DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-33 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 09/17/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections. The reasons set forth below.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 06/11/2021 have been entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Contingent Limitation
MPEP 2111.04(II) states:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed.
In view of MPEP 2111.04(II):
In claim 11, the step of “using a network interface of the network device to transfer the data at least one of to or from the virtual drive if the inspection indicates the data is not indicative of the at least one violation of the security policy; and responding to the at least one violation if the inspection indicates the data is indicative of the at least one violation of the security policy” are neither required to be executed nor disclosed by the cited prior art.
Claim Interpretation
The applicant’s published specification, in paragraph [0068], describes mounting as connecting:
“… an operating system or other similar software on host 102 connects to and establishes communication with a data source in a process sometimes referred to as mounting, or sometimes referred to as connecting. A mount 106, 108 represents this connection.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, 14-22, 24-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford (US 7080051) in view of Rothwell (US 20150271191).
1, 11, 21. Crawford teaches:
A device, comprising: – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104.)
at least one processor; – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 includes one or more main processors 106, internal random access memory 108, peripheral controllers 110, and communication controllers 112.)
at least one network interface; – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 includes one or more main processors 106, internal random access memory 108, peripheral controllers 110, and communication controllers 112.)
at least one accelerator; and – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 includes one or more main processors 106, internal random access memory 108, peripheral controllers 110, and communication controllers 112.)
at least one memory comprising instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the device to at least: – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 includes one or more main processors 106, internal random access memory 108, peripheral controllers 110, and communication controllers 112. Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives.)
mount to a storage location that is separate from the device; – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers.)
implement a virtual drive within the device; – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 can create a "virtual disk" from memory resources, disk resources or typically, both memory and disk resources. Host-provided "virtual disks" are actually "objects" (e.g., files or some other data structure) stored by host computer 104. Host computer physical disk drive 116a stores information associated with two different virtual disks (I:Drive and J:Drive), and host computer physical disk drive 116b stores information associated with a further virtual disk (K:Drive).)
in response to a request from at least one process performed by a host device to access the storage location, mount the at least one process to the virtual drive; – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive. Thus, customer computer 50 operating system can write to and read from a virtual disk in essentially the same manner that it can write to and read from its own local hard disk 64. The operator of system 100 can, of course, store information onto host virtual disks (e.g., by inputting the information via a replica computer 160) so that the information can be accessed by customer computer(s) 50. A customer computer 50 can access a disk drive that is locally attached to on-line replica computer 160, and the on-line replica computer can access a disk drive that is locally attached to the customer computer. It would be useful to allow the customer computer 50 to access some or all of the disk drives (physical and/or virtual) of replica computer 160 during an on-line session as if those replica computer disk drives were local to the customer computer. Both the customer computer and replica computer 160 have access to drives of the other computer as remote virtual disks. Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers. Device drivers are loaded into customer computer memory 66 to support the virtual device "PC SUPPORT" facility of host computer 104 or to support remote access to the on-line replica computer 160.)
Wang does not explicitly teach:
use the at least one accelerator to inspect data obtained from or to be stored in the storage location in accordance with the request; determine, based on having inspected the data, whether the data is indicative of a violation of a security policy; allow the at least one process to obtain the data via the virtual drive or store the data in the storage location via the virtual drive if the data is determined not to be indicative of a violation of the security policy; and generate a response if the data is determined to be indicative of a violation of the security policy.
However, Rothwell teaches:
use the at least one accelerator to inspect data obtained from or to be stored in the storage location in accordance with the request; – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (The processor 302 of the network adapter 300 includes a scanner 310. FIG. 4 illustrates a method 400 for scanning network traffic (i.e. communications, data, etc.) utilizing a network adapter. Initially, packets are received in operation 402 from the network.)
determine, based on having inspected the data, whether the data is indicative of a violation of a security policy; – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, the file is of interest, a scan is performed, as set forth in operation 418. If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer.)
allow the at least one process to obtain the data via the virtual drive or store the data in the storage location via the virtual drive if the data is determined not to be indicative of a violation of the security policy; and – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If it is determined that the file is clean in decision 420, the file is transferred to the computer (i.e. network driver 306).)
generate a response if the data is determined to be indicative of a violation of the security policy. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer. Further, an alert may be displayed for notifying a user of the denial of access and contaminated file/packets.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Crawford with Rothwell to include use the at least one accelerator to inspect data obtained from or to be stored in the storage location in accordance with the request; determine, based on having inspected the data, whether the data is indicative of a violation of a security policy; allow the at least one process to obtain the data via the virtual drive or store the data in the storage location via the virtual drive if the data is determined not to be indicative of a violation of the security policy; and generate a response if the data is determined to be indicative of a violation of the security policy, as taught by Rothwell, in paragraph [0009], to provide a technique which prevents proliferation of a virus on associated computers and prevent an attack on the computers.
2, 12. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the device is installed in the host device, – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 may provide one or more "virtual" disk drives to customer computer 50.) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141(III) and 2143(I).
the request is to at least one of write the data to the storage location, send the data to the storage location, read the data from the storage location, or receive the data from the storage location, and – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (This allows the replica computer 160 to write to and read from the customer computer local hard drive 64 and also allows the customer computer 50 to write to and read from the replica computer local hard drive 164.)
the response comprises rejection of the request. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (If the security check performed by block 922 fails, then host computer 104 logs the security violations (block 926), flags the router to deny access to the requested device (block 928), and sends a violation message to the controlling session (block 930).)
4, 14, 24. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the at least one processor and the at least one accelerator are used to identify the violation of the security policy based, at least in part, on at least one of a pattern in the data, a hash of the data, or an inference obtained from a machine learning model. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0049] (Various virus signature files and other related control information associated with the scanner 310 may be stored on a non-volatile solid state memory (i.e. FLASH RAM).)
5. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the at least one memory comprises further instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the device to: determine that the data is prohibited, by the security policy, from being at least one of sent from or received by the host device. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer. Further, an alert may be displayed for notifying a user of the denial of access and contaminated file/packets.).
6. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the at least one memory comprises further instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the device to: obtain the data from the storage location in response to the request; and – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive. Thus, customer computer 50 operating system can write to and read from a virtual disk in essentially the same manner that it can write to and read from its own local hard disk 64. The operator of system 100 can, of course, store information onto host virtual disks (e.g., by inputting the information via a replica computer 160) so that the information can be accessed by customer computer(s) 50. A customer computer 50 can access a disk drive that is locally attached to on-line replica computer 160, and the on-line replica computer can access a disk drive that is locally attached to the customer computer. It would be useful to allow the customer computer 50 to access some or all of the disk drives (physical and/or virtual) of replica computer 160 during an on-line session as if those replica computer disk drives were local to the customer computer. Both the customer computer and replica computer 160 have access to drives of the other computer as remote virtual disks. Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers. Device drivers are loaded into customer computer memory 66 to support the virtual device "PC SUPPORT" facility of host computer 104 or to support remote access to the on-line replica computer 160.)
Rothwell teaches:
store the data on the virtual drive if the data is determined not to be indictive of a violation of the security policy. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If it is determined that the file is clean in decision 420, the file is transferred to the computer (i.e. network driver 306).)
7, 16, 27. Combination of Uriel and Yadav teaches The device of claim 6 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the storage location comprises a remote network drive, and the data is stored by the remote network drive. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive. Thus, customer computer 50 operating system can write to and read from a virtual disk in essentially the same manner that it can write to and read from its own local hard disk 64. The operator of system 100 can, of course, store information onto host virtual disks (e.g., by inputting the information via a replica computer 160) so that the information can be accessed by customer computer(s) 50. A customer computer 50 can access a disk drive that is locally attached to on-line replica computer 160, and the on-line replica computer can access a disk drive that is locally attached to the customer computer. It would be useful to allow the customer computer 50 to access some or all of the disk drives (physical and/or virtual) of replica computer 160 during an on-line session as if those replica computer disk drives were local to the customer computer. Both the customer computer and replica computer 160 have access to drives of the other computer as remote virtual disks. Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers. Device drivers are loaded into customer computer memory 66 to support the virtual device "PC SUPPORT" facility of host computer 104 or to support remote access to the on-line replica computer 160.)
8. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the at least one memory comprises further instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the device to: determine that second data conforms to the security policy; and – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, the file is of interest, a scan is performed, as set forth in operation 418. If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer.)
provide the second data to the host device based, at least in part, on the determination that the second data conforms to the security policy. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If it is determined that the file is clean in decision 420, the file is transferred to the computer (i.e. network driver 306).)
9. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the response comprises sending a message indicative of the violation. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer. Further, an alert may be displayed for notifying a user of the denial of access and contaminated file/packets.).
10, 20, 28. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the at least one memory comprises further instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the device to: emulate at least one of a file system or block storage. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (A "virtual device" is an arrangement that "simulates" or "emulates" a locally-attached, physical device. For example, a "virtual disk drive" can be an arrangement (e.g., some combination of local and/or remote hardware and/or software) that "looks like" a physical disk drive. Since the customer computer 50 and its associated operating system and application software is already conditioned to efficiently access locally attached physical disk drives, the customer computer 50 can very easily access the "virtual disk drives" without any change in operating system or application software or additional overhead (other than software needed to support the virtual disk drive). Since the "resources" that emulate the locally attached physical drive to create the "virtual disk" can comprise, in part, a data link 150 and resources remotely located to the customer computer 50, virtual disks can provide great flexibility in allowing customer computer 50 to very efficiently access remotely located computer storage.)
12. The method of claim 11 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the request to transfer the data is at least one of a request to write the data to the storage location, a request to send the data to the storage location, a request to read the data from the storage location, or a request to receive the data from the storage location, and responding to the violation comprises rejecting the request. – on lines in column on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive. Thus, customer computer 50 operating system can write to and read from a virtual disk in essentially the same manner that it can write to and read from its own local hard disk 64. The operator of system 100 can, of course, store information onto host virtual disks (e.g., by inputting the information via a replica computer 160) so that the information can be accessed by customer computer(s) 50. A customer computer 50 can access a disk drive that is locally attached to on-line replica computer 160, and the on-line replica computer can access a disk drive that is locally attached to the customer computer. It would be useful to allow the customer computer 50 to access some or all of the disk drives (physical and/or virtual) of replica computer 160 during an on-line session as if those replica computer disk drives were local to the customer computer. Both the customer computer and replica computer 160 have access to drives of the other computer as remote virtual disks. Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers. Device drivers are loaded into customer computer memory 66 to support the virtual device "PC SUPPORT" facility of host computer 104 or to support remote access to the on-line replica computer 160.)
15. The method of claim 11 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the virtual drive appears to the host to be a drive provided by the storage location. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive.)
17. The method of claim 11 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the first and second mounts are presented to the host as being a connection between the host and the storage location. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive.)
18. The method of claim 11 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
further comprising: obtaining second data from the storage location via the virtual drive; and providing the second data to the host based, at least in part, on a determination that the second data conforms to the security policy. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If it is determined that the file is clean in decision 420, the file is transferred to the computer (i.e. network driver 306).)
19, 25. The method of claim 11 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
further comprising: determining that the data is malicious based, at least in part, on at least one of a hash obtained using the at least one accelerator, a pattern detected using the at least one accelerator, or an inference obtained using a machine learning model. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0049] (Various virus signature files and other related control information associated with the scanner 310 may be stored on a non-volatile solid state memory (i.e. FLASH RAM).)
22. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 21 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
comprising further instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor of the network device, cause the network device to at least: respond to the violation by at least one of denying the data access, modifying the data to conform to the policy, or obtaining other data that conforms to the policy. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer. Further, an alert may be displayed for notifying a user of the denial of access and contaminated file/packets.).
26. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 21 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
comprising further instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the network device to at least: retrieve requested data from the storage location in response to another request received from the at least one process; – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive. Thus, customer computer 50 operating system can write to and read from a virtual disk in essentially the same manner that it can write to and read from its own local hard disk 64. The operator of system 100 can, of course, store information onto host virtual disks (e.g., by inputting the information via a replica computer 160) so that the information can be accessed by customer computer(s) 50. A customer computer 50 can access a disk drive that is locally attached to on-line replica computer 160, and the on-line replica computer can access a disk drive that is locally attached to the customer computer. It would be useful to allow the customer computer 50 to access some or all of the disk drives (physical and/or virtual) of replica computer 160 during an on-line session as if those replica computer disk drives were local to the customer computer. Both the customer computer and replica computer 160 have access to drives of the other computer as remote virtual disks. Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers. Device drivers are loaded into customer computer memory 66 to support the virtual device "PC SUPPORT" facility of host computer 104 or to support remote access to the on-line replica computer 160.)
Rothwell teaches:
use the accelerator to inspect the requested data to determine whether the requested data violates the policy; and – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If, however, the file is of interest, a scan is performed, as set forth in operation 418. If, however, any virus, suspicious content, malicious code, etc. is found in decision 420, access may be denied to the computer in operation 424. This way, no contaminated packets and/or files reach the computer.)
store the requested data in the virtual drive if the requested data is determined not to violate the policy. – in paragraphs [0028]-[0045] (If it is determined that the file is clean in decision 420, the file is transferred to the computer (i.e. network driver 306).)
29. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the at least one processor, are to cause the device to at least: obtain the data; and store at least the data in a cache. – in paragraphs [0010]-[0051] (Also included is adapter random access memory (RAM) 308 coupled to the packet assembler module 305 for storing packets received therefrom. It should be noted that the memory 308 may include any cache or fast memory capable of allowing quick storage and/or retrieval of data.)
30. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the at least one processor, are to cause the device to at least: store, in a cache, an indication that the data was analyzed for a violation of a security policy in the cache. – in paragraphs [0010]-[0051] (Also included is adapter random access memory (RAM) 308 coupled to the packet assembler module 305 for storing packets received therefrom. It should be noted that the memory 308 may include any cache or fast memory capable of allowing quick storage and/or retrieval of data. An alert may be displayed for notifying a user of the denial of access and contaminated file/packets.)
31. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Rothwell teaches:
wherein the instructions, in response to execution by the at least one processor, are to cause the device to at least: store at least the data in a cache; and use the data stored in the cache to process subsequent requests for the data. – in paragraphs [0010]-[0051] (Also included is adapter random access memory (RAM) 308 coupled to the packet assembler module 305 for storing packets received therefrom. It should be noted that the memory 308 may include any cache or fast memory capable of allowing quick storage and/or retrieval of data.)
32. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein allowing the at least one process to obtain the data via the virtual drive comprises storing the data in a file system implemented on the virtual drive that is accessible by the host device. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Through software executed by host computer 104 and cooperating software executing on customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, these virtual disks can be "attached" to customer computer 50 and/or replica computer 160, and appear to those computers 50, 160 as additional, locally attached physical drives. In other words, the operating systems of computers 50, 160 can access these virtual disks in the same way they access a locally attached physical disk drive. Thus, customer computer 50 operating system can write to and read from a virtual disk in essentially the same manner that it can write to and read from its own local hard disk 64. The operator of system 100 can, of course, store information onto host virtual disks (e.g., by inputting the information via a replica computer 160) so that the information can be accessed by customer computer(s) 50. A customer computer 50 can access a disk drive that is locally attached to on-line replica computer 160, and the on-line replica computer can access a disk drive that is locally attached to the customer computer. It would be useful to allow the customer computer 50 to access some or all of the disk drives (physical and/or virtual) of replica computer 160 during an on-line session as if those replica computer disk drives were local to the customer computer. Both the customer computer and replica computer 160 have access to drives of the other computer as remote virtual disks. Every time a drive is mounted on one system (including virtual disks mounted on the replica server 160), the drive needs to be configured (mounted) as a remote disk on the other computer. The Replica Server On-line Session Control process sends and receives configuration requests to cause drive mounts and dismounts on both computers. Device drivers are loaded into customer computer memory 66 to support the virtual device "PC SUPPORT" facility of host computer 104 or to support remote access to the on-line replica computer 160.)
33. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Crawford teaches:
wherein the device is comprised in the host device. – on lines 1-67 in columns 1-70 (Host computer 104 may provide one or more "virtual" disk drives to customer computer 50.) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141(III) and 2143(I).
Claim(s) 3, 13, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford (US 7080051) in view of Rothwell (US 20150271191), and further in view of Power (US 20180006953).
3, 13, 23. The device of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claims for reference(s).
Combination of Crawford and Rothwell does not explicitly teach:
wherein the device comprises a system-on-a-chip (“SoC”), and wherein the SoC comprises the at least one processor, the at least one network interface, and the at least one accelerator.
However, Power teaches:
wherein the device comprises a system-on-a-chip (“SoC”), and wherein the SoC comprises the at least one processor, the at least one network interface, and the at least one accelerator. – in paragraph [0037] (In device 200, processing circuitry 204 may comprise one or more processors situated in separate components, or alternatively one or more processing cores in a single component (e.g., in a system-on-a-chip (SoC)), along with processor-related support circuitry (e.g., bridging interfaces, etc.))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Crawford and Rothwell with Power to include wherein the device comprises a system-on-a-chip (“SoC”), and wherein the SoC comprises the at least one processor, the at least one network interface, and the at least one accelerator, as taught by Power, in paragraph [0018], to take corrective action when it is determined that the request violates the policy.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449