DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/11/2026.
Claims 24, 29, 34-36, 44-59 have been examined and are pending.
Claims 24 and 34 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 29, 34-36, 44-48, 51-56 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0347275; hereinafter “Kim”).
In regard to independent claims 24 and 34, Kim teaches a computer implemented method comprising: presenting first information relating to at least one of a message or a voicemail first content on a display of a device;
receiving first data from one or more sensors of the device, the first data including at least one of motion data;
determining, based on the first data orientation of the device;
receiving second data from the one or more sensors of the device during a period of time after receiving the first data, the second data including motion data;
determining, based on the second data, that the device is in a second orientation, the second orientation being different from the first orientation; and
presenting second information content relating to the first content on the display responsive to determining the second orientation of the device (Kim, figure 9, paragraph 0069; Clarification: “In response changing orientation, second information content which is 902 having detail information of miss call information is shown”).
In regard to dependent claim 29, Kim teaches the one or more sensors include at least one of an accelerometer or a gyroscope and the firstdata includes the motion data captured by at least one of the accelerometer or the gyroscope (Kim, paragraph 0045).
In regard to dependent claim 35, Kim teaches receiving touch input data indicating a swipe gesture being performed on the display (Kim, figure 4 and figure 9; “Note: figure 9 display an UI having touch sensitive display wherein swipe gesture is inherent”).
In regard to dependent claim 36, Kim teaches receiving touch input data indicating a tap-and-hold gesture being performed on the display (Kim, figure 4 and figure 9; “Note: figure 9 display an UI having touch sensitive display wherein tap-and-hold gesture is inherent”).
In regard to dependent claims 44 and 52, Kim teaches the second content comprises a modified version of the first content (Kim, figure 9; “Note: element 902 display modified version of first content”).
In regard to dependent claims 45 and 53, Kim teaches the second content comprises additional information based on the first content (Kim, figure 9; “Note: element 902 display additional information of missed call notification”).
In regard to dependent claims 46 and 54, Kim teaches the second orientation is determined based on a rotation of the device about an axis parallel to a height of the device (Kim, paragraph 0040, 0045-0047).
In regard to dependent claims 47 and 55, Kim teaches the second orientation is determined based on a rotation of the device about an axis perpendicular to a display of the device (Kim, paragraph 0040, 0045-0047).
In regard to dependent claims 48 and 56, Kim teaches the second orientation is determined based on a rotation of the device about an axis parallel to a length of the device (Kim, paragraph 0040, 0045-0047).
In regard to dependent claims 51 and 59, Kim teaches the one or more objects comprise at least one of a time-of-day indicator, a control, or an album cover (Kim, figure 9; “Note: time of the day is displayed in locked state”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-50 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0347275; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Lou et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0026646; hereinafter “Lou”).
In regard to dependent claims 49 and 57, Kim teaches a computer implemented method comprising: presenting first information relating to at least one of a message or a voicemail first content on a display of a device;
receiving first data from one or more sensors of the device, the first data including at least one of motion data;
determining, based on the first data orientation of the device;
receiving second data from the one or more sensors of the device during a period of time after receiving the first data, the second data including motion data;
determining, based on the second data, that the device is in a second orientation, the second orientation being different from the first orientation; and
presenting second information content relating to the first content on the display responsive to determining the second orientation of the device (Kim, figure 9, paragraph 0069; Clarification: “In response changing orientation, second information content which is 902 having detail information of miss call information is shown”). Kim further teaches the first content comprises one or more objects and the second content comprises the one or more objects (Kim, figure 9).
Kim is silent on the first content comprises one or more objects and the second content comprises the one or more objects oriented differently responsive to the second orientation of the device.
Lou teaches a system related with changing orientation of a device wherein said system teaches first content comprises one or more objects and the second content comprises the one or more objects oriented differently responsive to the second orientation of the device (Lou, paragraph 0050; “Note: in response to changing orientation of the device, objects of the first content changes the orientation and shadowing and wherein the shadowing reflects the view point”).
Kim and Lou are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with changing orientation of a device.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Lou, changing orientation and shadowing of the object in response to the changing orientation of the device displaying the one or more objects, to Kim. Motivation for doing so would have been to display the one or more objects more efficiently making best use of the user interface space of the device and mke the system more useful to the user.
In regard to dependent claims 50 and 58, Kim as modified by Lou as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches the orientation and shadowing of the one or more objects changes responsive to the second orientation of the device (Lou, paragraph 0050; “Note: in response to changing orientation of the device, objects of the first content changes the orientation and shadowing and wherein the shadowing reflects the view point”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument submitted on 3/11/2026 are considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Reza Nabi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174