DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
By the Amendment of 07/10/2026, Claims 1, 8, 15, and 21 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17, and 20-29 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s response filed 7/10/2026 is sufficient to overcome the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17, and 20-29. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, regarding the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections, applicant argues that the rejections should be withdrawn in view of amendments made to the specification and claims 1, 8, and 15. Examiner agrees and the rejections have been withdrawn.
Argument 2, regarding the prior art rejections, applicant argues that Bui is not in the field of optical character recognition. Applicant argues that there is no clear reason of why one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the teachings of Bui with the teachings of Liu because Liu does not disclose that its optical character recognition method would benefit from receiving transformer related features from a model that performs keyphrase extraction and Bui does not disclose that its keyphrase extraction enhancements would benefit from optical character recognition. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Bui teaches performing loss reduction on predicted text labels and vector labels (see Bui P0097-P0098). This teaching of Bui may be combined with backpropagating network parameters of a recurrent neural network to minimize network loss (see Liu page 7 paragraph 6, page 8 paragraphs 1-2) for improved accuracy of a text sequence labeling machine-learning model (see Bui P0003).
Applicant also argues that Wieman is directed towards a neural acoustic model, Chen is directed towards a speech synthesis method, Jiang is related to analyzing source code for software engineering, and none of these references are directed towards optical character recognition. Examiner notes that Wieman is cited as teaching a Connectionist Temporal Classification (CTC) neural model to provide transcription and/or command translation (see Wiemann C:24, L:56-63) which would aid accurate text recognition for providing translation in Liu (see Liu page 2). Examiner notes that Chen is cited as teaching an attention mechanism for generating a semantic vector (see Chen P0046-P0047) which would aid in decoding an attention vector to determine a text recognition result corresponding to the target semantic vector in Liu (see Liu page 10). Examiner notes that Jiang is cited as teaching an encoder used for calculating a cosign similarity with the text inputs (see Jiang pages 4-5) which would aid in encoding the prior information of the target semantic vector by the neural network to obtain the information in Liu (see Liu page 20).
Applicant also argues that the teachings of Jin do not teach the limitations of dependent claims 13 and 20 because the teachings of Jin are directed towards a visual graph and text graph, but not towards word element pairs of the plain text label. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner notes that Jin is cited in combination with the teachings of Liu, Bui, and Chen which include word elements and plain text labels (see Chen P0046-P0047).
The full prior art rejections are outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 15, 23, 24, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (WO 2020199730 A1), hereafter Liu in view of Bui et al (Pub. No.: US 20220114476 A1), hereafter Bui.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Liu teaches receiving a text image …, the text image comprising multiple words, (feature extraction is done on image, page 2, paragraph 1 under summary of invention) … training an encoder network using the text image so that the encoder network generates respective semantic feature vectors for the multiple words (convolutional neural network encodes an input text image and generates semantic vectors for the words in the image, page 14, full paragraph 1. Performing feature extraction processing on an image to be detected to obtain a plurality of semantic vectors, wherein the plurality of semantic vectors correspond to a plurality of characters of a text sequence, page 2, paragraph 1 under summary of invention); and inputting, into multiple channels of a convolutional recurrent neural network, the text image, the plain text labels, and the semantic feature vectors to train the convolutional recurrent neural network for optical character recognition (“the multiple semantic vectors are sequentially recognized through a convolutional neural network to obtain a recognition result of the text sequence”, page 5, paragraph 7 under detailed description. Two blocks of the neural network may be processed in parallel, page 19, paragraph 4), wherein the plain text labels and the semantic feature vectors are constraints for the training of the convolutional recurrent neural network (the semantic vector is processed during training, and training the feature extraction network is done by the difference between label information of the characters and the output result, page 8, first full paragraph), … wherein the trained encoder network and the trained convolutional recurrent neural network together constitute a machine learning model for performing optical character recognition (convolutional neural network and encoder are used to recognize characters in text, page 14, full paragraph 3).
Liu does not appear to explicitly teach “receiving plain text labels…and the plain text labels comprising machine-encoded text corresponding to the multiple words…wherein the training of the convolutional recurrent neural network comprises performing a first loss reduction for the plain text labels and a second loss reduction for vector labels that include the semantic feature vectors”.
Bui et al (Pub. No.: US 20220114476 A1), hereafter Bui teaches receiving plain text labels (text sequence labeling loss model 614 receives predicted text sequence labels 612, P0097)…and the plain text labels comprising machine-encoded text corresponding to the multiple words (predicted text sequence labels 612 may be encoded in binary, P0103)… wherein the training of the convolutional recurrent neural network comprises performing a first loss reduction for the plain text labels and a second loss reduction for vector labels that include the semantic feature vectors, wherein backpropagation is used with the first and the second loss reduction to train layers of the convolutional recurrent neural network (neural network layers are trained and optimized via backpropagation and/or end-to-end learning to minimize the label prediction loss. In general, a loss model identifies classification loss amounts between predicted text sequence labeling model and ground truth text sequence labeling model. In some implementations, the loss model compares corresponding feature vectors in multidimensional vector space, P0097-P0098).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Liu and Bui before them, to include Bui’s specific teachings of performing loss reduction on predicted text labels and vector labels in Liu’s method of Text Recognition. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of performing loss reduction on predicted text labels and vector labels (see Bui P0097-P0098) and backpropagating network parameters of a recurrent neural network to minimize network loss (see Liu page 7 paragraph 6, page 8 paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claims 23, 24, and 26, Liu in view of Bui teaches the limitations of claims 15, 1, and 8 as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the operations further comprise inputting a new text image into the trained machine learning model (multiple images may be used as input for the machine learning model, page 7, paragraph 2) such that, in response, the trained machine learning model performs optical character recognition on the new text image and generates machine-encoded text representing one or more words that are in the new text image (convolutional neural network and encoder are used to recognize characters in text images and generate semantic vectors for the text, page 14, full paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 28, Liu in view of Bui teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Liu further teaches storing the trained machine learning model in computer data storage (“a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (for example, the memory 1932) may also be provided, on which computer program instructions are stored. The computer program instructions, when executed by the processor (for example, the processing component 1922), enable the processor to implement any of the foregoing text recognition methods”, page 19, paragraph 2).
Claims 3, 10, 17, 22, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Bui and further in view of Wieman et al (US 11392833 B2), hereafter Wieman.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Liu in view of Bui teaches the elements of claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above. Liu does not appear to explicitly teach: “wherein the machine learning model comprises at least one member selected from the group consisting of a convolutional recurrent neural network and a connectionist temporal classification function”.
Wieman teaches: wherein the machine learning model comprises at least one member selected from the group consisting of a convolutional recurrent neural network and a connectionist temporal classification function (“processing at least an output of the recurrent neural network architecture using a feed-forward neural network architecture to determine a set of classification scores for a plurality of sound units associated with speech”, C:24, L:26-30. “the classification scores may be used by further neural network architectures so as to determine a text transcription of an utterance that is present within recorded audio data. For example, the audio processing systems described herein may be used as part of a larger Connectionist Temporal Classification (CTC) neural model to provide transcription and/or command translation”, C:24, L:56-63).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Liu, Bui, and Wieman before them, to include Wieman’s specific teaching of using a CTC neural model to provide transcription and translation in Liu’s system of text recognition and storage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of using a CTC neural model to provide transcription and translation (see Wieman C:24, L:56-63) and accurate text recognition to provide translation (see Liu page 2).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Liu in view of Bui and further in view of Wieman teaches the elements of claims 3 and 17 as outlined above. Wieman further teaches wherein the connectionist temporal classification function receives an output matrix from the convolutional recurrent neural network (machine learning model may include Connectionist Temporal Classification (CTC), C:24, L:56-63. Feed forward neural network layer may be included which outputs matrix data. In view of the model including a Connectionist Temporal Classification (CTC), the feed forward neural network layer may output matrix data to the CTC, C8:L28-34).
Regarding claim 27, Liu in view of Bui and further in view of Wieman teaches the elements of claim 3 as outlined above. Wieman further teaches wherein the connectionist temporal classification function outputs a matrix that is a character score for each time step, and wherein the matrix is used for the first loss reduction and the second loss reduction (The audio processing systems may be used as part of a larger Connectionist Temporal Classification (CTC) neural model to provide transcription and/or command translation, C:24, L:56-63. The audio processing systems may be used to multiply key and/or query matrices with an input and taking a softmax of the dot product to obtain weights or scores, C21:L20-23. Multidimensional matrices may be used to minimize the loss function, C8:L6-13).
Claims 6, 13, 20, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Liu in view of in view of Bui and further in view of Chen et al (US 20210174781 A1), hereafter Chen, and Jin et al (CN 112417097 A), hereafter Jin.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Liu in view of Bui teaches the elements of claims 8, and 15 as outlined above. Liu does not appear to explicitly teach: “wherein the encoder network comprises an attention mechanism that generates correlation scores for word element pairs of the plain text label and wherein the generating the semantic feature vectors further comprises using the correlation scores as a regression label”.
Chen teaches: wherein the encoder network comprises an attention mechanism that generates correlation scores for word element pairs of the plain text label (“the corresponding semantic vector may be obtained by adopting the formula (1) of attention mechanism:… where C.sub.i represents the i-th semantic vector, N represents the number of hidden nodes, and h.sub.j represents the hidden node of the j-th character in coding. The attention mechanism refers to that a.sub.i,j represents the correlation between the j-th phase in coding and the i-th phase in decoding, so the most appropriate context information for the current output is selected for each semantic vector”, P0046-P0047).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Liu, Bui, and Chen before them, to include Chen’s specific teaching of obtaining a semantic vector with the use of the formula for the attention mechanism in Liu’s system of text recognition and storage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of using an attention mechanism for generating a semantic vector (see Chen P0046-P0047) and decoding an attention vector to determine a text recognition result corresponding to the target semantic vector (see Liu page 10).
Jin teaches: wherein the generating the semantic feature vectors further comprises using the correlation scores as a regression label (“defining the relevance model of the image and the text as follows: S (v, t) = Sv-t + St-v… S (v, t) represents the final relevance of the visual graph and the text graph”, formula listed on bottom of page 16, under the second full paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Liu, Bui, Chen, and Jin before them, to include Jin’s specific teaching of correlation of text and image being the label of the correlation model in Liu’s system of text recognition and storage and in Chen’s system of text-based speech synthesis. One would have been motivated to make such a combination correlation of text and image being the label of the correlation model (see Jin formula listed on bottom of page 16, under the second full paragraph) and obtaining the weight parameter of the target semantic vector to determine the correlation with the target semantic vector (see Liu page 13, paragraph 5). One would have been motivated to make such a combination correlation of text and image being the label of the correlation model (see Jin bottom of page 16, under the second full paragraph) and the correlation between the j-th phase in coding and the i-th phase in decoding of the attention mechanism to determine the most appropriate context information as the output of the semantic vector (see Chen P0047).
Regarding claim 29, Liu in view of Bui teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Liu does not appear to explicitly teach: “wherein the encoder network comprises an attention mechanism that generates correlation scores for word element pairs of the plain text label”.
Chen teaches: wherein the encoder network comprises an attention mechanism that generates correlation scores for word element pairs of the plain text label (“the corresponding semantic vector may be obtained by adopting the formula (1) of attention mechanism:… where C.sub.i represents the i-th semantic vector, N represents the number of hidden nodes, and h.sub.j represents the hidden node of the j-th character in coding. The attention mechanism refers to that a.sub.i,j represents the correlation between the j-th phase in coding and the i-th phase in decoding, so the most appropriate context information for the current output is selected for each semantic vector”, P0046-P0047).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Liu, Bui, and Chen before them, to include Chen’s specific teaching of obtaining a semantic vector with the use of the formula for the attention mechanism in Liu’s system of text recognition and storage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of using an attention mechanism for generating a semantic vector (see Chen P0046-P0047) and decoding an attention vector to determine a text recognition result corresponding to the target semantic vector (see Liu page 10).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Bui and further in view of Chen teaches the elements of claim 29 as outlined above. Liu does not appear to explicitly teach: “using the correlation scores as a regression label”.
Jin teaches: using the correlation scores as a regression label (“defining the relevance model of the image and the text as follows: S (v, t) = Sv-t + St-v… S (v, t) represents the final relevance of the visual graph and the text graph”, formula listed on bottom of page 16, under the second full paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Liu, Bui, Chen, and Jin before them, to include Jin’s specific teaching of correlation of text and image being the label of the correlation model in Liu’s system of text recognition and storage and in Chen’s system of text-based speech synthesis. One would have been motivated to make such a combination correlation of text and image being the label of the correlation model (see Jin formula listed on bottom of page 16, under the second full paragraph) and obtaining the weight parameter of the target semantic vector to determine the correlation with the target semantic vector (see Liu page 13, paragraph 5). One would have been motivated to make such a combination correlation of text and image being the label of the correlation model (see Jin bottom of page 16, under the second full paragraph) and the correlation between the j-th phase in coding and the i-th phase in decoding of the attention mechanism to determine the most appropriate context information as the output of the semantic vector (see Chen P0047).
Claims 7, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Liu in view of Bui and further in view of Jiang et al (CN 112698833 A), hereafter Jiang.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 21, Liu in view of Bui teaches the elements of claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above. Liu does not appear to explicitly teach: “wherein the network encoder uses a cosine similarity discriminator”.
Jiang teaches: wherein the network encoder (“the attention weight at each hidden layer state is defined according to formula: e (ht) = W1tanh (W2ht) … ht represents a hidden layer state corresponding to t-th word in the sentence sequence… hk represents the kth input at the output of the encoder; after the step 1 to step 6, finishing the code function representation, namely the code function for characteristic representation and semantic feature extraction” page 4) uses a cosine similarity discriminator (“namely obtaining the characteristic vector of 3 word sequence, then inputting it into the feed-forward neural network; calculating the cosine similarity” page 5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Liu, Bui, and Jiang before them, to include Jiang’s specific teaching of using an encoder and calculating a cosign similarity with the text inputs in Liu’s system of text recognition and storage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of using an encoder and calculating a cosign similarity with the text inputs (see Jiang pages 4-5) and
encoding the prior information of the target semantic vector by the neural network to obtain the information (see Liu page 20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141