison to the exposed portion {i.e. more side surfaces in contact with the electrolyte than the terminal}; therefore, in Hayashi, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect an area of the shielded portion to be larger than an area of the exposed portion.
In Fig. 7 of Hayashi, the exposed portion of the current collector is shown to be in contact with the terminal (Refer to the positive electrode terminal, left structures labeled 5 and 6 in Fig. 7; [0091]). While Hayashi does not explicitly disclose the terminal and collector to be electrically connected; one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the terminal and collector to be electrically connected because the collector end is shown to be in direct contact with the terminal structure (i.e. 5 and 6 together form terminal (Fig. 7; [0092 – 0094]).
As established above, Hayashi further discloses wherein the exposed portion is in direct contact with the terminal (Refer to how corresponding exposed portion of Hayashi directly contacts the terminal structure in annotated Fig. 7 above).
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the current collector has a protruding portion and a remaining portion other than the protruding portion and a width of the protruding portion is smaller than a width of the remaining portion, and further, wherein a thickness of the protruding portion is smaller than a thickness of the remaining portion (Claim 7).
Verhoog teaches an electrode plate that ensures good electrical conductivity at the terminal connection zone of an electrode collector plate by integrally forming a tab that has a compressed thickness and smaller width than that of the main body of the plate (Refer to Fig. 1D; Col. 1, lines 59 – 65; Col. 4 lines 46 – 56). Verhoog further teaches that compressing the thickness allows for improved electrochemical performance (Col. 4, lines 31 – 35). The tab portion is further taught by Verhoog to not include active material (Fig. 1D; Col. 4, lines 59 – 65).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the terminal contacting portion of Hayashi’s collector that does not include active material to be thinner and smaller in width than the portion of the collector with active material, and thus integrally form a tab portion, as taught by Verhoog, with a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring good electrical conductivity at the terminal connection zone of the electrode. By being thinner and smaller in width the integrally formed tab portion of modified Hayashi reads on the claimed protruding portion and the rest of the collector {i.e. the portion that includes the active material} reads on the claimed remaining portion.
Furthermore, since it is the terminal contacting end of the modified collector that is thinner and smaller in width, and thus corresponds to the claimed protruding portion, the exposed portion of modified Hayashi’s collector is necessarily included in the protruding portion.
Annotated Fig. 7 showing current collector end distance and positive electrode layer end distance from corresponding exposed portion in Hayashi.
In Hayashi the distance between the terminal and the end of the positive electrode current collector opposite to the exposed portion is the same as the distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the positive (Refer to positive electrode configuration shown in annotated Fig. 7 above); therefore, modified Hayashi does not disclose a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion being farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
In Hayashi the solid electrolyte layer is taught to prevent the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer from coming into contact at the end of the laminate and causing electrical short circuit ([0085]). While Hayashi does teach exemplary widths {i.e. refer to D1 and D3 in Fig. 3} for the active material layer and negative material layer, Hayashi does not particularly limit the size of active material layer in reference to the current collector ([0085]).
Busacca teaches a plurality of secondary battery electrode assembly configurations and in Figs. 26A – 26F shows embodiments of unit cells having electrode and counter-electrode active material layers both with and without transverse offsets/separation differences ([0001];[0401]). In Fig. 26A – 26C, the current collectors, 136 and 140, of the electrodes do not directly face one another {i.e. the active material layer 132 covers entire length of current collector 136 that faces current collector 140}. In Figs. 26D – 26F, Busacca shows alternative embodiments where the both current collector ends of the electrode are free of active material and thus are directly facing one another in overlapping regions or facing each other through insulating member 514 which functions to inhibit shorting between structures in the unit cell and further can be of a material that is a ceramic, polymer, glass, and combinations and/or composites thereof ([0395]). Busacca further teaches that the separator 103 may be solid electrolyte, indicating that Busacca’s taught electrode embodiments are also applicable to solid-state batteries ([0692]).
Teiichi teaches an all solid state electrolyte secondary battery including an all solid state battery portion 10 in which a positive electrode current collector layer, a positive electrode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode current collector layer are laminated, and an electron transfer promotion portion 11 in which a current collector layer, a dielectric layer or a solid electrolyte layer, and a current collector layer are laminated (Figs. 4 – 5;[0006];[0019]). Furthermore, at least one of the positive electrode current collector layer or negative electrode current collector layer and at least one of the current collector layers included in the electrode transfer promotion portion of the battery are the same ([0006]). Teiichi further teaches controlling the ratio of the effective areas of the all-solid-state battery portion 10 {i.e. area where collectors include active material} and the electron transfer promotion portion 11 of the all-solid-state secondary battery such that the effective area of the all-solid-state battery portion/the effective area of the electron transfer promotion portion is 2 or less ([0025]). Increases in the proportion of the electron transfer promoting portion is taught by Teiichi to provide an improvement in discharge rate while the decreases in effective area of the all-solid-state battery portion are taught to provide decreases in capacity density.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the electrode layers in Hayashi such that both the positive electrode and negative electrode collectors have each of their respective end surfaces exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, because such a modification would be a change in size/proportion with respect to the active material layers that, as shown by Busacca, would result an active material configuration that is already known in art and further would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an electron transfer promotion portion that, as taught by Teiichi, would allow for an increase in the discharge rate of Hayashi’s battery [see MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
By having a width positive electrode active material layer be a width that allows for both ends of the positive electrode current collector to be exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, modified Hayashi provides the claimed configuration of wherein a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion is farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hayashi further discloses wherein the electrolyte layer is a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte ([0031];[0063 – 0065]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hayashi further discloses wherein the electrolyte layers of adjacent ones of the plurality of cells are joined to each other around the shieled portion (Refer to configuration of solid electrolyte layer 2 in Fig. 7).
Regarding Claims 10 – 11, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hayashi teaches laminating the layers of the all solid-state battery using heat and pressure ([0054]).
In the instant specification the applicant discloses that the joining layer is produced by laminating and pressure bonding the plurality of cells ([0096 – 0097]). Materials taught to be used for the collector include stainless steel, nickel, aluminum, iron, titanium, copper, palladium, gold, and platinum ([0063]). For the solid electrolyte material, the applicant further teaches using materials such as sulfide solid electrolytes, lithium-containing metal oxides, lithium-containing metal nitrides, or lithium-containing transition metal oxides such as lithium phosphate (Li3PO4) or lithium titanium oxide ([0058]).
Since Hayashi teaches laminating and pressure bonding the unit cells of the battery together like the applicant, and further teaches using current collector materials ([0044 – 0047]) and solid electrolyte materials within the scope disclosed by the applicant ([0063 – 0065]), one with ordinary skill in the art would expect the solid state battery taught by Hayashi to inherently and necessarily have the claimed joining layer located on an interface between the current collector and the electrolyte layer that contains at least one kind of element among elements contained in the current collector and at least one kind of element among elements contained in the electrolyte layer (Claim 9) and further the claimed joining layer present on an interface between the shielded portion and the electrolyte layer (Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above, in modified Hayashi the protruding portion of the collector plate is integrally formed (Refer to Verhoog: Figs. 1A – 1D; Col. 4; lines 46 – 56); therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the protruding portion of modified Hayashi to be formed with the same material as that of the current collector.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above, in modified Hayashi the protruding portion of the collector plate is integrally formed (Verhoog: Refer to Figs. 1A – 1D; Col. 4; lines 46 – 56); therefore, since it is an integral part of the collector, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the protruding portion of modified Hayashi’s collector to function as part of the current collector.
Regarding Claim 23, Hayashi discloses a battery (all solid-state battery; Fig. 7; [0031];[0094]) comprising: a plurality of cells that are electrically connected in parallel ([0031]), each of the plurality of cells including a positive electrode layer (Fig. 7, 1; [0031]), a negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 3; [0031]), a current collector that is in contact with the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 4; ([0031]), and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 2; [0031]).
In the instant specification, the applicant discloses that side surfaces of collector 13 include exposed portion 13a and shielded portion 13b, and that the “side surfaces” are surfaces other than the main surface which is defined by the applicant to be the surface of the collector with the largest area (Instant Specification: Figs. 1 – 2; [0039]). The applicant further discloses that the exposed portion is in contact with the terminal and is not in contact with the electrolyte and that the shieled portion is in contact with the electrolyte layer (Instant specification: [0039];[0046]).
As shown by annotated Fig. 7 below, the battery taught by Hayashi includes portions corresponding the claimed shielded and exposed portions.
Annotated Fig. 7 showing the shielded and exposed portions in Hayashi
In the laminate 30, the solid electrolyte is taught to surround the battery elements, which would include the electrode collectors of the battery (Fig. 7; [0085]). Furthermore, the dimensions of electrolyte layers {i.e. length and width} are taught to be larger than the dimensions of the collector 4 within the laminate ([0085]). Therefore, because Hayashi teaches and shows the electrolyte surrounding the collector, excluding the side attached to the terminal, and the dimensions of the electrolyte are taught to be larger than the collector, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect a side surface of the collector in the portion circled in annotated Fig. 7 above to be shielded {i.e. in contact with/surrounded} by the electrolyte layer, and thus read upon being the claimed shielded portion. The end portion of the collector in annotated Fig. 7 above reads on being the claimed exposed portion, because it is a side surface of the collector exposed from the electrolyte layer {i.e. not in contact with the electrolyte} by being in contact with the terminal. In annotated Fig. 7, the shielded portion of the collector is shown to encompasses a greater portion of the collector in comparison to the exposed portion {i.e. more side surfaces in contact with the electrolyte than the terminal}; therefore, in Hayashi, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect an area of the shielded portion to be larger than an area of the exposed portion.
In Fig. 7 of Hayashi, the exposed portion of the current collector is shown to be in contact with a terminal (Refer to the positive electrode terminal, left structures labeled 5 and 6 in Fig. 7; [0091]). While Hayashi does not explicitly disclose the terminal and collector to be electrically connected; one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the terminal and collector to be electrically connected because the collector end is shown to be in direct contact with the terminal structure (i.e. 5 and 6 together form terminal (Fig. 7; [0092 – 0094]).
As established above, Hayashi further discloses wherein the exposed portion is in direct contact with the terminal (Refer to how corresponding exposed portion of Hayashi directly contacts the terminal structure in annotated Fig. 7 above).
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the current collector has a protruding portion and a remaining portion other than the protruding portion and a thickness of the protruding portion is smaller than a thickness of the remaining portion.
Verhoog teaches an electrode plate that ensures good electrical conductivity at the terminal connection zone of plate by integrally forming a tab that has a compressed thickness and smaller width than that of the main body of the plate (Refer to Fig. 1D; Col. 1, lines 59 – 65; Col. 4 lines 46 – 56). Verhoog further teaches that compressing the thickness allows for improved electrochemical performance (Col. 4, lines 31 – 35). The tab portion is further taught by Verhoog to not include active material (Fig. 1D; Col. 4, lines 59 – 65).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the terminal contacting portion of Hayashi’s collector that does not include active material to be thinner and smaller in width than the portion of the collector with active material, and thus form a tab portion, as taught by Verhoog, with a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring good electrical conductivity at the terminal connection zone of electrode. By being thinner, the integrally formed tab portion of modified Hayashi reads on the claimed protruding portion and the rest of the collector {i.e. the portion that includes the active material} reads on the claimed remaining portion.
Furthermore, since it is the terminal contacting end of the modified collector that is thinner, and thus corresponds to the claimed protruding portion, the exposed portion of modified Hayashi’s collector is necessarily included in the protruding portion.
In Hayashi the distance between the terminal and the end of the positive electrode current collector opposite to the exposed portion is the same as the distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the positive (Refer to positive electrode configuration shown in annotated Fig. 7 below); therefore, modified Hayashi does not disclose a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion being farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
Annotated Fig. 7 showing current collector end distance and positive electrode layer end distance from corresponding exposed portion in Hayashi.
In Hayashi the solid electrolyte layer is taught to prevent the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer from coming into contact at the end of the laminate and causing electrical short circuit ([0085]). While Hayashi does teach exemplary widths {i.e. refer to D1 and D3 in Fig. 3} for the active material layer and negative material layer, Hayashi does not particularly limit the size of active material in reference to the current collector ([0085]).
Busacca teaches a plurality of secondary battery electrode assembly configurations and in Figs. 26A – 26F shows embodiments of unit cells having electrode and counter-electrode active material layers both with and without transverse offsets/separation differences ([0001];[0401]). In Fig. 26A – 26C, the current collectors, 136 and 140, of the electrodes do not directly face one another {i.e. the active material layer 132 covers entire length of current collector 136 that faces current collector 140}. In Figs. 26D – 26F, Busacca shows alternative embodiments where the both current collector ends of the electrode are free of active material and thus are directly facing one another in overlapping regions or facing each other through insulating member 514 which functions to inhibit shorting between structures in the unit cell and further can be of a material that is a ceramic, polymer, glass, and combinations and/or composites thereof ([0395]). Busacca further teaches that the separator 103 may be solid electrolyte, indicating that Busacca’s taught electrode embodiments are also applicable to solid-state batteries ([0692]).
Teiichi teaches an all solid state electrolyte secondary battery including an all solid state battery portion 10 in which a positive electrode current collector layer, a positive electrode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode current collector layer are laminated, and an electron transfer promotion portion 11 in which a current collector layer, a dielectric layer or a solid electrolyte layer, and a current collector layer are laminated (Figs. 4 – 5;[0006];[0019]). Furthermore, at least one of the positive electrode current collector layer or negative electrode current collector layer and at least one of the current collector layers included in the electrode transfer promotion portion of the battery are the same ([0006]). Teiichi further teaches controlling the ratio of the effective areas of the all-solid-state battery portion 10 {i.e. area where collectors include active material} and the electron transfer promotion portion 11 of the all-solid-state secondary battery such that the effective area of the all-solid-state battery portion/the effective area of the electron transfer promotion portion is 2 or less ([0025]). Increases in the proportion of the electron transfer promoting portion is taught by Teiichi to provide an improvement in discharge rate while the decreases in effective area of the all-solid-state battery portion are taught to provide decreases in capacity density.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the electrode layers in Hayashi such that both the positive electrode and negative electrode collectors have each of their respective end surfaces exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, because such a modification would be a change in size/proportion with respect to the active material layers that, as shown by Busacca, would result an active material configuration that is already known in art and further would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an electron transfer promotion portion that, as taught by Teiichi, would allow for an increase in the discharge rate of Hayashi’s battery [see MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
By having a width positive electrode active material layer be a width that allows for both ends of the positive electrode current collector to be exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, modified Hayashi provides the claimed configuration of wherein a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion is farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
Regarding Claim 24, Hayashi discloses a battery (all solid-state battery; Fig. 7; [0031];[0094]) comprising: a plurality of cells that are electrically connected in parallel ([0031]), each of the plurality of cells including a positive electrode layer (Fig. 7, 1; [0031]), a negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 3; [0031]), a current collector that is in contact with the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 4; ([0031]), and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (Fig. 7, 2; [0031]), and a terminal connected to at least one of the first current collector and the second current collector (Refer to the electrode terminal structures formed by 5 and 6 in Fig. 7; [0091]).
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose the terminal and collector to be electrically connected; however, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the terminal and collector to be electrically connected because the collector end is shown to be in direct contact with the terminal structure (i.e. 5 and 6 together form terminal (Fig. 7; [0092 – 0094]).
The battery taught by Hayashi further includes a current that has a side surface electrically connected to the terminal and including an exposed portion exposed from the electrolyte layer and a shielded portion shielded by the electrode layer, that is, as shown in annotated Fig. 7 below, the positive electrode current collector includes an end that contacts the terminal but is also surrounded by electrolyte.
Annotated Fig. 7 showing the shielded and exposed portions in Hayashi
In the laminate 30, the solid electrolyte is taught to surround the battery elements, which would include the electrode collectors of the battery (Fig. 7; [0085]). Furthermore, the dimensions of electrolyte layers {i.e. length and width} are taught to be larger than the dimensions of the collector 4 within the laminate ([0085]). Therefore, because Hayashi teaches and shows the electrolyte surrounding the collector, excluding the side attached to the terminal, and the dimensions of the electrolyte are taught to be larger than the collector, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect a side surface of the collector in the portion circled in annotated Fig. 7 above to be shielded {i.e. in contact with/surrounded} by the electrolyte layer, and thus read upon being the claimed shielded portion. The end portion of the collector in annotated Fig. 7 above reads on being the claimed exposed portion, because it is a side surface of the collector exposed from the electrolyte layer {i.e. not in contact with the electrolyte} by being in contact with the terminal. In annotated Fig. 7, the shielded portion of the collector is shown to encompasses a greater portion of the collector in comparison to the exposed portion {i.e. more side surfaces in contact with the electrolyte than the terminal}; therefore, in Hayashi, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect an area of the shielded portion to be larger than an area of the exposed portion.
While Hayashi does not provide a plan view of the solid state battery, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, based on Fig. 7 of Hayashi, that at least part of an end portion of the first current collector in a first direction that does not face the terminal does not overlap an end portion of the second current collector in the first direction in a plan view (Refer to circled end portions in annotated Fig. 7 below).
Annotated Fig. 7 showing non-overlapping electrode collector end portions
In Hayashi the distance between the terminal and the end of the positive electrode current collector opposite to the exposed portion is the same as the distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the positive (Refer to positive electrode configuration shown in annotated Fig. 7 below); therefore, modified Hayashi does not disclose a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion being farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
Annotated Fig. 7 showing current collector end distance and positive electrode layer end distance from corresponding exposed portion in Hayashi.
In Hayashi the solid electrolyte layer is taught to prevent the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer from coming into contact at the end of the laminate and causing electrical short circuit ([0085]). While Hayashi does teach exemplary widths {i.e. refer to D1 and D3 in Fig. 3} for the active material layer and negative material layer, Hayashi does not particularly limit the size of active material in reference to the current collector ([0085]).
Busacca teaches a plurality of secondary battery electrode assembly configurations and in Figs. 26A – 26F shows embodiments of unit cells having electrode and counter-electrode active material layers both with and without transverse offsets/separation differences ([0001];[0401]). In Fig. 26A – 26C, the current collectors, 136 and 140, of the electrodes do not directly face one another {i.e. the active material layer 132 covers entire length of current collector 136 that faces current collector 140}. In Figs. 26D – 26F, Busacca shows alternative embodiments where the both current collector ends of the electrode are free of active material and thus are directly facing one another in overlapping regions or facing each other through insulating member 514 which functions to inhibit shorting between structures in the unit cell and further can be of a material that is a ceramic, polymer, glass, and combinations and/or composites thereof ([0395]). Busacca further teaches that the separator 103 may be solid electrolyte, indicating that Busacca’s taught electrode embodiments are also applicable to solid-state batteries ([0692]).
Teiichi teaches an all solid state electrolyte secondary battery including an all solid state battery portion 10 in which a positive electrode current collector layer, a positive electrode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode current collector layer are laminated, and an electron transfer promotion portion 11 in which a current collector layer, a dielectric layer or a solid electrolyte layer, and a current collector layer are laminated (Figs. 4 – 5;[0006];[0019]). Furthermore, at least one of the positive electrode current collector layer or negative electrode current collector layer and at least one of the current collector layers included in the electrode transfer promotion portion of the battery are the same ([0006]). Teiichi further teaches controlling the ratio of the effective areas of the all-solid-state battery portion 10 {i.e. area where collectors include active material} and the electron transfer promotion portion 11 of the all-solid-state secondary battery such that the effective area of the all-solid-state battery portion/the effective area of the electron transfer promotion portion is 2 or less ([0025]). Increases in the proportion of the electron transfer promoting portion is taught by Teiichi to provide an improvement in discharge rate while the decreases in effective area of the all-solid-state battery portion are taught to provide decreases in capacity density.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the electrode layers in Hayashi such that both the positive electrode and negative electrode collectors have each of their respective end surfaces exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, because such a modification would be a change in size/proportion with respect to the active material layers that, as shown by Busacca, would result an active material configuration that is already known in art and further would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an electron transfer promotion portion that, as taught by Teiichi, would allow for an increase in the discharge rate of Hayashi’s battery [see MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
By having a width positive electrode active material layer be a width that allows for both ends of the positive electrode current collector to be exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, modified Hayashi provides the claimed configuration of wherein a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion is farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the positive electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. By having a configuration in which the width of the negative electrode layer and positive electrode layer is a width that allows for both ends of their respective current collectors to be exposed to solid electrolyte {i.e. refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca}, modified Hayashi, as established above, further provides the claimed configuration of wherein a distance between the terminal and an end of the current collector opposite to the exposed portion is farther than a distance between the terminal and an end of the negative electrode layer opposite to the exposed portion.
Regarding Claim 26, modified Hayashi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hayashi further discloses wherein the current collector comprises a first current collector (Refer to current collector 4 contacting positive electrode layer 1 in Fig. 7 of Hayashi and [0031]) and a second current collector (Refer to current collector 4 contacting negative electrode layer 3 in Fig. 7 of Hayashi and [0031]), and wherein the second current collector is in contact with an electrode layer that is different from the electrode layer that is in contact with the first current collector, that is the corresponding second current collector in Hayashi is contacting the negative electrode layer which is different from the positive electrode layer in contact with the corresponding first current collector (Refer to Fig. 7).
In Fig. 7 of Hayashi, an end of the corresponding first current collector is shown to be in contact with the terminal (Refer to the positive electrode terminal, left structures labeled 5 and 6; [0091]). While Hayashi does not explicitly disclose the terminal and current collector to be electrically connected; one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the terminal and first current collector to be electrically connected because the current collector end is shown to be in direct contact with the terminal structure (i.e. 5 and 6 together form terminal (Fig. 7; [0092 – 0094]).
As established above, in modified Hayashi, both the negative electrode layer and positive electrode layer are of width that would leave overlapping portions of the current collectors that directly face one another exposed to/covered by the solid electrode (Refer to electrode embodiment shown in 26D – 26F in Busacca and the electron transfer promotion portions 11 in Figs. 4 – 5 of Teiichi). As such modified Hayashi, as established above, would further provide the claimed configuration of wherein the second current collector includes a surface directly facing the first current collector, and only the surface of the second current collector that is directly facing the first current collector is covered by the electrolyte layer.
Conclusion
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/19/2025