DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the remarks filed 01/05/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-25 are pending, with claims 16-25 withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14, and 15 are examined in the office action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 01/05/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-12, 14, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. Independent claim 1 has been amended to recite “the discontinuous emission mode is that a duty cycle of a current supplied to the light-emitting device is implemented with a square wave, a trapezoidal wave, a cosine-squared wave, a staircase wave, or a spike wave”. Applicant argues that Satoh or Satoh in view of Knight and Jaeger do not disclose the amended limitation. Further, Applicant argues that since the light of Knight is not emitted in a discontinuous mode, there would be no motivation to combine the light therapy of Knight with the thermal therapy of Jaegar. Further, Applicant argues that the instant application is intended for use in treating Parkinson’s disease and therefore should not be rejected on broad health care concept.
The argument that there would be no motivation to combine the therapy of Knight with the therapy of Jaeger to arrive at the limitations of a light emitting device for treating Parkinson’s disease as claimed is not found to be persuasive. In the Non-Final Rejection of 10/07/2025, Jaeger was used to disclose the limitations of a power source in claims 6 and 14. Knight in view of Satoh was used to disclose the limitations of “a light- emitting device for treating Parkinson’s disease patient providing light in a discontinuous emission mode, wherein the light is near infrared rays or visible red light” and “a container containing a hydrogen-containing fluid to work together with the light-emitting device via an intake of the hydrogen- containing fluid, wherein the hydrogen-containing fluid is hydrogen water or hydrogen gas, and wherein the hydrogen water is regular water dissolved with 0.1 ppm to 6 ppm of hydrogen and the hydrogen gas is regular air mixed with 0.1% to 3.8% of hydrogen”. Further, Knight discloses the discontinuous emission mode (e.g. Knight, par. [0081]: variable light therapy can be provided, e.g. discontinuous emission). Therefore, Knight and Jaeger are still eligible as prior art.
The argument that the instant application is intended for use for treating Parkinson’s disease and therefore should not be rejected under health care concepts is not persuasive. As explained in the Non-Final Rejection of 10/07/2025, the claim is directed towards a device comprising (1) a light-emitting device that provides discontinuous light that is near infrared light or visible red light and (2) a container containing hydrogen water or hydrogen gas with the hydrogen in the amounts specified in the claim. The intended use of the claimed device is for treating Parkinson’s disease and has no bearing on the structure of the claimed device.
However, Examiner agrees that Satoh in view of Knight or Jaeger fails to disclose the claimed limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made, as explained in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoh et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0000843, of record), hereinafter Satoh, further in view of Knight (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0080246, of record), and further in view of Williams (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0146520).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION: Claim 1 is directed to a device comprising (1) a light-emitting device that provides discontinuous light that is near infrared light or visible red light and (2) a container containing hydrogen water or hydrogen gas with the hydrogen in the amounts specified in the claim. The intended use of the claimed device is for treating Parkinson’s disease and has no bearing on the structure of the claimed device.
Regarding claim 1, Satoh discloses a hydrogen therapy for treating Parkinson’s disease (e.g. Abstract), comprising a hydrogen-containing fluid that is hydrogen water or hydrogen gas, wherein the hydrogen water is regular water dissolved with 0.1 ppm to 6 ppm of hydrogen (e.g. Par. [0056]: hydrogen concentration in the water is 1 to 10 ppm), and the hydrogen gas is regular air mixed with 0.1% to 3.8% of hydrogen (e.g. Par. [0049]: hydrogen gas contains 0.5 to 18.5% of hydrogen).
However, Satoh fails to disclose a light-emitting device providing light in a discontinuous emission mode, wherein the light is near infrared rays or visible red light, wherein the discontinuous emission mode is that a duty cycle of a current supplied to the light-emitting device is implemented with a square wave, a trapezoidal wave, a cosine-squared wave, a staircase wave, or a spike wave, and a container containing the hydrogen-containing fluid to work together with the light-emitting device via an intake of the hydrogen-containing fluid.
Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight discloses a light-emitting device providing light in a discontinuous emission mode, wherein the light is near infrared rays or visible red light (e.g. Abstract; Pars. [0042], [0055]: light therapy can be between 290nm – 900nm and is therefore near infrared (wavelengths of 810nm – 850nm) or visible red light (wavelengths of 650nm – 700nm); Par. [0081]: variable light therapy can be provided, e.g. discontinuous emission), and a container containing a hydrogen-containing fluid to work together with the light-emitting device via an intake of the hydrogen-containing fluid (e.g. Par. [0058]: container with water, which is considered the hydrogen containing fluid, is placed with the user and can be drunk after the light therapy, “In at least one of the various embodiments, the enclosure may include a container of water that is placed at a location so that the water is bathed in light emitted by the plurality of light sources during therapy. The container may be transparent, translucent, opaque, reflective, or some combination of two or more of these properties. After therapy, the user may drink the water from the container to further enhance their health.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh to include the light emitting device and liquid containing container as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy combined with the hydrogen containing liquid (e.g. Knight, par. [0058]).
However, Satoh in view of Knight fails to specifically disclose wherein the discontinuous emission mode is that a duty cycle of a current supplied to the light-emitting device is implemented with a square wave, a trapezoidal wave, a cosine-squared wave, a staircase wave, or a spike wave. Williams, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed toward a phototherapy process for providing treatment. Williams discloses wherein the discontinuous emission mode is that a duty cycle of a current supplied to the light-emitting device is implemented with a square wave (e.g. Par. [0076]: square-wave pulses of electromagnetic radiation are provided).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight to include the square wave pulses as taught by Williams to provide the necessary light therapy for treatment.
Regarding claim 2, Satoh fails to disclose wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of a single wavelength. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of a single wavelength (e.g. Par. [0042]; Par. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include providing light in a single wavelength as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy (e.g. Knight, par. [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Satoh fails to disclose wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of different wavelengths. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of different wavelengths (e.g. Par. [0042]; Par. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include providing light in different wavelengths as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy (e.g. Knight, par. [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Satoh fails to disclose wherein the light-emitting device comprises one or more diodes generating the near infrared rays of a single wavelength within a range from 600 to 1400 nanometers. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the light-emitting device comprises one or more diodes generating the near infrared rays of a single wavelength within a range from 600 to 1400 nanometers (e.g. Pars. [0042], [0055]: light therapy can be between 290nm – 900nm and is therefore near infrared (wavelengths of 810nm – 850nm) or visible red light (wavelengths of 650nm – 700nm); Par. [0070]: light sources 126 with wavelengths between 290-900nm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include diodes generating the near infrared rays of a single wavelength within a range from 600 to 1400nm as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy (e.g. Knight, Abstract; par. [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Satoh further discloses the hydrogen therapy (e.g. Abstract), but fails to specifically disclose the lighting apparatus comprising a carrier and the lighting module of claim 1 integrated into the carrier. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses a lighting apparatus (e.g. Abstract: enclosure with light sources), comprising: a carrier, and the lighting module of claim 1 integrated into the carrier (e.g. Par. [0057]: the enclosure includes a surface for the user to rest on).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include the lighting module and carrier as taught by Knight, because doing so would provide light therapy that would enhance the user’s health (e.g. Knight, Abstract; par. [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Satoh fails to disclose herein the carrier exhibits a chair structure. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the carrier exhibits a chair structure (e.g. Par. [0057]: resting surface may be a chair).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include the carrier being a chair as taught by Knight, because doing so would provide a surface for the user to rest on during the light therapy.
Regarding claim 10, Satoh fails to disclose wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of a single wavelength. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of a single wavelength (e.g. Par. [0042]; Par. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include providing light in a single wavelength as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy (e.g. Knight, par. [0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Satoh fails to disclose wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of different wavelengths. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the light-emitting device provides the light of different wavelengths (e.g. Par. [0042]; Par. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include providing light in different wavelengths as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy (e.g. Knight, par. [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Satoh fails to disclose wherein the light-emitting device comprises one or more diodes generating the near infrared rays of a single wavelength within a range from 600 to 1400 nanometers. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein the light-emitting device comprises one or more diodes generating the near infrared rays of a single wavelength within a range from 600 to 1400 nanometers (e.g. Pars. [0042], [0055]: light therapy can be between 290nm – 900nm and is therefore near infrared (wavelengths of 810nm – 850nm) or visible red light (wavelengths of 650nm – 700nm); Par. [0070]: light sources 126 with wavelengths between 290-900nm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapy of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include diodes generating the near infrared rays of a single wavelength within a range from 600 to 1400nm as taught by Knight, because doing so would enhance the user’s health by providing light therapy (e.g. Knight, Abstract; par. [0058]).
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoh et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0000843, of record), hereinafter Satoh, further in view of Knight (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0080246, of record), and further in view of Williams (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0146520), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jaeger (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0275349, of record).
Regarding claim 6, Satoh fails to disclose a power source electrically connected to the light-emitting device, wherein the power source provides a function of grounding and is electrically connected to an external surface of the container or a ground of the container. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses providing power to the light sources (e.g. Par. [0070]: light sources controlled by the lighting system, which includes turning them off, which means power has to be supplied).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include the power source of Knight, because doing so would provide the device with the power necessary to operate.
However, Satoh in view of Knight does not explicitly disclose a power source electrically connected to the light-emitting device, wherein the power source provides a function of grounding and is electrically connected to an external surface of the container or a ground of the container. Jaeger is directed towards thermoregulation. Jaeger discloses a power source electrically connected to the light-emitting device, wherein the power source provides a function of grounding and is electrically connected to an external surface of the container or a ground of the container (e.g. Par. [0067]: light emitting diodes and fluid bladder connected to external power source).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include the power source as taught by Jaeger, because doing so would provide power to the device to provide treatment to the user.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Satoh fails to disclose wherein current from the power source to the electrically connected light-emitting device is supplied intermittently. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses wherein current from the power source to the electrically connected light-emitting device is supplied intermittently (e.g. Par. [0081]: the light can be turned off during intervals of the therapy, which is being understood as power being supplied intermittently).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight, Williams, and Jaeger to include the intermittent power as taught by Knight, because doing so would provide power to the device to provide treatment to the user.
Regarding claim 14, Satoh fails to disclose a power source electrically connected to at least one of the light-emitting device of the lighting module and the container of the lighting module. Knight, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards promoting health in users through light therapy. Knight further discloses providing power to the light sources (e.g. Par. [0070]: light sources controlled by the lighting system, which includes turning them off, which means power has to be supplied).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include the power source of Knight, because doing so would provide the device with the power necessary to operate.
However, Satoh in view of Knight does not explicitly disclose a power source electrically connected to at least one of the light-emitting device of the lighting module and the container of the lighting module. Jaeger is directed towards thermoregulation. Jaeger discloses a power source electrically connected to at least one of the light-emitting device of the lighting module and the container of the lighting module (e.g. Par. [0067]: light emitting diodes and fluid bladder connected to external power source).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Satoh in view of Knight and Williams to include the power source as taught by Jaeger, because doing so would provide power to the device to provide treatment to the user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796