DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 27 April 2026, regarding application number 17/348,988.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the Duty to disclose information material to patentability see 37 CFR 1.56 and MPEP 2001.03.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 13 November 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-61 are pending. Claims 7-50 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-6 and 51-61 have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages , filed 27 April 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 51-61 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but our not persuasive for at least the reasons discussed in the prior office action. For example, the cited Cochran reference teaches at least the newly added limitation “in which the fabric structure includes a matrix yarn that includes one or more pigments before it is woven together into the fabric structure” in at least Col. 6, lines 3-11 "It is also possible to color or print some or all the reinforcing fabrics before the matrix is put in place. An advantage of doing this is that the color of the reinforcing fabric will not migrate subsequent to curing of the matrix, the color being shielded from UV rays, abrasion, and similar hazards by the urethane matrix which by itself can be clear, allowing the use of printing materials and techniques that might be otherwise unqualified because of marking off or the like."
However, upon further consideration and for the sake of compact prosecution, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited reference Workinger et al. (US 20200156711 A1). See full details below.
Claim Objections
Claim 52 is objected to because of the following informality: The claim contains a typographical error, "thermos plastic" should read "thermoplastic".
Examiner additionally recommends to amend the spelling of "color" and "colour" throughout the claims to be consistent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 51, 54 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger et al. (US 20180339456 A1 and Czinger hereinafter), in view of Buckley (US 20070241478 A1 and Buckley hereinafter) and Workinger et al. (US 20200156711 A1 and Workinger hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Czinger teaches a vehicle robotic production environment (see all Figs.; [0004]-[0007]), in which the environment comprises robots that are organised as groups of cells, each cell with no more than 10 robots (see Fig. 1A, robotic assembly stations 1010A-N and automated constructors 120; [0005]-[0006], [0048]-[0050], [0060]-[0062] and [0126]), and in which:
(i) one group of cells is configured to transform a fabric structure into a composite vehicle body panel that is colored, thereby eliminating the need for steel panel pressing equipment and spray painting equipment (see [0123]-[0125] and [0143] ; see especially [0123 "For example, in a body production area 2700, the system may produce custom exterior body panels and other custom formed members. The body panels may comprise materials such as aluminum, carbon fiber, fiber-reinforced plastic, or plastic."]. Additionally, [0124] states that the use of plastic, carbon, and/or aluminum bodies "may" allow the bodies to be wrapped, and therefore the body panels do not necessarily have to be wrapped.), and an autonomous mobile robot is configured to then (ii) move the composite colored vehicle body panel formed by the cell away from the cell, to a trimming cell to trim and to shape the composite colored vehicle body panel into a final shape (see Fig. 23, all; [0223]);
(ii) other cells are configured to assemble at least portions of a vehicle together from modular components and the composite colored vehicle body panel (see Fig. 2, chassis build lines 2300, general assembly 2500 and body assemblies 2600-2650; [0006], [0043], [0049], [0121] and [0126]); and
(iii) in which the robotic production environment includes AMRs (autonomous mobile robots) configured to serve each cell, eliminating the need for a moving production line in the production environment (see "mobile supply vehicles" and "mobile support vehicles" in [0089], [0136] and [0144]-[0145]).
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell with a tool configured to mould the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored vehicle body panel, and in which an autonomous mobile robot (i) is configured to supply the fabric structure to the moulding cell.
Czinger is additionally silent regarding the composite vehicle body panel is colored throughout its thickness so that an interior region of the panel matches the final exterior color of the vehicle body panel and
in which the fabric structure includes a matrix yarn that includes one or more pigments before it is woven together into the fabric structure.
Buckley teaches a vehicle robotic production environment (see all Figs.; [0006]), in which the environment comprises robots that are organised as groups of cells, each cell with no more than 10 robots (see Fig. 2, robots 74; [0062]), and in which:
(i) one group of cells is configured to transform a fabric structure into a composite vehicle body panel that is colored, thereby eliminating the need for steel panel pressing equipment and spray painting equipment (see Fig. 2, cured preform 82 and "composite blank of reinforcement material and binder"; [0062]-[0063] and [0068]; the composite blank of reinforcement material and binder is inherently colored because the fibers can be made up of glass and the resin can be thermoplastic as discussed in [0068]), and in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell (see Fig. 2, mold 72 and press 76; [0062]-[0063]) with a tool configured to mould the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored vehicle body panel (see Fig. 2, press 76; [0001], [0062]-[0063] and [0068]), and in which the fabric structure includes a matrix yarn (see [0070 "At the supply stage 1, a plurality of rolls of reinforcement material, such as glass fiber continuous strand, woven fabric or the like is mounted for dispensing a like plurality of webs of the material superposed with respect to one another toward a compaction stage 3 where the webs are received, guided and directed coplanar with respect to one another."]), and in which an autonomous mobile robot (i) is configured to supply the fabric structure to the moulding cell (see Fig. 2, robot 74 and press 76; [0062]-[0063]).
Workinger teaches a vehicle production environment (see all Figs.; [0004]) in which:
(i) one group of cells is configured to transform a fabric structure into a composite vehicle body panel that is colored throughout its thickness so that an interior region of the panel matches the final exterior color of the vehicle body panel, thereby eliminating the need for steel panel pressing equipment and spray painting equipment (see Figs. 1-4, 12-15 and 22-23, all, especially Fig. 4; [0004]-[0008 "The opposing outer surfaces of the wall portion may define a thickness of the wall portion, where the fiber fabric may be imbedded in the thickness of the resin material between the outer surfaces."], [0009 "The resin may include a pigment that corresponds with a color of a carbon fiber material of the plurality of fiber reinforcements."], [0042 "The cured resin material 14 of the pultruded profile 10 can make visual identification of the fiber fabrics or other fiber filaments difficult, especially when the resin in darkened with pigment or other additives to a similar color as the fiber reinforcements, such as a black resin color to correspond with the color of carbon fibers."], [0049] and [0066]), and in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell (see Figs. 22-23, elements after pultrusion die 155, especially cooling station 163; [0063 "The pulling mechanism 158 may pull with a force that is sufficiently limited so that it does not undesirably stretch and elongate or distort the continuous pultruded profile 162. The pultruded profile 162 continues away from the pultrusion die 155 onto a cooling station 163."]) with a tool configured to mould the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored vehicle body panel (see Figs. 4 and 12-15, all; [0004]-[0009], [0042 "As shown in FIGS. 4-6, a pultruded profile 10 is provided that is made of a resin material 12 (i.e., resin system or resin matrix) and generally continuous fiber reinforcements 14, such as fiber filaments, fiber tow, and fiber fabrics, that extend along a length of the profile 10."], [0049], [0057]-[0060 "The polymeric material, such as a thermoplastic resin, and other continuous reinforcements, such as individual fiber filaments may be disposed in the open areas of the cross-sectional profile, such as shown in FIG. 22 being disposed at the areas between the interior and exterior fabric reinforcements.”] and [0066]), and in which the fabric structure includes a matrix yarn that includes one or more pigments before it is woven together into the fabric structure (see Figs. 12-15; [0007]-[0009 "The resin may include a pigment that corresponds with a color of a carbon fiber material of the plurality of fiber reinforcements."], [0042 "... a similar color as the fiber reinforcements, such as a black resin color to correspond with the color of carbon fibers."], [0057 "The fiber fabric or fabrics disposed in the pultruded profile may be a woven fabric construction or a non-crimped, stitched fabric construction, where the fabrics may include unidirectional, biaxial, and triaxial composite layering configurations, such as shown in FIGS. 12-16. As shown in FIG. 12, the unidirectional fabric 50 may have a thickness of about 0.69 mm and a tow of about 50,000 filament/tow, where the unidirectional carbon fiber may be stitched together. The biaxial fabric 52, such as shown in FIG. 13, has a thickness of about 0.64 mm and a tow of about 12,000 filaments/tow. The triaxial fabrics 54, 56, such as shown in FIGS. 14-16, may have a thickness of about 0.6 mm and a tow of about 12,000 filaments/tow for the two 45 degree orientation layers and about 24,000 filaments/tow for the zero degree orientation."]-[0060] and [0066]), and (i) is configured to supply the fabric structure to the moulding cell (see [0063 "The pulling mechanism 158 may pull with a force that is sufficiently limited so that it does not undesirably stretch and elongate or distort the continuous pultruded profile 162. The pultruded profile 162 continues away from the pultrusion die 155 onto a cooling station 163."]); and
(ii) move the composite colored vehicle body panel formed by the cell away from the cell, to a trimming cell to trim and to shape the composite colored vehicle body panel into a final shape (see Fig. 23, cut-off saw 164; [0063 "Once the pultruded profile 162 is sufficiently cooled to maintain its shape, a cutoff device such as cut-off saw 164 cuts the continuous pultruded profile 162 into sections of desired length."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle production environment of Czinger to further include a moulding cell with a tool configured to mould the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored vehicle body panel and in which an autonomous mobile robot is configured to supply the fabric structure to the moulding cell, as taught by Buckley, in order to produce the composite colored vehicle body panel on-site in an automated manner.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle production environment of Czinger to transform the fabric structure into a composite vehicle body panel that is colored throughout its thickness so that an interior region of the panel matches the final exterior color of the vehicle body panel and in which the fabric structure includes a matrix yarn that includes one or more pigments before it is woven together into the fabric structure, as taught by Workinger, in order to conceal the fiber fabrics from visual identification.
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger further teaches in combination with a factory building, in which the composite coloured vehicle body panel does not need conventional spray painting (see [0123]-[0124]).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger further teaches in which the cells that assemble at least portions of a vehicle together from modular components and the composite colored vehicle body panel comprise each cell comprises a group of robots that are programmed to assemble, at a fixed location and not a moving production line, at least part of the vehicle by joining together multiple, modular components (see Fig. 2, chassis build lines 2300, general assembly 2500 and body assemblies 2600-2650; [0043], [0049], [0069], [0121] and [0126]), each component designed or selected for robotic production, handling or assembly; and the cells together assemble substantially the entire vehicle (see Fig. 2, all; [0043], [0121] and [0126]).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger further teaches in which the cells that assemble at least portions of a vehicle together from modular components and the composite colored vehicle body panel comprise each cell comprises a group of robots that are programmed to assemble, at a fixed location and not a moving production line (see Fig. 2, all; [0043], [0049], [0069], [0121] and [0126]), at least part of the vehicle by
(a) joining together multiple components to form a structural chassis, and a body structure (see Fig. 2, chassis build lines 2300 and body assemblies 2600-2650; [0121]-[0126]), and (b) adding the composite colored vehicle body panels and composite roof panels to the body structure, and all of the components and the panels are designed or selected for robotic production, handling or assembly (see Fig. 2, general assembly and body assemblies 2600-2650; [0123]-[0126]).
Regarding Claim 51
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the composite colored vehicle body panel is an exterior vehicle side panel and/or exterior roof panel that forms part of the exterior surface of the vehicle.
Workinger teaches in which the composite colored vehicle body panel is an exterior vehicle side panel and/or exterior roof panel that forms part of the exterior surface of the vehicle (see Figs. 2-3, all, especially luggage rack beams and running boards; [0041 "With respect to vehicle applications, pultruded profiles may be used, for example, as structural frame beams, exterior beam components (e.g., luggage rack beams and running boards), impact energy management reinforcement beams that are configured to undergo impact loads at various sections of the beam and receive and distribute such impact loads in a desirable manner, such as door beams and bumper beams. As provided in the exemplary vehicles 100 and 200 shown FIGS. 1-3, a running board 209 is provided and a body structure or vehicle frame 101 has multiple structural beams, one or all of which may be provided as a pultruded profile as described herein."] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to be an exterior vehicle side panel and/or exterior roof panel that forms part of the exterior surface of the vehicle, as taught by Workinger, in order to reduce the vehicle weight while improving vehicle performance.
Regarding Claim 54
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use one or more coloured fabric layers, in which the colour in the fabric structure is conferred by one or more pigments.
Workinger teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use one or more coloured fabric layers, in which the colour in the fabric structure is conferred by one or more pigments (see Figs. 12-15; [0007]-[0009 "The resin may include a pigment that corresponds with a color of a carbon fiber material of the plurality of fiber reinforcements."], [0042 "... a similar color as the fiber reinforcements, such as a black resin color to correspond with the color of carbon fibers."], [0057 "The fiber fabric or fabrics disposed in the pultruded profile may be a woven fabric construction or a non-crimped, stitched fabric construction, where the fabrics may include unidirectional, biaxial, and triaxial composite layering configurations, such as shown in FIGS. 12-16. As shown in FIG. 12, the unidirectional fabric 50 may have a thickness of about 0.69 mm and a tow of about 50,000 filament/tow, where the unidirectional carbon fiber may be stitched together. The biaxial fabric 52, such as shown in FIG. 13, has a thickness of about 0.64 mm and a tow of about 12,000 filaments/tow. The triaxial fabrics 54, 56, such as shown in FIGS. 14-16, may have a thickness of about 0.6 mm and a tow of about 12,000 filaments/tow for the two 45 degree orientation layers and about 24,000 filaments/tow for the zero degree orientation."]-[0060] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include one or more coloured fabric layers, in which the colour in the fabric structure is conferred by one or more pigments, as taught by Workinger, in order to conceal the fiber fabrics from visual identification.
Regarding Claim 61
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell with a tool configured to heat and press the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, in a closed mould such that pigments within the thermoplastic matrix provide the final color of the panel prior to application of a protective layer.
Workinger teaches in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell with a tool configured to heat and press the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, in a closed mould such that pigments within the thermoplastic matrix provide the final color of the panel prior to application of a protective layer (see Figs. 22-23, all, especially Fig. 4; [0009 "The resin may include a pigment that corresponds with a color of a carbon fiber material of the plurality of fiber reinforcements."], [0042 "The cured resin material 14 of the pultruded profile 10 can make visual identification of the fiber fabrics or other fiber filaments difficult, especially when the resin in darkened with pigment or other additives to a similar color as the fiber reinforcements, such as a black resin color to correspond with the color of carbon fibers."] and [0062 "A preheater 153 can be used to warm the reinforcements at or downstream of the guide 152 (and/or guide 154) to assist in optimal uniform coating and adhesion of polymer to the reinforcements when passing into and through the pultrusion die 155. The reinforcements 70-91 extend from the guide 154 into the pultrusion die 155 (also called an “injection die”) where polymer (also called “resin”) is delivered from a resin supply tank 156. The polymer is pumped under pressure from the resin supply tank 156 into the pultrusion die 155 with sufficient pressure and rate to fully wet and coat all reinforcements 70-91, with the rate and pressure and reinforcement speed being sufficient to achieve a desired fiber volume fraction and desired uniformity of reinforcement density throughout the pultruded profile. The tracer element 16 may also partially absorb the resin that forms the polymeric material in the injection die 155 that is shaped or configured to form the desired cross-sectional profile of the profile 10."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include a moulding cell with a tool configured to heat and press the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, in a closed mould such that pigments within the thermoplastic matrix provide the final color of the panel prior to application of a protective layer, as taught by Workinger, in order to provide and aesthetically pleasing vehicle body panel while reducing the vehicle weight and improving vehicle performance.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (as modified by Buckley and Workinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rawas et al. (US 20190283824 A1 and Rawas hereinafter) and Kilibarda et al. (US 20110209321 A1 and Kilibarda2 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger further teaches in combination with a factory building, in which the production environment is installed in the factory building, or a network of factory buildings, that take up less than an average area (see [0046]-[0047] and [0058]).
The Courts have held that "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." and a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 and Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). See also MPEP 2114(II). The claim limitation “is installed in the factory building, or a network of factory buildings, that are each less than 25,000 square meters in area, and in which the factory building is a repurposed conventional warehouse that has not been purpose-build for vehicle production.” is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention. The cited prior art Czinger teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above. The structure taught by Czinger is capable of being employed in a factory, or a network of factories, that are each less than 25,000 square meters in area. Therefore, Czinger teaches the claim.
For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that “Czinger is silent regarding the factory building, or a network of factory buildings, that are each less than 25,000 square meters in are, and in which the factory building is a repurposed conventional warehouse that has not been purpose-build for vehicle production.”, Rawas and Kilibarda2 teach the claimed features.
That is, Rawas teaches a vehicle robotic production environment (see all Figs.; [0007]-[0008]), in which the environment comprises robots that are organised as groups of cells, each cell with no more than 10 robots (see Fig. 1A, manufacturing cell 100 and robots 132 and 135; [0008], [0026], [0047] and [0060]), and in which:
(ii) other cells are configured to assemble at least portions of a vehicle together from modular components (see [0008], [0023], [0027] and [0044]-[0046]); and
in combination with a factory building, in which the production environment is installed in the factory building, or a network of factory buildings, that are each less than 25,000 square meters in area (see [0050]).
Kilibarda2 teaches a vehicle robotic production environment (see Figs. 2-3, all; [0006]),
in which the environment comprises robots that are organised as groups of cells, each cell with no more than 10 robots (see Fig. 2, robots 230; [0027] and [0043]-[0047]), and in which:
(ii) other cells are configured to assemble at least portions of a vehicle together from modular components and the vehicle body panel (see Figs. 2-3, all; [0006 "In one example, the modular manufacturing facility is for use in building passenger vehicle sheet metal body structures, each body commonly referred to as a Body-in-White (BIW). In one example of the modular manufacturing facility, a fully operational manufacturing or assembly line is shipped, assembled and installed at a remote location."]-[0008]); and
in combination with a factory building, in which the production environment is installed in the factory building, or a network of factory buildings and in which the factory building is a repurposed conventional warehouse that has not been purpose-build for vehicle production (see [0006 "In one example of the modular manufacturing facility, a fully operational manufacturing or assembly line is shipped, assembled and installed at a remote location. The remote location requires much less building infrastructure than traditional plants. In one example, only a supported roof or ceiling is provided with a firm and substantially continuous floor or support surface. The preselected service and equipment modules are unpacked, assembled to form an assembly line suitable for the vehicle to be built and the respective modules are plugged or connected to a source of power or other resource that is provided from one of the other modules or is resident at the assembly location site."]-[0011] and [0028 "In one example shown in FIG. 2, the facility 100 requires only an exterior building shell 104, for example an empty warehouse (not shown), with an upper portion ... It is a design aspect for facility 100 to rely very little, if at all, on the exterior shell 104 and conventional plant heavy duty infrastructure to relatively quickly fabricate or assemble the necessary equipment for a fully operational facility."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the vehicle robotic production environment of modified Czinger to be installed in a factory or a network of factories that are each less than 25,000 square meters in area and in which the factory building is a repurposed conventional warehouse that has not been purpose-build for vehicle production, as taught by Rawas and/or Kilibarda2, in order to provide a production environment requiring minimal plant infrastructure at the site and being highly efficient and environmentally friendly to the surrounding area.
Installing the production environment in a factory or a network of factories that are each less than 25,000 square meters in area would have been obvious because it would have been well within the level of skill of the person having ordinary skill in the art and a factory that is less than 25,000 square meters is among the finite number of factory layouts which can be chosen for the production environment. Choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, E.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (as modified by Buckley and Workinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kilibarda2.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger further teaches in combination with a factory building, in which the production environment is installed in the factory building, and in which the factory building is without a vehicle body panel stamping press (see [0123]).
The Courts have held that "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." and a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 and Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). See also MPEP 2114(II). The claim limitation “the production environment is installed in the factory building, and in which the factory building has a conventional flat concrete floor that has not been strengthened for a vehicle body panel stamping press.” is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention. The cited prior art Czinger teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above. The structure taught by Czinger is capable of being employed in a building with a conventional flat concrete floor that has not been strengthened for a vehicle body panel stamping press. Therefore, Czinger teaches the claim.
Czinger is silent regarding in which the robots of the groups of cells are each mounted on a free-standing platform that is not fixed to the floor of the factory, the platforms being arranged directly on the conventional flat concrete floor.
Kilibarda2 teaches in combination with a factory building, in which the production environment is installed in the factory building, and in which the factory building has a conventional flat concrete floor that has not been strengthened for a vehicle body panel stamping press, and in which the robots of the groups of cells are each mounted on a free-standing platform that is not fixed to the floor of the factory, the platforms being arranged directly on the conventional flat concrete floor (see Fig. 2, all, especially support surface/plant floor 150 and scaffolding 218; [0007], [0027]-[0029 "As shown, in a preferred example, modular facility 100 includes a firm rigid support surface or floor 150. Support surface 150 is preferably a concrete, paved or tiled surface and is continuous, or substantially continuous, to provide for an uninterrupted path for assembly line 125 and movement of the vehicle bodies 120, or other devices being built or assembled. In the example, minimal or no conventional recesses or pits need be dug through the support surface 150 greatly reducing facility build out, time and capital investment. Depending on the predetermined vehicle being built, the build processes and equipment needed, support surface 150 may vary, for example may have local elevation deviations known by those skilled in the field."] and [0044 "Each modular assembly station 192 includes respective modular equipment, for example scaffolding 218 and robots 230 shown in FIG. 2, and tooling (not shown) that are particular to that build station to carryout a particular build operation on, for example, vehicle body 120."]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the vehicle robotic production environment of modified Czinger to be installed in a building with a conventional flat concrete floor that has not been strengthened for a vehicle body panel stamping press and in which the robots of the groups of cells are each mounted on a free-standing platform that is not fixed to the floor of the factory, the platforms being arranged directly on the conventional flat concrete floor, as taught by Kilibarda2, in order to provide a production environment requiring minimal plant infrastructure at the site and being highly efficient and environmentally friendly to the surrounding area.
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (as modified by Buckley and Workinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 20110281076 A1 and Anderson hereinafter) and Williams et al. (US 20190389094 A1 and Williams hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 52
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to add a colour layer, free of any fibres, to sit over the fabric structure, where the color layer is formed from a polymer yarn and includes a coloured layer sandwiched between the fabric structure and an outermost, clear protective layer, and in which the colour layer is formed from a thermoplastic polymer yarn that is chemically compatible with the thermoplastic matrix of the fabric structure so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is suitable for recycling.
Anderson teaches a vehicle robotic production environment (see all Figs.; [0003] and [0009]-[0010]), comprising
(i) one group of cells is configured to transform a fabric structure into a composite vehicle body panel that is colored throughout its thickness so that an interior region of the panel matches the final exterior color of the vehicle body panel, thereby eliminating the need for steel panel pressing equipment and spray painting equipment (see Figs. 7-8, all; [0009]-[0010] and [0038]-[0040], see especially [0038 "The opaque non-transparent protective material 111 provides a background color or base color. To this may be applied various tinted or clear layers, such as the tinted sheets of film 114 illustrated in FIG. 7."] and [0039 "The tinting may be combined with the protective material 111, as illustrated in FIG. 8, to create colors or tints, which may be opaque or transparent to show the material fibers of the fiber sheet 110."]), and in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell (see [Figs. 3-4, all; [0010] and [0027]-[0032]) with a tool configured to mould the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored vehicle body panel (see [0010], [0025] and [0027]);
in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to add a colour layer, free of any fibres, to sit over the fabric structure, where the color layer is formed from a polymer yarn and includes a coloured layer sandwiched between the fabric structure and an outermost, clear protective layer (see Fig. 7, protective material 111; [0021], [0025] and [0038]-[0039]).
Williams teaches a production environment (see all Figs.; [0012]-[0014]), comprising
fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored vehicle body panel (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0029]-[0042]), and
in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to add a colour layer, to sit over the fabric structure, where the color layer is formed from a polymer yarn (see Fig. 1, primary backing layer 120; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0042 "The floorcovering article of the present invention may be dyed or printed by techniques known to those skilled in the art. Printing inks will contain at least one dye. "], [0033 "The primary backing can be any suitable primary backing. The preferred embodiment uses a nonwoven polyester spunbond. In one aspect, the polyester spunbond backing is Lutradur® from Freudenberg Nonwovens of Weinheim, Germany. In another aspect, flat woven polyester tapes, such as Isis™ from Propex of Chattanooga, Tenn., may be utilized. If needed, a primary backing made of a woven tape with either staple fibers or nonwoven fabrics affixed can be used. Also stitch bonded and knitted polyester fabrics may be used."], [0046]-[0048] and [0061 "Additionally, the fibers comprising the floorcovering article may include additives coextruded therein, may be precoated with any number of different materials, including those listed in greater detail below, and/or may be dyed or colored to provide other aesthetic features for the end user with any type of colorant, such as, for example, poly(oxyalkylenated) colorants, as well as pigments, dyes, tints, and the like."]),
in which the colour layer is formed from a thermoplastic polymer yarn that is chemically compatible with the thermoplastic matrix of the fabric structure so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is suitable for recycling (see [0012]-[0014], [0029 "The present invention described herein is a substantially 100% polyester floorcovering article that meets commercial tile specifications and that is fully recyclable at the end-of-life and its method of manufacture. In one aspect, the floorcovering article of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1. The floorcovering article 100 is comprised of a plurality of face yarns 110 that are tufted into a primary backing fabric 120. The face yarns 110 are held in place by an adhesive layer 130. The adhesive layer 130 also adheres a secondary backing 140 to the floorcovering article. The floorcovering article 100 is made entirely from materials in the polyester polymer family."]-[0042], [0046]-[0048] and [0061 "Additionally, the fibers comprising the floorcovering article may include additives coextruded therein, may be precoated with any number of different materials, including those listed in greater detail below, and/or may be dyed or colored to provide other aesthetic features for the end user with any type of colorant, such as, for example, poly(oxyalkylenated) colorants, as well as pigments, dyes, tints, and the like."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to add a colour layer, free of any fibres, to sit over the fabric structure, where the color layer is formed from a polymer yarn and includes a coloured layer sandwiched between the fabric structure and an outermost, clear protective layer, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide and environmentally-friendly, aesthetically pleasing and long lasting vehicle body panel.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include the colour layer formed from a thermoplastic polymer yarn that is chemically compatible with the thermoplastic matrix of the fabric structure so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is suitable for recycling, as taught by Williams, in order to be completely recyclable without requiring separation steps.
Claims 53 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (as modified by Buckley and Workinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cochran (US 6156403 A and Cochran hereinafter) and Williams.
Regarding Claim 53
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use one or more fabric layers in the structure that have a colour that matches, i.e. is the same as or sufficiently similar to, the colour of the finish layer or the top layer, so that scratches that penetrate the finish layer or the top layer are concealed or not prominent, in which the one or more fabric layers are made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is fully recyclable.
Workinger teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use one or more fabric layers in the structure that have a colour that matches, i.e. is the same as or sufficiently similar to, the colour of the finish layer or the top layer (see Figs. 12-15, all, especially Fig. 4; [0004]-[0008 "The opposing outer surfaces of the wall portion may define a thickness of the wall portion, where the fiber fabric may be imbedded in the thickness of the resin material between the outer surfaces."], [0009 "The resin may include a pigment that corresponds with a color of a carbon fiber material of the plurality of fiber reinforcements."], [0042 "The cured resin material 14 of the pultruded profile 10 can make visual identification of the fiber fabrics or other fiber filaments difficult, especially when the resin in darkened with pigment or other additives to a similar color as the fiber reinforcements, such as a black resin color to correspond with the color of carbon fibers."], [0049] and [0066]).
Cochran teaches a production environment (see Col. 1, lines 52-64), including
(i) one group of cells is configured to transform a fabric structure into a composite panel that is colored throughout its thickness so that an interior region of the panel matches the final exterior color of the panel, thereby eliminating the need for steel panel pressing equipment and spray painting equipment (see Figs. 1A-1E, all; Col. 3, lines 11-23; "As indicated, the film may be clear (transparent) or it may be colored or carry a design, printing, texture, embossing, topography or the like on its surface. In one embodiment of the invention, a fabric layer within the matrix may be provided with a color, print or design so that if the polyurethane matrix and polymer film are transparent, the color, print or design will how through while being protected by the polymer film from wear, abrasion, sunlight or the like. In another embodiment, the film itself may carry color, printing or a design either on an exposed surface or on an interior surface adjacent to the matrix in which case the film itself serves to protect the color, print or design."; Col. 6, lines 1-11 "It is possible to provide printing on either side of the thermoplastic polyurethane film if desired. It is also possible to tint or intensively color the film throughout. The matrix may also be tinted or intensively colored before it cures and, albeit not preferable, after it cures. It is also possible to color or print some or all the reinforcing fabrics before the matrix is put in place. An advantage of doing this is that the color of the reinforcing fabric will not migrate subsequent to curing of the matrix, the color being shielded from UV rays, abrasion, and similar hazards by the urethane matrix which by itself can be clear, allowing the use of printing materials and techniques that might be otherwise unqualified because of marking off or the like."; Col. 6, lines 47-49 "Any one or more of the film, fabric and polyurethane matrix can be colored to give the effect ultimately desired in the final product.") in which the group of cells includes a moulding cell (see Figs. 3-6, all; Col. 1, line 65 - Col. 2, line 24) with a tool configured to mould the fabric structure, made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix, to form a composite colored panel (see Figs 1A-1E, all; Col. 1, lines 52-58 "Broadly described, a product according to the invention comprises: (1) a composite as in, for example, Ser. No. 08/236,258, comprising a solid polyurethane matrix surrounding a fibrous reinforcing material where the matrix is formed in situ by reaction of liquid matrix-forming materials about the fibrous material...."; Col. 6, lines 23-39), and in which the fabric structure includes a matrix yarn that includes one or more pigments before it is woven together into the fabric structure (see Col. 3, lines 61-64 "The fabrics used for this embodiment may be woven, non-woven, knit, braided, stitch-bonded or combinations thereof, optionally replaced by or employed with laid yarns or filaments or random cut or continuous fibers."; Col. 6, lines 3-11 " It is also possible to color or print some or all the reinforcing fabrics before the matrix is put in place. An advantage of doing this is that the color of the reinforcing fabric will not migrate subsequent to curing of the matrix, the color being shielded from UV rays, abrasion, and similar hazards by the urethane matrix which by itself can be clear, allowing the use of printing materials and techniques that might be otherwise unqualified because of marking off or the like.");
in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored panel is configured to use one or more fabric layers in the structure that have a colour that matches, i.e. is the same as or sufficiently similar to, the colour of the finish layer or the top layer, so that scratches that penetrate the finish layer or the top layer are concealed or not prominent (see Figs. 1A-1E, all; Col. 3, lines 11-23; "As indicated, the film may be clear (transparent) or it may be colored or carry a design, printing, texture, embossing, topography or the like on its surface. In one embodiment of the invention, a fabric layer within the matrix may be provided with a color, print or design so that if the polyurethane matrix and polymer film are transparent, the color, print or design will how through while being protected by the polymer film from wear, abrasion, sunlight or the like. In another embodiment, the film itself may carry color, printing or a design either on an exposed surface or on an interior surface adjacent to the matrix in which case the film itself serves to protect the color, print or design."; Col. 6, lines 1-11 "It is possible to provide printing on either side of the thermoplastic polyurethane film if desired. It is also possible to tint or intensively color the film throughout. The matrix may also be tinted or intensively colored before it cures and, albeit not preferable, after it cures. It is also possible to color or print some or all the reinforcing fabrics before the matrix is put in place. An advantage of doing this is that the color of the reinforcing fabric will not migrate subsequent to curing of the matrix, the color being shielded from UV rays, abrasion, and similar hazards by the urethane matrix which by itself can be clear, allowing the use of printing materials and techniques that might be otherwise unqualified because of marking off or the like.").
Williams teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored panel is configured to use one or more fabric layers in the structure that have a colour that matches, i.e. is the same as or sufficiently similar to, the colour of the finish layer or the top layer (see Fig. 1, primary backing layer 120 and/or secondary backing layer 140; [0012]-[0014], [0029]-[0042 "The floorcovering article of the present invention may be dyed or printed by techniques known to those skilled in the art. Printing inks will contain at least one dye."], [0046]-[0048] and [0061 "Additionally, the fibers comprising the floorcovering article may include additives coextruded therein, may be precoated with any number of different materials, including those listed in greater detail below, and/or may be dyed or colored to provide other aesthetic features for the end user with any type of colorant, such as, for example, poly(oxyalkylenated) colorants, as well as pigments, dyes, tints, and the like."]), in which the one or more fabric layers are made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is fully recyclable (see [0012]-[0014], [0029 "The present invention described herein is a substantially 100% polyester floorcovering article that meets commercial tile specifications and that is fully recyclable at the end-of-life and its method of manufacture. In one aspect, the floorcovering article of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1. The floorcovering article 100 is comprised of a plurality of face yarns 110 that are tufted into a primary backing fabric 120. The face yarns 110 are held in place by an adhesive layer 130. The adhesive layer 130 also adheres a secondary backing 140 to the floorcovering article. The floorcovering article 100 is made entirely from materials in the polyester polymer family."]-[0042], [0046]-[0048] and [0061 "Additionally, the fibers comprising the floorcovering article may include additives coextruded therein, may be precoated with any number of different materials, including those listed in greater detail below, and/or may be dyed or colored to provide other aesthetic features for the end user with any type of colorant, such as, for example, poly(oxyalkylenated) colorants, as well as pigments, dyes, tints, and the like."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include one or more fabric layers in the structure that have a colour that matches the colour of the finish layer or the top layer so that scratches that penetrate the finish layer or the top layer are concealed or not prominent, as taught by Cochran, in order prevent color from the fibers from migrating into the thermoplastic while shading the color from scratches.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include the one or more fabric layers made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is fully recyclable, as taught by Williams, in order to be completely recyclable without requiring separation steps.
Regarding Claim 59
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of Claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Czinger is silent regarding wherein scratches that penetrate a finish layer or a top layer of the composite colored vehicle body panel are concealed or not prominent because the interior of the panel exhibits substantially the same color as the exterior, in which the composite colored vehicle body panel is made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix so that the panel is fully recyclable..
Cochran teaches wherein scratches that penetrate a finish layer or a top layer of the composite colored vehicle body panel are concealed or not prominent because the interior of the panel exhibits substantially the same color as the exterior (see Figs. 1A-1E, all; Col. 3, lines 11-23; "As indicated, the film may be clear (transparent) or it may be colored or carry a design, printing, texture, embossing, topography or the like on its surface. In one embodiment of the invention, a fabric layer within the matrix may be provided with a color, print or design so that if the polyurethane matrix and polymer film are transparent, the color, print or design will how through while being protected by the polymer film from wear, abrasion, sunlight or the like. In another embodiment, the film itself may carry color, printing or a design either on an exposed surface or on an interior surface adjacent to the matrix in which case the film itself serves to protect the color, print or design."; Col. 6, lines 1-11 "It is possible to provide printing on either side of the thermoplastic polyurethane film if desired. It is also possible to tint or intensively color the film throughout. The matrix may also be tinted or intensively colored before it cures and, albeit not preferable, after it cures. It is also possible to color or print some or all the reinforcing fabrics before the matrix is put in place. An advantage of doing this is that the color of the reinforcing fabric will not migrate subsequent to curing of the matrix, the color being shielded from UV rays, abrasion, and similar hazards by the urethane matrix which by itself can be clear, allowing the use of printing materials and techniques that might be otherwise unqualified because of marking off or the like.").
Williams teaches in which the composite colored vehicle body panel is made of fibre and a thermoplastic matrix so that the panel is fully recyclable (see [0012]-[0014], [0029 "The present invention described herein is a substantially 100% polyester floorcovering article that meets commercial tile specifications and that is fully recyclable at the end-of-life and its method of manufacture. In one aspect, the floorcovering article of the present invention is shown in FIG. 1. The floorcovering article 100 is comprised of a plurality of face yarns 110 that are tufted into a primary backing fabric 120. The face yarns 110 are held in place by an adhesive layer 130. The adhesive layer 130 also adheres a secondary backing 140 to the floorcovering article. The floorcovering article 100 is made entirely from materials in the polyester polymer family."]-[0042], [0046]-[0048] and [0061 "Additionally, the fibers comprising the floorcovering article may include additives coextruded therein, may be precoated with any number of different materials, including those listed in greater detail below, and/or may be dyed or colored to provide other aesthetic features for the end user with any type of colorant, such as, for example, poly(oxyalkylenated) colorants, as well as pigments, dyes, tints, and the like."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to exhibit the interior of the panel to be the same color as the exterior to conceal scratches to the top layer of the panel, as taught by Cochran, in order prevent color from the fibers from migrating into the thermoplastic while shading the color from scratches.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to be made of fiber and a thermoplastic matrix so that the panel is fully recyclable, as taught by Williams, in order to be completely recyclable without requiring separation steps.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (as modified by Buckley and Workinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams.
Regarding Claim 55
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a matrix yarn that is a thermoplastic polymer yarn that is chemically compatible with the fibre of the fabric structure so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is suitable for recycling.
Workinger teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a matrix yarn (see Figs. 12-15; [0057 "The fiber fabric or fabrics disposed in the pultruded profile may be a woven fabric construction or a non-crimped, stitched fabric construction, where the fabrics may include unidirectional, biaxial, and triaxial composite layering configurations, such as shown in FIGS. 12-16. As shown in FIG. 12, the unidirectional fabric 50 may have a thickness of about 0.69 mm and a tow of about 50,000 filament/tow, where the unidirectional carbon fiber may be stitched together. The biaxial fabric 52, such as shown in FIG. 13, has a thickness of about 0.64 mm and a tow of about 12,000 filaments/tow. The triaxial fabrics 54, 56, such as shown in FIGS. 14-16, may have a thickness of about 0.6 mm and a tow of about 12,000 filaments/tow for the two 45 degree orientation layers and about 24,000 filaments/tow for the zero degree orientation."]-[0060] and [0066]).
Williams teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a matrix yarn that is a thermoplastic polymer yarn that is chemically compatible with the fibre of the fabric structure so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is suitable for recycling (see Fig. 1, primary backing layer 120 and/or secondary backing layer 140; [0012]-[0014 "In yet another aspect, the invention relates to a polyester floorcovering article comprised of polyester pile yarn..."], [0029]-[0042 "The floorcovering article of the present invention may be dyed or printed by techniques known to those skilled in the art. Printing inks will contain at least one dye."], [0046]-[0048] and [0061 "Additionally, the fibers comprising the floorcovering article may include additives coextruded therein, may be precoated with any number of different materials, including those listed in greater detail below, and/or may be dyed or colored to provide other aesthetic features for the end user with any type of colorant, such as, for example, poly(oxyalkylenated) colorants, as well as pigments, dyes, tints, and the like."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include matrix yarn that is a thermoplastic polymer yarn that is chemically compatible with the fibre of the fabric structure so that the composite colored vehicle body panel is suitable for recycling, as taught by Williams, in order to be completely recyclable without requiring separation steps.
Claims 56-58 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger (as modified by Buckley and Workinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson.
Regarding Claim 56
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a finish or top layer that includes a first pigment, and the fabric structure includes a second pigment, and where the first pigment and the second pigment are the same or are different.
Anderson teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a finish or top layer that includes a first pigment, and the fabric structure includes a second pigment, and where the first pigment and the second pigment are the same or are different (see Fig. 7, tinted layer 114 and/or protective material 111; [0009]-[0010], [0021] and [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include a finish or top layer that includes a first pigment, and the fabric structure includes a second pigment, and where the first pigment and the second pigment are the same or are different, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide and environmentally-friendly, aesthetically pleasing and long lasting vehicle body panel.
Regarding Claim 57
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a stack of layers that includes a colour layer and a veil layer sitting over the layers of fabric.
Anderson teaches in which the group of cells that transforms the fabric structure into the composite colored vehicle body panel is configured to use a stack of layers that includes a colour layer and a veil layer sitting over the layers of fabric (see Fig. 7, tinted layer 114 and protective material 111; [0009]-[0010] and [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include a stack of layers that includes a colour layer and a veil layer sitting over the layers of fabric, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide and environmentally-friendly, aesthetically pleasing and long lasting vehicle body panel.
Regarding Claim 58
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 57 (as discussed above in claim 57)
Czinger is silent regarding in which the veil layer confers surface texture, minimising pattern show through, and contributing to the binding of the colour layer to the layers of fabric.
Anderson teaches in which the veil layer confers surface texture, minimising pattern show through, and contributing to the binding of the colour layer to the layers of fabric (see Fig. 7, tinted layer 114; [0009]-[0010], [0021] and [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include a veil layer which confers surface texture, minimizing pattern show through, and contributing to the binding of the colour layer to the layers of fabric, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide and environmentally-friendly, aesthetically pleasing and long lasting vehicle body panel.
Regarding Claim 60
Modified Czinger teaches the vehicle robotic production environment of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1)
Czinger is silent regarding wherein the composite colored vehicle body panel includes an outermost, clear protective layer disposed over the fabric structure, and in which each layer of the fabric structure has a colour that is substantially similar to the final exterior colour of the composite vehicle body panel.
Anderson teaches wherein the composite colored vehicle body panel includes an outermost, clear protective layer disposed over the fabric structure, and in which each layer of the fabric structure has a colour that is substantially similar to the final exterior colour of the composite vehicle body panel (see Fig. 7, tinted layer 114 and/or protective layer; [0038 "To this may be applied various tinted or clear layers, such as the tinted sheets of film 114 illustrated in FIG. 7."]-[0039 "The tinting may be combined with the protective material 111, as illustrated in FIG. 8, to create colors or tints, which may be opaque or transparent to show the material fibers of the fiber sheet 110. ...In some embodiments, this protective material 111 may be clear, with a colored or tinted fiber sheet 110. Of course, the protective layer 111 may be tinted also in addition to the fiber sheet 110. In addition, a glazing tint may be applied to the protective layer 111 with another clear layer applied over it (not illustrated)."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the composite colored vehicle body panel of the vehicle production environment of modified Czinger to include a matrix yarn that includes an outermost, clear protective layer disposed over the fabric structure, and in which each layer of the fabric structure has a colour that is substantially similar to the final exterior colour of the composite vehicle body panel, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide and environmentally-friendly, aesthetically pleasing and long lasting vehicle body panel.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656