DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to an amendment filed on 8/11/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-20 and 40 were cancelled, no claims were amended nor added. Thus, claims 21-39 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 and 29-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (“A Review of Spasticity Treatments: Pharmacological and Interventional Approaches”) in view of Roesch (DE 10 2004 034 625) and alternatively in view of Salo Darder (2016/0022530).
Regarding claim 21, Chang discloses a method of treating or preventing spasticity in a patient, the method comprising: identifying the patient as having spasticity as a result of cerebral palsy, stroke, spinal cord injury, multiple sclerosis (see abstract and pages 2-8, Chang discloses that spasticity is a velocity-dependent increase in muscle tone and uncontrolled, repetitive, involuntary contractions of skeletal muscles, and often manifest as increased tone and spasms, and further discloses that spasticity can be a result of spinal cord injury (SCI), cerebral palsy, stroke, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple sclerosis (MS), and further discloses a method of treating spasticity including providing treatment drugs in the form of oral agent Baclofen, Benzodiazepines, and Dantrolene Sodium, throughout the disclosure, Chang discloses what spasticity is, therefore, is a step of identifying spasticity, alternatively, by disclosing what spasticity is and ways to treat spasticity, one must have to identify a patient with spasticity to treat spasticity in patient), Chang further discloses that physical therapies can be complementary with medicine such as oral agents to treat spasticity (see “Treatments” section in page 2), but fails to disclose that the physical therapy includes negative pressure therapy and that the method comprising administering the negative pressure therapy to the patient.
Roesch teaches a method of treating or preventing spasticity in a patient, the method comprising applying a physical therapy including negative pressure therapy to the patient (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of the English translation, Roesch discloses that the device applies a negative pressure on an extremity of the patient, and the device treats cramping of the extremities or prevent cramping, treating or preventing cramping is treating or preventing spasticity, furthermore, cramping is an involuntary muscle contraction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chang to be used with a method of applying negative pressure to treat or prevent spasticity as taught by Roesch for the purpose of combining a physical therapy with oral agents of Chang to treat spasticity, thereby providing comfort to the patient (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of Roesch and see “Treatments” section in page 2 of Chang).
Furthermore, if there is any question as to the obviousness of utilizing the negative pressure therapy of Roesch to treat the spasticity of Chang, since Roesch does not specifically disclose the term “spasticity”. Salo Darder teaches the use of negative pressure therapy to treat “spasticity” (see paragraphs 0453, 0465, 0587-0594).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and the negative pressure of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure therapy of Roesch to treat the spasticity of Chang as taught by Salo Darder for the purpose of utilizing negative pressure therapy to treat spasticity (see paragraphs 0453, 0465, 0587-0594 of Salo Darder).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Chang discloses that the administering step follows a detection of increased spasticity in the patient (after the modification with Roesch, any form of detection of spasticity in the patient would be an increased spasticity relative to zero spasticity, therefore, any form of treatment in Chang and Roesch would involve detecting any form of spasticity before applying the appropriate therapy including the negative pressure therapy of Roesch, see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of the English translation, Roesch discloses that the device applies a negative pressure on an extremity of the patient to treat cramping). However, if there is any doubt that the modified Chang discloses that the administering step follows a detection of increased spasticity in the patient. The feature of choosing to administer the negative pressure of Roesch based on detection of increased spasticity is considered as being an obvious treatment design choice, since a doctor/physician would find it obvious to administer the negative pressure after the detection of spasticity.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Chang discloses that the negative pressure therapy comprises: enclosing an area of skin of the patient in an enclosure (2 and 4, fig. 1 of Roesch) such that the area of skin is sealed from external conditions; and subjecting the area of skin to a negative pressure (see figs. 1-2 of Roesch, see paragraphs 0007 and 0009-0017 of Roesch).
Regarding claims 29-32, the modified Chang discloses applying negative pressure therapy to the patient comprises a treatment having a time (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of Roesch), but fails to specifically discloses that the treatment is of at least 30 minutes, 40 minutes, 1 hour or that the applying negative pressure therapy includes two treatments per day. However, the feature of choosing when and how long each treatment therapy is considered as obvious treatment design choice since it is based on a doctor’s determination of what is proper and is based on the severity of the spasticity of the patient, and the feature of choosing how often to provide the treatment per day is considered as an obvious treatment design choice since it is based on the doctor’s determination, the urgency of the treatment, the severity of the disease/condition and the patient’s schedule.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment to be of at least 30 minutes, 40 minutes or 1 hour, and the applying of negative pressure therapy includes two treatments per day for the purpose of providing a therapy time and frequency that would be able to treat or prevent the spasticity, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II).
There appears to be no criticality in having a specific duration or how often the treatment is being applied as long as that specific duration or how often the treatment is being applied is adequate enough to treat or prevent spasticity which are dependent on how severe the spasticity is, see paragraph 84 of the instant application, applicant stated that the negative pressure can be applied to at least one region for at least 20 minutes, 30 minutes, 40 minutes or for at least one hour, or that the treatment can be at least one per day or at least two per day.
Regarding claim 33, the modified Chang fails to disclose that the applying step is applied prior to the patient sleeping. However, the feature of choosing to apply the negative pressure to the patient prior to sleeping is considered as an obvious treatment design choice, since it is based on the doctor’s determination on when is an appropriate time to provide treatment to the patient, furthermore, it is known that if there is not a need to immediately provide the therapy to the user while they are asleep, it is desirable to perform the therapy while the patient is awake such that the therapy would not interfere with the patient’s sleep, thereby providing health and comfort to the patient.
Regarding claim 34, the modified Chang fails to specifically disclose that the applying step is performed for at least two limbs of the patient. However, the feature of choosing how many limbs to provide negative pressure to is considered as an obvious treatment design choice, since it is based on the doctor’s determination of where the cramps/spasticity are located.
Regarding claim 35, the modified Chang discloses that the applying step comprises applying an effective amount of the negative pressure therapy to a limb of the patient, wherein the limb is a limb nearest to the region of the patient’s body where the spasticity is treated or prevented (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 and fig. 1 of Roesch, Roesch discloses enclosing and applying negative pressure to extremities to treat cramping, therefore, if both extremities are being treated, a left limb for example is being treated with negative pressure therapy, the right limb (limb nearest to the region of the patient’s body where the spasticity is treated or prevented that has been treated by the method) would be nearest to the left limb that the administration of the negative pressure therapy is being performed on. Alternatively, Roesch discloses all of the method steps and device as claimed, therefore, would be capable of treating or preventing spasticity that is nearest to the limb where the administration of the negative pressure therapy is being performed on in the same manner as the applicant’s claimed invention.
Regarding claim 36, the modified Chang discloses a pressure therapy device (entire device shown in figs. 1-2 and the negative pressure source, see paragraphs 0015-0017) comprising a pressure chamber (chamber of 2 where arm is located, see paragraph 0017 of the English translation) arranged for enclosing a portion of a body therein (figs. 1-2), the pressure therapy device arranged for performing the method according to claim 21 (see rejection to claim 21).
Regarding claim 37, Chang discloses a method of treating or preventing spasticity in a patient, the method comprising: identifying the patient as having spasticity as a result of cerebral palsy, stroke, spinal cord injury, multiple sclerosis (see abstract and pages 2-8, Chang discloses that spasticity is a velocity-dependent increase in muscle tone and uncontrolled, repetitive, involuntary contractions of skeletal muscles, and often manifest as increased tone and spasms, and further discloses that spasticity can be a result of spinal cord injury (SCI), cerebral palsy, stroke, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple sclerosis (MS), and further discloses a method of treating spasticity including providing treatment drugs in the form of oral agent Baclofen, Benzodiazepines, and Dantrolene Sodium, throughout the disclosure, Chang discloses what spasticity is, therefore, is a step of identifying spasticity, alternatively, by disclosing what spasticity is and ways to treat spasticity, one must have to identify a patient with spasticity to treat spasticity in patient), Chang further discloses that physical therapies can be complementary with medicine such as oral agents to treat spasticity (see “Treatments” section in page 2), administering a result effective dose an anti-spasmodic composition to the patient (see “Treatments” section in pages 2-4, an anti-spasmodic composition includes Baclofen or Dantrolene Sodium or Benzodiazepines), but fails to disclose that the physical therapy includes negative pressure therapy and that the method comprising administering the negative pressure therapy to the patient.
Roesch teaches a method of treating or preventing spasticity in a patient, the method comprising applying a physical therapy including negative pressure therapy to the patient (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of the English translation, Roesch discloses that the device applies a negative pressure on an extremity of the patient, and the device treats cramping of the extremities or prevent cramping, treating or preventing cramping is treating or preventing spasticity, furthermore, cramping is an involuntary muscle contraction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chang to be used with a method of applying negative pressure to treat or prevent spasticity as taught by Roesch for the purpose of combining a physical therapy with oral agents of Chang to treat spasticity, thereby providing comfort to the patient (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of Roesch and see “Treatments” section in page 2 of Chang).
Furthermore, if there is any question as to the obviousness of utilizing the negative pressure therapy of Roesch to treat the spasticity of Chang, since Roesch does not specifically disclose the term “spasticity”. Salo Darder teaches the use of negative pressure therapy to treat “spasticity” (see paragraphs 0453, 0465, 0587-0594).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and the negative pressure of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure therapy of Roesch to treat the spasticity of Chang as taught by Salo Darder for the purpose of utilizing negative pressure therapy to treat spasticity (see paragraphs 0453, 0465, 0587-0594 of Salo Darder).
Regarding claim 38, the modified Chang discloses administering the anti-spasmodic composition and said administering the negative pressure therapy are performed concurrently (see “Treatments” section in page 2 of Chang, Chang discloses that the physical therapy are complementary to the oral agent, which would mean that they are concurrent, therefore, after the modification, the negative pressure therapy (physical therapy) are also complementary to the oral agent). However, if there is any doubt that the modified Chang discloses administering the anti-spasmodic composition and said administering the negative pressure therapy are performed concurrently. The feature of choosing to administering the anti-spasmodic composition and said administering the negative pressure therapy are performed concurrently would be an obvious treatment design choice, since it is based on a doctor’s determination as to how to apply the two form of treatment based on the patient’s condition and patient’s needs.
Regarding claim 39, Chang discloses a method of treating or preventing spasticity in a patient, the method comprising: identifying the patient as having spasticity as a result of cerebral palsy, stroke, spinal cord injury, multiple sclerosis (see abstract and pages 2-8, Chang discloses that spasticity is a velocity-dependent increase in muscle tone and uncontrolled, repetitive, involuntary contractions of skeletal muscles, and often manifest as increased tone and spasms, and further discloses that spasticity can be a result of spinal cord injury (SCI), cerebral palsy, stroke, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and multiple sclerosis (MS), and further discloses a method of treating spasticity including providing treatment drugs in the form of oral agent Baclofen, Benzodiazepines, and Dantrolene Sodium, throughout the disclosure, Chang discloses what spasticity is, therefore, is a step of identifying spasticity, alternatively, by disclosing what spasticity is and ways to treat spasticity, one must have to identify a patient with spasticity to treat spasticity in patient), Chang further discloses that physical therapies can be complementary with medicine such as oral agents to treat spasticity (see “Treatments” section in page 2), administering a result effective dose an anti-spasmodic composition to the patient (see “Treatments” section in pages 2-4, an anti-spasmodic composition includes Baclofen or Dantrolene Sodium or Benzodiazepines), but fails to disclose that the physical therapy includes negative pressure therapy and that the method comprising administering the negative pressure therapy to the patient.
Roesch teaches a method of treating or preventing spasticity in a patient, the method comprising applying a physical therapy including negative pressure therapy to the patient (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of the English translation, Roesch discloses that the device applies a negative pressure on an extremity of the patient, and the device treats cramping of the extremities or prevent cramping, treating or preventing cramping is treating or preventing spasticity, furthermore, cramping is an involuntary muscle contraction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chang to be used with a method of applying negative pressure to treat or prevent spasticity as taught by Roesch for the purpose of combining a physical therapy with oral agents of Chang to treat spasticity, thereby providing comfort to the patient (see paragraphs 0007 and 0009 of Roesch and see “Treatments” section in page 2 of Chang).
Furthermore, if there is any question as to the obviousness of utilizing the negative pressure therapy of Roesch to treat the spasticity of Chang, since Roesch does not specifically disclose the term “spasticity”. Salo Darder teaches the use of negative pressure therapy to treat “spasticity” (see paragraphs 0453, 0465, 0587-0594).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and the negative pressure of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure therapy of Roesch to treat the spasticity of Chang as taught by Salo Darder for the purpose of utilizing negative pressure therapy to treat spasticity (see paragraphs 0453, 0465, 0587-0594 of Salo Darder).
The modified Chang fails to specifically disclose that following the administering of the negative pressure therapy to the patient, reducing the result effective dose of the anti-spasmodic composition and continuing administration of the anti-spasmodic composition to the patient with the reduced dose. However, the feature of choosing to reduce the result effective dose of the anti-spasmodic composition and continuing administration of the anti-spasmodic composition to the patient with the reduced dose following the administering of the negative pressure therapy to the patient would be an obvious treatment design choice, since it is based on a doctor’s determination when to reduce the result effective dose of the anti-spasmodic composition based on the patient’s condition and patient’s needs.
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (“A Review of Spasticity Treatments: Pharmacological and Interventional Approaches”) in view of Roesch (DE 10 2004 034 625) and alternatively in view of Salo Darder (2016/0022530) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Atkinson (2006/0287621).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Chang discloses a negative pressure, but fails to disclose that the negative pressure is within the range of -20 mmHg and -80 mmHg.
However, Atkinson teaches a method of preventing spasticity by applying negative pressure therapy to the patient, the negative pressure is between -20 mmHg and -80 mmHg (see paragraph 0003, Atkinson discloses that Varicose veins causes night cramps, and further discloses in paragraph 0006 that the device of the invention is used to treat or prevent varicose veins, and further discloses providing sub-atmospheric compression, and Atkinson further discloses in paragraphs 0017 and claim 7 that the vacuum pressure is 10-30 mmHg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure be between -20 mmHg and -80 mmHg as taught by Atkinson for the purpose of providing a negative pressure setting that would be able to treat or prevent spasticity (see paragraphs 0003, 0006, 0017 and claim 7 of Atkinson).
Furthermore, if there is any doubt that it would be obvious to modify with Atkinson. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure to be within the range of -20 mmHg and -80 mmHg for the purpose of providing a pressure that would be capable of treating spasticity, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Chang discloses a negative pressure, but fails to disclose that the negative pressure is a pulsating pressure.
However, Atkinson teaches a method of preventing spasticity by applying negative pressure therapy to the patient, the negative pressure is between -20 mmHg and -80 mmHg (see paragraph 0003, Atkinson discloses that Varicose veins causes night cramps, and further discloses in paragraph 0006 that the device of the invention is used to treat or prevent varicose veins, and further discloses providing sub-atmospheric compression, and Atkinson further discloses in paragraphs 0017 and claim 7 that the vacuum pressure is 10-30 mmHg) and that the pressure is a pulsating negative pressure (see paragraph 0018, Atkinson discloses that the vacuum source 20 may vent to atmospheric pressure to provide intermittent compression).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure and that the negative pressure is a pulsating pressure as taught by Atkinson for the purpose of providing a negative pressure setting that would be able to treat or prevent spasticity (see paragraphs 0003, 0006, 0017 and claim 7 of Atkinson).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Chang discloses a negative pressure, but fails to disclose that the negative pressure is a pulsating pressure comprises generating a negative pressure against the area of skin for a first predetermined time interval and releasing the negative pressure for a second predetermined time interval.
However, Atkinson teaches a method of preventing spasticity by applying negative pressure therapy to the patient, the negative pressure is between -20 mmHg and -80 mmHg (see paragraph 0003, Atkinson discloses that Varicose veins causes night cramps, and further discloses in paragraph 0006 that the device of the invention is used to treat or prevent varicose veins, and further discloses providing sub-atmospheric compression, and Atkinson further discloses in paragraphs 0017 and claim 7 that the vacuum pressure is 10-30 mmHg) and that the pressure is a pulsating negative pressure (see paragraph 0018, Atkinson discloses that the vacuum source 20 may vent to atmospheric pressure to provide intermittent compression), wherein the pulsating pressure comprises a negative pressure against the area of skin for a first predetermined time interval and releasing the negative pressure for a second predetermined time interval (see paragraph 0018, the negative pressure being applied below the release would have a first predetermined time interval, and when the pressured is released to provide an intermittent compression, there would be a second predetermined time interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure and that the negative pressure is a pulsating pressure as taught by Atkinson for the purpose of providing a negative pressure setting that would be able to treat or prevent spasticity (see paragraphs 0003, 0006, 0017 and claim 7 of Atkinson).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (“A Review of Spasticity Treatments: Pharmacological and Interventional Approaches”) in view of Roesch (DE 10 2004 034 625) and alternatively in view of Salo Darder (2016/0022530) and Atkinson (2006/0287621) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Atkinson (2006/0287621) and Filtvedt (2005/0027218).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Chang fails to disclose that the first predetermined time interval is different than the second predetermined time interval.
However, Filtvedt teaches a method of applying negative pressure, wherein the negative pressure is a pulsating pressure comprising generating a negative pressure against the area of skin for a first predetermined time interval and releasing the negative pressure for a second predetermined time interval, wherein the first predetermined time interval is different than the second predetermined time interval (see paragraph 0080, Filtvedt discloses that the pressure is pulsed between -40 mmHg and +15 mmHg, wherein the +15 mmHg is 5 seconds and -40 mmHg is 7 seconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure comprising a first predetermined time interval that is different than the second predetermined time interval as taught by Filtvedt for the purpose of providing a pulsatile negative pressure that would be able to provide therapeutics benefits and providing a pulsatile negative pressure that would be capable of treating or preventing spasticity (see paragraph 0008 of Filtvedt).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Chang fails to disclose that the first predetermined time interval is different than the second predetermined time interval.
However, Filtvedt teaches a method of applying negative pressure, wherein the negative pressure is a pulsating pressure comprising generating a negative pressure against the area of skin for a first predetermined time interval and releasing the negative pressure for a second predetermined time interval, wherein the first predetermined time interval is different than the second predetermined time interval (see paragraph 0080, Filtvedt discloses that the pressure is pulsed between -40 mmHg and +15 mmHg, wherein the +15 mmHg is over 5 seconds and -40 mmHg is 7 seconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Chang to have the negative pressure comprising a first predetermined time interval that is different than the second predetermined time interval as taught by Filtvedt for the purpose of providing a pulsatile negative pressure that would be able to provide therapeutics benefits and providing a pulsatile negative pressure that would be capable of treating or preventing spasticity (see paragraph 0008 of Filtvedt).
After the modification, the first predetermined time interval (7 seconds, see paragraph 0080 of Filtvedt) and the second predetermined time interval (5 seconds, see paragraph 0080 of Filtvedt) each have a duration greater than a heartbeat of the patient (5 seconds and 7 seconds each are greater than a duration of a heartbeat of a patient, it is well known in the art that a typical heart beat at 60-100 beats per minute, which equates to an average beat of 1 second or less).
Response to Arguments
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed on 8/11/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 21-39 based upon Chang in view of Roesch and Salo Darder under the 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
On pages 2-5, sections II and III(A) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that there is a clinical distinction between Neurogenic spasticity and local cramping conditions, specifically, spasticity in a persons with multiple sclerosis, and in persons with other neurological diseases and injuries of the central nervous system, is caused by damage in the central nervous system. It is a manifestation of upper motor neuron pathology and is not a local problem in the muscle or surrounding tissue. Cramping is, in ordinary clinical understanding, a local phenomenon. It can arise from many causes unrelated to neurological diseases, for example poor venous or lymphatic circulation, lymphedema and associated tissue congestion, local irritants, electrolyte or ion imbalance, dehydration, local muscle fatigue, or myofascial restriction. None of these involve hyperactive motor-neuron activity or the loss of central inhibition of motor drive that characterizes neurogenic spasticity. The declarant further argues that the examiner relies on Roesch for the proposition that negative pressure applied to a limb treats “cramping” and reasons that treating cramping is treating spasticity. However, the mechanism described in Roesch – decongesting tissue, relieving local swelling, and improving local blood flow and oxygen transport, expressly “to counteract lymphedema” (paragraph 0017) is a local, peripheral mechanism. It acts on the tissue and circulation of the limb. It does not act on, and Roesch does not describe any effect on, the central neurological dysfunction that produces spasticity. The “cramping” addressed in Roesch is, on the face, cramping in the context of lymphedema and local tissue congestion. A cramp of that kind arising from local swelling and impaired local circulation is, in ordinary clinical understanding, a different phenomenon from neurogenic spasticity, which arises from loss of central inhibition of motor drive and hyperexcitable motor neurons following central nervous system lesion. One who read these Roesch passages would not have expected the decongestion mechanism they describe to reduce the frequency, intensity, or duration of spasticity of central neurological origin in a person with multiple sclerosis or similar diseases.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because Roesch discloses that the negative pressure therapy improves blood flow and improved oxygen transport, which is useful for treating or preventing cramps (spasm/spasticity), see paragraph 0007 of Roesch, it is noted that Roesch does not state that the cramps are cramps that are associated solely from lymphedema. It is unclear how the declarant concluded that the cramp of Roesch is an associated cramps of lymphedema. Furthermore, even if the origin of the spasticity is different, there, is no evidence that it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use negative pressure that treats a form of spasticity from cramping to be used to treat another form of spasticity of differing origin, such as spasticity from MS. Furthermore, any form of negative pressure being used to treat the spasticity as disclosed by both Roesch and Salo Darder would be treating the spasticity locally, even when treating the spasticity of Chang which is of neurological origin, the claim does not require that the negative pressure being used to treat a part of the person that is remote from the local symptom of the spasticity and remote from the location that the negative pressure chamber covers. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On pages 5-6, section III(B) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that
the Examiner’s own summary of Chang confirms that Chang attributes spasticity to lesions in the central nervous system and treats it with centrally-acting drugs, this is consistent with the declarant’s clinical experience that spasticity in these patients is a central neurological condition, and the drugs listed are used because they act on the central mechanisms of motor control. Furthermore, Chang’s reference to “physical therapies” being complementary to oral agents would be understood by a clinician as referring to conventional rehabilitative measures, stretching, range-of-motion work, positioning, orthotics, and similar, which can reduce stiffness and improve function/comfort but are not understood to treat the underlying spasticity by correcting central motor control. A clinician reading Chang would not understand “physical therapies” to mean, or to suggest, applying oscillating negative pressure to a limb.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because it is unclear how the declarant came to the conclusion that physical therapy does not include negative pressure to a limb. Negative pressure acting on a limb is a form of physical therapy within the massage/physical therapy art. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On pages 6-7, section III(C) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that the spasticity in Salo Darder is myofascial and biomechanical, it is directed to tension in connective-tissue “chains” and to moving, stretching, and mobilizing that tissue. That is a local, soft-tissue objective. It is not directed to restoring central inhibition, upper motor neuron function or spinal reflex excitability, the mechanism that underline neurogenic spasticity. The word “spasticity” or “muscular tension” in Salo Darder does not indicate that suction treatment of myofascial tissue would treat the central-origin spasticity described in Chang. The same or similar words are used across clinical contexts to describe very different phenomena. A shared term is not a shared mechanism and would not have led a clinician to expect that a myofascial suction treatment would be effective against spasticity arising from central nervous system lesion in a person with multiple sclerosis.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because the claim does not require that the negative pressure is to restore central inhibition, upper motor neuron function, or spinal reflex excitability, the mechanisms that underlie neurogenic spasticity. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “directed to restoring central inhibition, upper motor neuron function, or spinal reflex excitability – the mechanism that underlie neurogenic spasticity”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, it is unclear how the declarant concluded that the negative pressure of Salo Darder is not capable of treating the spasticity described in Chang. Furthermore, even if the origin of the spasticity is different, there is no evidence that it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use negative pressure that treats a form of spasticity including cramping to be used to treat another form of spasticity of differing origin. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On pages 7-8, section III(D) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that the Examiner relies on Atkinson and Filtvedt only for specific pressure levels, pulsation, and timing intervals, in the context of varicose veins, venous circulation, and local cramping. These are parameters references. A pressure value or a pulse-timing interval used for venous or local circulatory purposes does not provide any medical reason to expect that pressure therapy would treat spasticity of central neurological origin. The choice of a particular pressure or time does not bridge the gap between a local circulatory treatment and the central mechanism of spasticity, it presupposes that the therapy treats the condition, which is the very important question.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because there is no evidence that parameters for negative pressure used to improve blood circulation and treat local cramping would not be obvious to used to treat another form of cramping/spasticity caused by a central neurological origin. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On page 8, section IV (21) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that it would not have been obvious or expected, to a clinician of the declarant’s background and experience, that applying oscillating (intermittent) negative pressure to a limb would have a positive effect on spasticity and pain in person with multiple sclerosis. Negative pressure of this kind acts locally on the limb, and there would have been no clinical reason to expect that a local, peripheral intervention of this type would reduce the frequency, intensity, or duration of centrally-driven spasticity, or the pain associated with it.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because Chang discloses spasticity which is a form of muscle spasm/cramp, one having ordinary skill in the art upon seeing Roesch or Salo Darder would find it obvious to utilize a negative pressure treatment used to also treat spasticity/cramp/spasm to treat the spasticity of Chang. The declarant did not explain why/how one having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to apply such treatment to the spasticity of Chang. Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “or the pain associated with it”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On page 8, section IV (22) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that the observation that negative pressures or suction has been described for local conditions such as a cramping, lymphedema, venous or lymphatic congestion, or soft-tissue or myofascial tension would not have led a clinician to expect that a similar treatment would be effective against spasticity and pain of central neurological origin in persons with multiple sclerosis or other neurological disease. The shared use of the words such as “cramp,” “spasm,” “spasticity,” or “muscle tensions” across such different conditions does not make the conditions clinically equivalent, and does not imply shared mechanism or a shared response to treatment.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because there is no explanation or evidence how the terms “cramp,” “spasm,” “spasticity,” or “muscle tensions” used by Chang, Roesch, and Salo Darder are clinically different when it comes to treatment using negative pressure to treat the cramping, spasm, spasticity, or muscle tensions. Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “similar treatment would be effective against…pain of central neurological origin”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On page 8, section IV (23) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that none of the negative-pressure references (Roesch, Salo Darder, Atkinson, Filtvedt) identifies or treats such a patient, specifically, identifying the patient as having spasticity as a result of one of the recited central nervous system conditions. However, Chang was being relied upon for disclosing the step of identifying the patient as having spasticity as a result of one of the recited central nervous system conditions, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On page 8, section IV(24) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that with respect to the claims requiring administration of an anti-spastic composition together with negative pressure therapy (including concurrent administration): the declarant would not have expected, and it would not have been obvious, that adding a local negative-pressure therapy to a centrally-acting anti-spastic regimen would provide additive, synergistic, or clinically useful effect on central-origin spasticity. Concurrent administration is clinically meaningful only if there is a reason to expect that both interventions act on the same clinically relevant condition, and the cited references provide no such reason.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because the declarant provided no evidence that adding a local negative-pressure therapy to a centrally-acting anti-spastic regimen would provide additive, synergistic, or clinically useful effect on central-origin spasticity. Chang discloses spasticity which is a form of muscle spasm/cramp, one having ordinary skill in the art upon seeing Roesch and/or Salo Darder would find it obvious to utilize a negative pressure treatment used to also treat spasticity/cramp/spasm to treat the spasticity of Chang. The declarant did not explain why one having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to apply such treatment to the spasticity of Chang. Furthermore, Chang discloses administering an anti-spasmodic composition, while Roesch and/or Salo Darder discloses providing a physical form of therapy to treat spasticity, therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine how to effectively administer the anti-spasmodic composition and the negative pressure therapy to be able to treat the spasticity of the patient. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On page 9, section IV(25) of the affidavit/declaration, the declarant stated that the claim requiring reduction of a result-effective anti-spastic dose following negative pressure therapy while continuing at the reduced dose. The declarant would not have expected, and it would not have been obvious that such a local therapy would permit the effective dose of a centrally-acting anti-spastic medication to be reduced while still maintaining control of the spasticity. In clinical practice, effective anti-spastic doses are reduced cautiously, because lowering the dose can worsen tone, spasms, clonus, pain, sleep, mobility, and daily function. That a physician can adjust medication in general does not mean that this particular local therapy would predictably allow such a reduction. The declarant would not expect an unrelated local therapy to provide a basis for reducing an effective anti-spastic dose absent a genuine physiologic reason to expect improvement in the underlying central condition, and the cited references supply no such reason.
However, the declaration is inefficient to overcome the rejection because the feature of choosing to reduce the result effective dose of the anti-spasmodic composition and continuing administration of the anti-spasmodic composition to the patient with the reduced dose following the administering of the negative pressure therapy to the patient would be an obvious treatment design choice, since it is based on a doctor’s determination when to reduce the result effective dose of the anti-spasmodic composition based on the patient’s condition and patient’s needs. The declarant stated that in clinical practice, effective anti-spastic doses are reduced cautiously, therefore, depending on the severity and condition of the patient, a clinician can reduce the administration of the anti-spasmodic composition cautiously. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
The declarant’s concluding statements on pages 9-10, section V(26-27) of the affidavit/declaration have been addressed by the response above.
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the response to the affidavit/declaration above and the response to arguments in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 3/11/2026.
Furthermore, the applicant on page 9, third paragraph argues that routine optimization presupposes that the prior art recognized the variable as affecting the relevant result. None of Chang, Roesch, or Salo Darder recognizes treatment duration or frequency of negative pressure therapy as a variable affecting treatment of neurogenic spasticity. The cited art first lacks the general condition that is said to be optimized: negative-pressure treatment of the claimed central neurological condition. However, the argument is not persuasive because both references of Roesch and Salo Darder disclose the use of negative pressure to treat cramps/spasm/spasticity, each treatment would require a frequency and a duration that would be effective for Roesch and Salo Darder, furthermore, any form of negative pressure being used to treat the spasticity as disclosed by both Roesch and Salo Darder would be treating the spasticity locally, the claim does not require that the negative pressure having a particular duration and frequency being used to treat a part of the person that is remote from the local symptom of the spasticity and remote from the location that the negative pressure chamber covers. The applicant merely made a statement that the duration and frequency are not result effective variables without providing any explanation as to why they are not result effective variables to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785