Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 25, 31, 32 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cuculic et al. (US 3450100).
For claim 21, Cuculic et al. teach a method of relocating birds within a structure, the method comprising: installing a bird relocation system, the bird relocation system comprising; at least one perimeter net (68); and wherein the at least one perimeter net is positioned at or near the ceiling of the structure (Figure 1 shows that perimeter net (68) is positioned at or near the ceiling (12) of the structure (1)).
For claim 22, Cuculic et al. teach wherein the at least one perimeter net (68) is installed such that one side of the at least one perimeter net is substantially in contact with one side (14 and/or 16, see Figure 1) of the structure.
For claim 25, Cuculic et al. teach installing at least one trapping net (46).
For claim 31, Cuculic et al. teach wherein the bird relocation system comprises at least two perimeter nets (second net (68) on the opposite side of first net (68), see Figure 2).
For claim 32, Cuculic et al. teach wherein the bird relocation system comprises at least two trapping nets (two nets (46), see Figure 4).
For claim 40, Cuculic et al. teach a method of relocating birds within a structure, the method comprising: installing a bird relocation system, the bird relocation system comprising; at least one perimeter net (68), and at least one flushing device (46); and flushing the bird toward the at least one perimeter net and into the perimeter net (see Figure 2), wherein the at least one perimeter net is positioned at or near a ceiling of the structure (Figure 1 shows that perimeter net (68) is positioned at or near the ceiling (12) of the structure (1)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuculic et al. (US 3450100).
For claim 23, as described above, Cuculic et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the at least one perimeter net is placed within the structure such that the square footage available for the bird to travel within the structure is approximately halved.
However, with respect to the limitation “that the square footage available for the bird to travel within the structure is approximately halved”, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Cuculic et al. so as to include the at least one perimeter net is placed within the structure such that the square footage available for the bird to travel within the structure is approximately halved, since to do so would be considered as a matter of design choice depended on the intended use of the user, wherein no stated problem is solved, or any new or unexpected result achieved, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the placement of the perimeter net used in Cuculic et al.
For claim 24, as described above, Cuculic et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the at least one perimeter net is placed at a height above the floor of the structure based on the species of the bird being relocated. However, it is noted that the location of the perimeter net is considered as a matter of design choice depended on the intended use of the user, wherein no stated problem is solved, or any new or unexpected result achieved, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the placement of the perimeter net used in Cuculic et al.
For claim 26, as described above, Cuculic et al. teach all the claimed invention except for the use of a specific material such as mist net. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Cuculic et al. so as to include the use of mist nets, since using another type of shelf system material is considered as a matter of design choice depended on its suitability for the intended use and/or the availability of the material, wherein no stated problem is solved or any new or unexpected result achieved, since it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the type of material used in Cuculic et al..
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-16 of U. S. Patent No. 10,251,374 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: “a bird relocation system comprising at least one perimeter net, at least one trapping net, and at least one flushing device”.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-8 of U. S. Patent No. 11,064,683 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: “a bird relocation system comprising at least one perimeter net, at least one trapping net, and at least one flushing device”.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-17 of U. S. Patent No. 10,729,108 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: “a bird relocation system comprising at least one perimeter net, at least one trapping net, and at least one flushing device”.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cuculic does not teach “perimeter net”. Applicant’s argument has been acknowledged; however, it is noted that the Examiner is interpreting the term “net” as “an openwork fabric of string, rope, wire, ect; mesh” as defined in Collins English Dictionary — Complete & Unabridged" 2012 Digital Edition © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012 (online version at Dictionary.com). Therefore, as shown in Figure 3, Cuculic clearly teaches a perimeter net (68), i.e., “an openwork fabric of…wire; mesh”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Collins can be reached on 571-272-6886. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644