DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-18 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1 and 11, and 13-14 are amended.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 15, and 17-18 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application claims benefit of foreign priority to Japanese Patent No. 2018-240020, filed on 21 December 2018 and the benefit of priority to PCT/JP2019/050188, filed on 20 December 2019. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of the claims is 21 December 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 23 December 2021, 15 August 2022, and 02 April 2024 are acknowledged and considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 19 September 2025 has been entered.
In view of applicant amendment to claim 1, the 102(a)(1) rejection of record is withdrawn.
With respect to the 103 rejection, Applicant amendment has been considered but is not found persuasive for at least the following reasons. Nogusa in view of Caldow teaches a composition of amino acids to improve physical capacity. In the absences of criticality, the recited weight ratio of amino acids is routine optimization. The rejection is maintained and amended below to reflect applicant amendments to claims.
All rejections and objections not found below have been withdrawn.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS FACILLITATED BY AMENDMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogusa et al. (WO2017159741A1, publication date 21 September 2017. Note the references below are to the US published US20190070139A1, as the document is in English in view of Caldow et al. (Clin Nutr. 2016;35(5):1118-26).
Regarding claim 1, Nogusa discloses an agent for improving physical capacity, including muscle endurance (paragraph [0025]), comprising cystine (claim 1), isoleucine (claim 5), and glycine (paragraph [0100]). Nogusa discloses the ratio of cystine to isoleucine to be 1:0.01 to 100 (claim 7).
Nogusa does not disclose the weight ratio for an additional amino acid.
In the absence of criticality, determination of an appropriate weight ratio would be routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Nogusa also fails to teach a preferred embodiment wherein the additional amino acid is glycine.
Caldow teaches the muscle preserving effects of glycine.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nogusa and Caldow and arrive at the instant invention. Nogusa teaches an agent for improving muscle quality comprising isoleucine and cystine and an additional amino acid. One would be guided to selecting glycine as the additional amino acid to be added to the agent from the list disclosed by Nogusa as Caldow teaches its muscle preserving effects.
Regarding claim 5, Nogusa does teach the agent can be used by adding to a high density liquid nutritional supplement can be mixed with a liquid (page 9, paragraph [0107]).
Nogusa does not teach a molar concentration of the amino acids.
In the absence of criticality, determination of the molar concentration required to deliver the appropriate amount of each amino acid would be routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
Regarding claim 7, Nogusa discloses the agent can comprise an excipient, binder, disintegrant, lubricant, coating agent, base, solvent, diluent, solubilizing agent, solubilizer, emulsifier, dispersing agent, suspending agent, stabilizer, thickener, soothing agent, isotonicity agent, pH adjuster, antioxidant, antiseptic, preservative, corrigent, flavoring agent, sweetening agent, flavor, or colorant (paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 8, Nogusa discloses the agent can comprise of food additives, such as production agent, thickening stabilizer, gum base, emulsifier, preservation, antioxidant, gloss agent, pH adjuster, sweetener, bitter taste, acidulant, colorant, or flavor (paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 11, Nogusa discloses the method of improving physical capacity, including muscle endurance (paragraph [0025]), comprising cystine (claim 14), isoleucine (claim 17), and glycine (paragraph [0100]). Nogusa discloses the ratio of cystine to isoleucine to be 1:0.01 to 100 (claim 7).
Nogusa does not disclose the weight ratio for an additional amino acid.
In the absence of criticality, determination of an appropriate weight ratio would be routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 15, Nogusa does teach the agent can be used by adding to a high density liquid nutritional supplement can be mixed with a liquid (page 9, paragraph [0107]).
Nogusa does not teach a molar concentration of the amino acids.
In the absence of criticality, determination of the molar concentration required to deliver the appropriate amount of each amino acid would be routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Caldow teaches improved insulin sensitivity related to the administration of glycine (page 1124 and 1125). It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that an agent comprising glycine would have this same effect.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 15, and 17-18 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621