DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
i. Applicant argues that the cited prior art fail to disclose the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data corresponding to a same sensing position which is irrelevant to the fingerprint sensing operation. The Office respectfully disagrees.
The reference Kim et al. (2018/0348949) discloses raw data output from fingerprint sensing array [0111] relied upon for touch coordinate calculation in touch sensing mode operation [0059], differing from reliance upon same raw data to calculate a fingerprint image in fingerprint sensing mode [0063].
ii. Applicant argues that the cited prior art fail to disclose a first touch sensing data and a second touch sensing data originate from different touch sensing circuits without being compensated. The Office respectfully disagrees.
Kim teaches the alternative use of second touch data, instead of compensated second touch data [0124]. The reference Han et al. (2017/0336910) teaches different touch sensing circuits (IB1 of Figure 7, IB3 of Figure 8) from which first and second touch sensing data originate.
iii. Applicant’s arguments directed toward the failure of additional prior art to cure the alleged deficiencies of Kim and Han are moot in view of the maintained rejection, in view of the reasoning above.
Claim Objections
Prior objection to informalities recited in the claims is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 9 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2018/0348949; hereinafter Kim)1 and Han et al. (2017/0336910; hereinafter Han) in view of Zachut et al. (2016/0195993; hereinafter Zachut; this combination of references hereinafter eferred to as KHZ).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a driving device for driving a touch display panel (100 of Figures 1, 2) with fingerprint sensing function [0002], the driving device comprising:
a plurality of touch sensing input terminals (Comprising WE of Figure 4B);
a plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised);
a first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220 of Figure 6, 220a of Figure 7; [0096]), coupled to a plurality of first touch sensing electrodes (Comprising 20) in the touch display panel (100 of Figures 1, 2) through the plurality of touch sensing input terminals (Comprising WE of Figure 4B), and configured to
perform a first touch sensing operation on the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes ([0123]: TD1–1 of TD1 corresponding to areas other than 102);
a fingerprint sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8; [0108]), coupled to a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising 30) in the touch display panel (100 of Figures 1, 2) through the plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised), and configured to
perform fingerprint sensing operation ([0123]: TD2’ corresponding to area of 102), wherein
the first touch sensing operation (Generating TD1–1) and the fingerprint sensing operation (Generating TD2’) are performed non-overlapping in time (Figure 12B: Staggering initial DRIVING OF TOUCH SENSING ARRAY and subsequent DRIVING OF FINGERPRINT SENSING ARRAY); wherein
the first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220 of Figure 6, 220a of Figure 7) is configured to
perform a second touch sensing operation on second touch sensing electrodes in the fingerprint sensor array ([0123]: TD1–2 of TD1 corresponding to area of 102), and a touch sensing result of the first touch sensing operation performed on the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes is compensated by a touch sensing result of the second touch sensing operation performed on the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes ([0123]: TMAP is comprised of TD1–1 and TF1–22) formed by the fingerprint sensor array (Comprising 30 of Figures 3, 6) wherein
the first touch sensing operation performed by the first touch sensing circuit and the second touch sensing operation are performed at the same time period ([0123]: TD1 including touch values corresponding to whole of 1013 and interpreted to both be that of which initial DRIVING OF TOUCH SENSING ARRAY in Figure 12B, is comprised), wherein
a first touch sensing data (Figure 10B: Comprising TD1) and a second touch sensing data (Comprising TD2’) without compensation ([0124]: Alternative use of second touch data, instead of compensated second touch data), and the first touch sensing data (Comprising TD1) and the second touch sensing data (Comprising TD2’) corresponding to a same touch sensing position ([0053]: Sensing signals from each of touch sensing and fingerprint sensing arrays calculate a same position embodied as coordinates) which is irrelevant to the fingerprint sensing operation (Raw data output from fingerprint sensing array [0111] relied upon for touch coordinate calculation in touch sensing mode operation [0059], differing from reliance upon same raw data to calculate a fingerprint image in fingerprint sensing mode [0063]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device further comprising a second touch sensing circuit, coupled to a plurality of second touch sensing electrodes formed by the fingerprint sensor array of the touch display panel through at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals, wherein second touch sensing operation is performed by the second touch sensing circuit, wherein the second touch sensing signal is received by the second touch sensing circuit, wherein the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data originate from different touch sensing circuits.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a touch display panel (Figure 6) capable of recognizing fingerprints [0002] within a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) and comprising a second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3 of Figure 8), coupled to a plurality of second touch sensing electrodes (Comprising FTTi4, FTRj5 of Figure 6) in the fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) of the touch display panel through at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Comprising FTRWj), wherein second touch sensing operation is performed by the second touch sensing circuit (Integration of sensing signals in accordance with logic high of touch enable signal [0103] during touch driving [0108]) wherein the second touch sensing signal (Carried by FTRWj [0079] of Figure 8) is received by the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3), wherein the first touch sensing data (Carried by TRGW1 of Figure 7) and the second touch sensing data (Carried by FTRWj of Figure 8) originate from different touch sensing circuits (Comprising IB1, IB3 respectively). This is among measures by which accuracy is enhanced [0029] by reducing mutual capacitance between adjacent electrode groups [0015].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as further comprising a second touch sensing circuit, coupled to a plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the fingerprint sensor array of the touch display panel through at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals, wherein second touch sensing operation is performed by the second touch sensing circuit, wherein the second touch sensing signal is received by the second touch sensing circuit, the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data originate from different touch sensing circuits, in view of the teaching of Han, to enhance accuracy.
Kim in view of Han does not explicitly disclose the device wherein a scan direction for scanning the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes in the first touch sensing operation is different from another scan direction for scanning the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the second touch sensing operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Zachut discloses touch detection [0002] wherein a scan direction for scanning the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes in the first touch sensing operation (Figure 3A) is different from another scan direction for scanning the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the second touch sensing operation (Figure 3B; [0100]: During second detection stage, triggering axis switched and localized to interacting lines). This is among measures by which the update rate of touch sensing may be increased [0098].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein a scan direction for scanning the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes in the first touch sensing operation is different from another scan direction for scanning the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the second touch sensing operation, in view of the teaching of Zachut, to increase touch sensing update rate.
Regarding claim 2, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device further comprising: a switching circuit (Comprising at least one of 231–2, 232–2 of Figure 13), coupled to the fingerprint sensing circuit (230 of Figure 6 comprising 231–1, 232–1 of Figure 13), configured to connect the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals ([0146]: Switches turned on), and configured to disconnect the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals ([0147]: Switches turned off).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device further comprising a switching circuit, coupled to the fingerprint sensing circuit, configured to connect the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation, and configured to disconnect the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a touch display panel (Figure 6) capable of recognizing fingerprints [0002] within a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) and comprising a switching circuit (Comprising SB of Figure 8), coupled to the fingerprint sensing circuit (Comprising IB2) and the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3), configured to connect the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3) and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Comprising FTRWj) in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation (Sensing voltages carried on each among FTRWj transmitted to IB3 during high logic value of T_EN6 ), and configured to disconnect the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3) and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Comprising FTRWj) in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation (Sensing voltages carried on each among FTRWj transmitted to IB2 during high logic value of F_EN). This is among measures by which accuracy is enhanced [0029] by reducing mutual capacitance between adjacent electrode groups [0015].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified as further comprising a switching circuit, coupled to the fingerprint sensing circuit and the second touch sensing circuit, configured to connect the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation, and configured to disconnect the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation, in view of the teaching of Han, to enhance accuracy.
Regarding claim 3, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 2. Kim discloses the device wherein the switching circuit comprises a plurality of switch groups (Comprising at least one of 231–2, 232–2 of Figure 13), and each of the plurality of switch groups comprises a plurality of switch elements (Comprising DSW1…DSWn, RSW1…RSWm) configured to short-circuit a first number of fingerprint sensing input terminals ([0146]: Switches turned on).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the plurality of switch elements configured to short-circuit a first number of fingerprint sensing input terminals in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a touch display panel (Figure 6) capable of recognizing fingerprints [0002] within a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) wherein the plurality of switch elements (Comprising SB of Figure 8) configured to short-circuit a first number of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Comprising FTRWj) in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation (Sensing voltages carried on each among FTRWj transmitted to IB3 during high logic value of T_EN). This is among measures by which accuracy is enhanced [0029] by reducing mutual capacitance between adjacent electrode groups [0015].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the plurality of switch elements configured to short-circuit a first number of fingerprint sensing input terminals in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation, in view of the teaching of Han, to enhance accuracy.
Regarding claim 4, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 2. Kim discloses the device wherein the switching circuit comprises a plurality of switch elements (Figure 13: Comprising DSW1…DSWn, RSW1…RSWm), and a preconfigured number of switch elements among the plurality of switch elements are selected to be conducted to transmit fingerprint sensing signals to the fingerprint sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8) by the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised) in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation ([0146]: “…sequentially…” turning on transmission switches implies one at a time, “…simultaneously…” turning on reception switches implies a number inclusive of all of said switches).
Regarding claim 5, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device further comprising: a data processing circuit (Comprising 224_1 of Figure 7), configured to generate a merged touch sensing data (Figure 10B: Comprising TMAP) according to the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data, wherein the data processing circuit (Comprising 224_1 of Figure 7) is further configured to determine a touch position according to a plurality of touch sensing data including the merged touch sensing data [0123].
Regarding claim 6, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 5. Kim discloses the device wherein the data processing circuit (Comprising 224_1 of Figure 7) obtains the first touch sensing data (Figure 10B: Comprising TD1–1) and the second touch sensing data (Comprising TD1–2) for generating the merged touch sensing data (Comprising TMAP).
Kim does not make an outright statement of the device being provided as further comprising: a memory unit coupled to and accessed by the data processing circuit temporarily stores the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data. However, please consider the following.
Kim’s equivalent first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220/a of Figures 6 – 8) comprises a processor (224), receiving first (Comprising TD1) and second (Comprising TD2) touch data, upon which subsequent operations are performed ([0102], [0104]) by the data processing circuit (Comprising 224_1), before generating touch coordinates (Txy).
Touch data would not available for processing in the manner disclosed by Kim absent the inclusion of storage (i.e. memory). Because the device would be rendered inoperable, it is argued here that an analogous memory unit is inherently taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 7, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220 of Figure 6, 220a of Figure 7) comprises a plurality of first analog front-end circuits, and each of the first analog front-end circuits is configured to receive and process an analog touch sensing signal from one of the touch sensing electrodes ([0099]: Converting first sensing signals Ssen1 from each among touch sensing array into digital values), and wherein the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8) comprises a plurality of second analog front-end circuits and each of the second analog front-end circuits is configured to receive and process an analog touch sensing signal from one of the second touch sensing electrodes ([0111]: Converting second sensing signals Ssen2 from each among fingerprints sensing array into digital values).
Regarding claim 9, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 5. Kim discloses the device further comprising: a first analog-to-digital converter ([0099]: Converting Ssen1 into digital values) coupled between the data processing circuit (Comprising 224_1 of Figure 7) and the first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220 of Figure 6, 220a of Figure 7); and a second analog-to-digital converter ([0111]: Converting Ssen2 into digital values) coupled between the data processing circuit (Comprising 224_1 of Figure 7) and the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, KHZ discloses the driving device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes (Comprising 30 of Figures 3, 6, 8) are formed by a part of a circuitry of the fingerprint sensor array ([0058]: “…sensing points TP′ located in the fingerprint sensing area 102 among the touch sensing points TP…”) and are connected to the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a driving method for a display touch panel with fingerprint sensing function [0002], wherein the touch display panel includes a plurality of first touch sensing electrodes (Comprising 20 of Figures 3, 6) and a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising 30), the driving method (Figure 10B) comprising:
performing a first touch sensing operation on the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes ([0123]: TD1–1 of TD1 corresponding to areas other than 102) in the touch display panel (Comprising 101);
performing fingerprint sensing operation on the fingerprint sensor array ([0123]: TD2’ corresponding to area of 102) in the touch display panel (Comprising 101), wherein
the first touch sensing operation (Generating TD1–1) and the fingerprint sensing operation (Generating TD2’) are performed non-overlapping in time (Figure 12B: Staggering initial DRIVING OF TOUCH SENSING ARRAY and subsequent DRIVING OF FINGERPRINT SENSING ARRAY); and
performing a second touch sensing operation on a plurality of second touch sensing electrodes formed by the fingerprint sensor array ([0123]: TD1–2 of TD1 corresponding to area of 102) of the touch display panel (Comprising 101), wherein
a touch sensing result of the first touch sensing operation performed on the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes is compensated by a touch sensing result of the second touch sensing operation performed on the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes ([0123]: TMAP is comprised of TD1–1 and TD1–27) formed by the fingerprint sensor array (Comprising 30 of Figures 3, 6), wherein
the first touch sensing operation and the second touch sensing operation are performed at the same time period ([0123]: TD1 including touch values corresponding to whole of 1018 and interpreted to both be that of which initial DRIVING OF TOUCH SENSING ARRAY in Figure 12B, is comprised), wherein
the driving method is implemented by a driving device [0002] including a first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220 of Figure 6, 220a of Figure 7; [0096]) and a second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230/230a), wherein
a first touch sensing data (Figure 10B: Comprising TD1) and a second touch sensing data (Comprising TD2’) without compensation ([0124]: Alternative use of second touch data, instead of compensated second touch data), and the first touch sensing data (Comprising TD1) and the second touch sensing data (Comprising TD2’) corresponding to a same touch sensing position ([0053]: Sensing signals from each of touch sensing and fingerprint sensing arrays calculate a same position embodied as coordinates) which is irrelevant to the fingerprint sensing operation (Raw data output from fingerprint sensing array [0111] relied upon for touch coordinate calculation in touch sensing mode operation [0059], differing from reliance upon same raw data to calculate a fingerprint image in fingerprint sensing mode [0063]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the second touch sensing signal is received by the second touch sensing circuit, wherein the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data originate from different touch sensing circuits.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a touch display panel (Figure 6) capable of recognizing fingerprints [0002] within a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) and comprising a second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3 of Figure 8), wherein the second touch sensing signal (Carried by FTRWj [0079] of Figure 8) is received by the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3), wherein the first touch sensing data (Carried by TRGW1 of Figure 7) and the second touch sensing data (Carried by FTRWj of Figure 8) originate from different touch sensing circuits (Comprising IB1, IB3 respectively). This is among measures by which accuracy is enhanced [0029] by reducing mutual capacitance between adjacent electrode groups [0015].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the second touch sensing signal is received by the second touch sensing circuit, wherein the first touch sensing data and the second touch sensing data originate from different touch sensing circuits, in view of the teaching of Han, to enhance accuracy.
Kim in view of Han does not explicitly disclose the method wherein a scan direction for scanning the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes in the first touch sensing operation is different from another scan direction for scanning the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the second touch sensing operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Zachut discloses touch detection [0002] wherein a scan direction for scanning the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes in the first touch sensing operation (Figure 3A) is different from another scan direction for scanning the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the second touch sensing operation (Figure 3B; [0100]: During second detection stage, triggering axis switched and localized to interacting lines). This is among measures by which the update rate of touch sensing may be increased [0098].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kim to be modified wherein a scan direction for scanning the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes in the first touch sensing operation is different from another scan direction for scanning the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes in the second touch sensing operation, in view of the teaching of Zachut, to increase touch sensing update rate.
Regarding claim 12, KHZ discloses the driving method of claim 11. Kim discloses the method wherein the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes are formed by a part of a circuitry of the fingerprint sensor array (Among 30 of Figures 3, 6).
Regarding claim 13, KHZ discloses the driving method of claim 11. Kim discloses the method wherein the driving device further includes a plurality of touch sensing input terminals (Comprising WE of Figure 4B) and a plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised), the first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220/220a) is coupled to the plurality of first touch sensing electrodes (Comprising TSU of Figures 3, 4B) in the touch display panel through the plurality of touch sensing input terminals (Comprising WE), and the first touch sensing circuit (Comprising 220/220a) performs the first touch sensing operation (Figure 10B: Generating TD1–1), the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8) is coupled to the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes formed by the fingerprint sensor array (Among 30 of Figures 3, 6) of the touch display panel through at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing input terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised), and the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8) performs the second touch sensing operation (Figure 10B: Generating TD1–2) according to the plurality of second touch sensing electrodes formed by the fingerprint sensor array (Among 30 of Figures 3, 6).
Regarding claim 14, KHZ discloses the driving method of claim 13. Kim discloses the method wherein the driving device further includes a switching circuit (Comprising at least one of 231–2, 232–2 of Figure 13) coupled to a second touch sensing circuit (230 of Figure 6 comprising 231–1, 232–1 of Figure 13), the driving method further comprises: controlling the switching circuit (Comprising at least one of 231–2, 232–2) to connect ([0146]: Switches turned on) the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230) and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised); and controlling the switching circuit (Comprising at least one of 231–2, 232–2) to disconnect ([0147]: Switches turned off) the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising 230) and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a fingerprint sensing circuit differing from the second touch sensing circuit, the driving method further comprises: connecting the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation; and disconnecting the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a touch display panel (Figure 6) capable of recognizing fingerprints [0002] within a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) and comprising a fingerprint sensing circuit (Comprising IB2 of Figure 8) differing from the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3), the driving method further comprises: the switching circuit (Comprising SB) connecting the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3) and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Comprising FTRWj) in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation (Sensing voltages carried on each among FTRWj transmitted to IB3 during high logic value of T_EN); and the switching circuit (Comprising SB) disconnecting the second touch sensing circuit (Comprising IB3) and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Comprising FTRWj) in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation (Sensing voltages carried on each among FTRWj transmitted to IB2 during high logic value of F_EN). This is among measures by which accuracy is enhanced [0029] by reducing mutual capacitance between adjacent electrode groups [0015].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kim to be modified with a fingerprint sensing circuit differing from the second touch sensing circuit, the driving method further comprises: connecting the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation; and disconnecting the second touch sensing circuit and the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals in response to the fingerprint sensing circuit performing the fingerprint sensing operation, in view of the teaching of Han, to enhance accuracy.
Regarding claim 15, KHZ discloses the driving method of claim 14. Kim discloses the method wherein the switching circuit comprises a plurality of switch groups (Figure 13: Comprising 231–1, 232–2), and each of the plurality of switch groups comprises a plurality of switch elements (Comprising DSW1…DSWn, RSW1…RSWm) configured to short-circuit a first number of fingerprint sensing input terminals ([0146]: Switches turned on).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the method wherein switch elements short circuit fingerprint sensing input terminal in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a touch display panel (Figure 6) capable of recognizing fingerprints [0002] within a fingerprint sensor array (Comprising FTA) wherein switch elements (Comprising SB of Figure 8) short circuit fingerprint sensing input terminal (Comprising FTRWj) in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation (Sensing voltages carried on each among FTRWj transmitted to IB3 during high logic value of T_EN). This is among measures by which accuracy is enhanced [0029] by reducing mutual capacitance between adjacent electrode groups [0015].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein switch elements short circuit fingerprint sensing input terminal in response to the first touch sensing circuit performing the first touch sensing operation, in view of the teaching of Han, to enhance accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, KHZ discloses the driving method of claim 14. Kim discloses the method wherein the switching circuit comprises a plurality of switch elements (Figure 13: Comprising DSW1…DSWn, RSW1…RSWm), and a preconfigured number of switch elements among the plurality of switch elements are selected to be conducted to transmit fingerprint sensing signals to the fingerprint sensing circuit (Comprising 230 of Figure 6, 230a of Figure 8) by the at least a part of the plurality of fingerprint sensing terminals (Figure 13: Comprising {unnumbered} open circles at ends of electrodes of which 30 is comprised) in response to the performing the fingerprint sensing operation ([0146]: “…sequentially…” turning on transmission switches implies one at a time, “…simultaneously…” turning on reception switches implies a number inclusive of all of said switches).
Regarding claim 17, KHZ discloses the driving method of claim 11. Kim discloses the method further comprising: generate a merged touch sensing data (Figure 10B: Comprising TMAP) according to the first touch sensing data (Comprising TD1–2) and the second touch sensing data (Comprising TD2’), and determining a touch position according to a plurality of touch sensing data including the merged touch sensing data [0123].
Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621
1 Cited in Applicant’s 30 August 2021 IDS.
2 See {*} footnote above.
3 See {**} footnote above.
4 “…i…” is integer with value of 1 – a, shown in Figure 6.
5 “…j…” is integer with value of 1 – 6, shown in Figure 6.
6 Having opposite polarity of F_EN [0103].
7 {*} Of which TD3 is comprised.
8 {**} Comprising both TD1–1 and TD1–2.