DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-9 and 16-20) in the reply filed on February 26, 2026, is acknowledged.
3. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 26, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted June 17, 2021, has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 19-20 are duplicate claims. Claim 19 is a duplicate of Claim 7, and Claim 20 is a duplicate of Claim 8.
6. Applicant is advised that should Claims 19-20 be found allowable, Claims 19-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 recites the same exact claim language from the claim in which it depends (Claim 8). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lineton (US 2018/0216524 A1), as evidenced by Fouliard et al. (US 2021/0180191 A1), and in view of Tsutsumi et al. (US 2020/0066449 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, the preamble is not a limitation on the claims if it merely states the purpose or intended use, and the reminder of the claim completely defines invention independently or preamble. Stewart-Warner Corp V. City of Pontiac, Mich 219 USPQ 1162; Marston V. J.C. Penny Co., Inc. 148 USPQ 25; and Kropa V. Robie and Mahlman, 88 USPQ 478. In this case, the preamble recites an “for manufacturing an electrochemical cell electrode", such recitation is considered as the purpose and intended use, and not part of the limitation.
Lineton teaches a component for a body portion for an engine (a metal-ceramic workpiece). Lineton teaches a body portion (42) is covered with a bond coat (52) formed of metal (paragraph 0033) (a metal core consisting of a metal). Lineton teaches a mixed layer (50) consisting of a mixture of a ceramic and the metal is formed on the bond coat (52), wherein the metal is the same as the metal in the core (paragraph 0036). The layer is considered to be post formed (after forming the bond coat (52) by plasmas spraying (paragraph 0057). Since Lineton teaches the mixed layer (50) is formed in the gradient structure with higher concentration of metal near the bond coat and increasing the concentration of ceramic during the formation of the coating (paragraph 0041), it is reasonable expect a composition consisting of the metal is separately used from the composition consisting of the ceramic in the plasma spray to control the gradient composition of the coating (postponed from a compositing consisting of said metal). Linton teaches an uppermost ceramic outer layer (60) is formed on the mixed layer (50) (paragraphs 0043-0044), by ceramic plasma spraying such as yttria stabilized zirconia, which is the same ceramic as the mixed layer (50) (paragraph 0037, 0043 and 0072). As evidenced by Fouliard, yttria stabilized zirconia (YSZ) (metal-ceramic) is isotropic when applied by plasma spraying (abstract, paragraph 0169) (an outer layer, enveloping said intermediate layer, consisting of a substantially isotropic metal-ceramic). Lineton teaches to polish (machining) the surface of the ceramic layer (60) to achieve desired smoothness (paragraphs 0042, 0045 and 0048). Since only the protrusions of the uneven roughness on the surface is required to remove during the polishing, Lineton's polished ceramic layer surface reads on the limitation of the surface composed an original surface and a machined surface. Lineton also teaches the layer is smoothed to various degrees along the surface so that the thickness of the ceramic layer is greater in some portions that others (paragraph 0045), thus, Lineton teaches at least in some portion of the surface, the machined surface depth is less than said original surface depth, wherein said machined surface having a machined loss-volume depth removed from said outer layer.
Lineton does not specifically disclose emitting directed energy upon said machined surface for a duration sufficient to impart a comparable continuous gradient between said machined surface and said original surface.
Tsutsumi et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a ceramic electronic component in which a plated electrode can be formed in a region of the surface of a ceramic base body formed of a titanium containing metal oxide. The method includes preparing a ceramic base body containing a titanium containing metal oxide and modifying the surface with irradiation with a pulse laser to form a low-resistance section (paragraph 0010). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lineton to include emitting directed energy upon said machined surface for a duration sufficient to impart a comparable continuous composition between said machined surface and said original surface, because Tsutsumi et al. teach that this method step results in high efficiency and low industrial costs, as well as, forming a layer that is difficult to reduce and has less cracks and abrasions (paragraphs 0019-0020).
With regard to Claims 2-4, Tsutsumi et al. disclose wherein said emitting step includes light energization of said machined surface, wherein said emitting step includes light energization of said target volume using overlapping paths, wherein said emitting step includes pulse light-energization of said machined surface (paragraphs 0012-0016, 0034; See Example 1).
With regard to Claim 5, Tsutsumi et al. disclose the laser scanning condition of 100 mm/s (paragraph 0034; See Example 1), but do not specifically disclose wherein said emitting step includes a scrolling rate for a beam providing said light-energization at a rate in excess of 1 m/s. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform said emitting step at a scrolling rate for a beam providing said light-energization at a rate in excess of 1 m/s, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 6, Tsutsumi et al. disclose the laser scanning condition of 100 mm/s (paragraph 0034; See Example 1), but do not specifically disclose wherein said emitting step includes a scrolling rate for a beam providing said light-energization at a rate in excess of 10 m/s. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform said emitting step at a scrolling rate for a beam providing said light-energization at a rate in excess of 10 m/s, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 7, Tsutsumi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein said machining step includes machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 8, Tsutsumi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein said machining step includes machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 75% of said original surface outer layer depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 9, Tsutsumi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein said machining step includes machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 75% of said original surface outer layer depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 16, the preamble is not a limitation on the claims if it merely states the purpose or intended use, and the reminder of the claim completely defines invention independently or preamble. Stewart-Warner Corp V. City of Pontiac, Mich 219 USPQ 1162; Marston V. J.C. Penny Co., Inc. 148 USPQ 25; and Kropa V. Robie and Mahlman, 88 USPQ 478. In this case, the preamble recites an “for manufacturing an electrochemical cell membrane", such recitation is considered as the purpose and intended use, and not part of the limitation.
Lineton teaches a component for a body portion for an engine (a metal-ceramic workpiece). Lineton teaches a body portion (42) is covered with a bond coat (52) formed of metal (paragraph 0033) (a metal core consisting of a metal). Lineton teaches a mixed layer (50) consisting of a mixture of a ceramic and the metal is formed on the bond coat (52), wherein the metal is the same as the metal in the core (paragraph 0036). The layer is considered to be post formed (after forming the bond coat (52) by plasmas spraying (paragraph 0057). Since Lineton teaches the mixed layer (50) is formed in the gradient structure with higher concentration of metal near the bond coat and increasing the concentration of ceramic during the formation of the coating (paragraph 0041), it is reasonable expect a composition consisting of the metal is separately used from the composition consisting of the ceramic in the plasma spray to control the gradient composition of the coating (postponed from a compositing consisting of said metal). Linton teaches an uppermost ceramic outer layer (60) is formed on the mixed layer (50) (paragraphs 0043-0044), by ceramic plasma spraying such as yttria stabilized zirconia, which is the same ceramic as the mixed layer (50) (paragraph 0037, 0043 and 0072). As evidenced by Fouliard, yttria stabilized zirconia (YSZ) (metal-ceramic) is isotropic when applied by plasma spraying (abstract, paragraph 0169) (an outer layer, enveloping said intermediate layer, consisting of a substantially isotropic metal-ceramic). Lineton teaches to polish (machining) the surface of the ceramic layer (60) to achieve desired smoothness (paragraphs 0042, 0045 and 0048). Since only the protrusions of the uneven roughness on the surface is required to remove during the polishing, Lineton's polished ceramic layer surface reads on the limitation of the surface composed an original surface and a machined surface. Lineton also teaches the layer is smoothed to various degrees along the surface so that the thickness of the ceramic layer is greater in some portions that others (paragraph 0045), thus, Lineton teaches at least in some portion of the surface, the machined surface depth is less than said original surface depth, wherein said machined surface having a machined loss-volume depth removed from said outer layer.
Lineton does not specifically disclose emitting directed energy upon said machined surface for a duration sufficient to impart a comparable continuous composition between said machined surface and said original surface.
Tsutsumi et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a ceramic electronic component in which a plated electrode can be formed in a region of the surface of a ceramic base body formed of a titanium containing metal oxide. The method includes preparing a ceramic base body containing a titanium containing metal oxide and modifying the surface with irradiation with a pulse laser to form a low-resistance section (paragraph 0010). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lineton to include emitting directed energy upon said machined surface for a duration sufficient to impart a comparable continuous composition between said machined surface and said original surface, because Tsutsumi et al. teach that this method step results in high efficiency and low industrial costs, as well as, forming a layer that is difficult to reduce and has less cracks and abrasions (paragraphs 0019-0020).
With regard to Claim 17, Tsutsumi et al. disclose wherein said emitting step includes pulse light-energization of said machined surface (paragraphs 0012-0016, 0034; See Example 1).
With regard to Claim 18, Tsutsumi et al. disclose the laser scanning condition of 100 mm/s (paragraph 0034; See Example 1), but do not specifically disclose wherein said emitting step includes a scrolling rate for a beam providing said light-energization at a rate in excess of 10 m/s. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform said emitting step at a scrolling rate for a beam providing said light-energization at a rate in excess of 10 m/s, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 19, Tsutsumi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein said machining step includes machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to Claim 20, Tsutsumi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein said machining step includes machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 50% of said original surface outer layer depth. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform machining said target volume to a waste depth greater than 75% of said original surface outer layer depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725