DETAILED ACTION
As all rejections have been overcome in claims 1-11, 14-23, 28-39, 68, 69, 71, 74, 102 and 104 to the extent that they encompass elected species “C”, the next species has been examined : “(vi) free compound of claim 40”. Thus, claims 1-39, 68, 69, 71, 74, 102, 104 and 105, directed in part to non-elected species, are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 40, 70, 72, 101, 103 and 105 are under consideration. Claims 1, 40, 71, 72, 74, 104 and 105 have been amended.
The objection to claims 71, 72 and 105 because of the typographical error of “castrate-resistant prostrate cancer” is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 40, 70, 72, 101, 103 and 105 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 40, 70, 72, 101, 103 and 105 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 40, 70, 72, 101, 103 and 105 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gingipalli et al (WO2015/157594, reference of the IDS filed 3/02/2022). Is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment.
Claims 40, 70 and 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)as being anticipated by Richter et al (WO2008/138561, reference of the IDS filed 11/2/2021).
Richter et al disclose the compound
(page 57) which meets the illimitations of claim 40 wherein when Q is CH2, then R2 is C5-C10 alkyl. Richter et al disclose that the molecules of the invention show an activity against several cancer cell lines between 0.03 to 60nM Specifically, the RD295 compound exhibits an IC50 of 0.43nM against a HT-29 cell line (page 57). Richter et al disclose pharmaceutical composition comprising the inventive compounds of formula I (page 12, second paragraph).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)as being anticipated by Vlahov et al (WO2017/031209, reference of the IDS filed 11/2/2021).
Vlahov et al disclose the compound
(page 122) which meets the limitations of instant claim 40 for Q being CH2, and R2 being C5-C10 alkyl. Vlahov disclose that compounds which show cytotoxicity against cancer cell lines in the picomolar range are of interest as potential anti-cancer therapeutics.
Claims 40, 70, 72, 101, 103 and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cong et al (US 2014/0227295, reference of the IDS filed 11/02/2021) in view of Richter et al (WO2008/138561).
Cong et al teach the specific compounds of
which meet the limitations of claim 40 for R1= C1-C6 alkyl; Q= CH2; R2 is alkyl; R7 is NRaR7b, wherein R7a and R7b are hydrogen; R3 is -OC(O)N(H)C1-C10 alkyl; R4 is hydrogen, R5 is C1-C5 alkyl and R6 is -OH.
wherein for said specific compounds, Q is CH2 and R2 is CH2CH3. Cong et al also teach that R2 can be unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl or C2-C10 alkynyl (claim 1, page 47, second column). Thus, it would be prima facie obvious to use longer alkyl or alkynyl chains of up to 10 carbons at the R2 position, rendering obvious an instant R2 of C5-C9 alkyl or C5-C9 alkynyl when Q was CH2.
Cong et al teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 19 of ‘295) which meets the limitation of claim 101. Cong et al disclose a method of treating a cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of claim 1 (claim 15 of ‘295) which meets the limitation of instant claims 70 and 72. Cong et al teach practice of the methods and use of compositions described herein will result in a reduction in the size or number of the cancerous growth and/or a reduction in associated symptoms (where applicable) (paragraph [0170]) which meets the limitations of claim 103. Cong et al teach that the cancer can be renal, lung, gastric, or ovarian cancer which meets the limitations of claim 105.
Cong et al teach that R2 can be unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl or C2-C10 alkynyl (claim 1, page 47, second column).
Richter et al disclose the compound
(page 57) which meets the illimitations of claim 40 wherein when Q is CH2, then R2 is C5-C10 alkyl and thus fulfills the limitation of claim 1 of Cong et al wherein R2. Richter et al teach that the RD295 compound exhibits an IC50 of 0.43nM against a HT-29 cell line (page 57). Richter et al disclose pharmaceutical composition comprising the inventive compounds of formula I (page 12, second paragraph).
Thus, it would be prima facie obvious to use longer alkyl or alkynyl chains of up to 10 carbons at the R2 position, rendering obvious an instant R2 of C5-C9 alkyl or C5-C9 alkynyl when Q was CH2. One of skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Cong et al teach that R2 can be unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl or C2-C10 alkynyl and Richter et al teach that RD295 has an IC 50 of 0.43 nM against the HT-29 cell line. One of skill in the art would know that the HT-29 cell line is a colon cancer cell line .
Claims 40, 70, 72, 101, 103 and 105 are rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KAREN A. CANELLA
Examiner
Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643