DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to amendments and remarks filed 03 June 2026.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection under the Alice Corp. vs. CLS Bank Int’l be withdrawn; however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As an initial note, the arguments are not compliant under 37 CFR 1.111(b) as they amount to a mere allegation of patent eligibility as bare assertion of improvement. The Examiner respectfully does not find the assertion persuasive because a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent is not sufficient to show an improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) (discussing MPEP 2106.05(a)). That is, the Examiner does not find any evidence that the claimed aspects are any improvement over conventional systems. The Examiner notes that in order to be patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101, the claims must be directed towards a patent eligible concept, which, the instant claims are not directed. Contrary to Applicants’ assertion that the claims are not a mental process or a certain method of organizing human activity, the Examiner notes that processing of a service request to identify and select content related to the service request is a function that service providers, maintenance, apartment management etc. have traditionally performed/provided for users/residents. Next, the claims are not directed to a practical application of the concept. The claims do not result in improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. They do not effect a particular treatment for a disease. They are not applied with or by a particular machine. They do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. And they are not applied in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception (i.e., processing of a service request to identify and select content related to the service request) to a particular technological environment (i.e., electronic content, with the use of natural language processing). Here, again as noted in the previous rejection, mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept - MPEP 2016.05(f). The claims recitation of the “computing device” “one or more natural language processing techniques,” and “electronic content” are only generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) discussing MPEP 2106.05(h). The claim(s) is/are not patent eligible. As such, this argument is not persuasive, and the rejection not overcome.
Applicants further argue that the claims are similar to the recent Enfish decision; however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Unlike Enfish, the instant claims are clearly focused on the combination of those abstract-idea processes. Here, by contrast, the claims are not directed to an improvement in the way computers operate. The advance the claims purport to make is processing of a service request to identify and select content related to the service request, and not any particular assertedly inventive technology for performing those functions. They are therefore still directed to an abstract idea. Again, unlike Enfish, the instant claims focus not on such an improvement to the computers as tools, but on certainly independent abstract ideas that use the computers as tools and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas themselves. Merely requiring the selection and manipulation of information—to provide a “humanly comprehensible” amount of information useful for users, by itself does not transform the otherwise-abstract processes of information collection and analysis. Instead, the claims are more analogous to those in FairWarningIP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 2016), wherein claims reciting “a few possible rules to analyze audit log data” were found directed to an abstract idea because they asked “the same questions (though perhaps phrased with different words) that humans in analogous situations detecting fraud have asked for decades.” FairWarning, 839 F.3d at 1094, 1095. As such, this argument is not persuasive, and the rejection not overcome.
These arguments appear to be whether or not the use of computer or computing components for increased speed and efficiency is an improvement; however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nor, in addressing the second step of Alice, does claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer provide a sufficient inventive concept. See Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can., 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (“[T]he fact that the required calculations could be performed more efficiently via a computer does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter.”); CLS Bank, Int’l v. Alice Corp., 717 F.3d 1269, 1286 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (en banc) aff’d, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014) (“[S]imply appending generic computer functionality to lend speed or efficiency to the performance of an otherwise abstract concept does not meaningfully limit claim scope for purposes of patent eligibility.” (citations omitted)). As such, this argument is not persuasive, and the rejection not overcome.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. The Examiner refers Applicant to the updated rejection below, addressing the newly amended claims.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not expressly disclose “selecting, from among a collection of electronic content and using the service request, a subset of electronic corresponding to the service topic likely to be associated with the service request, wherein the collection of electronic content is associated with prior maintenance operations performed at the property the subset of electronic content is filtered to provide content most likely to be responsive based on prior user engagement data;” however the Examiner respectfully disagrees for a plurality of reasons. As previously cited, Lerick is able to “The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106 (Lerick ¶34)” which is clearly obtaining information regarding the service request, including issues identified by a user, and using said request to find information and thus clearly reads upon the “selecting, from among a collection of electronic content and using the service request, a subset of electronic corresponding to the service topic likely to be associated with the service request, wherein the collection of electronic content is associated with prior maintenance operations performed at the property the subset of electronic content is filtered to provide content most likely to be responsive based on prior user engagement data.” (i.e. quite literally using the service request to select, filter, or search). To put another way, Lerik’s system uses the service requests in attempt to resolve the issue, using the requests as a crucial data point to search and obtain information similar or even resolving the issue at hand. Why would a system not use the initial input as a way to cull/filter/search for solutions and start a search or filter completely from scratch? As such this argument is not persuasive, and the rejection not overcome.
In response to arguments in reference to any depending claims that have not been individually addressed, all rejections made towards these dependent claims are maintained due to a lack of reply by the Applicants in regards to distinctly and specifically pointing out the supposed errors in the Examiner's prior office action (37 CFR 1.111). The Examiner asserts that the Applicants only argue that the dependent claims should be allowable because the independent claims are unobvious and patentable over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are directed to a process (an act, or series of acts or steps), a machine (a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices), and a manufacture (an article produced from raw or prepared materials by giving these materials new forms, qualities, properties, or combinations, whether by hand labor or by machinery). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (Step 1). However, the claim(s) recite(s) processing of a service request to identify and select content related to the service request which is an abstract idea of organizing human activities as well as a mental process performed on said gathered or organized activities.
The limitations of “maintaining... a model configured to apply one or more natural language processing techniques to predict, from among service topics specified by maintenance history data, likely service topics for future service requests to be associated with a property, wherein the service topics within the maintenance history data are associated with a property management system; applying, by the server system, the trained model to perform a set of operations relating to processing information associated with the service request, the set of operations comprising: identifying a set of terms included within the service request; determining that the set of terms includes one or more terms corresponding to a particular service topic, determining that the set of terms includes one or terms that identify a particular request type, and generating an output associated with the particular request type by applying a ranking model trained to prioritize frequently occurring service issues within the property; predicting, by the server system, a service topic likely to be associated with the service request based on the output provided by the model; selecting, from among a collection of electronic content and using the service request, a subset of electronic corresponding to the service topic likely to be associated with the service request, wherein the collection of electronic content is associated with prior maintenance operations performed at the property the subset of electronic content is filtered to provide content most likely to be responsive based on prior user engagement data,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers organizing human activities--fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components (Step 2A Prong 1). That is, other than reciting “a computer-implemented method,” by a server system” or “a computing device,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from the methods of organizing human interactions grouping. For example, but for the “computing device” language, “generating,” “using,” “identifying,” “determining,” “determining,” “generating,” “predicting,” and “selecting,” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receiving a service request and communicating information back based upon the received service request which is a maintenance service and business relation as well as a potential commercial or legal interaction. Similarly, this is also a mental process of thinking that or learning that the received service request of a similar type could have a related issue or common solution. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as one of the certain methods of organizing human activities and/or mental processes, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” and/or “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two). The “obtaining,” “providing,” and “updating” steps are simply extrasolution data gathering activities. Next, the claims only recite one additional element – using the use of a computer-implemented method, server system, a/one or more computing devices, or one or more processors to perform the steps. The computer-implemented method, computing devices, and processors in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of electronic data storage, query, and retrieval) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Specifically the claims amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer or invoking computers as tools by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) discussing MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims recitation of the “computing device” “one or more natural language processing techniques,” and “electronic content” are only generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) discussing MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, the combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea, even when considered as a whole.
The claim does not include a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2), the combination of additional elements of using a computer-implemented method, server system, a/one or more computing devices, or one or more processors in the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Reevaluating here in step 2B, the “obtaining,” “providing,” and “updating” step(s) which are insignificant extrasolution activities are also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs court decisions in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that the mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as is here). Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim. As such, the claim(s) is/are not patent eligible, even when considered as a whole.
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 12, 16-17, and 19 are dependent on claims 1, 8, and 15 and include all the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15. Therefore, claims 2-3, 9-10, 12, 16-17, and 19 recite the same abstract idea of “processing of a service request to identify and select content related to the service request.” The claim recites the additional limitations further limiting the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 are dependent on claims 1, 8, and 15 and include all the limitations of claims 1, 8, and 15. Therefore, claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 recite the same abstract idea of “processing of a service request to identify and select content related to the service request.” The claim recites the additional limitations further limiting how the abstract idea is performed (software, text messages) which is only limiting the particular environment and is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 is therefore not eligible subject matter, even when considered as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerick et al. (US PG Pub. 2016/0117785) and further in view of Adjaoute (US PG Pub. 2015/0339586).
As per claims 1, 8, and 15, Lerick discloses a computer-implemented method for improving predictive service request processing, system comprising: one or more computing devices; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations comprising:, and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage device storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: the method comprising (method, Lerick ¶91; computing devices, computer system, ¶87-¶88; processors, memories, ¶89-¶90):
maintaining in a memory, by a server system, a model configured to apply one or more [machine learning] processing techniques to predict, from among service topics specified by maintenance history data, likely service topics for future service requests to be associated with a property, wherein the service topics within the maintenance history data are associated with a property management system (PMS) (The computer system 104 can receive the information describing issues from owners and can, based on the information, identify one or more of the components as candidates for being a source of the issue. For example, an owner may indicate that they have noticed a water leak from the ceiling in a particular room in a building. The computer system 104 can reference the components that are installed in the building from the building data system 106 to identify possible components and/or systems that may be causing the water leak in the particular room. For instance, the computer system 104 can identify components of water systems within the building, such as domestic water systems (e.g., domestic water lines and components, waste water lines and components) and fire suppression systems (e.g., sprinkler systems and components) as candidate components that may be causing the example building issue (water leak), Lerick ¶32; Component-based building assessments can use various computer-implemented techniques (e.g., machine learning techniques) to leverage the performance history of components across a collection of buildings to identify and highlight data records providing a better indication of quality, which can be weighted more than less significant data records when determining a high-level building quality assessment, ¶14; Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, ¶34; For example, a particular component may be problematic in certain instances while operating without a problem in other instances. Machine learning algorithms can be used to generate data models that can identify data points that identify circumstances (e.g., geographic region of building (climate), other installed components, history of service requests for component, history of particular service requests) indicating that a particular component is likely to be problematic and other data points that indicate other circumstances indicating that the particular component is not likely to be problematic. For instance, a machine learning algorithm may be able to tease out a pattern of service requests that indicate that a component is likely to fail in the near future (e.g., particular installed component has low quality), whereas the absence of such a pattern can indicate that the component will maintain good operating condition for near future, ¶44) (Examiner notes the ability to identify issues, tease out or troubleshoot as the ability to predict the likely service topics for future service requests, based upon obtained historical data);
obtaining, by the server system, data indicating a service request submitted by a computing device of a user, wherein the service request is (i) received via a property management application executed on the computing device, (ii) includes user-generated input specifying an issue associated with the property, and (iii) obtained during a time when maintenance personnel is not available to respond to the service request (service requests, Lerick ¶34; computer system can act as an intermediary, ¶33; The computer system 302 can use one or more data sources 324a-d, such as a building data source 324a that can store information about buildings (e.g., component information), a contractor data source 324b that can store information about contractors/builders/vendors/service providers, an owner data source 324c that can store information about building owners, and a service request data source 324d that can store and log information about both completed and pending service requests, ¶67; mobile application on a computing device, ¶82);
using, by the server system, the model to perform a set of operations relating to processing information associated with the service request, the set of operations comprising (The computer system 104 can receive the information describing issues from owners and can, based on the information, identify one or more of the components as candidates for being a source of the issue. For example, an owner may indicate that they have noticed a water leak from the ceiling in a particular room in a building. The computer system 104 can reference the components that are installed in the building from the building data system 106 to identify possible components and/or systems that may be causing the water leak in the particular room. For instance, the computer system 104 can identify components of water systems within the building, such as domestic water systems (e.g., domestic water lines and components, waste water lines and components) and fire suppression systems (e.g., sprinkler systems and components) as candidate components that may be causing the example building issue (water leak), Lerick ¶32; Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, ¶34):
identifying a set of terms included within the service request by applying natural language processing techniques (The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106. This information can be combined with similar information from other service calls for the same or other buildings, and can be used to provide analytics to any of a variety of entities, such as to the builders, contractors, vendors, service providers, manufacturers, insurers and/or warranty providers, building owners/users, and/or to other parties/systems (e.g., real estate computer systems). For example, analytics can be provided to builders, contractors, and vendors indicating which components and systems building owners are having problems with, when the issues that are reported are a result of component malfunction/failure vs. user error, and/or the timeframe within which these issues are arising. Such information can be helpful to the builders, contractors, and vendors so as to better inform them of which components and systems to select for future projects, gaps in education of systems to building owners, and appropriately prices and lengths of time for warranties. Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, Lerick ¶34);
determining that the set of terms includes one or more terms corresponding to a particular service topic (The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106. This information can be combined with similar information from other service calls for the same or other buildings, and can be used to provide analytics to any of a variety of entities, such as to the builders, contractors, vendors, service providers, manufacturers, insurers and/or warranty providers, building owners/users, and/or to other parties/systems (e.g., real estate computer systems). For example, analytics can be provided to builders, contractors, and vendors indicating which components and systems building owners are having problems with, when the issues that are reported are a result of component malfunction/failure vs. user error, and/or the timeframe within which these issues are arising. Such information can be helpful to the builders, contractors, and vendors so as to better inform them of which components and systems to select for future projects, gaps in education of systems to building owners, and appropriately prices and lengths of time for warranties. Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, Lerick ¶34),
determining that the set of terms includes one or terms that identify a particular request type (The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106. This information can be combined with similar information from other service calls for the same or other buildings, and can be used to provide analytics to any of a variety of entities, such as to the builders, contractors, vendors, service providers, manufacturers, insurers and/or warranty providers, building owners/users, and/or to other parties/systems (e.g., real estate computer systems). For example, analytics can be provided to builders, contractors, and vendors indicating which components and systems building owners are having problems with, when the issues that are reported are a result of component malfunction/failure vs. user error, and/or the timeframe within which these issues are arising. Such information can be helpful to the builders, contractors, and vendors so as to better inform them of which components and systems to select for future projects, gaps in education of systems to building owners, and appropriately prices and lengths of time for warranties. Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, Lerick ¶34), and
generating an output associated with the particular request type by applying a filter to prioritize frequently occurring service issues within the property (The computer system 202 can also provide building issue and servicing features, as indicated by step B (220). The building issues and servicing can include building issue triaging, such as identifying possible problems with the component that may be causing a problem and a range of potential solutions, which may include repairing or replacing the component as well as related components. The triaging can also include determining an appropriate timeframe to resolve the issue, which can be determined based on a level of urgency/severity of the issue as well as other risks associated with the issue. The triaging can further include identifying candidate parties to resolve the issue within the appropriate timeframe. Such candidate parties may be parties (e.g., companies, individual workers, contractors) who are preapproved to service the issue under one or more warranties that are covering components that are likely the source of the issue, such as parties who manufactured and/or installed the components. The triaging can further include identifying one or more actions that can be taken to mitigate further damage and/or risk from the issue before a service technician or other appropriate party is able to respond to and resolve the issue, Lerick ¶52);
predicting, by the server system, a service topic likely to be associated with the service request based on the output provided by the model (The computer system 202 can also provide building issue and servicing features, as indicated by step B (220). The building issues and servicing can include building issue triaging, such as identifying possible problems with the component that may be causing a problem and a range of potential solutions, which may include repairing or replacing the component as well as related components. The triaging can also include determining an appropriate timeframe to resolve the issue, which can be determined based on a level of urgency/severity of the issue as well as other risks associated with the issue. The triaging can further include identifying candidate parties to resolve the issue within the appropriate timeframe. Such candidate parties may be parties (e.g., companies, individual workers, contractors) who are preapproved to service the issue under one or more warranties that are covering components that are likely the source of the issue, such as parties who manufactured and/or installed the components. The triaging can further include identifying one or more actions that can be taken to mitigate further damage and/or risk from the issue before a service technician or other appropriate party is able to respond to and resolve the issue, Lerick ¶52)
selecting, from among a collection of electronic content and using the service request, a subset of electronic corresponding to the service topic likely to be associated with the service request, wherein (component and warranty information, building information, Lerick ¶27-¶28; the computer system 104 can assist owners in triaging and resolving issues that may arise with buildings and/or the components in buildings, ¶29; issue, additional information, ¶33-¶34; identifying possible problems and potential solutions, ¶52):
the collection of electronic content is associated with prior maintenance operations performed at the property (component and warranty information, building information, databases, Lerick ¶27-¶28; For example, the computer system 104 can store the information in one or more data repositories (e.g., databases, file systems), such as the example building data system 106. For instance, the building data system 106 can include building information and can include one or more data sources, such as data repositories (e.g., databases, file systems) for building data, entity data, owner data, and/or other appropriate data repositories. A building data repository, for example, can store information regarding a building, such as information about the building (e.g., address, type of building, date of construction, unique identifier for the building), information about components of the building (e.g., component information, warranty information), and/or other appropriate information. An entity data repository, for example, can store information about entities (e.g., builders, contractors, and vendors) associated with the building, such as contact information for the entity (e.g., name, telephone number, fax number, email address, unique identifier for the entity), information identifying specialties and other ways in which the entities are associated with buildings and their components (e.g., builder, installer, manufacturer, warranty provider, insurer), account information for the entities (e.g., username, password), and other appropriate information. An owner data repository, for example, can include a variety of information about an owner of the building, such as the owner's name and contact information, buildings that the owner is associated with, account information (e.g., username, password), and other appropriate information for the owner. The information that is stored in the building data system 106 can be populated by one or more other systems, such as the building issue system 104, the real estate system 108, and/or by others (e.g., real estate companies, property management companies, property owners, tenants, service providers), Once stored, the computer system 104 can maintain and manage the component information and the warranty information, such as part a subscription service that is offered over a period of time or for perpetuity on behalf of the builders, contractors, vendors, and/or other users who built buildings and/or installed/repaired components in the buildings. Such management can include providing owners with access to information about their buildings, such as component and warranty information. Additionally, the management can include providing owners with reminders about warranty periods, upcoming warranty expirations, obtaining quotes from one or more warranty providers for extended warranties, and/or facilitating the purchasing and management of extended warranties. Additionally, the computer system 104 can assist owners in triaging and resolving issues that may arise with buildings and/or the components in buildings, Lerick ¶28-¶29; issue, additional information, ¶33-¶34; identifying possible problems and potential solutions, ¶52; maintenance, service, groups, roles organized, ¶76-¶77; in response to service request, ¶38 and ¶72), and
the subset of electronic content is filtered to provide content most likely to be responsive based on prior user engagement data (For example, instead of providing a user with a complete data file on the components within a building and their service history, computer-implemented techniques described in this document can automatically analyze the component information to provide overall quality ratings information for buildings based on their components, quality ratings for the components themselves, quality ratings for maintenance provided on the components, and/or other quality-related metrics that can provide a user with a higher-level assessment of the quality of a building (or a portion thereof), Lerick ¶6; Ratings can additionally and/or alternatively be generated by the computer system 102 using one or more computer-based techniques to generate inferences as to building component quality based on disparate bits of information. For example, the computer system 102 can use one or more machine learning algorithms (e.g., neural networks, clustering, decision trees) to determine correlations between data that can indicate the quality of components presently and/or in the future, and to identify data correlations that are not indicators of component quality. Such machine learning algorithms can be run across data for each individual building, for groups of buildings (e.g., buildings located in the same geographical region, buildings governed by one or more similar building codes), and/or for all buildings to generate multiple different data models correlating component data (as described above) to differing levels of quality. Component-based ratings for a building can be generated using one or more models (e.g., individual building models, group-based building models, models for all buildings, models for different types of components (e.g., electrical component models, appliance component models), manufacturer/service provider-specific models for manufacturers and/or service providers who manufactured and/or installed/serviced components), the results of which may be compared against each other and/or combined to provide component-based ratings for buildings. For instance, the results from multiple different models can be combined by weighting each result based on the number of data points that were used to generate the model (e.g., larger number of data points can indicate more reliable model) and combining the weighted results (e.g., average, weighted average, median value, aggregate value). For example, a particular component may be problematic in certain instances while operating without a problem in other instances. Machine learning algorithms can be used to generate data models that can identify data points that identify circumstances (e.g., geographic region of building (climate), other installed components, history of service requests for component, history of particular service requests) indicating that a particular component is likely to be problematic and other data points that indicate other circumstances indicating that the particular component is not likely to be problematic. For instance, a machine learning algorithm may be able to tease out a pattern of service requests that indicate that a component is likely to fail in the near future (e.g., particular installed component has low quality), whereas the absence of such a pattern can indicate that the component will maintain good operating condition for near future, ¶43-¶44);
providing, by a server system, for output to the computing device, a communication that when received by the computing device, causes the computing device to display a subset of electronic content formatted for interactive viewing on the computing device (The computer system 104 can transmit information (e.g., photos, videos, text, troubleshooting instructions) regarding the identified candidate components and associated warranties to user computing devices, which users can use to identify malfunctioning components and to initiate service repair and/or warranty claims for the components. The computer system 104 can act as an intermediary between building owners (and other users associated with buildings, such as renters, property management companies), service providers (e.g., contractors, service technicians), and warranty providers (e.g., manufacturers, insurers) to initiate repair and/or replacement of faulty components. This can involve the computer system 104 arranging appointments with appropriate service technicians, alerting service technicians to the specific nature of the issue (e.g., implicated component, urgency of issue), and/or processing payment for the repairs and/or replacement. The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106. This information can be combined with similar information from other service calls for the same or other buildings, and can be used to provide analytics to any of a variety of entities, such as to the builders, contractors, vendors, service providers, manufacturers, insurers and/or warranty providers, building owners/users, and/or to other parties/systems (e.g., real estate computer systems). For example, analytics can be provided to builders, contractors, and vendors indicating which components and systems building owners are having problems with, when the issues that are reported are a result of component malfunction/failure vs. user error, and/or the timeframe within which these issues are arising. Such information can be helpful to the builders, contractors, and vendors so as to better inform them of which components and systems to select for future projects, gaps in education of systems to building owners, and appropriately prices and lengths of time for warranties. Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, Lerick ¶33-¶34; display, user interfaces, ¶59; user interaction, ¶99) and,
updating, by a server system, the maintenance history data to include the service topic likely to be associated with the service request, wherein the update includes an indexed record with metadata specifying the request type, service type, and associated content provided to the user (Once stored, the computer system 104 can maintain and manage the component information and the warranty information, such as part a subscription service that is offered over a period of time or for perpetuity on behalf of the builders, contractors, vendors, and/or other users who built buildings and/or installed/repaired components in the buildings. Such management can include providing owners with access to information about their buildings, such as component and warranty information. Additionally, the management can include providing owners with reminders about warranty periods, upcoming warranty expirations, obtaining quotes from one or more warranty providers for extended warranties, and/or facilitating the purchasing and management of extended warranties. Additionally, the computer system 104 can assist owners in triaging and resolving issues that may arise with buildings and/or the components in buildings, Lerick ¶29).
While Lerick discloses the ability to use machine learning techniques for identifying issues and troubleshooting said issues but does not expressly disclose that the model be applied with one or more natural language techniques.
However, Adjaoute teaches one or more natural language processing techniques (Text Mining crawls over natural language texts. Text-mining differs also from web-searching where the information being searched already exists. In Text Mining, machines extract something new from an already available resource. Fuzzy logic can be applied to text-mining, e.g., for document clustering into pre-specified clusters. Documents can be classified into categories, such as relevant and irrelevant. In a first step, documents are cleaned of advertisements and tags. Hyphens are eliminated and stop words are removed. Word stemming is used to represent words by their roots. Each document can then be represented as an assembly of words. Weights are assigned to words on the basis of their respective significance in the document, e.g., frequency of occurrence, Adjaoute ¶57; for preventative maintenance and predictions of equipment failures, ¶73; within service reports, ¶90).
Both the Lerick and Adjaoute references are analogous in that both are directed towards/concerned with product/equipment/component management, including maintenance thereof. Before the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Adjaoute’s method of natural language processing of text relating to equipment in Lerick’s system to improve the system and method with reasonable expectation that this would result in an assessment management system that is able to efficiently process text input.
The motivation being that there is a need for empanel several different artificial intelligence (AI) classification technologies into a “jury” that uses combinational digital logic to render “verdicts” about the need for service and impending equipment failures of the machines they monitor. Networks can be used to forward signals from remote locations to a centralized appliance that may be plugged as a module into a server. Or, the appliance outputs can be communicated over networks to servers that will muster appropriate maintenance personnel who are forewarned as to the nature of the trouble (Adjaoute ¶8).
The Examiner also notes that the type of model for statistical analysis are simply a design choice which would be obvious to try as there is a finite number of predictable types of processing models (See MPEP 2144.05.B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to include a natural language processing model as one of the types of machine learning models, as this is simply a design choice from a finite number of analytical or processing models commonly used or are marketed successful.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Lerick and Adjaoute disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15. Lerick further discloses the service request indicates maintenance for a particular appliance located within the property; and the subset of electronic content comprises a tutorial video for performing the maintenance on the particular appliance (The computer system 104 can transmit information (e.g., photos, videos, text, troubleshooting instructions) regarding the identified candidate components and associated warranties to user computing devices, which users can use to identify malfunctioning components and to initiate service repair and/or warranty claims for the components. The computer system 104 can act as an intermediary between building owners (and other users associated with buildings, such as renters, property management companies), service providers (e.g., contractors, service technicians), and warranty providers (e.g., manufacturers, insurers) to initiate repair and/or replacement of faulty components. This can involve the computer system 104 arranging appointments with appropriate service technicians, alerting service technicians to the specific nature of the issue (e.g., implicated component, urgency of issue), and/or processing payment for the repairs and/or replacement. The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106. This information can be combined with similar information from other service calls for the same or other buildings, and can be used to provide analytics to any of a variety of entities, such as to the builders, contractors, vendors, service providers, manufacturers, insurers and/or warranty providers, building owners/users, and/or to other parties/systems (e.g., real estate computer systems). For example, analytics can be provided to builders, contractors, and vendors indicating which components and systems building owners are having problems with, when the issues that are reported are a result of component malfunction/failure vs. user error, and/or the timeframe within which these issues are arising. Such information can be helpful to the builders, contractors, and vendors so as to better inform them of which components and systems to select for future projects, gaps in education of systems to building owners, and appropriately prices and lengths of time for warranties. Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, Lerick ¶33-¶34).
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, Lerick and Adjaoute disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1, 8, and 16. Lerick further discloses wherein: the collection of electronic content comprises content that is predetermined to be associated with service requests previously received for one or more properties of a same property type as the property (The computer system 104 can receive the information describing issues from owners and can, based on the information, identify one or more of the components as candidates for being a source of the issue. For example, an owner may indicate that they have noticed a water leak from the ceiling in a particular room in a building. The computer system 104 can reference the components that are installed in the building from the building data system 106 to identify possible components and/or systems that may be causing the water leak in the particular room. For instance, the computer system 104 can identify components of water systems within the building, such as domestic water systems (e.g., domestic water lines and components, waste water lines and components) and fire suppression systems (e.g., sprinkler systems and components) as candidate components that may be causing the example building issue (water leak), Lerick ¶32; Component-based building assessments can use various computer-implemented techniques (e.g., machine learning techniques) to leverage the performance history of components across a collection of buildings to identify and highlight data records providing a better indication of quality, which can be weighted more than less significant data records when determining a high-level building quality assessment, ¶14; Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, ¶34).
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, Lerick and Adjaoute disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15. Lerick further discloses wherein the one or more terms corresponding to the particular service topic identify (i) a particular appliance within the property, and (ii) a type of maintenance to be performed on the particular appliance (The computer system 104 can additionally store information regarding service requests, such as the date on which service was performed, the cause of the issue identified by a user as determined by service providers, components that were verified to be problematic, actions that were performed (e.g., test/diagnose issue, review product/training manual on issue, repair components) by the service provider to resolve the issue, costs for resolving the issue, the time it took to resolve the issue (e.g., time for the service provider to arrive at the building, time to resolve the issue once at the building), reviews of the service provider, and/or information identifying new components/parts that were installed in the building. Such information can be stored in one or more data repositories, such as in the building data system 106. This information can be combined with similar information from other service calls for the same or other buildings, and can be used to provide analytics to any of a variety of entities, such as to the builders, contractors, vendors, service providers, manufacturers, insurers and/or warranty providers, building owners/users, and/or to other parties/systems (e.g., real estate computer systems). For example, analytics can be provided to builders, contractors, and vendors indicating which components and systems building owners are having problems with, when the issues that are reported are a result of component malfunction/failure vs. user error, and/or the timeframe within which these issues are arising. Such information can be helpful to the builders, contractors, and vendors so as to better inform them of which components and systems to select for future projects, gaps in education of systems to building owners, and appropriately prices and lengths of time for warranties. Such analytics can be provided using any of a variety of appropriate techniques, such as machine learning techniques (e.g., neural networks, clustering, regressions, decision trees) that can identify correlations and associations across large data sets, such as correlations that can indicate that particular components are faulty. The data that is generated and stored by the computer system 104, and the analytics based on the data can also be used to provide component-based building assessments, as described throughout this document, Lerick ¶34).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, Lerick and Adjaoute disclose as shown above with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15. Lerick further discloses wherein: the service request is received through property management software; and the subset of electronic content is selected from among a collection of content stored within the property management software (software, Lerick ¶11 and ¶62).
As per claims 7 and 14, Lerick and Adjaoute disclose as shown above with respect to claims 6 and 14. Lerick further discloses wherein: the communication comprises a text message provided to the computing device; and the text message includes a hyperlink to a web location of the subset of electronic content (creating a service request, Lerick ¶79; text messages, ¶51 and ¶95).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629