DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims / Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to an amendment filed on September 11, 2026.
Claims 51, 53, 58, 67-69 and 71-73 were previously pending. Applicant amended claim 51; cancelled claims 53, 58, 68, 71, and 73; claims 74-77 are newly added.
Claims 51, 67, 69, 72 and 74-77 are currently pending, with claim 67 withdrawn.
Claims 51, 69, 72 and 74-77 are under consideration.
All of the previously presented rejections have been withdrawn as being obviated by the amendment of the claims.
Applicant' s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
This office action contains new grounds for rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 69 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 69, lines 1-2, " wherein a risk of a post-surgical complication" should read "wherein the risk of a post-surgical complication," to properly reference the newly amended step (e) in base claim 51.
Priority
The priority date of the instant claims 51, 69, 72 and 74-77 is 12/17/2018, filling date of the US provisional application NO. 62/780,472.
Claim Interpretation
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 51 recites:
A method of preparing a non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cell-free DNA (cf-DNA) in a sample from a non- transplant, heart surgery subject, the method comprising:
(a) extracting an amount of cf-DNA from the sample from the subject;
(b) preparing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA by performing an amplification-based quantification assay or sequencing;
(c) analyzing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA to determine an amount of total cf-DNA;
(d) comparing the amount of total cf-DNA to a threshold to determine whether or not the total cf-DNA is equal to or exceeds the threshold;
(e) determining a risk of a post-surgical complication in the subject based on the comparison in (d); and/or
(f) determining a treatment or monitoring regimen for the subject based on the comparison in (d) or amount of total cf-DNA.
Therefore, as evidenced by above claim 51 recites a method comprising steps (a); (b); (c); (d); (e); and/or (f).
Under BRI, "and/or" permits the performance of any one of the recited steps alone or in combination. Thus, the claim does not require every recited step to be performed. For example, the claimed method encompass performing step (a) alone, steps (a) and (b), or all steps (a) through (f).
Further, because "comprising" is open-ended, the claimed method may include additional, unrecited steps.
Accordingly, a prior art reference teaching only step (a) satisfies the claimed method because performing step (a) alone is one of the alternatives expressly encompassed by the claim, provided that the limitation describing the sample as "a sample from a non- transplant, heart surgery subject" is also met.
For the purpose of applying prior art, regarding the preamble, claim 51 recites a method of "preparing a non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cell-free DNA (cf-DNA)."
This claim language in the preamble is interpreted as a statement of intended purpose that does not further limit the claimed method or distinguish it from prior art methods that disclose all the required limitations.
MPEP§ 2111.04 states: "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure."
Here, as discussed above, claim 51 encompasses methods that do not require any step of preparing a composition of amplified cf-DNA. For example, a method comprising only step (a) requires extracting cf-DNA from a sample from a non- transplant, heart surgery subject, but does not require amplifying the DNA or preparing a composition of amplified DNA.
Accordingly, the preamble language reciting "preparing a non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cell-free DNA (cf-DNA)" merely describes an intended purpose of the method and makes no manipulative difference. Therefore, this language does not distinguish the claimed method from prior art methods that otherwise satisfy the required claim limitations.
Claim 51 recites determining "a risk of a post-surgical complication."
The term "risk" is defined by application's disclosure as follows (specification, page 6):
“Because of the ability to determine amounts of nucleic acids, such as cf-DNA, and the correlation with health, conditions and/or outcomes in a subject, the methods provided herein can be used to assess subjects. Thus, a risk of improving or worsening can be determined in such subjects. A “risk” as provided herein, refers to the presence or absence or progression of any undesirable state or condition in a subject, or an increased likelihood of the presence or absence or progression of such a state or condition. As provided herein “increased risk” refers to the presence or progression of any undesirable state or condition in a subject or an increased likelihood of the presence or progression of such a state or condition. As provided herein, “decreased risk” refers to the absence of any undesirable state or condition or progression in a subject or a decreased likelihood of the presence or progression (or increased likelihood of the absence or nonprogression) of such a state or condition. The risk in any one of the methods provided herein may be the presence or progression of any one of the conditions or states provided herein.” [emphasis added]
Based on the definition provided ꟷ "the presence or absence or progression of any undesirable state or condition in a subject" ꟷ the term "risk" appears to encompass all scenarios. Any state can be described as the presence or absence of a condition.
The specification further describes "increased risk" as an increased likelihood of the presence of a state or condition, and "decreased risk" as a decreased likelihood of such a state or condition.
Accordingly, under BRI and in light of the specification, "a risk of a post-surgical complication" is interpreted as encompassing the likelihood of the presence of absence of a post-surgical complication in a subject.
Regarding "post-surgical complication," which is a term not defined in the application's disclosure.
Page 5 of the specification provides the following relevant description regarding "post-surgical complication":
"As used herein, the compositions and methods provided herein can be used to determine an amount of total cell-free DNA and a subject's risk of complications associated with, or following, a procedure (e.g., a heart surgery). Examples of complications include, but are not limited to, death, cardiac arrest, prolonged ventilation, prolonged length of stay in the hospital, infection, and requirement of mechanical circulatory support."
Therefore, under BRI and in light of the specification, the term "post-surgical complication" is interpreted as any unfavorable medical condition, event, or outcome occurring after a surgical procedure, including but not limited to those listed in the specification. Thus, this term under BRI encompasses any condition deviating from a healthy recovery, as such deviation could be reasonably viewed as unfavorable.
Claim 51 recites the terms "cf-DNA" and "total cf-DNA," which are defined in the specification as follows:
"As used herein, “cell-free DNA” (or cf-DNA) is DNA that is present outside of a cell, e.g., in the blood, plasma, serum, etc. of a subject. Without wishing to be bound by any particular theory or mechanism, it is believed that cf-DNA is released from cells, e.g., via apoptosis of the cells. “Total cell-free DNA” (or total cf-DNA) is the total amount of cf-DNA present in a sample. " (page 5, lines 15-19).
Accordingly, in light of the specification, the distinction between these terms is that "cf-DNA" refers to the DNA molecules themselves that are present outside of a cell, whereas "total cf-DNA" refers to the total amount of such DNA molecules present in a sample (e.g., the total amount of DNA present in a cell-free plasma sample).
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 51 recites "amplification-based quantification assay," which is described by the application's disclosure as follows:
"In some embodiments of any one of the methods provided herein, the amplification-based quantitative assay is any quantitative assay, such as whereby nucleic acids are amplified and the amounts of the nucleic acids can be determined. Such assays include those whereby nucleic acids are amplified with the MOMA primers as described herein and quantified, or other primers. Such assays also include simple amplification and detection, hybridization techniques, separation technologies, such as electrophoresis, next generation sequencing and the like." (specification, page 11-12)
Therefore, while the disclosure refers to the amplification-based quantification assay as any quantitative assay, it also indicates that the term further encompasses broader assay types that do not involve amplification, such as hybridization and separation techniques like electrophoresis, which is typically qualitative rather than quantitative1.
Therefore, under BRI and in light of the specification, the term "amplification-based quantification assay" is interpreted to encompass any assay.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 -- New
Claims 51, 69, 72 and 74-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 51 has been amended to recite:
A method of preparing a non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cell-free DNA (cf-DNA) in a sample from a non- transplant, heart surgery subject, the method comprising:
(a) extracting an amount of cf-DNA from the sample from the subject;
(b) preparing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA by performing an amplification-based quantification assay or sequencing;
(c) analyzing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA to determine an amount of total cf-DNA;
(d) comparing the amount of total cf-DNA to a threshold to determine whether or not the total cf-DNA is equal to or exceeds the threshold;
(e) determining a risk of a post-surgical complication in the subject based on the comparison in (d); and/or
(f) determining a treatment or monitoring regimen for the subject based on the comparison in (d) or amount of total cf-DNA.
Therefore, the claims are directed to steps of observing an amount of cf-DNA in a sample from a non-transplant, heart surgery subject using known molecular biology techniques, followed by mental analysis.
Following the analysis below the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 1 - Whether the Claim is to a Statutory Category: YES. The claims are drawn to a method, therefore to one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1 - Whether the Claim Recite an Abstract idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon: Yes. The claim recites a natural correlation between a subject's cf-DNA level and the subject's heath condition.
As stated in MPEP 2106.04(b)(I), laws of nature and natural phenomena, as identified by the courts, include naturally occurring principles/relations and nature-based products that are naturally occurring or that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature.
Here, the presence of an amount of cf-DNA in a subject is classified as naturally occurring principles/relations, because a certain amount of cf-DNA naturally exist in every individual, although the levels may vary. Any level of cf-DNA in a subject reflects a naturally occurring biological correlation and is thus a natural correlation.
According to the application's disclosure, the disclosed methods are directed to assessing a subject's risk of having certain conditions based on the correlation between the amount of cf-DNA and the subject's health (Specification, page 6, lines 1-3, "Because of the ability to determine amounts of nucleic acids, such as cf-DNA, and the correlation with health, conditions and/or outcomes in a subject, the methods provided herein can be used to assess subjects"; page 7, line 30, "Increasing levels of total cf-DNA can correlate with increased risk"), wherein the amount of cf-DNA may be measured using a variety of techniques known in the art, such as sequencing and PCR (see. e.g., Spec. page 11-13).
Therefore, unlike Illumina, Inc. v. Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2020), the claimed method is not a method of preparation reciting novel steps of processing a nature-based product. Rather, it merely employs known techniques to observe the natural correlation between a subject's cf-DNA level and the subject's heath condition.
Although the claim also recites "comparing the amount of total cf-DNA to a threshold," this step merely observes the judicial exception. The term "threshold" is defined in the specification as "any predetermined level or range of levels that is indicative of the presence or absence or progression of a state or condition or the presence or absence of a risk associated therewith" (specification, page 8, lines 32-34). Thus, the threshold itself represents a natural condition, and comparing the cf-DNA amount to such a threshold merely observes the natural correlation between the cf-DNA level and the likelihood of having a condition.
The amount of cf-DNA naturally occurring in a subject could be lower than, equal to, or exceed any set threshold as a matter of natural principle. While human action may be involved in deciding on or discovering a specific threshold, the relation itself exists in principle apart from any human action. See Mayo v Prometheus, 566 US 66 (2012).
In conclusion, the claims recite laws of nature and natural phenomena.
Step 2A Prong 2- Whether the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application: No. The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must “transform the nature of the claim” into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981.
Here, the additional elements in the claim do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception.
The steps recited in the claim merely applies the judicial exception in the field of molecular diagnostics, using well-known approaches, for purpose of identifying risk of a health condition, therefore these language merely indicate a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception.
Specifically, while claim 51 recites steps of extracting cf-DNA, preparing amplified cf-DNA, analyzing the amplified cf-DNA to determine an amount of total cf-DNA, comparing the amount of total cf-DNA to a threshold, determining a risk, and/or determining a treatment or monitoring regimen, these steps merely observe the naturally occurring correlation and reflect extra-solution activities for data gathering and mental processing of the data, without any additional elements that impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. See MPEP §2106.04(d). 2106.05(g).
According to MPEP§2106.05(g), determining the level of a biomarker in blood is mere data gathering. And the determining steps merely evaluate the gathered information for decision making, and do not lead to any required meaningful actions based on the judicial exception.
Thus, these method steps merely observe the judicial exception and do not integrate it into a practical application.
Although the claim recites "preparing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA," the preparation is not itself the focus or result of the claimed method. Rather the amplified cf-DNA is prepared for subsequent analysis to determine the amount of total cf-DNA. In other words, the preparing step facilitates data gathering for application of the naturally occurring correlation and does not, considered individually or in combination with the other additional elements, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Further, the recitation of "determining a treatment or monitoring regiment" does not constitute a treatment step. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) provides that, to qualify as a treatment or Prophylaxis limitation, "the claim limitation in question must affirmatively recite an action that effects a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition." Here, the claim merely determines what treatment or monitoring regiment may be appropriate and does not affirmatively require administering a particular treatment to the subject. Accordingly, the recitation does not actually provide a treatment and merely identifies an intended use or field of use for the information obtained from the recited correlation. It therefore cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B - Whether a Claim Amounts to Significantly More: No.
According to MPEP§ 2106.05, The second part of the Alice/Mayo test is often referred to as a search for an inventive concept. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 217, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71-72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (2012)). An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
In this instant case, the claims, when considered as a whole, do not recite any inventive concept with additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims recite a method for observing cf-DNA level in a subject and mental analysis steps in conjunction with a law of nature, but it fails to include any additional steps or elements that apply, rely on or use the natural principle that qualify as “significantly more.” (see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
The step of “extracting” cf-DNA, recited in claim 51 at a high level of generality, merely reflects insignificant extra-solution activities and do not qualify as “significantly more.” (see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
According to MPEP§ 2106.05, The courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
ii. Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
iii. Detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
iv. Immunizing a patient against a disease, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1063, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1497 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
v. Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
vi. Freezing and thawing cells, Rapid Litig. Mgmt. 827 F.3d at 1051, 119 USPQ2d at 1375;
vii. Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014); and
viii. Hybridizing a gene probe, Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 764, 113 USPQ2d at 1247.
Therefore, using amplification reaction or sequencing to detect cf-DNA is considered as well-understood, routine, conventional activity.
The analyzing, comparing, and determine steps do not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the judicial exception) because they are classified as abstract mental processes, which are also judicial exceptions. Moreover, the steps of “analyzing” and “comparing,” are merely data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature. Thus, these steps are insignificant extra-solution activities and do not qualify as “significantly more.” (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
The dependent claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as they represent mere general linkage of the judicial exception to the additional elements in the claims (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
In conclusion, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 -- New
Claims 51, 69, 72 and 75-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paunel-Görgülü (Paunel-Görgülü et al., cfDNA correlates with endothelial damage after cardiac surgery with prolonged cardiopulmonary bypass and amplifies NETosis in an intracellular TLR9-independent manner. Sci Rep. 2017 Dec 12;7(1):17421. doi: 10.1038/s41598-017-17561-1. PMID: 29234042; PMCID: PMC5727170.)
Paunel-Görgülü discloses Cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) provokes inflammation culminating in organ dysfunction and increased mortality. Paunel-Görgülü teaches methods to assess proinflammatory potential of circulating cell-free (cf)DNA in patients undergoing cardiac surgery with CPB. Plasma was collected pre- and postoperatively as well as at d1, d3, d5 and d8 after surgery to monitor changes in the amount of cfDNA.
Paunel-Görgülü discloses that elevated plasma cfDNA might be useful to assess CPB-mediated detrimental effects, including endothelial damage, in cardiac surgical patients with prolonged CPB duration. (Abstract; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 51, Paunel-Görgülü discloses a method comprising extracting an amount of cf-DNA from the sample from a non- transplant, heart surgery subject (Abstract, Cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) is a non- transplant, heart surgery; page 8, “Patients and sample collection.”; page 11, “DNA isolation from plasma.”; “Quantification of cfDNA and NETs.”).
Regarding claim 69, it recites:
"wherein a risk of a post-surgical complication is increased or increasing if the amount of total cf-DNA is greater than the threshold or an amount from an earlier time point; and
wherein the risk of a post-surgical complication is decreased or decreasing if the amount of total cf- DNA is less than the threshold or an amount from an earlier time point."
This limitation is anticipated by Paunel-Görgülü because it does not further distinguish the claimed method from prior art methods that disclose all of the required steps.
Per MPEP 2111.04, a wherein clause can limit a method claim if it contributes meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps.
In claim 69, however, the wherein clauses do not integrate any additional action or decision-making process into the method, and merely presents a scenario for correlating cf-DNA values with indication for change in risk.
Therefore, this claim language is interpreted as descriptive statement without any associated active steps and do not distinguish the claim from the prior art.
Regarding claim 72, Paunel-Görgülü teaches the sample is a plasma sample (Abstract; page 11, “DNA isolation from plasma.”).
Regarding claim 75, it recites “wherein the subject is assessed for at least 1, 2 or 3 weeks or at least 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9 or 12 months.”
This limitation is anticipated by Paunel-Görgülü because it does not further distinguish the claimed method from prior art methods comprising all the required steps in the claim.
Per MPEP 2111.04, a wherein clause can limit a method claim if it contributes meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps.
In this instant case, the "wherein" clause does not introduce any additional steps or modify any existing step. Rather, it merely describes a duration over which the subject is assessed. However, this description does not make a manipulative difference to the claim scope, because neither claim 75 nor its base claim recite an assessing step to which this duration could be applicable to. Therefore, the wherein clause does not impose any additional limitation on the claimed method that distinguishes it from the method disclosed by Paunel-Görgülü.
Regarding claims 76-77, they are anticipated by Paunel-Görgülü.
Claim 76 recites:
The method of claim 51, wherein the determining a monitoring regimen comprises using or suggesting the use of one or more additional test(s) to assess the subject.
Claim 77 recites:
The method of claim 51, wherein the determining a treatment regimen comprises selecting or suggesting a treatment for the subject or changing the treatment of the subject or suggesting such change.
Therefore, claims 76-77 further describe step (f) recited in claim 51. However, claim 51 recites steps (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), and/or (f) in the alternative and therefore encompass embodiments in which step (f) is not required.
Claims 76-77 merely further characterize step (f) and do not affirmatively require that step (f) be performed in every embodiment within the scope of the claims. Accordingly, an embodiment comprising step (a) without step (f) remains within the scope of claims 76-77. Because Paunel-Görgülü teaches a method comprising step (a), it anticipates claims 76-77.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 74 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paunel-Görgülü (Paunel-Görgülü et al., cfDNA correlates with endothelial damage after cardiac surgery with prolonged cardiopulmonary bypass and amplifies NETosis in an intracellular TLR9-independent manner. Sci Rep. 2017 Dec 12;7(1):17421. doi: 10.1038/s41598-017-17561-1. PMID: 29234042; PMCID: PMC5727170.), in view of Margraf (US20090298078A1- Method for the detection of an activation of the immune system or the extent of cell death; published on 2009-12-03).
The teachings of Paunel-Görgülü are recited above and applied as for base claim 51.
Regarding claim 74, Paunel-Görgülü teaches collecting plasma pre- and postoperatively as well as at days d1, d3, d5 and d8 after surgery to monitor changes in the total amount of cfDNA (abstract; Figure 1).
Although Paunel-Görgülü does not explicitly teach collecting samples daily, this feature would have been obvious in view of Margraf, which teaches daily monitoring of cf-DNA levels in patients after surgery (Example 2 in [0088]-[0099]; Figure 1; see also [0024]).
Margraf teaches that changes in cf-DNA levels over time correlate with patients’ clinical outcome (Example 2 in [0088]-[0099]; Figure 1; see also [0024]). Specifically, an increase in cf-DNA levels relative to a prior time point may indicate further activation of the immune system or an increased extent of cell death, which is associated with poor prognosis ([0026]; [0019]-[0020]; [0092]).
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it prima facie obvious to modify Paunel-Görgülü's method to collect plasma samples daily after surgery, as taught by Margraf, to monitor changes in cf-DNA levels more frequently for assessing patient prognosis in a timelier manner.
This combination would have been obvious as it represents the KSR principle of predictable use of prior art elements (i.e., daily monitoring of cf-DNA level post-surgery) according to a known method (i.e., a method of monitoring cf-DNA every other day post-surgery) to yield predictable results. (See MPEP §2143).
The person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Paunel-Görgülü already teaches collecting plasma samples at multiple postoperative time points to monitor cf-DNA levels, and Margraf teaches that daily sampling is suitable for this same purpose. Increasing the frequency of sample collection from selected postoperative days to daily collection would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art and would predictably provide more frequent measurement of cf-DNA levels.
Double Patenting- Obvious Type -- New
Claims 51, 72 and 74-77 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14-15, 23, 28 and 31 of copending Application No. 18/035,921 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over the claims (filed on 10/16/2026) of the '921 application.
Instant claim 51 recites:
A method of preparing a non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cell-free DNA (cf-DNA) in a sample from a non- transplant, heart surgery subject (‘921 Application, claim 14), the method comprising:
(a) extracting an amount of cf-DNA from the sample from the subject;
(b) preparing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA by performing an amplification-based quantification assay (‘921 Application, claim 1) or sequencing;
(c) analyzing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified cf-DNA to determine an amount of total cf-DNA;
(d) comparing the amount of total cf-DNA to a threshold to determine whether or not the total cf-DNA is equal to or exceeds the threshold (‘921 Application, claim 1);
(e) determining a risk of a post-surgical complication in the subject based on the comparison in (d); and/or
(f) determining a treatment or monitoring regimen for the subject based on the comparison in (d) or amount of total cf-DNA.
Therefore, instant claim 51 is obvious over claims 1 and 14 of the '921 application.
Instant claims 72; 74; 75; 76; 77 are obvious over claims 31; 15; 15; 23; 28 of the '921 application, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art
Below are relevant prior art not used in rejection but pertinent to the claims or disclosure.
The following prior art references also teach measuring cf-DNA levels in non-transplant surgery subjects:
Qi et al. Perioperative Elevation in Cell-Free DNA Levels in Patients Undergoing Cardiac Surgery: Possible Contribution of Neutrophil Extracellular Traps to Perioperative Renal Dysfunction. Anesthesiol Res Pract. 2016;2016:2794364. doi: 10.1155/2016/2794364. Epub 2016 Nov 2. PMID: 27882047; PMCID: PMC5110877.
Ahmed et al. Cell Free DNA and Procalcitonin as Early Markers of Complications in ICU Patients with Multiple Trauma and Major Surgery. Clin Lab. 2016 Dec 1;62(12):2395-2404. doi: 10.7754/Clin.Lab.2016.160615. PMID: 28164563.
Conclusion
Claim 69 is objected to; Claims 51, 69, 72 and 74-77 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681
1 See Medberry et al. Overview of digital electrophoresis analysis. Curr Protoc Mol Biol. 2004 May;Chapter 10:Unit 10.5. doi: 10.1002/0471142727.mb1005s66. PMID: 18265337. Abstract: “Gel electrophoresis has become a ubiquitous method in molecular biology for separating biomolecules. This prominence is the result of several factors, including the robustness, speed, and potentially high throughput of the technique. The results of this method are traditionally documented using silver halide-based photography followed by manual interpretation. While this remains an excellent method for qualitative documentation of single-gel results, digital capture offers a number of significant advantages when documentation requires quantitation and sophisticated analysis.”