DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to provisional US application 63/038,635 filed 12 June 2020.
Election/Restrictions
The Applicant has previously elected methyl-1-tallow amido-ethyl-2-tallow imidazolinium methyl sulfate (quaternary ammonium compound) and 3-(triethoxysilyl)-propyl-dimethyloctadecyl ammonium chloride (antimicrobial agent).
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 1 October 2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 1 October 2025, it is noted that claim 1 has been amended. Support can be found in the claims as originally filed. No new matter or claims have been added.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11, and 13-22 are pending.
Claim 5 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-22 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-22 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blank et al. (US 5,145,596) in view of Accosoft 808-90 (https://www.knowde.com/stores/stepan-company/documents/350940) in view of Pashovych et al. (US 11,096,391).
Blank teaches a method of treating fabrics in order to eliminate odor caused by microbial growth by adding an antibacterially effective amount of an organosilicon QAC to the fabric (abstract). QAC antimicrobial agents are bactericidal, fungicidal, algicidal, and viricidal against lipophilic viruses (col 1, lns 52-57). The QAC can be of the following formula, which reads on formula I of the instant claims but differs in the alkoxide group of the elected species (col 7, ln 64- col 8, ln 30).
This compound is a durable antimicrobial agent (col 8, lns 30-32). More generically, the agent can be of the following formula wherein R can be methyl or ethyl (col 9, lns 1-8, 54-60).
Blank further teaches that the organosilane may be mixed with organic ammonium salts such as quaternary imidazolinium textile softeners (col 11, lns 36-42). In addition, the composition may comprise a surfactant (col 11, lns 26-30). Regarding the activity of the compounds of Blank, such compounds have been found to be effective against a number of microorganisms including E. coli, K. pneumoniae, P. aeruginosa, and S. aureus (col 16, lns 21-44).
Blank does not teach the quaternary imidazolinium textile softeners as being the elected species. Blank does not teach a guanide salt. Blank does not teach efficacy against all the targets recited in claim 1.
Accosoft teaches methyl (1) tallow amidoethyl (2) tallow imidazolinium methyl sulfate, which reads on the elected species of quaternary ammonium compound with fabric softening properties (pg 1). Accosoft 808-90 is said to impart softness to fabrics and reduce static cling (pg 1).
Pashovych teaches that PHMB is a known broad spectrum antimicrobial compound used as a sanitizer or preservative to kill bacteria and viruses including methicillin-resistant S. aureus (col 1, lns 13-35). One utility of PHMB is for controlling odors in textiles (id). PHMB can be used as the HCl salt (col 2, lns 44-49).
It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of organosilane QAC and organic QAC salts such as quaternary imidazolinium textile softener from within Blank, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.” Moreover, it would have been obvious to prepare the preferred QAC, shown above, and modify the siloxane to include ethoxy groups, which are taught by Blank as being suitable alternatives to methyl groups.
Regarding the selection of organic QAC salts such as quaternary imidazolinium textile softener, Blank does not specify further. As such, it would have been obvious to look to Accosoft which teaches a suitable quaternary imidazolinium textile softener that reads on the elected species of the instant claims. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07). Moreover, Blank teaches including any surfactant without further specification, thus a nonionic surfactant would have been obvious to include. The resulting composition would have been a fabric conditioning blend of 3-(triethoxysilyl)-propyl-dimethyloctadecyl ammonium chloride (quaternary imidazolinium textile softener) and methyl-1-tallow amido-ethyl-2-tallow imidazolinium methyl sulfate (quaternary ammonium compound), optionally comprising a nonionic surfactant, that is a liquid solution (col 8, lns 40-42) that is useful as both a broad-spectrum antimicrobial agent and also a fabric softening agent.
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the antimicrobial, anti-odor composition of Blank in view of Accosoft wherein said composition is useful for eliminating odors in textiles, and further include PHMB HCl as an additional antimicrobial agent. It would have been obvious to include PHMB because of the common ability of PHMB to eliminate odors and be an antimicrobial agent, similarly to the invention of Blank. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07). The resulting composition would have been a fabric conditioning blend of 3-(triethoxysilyl)-propyl-dimethyloctadecyl ammonium chloride (quaternary imidazolinium textile softener), methyl-1-tallow amido-ethyl-2-tallow imidazolinium methyl sulfate (quaternary ammonium compound), PHMB HCl (as both an antimicrobial agent and a preservative), optionally comprising a nonionic surfactant, that is a liquid solution that is useful as both a broad spectrum antimicrobial agent and also a fabric softening agent. It is further noted that both QACs, in general, and PHMB are taught in the prior art as being effective against E. coli, K. pneumoniae, P. aeruginosa, and S. aureus and viruses, and thus would necessarily impart antibacterial and antiviral activity onto the final composition, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 6-7 of their remarks, that Blank and the other references do not teach a composition that has antiviral activity and is efficacious against the claimed combination of bacteria and viruses including Norovirus families.
In response, Blank teaches that QAC antimicrobial agents are bactericidal, fungicidal, algicidal, and viricidal against lipophilic viruses. Pashovych teaches that PHMB is a known broad spectrum antimicrobial compound used as a sanitizer or preservative to kill bacteria and viruses. Both agents have antiviral activity and would, when combined, continue to impart antiviral activity in the final composition. Moreover, the ability of the individual agents in the claimed composition, and accordingly taught in the prior art, to be effective against the claimed viruses is a property that is inherent. To be sure, Wang et al. (Polymers 2021, 13, 2601) teaches that PHMB is highly effective against coronavirus (abstract). Schorr et al. (US 2007/0048358) teaches that PHMB solution is effective against influenza virus [0127]. Shimamoto et al. (US 2010/0240600) teaches that solutions comprising 0.05% PHMB have norovirus-inactivating activity [0004]. Therefore, the Applicant’s limitations related to efficacy of the claimed composition are inherent properties of the components included in the composition and which are rendered obvious by the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613