DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 7-12 and 14-17 are under examination.
Claims 5 and 13 are cancelled.
Claims 6 and 18-20 are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Drawing Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed July 28th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous objections are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed July 28th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous objections are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed July 28th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous rejections are withdrawn.
`The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite in Lines 9-11 and Lines 6-7, respectively, “…wherein a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings…”, however the instant specification nor drawings specifically disclose nor demonstrate “…a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings…”, whereby [0042] of the instant specification only broadly provides “…each opening feature of opening features 802 may be configured to direct the venting flow in a different direction, etc., whereby to illustrate, and although illustrated as being directed along 852, opening features 802 may be varied in orientation to direct venting flow in more than one direction…”, such that the specifically claimed feature(s) contain subject matter which was not described in the specification nor drawings, thereby introducing new matter.
Claims 1 and 12 recite in Lines “…when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening, from the common space in the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the first vent port, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the common space in the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the second vent port…”, however the instant specification nor drawings specifically disclose nor demonstrate “…when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening, from the common space in the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the first vent port, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the common space in the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the second vent port…”, whereby [0042] of the instant specification only broadly provides “…each opening feature of opening features 802 may be configured to direct the venting flow in a different direction, etc., whereby to illustrate, and although illustrated as being directed along 852, opening features 802 may be varied in orientation to direct venting flow in more than one direction…”, and the instant specification in [0029] provides “…battery system ref. 100 includes vent ports 110 and 111…, etc.”, such that the specifically claimed feature(s) contain subject matter which was not described in the specification nor drawings, thereby introducing new matter.
Claims 2-4, 7-11 and 14-17 are rejected as they depend from claims 1 and 12.
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “…and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure…” is recited in Lines 16-19, however it is unclear as to how gas passing through the second opening is redirected based on the angle of the material of the first opening, etc., thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Therefore, the examiner will interpret the claim limitation as --when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure--.
Claims 2-4 and 7-11 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, “…the material is aligned to direct venting flow radially outward from a central point of the plurality of battery cells.” is recited in Lines 1-3, however the instant specification nor drawings provide the skilled artisan with how the material is aligned so as to direct venting flow radially outward from a central point of the plurality of battery cells, thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Furthermore, the examiner asserts that it is unclear as to what said central point refers, such that is this a central point of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, or a single central point of the plurality of battery cells? Therefore, the examiner will interpret the claim as --the material is aligned to direct venting flow outward from a central point of the plurality of battery cells--, such that a central point is a single central point of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2015/0140369 A1), hereinafter Itoi, in view of Shimizu et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2013/0095356 A1), hereinafter Shimizu, in view of Jochen et al. (DE102012217630 (A1) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Jochen.
Regarding claim 1, Itoi discloses a battery system comprising: a plurality of battery cells (i.e., Figs. 1-2, ref. 100, [0044]-[0049], [0051]-[0052]),
each comprising a battery cell vent (i.e., at least ref. 8a, Figs. 1-2, [0048], [0051]-[0052], See Annotated Fig. 2) on a first end to allow gas to be emitted from the battery cell (i.e., at least vent 8a releases a gas generated in the cell ref. 100 to outside the cell ref. 100, etc., [0048], [0051]-[0055], See Annotated Fig. 2); and
a touch cover (i.e., at least partition, Fig. 2, ref. 40, [0053]-[0054], [0065]-[0066]) spaced apart from the first ends of the plurality of battery cells and forming a common space therebetween (i.e., at least first space ref. 61, Fig. 2, [0053]-[0054], See Annotated Fig. 2),
wherein: the gas emitted from the battery cell vents enters the common space in a first direction (i.e., at least gas from the battery cell vents 8a of the cells ref. 100 to be released to the first space ref. 61 through openings ref. 30a, etc., such that a first direction is at least that shown by the arrow coming from battery cell ref. 100 as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, also see [0051]-[0055], [0066]); and
the touch cover (i.e., at least partition as discussed above) comprises a flat structure (i.e., partition is at least a flat structure, See Annotated Fig. 2, [0069], Figs. 17a-b) into which a plurality of openings are formed from a material (i.e., at least through holes, Fig. 2, ref. 40a, [0054]), such that said partition is at least made from a material as disclosed in [0069], and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Itoi further discloses the gas from the common space passes through a first opening and a second opening, and is redirected, from the first direction to a second direction (i.e., at least gas, etc., passes through the plurality of through-holes ref. 40a and is redirected as shown by the arrows in Annotated Fig. 2), such that gas from the battery cell vents ref. 8a of the cells ref. 100 released to the first space ref. 61 through openings ref. 30a formed in the flat plate ref. 30 are guided to the second space ref. 62 through the holes ref. 40a in the partition ref. 40, and then released to outside the case ref. 20 through a release outlet ref. 22 provided in the case ref. 20, which is at least defined by the arrows in Figs. 2 and 5a-c, See Annotated Fig. 2, [0054], [0065]-[0066]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Itoi is silent as to a plurality of openings are each formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure. Furthermore, Itoi is silent as to wherein a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings; and the gas from the common space passes through the first opening and the second opening, and: when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure.
Shimizu teaches a cell module (Title) including a touch cover that comprises a flat sheet of material (i.e., at least plate member, See Annotated Fig. 5a, Figs. 4a-c, ref. 70, [0054], [0056]). Shimizu further teaches in [0055] when a failure occurs and gas is released from at least one of the opening portions (Fig. 4b, ref. 8a) of the batteries (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 100), the associated thinner portions (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) rupture, i.e., the one-way open valve(s) is opened toward the exhaust passage (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 60), whereas the non-rupturable portion (Fig. 4c, ref. 72) formed in a part of the thinner portion (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) causes, as illustrated in Fig. 5a, the one-way open valve(s) to stay in an opened state with an inclination in a specific direction without being completely separated from the plate member (Figs. 4a-c and 5a, ref. 70), which at least provides plurality of openings are each formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure (See Annotated Fig. 5a, Fig. 4c, ref. 70, [0054], [0056]), such that skilled artisan would appreciate that Shimizu discloses a plurality of one-way open valve(s) as discussed in [0052]-[0054] so as to be opened as discussed in [0055], etc. Furthermore, since Shimizu discloses a plurality of one-way open valve(s) as discussed in [0052]-[0054] so as to be opened as discussed in [0055], etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that in at least an embodiment the gas from the common space passes through a first opening and a second opening, etc., and when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on an angle of the material of the first opening and a first orientation of the first opening, from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on an angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, such that since one-way valve(s) may be opened and angled as shown in Annotated Fig. 5a, that this at least provides a first, second, etc., direction(s) so as to redirect gas, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that first, second, etc., directions are at least provided, such that one having ordinary skill would expect gas entering area ref. 60 as shown in Fig. 5 would at least provide multiple directions of flow.
Shimizu further teaches in [0012] according to the present disclosure, even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Itoi with the teachings of Shimizu, whereby the battery system including touch cover with plurality of openings (i.e., at least partition with through holes as discussed above) as disclosed by Itoi further includes the plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure as taught by Shimizu so that even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
However as discussed above, the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu are silent as to wherein a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings; and the gas when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure.
Jochen teaches a battery i.e. lithium-ion battery, for motor vehicle, has galvanic elements, and degassing cover for covering degassing openings and comprising passage openings, where degassing openings are attached to respective passage openings (Title). Jochen further teaches a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings (See Annotated Fig. 1).
Jochen further teaches in [0038] each galvanic element ref. 104 (hereinafter also referred to as battery cell ref. 104) has a corresponding formation ref. 105 (hereinafter also referred to as through opening ref. 105) in the cover ref. 101, whereby preferably, the openings of the formation ref. 105 are directed towards an electrical connection terminal of the cell ref. 104, etc., whereby according to the invention, the short circuit is avoided by the formation ref. 105 being fluidically designed in such a way that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, in the direction z, etc., which at least provides the gas from the common space passes through the first opening and the second opening, etc., so that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0043], [0044], [0045], [0051], [0052], Fig. 2, Fig. 4).
Jochen further teaches in [0043] the intended fluid jet directions of the through-openings ref. 105 do not point only to one side, but the directions of the through-openings ref. 105 correspond to the arrangement of the poles of the battery cell and can thus alternate, etc., and further teaches in [0038] the short circuit is avoided by the formation of ref. 105 being fluidically designed in such a way that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, in the direction z, etc., which at least provides gas when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure (also see Annotated Fig. 1), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu with the teachings of Jochen, whereby the battery system including touch cover with plurality of openings (i.e., at least partition with through holes as discussed above), the plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu further includes a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings; and the gas when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure as taught by Jochen so that a short circuit is avoided by the formation of ref. 105 (i.e., through opening(s)) being fluidically designed in such a way that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, in the direction z, etc.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that since the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen disclose a product that is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as gas when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I), such that since Itoi discloses the battery system including touch cover with plurality of openings, common space, first/second direction(s), and Shimizu discloses a plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and Jochen discloses the first orientation of the first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings, etc., the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen would be expected to perform similarly to that claimed, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Annotated Figure 2 (Itoi)
Annotated Figure 5a (Shimizu)
Annotated Figure 1 (Jochen)
Regarding claims 2-3, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 1. With regards to claim 2, Itoi further discloses an outer enclosure arranged around the plurality of battery cells and the touch cover, wherein the outer enclosure is configured to direct redirect the gas towards the vent port (i.e., at least case ref. 20, [0051]-[0054], See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said gas is at least directed up, down, left, right, etc., based on the density, pressure, etc., of the gas, etc., so that a high-temperature gas from an abnormal battery can be released to outside the case with safety without an influence on other normal batteries, and as a result, a safe battery module can be achieved as disclosed in [0011], and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Itoi further discloses a vent port arranged in a wall of the outer enclosure (i.e., at least release outlet ref. 22, See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
With regards to claim 3, Itoi further discloses the plurality of openings is configured to redirect the gas emitted to flow along an interior surface of the outer enclosure and towards the vent port (i.e., at least configured so that gas from the vents ref. 8a of the cells ref. 100 released to the first space ref. 61 through openings ref. 30a formed in the flat plate ref. 30 are guided to the second space ref. 62 through the holes ref. 40a in the partition ref. 40, and then released to outside the case ref. 20 through a release outlet ref. 22 provided in the case ref. 20, which is at least defined by the arrows in Figs. 2 and 5a-c, See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, [0054], [0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 1. However, with regards to claim 7, Itoi is silent as to the material is configured to direct airflow from the first direction corresponding to the battery cell vents of the plurality of battery cells to the second direction along a curved path across the surface flat structure. Furthermore, with regards to claim 8, Itoi is silent as to the material is aligned to direct venting flow radially from a central point of the plurality of battery cells.
The combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu disclose the battery system as discussed above in claim 1. With regards to claim 7, Shimizu further teaches the material is configured to direct airflow from the first direction corresponding to the battery cell vents of the plurality of battery cells to the second direction along a curved path across the surface flat structure (See Annotated Fig. 5a above in claim 1, also see Fig. 4a-c, 8), such that since said material including openings angled upward relative to the flat structure are provided as discussed above in claim 1, that this at least provides a curved path, lacking any structural distinction thereof as to the product as claimed.
With regards to claim 8, Shimizu further discloses the material is aligned to direct venting flow outward from a central point of the plurality of battery cells (See Annotated Fig. 5a above in claim 1), such that since no further structural distinction is provided and Shimizu at least provides a central point such as that shown Annotated Fig. 5 (also see Fig. 4a-c, 8), the claim limitation is met, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Shimizu further teaches in [0012] according to the present disclosure, even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen further with the teachings of Shimizu, whereby the battery system including touch cover (i.e., at least partition with through holes as discussed above in claim 1) as disclosed by Itoi further includes the plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure as taught by Shimizu so that even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
Regarding claim 9, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 1. Itoi further discloses the battery system further comprises a carrier assembly (i.e., at least connection group ref. 85, [0091]-[0092], Figs. 9 and 15) electrically coupling subsets of the plurality of battery cells in parallel (i.e., battery assemblies ref. 300 in each of which cells ref. 100 are connected in parallel, etc., [0092]-[0093], [0098], [0104], Fig. 12-13) and coupling the subsets in series (i.e., battery assemblies ref. 300 can be easily connected in series using the connection groups ref. 85, [0092], [0104], Figs. 9 and 13);
the carrier assembly arranges the plurality of battery cells in an array (i.e., at least battery cells ref. 100 are in an array as shown in Figs. 8-9, also See Figs. 13 and 15 of battery assemblies ref. 300 of cells ref. 100, [0104]), the carrier assembly comprises a plurality of busbars (e.g., at least positive electrode bus bar(s) ref. 83 and negative electrode bus bar(s) ref. 81, etc., Figs. 9-12, [0091]-[0095]); and
the carrier assembly comprises a plurality of through features (i.e., at least through holes refs. 83a, 82a and 81a are through features, etc., Figs. 8-9, 10a-b, 11 and 19, [0108]-[0109]) that correspond to the battery cell vents to allow the gas to flow past the carrier assembly (i.e., at least through holes refs. 83a, 82a and 81a are through features, whereby a gas from the vents ref. 8a of the cells ref. 100 is released to the first space ref. 61, etc., through the through holes ref. 83a, 82a, and 81a of the connection group ref. 85, etc., Figs. 8-9, 10a-b, 11 and 19, [0108]-[0109]), such that gas at least flows past the carrier assembly (i.e., connection group as discussed above) so to be released to the first space ref. 61.
Regarding claim 10, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 1. However, Itoi is silent as to the material comprises a plurality of reliefs in a flat sheet of material defining a plurality of regions; and the plurality of regions is configured to partially break free from the flat sheet and to deflect under pressure to direct the gas to flow in the second direction.
Shimizu teaches a material comprises a plurality of reliefs (See Annotated Fig. 4c below) in a flat sheet of material (i.e., at least plate member, See Annotated Fig. 4c below, ref. 70, [0054], [0056], Figs. 4a-c and 5a-b) defining a plurality of regions (See Annotated Fig. 4c below), so as to have a ring shape as shown in Fig. 4c ([0051]), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Shimizu further teaches when a predetermined pressure is applied to the plate member (Fig. 4c, ref. 70), thereby causing the thinner portions (Fig. 4c, ref. 71) associated with the battery (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 100) experiencing failure to rupture, that is, the one-way open valve(s) is opened ([0050]), whereby when a failure occurs and gas is released from at least one of the opening portions (Fig. 4b, ref. 8a) of the batteries (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 100), the associated thinner portions (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) rupture, i.e., the one-way open valve(s) is opened toward the exhaust passage (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 60), whereas the non-rupturable portion (Fig. 4c, ref. 72) formed in a part of the thinner portion (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) causes, as illustrated in Fig. 5a, the one-way open valve(s) to stay in an opened state with an inclination in a specific direction without being completely separated from the plate member (Figs. 4a-c and 5a, ref. 70) ([0055]), thus reading on “the plurality of regions is configured to partially break free from the flat sheet and to deflect under pressure to direct the gas to flow in the second direction”, whereby the second direction is at least any direction other than the vertical direction as shown in Annotated Fig. 5a above in claim 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that Shimizu discloses a plurality of one-way open valve(s) (i.e., at least plurality of reliefs) as discussed in [0052]-[0054] so as to be opened as discussed in [0055], etc.
Shimizu further teaches in [0012] according to the present disclosure, even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen with the teachings of Shimizu, whereby the battery system including touch cover (i.e., at least partition with through holes as discussed above in claim 1), common space, first/second direction(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen further includes the plurality of reliefs as taught by Shimizu so that even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
Annotated Fig. 4c (Shimizu)
Regarding claim 11, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 1. Itoi further discloses each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises terminals arranged at the first end (i.e., at least terminal plate ref. 8, Figs. 1-4 and 5a-c, [0047]-[0048], [0052], [0055]-[0057], See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Itoi discloses a battery system, comprising a plurality of battery cells (i.e., Figs. 1-2, ref. 100, [0044]-[0049], [0051]-[0052]), each comprising a battery cell vent (i.e., at least Figs. 1-2, ref. 8a, [0048], [0051]-[0052], See Annotated Fig. 2 below) that allows gas to be emitted in a first direction from the battery cells into a common space (i.e., at least gas from the vents 8a of the cells ref. 100 to be released to the first space ref. 61 through openings ref. 30a, etc., [0048], [0051]-[0055], [0066], See Annotated Fig. 2 below);
a touch cover (i.e., at least partition, Fig. 2, ref. 40, [0053]-[0054], [0065]-[0066]) spaced apart from the plurality of battery cells (i.e., at least first space ref. 61, Fig. 2, [0053]-[0054], See Annotated Fig. 2 below) and comprising a flat structure (i.e., partition is at least flat, See Annotated Fig. 2 below, [0069], Figs. 17a-b) into which a plurality of openings are each formed (i.e., at least through holes, Fig. 2, ref. 40a, [0054]); and
a first vent port of an outer enclosure and a second vent port of the outer enclosure (i.e., at least release outlet(s), ref. 22, See Annotated Fig. 2 below, also see Fig. 21 with regards to multiple vent port(s) ref. 22), wherein the plurality of openings directs the emitted gas from the common space towards the vent port (i.e., at least directs the gas from the vents ref. 8a of the cells ref. 100 released to the first space ref. 61 through openings ref. 30a formed in the flat plate ref. 30 and guided to the second space ref. 62 through the holes ref. 40a in the partition ref. 40, and then released to outside the case ref. 20 through a release outlet ref. 22 provided in the case ref. 20, such that the direction towards the vent port is a least that defined by the arrows in Figs. 2 and 5a-c, See Annotated Fig. 2 below, [0054], [0065]-[0066]).
Itoi further discloses the gas from the common space passes through a first opening and a second opening, and is redirected, from the first direction to a second direction (i.e., at least gas, etc., passes through the plurality of through-holes ref. 40a and is redirected as shown by the arrows in Annotated Fig. 2), such that gas from the battery cell vents ref. 8a of the cells ref. 100 released to the first space ref. 61 through openings ref. 30a formed in the flat plate ref. 30 are guided to the second space ref. 62 through the holes ref. 40a in the partition ref. 40, and then released to outside the case ref. 20 through a release outlet ref. 22 provided in the case ref. 20, which is at least defined by the arrows in Figs. 2 and 5a-c, See Annotated Fig. 2, [0054], [0065]-[0066]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Itoi is silent as to a plurality of openings are each formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure. Furthermore, Itoi is silent as to a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings. Furthermore, Itoi is silent as to the gas from the common space when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the first vent port, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the second vent port.
Shimizu teaches a cell module (Title) including a touch cover that comprises a flat sheet of material (i.e., at least plate member, See Annotated Fig. 5a, Figs. 4a-c, ref. 70, [0054], [0056]). Shimizu further teaches in [0055] when a failure occurs and gas is released from at least one of the opening portions (Fig. 4b, ref. 8a) of the batteries (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 100), the associated thinner portions (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) rupture, i.e., the one-way open valve(s) is opened toward the exhaust passage (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 60), whereas the non-rupturable portion (Fig. 4c, ref. 72) formed in a part of the thinner portion (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) causes, as illustrated in Fig. 5a, the one-way open valve(s) to stay in an opened state with an inclination in a specific direction without being completely separated from the plate member (Figs. 4a-c and 5a, ref. 70), which at least provides plurality of openings are each formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure (See Annotated Fig. 5a, Fig. 4c, ref. 70, [0054], [0056]), such that skilled artisan would appreciate that Shimizu discloses a plurality of one-way open valve(s) as discussed in [0052]-[0054] so as to be opened as discussed in [0055], etc. Furthermore, since Shimizu discloses a plurality of one-way open valve(s) as discussed in [0052]-[0054] so as to be opened as discussed in [0055], etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that in at least an embodiment the gas from the common space passes through a first opening and a second opening, etc., and when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on an angle of the material of the first opening and a first orientation of the first opening, from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on an angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, such that since one-way valve(s) may be opened and angled as shown in Annotated Fig. 5a, that this at least provides a first, second, etc., direction(s) so as to redirect gas, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that first, second, etc., directions are at least provided, such that one having ordinary skill would expect gas entering area ref. 60 as shown in Fig. 5 would at least provide multiple directions of flow.
Shimizu further teaches in [0012] according to the present disclosure, even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Itoi with the teachings of Shimizu, whereby the battery system including touch cover with plurality of openings (i.e., at least partition with through holes as discussed above) as disclosed by Itoi further includes the plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure as taught by Shimizu so that even when a failure occurs and at least one of the batteries accommodated in the battery module releases gas, the high-temperature gas flowing into the exhaust passage can be expelled to the outside without coming into contact with the neighboring batteries, thereby providing a battery module with a high level of safety.
However as discussed above, the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu are silent as to a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings. Furthermore, the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu are silent as to the gas from the common space when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the first vent port, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the second vent port.
Jochen teaches a battery i.e. lithium-ion battery, for motor vehicle, has galvanic elements, and degassing cover for covering degassing openings and comprising passage openings, where degassing openings are attached to respective passage openings (Title). Jochen further teaches a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Jochen further teaches in [0038] each galvanic element ref. 104 (hereinafter also referred to as battery cell ref. 104) has a corresponding formation ref. 105 (hereinafter also referred to as through opening ref. 105) in the cover ref. 101, whereby preferably, the openings of the formation ref. 105 are directed towards an electrical connection terminal of the cell ref. 104, etc., whereby according to the invention, the short circuit is avoided by the formation ref. 105 being fluidically designed in such a way that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, in the direction z, etc., which at least provides the gas from the common space passes through the first opening and the second opening, etc., so that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0043], [0044], [0045], [0051], [0052], Fig. 2, Fig. 4).
Jochen further teaches in [0043] the intended fluid jet directions of the through-openings ref. 105 do not point only to one side, but the directions of the through-openings ref. 105 correspond to the arrangement of the poles of the battery cell and can thus alternate, etc., and further teaches in [0038] the short circuit is avoided by the formation of ref. 105 being fluidically designed in such a way that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, in the direction z, etc., which at least provides gas when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure (also see Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu with the teachings of Jochen, whereby the battery system including touch cover with plurality of openings (i.e., at least partition with through holes as discussed above), the plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu further includes a first orientation of a first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings; and the gas when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure as taught by Jochen so that a short circuit is avoided by the formation of ref. 105 (i.e., through opening(s)) being fluidically designed in such a way that the fluid is guided away from the nearest potential current path and allowed to escape upwards, in the direction z, etc.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that since the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen disclose a product that is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as the gas from the common space when passing through the first opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the first opening and the first orientation of the first opening from the first direction to a second direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the first vent port, and when passing through the second opening is redirected, based on the angle of the material of the second opening and the second orientation of the second opening, from the first direction to a third direction angled upwards relative to the flat structure and towards the second vent port, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I), such that since Itoi discloses the battery system including touch cover with plurality of openings, common space, first/second direction(s), first/second vent port(s), etc., and Shimizu discloses a plurality of openings are formed from a material angled upwards relative to the flat structure, and Jochen discloses the first orientation of the first opening of the plurality of openings differs from a second orientation of a second opening of the plurality of openings, etc., the combined teachings of Itoi and Shimizu and Jochen would be expected to perform similarly to that claimed, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Annotated Figure 2 (Itoi)
Regarding claim 14, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 12. Itoi further discloses comprising a carrier assembly (i.e., at least connection group ref. 85, [0091]-[0092], Figs. 9 and 15) that arranges the plurality of battery cells in an array (i.e., at least battery cells ref. 100 are in an array as shown in Figs. 8-9, also See Figs. 13 and 15 of battery assemblies ref. 300 of cells ref. 100, [0104]),
wherein the carrier assembly comprises:
a plurality of busbars (e.g., at least positive electrode bus bar(s) ref. 83 and negative electrode bus bar(s) ref. 81, etc., Figs. 9-12, [0091]-[0095]); and
a plurality of through features (i.e., at least through holes refs. 83a, 82a and 81a are through features, etc., Figs. 8-9, 10a-b, 11 and 19, [0108]-[0109]) that correspond to the battery cell vents to allow the gas to flow past the carrier assembly (i.e., at least through holes refs. 83a, 82a and 81a are through features, whereby a gas from the vents ref. 8a of the cells ref. 100 is released to the first space ref. 61, etc., through the through holes ref. 83a, 82a, and 81a of the connection group ref. 85, etc., Figs. 8-9, 10a-b, 11 and 19, [0108]-[0109]), such that gas at least flows past the carrier assembly (i.e., connection group as discussed above) so to be released to the first space ref. 61.
Regarding claim 15, Itoi discloses the battery system as discussed above in claim 12. However, Itoi is silent as to the material comprises a plurality of partial cutouts in a flat sheet of material defining a plurality of tabs; and the plurality of tabs is configured to deflect under pressure to direct the gas to flow in the second direction towards the first vent port.
Shimizu teaches a cell module (Title) including a touch cover that comprises a flat sheet of material (i.e., at least plate member, See Annotated 5a above in claim 1, Figs. 4a-c, ref. 70, [0054], [0056]). Shimizu further teaches a material (See Annotated Fig. 4c below) comprises a plurality of partial cutouts (See Annotated Fig. 4c below) in a flat sheet of material (i.e., at least plate member, See Annotated Fig. 4c below, ref. 70, [0054], [0056], Figs. 4a-c and 5a-b) defining a plurality of tabs (See Annotated Fig. 4c below), so as to have a ring shape as shown in Fig. 4c ([0051]).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that Shimizu discloses a plurality of one-way open valve(s) (i.e., at least plurality of partial cutouts defining a plurality of tabs) as discussed in [0052]-[0054] so as to be opened as discussed in [0055], etc.
Shimizu further discloses when a predetermined pressure is applied to the plate member (Fig. 4c, ref. 70), thereby causing the thinner portions (Fig. 4c, ref. 71) associated with the battery (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 100) experiencing failure to rupture, that is, the one-way open valve is opened ([0050]), whereby when a failure occurs and gas is released from at least one of the opening portions (Fig. 4b, ref. 8a) of the batteries (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 100), the associated thinner portions (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) rupture, i.e., the one-way open valve is opened toward the exhaust passage (Figs. 4a and 5a, ref. 60), whereas the non-rupturable portion (Fig. 4c, ref. 72) formed in a part of the thinner portion (Figs. 4b-c, ref. 71) causes, as illustrated in Fig. 5a, the one-way open valve to stay in an opened state with an inclination in a specific direction without being completely separated from the plate member (Figs. 4a-c and 5a, ref. 70) ([0055]), thus reading on “the plurality of tabs is configured to d