DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Action for Request for Continued Examination (RCE) application Serial No. 17/348,575. Claim(s) 1-31 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim(s) 1-31 are pending in Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the claim 24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 rejection of claim 24 has been withdrawn.
However, with respect to Remarks filed 05/04/2026.
II. Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, the Applicant states
The Claims Do Not Recite a Judicial Exception
Even If the Claims Recite a Judicial Exception, They Integrate It into a Practical Application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant remarks. The claims currently recite an abstract idea implemented a generic computing device. In response to Applicants argument that the claims do not recite a mathematical concept, the Examiner notes that the abstract was characterized as a mental process, not a “mathematical concept”, in the analysis provided in the previous Office action. The claims, as recited, may represent improvements to a process for navigating (which is a mental process that can be performed by a human), but does not improve upon technology for performing navigation. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. Like in FairWarning IP, LLC v. latricSys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016), wherein a processes for monitoring data is executed on a general purpose computer, the instant invention merely acts to invoke machinery as a tool to perform a pre-existing abstract process with greater speed and efficiency. Therefore, as recited, the claims address issues associated with navigation, and not an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or to any other technology or field, as the additional elements claimed function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly/efficiently.
Therefore, Examiner maintains Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
In response to Applicant assertions of the Double Patenting Rejection, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant does not indicate remarks that would overcome the Double Patenting rejection, therefore, the rejection in is maintained.
In response to Applicant’s remarks regarding the prior art rejection under 35 USC 102, Yang does not disclose "performing one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions.". Examiner respectfully disagrees with remarks. The Applicant is reminded that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation.
Examiner would like to point paragraphs [0029], [0044] along with [0045]: “the absolute measurement differences between current measurements and reference measurements may not affect the performance of a computing resource (e.g., such as processor and/or component) that can compute or otherwise determine a location estimate of a ground-truth location. In addition, any higher order variations within the normalization time interval AT can be preserved so that the pattern similarity between current measurements and reference measurements can be utilized or otherwise leveraged.” Examiner also notes [0019]-[0020], [0028], Fig. 2a/3b, in which combinations of measurements (at different locations along a path within a spatial distribution) are evaluated (traced and compared) to determine ground truth and trajectories. Examiner interprets that these citations teaches a “correlation analysis” where a location is determined based on measurement computed that illustrates the determined difference and similarities. Examiner maintains the prior art under BRI, teaching the subject matter.
Therefore, maintains claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-31 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 based on the following analysis because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without being significantly more.
Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claim(s) 1-31 are directed to a method (process), a non-transitory storage medium, a system respectively. As such, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention.
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A. Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception.
Claim 1 recites abstract limitations, including those bolded below:
A method comprising:
by a computing device, accessing one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
by the computing device, accessing one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times;
by the computing device, performing one or more correlation analyses
between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions; and
by the computing device, performing navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
Claim 9 recites abstract limitations, including those bolded below:
One or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying software that is operable when executed to:
access one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
access one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times;
perform one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions; and
perform navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
Claim 15 recites abstract limitations, including those bolded below:
A system comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to one or more of the processors and comprising instructions operable when executed by one or more of the processors to cause the system to:
access one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
access one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements
in the area collected at one or more second times;
perform one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions; and
perform navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable
interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind, or by a human using pen and paper, and therefore recite mental processes. More specifically, aside from the recitation of a computing device, nothing in the claim element precludes the aforementioned steps from practically being performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. (i.e. determine similarities between the first and second portions etc.). Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
If the claim recites a judicial exception in step 2A Prong One, the claim requires further analysis in step 2A Prong Two. In step 2A Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
Claim 1 recites the additional elements of:
A method comprising:
by a computing device, accessing one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
by the computing device, accessing one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times;
by the computing device, performing one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions; and
by the computing device, performing navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
Claim 9 recites the additional elements of:
One or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying software that is operable when executed to:
access one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
access one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times;
perform one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions; and
perform navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
Claim 15 recites abstract limitations, including those bolded below: A system comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to one or more of the processors and comprising instructions operable when executed by one or more of the processors to cause the system to:
access one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
access one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times;
perform one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions; and
perform navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
The processing functions of the “computing device,” “one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media” and “system” comprising generic computer elements, are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The data collection/access function of the “computing device” and “magnetic-measurement device” amounts to extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
In addition, each of these aforementioned additional elements indicate a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application in step 2A Prong Two, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
As discussed above, The processing functions of the “computing device,” “one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media” and “system” comprising generic computer elements, are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
As discussed above, each of these aforementioned additional limitations also amounts to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, which does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The data collection/access functions of the “computing device” and “magnetic-measurement device” amounts to extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g). The Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs. and buySAFE court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). In addition, the specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of additional elements as it describes the additional elements as well-understood or routine or conventional (or an equivalent term), as a commercially available product, or in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. §112(a).
Claim 21, recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 1 and 15, therefore claim 21 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
The various metrics/limitations of claims 2-6, 10-14, 16-20, 22-23, 26-27 and 29-31
merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations (e.g., further characterizing the measurements of magnetic data, the processing thereof, etc.) . For the reasons described above, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea. Examiner notes that claim 8 does not recite the active collection of data by an inertial sensor of a phone, and the analysis of the data itself is abstract.
Claim(s) 8, 25, and 29 further recites the function of collecting measurement data by the magnetic-measurement device(s). At this level of breadth, these limitations merely amount to characterizing a field of use and data gathering, which is well understood, routine and conventional activity (see analysis of independent claims above).
Claim(s) 7, 24 and 28 further characterizes the magnetic-measurement device being part of the system. At this level of breadth, these limitations merely amount to characterizing a field of use.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-31 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-19, 22-23, 25-26, 29-31, 34-35 and 37 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 in view of YANG et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0084659). This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection. The scope of the inventions for both applications are similar as claims 1, 9, 15 and 21 of the instant application and claims 1, 8, 15, 19-20 and 24 of the copending application are directed to similar limitations as presented below.
Regarding [claim 1] of the instant application, claim(s) 1, 9, 15 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. US
12,056,633 discloses
A method comprising:
by a computing device, accessing one or more first trajectories comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time;
by the computing device, accessing one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times;
by the computing device, performing one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions;…
Claims 1, 9, 15 and 21 U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 does not explicitly disclose
…
by the computing device, performing navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities.
However, Yang teaches
…
by the computing device, performing navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities (see, Paragraph [0029).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of copending application and implement magnetic measurements collect by magnetic device(s) and perform navigation or localization that determine similarities as taught by Yang. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey accurate location sensing can be achieved based at least on such mappings and magnetic measurements at a location of the device within the environment (see, Abstract).
As to [claim 2] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses “where each of one or more of the correlation analyses comprises a similarity correlation analysis that comprises one or more of: normalized correlation; cross correlation; one or more spectral criteria functions; or one or more difference criteria functions.”
As to [claim 3] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses “wherein each of one or more of the magnetic measurements comprises one or more measurements of magnetic susceptibility or magnetic conductivity.”
As to [claim 4] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses “wherein each of one or more of the probabilistic magnetic measurements comprises one or more measurements of a magnetic field.”
As to [claim 5] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses
“wherein: one or more of the correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories account for errors in one or more of the first or second trajectories; and one or more of the errors: comprise noise; are known; are in one or more of the magnetic measurements in the trajectories; or are in one or more determined locations where one or more of the magnetic measurements in the trajectories were made.”
As to [claim 6] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses “wherein each of one or more of the similarity correlation analysis analyses comprises determining a correspondence between different gradient profiles associated with the first or second magnetic measurements.”
As to [claim 7] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses “wherein the computing device comprises the magnetic-measurement device.”
As to [claim 8] of the instant application of U.S. Patent No. US 12,056,633 discloses “wherein one or more of the second magnetic measurements in one or more of the second trajectories were collected by the magnetic-measurement device or one or more other magnetic-measurement devices.”
Regarding [claim 9], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 9 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 10], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 10 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 11], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 11 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 12], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 4, therefore claim 12 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 13], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 13 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 14], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 14 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 15], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 1, therefore claim 15 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 16], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 16 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 17], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 17
would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 18], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 4, therefore claim 18
would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 19], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 19
would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 20], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Regarding [claim 21], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 1 and 15, therefore claim 21 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 22], U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 does not explicitly disclose the first time is after one or more of the second times; or the first time is before one or more of the second times.
However, Yang teaches
wherein: the first time is after one or more of the second times; or the first time is before one or more of the second times (see, Paragraph [0020]; [0028]; and [0039]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of copending application and implement magnetic measurements collect by magnetic device(s) and perform navigation or localization that determine similarities as taught by Yang. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey accurate location sensing can be achieved based at least on such mappings and magnetic measurements at a location of the device within the environment (see, Abstract).
As to [claim 23], U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 does not explicitly disclose
wherein each of one or more of the magnetic measurements comprises one or more of: a total value of a magnetic field.
However, Yang teaches
wherein each of one or more of the magnetic measurements comprises one or more of: a total value of a magnetic field (see, Paragraph [0028]); an inclination angle of the magnetic field; a declination angle of the magnetic field (see, Paragraph [0029]); an x component of the magnetic field; a y component of the magnetic field; or a z component of the magnetic field (see, Paragraphs [0019]; [0020]; and [0021]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of copending application and implement magnetic measurements collect by magnetic device(s) and perform navigation or localization that determine similarities as taught by Yang. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey accurate location sensing can be achieved based at least on such mappings and magnetic measurements at a location of the device within the environment (see, Abstract).
As to [claim 24], U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 does not explicitly disclose
wherein the magnetic-measurement device comprises the system
However, Yang teaches
wherein the magnetic-measurement device comprises the system (see, Paragraphs [0063]; and [0070]: see also [0048] Fig. 11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of copending application and implement magnetic measurements collect by magnetic device(s) and perform navigation or localization that determine similarities as taught by Yang. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey accurate location sensing can be achieved based at least on such mappings and magnetic measurements at a location of the device within the environment (see, Abstract).
As to [claim 25], U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 does not explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the second magnetic measurements in one or more of the second trajectories were collected by the magnetic-measurement device or one or more other magnetic-measurement devices.
However, Yang teaches
wherein one or more of the second magnetic measurements in one or more of the second trajectories were collected by the magnetic-measurement device or one or more other magnetic-measurement devices (see, Paragraphs [0049]; [0028]; and [0039].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of copending application and implement magnetic measurements collect by magnetic device(s) and perform navigation or localization that determine similarities as taught by Yang. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey accurate location sensing can be achieved based at least on such mappings and magnetic measurements at a location of the device within the environment (see, Abstract).
As to [claim 26], U.S. Patent No. US 11,680,802 В2 does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the first time is after one or more of the second times; or the first time is before one or more of the second times.
However, Yang teaches
wherein: the first time is after one or more of the second times; or the first time is before one or more of the second times (see, Paragraph [0020]:”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of copending application and implement magnetic measurements collect by magnetic device(s) and perform navigation or localization that determine similarities as taught by Yang. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey accurate location sensing can be achieved based at least on such mappings and magnetic measurements at a location of the device within the environment (see, Abstract).
As to [claim 27], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 23, therefore claim 27 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 28], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 24, therefore claim 28 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 29], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 25, therefore claim 29 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 30], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 26, therefore claim 30 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 31], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 27, therefore claim 31 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being
anticipated by Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0084659), hereinafter, referred to as “Yang”.
Regarding [claim 1], Yang discloses a method (see, Abstract; and Paragraph [0019]: “As
illustrated in FIG. 1, at least two stages can be implemented or otherwise relied upon to determine a location estimate of a device within an environment based at least on the magnetic field footprint (or, more simply, “magnetic footprint”) of the environment”) comprising:
by a computing device (see, “the electronic device 210 (also herein referred to as computing device 210)”), accessing one or more first trajectories (“214”) comprising first magnetic measurements in an area collected by a magnetic-measurement device at a first time (see, Paragraphs [0018]-[0020]: “In at least certain embodiments, such as example embodiment 230 shown in FIG. 2B, the electronic device 210 (also herein referred to as computing device 210) can include a magnetic sensor 260 that can probe the magnetic field at a location of the electronic device 210. In one example, the magnetic sensor 260 can be embodied in or can include a solid-state three-axis magnetometer, which can provide at least three readings, or information structures, indicative or otherwise representative of three components of the magnetic field in a sensor reference frame.”; [0024]: “As an illustration, FIG. 2A presents an example environment 218 in which an electronic device 210 can traverse a path 214 while performing a measurement of the magnetic field at certain locations (represented with solid dots) within the path 214” and [0048]: “At block 1130, a first component of the magnetic field vector can be determined or otherwise accessed based at least on the acceleration vector. In one implementation, the first component can be determined by projecting the magnetic field vector onto a predetermined or otherwise desired direction in space. For example, as described herein, the first component can be the projection of the magnetic field vector onto an axis parallel to the gravity vector in an earth coordinate system.”);
by the computing device, accessing one or more second trajectories comprising second magnetic measurements in the area collected at one or more second times (see, Figures 11-12; Paragraphs [0019]: “ Implementation of the stage 110 can include magnetic measurements at predetermined locations in order to generate, or update, a map or spatial distribution of a metric (e.g., a scalar or a vector) representative or otherwise indicative of a magnetic field vector at a specific location. … Such values can be retained in one or more memory elements, such as in an information storage or repository, as a reference magnetic signature or footprint information resource (e.g., database). As an illustration, FIG. 2A presents an example environment 218 in which an electronic device 210 can traverse a path 214 while performing a measurement of the magnetic field at certain locations (represented with solid dots) within the path 214. The electronic device 210 can communicate information acquired via the measurements to one or more network(s) 220. …In at least certain embodiments, the information can be communicated wirelessly via one or more links 224, and can be retained in one or more memory elements 228 (which may be referred to as magnetic map(s) 228).” ;
[0020]: “In at least certain embodiments, such as example embodiment 230 shown in FIG. 2B, the electronic device 210 (also herein referred to as computing device 210) can include a magnetic sensor 260 that can probe the magnetic field at a location of the electronic device 210.”; and [0028]: “In connection with the mapping stage 110, FIG. 3A presents an example scenario in which measurements of magnetic field are obtained along a path 310 within an indoor environment 300 (e.g., an office environment). The norm (which also may be referred to as the magnitude) IB(r)I of the magnetic field vector B(r) measured at different locations along the path 310 is shown in FIG. 3B for two different measurement instances conveyed with traces 360 and 370-for the same path 310. From the traces 360 and 370, it can be gleaned that significant spatial variations of magnetic field are present along the path 310, and that the observed spatial distributions 360 and 370 of the magnetic field are consistent overtime.”)
by the computing device, performing one or more correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories to determine similarities between the first and second portions (see,Figures 11-12; Paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0028]-[0029]); and
by the computing device, performing navigation or localization based on one or more of the determined similarities (see, [0028]-[0029]: “ With reference to FIG. 1, a second stage of location sensing based at least on a magnetic footprint can include a location determination stage 120, which also may be referred to as a localization stage 120, that permits determination of a location estimate for the ground-truth location of an electronic device based at least on an observed metric representative or indicative of the magnetic field at the ground-truth location. To at least such an end, in one example, implementation of the location determination stage 120 can include performance of one or more magnetic measurements at a ground-truth location, and analysis of the magnetic measurement(s) based at least on a magnetic footprint that is generated or otherwise made available via the magnetic mapping stage 110. In one embodiment, a magnetic sensor (e.g., magnetic sensor 260) integrated into or functionally coupled to an electronic device (e.g., electronic device 210) that performs the location determination stage 120 can performs the magnetic measurements. In one example, the analysis of the magnetic measurement(s) can include a comparison of the one or more magnetic measurements with respect to magnetic metrics representative or otherwise indicative of the magnetic footprint. A location estimate of a ground-truth location can be determined based at least on such a comparison.”; [0044]: “In addition, FIG. 8 illustrates metrics representative of magnetic field as a function of time along a trajectory at Substantially constant height (or at a substantial isoheight). In example chart 810, the component of the magnetic field vector along the gravity vector is shown as function of time for three different heights in respective traces 820, 830, and 840. In addition, chart 850 presents the component of the magnetic field vector along an axis normal to the direction of the gravity vector as function of time for the three heights considered in the measurement shown in chart 810. Therefore, each of the traces 860, 870, and 880 correspond to a specific height. As it can be gleaned from charts 810 and 850, although the absolute measurements are different at different height, the specific changes of the magnetic metric (which also may be referred to as pattern of changes) along the considered trajectory remains substantially consistently comparable.”; and [0045]: “It can be appreciated that in the example normalization in Eq. (3), a current measurement is linearly scaled in a manner that the initial current metric Y. and ending current metric Y, within the normalization time interval can have the same respective values as the reference metrics X and X. As a result, without intending to be bound by theory and/or modeling, the absolute measurement differences between current measurements and reference measurements may not affect the performance of a computing resource (e.g., Such as processor and/or component) that can compute or otherwise determine a location estimate of a ground-truth location. In addition, any higher order variations within the normalization time interval AT can be preserved so that the pattern similarity between current measurements and reference measurements can be utilized or otherwise leveraged..”).
As to [claim 2], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1. Yang discloses further wherein each of one or more of the correlation analyses comprises a similarity correlation analysis (see, Paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0028-[0029]) that comprises one or more of:
normalized correlation (see, Paragraph [0041]: “In a localization stage of location
sensing in accordance with aspects of this disclosure, the difference between a current magnetic measurement and available (e.g., prerecorded) magnetic reference data can be normalized (e.g., weighted) via the orientation variance at a specific position of a user device (e.g., electronic device 210). Therefore, in areas having substantive soft iron distortions, the different magnetic measurements due to the user-user traversing an environment in different directions (e.g., different yaw) may cause a lesser divergence of a tracking processing resource (such as a processor or track filter unit).” and [0045]);
cross correlation; one or more spectral criteria functions; or one or more difference criteria functions.
As to [claim 3], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1. Yang further discloses wherein each of one or more of the magnetic measurements comprises one or more measurements of magnetic susceptibility or magnetic conductivity (see Paragraph [0039]-[0041] disclosing magnetic maps to address soft-iron distortions in a device's environment)
As to [claim 4], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein each of one or more of the magnetic measurements comprises one or more measurements of a magnetic field (see, Paragraph [0030]: “In at least certain embodiments, the disclosure provides adaptive use of magnetic information for location sensing. A magnetic sensor (e.g., a magnetometer) on an electronic device can provide, in a single measurement, three-dimensional (3D) readings representative of a measured magnetic field. Such readings are generally represent the measured magnetic field in a sensor coordinate frame (or sensor coordinate system), and may be referred to as "3D magnetic readings"”).
As to [claim 5], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein:
one or more of the correlation analyses between one or more first portions of the first trajectories and one or more second portions of the second trajectories account for errors in one or more of the first or second trajectories; and one or more of the errors:
comprise noise (see, Paragraph [0040]: “Without intending to be bound by theory and/or modeling, it can be appreciated that in certain scenarios (e.g., certain indoor environments), soft-iron distortions can change relatively gradually across space. Therefore, in one aspect, a k may be averaged over a spatial window S (e.g., a region spanning about 1 m to 2 m) in order to mitigate or avoid measurement noise in F k and Bk.”);
are known;
are in one or more of the magnetic measurements in the trajectories; or are in one or more determined locations where one or more of the magnetic measurements in the trajectories were made (see, Paragraph [0041]: “In a localization stage of location sensing in accordance with aspects of this disclosure, the difference between a current magnetic measurement and available (e.g., prerecorded) magnetic reference data can be normalized (e.g., weighted) via the orientation variance at a specific position of a user device (e.g., electronic device 210). Therefore, in areas having substantive soft iron distortions, the different magnetic measurements due to the user-user traversing an environment in different directions (e.g., different yaw) may cause a lesser divergence of a tracking processing resource (such as a processor or track filter unit).”).
As to [claim 6], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein each of one or more of the correlation analyses comprises determining a correspondence between different gradient profiles associated with the first or second magnetic measurements (see, Paragraphs [0029]; and [0043]-[0044]: “Therefore, each of the traces 860, 870, and 880 correspond to a specific height. As it can be gleaned from charts 810 and 850, although the absolute measurements are different at different height, the specific changes of the magnetic metric (which also may be referred to as pattern of changes) along the considered trajectory remains substantially consistently comparable. Without intending to be bound by theory and/or modeling, it should be recognized that the shift in time between the different traces in an illustrated chart is essentially due to different velocity at which the considered trajectory is traversed. Accordingly, in one aspect, such a shift can be addressed via time alignment. Similarly, FIG. 9 also illustrates metrics representative of magnetic field as a function of time along a trajectory at substantially constant height (or at a substantial isoheight). Each of the traces 912, 914, and 916 illustrated at each of panels 910,920,930, and 940 corresponds to a specific height (each an isoheight). From such traces, it can be gleaned that although the absolute measurements are different at different height, the specific changes of the magnetic metric (which also may be referred to as pattern of changes) along the considered trajectory remains substantially consistently comparable.”).
As to [claim 7], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the computing device comprises the magnetic-measurement device (see, Paragraph [0029]: “a magnetic sensor (e.g., magnetic sensor 260) integrated into or functionally coupled to an electronic device (e.g., electronic device 210) that performs the location determination stage 120 can performs the magnetic measurements.”).
As to [claim 8], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein one or more of the second magnetic measurements in one or more of the second trajectories were collected by the magnetic-measurement device or one or more other magnetic-measurement devices (see, Paragraph [0049]: “FIG. 12 illustrates another example of a method 1200 for magnetic mapping in accordance with one or more aspects of the disclosure. A computing device that can implement the subject example method can include an electronic device ( e.g., electronic device 210 or computing device 1410) including one or more magnetic sensors, one or more inertial sensors, one or more memory devices, and one or more processors functionally coupled to at least one of the memory device(s).”).
Regarding [claim 9], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 9 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 10], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 10 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 11], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 11 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 12], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 4, therefore claim 12 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 13], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 13 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 14], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 14 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 15], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 1, therefore claim 15 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 16], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 16 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 17], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 17 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 18], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 4, therefore claim 18 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 19], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 19 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 20], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Regarding [claim 21], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 1 and 15, therefore claim 21 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 22], Yang discloses the method of Claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein: the first time is after one or more of the second times; or the first time is before one or more of the second times (see, Paragraph [0020]: “The information indicative or representative of the orientation of the electronic device 210 can be utilized or otherwise leveraged to transform the readings indicative or otherwise representative of the magnetic field in the sensor reference frame to three magnetic components in the Earth coordinate system. As such, in the example embodiment 230, the electronic device 210 can include a location sensing unit 248 that can utilize orientational measurements from the inertial sensor 250 to transform one or more readings from the magnetic sensor in the sensor coordinate system to respective one or more components in the Earth reference frame”; [0028] FIG. 3B for two different measurement instances—conveyed with traces 360 and 370; [0039] The example magnetic measurements in FIG. 4 include measurements performed while traversing substantially the same trajectory in opposite directions. ).
As to [claim 23], Yang discloses the method of Claim 4.
Yang further discloses wherein each of one or more of the magnetic measurements comprises one or more of: a total value of a magnetic field (see, Paragraph [0028]); an inclination angle of the magnetic field; a declination angle of the magnetic field (see, Paragraph [0029]: “in one example, implementation of the location determination stage 120 can include performance of one or more magnetic measurements at a ground-truth location, and analysis of the magnetic measurement(s) based at least on a magnetic footprint that is generated or otherwise made available via the magnetic mapping stage 110. In one embodiment, a magnetic sensor ( e.g., magnetic sensor 260) integrated into or functionally coupled to an electronic device (e.g., electronic device 210) that performs the location determination stage 120 can performs the magnetic measurements. In one example, the analysis of the magnetic measurement( s) can include a comparison of the one or more magnetic measurements with respect to magnetic metrics representative or otherwise indicative of the magnetic footprint. A location estimate of a ground-truth location can be determined based at least on such a comparison. In one embodiment, a location sensing unit (such as location sensing unit 248) integrated into or functionally coupled to the electronic device that performs the location determination stage 120 can perform such an analysis and/or determine such a location estimate”); an x component of the magnetic field; a y component of the magnetic field; or a z component of the magnetic field (see, Paragraphs [0019]: “As an illustration, FIG. 2A presents an example environment 218 in which an electronic device 210 can traverse a path 214 while performing a measurement of the magnetic field at certain locations (represented with solid dots) within the path 214. In one example, each location may be represented by a position vector r=(x,y,z) in the Earth coordinate system (represented with a Cartesian coordinate system), where x and y represent in-plane coordinates of the location, and the z coordinate represents elevation in a direction that is aligned with the direction of gravity. The electronic device 210 can communicate information acquired via the measurements to one or more network(s) 220. In one aspect, at least a portion of such information can convey a magnetic metric for each of the locations in the path 214, where the magnetic metric is representative or otherwise indicative of the magnetic field at a respective location”; [0020]: “The information indicative or representative of the orientation of the electronic device 210 can be utilized or otherwise leveraged to transform the readings indicative or otherwise representative of the magnetic field in the sensor reference frame to three magnetic components in the Earth coordinate system. As such, in the example embodiment 230, the electronic device 210 can include a location sensing unit 248 that can utilize orientational measurements from the inertial sensor 250 to transform one or more readings from the magnetic sensor in the sensor coordinate system to respective one or more components in the Earth reference frame” and [0021]: “the disclosure permits to select the type of information, e.g., scalar magnetic metric or two-dimensional vector magnetic metric, that can be utilized or otherwise relied on during a location stage (e.g., stage 120) based at least on two operational states of the electronic device (e.g., electronic device 210 in FIG. 2A) for which an estimate of the location is being determined or otherwise tracked. Such a selection can be dynamic and can be effected in response to time-dependent changes in at least one of the two operational states.”).
As to [claim 24], Yang discloses the media of Claim 9, (see Paragraph [0063]), Yang further discloses wherein the magnetic-measurement device comprises the system (see, Paragraph [0070]: “It should be recognized that while the functionality instructions storage 1434 and other executable program components, such as the operating system instruction(s) 1442, are illustrated herein as discrete blocks, such software components can reside at various times in different memory components of the computing device 1410, and can be executed by at least one of the processor(s) 1414. In certain scenarios, an implementation of the location sensing component(s) 1436 can be retained on or transmitted across some form of computer readable media.”; see also [0048] Fig. 11).
As to [claim 25], Yang discloses the media of Claim 9.
Yang further discloses wherein one or more of the second magnetic measurements in one or more of the second trajectories were collected by the magnetic- measurement device or one or more other magnetic-measurement devices (see, Paragraph [0049]: “FIG. 12 illustrates another example of a method 1200 for magnetic mapping in accordance with one or more aspects of the disclosure. A computing device that can implement the subject example method can include an electronic device ( e.g., electronic device 210 or computing device 1410) including one or more magnetic sensors, one or more inertial sensors, one or more memory devices, and one or more processors functionally coupled to at least one of the memory device(s).”; [0028]: “FIG. 3B for two different measurement instances—conveyed with traces 360 and 370; [0039] The example magnetic measurements in FIG. 4 include measurements performed while traversing substantially the same trajectory in opposite directions.)
As to [claim 26], Yang discloses the media of Claim 9.
Yang further discloses further wherein: the first time is after one or more of the second times; or the first time is before one or more of the second times (see, Paragraph [0020]: “The information indicative or representative of the orientation of the electronic device 210 can be utilized or otherwise leveraged to transform the readings indicative or otherwise representative of the magnetic field in the sensor reference frame to three magnetic components in the Earth coordinate system. As such, in the example embodiment 230, the electronic device 210 can include a location sensing unit 248 that can utilize orientational measurements from the inertial sensor 250 to transform one or more readings from the magnetic sensor in the sensor coordinate system to respective one or more components in the Earth reference frame”).
As to [claim 27], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 23, therefore claim 27 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 28], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 24, therefore claim 28 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 29], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 25, therefore claim 29 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 30], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 26, therefore claim 30 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 31], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 27, therefore claim 31 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Conclusion
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663