Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections of claim(s) 1-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 21 to recite “a segmented ramp base shape.” In response to Applicant’s amendment Examiner has added reference Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-18, 20-21, 23-29, 32-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189).
Regarding claim 1, Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) discloses an intraocular lens (in the abstract) comprising: an optical zone (figure 2A being the innermost part 14), wherein, when said IOL is implanted in a patient's eye (implanting of an IOL in the eye disclosed in [0049]), a first plurality of light rays passes through said optical zone to form an image on a section of a retina (as per the abstract and [0015], the IOL of Argal is disclosed as being a multifocal IOL where [0015] discloses that the IOL will be used to focus light on the retina); and a first region integrated with said optical zone (being the subsequent part 14s in figure 2A, shown as part 14 in figure 2B. This is depicted as part 13 in figure 1A), wherein, when said IOL is implanted in said patient's eye, a second plurality of light rays is directed by said first region away from said section of said retina (as the lens is a multifocal IOL as per the abstract, two lens powers are present that would be used to direct light in a different direction, as per [0015] in order to provide a near and far vision); wherein said image comprises an extended depth-of-field (as the IOL is a multifocal IOL in the abstract with a providing of a distance and near vision in [0015], a depth-of-field is provided by the IOL of Argal) and a transition region of variable width between the first region and the central optical zone (being part 16 that would be between the inner most part 14 and the next zone in figure 2b. Part 16 is the slanted steps in figure 2B as per [0096]-[0098]. Zones 14 and transition areas 16 are depicted as being of variable width in figure 2B, with step 16 having variable widths as per [0105] and [0109]).
However, Argal does not teach an instance wherein the first region comprises a profile that is symmetric in an azimuthal direction.
Instead, Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020) would teach an instance wherein the first region comprises a profile that is symmetric in an azimuthal direction (shown in figures 12-14 and [0076]-[0077]) and wherein the profile comprises at least one of a negative power profile, a ramp base shape, or a high- power curve profile (taken to be present in figure 12 where the astigmatism amount is taken to be the same in all zones (a negative power profile shown in figure 22 as per [0105]). As figures 13 and 14 have varying orientations, it stands to reason that the negative power profile can be incorporated into the lenses of those figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the azimuthal zones of Zhao into Argal for the purpose of providing an arrangement of an intraocular lens into the first region of Argal that would provide for a treatment of an astigmatism (astigmatism treatment in [0074]-[0076]).
Argal in view of Zhao also does not teach the profile comprises a segmented ramp base shape.
Instead, Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) teaches wherein the profile comprises a segmented ramp base shape (ramp ridge zone 112 with edge 116. Figure 3 and [0069] define an optical power profile 300 that is a ramp in figure 3, with regions 304 and 306 comprising different segments of said optical power profile. Tilted surface optical power profile also in [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power profile of Lindacher into the combination involving Argal and Zhao for the purpose of providing an optical zone that can vary on the order of several diopters in [0028] that can be used to treat a plurality of vision problems as per [0028].
From here, Argal in view of Zhao do not teach an oblong-shaped central optical zone.
Instead, Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) does teach an oblong-shaped central zone (being labeled as the central portion that is depicted as being oblong in figure 4 of Getman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shape of the central portion of Getman into the central zone of Argal in view of Zhao for the purpose of providing an alternate design of a central zone of an intraocular lens known in the art where the central portion of Getman is able to focus a light between two points E1 and E2.
Regarding claim 2, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach that the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said section of said retina comprises a central vision section of said retina or a macula (as the central section of the IOL of Argal would be projecting light onto the retina of the eye that Argal is implanted in, it is argued that the part of the retina where the light from the central portion of the IOL would be a central vision section).
Regarding claim 3, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, with Argal further comprising a haptic (part 36 in figures 1B and 1C of Argal).
Regarding claim 4, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 3, wherein Argal discloses that said haptic is separated from said optical zone by said first region (the haptic part 36 is separated from the innermost part 14 by the first optical zone being part 13 in figure 1A).
Regarding claim 5, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said optical zone occupies a central portion of said IOL (the centermost part 14 in figure 2A will be the optical zone).
Regarding claim 6, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 5, wherein Argal discloses that said first region is an annular region (the first region is taken to be annular in figure 2A as it surrounds the innermost part 14) and said IOL further comprises a second optical zone on an outer periphery of said first region (this will be the outermost part 14 between the innermost part 14 and the haptics of figure 1B, shown in annotated figure 1 below).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 7, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said first region is radially peripheral of said optical zone (the first region would be radially peripheral to the optical zone that is in the center of figure 2A and annotated figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 7, wherein Argal discloses that said first region surrounds said optical zone (as the subsequent parts 14 extend radially outward and around the innermost zone, being the optical zone of Argal, the first region would surround the optical zone).
Regarding claim 9, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said second plurality of light rays is widely scattered by said first region across said retina (as a first plurality of light rays would be scattered by the optical zone to form an image on the retina, a second plurality of light rays would be scattered by the first region to form a different image as the lens is a multifocal lens as per the abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach that he IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL provides toric correction of said image (as per [0072], with surface 12B also being disclosed as a toric surface in [0094]-[0095]. The toric surface would provide a toric profile as per [0083] that would then provide a toric correction).
Regarding claim 13, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a monochromatic aberration in said image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While monochromatic aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include monochromatic aberrations).
Regarding claim 14, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a chromatic aberration in said image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While chromatic aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include chromatic aberrations).
Regarding claim 15, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a higher- order aberration in said image (reduction of higher order aberrations in [0072]).
Regarding claim 16, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a spherical aberration in said image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While spherical aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include spherical aberrations).
Regarding claim 17, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 16, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL comprises a conic profile (in [0080]-[0082], where a conic constant is disclosed for the surface 12a, that is depicted as being conic in figure 2B) on at least one surface of said IOL to reduce said spherical aberration in said image (reduction of aberration in [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces an aberration in said image due to varying focus with wavelength across the visible spectrum (as per [0088]-[0089], the diffractive pattern 13 would adjust the focus power of the IOL to correct an aberration).
Regarding claim 20, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL controls for spherical aberration in said image (as the IOL is disclosed to correct aberrations in [0072], the IOL would control a spherical aberration).
Regarding claim 21, Argal teaches an intraocular lens (in the abstract) comprising: an optical zone (figure 2A being the innermost part 14), wherein, when said IOL is implanted in a patient's eye (implanting of an IOL in the eye disclosed in [0049]), a first plurality of light rays passes through said optical zone to form an image on a retina (as per the abstract and [0015], the IOL of Argal is disclosed as being a multifocal IOL where [0015] discloses that the IOL will be used to focus light on the retina); and a first region integrated with said optical zone (being the subsequent part 14s in figure 2A, shown as part 14 in figure 2B. This is depicted as part 13 in figure 1A), wherein, when said IOL is implanted in said patient's eye, a second plurality of light rays is dispersed by said first region across said retina (as the lens is a multifocal IOL as per the abstract, two lens powers are present that would be used to direct light in a different direction, as per [0015] in order to provide a near and far vision); wherein said image comprises an extended depth-of-field (as the IOL is a multifocal IOL in the abstract with a providing of a distance and near vision in [0015], a depth-of-field is provided by the IOL of Argal) and a transition region of variable width between the first region and the central optical zone (being part 16 that would be between the inner most part 14 and the next zone in figure 2b. Part 16 is the slanted steps in figure 2B as per [0096]-[0098]. Zones 14 and transition areas 16 are depicted as being of variable width in figure 2B, with step 16 having variable widths as per [0105] and [0109]).
However, Argal does not teach an instance wherein the first region comprises a profile that is symmetric in an azimuthal direction and wherein the profile comprises at least one of a negative power profile, a ramp base shape, or a high-power curve profile.
Instead, Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020) would teach an instance wherein the first region comprises a profile that is symmetric in an azimuthal direction (shown in figures 12-14 and [0076]-[0077]) and wherein the profile comprises at least one of a negative power profile, a ramp base shape, or a high- power curve profile (a negative power profile shown in figure 22 as per [0105]). As figures 13 and 14 have varying orientations, it stands to reason that the negative power profile can be incorporated into the lenses of those figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the azimuthal zones of Zhao into Argal for the purpose of providing an arrangement of an intraocular lens into the first region of Argal that would provide for a treatment of an astigmatism (astigmatism treatment in [0074]-[0076]).
Argal in view of Zhao also does not teach the profile comprises a segmented ramp base shape.
Instead, Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) teaches wherein the profile comprises a segmented ramp base shape (ramp ridge zone 112 with edge 116. Figure 3 and [0069] define an optical power profile 300 that is a ramp in figure 3, with regions 304 and 306 comprising different segments of said optical power profile. Tilted surface optical power profile also in [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power profile of Lindacher into the combination involving Argal and Zhao for the purpose of providing an optical zone that can vary on the order of several diopters in [0028] that can be used to treat a plurality of vision problems as per [0028].
From here, Argal in view of Zhao do not teach an oblong-shaped central optical zone.
Instead, Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) does teach an oblong-shaped central zone (being labeled as the central portion that is depicted as being oblong in figure 4 of Getman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shape of the central portion of Getman into the central zone of Argal in view of Zhao for the purpose of providing an alternate design of a central zone of an intraocular lens known in the art where the central portion of Getman is able to focus a light between two points E1 and E2.
Regarding claim 23, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, with Argal further comprising a haptic (being part 36 in figures 1B and 1C).
Regarding claim 24, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 23, wherein Argal discloses that said haptic is separated from said optical zone by said first region (the haptic part 36 is separated from the innermost part 14 by the first optical zone being part 13 in figure 1A).
Regarding claim 25, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said optical zone occupies a central portion of said IOL (the centermost part 14 in figure 2A will be the optical zone).
Regarding claim 26, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 25, wherein Argal discloses that said first region is an annular region (the first region is taken to be annular in figure 2A as it surrounds the innermost part 14) and said IOL further comprises a second optical zone on an outer periphery of said first region (this will be the outermost part 14 between the innermost part 14 and the haptics of figure 1B, shown in annotated figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 27, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said first region is radially peripheral of said optical zone (the first region would be radially peripheral to the optical zone that is in the center of figure 2A and annotated figure 1).
Regarding claim 28, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 27, wherein Argal discloses that said first region surrounds said optical zone.
Regarding claim 29, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said second plurality of light rays is widely scattered by said first region across said retina (as the subsequent parts 14 extend radially outward and around the innermost zone, being the optical zone of Argal, the first region would surround the optical zone).
Regarding claim 32, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL provides toric correction of said image (as the subsequent parts 14 extend radially outward and around the innermost zone, being the optical zone of Argal, the first region would surround the optical zone).
Regarding claim 33, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a monochromatic aberration in said image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While monochromatic aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include monochromatic aberrations).
Regarding claim 34, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a chromatic aberration in said image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While chromatic aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include chromatic aberrations).
Regarding claim 35, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a higher-order aberration in said image (reduction of higher order aberrations in [0072]).
Regarding claim 36, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces a spherical aberration in said image (reduction of aberrations disclosed in [0072]. While spherical aberration is not specifically mentioned here, a mitigation of aberrations as a whole is disclosed here which would include spherical aberrations).
Regarding claim 37, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 36, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL comprises a conic profile (in [0080]-[0082], where a conic constant is disclosed for the surface 12a, that is depicted as being conic in figure 2B) on at least one surface of said IOL to reduce said spherical aberration in said image (reduction of aberration in [0072]).
Regarding claim 38, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL reduces an aberration in said image due to varying focus with wavelength across the visible spectrum (as per [0088]-[0089], the diffractive pattern 13 would adjust the focus power of the IOL to correct an aberration).
Regarding claim 40, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses that said IOL controls for spherical aberration in said image (as the IOL is disclosed to correct aberrations in [0072], the IOL would control a spherical aberration).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013), and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Weeber (US Pub No.: 2011/0317124).
Regarding claim 10, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1. However, Argal, Zhao and Getman do not disclose an instance wherein said optical zone comprises a monofocal portion. Instead, Weeber (US Pub No.: 2011/0317124) would teach an IOL with a monofocal portion (being sections B and C as per [0050]). Here, it is argued that the monofocal portion of Weeber could be incorporated into the optical zone of Argal such that the optical zone comprises a monofocal portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a monofocal portion like the one found in Weeber into the device of Argal and Zhao about the optical zone for the purpose of allowing for a portion of the IOL to account for a different light distribution with respect to other parts of the IOL (as presented in [0050]) thereby allowing the whole device to be a multifocal IOL as disclosed in the abstract of Argal.
Regarding claim 11, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1, wherein Argal teaches said optical zone comprises a bifocal or multifocal lens portion (as Argal discloses a multifocal lens in the abstract, it stands to reason that the optical zone would also be multifocal).
However, as Argal, Zhao, Lindacher and Getman do not explicitly disclose that the optical zone itself is a multifocal lens, Weeber (US Pub No.: 2011/0317124) would teach an IOL with a bifocal portion (being section A as per [0050]). Here, it is argued that the bifocal portion of Weeber could be incorporated into the optical zone of Argal such that the optical zone comprises a bifocal portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a bifofocal portion like the one found in Weeber into the device of Argal and Zhao about the optical zone for the purpose of allowing for a portion of the IOL to account for a different light distribution with respect to other parts of the IOL (as presented in [0050]) thereby allowing the whole device to allow for a plurality of light distributions to pass through to create different images in the eye that the IOL is implanted within.
Regarding claim 30, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21. However, Argal, Zhao and Getman do not disclose an instance wherein said optical zone comprises a monofocal portion. Instead, Weeber (US Pub No.: 2011/0317124) would teach an IOL with a monofocal portion (being sections B and C as per [0050]). Here, it is argued that the monofocal portion of Weeber could be incorporated into the optical zone of Argal such that the optical zone comprises a monofocal portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a monofocal portion like the one found in Weeber into the device of Argal and Zhao about the optical zone for the purpose of allowing for a portion of the IOL to account for a different light distribution with respect to other parts of the IOL (as presented in [0050]) thereby allowing the whole device to be a multifocal IOL as disclosed in the abstract of Argal.
Regarding claim 31, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21, wherein Argal discloses said optical zone comprises a bifocal or multifocal lens portion (as Argal discloses a multifocal lens in the abstract, it stands to reason that the optical zone would also be multifocal).
However, as Argal, Zhao, Lindacher and Getman do not explicitly disclose that the optical zone itself is a multifocal lens, Weeber (US Pub No.: 2011/0317124) would teach an IOL with a bifocal portion (being section A as per [0050]). Here, it is argued that the bifocal portion of Weeber could be incorporated into the optical zone of Argal such that the optical zone comprises a bifocal portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a bifofocal portion like the one found in Weeber into the device of Argal and Zhao about the optical zone for the purpose of allowing for a portion of the IOL to account for a different light distribution with respect to other parts of the IOL (as presented in [0050]) thereby allowing the whole device to allow for a plurality of light distributions to pass through to create different images in the eye that the IOL is implanted within.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Wanders (US Pub No.: 2015/0005877).
Regarding claim 22, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21. However, Argal, Zhao, and Getman do not explicitly teach an instance wherein said image is formed on a macula.
Instead, Wanders does disclose an image formed on a macula (as per the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an image that is being formed on a macula by an intraocular lens like presented in Wanders into Argal and Zhao as, due to the fact that Argal would be forming an image on the retina of the eye, and as the macula is part of the retina that would provide a central vision, it would be beneficial for Argal to form an image on a macula to provide a sharp vision needed for actions like reading and seeing in fine detail.
Claim(s) 19 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Argal (US Pub No.: 2015/0359625) in view of Zhao (US Pub No.: 2009/0323020), Lindacher (US Pub No.: 2004/0156013) and Getman (US Pub No.: 2009/0279189) in further view of Wildsmith (US Pub No.: 2014/0055744).
Regarding claim 19, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 1. However, Argal, Zhao and Getman do not teach an instance wherein the IOL provides sphere, cylinder and axis correction.
Instead, Wildsmith would teach an instance wherein the IOL provides sphere, cylinder and axis correction (as per [0123], Wildsmith teaches a correction of low order optical aberrations, earlier disclosed in [0118] to include a correction of sphere power, cylinder power, and cylinder axis. Here, as Argal does teach a treatment of aberrations in [0072], it is taken that this specific correction could be incorporated within the lens of Argal).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the correction of sphere power, cylinder power, and cylinder axis of Wildsmith into the device of Argal for the purpose of providing a more specific type of aberration correction than what is provided in [0072].
Regarding claim 39, Argal in view of Zhao, Lindacher and Getman teach the IOL of claim 21. However, Argal, Zhao and Getman do not teach an instance wherein said IOL provides sphere, cylinder and axis correction.
Instead, Wildsmith would teach an instance wherein the IOL provides sphere, cylinder and axis correction (as per [0123], Wildsmith teaches a correction of low order optical aberrations, earlier disclosed in [0118] to include a correction of sphere power, cylinder power, and cylinder axis. Here, as Argal does teach a treatment of aberrations in [0072], it is taken that this specific correction could be incorporated within the lens of Argal).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the correction of sphere power, cylinder power, and cylinder axis of Wildsmith into the device of Argal for the purpose of providing a more specific type of aberration correction than what is provided in [0072].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wortz (US Pub No.: 2018/0110613) discloses an IOL with a projecting of light onto a macula in [0576]. Hon (US Pub No.: 2019/0021847) discloses an IOL with a central optic zone (figure 1A part 108), a first region (figure 1A part 118) and a second region (being between parts 112 and 102 in figure 1A).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AREN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774