DETAILED ACTION
Claims status:
Claims 22-37 are pending
Claims 22-30 and 34-37 are examined
31-33 remain withdrawn
Summary of rejection from CTNF on 9/24/25
112b rejections over claims 28-30 are withdrawn due to applicant’s claim amendments on 12/4/25.
Double patenting rejection over claims 22-30 and 34-37 remain due to the disapproval of applicant’s terminal disclaimer on 12/11/25.
103 rejection is withdrawn/edited in view of applicant’s claim amendments on 12/4/25.
New Grounds of rejections based on applicant’s new claim amendments filed on 12/4/25. Applicant’s arguments presented on 12/4/25 are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-30 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the claims filed on 12/4/25, applicant narrowed the claims by adding the following limitation: “or any anti-SARS-CoV-2 effect”
Applicant alleges support for said limitation appearing in page 10 of the specification at lines 4-9. However, a review shows only support for “or any effects against the infection by SARS-Cov-2 itself”.
The removal of “infection” is a material change. The specification is limited to no effects against the infection of SARS-CoV-2 while the claim is no effects to any SARS-CoV-2 infection.
SARs-COV-2 disease is a multiphasic disease, affecting multiple organ systems, such as 1) viral infection and replication, 2) imbalanced immune response as cytokine storm, and 3) ARDS associated systemic hypoxia and vascular/endothelial dysfunction associated pathologies. (See paragraph 0080 of Singh et al. US 2022/0193181 A1). Infection is only one phase of impacts. Applicant’s current claim amendments is broader than having no effect on the infection of SARS-CoV-2 itself. It covers having no effect on other non-infection impacts/effects. Thus, the current amendment is considered new matter as it broadens the impact of the peroral composition on SARs-CoV-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22-30 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gianni et al. “Supplementary management with Pycnogenol….” published June 4, 2020 in view of Varga et al “Endothelial cell infection and endotheliitis in Covid-19 published April 17, 2020 and Bezerra et al. “Pycnogenol uses in the prevention and treatment of cardiopathies” published 2019.
Examiner notes: Applicants specification discloses Pycnogenol as the peroral composition of the instant invention. It is generally understood that Pycnogenol is between 65-75% procyanidins and the balance being a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (from applicant’s specification.
Regarding 22-30 and 34-37, Gianni teaches identifying patients recovering from covid-19 and in a post-covid-19 recovery state and providing them with oral peroral composition comprising 150 mg/day Pycnogenol (extract of pine bark) to treat a broad spectrum of diseases and impairments (specifically Lung disease). (See abstract and conclusion). Implicitly, since both Gianni and applicant use the same pine bark extract it would be expected to not have an anti-viral or anti-sars effect.
With respect to claims 22-30 and 34-37 Gianni does not expressly teach applying to subjects with endothelial inflammation as a result of their covid infection.
However, Varga teaches that endothelial infection/inflammation and disease is a result of Covid-19 infection. (See pages 1417 and 1418).
Additionally, its is also widely known that Pycnogenol is useful in treating endothelial inflammation and even lung injury. (See Bezerra at page 46 left column table 1 and 1st paragraph and page 45 left colun 2nd paragraph teaching Pyc oral pills).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Gianni and Varga/Bezerra for applying Pycnogenol to post covid patients to treat many effects from Covid including lung disease, endothelial inflammation and other known impairments that Pycnogenol was known to be effective for.
With respect to claims 28-30, the limitation of the endothelial blood flow and microcirculation function troubles including endothelial dysfunction related blood pressure troubles and endothelial dysfunction blood velocity troubles would have been obvious over the endothelial dysfunction including increased vasoconstriction with reduced vasodilatation (paragraph spanning 1417-1418), as taught by Varga and Bezerra’s teaching of platelet adhesion (page 46 left column second fullparagraph). One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that increased vasoconstriction with reduced vasodilatation are related to blood pressure, blood velocity problems, and thrombosis.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-30 and 34-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-30 of copending Application No. 17/928,797 (the ‘797 Application) in view of Gianni et al. “Supplementary management with Pycnogenol….” published June 4, 2020.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to a method of treating endothelial inflammation and/or endothelial systemic dysfunction triggered by Corona virus disease 2019 (COVID-19) induced by Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Corona Virus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) infection in a symptomatic post-COVID-19 subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject a peroral composition comprising a source of δ-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-γ-valerolactone, inter alia, and therefore, encompass overlapping and coextensive subject matter.
The difference is that instant claim 22 recites only δ-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-γ-valerolactone as the constituent, whereas claim 17 of the ‘797 Application recites a Markush group of the constituents including δ-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-γ-valerolactone. However, δ-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-γ-valerolactone is included in the Markush group of constituents in instant claim 22 and renders obvious claim 17 of the ‘797 Application. Another difference is the inclusion of the current amendment of having no anti-SARS-CoV-2 effects. However, because both applications utilize the same peroral source the anti-viral and anti-SARS-CoV-2 effect is considered implicitly taught (additionally this limitation is an alternative limitation and not actually required). Gianni teaches that the peroral source is Pycnogenol as described in the 103 above and would have been an obvious choice for the peroral source.
Therefore, instant claims are obvious over claims of the ‘797 Application, and they are not patentably distinct over each other.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AMJAD A. ABRAHAM
SPE AU 1663
Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663