DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s remarks and amendments dated 10/07/2026. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-10 and 28-31 are currently pending.
Specification
The amendment filed 10/07/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: The recitation of “puzzle pieces are... arranged in a predetermined orientation” is not found in the specification.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recitation of “puzzle pieces are... arranged in a predetermined orientation” is not found in the specification and is new matter not supported by the specification. The only recitation found in the specification is of the puzzle pieces being arranged in a “defined manner,” but not a “predetermined orientation.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The new recitation in claim 1 of “puzzle pieces are... arranged in a predetermined orientation” is unclear. Since there is no recitation of this step in the specification, it is unclear what this would be, physically. Is this a user selecting from an array of orientations on the machine? Is this a user action? Is this predetermining done by a machine or a human? What is the criteria for doing the determining? This step is exceedingly unclear, and the specification provides no explanation of what this step might entail, making this recitation indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robillard (US Patent No. 1,957,078) in view of Waldron (US Patent No. 4,258,920).
In Reference to Claim 1-10 and 28-31
Robillard teaches (Claim 1) A method for producing a puzzle comprising a plurality of puzzle pieces which, in an assembled state, form the puzzle, the method comprising: (a) [] a carrier plate [] defines [a] plane on the carrier plate and punching the puzzle pieces out of the [] carrier plate (item A, fig’s 1-3, page 1 lines 82-88); or (b) punching the carrier plate and printing an image on the punched carrier plate so that the image defines an image plane on the carrier plate (note this is recited in the alternative and is, therefore, not required by the claim); wherein all puzzle pieces are detached and separated from the punched carrier plate in a predetermined way by a controlled movement of at least one puzzle piece transverse to the image plane (page 1 lines 88-93) so that all puzzle pieces are, and each puzzle piece is, arranged in a predetermined orientation after separation into single puzzle pieces but before the assembled state (after detaching, puzzle pieces are arranged as pressed onto item 11; note “predetermined orientation” is extremely broad, since a user controls this action, the user defined orientation of the pieces after being detached onto item 11 can be considered a “predetermined orientation”; further, the step of separating each puzzle piece / separating into single puzzle pieces is performed by items 32/33 after the pressing step, see page 1 lines 100-105; and, after this step the puzzle pieces would also be in another “predetermined orientation” i.e. oriented within discharge chute or within packaging can be considered predetermined orientations of the pieces);
(Claim 2) wherein the controlled movement is performed perpendicular to the image plane (fig’s 1-3, page 1 lines 84-93; from upper supporting frame 40 to conveyor 11 is perpendicular to plane of item A);
(Claim 3) wherein one or more puzzle pieces are simultaneously and/or successively detached from the punched carrier plate (page 1 lines 84-93, detached in groups, which are simultaneous, while each group is also successive);
(Claim 4) wherein a plurality of sub-segments is defined for the puzzle, wherein each sub-segment comprises specific puzzle pieces and respectively at least one puzzle piece is simultaneously detached from the punched carrier plate for all sub-segments or all puzzle pieces of one or more sub-segments are simultaneously detached from the punched carrier plate (page 1 lines 84-93, again, detached in groups, which can be considered sub-segments);
(Claim 5) wherein the puzzle pieces of a sub-segment are defined by at least one characteristic of the puzzle pieces selected from a number of characteristics comprising the association with one or more rows of the puzzle, the association with part of one or more rows of the puzzle, the association with one or more columns of the puzzle, the association with part of one or more columns of the puzzle, the association with an arbitrary local area of the puzzle (page 1 lines 84-93; detached groups can be considered associated arbitrary local area of the puzzle), one or more primary colours or colour components of the puzzle pieces, the edge pieces of the puzzle, the number of recesses or projections of the puzzle pieces, and combinations thereof;
(Claim 6) wherein at least one puzzle piece adjacent to the puzzle piece to be detached or all puzzle pieces adjacent to the puzzle piece to be detached or all puzzle pieces adjacent to the puzzle piece to be detached which have a common section line are fixed during the movement of the puzzle piece to be detached (page 1 lines 84-93; puzzle pieces are only partially cut through, they are fixed until detached manually by pressing, those not detached remain fixed);
(Claim 7) wherein the controlled movement for detaching the at least one puzzle piece is a linear translational movement (page 1 lines 84-93, pressing down).
(Claim 8) wherein the detached puzzle pieces are disposed in a common plane (fig’s 1-3, on conveyor 11).
(Claim 9) following the controlled movement for detaching the at least one puzzle piece, the at least one puzzle piece is placed in a storage container (page 1 lines 72-79; receptacle);
(Claim 10) wherein the puzzle pieces of a sub-segment are placed and/or stacked in a common storage container (page 1 lines 72-79; receptacle);
(Claim 28) wherein up to half of the puzzle pieces of the puzzle are simultaneously detached from the punched carrier plate or all puzzle pieces are separated simultaneously (page 1 lines 82-93; a group of two or more is “up to half” of the puzzle);
(Claim 29) wherein, in case of a detached sub-segment, a further separation of the puzzle pieces of the sub-segment is carried out (fig’s 1-3; page 1 lines 93-110, via items 25, 32, and 33);
(Claim 30) wherein the controlled movement for detaching the at least one puzzle piece is a pushing or pulling movement (page 1 lines 88-89, pressing down is pushing);
(Claim 31) wherein the common plane is parallelly offset relative to the image plane of unmoved puzzle pieces after the detachment from the punched carrier plate (fig. 3, page 1 lines 86-88, plane of item 40 and of item 11 are parallelly offset).
Robillard fails to teach laminating or printing an image onto a carrier plate.
However, the examiner notes that in the art of puzzles, it is well known that the surface of the puzzle typically has an image printed thereon.
Regardless, Waldren teaches printing an image onto a carrier plate when making a puzzle (fig. 1 and column 2 lines 15-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the puzzle making system of Robillard with the feature of printing an image on the plate as taught by the puzzle making system of Waldren for the purpose of customizing the puzzle made, as well as for the purpose of making a wider variety of puzzles with the system, making the system more versatile, more tailored to a specific user / audience, and more interesting and attractive to the users.
Further, the examiner notes that it has been held that when the claimed printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate in an unobvious manner, it will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability. See In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 403-04 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The fact that the content of the printed matter placed on the substrate may render the device more convenient by providing an individual with a specific type of puzzle does not alter the functional relationship. Mere support by the substrate for the printed matter is not the kind of functional relationship necessary for patentability. Thus, there is no novel and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter e.g. printed image indicia and the substrate e.g. carrier plate, which is required for patentability.
The examiner further notes that it appears the limitations regarding separating the puzzle pieces in claim 1 are taught, broadly interpreted, by the method of Robillard, since, the transverse detaching step is taught, and, since further separation into single pieces is taught. However, in the event that the separation step is intended to be performed all at one time into single pieces, and that this claimed step is somehow distinct from what is taught in Robillard, an alternate rejection is set forth:
It has been held that selection of any order of performing process steps is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959); In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); and In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). Since the all of the steps of punching and then separating puzzle pieces into both groups and then individual pieces are taught in Robillard, merely claiming a different or more specific order of achieving this result would not produce any new or unexpected results since the end result of detached single puzzle pieces which could be grouped is taught in Robillard. Merely consolidating steps to achieve the same result is an obvious matter of engineering design choice, and is not a patentable distinction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Robillard fails to teach the new limitation of the pieces being arranged in a “predetermined” orientation after separation. This is not persuasive for multiple reasons.
First, as discussed above, a “predetermined” orientation of pieces after separation is not found in the specification, therefore, this is new matter.
Second, also as discussed above, it is unclear what this limitation is intended to mean, therefore, this limitation is indefinite.
Third, applicant argues the puzzle pieces in Robillard are “randomly” oriented, which is somehow distinct from a “predetermined” orientation. Even assuming this recitation was clear and not new matter, it is extremely broad. Any orientation can be considered a “predetermined” orientation. Therefore, a “random orientation” is one “predetermined” orientation, meeting the claim language and rendering this argument moot. There is no specific structure tied to a nebulous “predetermined” orientation.
Finally, Robillard specifically discloses the step of separating each puzzle piece / separating into single puzzle pieces which is performed by items 32/33 after the pressing step, see page 1 lines 100-105; and, after this step the puzzle pieces would in a “predetermined orientation” i.e. oriented within discharge chute or within packaging can be considered predetermined orientations of the pieces. Again, this claim language is extremely broad. The examiner notes here that USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted “in view of the specification” without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily). In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Applicant appears to believe there are more limitations in the phrase “predetermined orientation” than actually exist. Any orientation can be considered a predetermined orientation as determined by the creation or setup of the machine prior to running the machine.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711