DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 11, 13, 18 and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (US 2014/0083814 A1), further in view of Hurwitz et al (US 2006/0106716 A1), further in view of Akamatsu (US 2011/0015777 A1) and further in view of Iwai et al (US 11,398,124 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura teaches a coin handling apparatus, i.e., coin handling/settling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) as illustrated in figures 2, 4, 9a and 9b and as mentioned in paragraphs 95 and 96, comprising:
a first cassette attachment, i.e., depositing unit (210b) as illustrated in figure 9a and as mentioned at paragraph 136, for example, to which a first cassette, i.e. money transport cassette (30) is attached such that a discharge port, i.e., lower opening (32), as illustrated in figure 15b and as mentioned at paragraph 214, of the first cassette (30), as illustrated in figures 9a, 9b, 15a and 15b and as mentioned at paragraphs 157, 158 and 214, is provided at a position facing a first reception port of the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 23), i.e., noting the depositing unit has a reception port/opening that faces a corresponding opening (32) of the cassette (30), the first reception port being capable of depositing a coin stored in the first cassette (30) into the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 23);
a second cassette attachment, i.e., drawer attaching unit (260), as illustrated in figure 9a and as mentioned at paragraph 136, to which a second cassette (30) is attached at a position where coin(s) transported by a second transport, i.e. chutes (256b) as mentioned at paragraph 163 and as illustrated in figure 9a, is guided to a second reception port, i.e., upper opening (31), as mentioned at paragraphs 214 and 215, of the second cassette (30);
a feeder, i.e., transport unit (230b) as illustrated in figure 9a that receives coin(s) deposited from the first cassette (30) via the first reception port and feeds out the deposited coin(s) one by one, noting that the transport unit (230b) sorts coins by denomination based upon the recognition result obtained from the recognition unit (240b), as mentioned in paragraphs 159 and 160, which at least implies sorting and transporting coins one by one;
a first transport, i.e., chutes (236b) as illustrated in figure 9a and as mentioned at paragraph 161, that transports the coin(s) fed out by the feeder (230b) into a storage box (250b), as mentioned at paragraphs 136 and 161-164;
the second transport (256b) that transports the coin(s) stored in the storage box (250b) and fed out from the storage box (250b) into the second cassette (30); and
processing circuitry, i.e., control units (190, 290), as illustrated in figures 3 and 7 and as mentioned at paragraphs 97, 107, 137, 222 and 272, for example, configured to control the first transport (236b) and the second transport (256b), such that a change fund is fed out from the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) into the second cassette (30) in a dispensing processing before the coin stored in the first cassette (30) as proceeds from sales, as mentioned at paragraphs 8, 9, 89 and 90, is fed into the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23), in a depositing processing, noting that paragraph 240 states “[t]he flow of counting the number of connection times shown in FIG. 17 may be performed simultaneously with the money loading process or the money collecting process, or before or after one of these processes” and noting that a money collection process is interpreted as a dispensing processing. Note also that Nomura teaches the money collecting/dispensing process includes proceeds from sales as mentioned in paragraphs 8, 9, 89 and 90, which state as follows.
[0008] On the other hand, in a back office of a store, a money accounting apparatus is used for loading a money settlement apparatus installed in the store with money such as a change fund and the like, or for collecting sales proceeds and the like from the money settlement apparatus. The money accounting apparatus has a function for storing money having been collected from the money settlement apparatus, and a function for dispensing money to be loaded to the money settlement apparatus.
[0009] Upon start of store hours, a clerk is generally required to load the money settlement apparatus with a change fund and the like. In addition, after the store hours, a clerk is required to store sales proceeds and the like stored in the money settlement apparatus into the money accounting apparatus in the back office.
[0089] The back office 20 is provided with a money accounting apparatus 21, a money management apparatus 25 and a POS management apparatus 26. The money accounting apparatus is communicably connected to the money settlement apparatuses 11, and is configured to dispense a change fund to be loaded to the money settlement apparatuses 11 and to deposit sales proceeds collected from the money settlement apparatuses 11. The money management apparatus 25 is communicably connected to the money settlement apparatuses 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21 through a LAN (Local Area Network) or the like. The money management apparatus 25 is configured to manage money stored in the money settlement apparatuses 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21. For example, the money management apparatus 25 is configured to manage money having been settled in the respective money settlement apparatuses 11, and money transferred between each money settlement apparatus 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21. In addition, the money management apparatus 25 may monitor whether the money transport cassette 30 is attached to the money settlement apparatus 11 or the money accounting apparatus 21. The POS management apparatus 26 is configured to manage a flow of commercial products. Since the flow of commercial products is not directly related to the present invention, detailed description of the POS management apparatus 26 is omitted.
[0090] The money transport cassette 30 can be attached to and detached from the money settlement apparatus 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21. When attached to the money settlement apparatus 11 or the money accounting apparatus 21, the money transport cassette 30 can transfer money between the money transport cassette 30 and the money settlement apparatus 11, or between the money transport cassette 30 and the money accounting apparatus 21. On the other hand, when detached from the money settlement apparatus 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21, the money transport cassette 30 stores money therein such that the money cannot be taken out therefrom. A clerk uses the money transport cassette 30 to transport money between the money settlement apparatus 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21. For example, when a change fund is loaded or when sales proceeds are collected, a clerk uses the money transport cassette 30 to transport money between the money settlement apparatus 11 and the money accounting apparatus 21. Since the clerk cannot touch the money in the money transport cassette 30 during the money transportation, the money can be safely transported in terms of security.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach, wherein the control is performed by the processing circuitry at a timing of the dispensing processing such that the dispensing processing of the change fund is completed before the depositing processing of the proceeds from the sales in a time slot during which the coin handling apparatus is grasped as not in operation.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach, but Hurwitz teaches wherein the control is performed by the processing circuitry, i.e., controller (305) as illustrated in figure 3 and as mentioned at paragraph 126, at a timing of the dispensing processing such that the dispensing processing of the change fund is completed before the depositing processing of the proceeds from the sales in a time slot during which the coin handling apparatus, i.e., payment media acceptance device (320), payment media dispensing device (310), payment media recycling device (330), payment media deposit processing device (340) is grasped as not in operation, as mentioned at paragraphs 126 (payment media capacity timing), noting also payment media capacity timing/determination device (380) as mentioned at paragraphs 128, noting also the mention of timing information including a staff shift change, retail store opening time, closing time and a cash accepting device cashing up time, as mentioned at paragraph 77. In addition to paragraphs 77, 126, 128, see also paragraphs 56, 58,70 and 71, as follows.
[0056] This invention separately provides methods and systems for electronically managing a payment media operation of a payment media handling apparatus. In one exemplary embodiment, the method comprises the steps of automatically predicting the payment media operation based on timing information of events associated with an entity; automatically determining the possibility of performing the predicted payment media operation based on information related to the predicted payment media operation including determining whether sufficient payment media and payment media capacity is available in at least the payment media handling apparatus to perform the respective payment media operation predicted; and performing a payment media action based on a result obtained from the automatically determining step.
[0058] In one exemplary embodiment, the timing information comprises at least one of a staff shift change timing information, a retail store opening time, a retail store closing time and a payment media accepting device cashing up time, wherein a retail store includes one or more of at least a single store, multiple stores, one or more third party concession stands located within a single store and two or more stores located within a mall.
[0070] In another exemplary embodiment according to this invention, there is provided a machine-readable storage medium that provides instructions for electronically managing a payment media operation of a payment media handling apparatus, the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising automatically predicting the payment media operation based on timing information of events associated with an entity; automatically determining the possibility of performing the predicted payment media operation based on information related to the predicted payment media operation including determining whether sufficient payment media and payment media capacity is available in at least the payment media handling apparatus to perform the respective payment media operation predicted; and performing a payment media action based on a result obtained from the automatically determining step, wherein the payment media operation includes at least one of a payment media acceptance operation, a start fund operation, a payment media change dispensing operation, a payment media advance operation and a bank deposit operation.
[0071] In one exemplary embodiment, the timing information comprises at least one of a staff shift change timing information, a retail store opening time, a retail store closing time and a payment media accepting device cashing up time.
[0077] In one exemplary embodiment of the system, the timing information comprises at least one of a staff shift change timing information, a retail store opening time, a retail store closing time and a cash accepting device cashing up time.
[0126] As shown in FIG. 3, apparatus 300 is a payment media handling apparatus that includes a controller 305 and one or more of at least a payment media dispensing device 310, a payment media acceptance device 320, a payment media recycling device 330 and a payment media deposit processing device 340. The payment media handling apparatus 300 further includes a user interface 350 coupled to the controller 305. The user interface may include various formats, including a graphical user interface having a touch screen 360. The payment media handling apparatus 300 further includes a memory 370. In various exemplary embodiments, the payment media handling apparatus 300 may include other devices, such as for example a payment media capacity timing and determination device 380.
[0128] More typically it is envisioned that the solution utilizes more advanced payment media acceptance and dispensing equipment, such as, for example, the Mach.RTM. series of coin counters and sorters, one of the TCD range of payment media dispensers, or the IDU range of payment media acceptors, all available from De La Rue Cash Systems. Preferably, the payment media acceptance and dispensing processes may be performed using a single machine, such as the TCR Twin Safe.TM. sold by De La Rue Cash Systems for example. Such devices handle multiple payment media types, including bills and coins, for example. Further examples of such devices include the De La Rue Retail Payment Solutions "Power Encode" for check encoding and settlement, and the De La Rue "2000", "4000" and "6000" "Cash Counters". Typically such automated counting devices are connected to a controller 305, such as a personal computer but, in some instances, the controlling device forms part of the counting device. Indeed, more than one counting device may be connected to a single controlling device, or a single counting device may be connected to multiple controlling devices, or multiple counting devices may be connected to multiple controlling devices.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the control is performed by the processing circuitry at a timing of the dispensing processing such that the dispensing processing of the change fund is completed before the depositing processing of the proceeds from the sales in a time slot during which the coin handling apparatus is grasped as not in operation, as taught by Hurwitz, in Nomura’s coin handling apparatus, for the purpose of ensuring the proper timing of the processing of the change fund. Note that a store closing time as mentioned at paragraph 58, a beginning of a shift or an end of a shift, interpreted as shift change timing information as mentioned at paragraph 71, for example, are all considered to be an example of a time when the coin handling operation is not in operation.
Regarding Claim 1, Normura does not expressly teach, but Hurwitz teaches a third cassette attachment unit (20a-20n) as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at paragraph 15, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to have duplicated the first and second cassettes (30) for the purpose of increasing the number of cassettes, thus increasing the volume of coins processed.
Regarding Claim 1, therefore, Nomura teaches wherein
in a case that a third cassette (30) is attached to the second cassette attachment (260), in place of the second cassette (30) while the coin stored in the first cassette is deposited from the first cassette (30) in the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23), the processing circuitry (190, 290) controls the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) such that the change fund stored in the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) is dispensed from the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) into the third cassette (30). Note that Nomura already teaches that the processing circuitry controls the entire device, i.e., either settlement or accounting apparatus’. Therefore, it would have been well within the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan to have provided control algorithms to cause the processing circuitry to control the transport unit to service any of the first or second cassette attachment units and first, second or third cassettes to either accept a change fund, as mentioned in paragraphs 89, 90 and 240, or other amount of coins or to deposit any amount of coins, as Nomura’s money handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) is designed to perform multiple and continuous deposit and withdrawal operations/transactions.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a third cassette attachment unit, as taught by Hurwitz, in Nomura’s coin handling apparatus, for the purpose of increasing the volume of coins able to be processed.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach performing a deposit operation simultaneously with a dispensing operation for preparing a change fund.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach, but Akamatsu teaches performing a deposit operation simultaneously with a dispensing operation for preparing a change fund, as mentioned at paragraphs 56, 77 and 107, which state as follows.
[0056] Then, a first change-funds preparing operation, which will be described below, is performed (S503). In the first change-funds preparing operation, a deposit operation for counting sales proceeds and a dispense operation for preparing change funds are simultaneously performed.
[0077] According to the embodiment 1 of the present invention, since the deposit operation for counting sales proceeds and the dispense operation for preparing change funds are simultaneously performed in one transaction, a handling efficiency of the money handling system can be improved, whereby a time from a start of the deposit operation to a finish of the dispense operation can be reduced.
[0107] According to the embodiment 2 of the present invention, the money handling system includes the banknote handling machine 220 that simultaneously performs the banknote deposit operation and the banknote dispense operation, the coin handling machine 230 that performs the coin deposit operation, and the coin-roll handling machine 240 that performs the coin dispense operation. Thus, the banknote deposit operation for counting sales proceeds and the dispense operation for preparing banknotes for change funds can be simultaneously performed by the banknote handling machine 220, and the coin deposit operation for counting sales proceeds is performed by the coin handling machine 230. Furthermore, simultaneously with the coin deposit operation, the coin dispense operation for preparing coins for change funds is performed by the coin-roll handling machine 240. Thus, in addition to the same effect as that of the embodiment 1 of the present invention, the embodiment 2 provides an advantageous effect in that coins for change funds can be prepared in a rolled condition, which facilitates handling of coins.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided performing a deposit operation simultaneously with a dispensing operation for preparing a change fund, as taught by Akamatsu, in Nomura’s coin handling apparatus, for the purpose of ensuring the proper timing of the processing of the change fund so that time is saved creating a more efficient change fund process through nesting of both depositing and dispensing processes.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach a mounting order determination unit connected to a usage determination unit for determining usage state of the storage cassette and a determination unit that determines whether or not banknotes have been sent into the money depositing/dispensing machine from all of the storage cassettes so that multiple cassettes may be used to transport a single change fund between recycling/money depositing machines and money change machines at a point of sale in a front office region, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach, but Iwai teaches a mounting order determination unit (52) connected to a usage determination unit (50) for determining usage state of the storage cassette (40) and a determination unit (51) that determines whether or not banknotes have been sent into the money depositing/dispensing machine (30) from all of the storage cassettes (40), as mentioned at col. 14, lines 21-29 and 41-51, col 15, lines 14-57 and col. 43, lines 26-col. 44, line 27, which state as follows.
(33) The coin handling device 34 includes an inlet through which coins are inserted into the housing from the outside, a transport unit for transporting coins one by one in the housing, a recognition unit for performing recognition of a denomination, authentication, fitness, a transport state, and the like of the coin transported by the transport unit, and a dispensing unit for dispensing coins from the housing to the outside. As shown in FIG. 5, the coin handling device 34 includes a storage/feeding unit 34a capable of storing coins sent from the transport unit and feeding out the stored coins one by one to the transport unit. The coin handling device 34 includes a collection cassette (not shown) for storing coins sent from the transport unit, and the guard of the cash-in-transit company is allowed to collect coins stored in the collection cassette from the coin handling device 34 together with the collection cassette. A coin handling unit 34b for handling coins is configured by the inlet, the transport unit, the recognition unit, the dispensing unit, and the like described above.
(35) Next, a configuration of a control system of the money depositing/dispensing machine 30 having such a configuration will be described with reference to FIG. 5. As shown in FIG. 5, the money depositing/dispensing machine 30 includes a controller 38 such as a central processing unit (CPU), and each component of the banknote handling device 32, the coin handling device 34, and the coin roll storing device 36 is connected to the controller 38. Thus, information read from the storage medium 42 of the storage cassette 40 by the reader writer 32d is transmitted to the controller 38. The controller 38 transmits an instruction to each component of the banknote handling device 32, the coin handling device 34, and the coin roll storing device 36 to control the component. As shown in FIG. 5, the operation/display unit 39a, a memory 39b, a communication interface 39c, and a printing unit 39d are connected to the controller 38.
(36) In the present embodiment, the controller 38 performs control such that banknotes are sent from the storage/feeding unit 32a to an empty storage cassette 40 mounted to the cassette mounting unit 32c according to a storing state of banknotes in the storage/feeding unit 32a of the banknote handling device 32. Such a function of the controller 38 will be described below. As shown in FIG. 5, a usage determination unit 50 for determining the usage of the storage cassette 40 mounted to the cassette mounting unit 32c, according to a storing state of banknotes in the storage/feeding unit 32a of the banknote handling device 32 is connected to the controller 38. Examples of the usage of the storage cassette 40 which is determined by the usage determination unit 50 include collection, replenishment, storage, and the like. Such a function of the usage determination unit 50 will be described below in detail
(37) As shown in FIG. 5, a determination unit 51 and a mounting order determination unit 52 are connected to the controller 38. The determination unit 51 determines whether or not banknotes have been sent into the money depositing/dispensing machine 30 from all the storage cassettes 40 to which the banknotes have been sent from the money change machine 20 when the plurality of the storage cassettes 40 are used in a collection process in which money is collected from the money change machine 20 and deposited in the money depositing/dispensing machine 30. The mounting order determination unit 52 determines whether or not an error in the order in which the storage cassettes 40 are mounted to the money depositing/dispensing machine 30 has occurred when the plurality of the storage cassettes 40 are used in the above-described collection process. Functions of the determination unit 51 and the mounting order determination unit 52 will be described below in detail.
(38) Next, an operation (hereinafter, also referred to as collection process) as indicated by reference numeral (a) in FIG. 1 for collecting money as proceeds from sales, from the money change machine 20, and storing the money in the money depositing/dispensing machine 30, and an operation (hereinafter, also referred to as replenishing process) as indicated by reference numeral (b) in FIG. 1 for dispensing money as change fund from the money depositing/dispensing machine 30 and replenishing the money change machine 20 with the money, in the money handling system 10 shown in FIG. 1 to FIG. 5, will be described below.
(113) In the money handling system according to another modification, a plurality of cassette mounting units may be disposed in the banknote handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine. In this case, the storage cassette for collection and the storage cassette for storage can be simultaneously mounted to the banknote handling device. In this case, in a case where the above-described entire collection process is performed, even when the storage/feeding unit in the banknote handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine is in a full state or a nearly full state, and banknotes can no longer be stored in the storage/feeding unit, banknotes can be sent from the storage/feeding unit to the storage cassette for storage without dismounting the storage cassette for collection from the banknote handling device.
(114) In the money handling system according to still another modification, the storage cassette may be used to deliver coins between the coin handling device of each money change machine disposed in the front office region and the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine disposed in the back office region. In this case, the storage cassette for storing the coins and feeding out the stored coins is detachably mounted to each of the coin handling device of each money change machine and the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine. In the money depositing/dispensing machine, coins are sent from the storage/feeding unit into the empty storage cassette mounted to the coin handling device according to a storing state of coins in the coin handling device. In this case, even when coins in the storage/feeding unit become insufficient while change fund is prepared, replenishment of coins can be performed merely by mounting the storage cassette, whereby an operation of, for example, taking out coins from the collection cassette can be eliminated, and this can reduce an operator's workload and a replenishing time. In such a money handling system, a usage determination unit disposed in the money depositing/dispensing machine may determine the usage of the storage cassette mounted to the cassette mounting unit of the coin handling device according to a storing state of coins in the storage/feeding unit of the coin handling device. Specifically, the usage determination unit may determine, as storage, the usage of the storage cassette mounted to the cassette mounting unit when coins can no longer be stored in the storage/feeding unit of the coin handling device. The same operation as performed for the usage of the storage cassette for storing banknotes as described above is performed for the usage of the storage cassette for storing coins. In such a money handling system, a determination unit is disposed for determining whether or not coins have been sent into the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine from all the storage cassettes to which coins have been sent from the coin handling device of the money change machine when a plurality of storage cassettes are used in the collection process in which coins are collected from the coin handling device of the money change machine, and deposited in the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine. Thus, whether or not coins have been sent into the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine from all the storage cassettes to which coins have been sent from the coin handling device of the money change machine when a plurality of storage cassettes are used in the collection process, is determined, and this can inhibit the operator from forgetting to mount one or more of the plurality of storage cassettes to the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine, whereby an error in calculation can be prevented from occurring in the coin handling device of the money depositing/dispensing machine.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a mounting order determination unit connected to a usage determination unit for determining usage state of the storage cassette and a determination unit that determines whether or not banknotes have been sent into the money depositing/dispensing machine from all of the storage cassettes so that multiple cassettes may be used to transport a single change fund between recycling/money depositing machines and money change machines at a point of sale in a front office region, for example, as taught by Iwai, in Nomura’s coin handling apparatus, for the purpose of increasing the volume of coins able to be handled in a particular change fund, for example, thus creating a more efficient change fund process.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach wherein
after the dispensing processing to the second cassette is finished, in a case that a third cassette is attached to the second cassette attachment in place of the second cassette while the coin stored in the first cassette is deposited from the first cassette in the coin handling apparatus, the processing circuitry controls the coin handling apparatus such that the change fund stored in the coin handling apparatus is started to be dispensed from the coin handling apparatus into the third cassette.
Regarding Claim 1, Nomura does not expressly teach, but Iwai teaches wherein
after the dispensing processing to the second cassette (40) is finished, in a case that a third cassette (40) is attached to the second cassette attachment (34b) in place of the second cassette (40) while the coin stored in the first cassette (40) is deposited from the first cassette (40) in the coin handling apparatus (34), the processing circuitry (38) controls the coin handling apparatus (34) such that the change fund stored in the coin handling apparatus (34) is started to be dispensed from the coin handling apparatus into the third cassette (40), as mentioned at col. 14, lines 21-29 and 41-51, col 15, lines 14-57 and col. 43, lines 26-col. 44, line 27. Note again that Akamatsu teaches depositing from a first cassette is performed simultaneously with a dispensing operation for preparing change funds, as mentioned at paragraphs 56, 77 and 107.
Note also that it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein
after the dispensing processing to the second cassette is finished, in a case that a third cassette is attached to the second cassette attachment in place of the second cassette while the coin stored in the first cassette is deposited from the first cassette in the coin handling apparatus, the processing circuitry controls the coin handling apparatus such that the change fund stored in the coin handling apparatus is started to be dispensed from the coin handling apparatus into the third cassette, for example, as taught by Iwai and Akamatsu, in Nomura’s coin handling apparatus, for the purpose of increasing the volume of coins able to be handled in a particular change fund, while also decreasing the time for both deposit/replenishment and dispensing change funds for example, thus creating a more efficient change fund process. Note also that the volume of coins placed in a change fund is obvious to change based on the required volume/size of the change fund needed to meet funds demand of the point of sale device. Thus, it is noted that the volume/size of the deposit from a first cassette might be large enough so that a small enough amount of coins dispensed to both a second and third cassette are performed while the depositing occurs.
Therefore, regarding Claim 1, it would have been obvious to have used Akamatsu’s teaching of performing deposits and dispensing simultaneously along with Iwai's use of multiple cassettes in Nomura’s coin handling device/system since Akamatsu’s, Iwai’s and Nomura's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Regarding Claim 3, Nomura teaches wherein the processing circuitry (190, 290) controls the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) such that the coins stored in the first cassette (30) starts depositing from the first cassette into the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) after the change fund is dispensed from the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) into the second cassette (30) and the change fund stored in the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) is dispensed from the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) into the third cassette (30) in place of the second cassette (30). Note that it would have been obvious to have processed cassettes sequentially as able to be fulfilled by the machine and arbitrated by the controller, as Nomura teaches at figures 17-21, for example, and as mentioned at paragraph 251, which states as follows.
[0251] Even when the money loading operation or the money collecting operation is not performed, since the connector 39 and the connector 192 or 292 are connected to each other, the money handling apparatus 11 or 21 performs the operation for counting the number of connection times shown in FIG. 17. In addition, the connector exchange flow shown in FIG. 18 is performed. However, since the money loading operation or the money collecting operation is interrupted, in the step S65, the money transport cassette 30 should be again attached to the money handling apparatus 11 or 21 on which the money transport cassette 30 was attached in the step S10. Thus, the money handling apparatus 11 or 21 can resume the money loading operation or the money collecting operation.
Emphasis provided.
See again paragraph 240, stating that “[t]he flow of counting the number of connection times shown in FIG. 17 may be performed simultaneously with the money loading process or the money collecting process, or before or after one of these processes”. Additionally, note again that the dispensing processing of the change fund can be construed to happen in time before performing the depositing of the sales proceeds from the end of the shift. At the start of the shift, a change fund is dispensed/withdrawn which is before the depositing of the sales proceeds at the end of the shift. Therefore, the cassette that is functionally presented to Nomura’s money handling apparatus will be processed before the next cassette presented to Nomura’s money handling apparatus.
Regarding Claim 8, Nomura teaches wherein the processing circuitry (190, 290) controls the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) such that proceeds from sales are deposited into the coin handling apparatus (12, 13, 22, 23) and that the change fund is dispensed into the second cassette (30), the proceeds from the sales being collected into the first cassette (30) by a first commercial product registration apparatus, i.e, interpreted as a money settlement apparatus (11) which includes both coin and banknote handling features, as illustrated in figures 1, 5a and 5b and as mentioned at paragraphs 123, 158, 168 and, 170, for example, noting Applicant’s specification at paragraph 30 seems to define such a device in terms of a coin handling apparatus (13), the change fund being used in a second commercial product registration apparatus, noting that it would have been obvious to duplicate such devices as needed in order to meet demand for coin changing services, especially in light of the mention in paragraph 158 that “[w]hen the money transport cassette 30 is attached to the drawer attaching unit 260, coins to be loaded to the money settlement apparatus 11 can be sorted by denomination and sent to the money transport cassette 30”.
Regarding Claims 11 and 18, see rejection of Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 13, see rejection of Claim 3, above.
Regarding Claim 21, Nomura teaches wherein the first cassette attachment (160a, 210a) as mentioned at paragraphs 95, 134, 148 and 149 and as illustrated in figures 4 and 8b, receives the first cassette (30, 150a, 250a) mounted thereto.
Regarding Claim 22, see the rejection of Claim 21, above.
Regarding Claim 23, see the rejection of Claim 1, above, noting Akamatsu’s and Iwai’s teachings.
Regarding Claim 24, see the rejection of Claim 1, above, noting Akamatsu’s and Iwai’s teachings.
Regarding Claim 25, Nomura does not expressly teach
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the time slot during which the com handling apparatus is not in operation for depositing proceeds from sales,
the processing circuitry controls the first transport and the second transport to complete the dispensing processing of the change fund before a start of the deposit processing of the proceeds of the sales, and
the dispensing processing is performed in the determined time slot during which the coin handling apparatus is grasped as not in operation.
Regarding Claim 25, Nomura does not expressly teach, but Hurwitz teaches
wherein the processing circuitry, i.e., controller (305) as illustrated in figure 3 and as mentioned at paragraphs 39 and 70, mentioning a processor, and paragraphs 126, 128 and 133, mentioning a controller, for example, is further configured to determine the time slot during which the coin handling apparatus, i.e., payment media handling apparatus (300) as illustrated in figure 3, is not in operation for depositing proceeds from sales, i.e., interpreted as being represented by a shift change, as mentioned at paragraph 13, mentioning that cashiers in a retail store will log onto a till at the start of a shift and log off at the end”, noting also paragraphs 58, 71 and 77 (staff shift change timing information), and paragraph 224 (staff shift changes, opening and closing times, payment media originating source cashing up times), all interpreted as being times when the coin handling apparatus (300) is unavailable and thus not in operation for depositing proceeds from sales, i.e., because the apparatus is busy serving customers during normal retail store operations,
the processing circuitry (305) controls the first transport and the second transport, both as taught by Nomura, to complete the dispensing processing of the change fund before a start of the deposit processing of the proceeds of the sales, i.e., interpreted as being during regular store operating hours, i.e., other than shift changes, closing and opening times as well as other down times, when the apparatus is not serving customers, and
the dispensing processing is performed in the determined time slot during which the coin handling apparatus (300) is grasped as not in operation, i.e., during shift changes, closing and opening times as well as other down times. See paragraphs 58, 77, 133, 154, 219, 221-232, which states as follows.
[0058] In one exemplary embodiment, the timing information comprises at least one of a staff shift change timing information, a retail store opening time, a retail store closing time and a payment media accepting device cashing up time, wherein a retail store includes one or more of at least a single store, multiple stores, one or more third party concession stands located within a single store and two or more stores located within a mall.
[0077] In one exemplary embodiment of the system, the timing information comprises at least one of a staff shift change timing information, a retail store opening time, a retail store closing time and a cash accepting device cashing up time.
[0133] As shown in FIG. 4, the method begins in step S400, and continues to step S410, where a payment media processing request is received from an operator, or is automatically provided by a controller in response to instructions stored on a medium. Preferably, electronically managing payment media is performed automatically and no further intervention is required from the requesting entity. This both speeds up the process and limits the need for users to be concerned about the event because all the processing and thought behind the transaction has been done for them.
[0154] Moreover, the payment media management system also provides the ability to change payment media start fund amounts, time of availability, etc., including the ability to predetermine and/or override predetermined payment media start fund aspects, including payment media amounts and time of availability.
[0219] Alternatively if the user wishes to deposit payment media originating source contents a similar process would take place. When the user identifies themselves the apparatus may make a decision based upon simple rules, store policy, remote policy or based upon real time payment media originating source activity as to whether to allow the user to try and enter the payment media originating source contents. For example, if from reviewing a look up table or rules, the apparatus determines that the average payment media originating source contents are usually in excess of its remaining capacity it may direct the user to another apparatus or request assistance from a supervisor. If the apparatus decides to try and accept contents but subsequently finds it does not have sufficient capacity, it may return all or some of the notes to be deposited in another apparatus. Alternatively, all the notes will be returned and assistance requested from a supervisor.
[0221] Event Timing Process
[0222] FIG. 10 is flowchart outlining one exemplary embodiment of a method of electronically predicting the timing of a payment media operation event. An exemplary embodiment of an apparatus that may be used to implement the process shown in FIG. 10 comprises a payment media handling apparatus having a payment media acceptance device and a payment media dispensing device. The payment media dispensing and acceptance device may be combined within a single apparatus and further to this be capable of recycling payment media. The apparatus also has a user interface, the user interface may be a traditional PC with a keyboard and a mouse or other pointing means such as a touch screen. The interface provides the means by which the user can easily interact with the payment media handling apparatus.
[0223] With reference to FIG. 10, typically the first operation carried out by the user will be to login and identify either themselves, their payment media originating source or both themselves and their payment media originating source (step S1000, in FIG. 10). Though this is preferable for security and auditing purposes it is not essential to the current invention.
[0224] In addition the apparatus is provided with a timing device, or is networked to payment media originating sources and other payment media handling apparatus, or is provided with both a network and a timing device. If the apparatus utilizes a timing device, it is also provided with information relating to the timing of key events where actions may be required. Such events include, for example, staff shift changes, opening and closing times, payment media originating source cashing up times, and the like.
[0225] By having knowledge of the timing of these events on a daily, weekly, seasonal or yearly basis, the apparatus can automatically predict payment media operations required (step S1010, in FIG. 10) and thus, it can anticipate periods of activity. Further to this the apparatus can predict the nature of the activity, for example a dispense process or an acceptance process and also the scale of that activity.
[0226] By having this knowledge the apparatus can review is capacity (step S1020, in FIG. 10) using the capacity management process previously described to determine whether it is likely to meet the needs of the users (step S1030, in FIG. 10). If for some reason the apparatus determines it may not have sufficient capacity or sufficient funds, dependent upon the type of event forthcoming, it will take action by alerting a supervisor or ensuring an alternative apparatus is capable of handling the forthcoming event (step S1040, in FIG. 10).
[0227] When the apparatus is networked to the payment media originating sources and other apparatus, the event timing process can be managed more effectively. By having a knowledge of exactly what is in the payment media originating sources the payment media handling apparatus can accurately determine whether it is capable of performing a payment media operation, for example, accepting the contents or supplying sufficient payment media for an payment media advance and/or payment media originating source float.
[0228] Using either the timing device or a network process the payment media handling device is in a much better position to anticipate and predict forthcoming activity and take steps to ensure no delay is caused to the users.
[0229] In an alternative embodiment the event timing process can be utilized to provide confidence in the integrity and security of the physical payment media and data associated with it while it is in transit. In the current context the transit or movement of payment media will be from the payment media originating source to the back office payment media handling apparatus.
[0230] When moving payment media from a first location to second location it usual to do this as quickly as possible to limit the exposure to potentially fraudulent or illegal activity. Furthermore it can be estimated approximately how long that time should be. For example in a large department store it may take 30 minutes or more from collection of the payment media from a payment media originating source until it reaches the back office and is counted into a secure environment. In a smaller retailer with fewer payment media originating sources and less floor space it may only take 5 minutes or less. In either scenario an approximate transit time is known. If, for whatever reason, the payment media takes in excess of the usual period of time to make the journey there is a greater risk that it has been tampered with or mishandled in some way.
[0231] The event timing process can be used as means to measure this risk and assess whether there may be a problem. For example the payment media handling apparatus knows, because of the event timing process, that a payment media originating source is due to be cashed up at a certain time, it also knows how long it should take the payment media originating source to `cash out` and the contents to be moved from the payment media originating source to the back office. Further to this the payment media handling apparatus can know, approximately or accurately, what the value of those payment media originating source contents should be. If for some reason the value of the payment media originating source contents falls short by a significant margin and the payment media originating source took in excess of the estimated time to travel from the payment media originating source to the back office the payment media handling apparatus could be instructed to alert the user and a supervisor. The supervisor can then review the situation and make a decision as to whether the payment media originating source contents were indeed correct or further action needs to be taken. A suitable tolerance can be built into both the timing aspect and the value aspect to prevent the payment media handling apparatus from alerting too frequently. The rules governing the process could be very simple, as above, or more complex. For