DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on 03/17/23 has been received and entered. Application No. 17/349,092 of which claims 1-24 are pending in the application (See Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on 03/17/23, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s response, filed on 03/17/23, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s response with respect to 101 rejections of claims 10-12, 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections are withdrawn.
This action is made final in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1-24 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 19 recites ‘deviceon’ should be --device on-- and ‘ddevice’ should be --device--. Appropriate correction is required.
The remaining claim is objected being dependent on the objected claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jentzsch et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0191714; hereinafter “Jentzsch”) in view of Kim et al.(U.S. PGPub 2020/0005282).
As per claims 1, 10, and 21, Jentzsch discloses a computer-implemented method, a device, and a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium for operating a device which is configured to carry out transactions via at least one state channel associated with a distributed ledger technology (DLT) system, the method comprising the following steps: sending, by the device, a first message to at least one further device, the first message prompting the at least one further device to establish a state channel for the device; (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32-34 and 65-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
receiving, by the device, a second message from the at least one further device, the second message signaling that the state channel has been established for the device; (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32-34 and 65-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and carrying out at least one transaction via the state channel. (See paras. 22-23, 30, wherein executing a transaction are disclosed, also See para. 66, wherein sending transactions by state channel are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
However, Jentzsch fails to disclose transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DLT system, the device between the device and a third device, the third device being separate from the device and the at least one further device; carrying out at least one transaction between the device and the third device.
On the other hand, Kim teaches transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DLT system, (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
the device between the device and a third device, the third device being separate from the device and the at least one further device; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
carrying out at least one transaction between the device and the third device. (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Kim teachings in the Jentzsch system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate method for providing wallet access to user in the transaction process taught by Kim in the Jentzsch system for leveraging the decentralized blockchain enabled service provider system. In addition, both of the references (Jentzsch and Kim) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as database operations. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claims 13, 18, and 22, Jentzsch discloses a method for managing a state channel associated with a distributed ledger technology (DLT) system for at least one device for carrying out transactions via the state channel, the method comprising the following steps: receiving, by a further device, a first message from the device, the first message indicating that a state channel is to be established for the device; (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32-34 and 65-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
establishing, by the further device, the state channel; (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32-34 and 65-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and sending, by the further device, a second message to the device, the second message signaling that the state channel has been established. (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32-34 and 65-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
However, Jentzsch fails to disclose the device and a third device, the third device being separate from the device and the further device; the device between the device and the third device, via transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DL T system; and sending, by the further device, a second message to the device, the second message signaling between the device and the third device has been established.
On the other hand, Kim teaches the device and a third device, the third device being separate from the device and the further device; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
the device between the device and the third device, via transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DL T system; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
and sending, by the further device, a second message to the device, the second message signaling between the device and the third device has been established. (See paras. 36-37, wherein sending message process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Kim teachings in the Jentzsch system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate method for providing wallet access to user in the transaction process taught by Kim in the Jentzsch system for leveraging the decentralized blockchain enabled service provider system. In addition, both of the references (Jentzsch and Kim) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as database operations. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 19, Jentzsch discloses a system comprising: a device for carrying out transactions via at least one state channel associated with a distributed ledger technology (DLT) system, the device for carrying out the transactions, including at least hardware and being, configured to: send a first message to at least one further device, the first message prompting the at least one further device to establish a state channel for the device, (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and receive, by the device, a second message from the at least one further device, the second message signaling that the state channel has been established for the device; (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and the at least one further device for managing the state channel, the at least one further device including at least hardware, and being configured to: receive, by the least one further device, the first message from the device, the first message indicating that the state channel is to be established for the device, (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
establish, by the at least one further device the state channel, (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and send the second message to the device, the second message signaling that the state channel has been established. (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 47-48, 53, and 58-59, wherein user identifier and indication process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
However, Jentzsch fails to disclose transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DLT system, the device between the device and a third device, the third device being separate from the device and the at least one further device; receive a message between the device and the third device; establish for the device between the device and the third device, via transactions carried out by the least one further device on the DTL system; and send the second message to the device between the device and the third device.
On the other hand, Kim teaches transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DLT system, (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
the device between the device and a third device, the third device being separate from the device and the at least one further device; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
receive a message between the device and the third device; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 36-37, 48, wherein receiving and sending messages process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
establish for the device between the device and the third device, via transactions carried out by the least one further device on the DTL system; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
and send the second message to the device between the device and the third device. (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 36-37, wherein sending message process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Kim teachings in the Jentzsch system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate method for providing wallet access to user in the transaction process taught by Kim in the Jentzsch system for leveraging the decentralized blockchain enabled service provider system. In addition, both of the references (Jentzsch and Kim) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as database operations. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses establishing, by the device, an initial state for future transactions via the state channel, the first message being formed based on the initial state. (See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses sending, by the device, a third message to the at least one further device, the third message prompting the at least one further device to initialize a watcher unit, which is configured to monitor the DLT system for predefinable events relating to the state channel for the device. (See paras. 23 and 30-32, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See para. 72, wherein managing services are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the third message is contained in the first message. (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein executing commands and opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 55 and 72-75, wherein messages are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses sending, by the device, pieces of timing information to the at least one further device, the pieces of timing information characterizing a time behavior of the device with respect to transactions to be carried out via the state channel, the pieces of timing information including an updating interval within which the device informs the watcher unit of a new state. (See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See Fig. 6, paras. 46 and 66, wherein time intervals are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the pieces of timing information are sent with or after the first message to the at least one further device. (See Figs. 1A-4B, para. 27, wherein sending messages are disclosed, also See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See Fig. 6, paras. 46 and 66, wherein time intervals are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 3 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses sending, by the device, pieces of state information, which characterize an instantaneous state to the watcher unit. (See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters such as availability dates, times, other information to execute transactions are disclosed, also See Fig. 6, paras. 46 and 66, wherein time intervals are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Jentzsch further discloses sending, by the device, a fourth message to the at least one further device, the fourth message prompting the at least one further device to disassemble the state channel. (See paras. 70-72, wherein managing state channel open and close state processes are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
However, Jentzsch fails to disclose transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DLT system.
On the other hand, Kim teaches transactions carried out by the at least one further device on the DLT system. (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 58, 61, 70-73, wherein transaction process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
See claim 1 for motivation above.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 3 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the at least one further device is configured to carry out transactions on the DLT system: a) to establish the state channel for the device, b) to disassemble the state channel for the device, c) to initialize the watcher unit based on pieces of timing information that characterize a time behavior of the device with respect to transactions to be carried out via the state channel. (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 70-72, wherein managing state channel open and close state processes are disclosed, also See paras. 23 and 30-32, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See para. 72, wherein managing services are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the device is an Internet-of-Things device, the device being configured to carry out transactions via an already existing state channel, the device not being capable of directly accessing the DLT system. (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 22-23, 30 and 73-74, wherein executing a transaction are disclosed, also See para. 66, wherein sending transactions by state channel are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the device includes at least one sensor unit configured to ascertain sensor data. (See para. 37, wherein sensor units are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 10 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses receiving, by the further device, a third message from the device, the third message indicating that a watcher unit is to be initialized, which is configured to monitor the DLT system repeatedly for predefinable events relating to the state channel for the device; (See paras. 23 and 30-32, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See para. 72, wherein managing services are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and initializing, by the further device, the watcher unit. (See paras. 23 and 30-32, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See para. 72-75, wherein managing services are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses receiving, by the further device, pieces of timing information from the device, the pieces of timing information characterizing a time behavior of the device with respect to transactions to be carried out via the state channel, the pieces of timing information including an updating interval within which the device informs the watcher unit of a new state. (See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See Fig. 6, paras. 46 and 66, wherein time intervals are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 14 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses receiving, by the further device, pieces of state information, which characterize an instantaneous state from the device; (See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters such as availability dates, times, other information to execute transactions are disclosed, also See Fig. 6, paras. 46 and 66, wherein time intervals are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and sending, by the further device, the received pieces of state information to the watcher unit. (See paras. 23 and 30, wherein parameters of availability dates, times to execute transactions are disclosed, also See Fig. 6, paras. 46 and 66, wherein time intervals are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 14 is hereby incorporated by reference, Jentzsch further discloses receiving, by the further device, a fourth message from the device, the fourth message indicating that the state channel is to be disassembled; (See paras. 70-72, wherein managing state channel open and close state processes are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
and disassembling the state channel. (See paras. 70-72, wherein managing state channel open and close state processes are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
However, Jentzsch fails to disclose receiving messages between the device and the third device; (See Fig. 2, paras. 44-47, wherein third party system, devices, wallet managed by third party system are disclosed, also See paras. 36-37 and 48, wherein receiving and sending messages process are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
disassembling between the device and the third device, via transactions carried out by the further device on the DLT system. (See paras. 29, 33-36, wherein managing blockchain wallets for user are disclosed; as taught by Kim.)
See claim 13 for motivation above.
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses the DLT system. (See Fig. 5B, paras. 63 and 94, wherein ledger system are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the method is used to carry out off-chain transactions via the state channel associated with the DLT system. (See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein opening a state channel process are disclosed, also See paras. 22-23, 30 and 73-74, wherein executing a transaction are disclosed, also See para. 66, wherein sending transactions by state channel are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Jentzsch and Kim further discloses wherein the method is used for at least one of the following: a) managing the state channel associated with the DLT system, b) enabling Internet-of Things (IoT) devices to carry out transactions via the state channel, c) managing the state channel associated with the DLT system for at least one IoT device, d) managing a watcher unit for at least one device for carrying out transactions via the state channel associated with the DLT system. (See para. 72, wherein managing services are disclosed, also See Figs. 1A-4B, 6, paras. 32 and 66-69, wherein executing commands and opening a state channel process are disclosed; as taught by Jentzsch.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L. L. H./
Examiner, Art Unit 2153
/ALFORD W KINDRED/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153