DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1, 18 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the objective data" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 has similar issues.
Claims 13-14 are rejected for being dependent on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-4, 15- 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt et al. (US20150223092)in view of Wootton et al. (GB2568325A) in view of Austin et al.( US20140325019).
Regarding claim 1, Schmidt teaches A computer-implemented method of determining a severity of an incident in a utility supply network, the method comprising:
receiving an indication of the incident in the utility supply network ([0019] “in response to input received from the user or an application running on (i.e. being executed by) the user equipment, the user equipment may send this request to the MNO to trigger the channel measurement procedures instead of the MNO requesting the channel measurement procedures as done in FIG. 1. For reporting, other pieces of information may be added to these measurements as well, such as time stamps, location stamps, details about the service(s) being consumed, information about the (type of) application(s) being active, and so on”, (Examiner’s note: input received from the user is equivalent to indication of the incident, wireless network is equivalent to utility supply network);
receiving subjective data from a first user device connected to the utility supply network relating to user perception of performance of the utility supply network ([0019] “in response to input received from the user or an application running on (i.e. being executed by) the user equipment, the user equipment may send this request to the MNO to trigger the channel measurement procedures instead of the MNO requesting the channel measurement procedures as done in FIG. 1. For reporting, other pieces of information may be added to these measurements as well, such as time stamps, location stamps, details about the service(s) being consumed, information about the (type of) application(s) being active, and so on”, (Examiner’s note: input received from the user is equivalent to receiving subjective data).;
measuring, by the first user device supply network being experienced by the first ([0036] “the user equipment may be pre-configured to store relevant control information such as Open Mobile Alliance Device Management (OMA DM) Management Object (MO), for performing customer care measurements (which may comprise parts of the MDT procedure) by means of a configuration file, ([0068] “In an embodiment, the user 800 may be enabled to define trigger events with CM-A1 for these two types of measurements. The configuration message CM-A1 may include reporting details such as reporting interval and/or reporting amount, in the case of “immediate-MDT”, or logging details such as logging interval and/or logging duration, in the case of “logged-MDT”. If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”),
the measurement of the first objective data by the first user device is ([0036] “the user equipment may be pre-configured to store relevant control information such as Open Mobile Alliance Device Management (OMA DM) Management Object (MO), for performing customer care measurements (which may comprise parts of the MDT procedure) by means of a configuration file, ([0068] “In an embodiment, the user 800 may be enabled to define trigger events with CM-A1 for these two types of measurements. The configuration message CM-A1 may include reporting details such as reporting interval and/or reporting amount, in the case of “immediate-MDT”, or logging details such as logging interval and/or logging duration, in the case of “logged-MDT”. If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”),
wherein the first objective data measured by the first user device indicates the performance of the utility supply network experienced by the first user data ([0036]If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”,
communicating, ([0068] “The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT).”);
Schmidt clearly teaches measuring, by user device connected to the utility supply network in [0083] however Schmidt does not explicitly teach and by a second user device connected to the utility supply network in the same local area as the first user device, and second objective data, triggered autonomously by the first user device as a result of the generation of the subjective data in the first user device without a request from the utility supply network, and ii) the second user device autonomously measures the second objective data in response to subjective data that is received from the first user device ;
wherein the second objective data measured by the second user device indicates the performance of the utility supply network experienced by the second user device
autonomously, and second user devices, and second objective, and second user devices,
and determining a severity of the incident based at least on the subjective data from the first and user device and the objective data from the first and second user devices.
Wootton teaches and by a second user device connected to the utility supply network in the same local area as the first user device (page 4 lines 23-29 “In some embodiments, the method further comprises reporting the data from the UE to assessing means for assessing latency issues in the communication network. In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also. Thus, data from multiple UEs can be aggregated to diagnose problems with the communication network”),
and second objective data (page 4 lines 23-29 “In some embodiments, the method further comprises reporting the data from the UE to assessing means for assessing latency issues in the communication network. In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also. Thus, data from multiple UEs can be aggregated to diagnose problems with the communication network”),
triggered autonomously by the first user device as a result of the generation of the subjective data in the first user device without a request from the utility supply network (page 7 lines 19-31 “In a simple case, the trigger may be a request from the user of the UE 126 for a latency measurement to be made. When it is determined that the trigger condition is met, the procedure moves on to step 220. In step 220, the UE 126 issues a HTTPS GET request method addressed to the content server 114 and starts a timer. The procedure 200 then moves on to step 230. In step 230, the UE 126 waits to receive the first byte of the response from the content server 114 in reply to the GET request method. Upon receipt of that first byte, the timer is stopped. The procedure then moves on to step 240. In step 240, the period of elapsed time captured by the timer in step 230 is transmitted by the UE 126 to the monitoring station 102 within the cellular network 100. Then, the procedure 200 ends. By carrying out latency measurement procedure 200, the UE 126 can measure the time it takes for data to travel from the UE 126 to the content server 114”, (Examiner’s Note: request from the user of the UE126 == generation of the subjective data in the first user device, after the request from user everything is triggered autonomously requiring no people intervention, and request from the utility supply network),
and ii) the second user device autonomously measures the second objective data in response to subjective data that is received from the first user device (page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100 and any computing resource that can be reached at an IP address. The monitoring station 102 may function in the same way as the system disclosed in GB2546119A, for example with the latency measurements from UEs becoming another input to the "combiner 110" that is described in that document”);
wherein the second objective data measured by the second user device indicates the performance of the utility supply network experienced by the second user device (page 7 lines 19-31 “The procedure then moves on to step 240. In step 240, the period of elapsed time captured by the timer in step 230 is transmitted by the UE 126 to the monitoring station 102 within the cellular network 100. Then, the procedure 200 ends. By carrying out latency measurement procedure 200, the UE 126 can measure the time it takes for data to travel from the UE 126 to the content server 114 , page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100, page 4 lines 23 -26 “In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also”), (Examiner’s Note: in page 7 lines 30-page 8 states the procedure can be used by any UE, and in page 4 lines 23-26 states that there are other UE’s that perform latency measurements which is procedure 200 is performing latency measurement”, second user device == other UE)
autonomously, and second user devices, and second objective, and second user devices (page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100 and any computing resource that can be reached at an IP address, page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100, page 4 lines 23 -26 “In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also”), (Examiner’s Note: in page 7 lines 30-page 8 states the procedure can be used by any UE, and in page 4 lines 23-26 states that there are other UE’s that perform latency measurements which is procedure 200 is performing latency measurement),
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt to incorporate the teachings of Wootton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order quickly identify issue purely associated with congestion.
Wootton does not explicitly teach and determining a severity of the incident based at least on the subjective data from the first and user device and the objective data from the first and second user devices.
Austin teaches and determining a severity of the incident based at least on the subjective data from the first and user device and the objective data from the first and second user devices([0083] “As indicated above, analysis component 144 receives data associated with a network performance incident from a set of devices 104 and analyzes the data. The data can include contents of report 110 and associated location (R) and time stamp (t) linked to the network performance incident. In the illustrated example embodiment, analysis component 144 includes an aggregation component 1406 that collects the data received from the set of devices 104 and also can acquire (receive, retrieve, etc.) network operation data from at least one functionality layer, such as operation layer(s) 160 or external layer(s) 170”) [0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization”, (Examiner’s Note: severity of the incident is equivalent to importance of problem areas ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 18, Schmidt teaches A tool to determine a severity of an incident in a utility supply network, the tool comprising :
an input configured to receive an indication of the incident in the utility supply network ([0019] “in response to input received from the user or an application running on (i.e. being executed by) the user equipment, the user equipment may send this request to the MNO to trigger the channel measurement procedures instead of the MNO requesting the channel measurement procedures as done in FIG. 1. For reporting, other pieces of information may be added to these measurements as well, such as time stamps, location stamps, details about the service(s) being consumed, information about the (type of) application(s) being active, and so on”, (Examiner’s note: input received from the user is equivalent to indication of the incident, wireless network is equivalent to utility supply network),
subjective data from a first user device connected to the utility supply network relating to user perception of performance of the utility supply network ([0019] “in response to input received from the user or an application running on (i.e. being executed by) the user equipment, the user equipment may send this request to the MNO to trigger the channel measurement procedures instead of the MNO requesting the channel measurement procedures as done in FIG. 1. For reporting, other pieces of information may be added to these measurements as well, such as time stamps, location stamps, details about the service(s) being consumed, information about the (type of) application(s) being active, and so on”, (Examiner’s note: input received from the user is equivalent to receiving subjective data),
first objective data measured by the first user device ([0036] “the user equipment may be pre-configured to store relevant control information such as Open Mobile Alliance Device Management (OMA DM) Management Object (MO), for performing customer care measurements (which may comprise parts of the MDT procedure) by means of a configuration file, ([0068] “In an embodiment, the user 800 may be enabled to define trigger events with CM-A1 for these two types of measurements. The configuration message CM-A1 may include reporting details such as reporting interval and/or reporting amount, in the case of “immediate-MDT”, or logging details such as logging interval and/or logging duration, in the case of “logged-MDT”. If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”),
the first ([0036] “the user equipment may be pre-configured to store relevant control information such as Open Mobile Alliance Device Management (OMA DM) Management Object (MO), for performing customer care measurements (which may comprise parts of the MDT procedure) by means of a configuration file, ([0068] “In an embodiment, the user 800 may be enabled to define trigger events with CM-A1 for these two types of measurements. The configuration message CM-A1 may include reporting details such as reporting interval and/or reporting amount, in the case of “immediate-MDT”, or logging details such as logging interval and/or logging duration, in the case of “logged-MDT”. If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”),
wherein :i) the measurement of the first objective data by the first user device ([0036] “the user equipment may be pre-configured to store relevant control information such as Open Mobile Alliance Device Management (OMA DM) Management Object (MO), for performing customer care measurements (which may comprise parts of the MDT procedure) by means of a configuration file, ([0068] “In an embodiment, the user 800 may be enabled to define trigger events with CM-A1 for these two types of measurements. The configuration message CM-A1 may include reporting details such as reporting interval and/or reporting amount, in the case of “immediate-MDT”, or logging details such as logging interval and/or logging duration, in the case of “logged-MDT”. If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”)
wherein the first objective data measured by the first user device indicates the performance of the utility supply network experienced by the first user device ([0036] “The configuration message CM-A1 may include reporting details such as reporting interval and/or reporting amount, in the case of “immediate-MDT”, or logging details such as logging interval and/or logging duration, in the case of “logged-MDT”. If configured to do so, the user equipment 405 may perform filtering of measurement requests upon receipt of configuration message CM-A1 at CUE based on some predetermined filter criteria. The user equipment 405 may transmit customer care measurement results to an ENodeB with one of a “UEInformationResponse” RRC message to transfer the “LogMeasReport” IE to the base station (for logged-MDT) or a “MeasurementReport” RRC message to transfer the “MeasResults” IE to the base station (for Immediate-MDT)”);
Schmidt does not teach and second objective data measured by a second user device connected to the utility supply network in the same local area as the first user device, and second, and the second user device, respectively, and wherein the first and second objective data are communicated autonomously by the first and second user devices to the utility supply network, is triggered autonomously by the first user device as a result of the generation of the subjective data in the first user device without a request from the utility supply network, And ii) the second user device autonomously measures the second objective data in response to the subjective data that is received from the first user device,
wherein the second objective data measured by the second user device indicates the performance of the utility supply network experienced by the second user device;
and a processor configured to determine a severity of the incident based at least on the subjective data from the first user device and the first and second objective data received at the input from the first and second user devices.
Wootton teaches and second objective data measured by a second user device connected to the utility supply network in the same local area as the first user device (page 4 lines 23-29 “In some embodiments, the method further comprises reporting the data from the UE to assessing means for assessing latency issues in the communication network. In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also. Thus, data from multiple UEs can be aggregated to diagnose problems with the communication network”, page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100, page 4 lines 23 -26 “In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also”), (Examiner’s Note: in page 7 lines 30-page 8 states the procedure can be used by any UE, and in page 4 lines 23-26 states that there are other UE’s that perform latency measurements which is procedure 200 is performing latency measurement)),
and second , and the second user device (page 4 lines 23-29 “In some embodiments, the method further comprises reporting the data from the UE to assessing means for assessing latency issues in the communication network. In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also. Thus, data from multiple UEs can be aggregated to diagnose problems with the communication network, , page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100, page 4 lines 23 -26 “In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also”), (Examiner’s Note: in page 7 lines 30-page 8 states the procedure can be used by any UE, and in page 4 lines 23-26 states that there are other UE’s that perform latency measurements which is procedure 200 is performing latency measurement)),
respectively, and wherein the first and second objective data are communicated autonomously by the first and second user devices to the utility supply network, is triggered autonomously by the first user device as a result of the generation of the subjective data in the first user device without a request from the utility supply network (page 7 lines 19-31 “In a simple case, the trigger may be a request from the user of the UE 126 for a latency measurement to be made. When it is determined that the trigger condition is met, the procedure moves on to step 220. In step 220, the UE 126 issues a HTTPS GET request method addressed to the content server 114 and starts a timer. The procedure 200 then moves on to step 230. In step 230, the UE 126 waits to receive the first byte of the response from the content server 114 in reply to the GET request method. Upon receipt of that first byte, the timer is stopped. The procedure then moves on to step 240. In step 240, the period of elapsed time captured by the timer in step 230 is transmitted by the UE 126 to the monitoring station 102 within the cellular network 100. Then, the procedure 200 ends. By carrying out latency measurement procedure 200, the UE 126 can measure the time it takes for data to travel from the UE 126 to the content server 114”, (Examiner’s Note: request from the user of the UE126 == generation of the subjective data in the first user device, after the request from user everything is triggered autonomously requiring no people intervention, and request from the utility supply network, (page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100 and any computing resource that can be reached at an IP address. The monitoring station 102 may function in the same way as the system disclosed in GB2546119A, for example with the latency measurements from UEs becoming another input to the "combiner 110" that is described in that document”)),
And ii) the second user device autonomously measures the second objective data in response to the subjective data that is received from the first user device (page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100 and any computing resource that can be reached at an IP address. The monitoring station 102 may function in the same way as the system disclosed in GB2546119A, for example with the latency measurements from UEs becoming another input to the "combiner 110" that is described in that document”, , page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100, page 4 lines 23 -26 “In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also”), (Examiner’s Note: in page 7 lines 30-page 8 states the procedure can be used by any UE, and in page 4 lines 23-26 states that there are other UE’s that perform latency measurements which is procedure 200 is performing latency measurement)),
wherein the second objective data measured by the second user device indicates the performance of the utility supply network experienced by the second user device (page 7 lines 19-31 “The procedure then moves on to step 240. In step 240, the period of elapsed time captured by the timer in step 230 is transmitted by the UE 126 to the monitoring station 102 within the cellular network 100. Then, the procedure 200 ends. By carrying out latency measurement procedure 200, the UE 126 can measure the time it takes for data to travel from the UE 126 to the content server 114” , page 7 lines 30 -page 8 lines 1-10 “This measurement is an assessment of the end-to-end latency that the UE 126 experiences when communicating with the content server 114. It will be appreciated, of course, that the procedure 200 can be used to measure the end-to-end latency between any UE in the cellular network 100, page 4 lines 23 -26 “In some embodiments, the assessing means comprises a computer arranged to collect latency measurements from other UEs also”), (Examiner’s Note: in page 7 lines 30-page 8 states the procedure can be used by any UE, and in page 4 lines 23-26 states that there are other UE’s that perform latency measurements which is procedure 200 is performing latency measurement));
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt to incorporate the teachings of Wootton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order quickly identify issue purely associated with congestion.
Wootton does not teach and a processor configured to determine a severity of the incident based at least on the subjective data from the first user device and the first and second objective data received at the input from the first and second user devices.
Austin teaches and a processor ([0043] “Server(s) 156 can include at least one or more processors (not shown) configured to enable or that enable, at least in part, the functionality of feedback system 140, and components therein. To that end, at least the one or more processors can execute one or more sets of code instructions (not shown) stored in memory 152 (or other computer-readable storage medium) configured to determine a severity of the incident based at least on the subjective data from the first user device and the first and second objective data received at the input from the first and second user devices ([0083] “As indicated above, analysis component 144 receives data associated with a network performance incident from a set of devices 104 and analyzes the data. The data can include contents of report 110 and associated location (R) and time stamp (t) linked to the network performance incident. In the illustrated example embodiment, analysis component 144 includes an aggregation component 1406 that collects the data received from the set of devices 104 and also can acquire (receive, retrieve, etc.) network operation data from at least one functionality layer, such as operation layer(s) 160 or external layer(s) 170”) [0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization”, (Examiner’s Note: severity of the incident is equivalent to importance of problem areas ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 19, Schmidt, Wootton does not explicitly teach a computer readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to carry out a method according to claim 1.
Austin teaches a computer readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to carry out a method ([0042-0043] “Server(s) 156 can include at least one or more processors (not shown) configured to enable or that enable, at least in part, the functionality of feedback system 140, and components therein. To that end, at least the one or more processors can execute one or more sets of code instructions (not shown) stored in memory 152 (or other computer-readable storage medium)… can carry out one or more of the example methods disclosed herein; such code instructions provide a computer-executable or machine-executable framework to enact such example methods and enable at least a portion of the functionality of feedback system 140 described herein. Server(s) also can include an input/output (I/O) interface that enables communication with an external networked apparatus (a device, a server, a memory, etc.)”)according to claim 1 (see mapping of claim 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 2,Schmidt, Wootton does not teach wherein the subjective data is associated with a cluster of users associated with the incident, wherein the cluster of users associated with the incident is based on at least one of i) users in a geographic area associated with the incident and ii) users supplied by network equipment associated with the incident.
Austin teaches wherein the subjective data is associated with a cluster of users associated with the incident ([0087] “As part of analysis of data related to report of network performance incidents, analysis component, via assessment component 1412, for example, can produce clusters of reported incidents”), wherein the cluster of users associated with the incident is based on at least one of i) users in a geographic area associated with the incident ([0087] “within a predetermined distance of each other can be part of a cluster”) and ii) users supplied by network equipment associated with the incident ([0087] “As another example, network performance incidents can be mapped to their closest base station (or cell tower) to form clusters of incidents that spatially coincide with deployed base stations”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 3, Schmidt teaches wherein the subjective data comprises status checks on the performance of the utility supply network by users of the cluster ([0064] “In an embodiment, the user equipment 405 may perform an MDT criteria check 608 of the channel measurements. The user equipment 405 may now start the collection of MDT user equipment measurements 609 (e.g., in RRC_Connected mode of operation)”, [0015] “he MNO may determine when to perform channel measurements (e.g., signal strength, data throughput) in order to generate a coverage map of a geographical area”)).
Regarding claim 4, Schmidt, Wootton, does not explicitly teaches wherein the severity of the incident is based on either: the number of users in the cluster submitting status; or the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks as a proportion of the total number of users associated with the cluster,
wherein the number of users associated with the cluster is the number of users typically supplied by network equipment associated with the incident or the number of users supplied by the network equipment at the time of the incident.
Austin teaches wherein the severity of the incident is based on either: the number of users in the cluster submitting status ([0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization”, (Examiner’s Note: severity of the incident is equivalent to importance of problem areas); or the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks as a proportion of the total number of users associated with the cluster,
wherein the number of users associated with the cluster is the number of users typically supplied by network equipment associated with the incident ([0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization”, (Examiner’s Note: severity of the incident is equivalent to importance of problem areas) or the number of users supplied by the network equipment at the time of the incident.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 15, Schmidt teaches wherein the incident is one or more of: a fault, known problem or outage with the utility supply network or equipment connected to the utility supply network ([0019] “The present embodiments of measurement triggers for customer care may enable a user or application on the user equipment to manually or automatically trigger a request for channel measurements to be made either by the user equipment (e.g., on downlink channels) and/or by the base station (e.g., on uplink channels) at the present time and geographical location where a problem occurred”); an alarm or warning associated with equipment connected to the utility supply network; a maintenance event or an upgrade of equipment connected to the utility supply network; a cluster of users requesting status checks on the performance of the utility supply network or submitting complaints about the performance of the utility supply network; and a network measurement-derived indication of a problem with the utility supply network ([0019] “The present embodiments of measurement triggers for customer care may enable a user or application on the user equipment to manually or automatically trigger a request for channel measurements to be made either by the user equipment (e.g., on downlink channels) and/or by the base station (e.g., on uplink channels) at the present time and geographical location where a problem occurred”).
Regarding claim 16, Schmidt teaches wherein the utility supply network is a communications network, such as a mobile communications network ([0023] “The illustrated network 200 may be a cellular telephone network. For example, the cellular telephone network may use protocols for Global System for Mobile communication (GSM), for Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS), for Long-Term-Evolution (LTE), or for LTE-Advanced (LTE-A), code-division multiple access (CDMA), frequency-division multiple access (FDMA), or time-division multiple access (TDMA)”).
Regarding claim 17, Schmidt teach wherein measurements of the performance of the utility supply network comprise at least one of: signal strength received at a mobile device connected to the mobile communications network ([0015] “The MNO may determine when to perform channel measurements (e.g., signal strength, data throughput) in order to generate a coverage map of a geographical area. Thus, the MNO requests the user equipment to perform the channel measurements at its present location, time stamp the resulting measurements, and send the results back to the MNO. These measurements may be combined with the measurements performed by a base station and the entire report sent to the core network for assessment. Such a process may be referred to in the art as Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT)”), transmitter output power, transmitted data rates, latency, voice quality, bit error rate, and SINAD.
Claim(s) 5-6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt in view of Wootton, further in view of Austin, further in view of Tiwari et al(US 20180124097 herein Tiwari2).
Regarding claim 5, Schmidt, Wootton does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving outage data indicating a level of outage on the utility supply network; and determining the severity of the incident based on the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks and the level of outage given by the outage information.
Austin teaches determining the severity of the incident based on the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Austin does not teaches further comprising: receiving outage data indicating a level of outage on the utility supply network; the level of outage given by the outage information.
However, Tiwari2 teaches further comprising: receiving outage data indicating a level of outage on the utility supply network ([0098] “whether or not the reported outage is an actual outage. An outage that has been verified by a network operator may be considered to be an actual outage. For example, a potential outage may occur in a network device, which is then automatically reported into a fault management system.;
number of users in the cluster submitting status checks and the level of outage given by the outage information ([0062] “the dashboard 802 lists the services running on the selected device, and the number of customers using each respective service. In addition, the dashboard 802 shows the total number of customer that would be affected if the network device were to fail, [0084] “Information on device faults includes device outages data that provides information about outages that occurred on or with the network device. Outages may include outright failures as well as situations where the network device was technically operational but operated below a threshold performance level. Information on device performance includes device level data, which describes the behavior of one or more performance metrics of the network device”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton, Austin to incorporate the teachings of Tiwari2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize outages within the network.
Regarding claim 6, Schmidt, Wootton does not teach wherein the outage data indicates either: a known outage on the utility supply network and the severity is increased in response to the known outage; or the outage data indicates no known outage on the utility supply network and the severity is decreased in response to there being no known outage.
Austin teaches wherein the data indicates either: a known on the utility supply network and the severity is increased in response to the known ([0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization, [0087] “Clusters can be categorized according to (A) clusters in an area with previously available information related to a network performance problem, e.g., “known problem”, and (B) remainder clusters. As a result of such categorization, or filtering, provides clusters in areas with network performance problems for which network resources can be allocated to indentify a solution”);
or the data indicates no known on the utility supply network and the severity is decreased in response to there being no known.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Austin does not explicitly teach outage.
However, Tiwari2 teaches outage ( [0084] “Information on device faults includes device outages data that provides information about outages that occurred on or with the network device. Outages may include outright failures as well as situations where the network device was technically operational but operated below a threshold performance level. Information on device performance includes device level data, which describes the behavior of one or more performance metrics of the network device”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton Austin to incorporate the teachings of Tiwari2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize outages within the network.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt, in view of Wootton further in view of Austin further in view of LaButte et al. (US 20030055804).
Regarding claim 7, Schmidt, Wootton does not teach wherein determining the severity of the incident comprises comparing the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks against a plurality of thresholds, wherein the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks exceeding a given threshold of the plurality of thresholds assigns one of a plurality of severity levels to the incident, wherein the plurality of severity levels comprise a priority level for urgent incidents and priority level for incidents investigable during routine maintenance.
Austin teaches wherein determining the severity of the incident comprises comparing the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks against a plurality of thresholds ([0087] “For instance, for the base station, assessment component 1412 can monitor temporal evolution of number of reports and, based on a set of rules, can identify a surge or “spike” in number of reports and generate an alarm, which report component 1422 can provide to operation layer(s) 160 (not shown in FIG. 14A), for example. Based at least on the alarm, one or more components in operation layer(s) 160 can generate a service ticket”),
wherein the number of users in the cluster submitting status checks ([0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Austin does not teach number of users exceeding a given threshold of the plurality of thresholds assigns one of a plurality of severity levels to the incident,
wherein the plurality of severity levels comprise a severity level for urgent incidents and severity level for incidents investigable during routine maintenance.
However, LaButtee teaches number of users exceeding a given threshold of the plurality of thresholds assigns one of a plurality of severity levels to the incident ([0069] “Severity levels can range from 1 (most severe) to 4 (least severe). Factors used to determine the severity levels include things such as: Number of customers affected by the condition; Type of service being disrupted; Length of the outage; and Availability of a bypass”),
wherein the plurality of severity levels comprise a severity level for urgent incidents and severity level for incidents investigable during routine maintenance ([0070] “TABLE 3 Severity Description 1 `Emergency` This is a major outage affecting a large number of customers. Critical business commitments cannot be met. 2 `Urgent` A system or application is usable, but with severe restrictions. Performance is severely degraded. 3 `Routine` This type of problem must be resolved, but leaving it unresolved does not affect service level agreements. A small number of users may be affected. 4 `Low Impact` This problem is not directly affecting the user's productivity, and is usually confined to an individual user”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton, and Austin to incorporate the teachings of LaButtee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt, in view of Wootton, further in view of Austin further in view of Hofmann (US 9297723).
Regarding claim 8, Schmidt, Wootton, Austin does not explicitly teach further comprising modifying the severity of the incident based on at least one of: accessibility of a site associated with the incident; the number and/or importance of users of the utility supply network predicted to be affected by the incident; and the number of items of network equipment disrupted by the incident.
Hofmann teaches further comprising modifying the severity of the incident based on at least one of: accessibility of a site associated with the incident; the number and/or importance of users of the utility supply network predicted to be affected by the incident (col 16 col 30-40 “For example, the tracking system 110 may determine that there is a high severity to restore power to a hospital or fire station and to certain customers that provide a large source of revenue for the utility. The tracking system 110 may calculate a customer value for individual customers in the service area. The customer value may be estimated based on factors such as income tax and property tax data, census data, Voting records, customer outage history, and/or electric usage patterns”); and the number of items of network equipment disrupted by the incident.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton, Austin to incorporate the teachings of Hofmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 9, Schmidt, Wootton does not explicitly teach wherein the severity is determined by evaluating, using a decision-tree, one or more of: subjective data, objective data and outage data.
Austin teaches wherein the severity is determined by evaluating, using a decision-tree ([0090] “Artificial intelligence techniques typically apply advanced mathematical algorithms—e.g., decision trees, neural networks, regression analysis, principal component analysis (PCA) for feature and pattern extraction, cluster analysis, genetic algorithm, or reinforced learning—to a data set”), one or more of: subjective data, objective data and outage data ([0086] “s part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt in view of Wootton, further in view of Austin, further in view of Hofmann as applied to claim 8, 9 above, and further in view of LaButtee.
Regarding claim 11, Schmidt, Wootton, Austin, Hofmann does not teach wherein the severity of the incident is based on a level of disruption to the performance of the utility supply network indicated by the objective data.
However, LaButtee teaches wherein the severity of the incident is based on a level of disruption to the performance of the utility supply network indicated by the objective data ([0070] “TABLE 3 Severity Description 1 `Emergency` This is a major outage affecting a large number of customers. Critical business commitments cannot be met. 2 `Urgent` A system or application is usable, but with severe restrictions. Performance is severely degraded. 3 `Routine` This type of problem must be resolved, but leaving it unresolved does not affect service level agreements. A small number of users may be affected. 4 `Low Impact` This problem is not directly affecting the user's productivity, and is usually confined to an individual user”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt, Wootton, Austin, Hofmann to incorporate the teachings of LaButtee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 12, Schmidt, Wootton, Austin, Hofmann does not teach wherein the severity of the incident is decreased in response to the objective data indicating a lower level of disruption and the severity of the incident is increased in response to the objective data indicating a higher level of disruption.
However, LaButtee teaches wherein the severity of the incident is decreased in response to the objective data indicating a lower level of disruption ([0070] Table 3 … 3 `Routine` This type of problem must be resolved, but leaving it unresolved does not affect service level agreements. A small number of users may be affected. 4 `Low Impact` This problem is not directly affecting the user's productivity, and is usually confined to an individual user”) and the severity of the incident is increased in response to the objective data indicating a higher level of disruption ([0073] “Escalation is a special type of notification that indicates that a problem is not meeting the target time for its resolution or its bypass (if possible). This is a signal to management that additional attention is required to restore the affected service”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Schmidt,Adya, Austin, Hofmann to incorporate the teachings of LaButtee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 13, Schmidt, Wootton, does not teach wherein the level of disruption is determined through comparison between the objective data and historical objective data.
However, Austin teaches wherein the level of disruption is determined through comparison between the objective data and historical objective data ([0086] “As part of generation of network performance metrics, assessment component 1412 can compare submitted tickets for service in a given area and can normalize to the number of subscribers in the area that own or lease a device with a deployed (e.g., installed, tested, and active) incident report component (e.g., 106) to evaluate relative importance of problem areas. Such network performance metric can be employed for capital allocation or investment prioritization. In addition, data collected through network performance incident reports from customers in a specific area, [0089] “Intelligent component 1420 also can exploit artificial intelligence (AI) methods to infer (e.g., reason and draw a conclusion based upon a set of metrics, arguments, or known outcomes in controlled scenarios) network performance incident(s) based at least on historical data of network performance incidents in a specific area or for a specific group of subscribers”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Regarding claim 14, Schmidt, Wootton does not teach wherein the historical objective data is for a time of day corresponding with the time of day associated with the incident.
However, Austin teaches wherein the historical objective data is for a time of day corresponding with the time of day associated with the incident ([0085] “In another aspect, from data collected from measured pilot signals at a time of an incident or after an incident, assessment component 1412 can determine operational parameters of a set of one or more competing network operators and retain such information in respective one or more network intelligence storage, e.g., network intelligence 1434 th in memory element 1432”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt, Wootton to incorporate the teachings of Austin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to more efficiently fix network issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument
Additionally, the periodic triggering mechanism in Adya is not analogous to the
autonomous trigger now recited in the claims. Adya's "reactive monitoring mode" requires human intervention to initiate. For example, Adya at paragraph [0037] confirms that this mode is used when a "support personnel wants to diagnose a user complaint. The personnel can issue a directive...to collect and analyze the data." This is distinct from what is recited in the claims now, where subjective data generated by the first user device autonomously triggers the second user device to begin measuring its own data of the network performance it is experiencing, without the need for a human operative to initiate a diagnostic session. Also, Adya fails to teach or suggest the first and second objective data are communicated autonomously by the first and second user devices.
Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See updated rejection. Adya is no longer relied upon see updated rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411