DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues the combination of applied references fail teach “wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration message defines an applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration” and "selecting the dynamic PRACH configuration when the dynamic configuration message indicates that the dynamic PRACH configuration is applicable based on a current time being within the defined applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration” as recited in amended independent claim 1. Xu does not define an applicable time in the configuration information.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the claim to overcome the previous grounds of rejection. A new search was conducted and a new reference is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 - 8, 11-12, 17 - 19, 21-22, 27 - 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (“Wu”) (US 20220061089 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (“Yoo”) (US 20190159244 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches:
A method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE), a dynamic configuration message including a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration update [¶0136, ¶0143 DCI indicates dynamic RACH allocation information, ¶0150, periodically update the RACH resource configuration corresponding to dynamic configuration message with PRACH update] including resources, a number of random access preambles, a number of contention-based preambles, or a number of synchronization signal blocks (SSB) per RACH occasion for a dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143 resource dynamically allocated by DCI], wherein the dynamic configuration message is one of a physical control message or a paging message [¶0143 control message i.e. DCI], wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration message defines an applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143, “a RACH resource dynamically allocated by the base station by using the DCI may be valid in a current COT, or may be valid in one or several subsequent COTs. A valid time may be agreed upon in advance in a standard protocol, or may be indicated in DCI.”];
selecting the dynamic PRACH configuration when the dynamic configuration message indicates that the dynamic PRACH configuration is applicable based on a current time being within the defined applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0136-143, DCI dynamically indicates PRACH resource, valid during a COT as in ¶0143, and obtained as in ¶0147 by terminal corresponding to “selecting”];
and transmitting a first message of a RACH procedure based on the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0170, Figure 2, S202, terminal transmits message based on RACH procedure as indicated in S201, Figure 2, ¶0111].
Wu teaches L1 signaling on a control channel indicating RACH configuration but does not expressly teach DCI for number of RACH occasions however Yoo teaches DCI, and the PRACH configuration update including a number of random access (RACH) occasions in a frequency domain [¶0099, DCI indicates frequency resources for RACH which corresponds to “number of RACH occasions in a frequency domain” as per Applicant’s specification [0077]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify DCI indicating frequency resources for the RACH configuration. Xu teaches L1 signaling which is known to be on a physical control channel, thus would comprise DCI, and indicates resources. It would have been obvious to specify indicating frequency resources for RACH in the DCI as in Yoo in order that the terminal knows RACH resources in the frequency axis ¶0099.
Regarding (Currently Amended) claim 12, Wu teaches: A method of wireless communication, comprising: transmitting a dynamic configuration message including a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration update [¶0136, ¶0143 DCI indicates dynamic RACH allocation information, ¶0150, periodically update the RACH resource configuration corresponding to dynamic configuration message with PRACH update] wherein the PRACH configuration update includes resources, a number of random access preambles, a number of contention-based preambles, or a number of synchronization signal blocks (SSB) per RACH occasion for a dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143 RACH resources dynamically allocated by DCI], wherein the dynamic configuration message is one of a physical control message or a paging message [¶0143 control message i.e. DCI], wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration message defines an applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143, “a RACH resource dynamically allocated by the base station by using the DCI may be valid in a current COT, or may be valid in one or several subsequent COTs. A valid time may be agreed upon in advance in a standard protocol, or may be indicated in DCI.”];
and receiving a first message of a RACH procedure based on the dynamic PRACH configuration during the defined applicable time period for the defined PRACH configuration [¶0136-143, DCI dynamically indicates RACH resource, valid during a COT as in ¶0143, and obtained as in ¶0147 by terminal, and ¶0170, Figure 2, S202, terminal transmits message based on RACH procedure as indicated in S201, Figure 2, ¶0111 thus based on configuration]
Xu teaches L1 signaling on a control channel indicating RACH configuration but does not expressly teach DCI for number of RACH occasions however Yoo teaches DCI, and the PRACH configuration update including a number of random access (RACH) occasions in a frequency domain [¶0099, DCI indicates frequency resources for RACH which corresponds to “number of RACH occasions in a frequency domain” as per Applicant’s specification [0077]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify DCI indicating frequency resources for the RACH configuration. Xu teaches L1 signaling which is known to be on a physical control channel, thus would comprise DCI, and indicates resources. It would have been obvious to specify indicating frequency resources for RACH in the DCI as in Yoo in order that the terminal knows RACH resources in the frequency axis ¶0099.
Regarding (Currently Amended) claim 22, Wu teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, storing computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the memory and, individually or in combination, configured to execute the computer-executable instructions [Figure 1 terminal] to: receive a dynamic configuration message including a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration update [¶0136, 0143 DCI indicates dynamic RACH allocation information, ¶0150, periodically update the RACH resource configuration corresponding to dynamic configuration message with PRACH update] including resources, a number of random access preambles, a number of contention-based preambles, or a number of synchronization signal blocks (SSB) per RACH occasion for a dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143 resource dynamically allocated by DCI], wherein the dynamic configuration message is one of a physical control message or a paging message [¶0143 control message i.e. DCI], wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration message defines an applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143, “a RACH resource dynamically allocated by the base station by using the DCI may be valid in a current COT, or may be valid in one or several subsequent COTs. A valid time may be agreed upon in advance in a standard protocol, or may be indicated in DCI.”];
select the dynamic PRACH configuration when the dynamic configuration message indicates that the dynamic PRACH configuration is applicable based on a current time being within the defined applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0136-143, DCI dynamically indicates PRACH resource, valid during a COT as in ¶0143, and obtained as in ¶0147 by terminal corresponding to “selecting”];
and transmit a first message of a RACH procedure based on the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0170, Figure 2, S202, terminal transmits message based on RACH procedure as indicated in S201, Figure 2, ¶0111].
Wu teaches L1 signaling on a control channel indicating RACH configuration but does not expressly teach DCI for number of RACH occasions however Yoo teaches DCI, and the PRACH configuration update including a number of random access (RACH) occasions in a frequency domain [¶0099, DCI indicates frequency resources for RACH which corresponds to “number of RACH occasions in a frequency domain” as per Applicant’s specification [0077]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify DCI indicating frequency resources for the RACH configuration. Xu teaches L1 signaling which is known to be on a physical control channel, thus would comprise DCI, and indicates resources. It would have been obvious to specify indicating frequency resources for RACH in the DCI as in Yoo in order that the terminal knows RACH resources in the frequency axis ¶0099.
Regarding (Currently Amended) claim 30, Wu teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, individually or in combination, storing computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the memory and, individually or in combination, configured to execute the computer-executable instructions [Figure 1 base station] to: transmit a dynamic configuration message including a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration update [¶0136, ¶0143 DCI indicates dynamic RACH allocation information, ¶0150, periodically update the RACH resource configuration corresponding to dynamic configuration message with PRACH update] wherein the PRACH configuration update includes resources, a number of random access preambles, a number of contention-based preambles, or a number of synchronization signal blocks (SSB) per RACH occasion for a dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143 resource dynamically allocated by DCI], wherein the dynamic configuration message is one of a physical control message or a paging message [¶0143 control message i.e. DCI], wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration message defines an applicable time period for the dynamic PRACH configuration [¶0143, “a RACH resource dynamically allocated by the base station by using the DCI may be valid in a current COT, or may be valid in one or several subsequent COTs. A valid time may be agreed upon in advance in a standard protocol, or may be indicated in DCI.”];
and receive a first message of a RACH procedure based on the dynamic PRACH configuration during the defined applicable time period for the defined PRACH configuration [¶0136-143, DCI dynamically indicates PRACH resource, valid during a COT as in ¶0143, and obtained as in ¶0147 by terminal, and ¶0170, Figure 2, S202, terminal transmits message based on RACH procedure as indicated in S201, Figure 2, ¶0111 thus based on configuration]
Xu teaches L1 signaling on a control channel indicating RACH configuration but does not expressly teach DCI for number of RACH occasions however Yoo teaches DCI, and the PRACH configuration update including a number of random access (RACH) occasions in a frequency domain [¶0099, DCI indicates frequency resources for RACH which corresponds to “number of RACH occasions in a frequency domain” as per Applicant’s specification [0077]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify DCI indicating frequency resources for the RACH configuration. Xu teaches L1 signaling which is known to be on a physical control channel, thus would comprise DCI, and indicates resources. It would have been obvious to specify indicating frequency resources for RACH in the DCI as in Yoo in order that the terminal knows RACH resources in the frequency axis ¶0099.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 6, Wu in view of Yoo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the PRACH configuration update includes a set of PRACH configuration parameters. (Wu ¶0115-118, ¶0121 parameters for PRACH transmission in DCI).
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 7, Wu in view of Yoo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the PRACH configuration update indicates a configured PRACH configuration. (Wu ¶0115-118, ¶0121 parameters for PRACH transmission in DCI).
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 8, Wu in view of Yoo teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a system information block defining a default PRACH configuration [Wu ¶0149 current PRACH configuration indicated via system information corresponding to default], wherein the default PRACH configuration and the dynamic PRACH configuration follow a time pattern [Wu ¶0150 periodically send the PRACH configurations thus according to time pattern].
Regarding claim 11, Wu in view of Yoo teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration is for a 4-step RACH procedure or a 2-step RACH procedure [Wu ¶0171 describes the steps of 4-step RACH].
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 17, Wu in view of Yoo teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the PRACH configuration update includes a set of PRACH configuration parameters. (Wu ¶0115-118, ¶0121 parameters for PRACH transmission in DCI)
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 18, Wu in view of Yoo teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the PRACH configuration update indicates a configured PRACH configuration. (Wu ¶0115-118, ¶0121 parameters for PRACH transmission in DCI).
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 19, Wu in view of Yoo teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising transmitting system information indicating a default PRACH configuration [Wu ¶0149 current PRACH configuration indicated via system information corresponding to default], wherein the default PRACH configuration and the dynamic PRACH configuration follow a time pattern [Wu ¶0150 periodically send the PRACH configurations thus according to time pattern].
Regarding claim 21, Wu in view of Yoo teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the dynamic PRACH configuration is for a 4-step RACH procedure or a 2-step RACH procedure [Wu ¶0171 describes the steps of 4-step RACH].
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 27, Wu in view of Yoo teaches The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the PRACH configuration update includes a set of PRACH configuration parameters. (Wu ¶0115-118, ¶0121 parameters for PRACH transmission in DCI).
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 28, Xu in view of Yoo teaches The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the PRACH configuration update indicates a configured PRACH configuration. (Wu ¶0115-118, ¶0121 parameters for PRACH transmission in DCI).
Conclusion
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478