Detailed Action
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,9,16,17,28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed 1/02/2026 have been considered and are considered moot in view of arguments presented.
Re: Claims 1, 8, 18, and 26 applicant argues” Hu describes a base station that sends configuration information for QOE measurement to a UE, which performs QOE measurement based on the configuration information. Hu, para. [0003]. The Office does not assert that Hu discloses or suggests the above element of claim 1. Accordingly, Hu fails to disclose or suggest "in accordance with a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration and a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration indicating that the first priority exceeds the second priority, release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration," as in claim 1.”
Ofer teaches Fig 1 Col 4 L 53-60 step 106 determine a second parameter(=the second QoE configuration) of the first user using a second network provider In another embodiment, it may be determined that the first parameter (QOE) falls below a predetermined threshold, and in response, the first network provider may be reconfigured(=release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration) to optimize the first parameter (QOE).
RE: Claims 9-11, 19-23, 25, and 34 Applicant argues-“Claims 9-11 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 8, and claims 19- 23, 25, and 34 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 18, and therefore, inherit every element of the claim(s) from which they depend. Accordingly, dependent claims 9-11, 19- 23, 25, and 34 are patentable at least for the reasons set forth with respect to the independent claims. Further, these claims set forth additional elements making them patentable in their own right. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of dependent claims 9-11, 19- 23, 25, and 34 also be withdrawn.”
Dependent claims derive from independent claims 1, 8, 18, and 26 and above rejection rationale applies.
Re: claim 2 applicant argues” Zhu describes level traffic steering between radio access technologies. Zhu, para. [0001]. In Zhu, two respective flags indicate restrictions for different RATs. Zhu, para. [0088]. A RAT can only be used when it is noted restricted. Zhu, para. [0088]. Zhu does not disclose or suggest that the UE releases a QoE configuration and maintains another QoE configuration in accordance with a comparison of priorities associated with the QoE configurations. As a result, Zhu fails to disclose or suggest "in accordance with a comparison of a first priority associated with the first”
Zhu teaches [88] According to embodiments of the invention, two respective flags indicate a restriction for LTE and NR respectively.)
Re: claim 3, applicant argues, “Eklof describes configuring quality of experience (QoE) measurements by a UE. Eklof, Abstract. In Eklof, a trace activation message may be used to transfer QoE related information between eNBs over an X2 interface. Eklof, para. [0277]. Eklof does not disclose or suggest that the UE releases a QoE configuration and maintains another QoE configuration in accordance with a comparison of priorities associated with the QoE configurations. As a result, Eklof fails to disclose or suggest "in accordance with a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration and a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration indicating that the first priority exceeds the second priority, release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration," as in claim 1.”
Eklof teaches, page 36 L10-15- In L TE, a TRACE ACTIVATION message ( or IE) is used to transfer QoE related information between eNBs (=handover)over the X2 interface. Table 11 below shows exemplary contents of a TRACE ACTIVATION message. The QoE-related information is contained in the UE Application layer measurement configuration IE, which is further defined in Table 12.
Re: Claim 12, applicant argues “However, Centonza nowhere discloses or suggests discarding the QoE measurement configuration based on a comparison of a priority associated with the QoE measurement configuration and another priority associated with another QoE measurement configuration. As a result, Centonza fails to disclose or suggest "in accordance with a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration and a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration indicating that the first priority exceeds the second priority, release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration," as in claim 1.”
Centonza teaches, [179]-after identifying the matching UE, the eNB sends an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the AS (e.g., RRC layer) of the UE. The eNB includes the service type, the area scope (e.g., one or more cells, tracking areas, etc.), the measurement configuration file, and the QoE reference.
Re: claims 13 applicant remarks” Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer in view of Hu and further in view of PCT Pat. App. Pub. No. WO 2022/005356 ("Luca"). Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections.
Luca describes a radio access network (RAN) node that configures a user equipment (UE) for quality of experience (QoE) measurement and/or QoE measurement reporting. Luca, 29:15- 17. The RAN node may indicate to the UE to provide measurements, pathloss, retransmission information, block error rate, lost packets, RAT, carrier frequency, and components carriers. Luca, 30:3-10. Luca does not disclose or suggest that the UE releases a QoE configuration and maintains another QoE configuration in accordance with a comparison of priorities associated with the QoE configurations. As a result, Luca fails to disclose or suggest "in accordance with a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration and a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration indicating that the first priority exceeds the second priority, release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration," as in claim 1.
Re: claim 13 applicant describes, “Luca describes a radio access network (RAN) node that configures a user equipment (UE) for quality of experience (QoE) measurement and/or QoE measurement reporting. Luca, 29:15- 17. The RAN node may indicate to the UE to provide measurements, pathloss, retransmission information, block error rate, lost packets, RAT, carrier frequency, and components carriers. Luca, 30:3-10. Luca does not disclose or suggest that the UE releases a QoE configuration and maintains another QoE configuration in accordance with a comparison of priorities associated with the QoE configurations. As a result, Luca fails to disclose or suggest "in accordance with a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration and a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration indicating that the first priority exceeds the second priority, release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration,"
Luca teaches, Pg 30 L21-24 -The UE returns to RRC IDLE after the connection with the network is released.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,8-11,18-23,25,26,34, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Ofer teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processing system including one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, the processing system configured to receive, at a user equipment (UE), configuration data indicating one or more quality of experience (QoE) configurations including at least a first QoE configuration and a second QoE configuration:Fig 1 col 4 L 34-37 Additionally, a first parameter of the first user is determined using the first network provider. See operation 104. In one embodiment, the first parameter may include a first quality of experience (QOE).
in accordance with one or more a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration exceeding a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration or a quantity of QoE configurations associated with the UE exceeding a QoE configuration threshold, release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration; Fig 1 Col 4 L 53-60 step 106 determine a second parameter(=the second QoE configuration) of the first user using a second network provider In another embodiment, it may be determined that the first parameter (QOE) falls below a predetermined threshold, and in response, the first network provider may be reconfigured(=release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration) to optimize the first parameter (QOE).
Ofer teaches QOE measurement in [91] but does not specifically relate it to first or second configuration. Ofer does not teach, perform, in accordance with the first QoE configuration, one or more QoE measurements and transmit by the UE in accordance with the one or more QoE measurements, a QoE measurement report.
Hu teaches, perform, in accordance with the first QoE configuration, one or more QoE measurements and transmit by the UE in accordance with the one or more QoE measurements, a QoE measurement report [16]- The first configuration information is used to indicate the terminal device to determine, based on the third event, whether to report a measurement result.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer, perform, in accordance with the first QoE configuration, one or more QoE measurements and transmit by the UE in accordance with the one or more QoE measurements, a QoE measurement report as taught by Hu to add measurement and add flexibility to change configuration.
Regarding Claim 8, Ofer teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
transmit configuration data indicating one or more of a first quality of experience (QoE) configuration or a second QoE configuration; and Fig 1 col 4 L 34-37 Additionally, a first parameter of the first user is determined using the first network provider. See operation 104. In one embodiment, the first parameter may include a first quality of experience (QOE).
receive), Col 10 L 48-55 Monitoring rules 248 may instruct the one or more network entities 218 which parameters (such as parameters of the event log 220 ) to measure, when to measure each parameter, how to measure the parameter, and how to report any measurement
the first QoE configuration maintained by the UE and the second QoE configuration released by the UE in accordance with one or more of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration exceeding a second priority associated with second QoE configuration or a quantity of QoE configurations associated with the UE exceeding a QoE configuration threshold Fig 1 Col 4 L 53-60 step 106 determine a second parameter(=the second QoE configuration) of the first user using a second network provider In another embodiment, it may be determined that the first parameter (QOE) falls below a predetermined threshold, and in response, the first network provider may be reconfigured(=release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration) to optimize the first parameter (QOE).
Ofer teaches QOE measurement in [91] but does not specifically relate it to first or second configuration. Ofer does not teach, perform, in accordance with the first QoE configuration, one or more QoE measurements and transmit by the UE in accordance with the one or more QoE measurements, a QoE measurement report.
Hu teaches, perform, in accordance with the first QoE configuration, one or more QoE measurements and transmit by the UE in accordance with the one or more QoE measurements, a QoE measurement report [16]- The first configuration information is used to indicate the terminal device to determine, based on the third event, whether to report a measurement result.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer, perform, in accordance with the first QoE configuration, one or more QoE measurements and transmit by the UE in accordance with the one or more QoE measurements, a QoE measurement report as taught by Hu to add measurement and add flexibility to change configuration.
Regarding Claim 9,Ofer does not teach, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, from a serving network node of the UE or from a server, a QoE context associated with the UE in accordance with a radio resource control (RRC) mode transition associated with the UE.
Hu teaches, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, from a serving network node of the UE or from a server, a QoE context associated with the UE in accordance with a radio resource control (RRC) mode transition associated with the UE. [121]- when the terminal device is in the connected state, the network device configures, for the terminal device, related configuration for logged MDT measurement, for example, notifies, by using an RRC message, the related configuration for logged MDT. When the terminal device enters the idle state or inactive state.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer, The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, from a serving network node of the UE or from a server, a QoE context associated with the UE in accordance with a radio resource control (RRC) mode transition associated with the UE as taught by Hu to add measurement and add flexibility to change configuration.
Regarding Claim 10, Ofer does not teach, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, after the RRC mode transition, a resume request from the UE in accordance with the RRC mode transition from an active state to an inactive state.
Hu teaches, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, after the RRC mode transition, a resume request from the UE in accordance with the RRC mode transition from an active state to an inactive state. [121]- When the terminal device enters the idle state or inactive state, the terminal device logs a corresponding measurement result based on corresponding configuration.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing system is further configured to receive, after the RRC mode transition, a resume request from the UE in accordance with the RRC mode transition from an active state to an inactive state as taught by Hu to add measurement and add flexibility to change configuration.
Regarding Claim 11, Ofer teaches, The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit, in accordance with the resume request, a QoE context request to the serving network node. Fig 1 steps 112 and 114.[col 5 L 36-45] Still yet, a first input is received to switch from the first network provider to the second network provider. See operation 112. In one embodiment, the first input may be an acceptance by the first user. Moreover, a device is reconfigured to switch from the first network provider to the second network provider. See operation 114.
Regarding Claim 18, Ofer teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a first message indicating one or more quality of experience (QoE) configurations including at least a first QoE configuration for the UE; Fig 1 [Col 4 L 30-37]- Additionally, a first parameter of the first user is determined using the first network provider. See operation 104. In one embodiment, the first parameter may include a first quality of experience (QOE).
receiving, by the UE, a second message indicating a second QoE configuration for the UE; Fig 1 [Col 4 L 50-55]- step 106 determine a second parameter(=the second QoE configuration) of the first user using a second network provider In another embodiment.
in accordance with of a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration and a second priority associated with the second QoE configuration indicating that the first priority exceeds the second priority, releasing the second QoE configuration and maintaining the first QoE configuration; Fig 1 [Col 4L 55-62] step 106 determine a second parameter(=the second QoE configuration) of the first user using a second network provider In another embodiment, it may be determined that the first parameter (QOE) falls below a predetermined threshold, and in response, the first network provider may be reconfigured(=release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration) to optimize the first parameter (QOE).
Ofer teaches QOE measurement in [Col 4 L 40-45] but does not specifically realte it to first or second configuration. Ofer does not teach, and transmitting, by the UE, a QoE measurement report associated with the first QoE configuration.
Hu teaches, and transmitting, by the UE, a QoE measurement report associated with the first QoE configuration.[16]- The first configuration information is used to indicate the terminal device to determine, based on the third event, whether to report a measurement result.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer transmitting, by the UE, a QoE measurement report associated with the first QoE configuration as taught by Hu to add measurement and add flexibility to change configuration.
Regarding Claim 19, Ofer teaches, The method of claim 18, wherein the UE receives the first message and the second message from a network device, and wherein the network device and the UE operate in accordance with a wireless communication protocol that specifies that the network device is to configure the UE with one or more of the first priority, the second priority, or the QoE configuration threshold. Fig 1 [Col 4 L 30-37]- Additionally, a first parameter of the first user is determined using the first network provider. See operation 104. In one embodiment, the first parameter may include a first quality of experience (QOE).
Regarding Claim 20, Ofer teaches, The method of claim 18, wherein one or more of the first priority, the second priority, or the QoE configuration threshold are specific to the UE [col 4 L 45-50]- the QOE may be associated with a service provider (e.g., media service, streaming service, media provider, etc.) and/or a network provider (e.g., wireless access, cell phone access, etc.). In one embodiment, the first QOE may be associated with a first media.
Regarding Claim 21, Ofer teaches, The method of claim 18, further comprising transmitting a release notification with the QoE measurement report indicating release of the first QoE configuration or the second QoE configuration [Col 5 L 10-15]- Furthermore, a recommendation to switch from the first network provider to the second network provider is received based on the determination that the second parameter exceeds the first parameter.
Regarding Claim 22, Ofer teaches, The method of claim 18, further comprising executing a first application and a second application, the first application associated with the first QoE configuration and a first service type, and the second application associated with the second QoE configuration and a second service type.[Col 5 L5-9]- it is determined whether the second parameter exceeds the first parameter. See operation 108 . In one embodiment, a first label may be associated with the first parameter (QOE), a second label may be associated with the second parameter (QOE), and/or an artificial intelligence (AI) system may be trained based on the first label and the second label.
Regarding Claim 23, Ofer teaches, The method of claim 18, further comprising releasing the first QoE configuration in accordance with the quantity of QoE configurations associated with the UE exceeding the QoE configuration threshold. Fig 1 step 106-109 [Col 10-15] In addition, it is determined whether the second parameter exceeds the first parameter.
Regarding Claim 25, Ofer teaches, The method of claim 18, further comprising maintaining the first QoE configuration in accordance with the quantity of QoE configurations associated with the UE failing to exceed a QoE configuration threshold. [Col4 L55-60] In another embodiment, it may be determined that the first parameter (QOE) falls below a predetermined threshold, and in response, the first network provider may be reconfigured to optimize the first parameter (QOE).
Regarding Claim 26, Ofer teaches, A method of wireless communication, comprising: transmitting, by a first network node, configuration data indicating one or more of a first quality of experience (QoE) configuration or a second QoE configuration; and Fig 1 [Col4 L32-38]- Additionally, a first parameter of the first user is determined using the first network provider. See operation 104. In one embodiment, the first parameter may include a first quality of experience (QOE).
receiving, by the first network node, a quality of experience (QoE) measurement report from a user equipment (UE), wherein the QOE measurement report indicates one or more QoE measurements associated with the first QoE configuration, the first QoE configuration maintained by the UE and the second QoE configuration released by the UE in accordance with one or more of a comparison of a first priority associated with the first QoE configuration exceeding and a second priority associated with second QoE configuration Fig 1 [38]- step 106 determine a second parameter(=the second QoE configuration) of the first user using a second network provider In another embodiment, it may be determined that the first parameter (QOE) falls below a predetermined threshold, and in response, the first network provider may be reconfigured(=release the second QoE configuration and maintain the first QoE configuration) to optimize the first parameter (QOE).
Regarding Claim 34, Ofer teaches, he method of claim 26, wherein the QoE configuration threshold is in accordance with a storage capacity associated with a memory of the UE. [Col 4 L 41-45]- Additionally, a parameter may include a QOE which may include a measure of an overall level of satisfaction by a user. In one embodiment, the parameter (QOE) may include hardware and/or software characteristics (including network jitter, latency, packet loss, etc.) which can be measured.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)
in further view of Zhu et al. (US 2021/0195507A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit an indication of a network type of a wireless communication network with the QoE measurement report, and wherein the indication of the network type includes a flag having a value indicating whether the wireless communication network corresponds to a fourth generation long term evolution (4G LTE) wireless communication network or a fifth generation new radio (5G NR) wireless communication network.
Zhu teaches, wherein the indication of the network type includes a flag having a value indicating whether the wireless communication network corresponds to a fourth-generation long term evolution (4G LTE) wireless communication network or a fifth-generation new radio (5G NR) wireless communication network [88] According to embodiments of the invention, two respective flags indicate a restriction for LTE and NR respectively.)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of in view of Hu, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the network type includes a flag having a value indicating whether the wireless communication network corresponds to a fourth generation long term evolution (4G LTE) wireless communication network or a fifth generation new radio (5G NR) wireless communication network, as taught by Zhu to cell identifiers to differentiate different cell groups.
Claim(s) 3,4,5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)in further view of Eklof et al.( US20230284058A1) (Support in provisional “63/046,407”)
Regarding Claim 3, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more QoE measurements are associated with a first network node, and wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit the QoE measurement report to a second network node with cell information that identifies the first network node and to receive a reconfiguration message indicating a handover from a first cell corresponding to the first network node to a second cell corresponding to the second network node and to transmit the indication in response to the handover.
Eklof teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more QoE measurements are associated with a first network node, and wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit the QoE measurement report to a second network node with cell information that identifies the first network node and to receive a reconfiguration message indicating a handover from a first cell corresponding to the first network node to a second cell corresponding to the second network node and to transmit the indication in response to the handover page 36 L10-15- In L TE, a TRACE ACTIVATION message ( or IE) is used to transfer QoE related information between eNBs (=handover)over the X2 interface. Table 11 below shows exemplary contents of a TRACE ACTIVATION message. The QoE-related information is contained in the UE Application layer measurement configuration IE, which is further defined in Table 12.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more QoE measurements are associated with a first network node, and wherein the processing system is further configured to transmit the QoE measurement report to a second network node with cell information that identifies the first network node and to receive a reconfiguration message indicating a handover from a first cell corresponding to the first network node to a second cell corresponding to the second network node and to transmit the indication in response to the handover, as taught by Eklof to cell identifiers to differentiate different cell groups.
Regarding Claim 4, Ofer d in view of Hu oes not teach, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first cell is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT), and wherein the second cell is associated with a second RAT different than the first RAT
Eklof teaches, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first cell is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT), and wherein the second cell is associated with a second RAT different than the first RAT. Page 38 L 20-23 - Even so, there are various problems, issues, and/or difficulties with current QoE measurement procedures such that they are unable to meet the requirements for the variety of services that will be deployed in 5G networks that may include both E-UTRAN and NG-RAN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first cell is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT), and wherein the second cell is associated with a second RAT different than the first RAT as taught by Eklof to cell identifiers to differentiate different cell groups.
Regarding Claim 5, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first cell and the second cell are associated with a common radio access technology RAT
Eklof teaches, The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first cell and the second cell are associated with a common radio access technology RAT page 36 - In LTE, a TRACE ACTIVATION message (or IE) is used to transfer QoE related information between eNBs over the X2 interface.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first cell and the second cell are associated with a common radio access technology RAT as taught by Eklof to cell identifiers to differentiate different cell groups.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)
in further view of Wu et al. (WO2021162802A1)(Support in provisional “62/975902”)
Regarding Claim 6, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to operate, in accordance with a multi-radio access network dual connectivity (MR-DC) mode, as a master node (MN) associated with the MR-DC mode, and wherein the measurement report includes cell information that includes a master node cell global identifier (MN CGI) of the MN.
Wu teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to operate, in accordance with a multi-radio access network dual connectivity (MR-DC) mode, as a master node (MN) associated with the MR-DC mode, and wherein the measurement report includes cell information that includes a master node cell global identifier (MN CGI) of the MN. .[181]- and wherein the cell information includes a master node cell global identifier (MN CGI) of the MN.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu and wherein the cell information includes a master node cell global identifier (MN CGI) of the MN, as taught by Wu to cell identifiers to differentiate different cell groups.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1) in further view of Centonza et al. (US20230231779A1)
Regarding Claim 12, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the serving network node is configured to store the first QoE configuration of the UE after transmission of the resume request to enable the processing system to retrieve, via the QoE context request, the QoE context including the first QoE configuration from the serving network node.
Centonza teaches, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the serving network node is configured to store the first QoE configuration of the UE after transmission of the resume request to enable the processing system to retrieve, via the QoE context request, the QoE context including the first QoE configuration from the serving network node. [179]-after identifying the matching UE, the eNB sends an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the AS (e.g., RRC layer) of the UE. The eNB includes the service type, the area scope (e.g., one or more cells, tracking areas, etc.), the measurement configuration file, and the QoE reference.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu, The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the serving network node is configured to store the first QoE configuration of the UE after transmission of the resume request to enable the processing system to retrieve, via the QoE context request, the QoE context including the first QoE configuration from the serving network node as taught by Centonza to add measurement and add flexibility to change configuration.
Claim(s) 13,14,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)
in further view of Luca et al. WO2022005356A1 (support in provisional “63/046,161”)
Regarding Claim 13, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the RRC transition is from an active mode of operation to an idle mode of operation of the UE.
Luca teaches, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the RRC transition is from an active mode of operation to an idle mode of operation of the UE Pg 30 L21-24 -The UE returns to RRC IDLE after the connection with the network is released.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the RRC transition is from an active mode of operation to an idle mode of operation of the UE as taught by Luca to target QOE parameters for specific application like streaming.
Regarding Claim 14, Ofer in view of Hu teaches, the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the QoE context from the server with a context setup request [81]- If the target RAN node 1002 modifies the QoE measurement configuration, the target RAN node 1002 provides such configuration to the UE 912 as a modification to the ongoing QoE measurement configuration(= QOE context), e.g. in the Handover Command (e.g. in the RRCconfiguration(=in accordance with a radio resource control (RRC) mode) to be applied in the target cell).
Regarding Claim 15, Ofer does not teach, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the server corresponds to an access and mobility management function (AMF) server
Luca teaches, The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the server corresponds to an access and mobility management function (AMF) server.See Fig 7
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the server corresponds to an access and mobility management function (AMF) server as taught by Luca to target QOE parameters for specific application like streaming.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)
in further view of Shi et al. (US20220225224A1)
Regarding Claim 31, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the QoE measurement report includes cell information that includes a secondary node cell global identifier (SN CGI) associated with a network node.
Shi teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the QoE measurement report includes cell information that includes a secondary node cell global identifier (SN CGI) associated with a network node.
[193]- On the other hand, it enables correct identification of a cell of the second-type network within coverage of the first-type network.(=first network node).[198]- The measurement control information includes at least one of PLMN report indication information, CGI report indication information, TAI report indication information, or assistance information report indication information.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the QoE measurement report includes cell information that includes a secondary node cell global identifier (SN CGI) associated with a network node as taught by Shi to add priority to messages for compacted signaling.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ofer et al. (US10938650B1) in view of Hu et al. (US20220210031A1)
in further view of Zetterburg et al. (US20200068462A1)
Regarding Claim 33, Ofer in view of Hu does not teach, the method of claim 28, wherein the area scope corresponds to one or more of a group of cells associated with the first QoE configuration or a geographical area associated with the first QoE configuration.
Zetterburg teaches, the method of claim 28, wherein the area scope corresponds to one or more of a group of cells associated with the first QoE configuration or a geographical area associated with the first QoE configuration.[18]- The wireless device is operative to obtain a measurement configuration, the measurement configuration defining… and beams from more than one cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ofer in view of Hu the method of claim 28, wherein the area scope corresponds to one or more of a group of cells associated with the first QoE configuration or a geographical area associated with the first QoE configuration as taught by Zetterburg to add priority to messages for compacted signaling.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478