DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 15, 20-22, and 24 have been amended. Claims 20-22 were previously objected to for a typographical error and have been amended; the previous objection is thus withdrawn. Claims 15-18, 20-33, and 35 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer et al. (US 20180353194, henceforth Shaffer) in view of Benjamin et al. (US 20100004730, henceforth Benjamin) and Teigen et al. (US 20200367917, henceforth Teigen).
Regarding claim 15, Shaffer discloses a vacuum aspiration system (system 40, fig. 2) comprising: an aspiration catheter (see Abstract, the system is for use with a catheter which is not shown in the provided figures but is shown as catheter 22 in fig. 1; see also [0040]); a housing (enclosure 46, fig. 3A) configured to be positioned downstream of the aspiration catheter (since flow goes from the catheter towards canister 44 through connector 110 as in [0040], the enclosure 46 is downstream of the catheter as claimed) and comprising a reservoir (the interior space of canister 44 in fig. 4 is a reservoir as claimed) for receiving thrombus and blood retrieved through the aspiration catheter ([0040]); a fluid flow path (the path of air flowing through connector 52 into an interior of console 42 and through enclosure 46 and vent 70 is a flow path as claimed, [0034]) extending through the housing ([0034]), wherein the fluid flow path is configured to fluidically connect the aspiration catheter with a source of aspiration (see [0034], the flow path connects the catheter at 110 of canister 44 to pump 68 which is a source of aspiration as claimed) downstream of the housing (see [0034], pump 68 is downstream of post 50 of housing 46 and is thus considered to be downstream of the housing as claimed); a vent (lid 80, fig. 4) positioned on the housing (see fig. 2, lid 80 can sit on canister 44 which can be placed on enclosure 46 and thus lid 80 can be positioned on enclosure 46 as claimed) and being configured to place the fluid flow path in fluid communication with atmosphere (lid 80 keeps canister 44 which includes a part of the fluid flow path closed from the environment when it is assembled onto the canister; it is thus configured to place the canister 44 in fluid communication with the ambient environment when it is removed as this allows the fluid flow path to be exposed).
Shaffer does not disclose a hemostasis valve configured to be positioned along an access path into the aspiration catheter upstream of the operator-actuated control and co-axial with an aspiration lumen of the aspiration catheter. Benjamin teaches an introducer (introducer 12, fig. 1A) which is configured to direct a catheter (catheter 20, fig. 1A, see also [0005] and [0008]) where the introducer comprises a hemostasis valve (seal 16, fig. 1A, which can be a hemostasis valve as in [0045]) configured to be positioned along an access path into the catheter (see fig. 1B) co-axial with a lumen of the aspiration catheter (see fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an introducer with a seal to the system of Shaffer to allow for the introducer to be used to place the catheter into the target area for treatment (see Benjamin [0005]), and further to have had the seal be a hemostasis valve to allow the introducer to seal against different sizes of aspiration catheters (Benjamin [0015]). Such a modified system would then include the catheter of Shaffer being inserted into the added introducer of Benjamin such that the hemostasis valve would be upstream of the operator-actuated control since the seal would be closer to the site of the clot than the pump (68) and switch (60) of Shaffer.
Shaffer as modified by Benjamin does not disclose the system comprising an operator-actuated control configured to be positioned upstream of the housing and downstream of the aspiration catheter. Teigen teaches an operator-actuated control (external unit 204, fig. 8a) configured to be positioned upstream of a housing (see fig. 7a, unit 204 is upstream of base unit 210 which is a housing) and downstream of an aspiration catheter (see [0061], “The external unit 204 may be configured to connect directly to a hub or other proximal end of an aspiration catheter”, meaning that it is downstream as claimed since flow is from the distal most end of the aspiration catheter towards the proximal end of the aspiration catheter) and configured to regulate a fluid flow (see [0063], external unit 204 includes a switch for initiating treatment and turning off the system which is a regulation of fluid flow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the operator-actuated control of Teigen to the system of Shaffer for providing manual control of fluid flow and overriding software controls of the system (see Teigen [0063]).
Annotated fig. 2 from Shaffer showing a line from enclosure 46 to connector 110 with switch 60 in the middle
Regarding claim 16, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the vent comprises an operator-actuatable vent control (the edges of the lid 80 are considered to be an operator-actuatable vent control as claimed where an operator can assemble, or close, the lid during use, or the operator can disassemble, or open, the lid between uses; this is considered to be a controlling, see at least [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 16 wherein the operator-actuatable vent control is biased in a closed direction (when canister 44 is placed under vacuum as a result of pump 68 being operated, lid 80 and its edges are considered to be biased in a closed direction as the vacuum pressure in canister 44 biases the lid to stay sealed in place, see at least [0036]).
Regarding claim 18, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the operator-actuated control is configured to turn off the fluid flow (see Teigen [0063], external unit 204 may turn off the system which is a turning off of the fluid flow as the system causes fluid flow).
Regarding claim 20, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the hemostasis valve is carried by the housing (in the modified device, when the introducer and catheter are sealingly engaged as in Benjamin [0015], the hemostasis valve is carried by the housing since it is locked to the catheter which is assembled onto connector 110 which is assembled on the enclosure 46 as in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the vent is configured to evacuate the blood from the reservoir (lid 80 is configured to evacuate blood from the reservoir where it can be removed by a user after use to allow the user to dump aspirated blood and clot from canister 44).
Regarding claim 22, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the housing comprises a transparent window (main body 78 of canister 44, fig. 4, which is usually clear as in [0037]).
Regarding claim 23, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the housing comprises a removable filter (filter plate 86, fig. 4).
Claim(s) 24-33 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer et al. (US 20180353194, henceforth Shaffer) in view of Benjamin et al. (US 20100004730, henceforth Benjamin) and Deville et al. (US 20230181200, henceforth Deville).
Regarding claim 24, Shaffer discloses a vacuum aspiration system (system 40, fig. 2) comprising: an aspiration catheter (see Abstract, the system is for use with a catheter which is not shown in the provided figures but is shown as catheter 22 in fig. 1; see also [0040]) comprising a proximal end (proximal end of the catheter, [0040]), a distal end (if the catheter has a proximal end as in [0040], it must have a distal end) and an aspiration lumen (since the catheter is for aspirating clot, see Abstract, it is considered to have an aspiration lumen) extending between the proximal end and the distal end (see at least [0011] and [0012], the catheter provides for clot aspiration from a spot in the blood at its distal end and transports the clot to its proximal end at the canister, and thus the aspiration lumen must extend as claimed); and a handle (since the elements claimed as part of the handle can be carried by a human’s hands, they are considered to be a handle as claimed; see below for the particular elements of the handle) comprising: a housing (enclosure 46, fig. 3A); a fluid flow path (the path of air flowing through connector 52 into an interior of console 42 and through enclosure 46 and vent 70 is a flow path as claimed, [0034]) extending through the housing ([0034]), wherein the fluid flow path is configured to fluidically connect the aspiration lumen with a source of aspiration (see [0034], the flow path connects the catheter at 110 of canister 44 to pump 68 which is a source of aspiration as claimed) positioned downstream of the handle (see [0034], pump 68 is downstream of post 50 of housing 46 and is thus considered to be downstream of the housing as claimed); a flow regulator (switch 60, fig. 2) configured to regulate aspiration through the fluid flow path ([0034]); a clot container (collection canister 44 including lid 80, figs. 2 and 4) positioned along the fluid flow path (see at least [0034], [0039], and [0040], aspirated clot flows from the catheter into the canister, and then air from the canister is further vented out of the console 42 entirely via the same flow path); a vent (lid 80, fig. 4) in fluid communication with the clot container (since lid 80 seals or exposes canister 44 from the ambient environment, it is considered to be in fluid communication with canister 44 as claimed).
Shaffer does not disclose a hemostasis valve configured to be positioned along an access path into the aspiration catheter upstream of the operator-actuated control and co-axial with an aspiration lumen of the aspiration catheter. Benjamin teaches an introducer (introducer 12, fig. 1A) which is configured to direct a catheter (catheter 20, fig. 1A, see also [0005] and [0008]) where the introducer comprises a hemostasis valve (seal 16, fig. 1A, which can be a hemostasis valve as in [0045]) configured to be positioned along an access path into the catheter (see fig. 1B) co-axial with a lumen of the aspiration catheter (see fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an introducer with a seal to the system of Shaffer to allow for the introducer to be used to place the catheter into the target area for treatment (see Benjamin [0005]), and further to have had the seal be a hemostasis valve to allow the introducer to seal against different sizes of aspiration catheters (Benjamin [0015]). Such a modified system would then include the catheter of Shaffer being inserted into the added introducer of Benjamin such that the hemostasis valve would be upstream of the operator-actuated control since the seal would be closer to the site of the clot than the pump (68) and switch (60) of Shaffer.
Shaffer as modified does not disclose the system wherein the hemostasis valve is configured to direct another device through at least an interior portion of the handle and into the aspiration lumen as claimed. Deville teaches a hemostasis valve (Tuohy-Borst valve of the RHV of [0355]) configured to direct another device through itself (see [0355], the valve allows a surgeon to insert a guidewire to a clot site) and into an aspiration lumen (see [0355], the valve allows a guidewire to be inserted into catheter 660 which is an aspiration catheter as taught in [0355]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have changed the flap valve of Benjamin in the modified device to have been an RHV as in Deville and to have configured the modified valve as taught by Deville as Deville teaches this valve arrangement to be beneficial for allowing a guidewire to be inserted to allow a surgeon to easily navigate an aspiration catheter to an intravascular clot site ([0355]). Thus, in the modified system, the valve is configured as claimed where it is configured to direct another device, which is a guidewire as in Deville, through an interior portion of the handle, which is the hollow interior of the hemostasis valve which is a part of the handle as claimed, and into the aspiration lumen as claimed.
Regarding claim 25, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein the flow regulator is an operator-actuatable control (switch 60 is an operator-actuatable control as claimed where it is an element which an operator can actuate to control the aspiration system as in [0034]) provided on the housing (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein the clot container comprises a removable filter (filter plate 86, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 27, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein the clot container comprises a transparent side wall (see [0037], main body 78 is clear).
Regarding claim 28, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein the flow regulator is configured to restrict or shut off flow between the aspiration catheter and the clot container when aspiration is supplied to the handle from the source of aspiration (see [0033], switch 60 is an on-off switch which means it can turn the pump 68 off when it is on).
Regarding claim 29, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 further comprising aspiration tubing in fluid communication with the clot container (the tubing or hollow space extending between pump 68 and connector 52 is aspiration tubing as claimed, see at least [0034] and [0038], and it is in communication with canister 44 when the system 40 is assembled as in fig. 2), wherein the aspiration tubing is configured to fluidically connect with the source of aspiration ([0034]).
Regarding claim 30, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein the vent is configured to vent the clot container to atmosphere (lid 80 is configured to evacuate blood from the reservoir where it can be removed by a user after use to allow the user to dump aspirated blood and clot from canister 44).
Regarding claim 31, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein the vent comprises an operator-actuatable vent control (the edges of the lid 80 are considered to be an operator-actuatable vent control as claimed where an operator can assemble, or close, the lid during use, or the operator can disassemble, or open, the lid between uses; this is considered to be a controlling, see at least [0036]) provided on the housing (see fig. 2, lid 80 can sit on canister 44 which can be placed on enclosure 46 and thus lid 80 can be positioned on enclosure 46 as claimed).
Regarding claim 32, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 31 wherein the operator-actuatable vent control is biased in a closed direction (when canister 44 is placed under vacuum as a result of pump 68 being operated, lid 80 and its edges are considered to be biased in a closed direction as the vacuum pressure in canister 44 biases the lid to stay sealed in place, see at least [0036]).
Regarding claim 33, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 further comprising a source of aspiration (pump 68, fig. 3C), wherein the source of aspiration comprises an aspiration pump (see [0006], [0007], [0012], and [0013], the vacuum pump 68 is an aspiration pump because it creates a vacuum used for aspiration) in communication with a collection canister (collection canister 44 excluding lid 80 makes up the collection canister as claimed, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 35, Shaffer as modified discloses the system of claim 24 wherein: the clot container comprises an inlet (connector 110, fig. 4) and an outlet (vacuum port 102, fig. 5); the clot container is configured to receive thrombus and blood retrieved through the aspiration catheter via the inlet ([0040]), the outlet is configured to place the clot container in fluid communication with a source of aspiration (see [0033], [0038], and [0040]); and the inlet and the outlet are positioned on a same end of the clot container (see figs. 4 and 5, the inlet and outlet are both on the half, or end, of canister 44 opposite base 98, and thus they are on the same end of the canister 44).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783