Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/7/2026 and 4/7/2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-29, 35-36, 42-43 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al. (US 2020/0100150) in view of in view of Dalsgaard et al. (US 2014/0146794).
Regarding claim 28, Da Silva discloses a method for radio resource management (RRM) measurement (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0004], measurements of intra-frequency, inter-frequency and inter-RAT neighboring cells), comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a measurement mode of the RRM measurement (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0004], measurements of intra-frequency, inter-frequency and inter-RAT neighboring cells; paragraph [0073], UE receives measurement configuration), according to measurement results of measurement parameters and thresholds respectively corresponding to the measurement parameters (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0069], determining whether to perform measurements based on whether the first and second signal type measurement values are below the first and second threshold value; paragraph [0073], NR-SS measurements and CSI-RS measurements; paragraph [0087], measure RSRP, RSRQ, SINR; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ));
wherein the measurement parameters comprise a reference signal receiving power (RSRP), a reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0069], determining whether to perform measurements based on whether the first and second signal type measurement values are below the first and second threshold value; paragraph [0073], NR-SS measurements and CSI-RS measurements; paragraph [0087], measure RSRP, RSRQ, SINR; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ)), and the determining comprises:
when a measured RSRP of a serving cell of the terminal device is greater than a first RSRP threshold and a measured RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than a first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement only on the serving cell (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0088], UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds);
when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0032], network configures the UE with multiple s_Measure thresholds, the UE operates according to configurations related to the neighbor cell measurements; paragraph [0088], based on different possible configurations for multiple measurement quantities, the UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds); and
when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0032], network configures the UE with multiple s_Measure thresholds, the UE operates according to configurations related to the neighbor cell measurements; paragraph [0088], based on different possible configurations for multiple measurement quantities, the UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds).
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose measurement parameters comprise a moving speed; when the moving speed is less than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration; and when the moving speed is greater than the speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration.
Dalsgaard discloses measurement parameters comprise a moving speed; when the moving speed is less than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration and when the moving speed is greater than the speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration (Dalsgaard, Fig. 5, 390-3 have a new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0101], based on speed, the UE applies given rules for changing the threshold that indicates when to search for cells; paragraph [0102], new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0105], speed scaling of s-measure threshold of when to search for neighbor cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Dalsgaard into the system of Da Silva in order to improve system performance and mobility robustness (Dalsgaard; [0053]).
Regarding claim 29, Da Silva does not explicitly disclose wherein the moving speed comprises a moving speed of the terminal device, a temporal change rate of the RSRP, a temporal change rate of the RSRQ, or a temporal change rate of a reference signal-signal to interference plus noise ratio (RS- SINR).
Dalsgaard discloses wherein the moving speed comprises a moving speed of the terminal device, a temporal change rate of the RSRP, a temporal change rate of the RSRQ, or a temporal change rate of a reference signal-signal to interference plus noise ratio (RS- SINR) (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0026], rules based on speed of the user equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Dalsgaard into the system of Da Silva in order to improve system performance and mobility robustness (Dalsgaard; [0053]).
Claim 35 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 28. Da Silva further discloses a memory, configured to store a computer program; and a processor, configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (Da Silva, Fig. 4, memory 64, processors 62; paragraph [0062]).
Claim 36 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 29.
Regarding claim 42, Da Silva discloses a network device (Da Silva, paragraph [0113], network node), comprising:
a memory, configured to store a computer program; and a processor, configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (Da Silva, Fig. 4, memory 64, processors 62; paragraph [0062]), thereby
transmitting, to a terminal device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating thresholds respectively corresponding to measurement parameters (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0004], measurements of intra-frequency, inter-frequency and inter-RAT neighboring cells; paragraph [0069], determining whether to perform measurements based on whether the first and second signal type measurement values are below the first and second threshold value; paragraph [0073], UE receives a measurement configuration including an s-Measure configuration and UE performs NR-SS measurements and CSI-RS measurements; paragraph [0087], measure RSRP, RSRQ, SINR; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ)),
wherein the measurement parameters comprise a reference signal receiving power (RSRP), a reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0069], determining whether to perform measurements based on whether the first and second signal type measurement values are below the first and second threshold value; paragraph [0073], NR-SS measurements and CSI-RS measurements; paragraph [0087], measure RSRP, RSRQ, SINR; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ));
wherein the thresholds are used for the terminal device to determine a measurement mode of radio resource management (RRM) measurement Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0004], measurements of intra-frequency, inter-frequency and inter-RAT neighboring cells; paragraph [0073], UE receives measurement configuration) according to measurement results of the measurement parameters and the thresholds (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0069], determining whether to perform measurements based on whether the first and second signal type measurement values are below the first and second threshold value; paragraph [0073], NR-SS measurements and CSI-RS measurements; paragraph [0087], measure RSRP, RSRQ, SINR; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ)), wherein:
when a measured RSRP of a serving cell of the terminal device is greater than a first RSRP threshold and a measured RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than a first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement only on the serving cell (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0088], UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds);
when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0032], network configures the UE with multiple s_Measure thresholds, the UE operates according to configurations related to the neighbor cell measurements; paragraph [0088], based on different possible configurations for multiple measurement quantities, the UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds); and
when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; paragraph [0032], network configures the UE with multiple s_Measure thresholds, the UE operates according to configurations related to the neighbor cell measurements; paragraph [0088], based on different possible configurations for multiple measurement quantities, the UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds).
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose measurement parameters comprise a moving speed; when the moving speed is less than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration; and when the moving speed is greater than the speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration.
Dalsgaard discloses measurement parameters comprise a moving speed; when the moving speed is less than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration and when the moving speed is greater than the speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration (Dalsgaard, Fig. 5, 390-3 have a new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0101], based on speed, the UE applies given rules for changing the threshold that indicates when to search for cells; paragraph [0102], new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0105], speed scaling of s-measure threshold of when to search for neighbor cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Dalsgaard into the system of Da Silva in order to improve system performance and mobility robustness (Dalsgaard; [0053]).
Claim 43 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 29.
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard, particularly Da Silva discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information is used for indicating at least one of the first measurement configuration or the second measurement configuration (Da Silva, Fig. 8, step 802 receive s-measure values; paragraph [0030], define multiple s-Measure thresholds, e.g. one per reference signal type; paragraph [0080], network can configure multiple s-Measure thresholds , one per each of two or more measurement quantities).
Claim(s) 30-34, 37-41 and 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al. (US 2020/0100150) in view of in view of Dalsgaard et al. (US 2014/0146794), and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2012/0327802).
Regarding claim 30, Da Silva discloses wherein when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on the first measurement configuration (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; ; paragraph [0032], network configures the UE with multiple s_Measure thresholds, the UE operates according to configurations related to the neighbor cell measurements; paragraph [0088], based on different possible configurations for multiple measurement quantities, the UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds).
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose when the moving speed is less than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration.
Dalsgaard discloses when the moving speed is less than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a first measurement configuration (Dalsgaard, Fig. 5, 390-3 have a new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0101], based on speed, the UE applies given rules for changing the threshold that indicates when to search for cells; paragraph [0102], new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0105], speed scaling of s-measure threshold of when to search for neighbor cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Dalsgaard into the system of Da Silva in order to improve system performance and mobility robustness (Dalsgaard; [0053]).
The combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold but greater than a second RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold but greater than a second RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on the first measurement configuration.
Jung discloses when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold but greater than a second RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold but greater than a second RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on the first measurement configuration (Jung, paragraph [0006], perform measurement in order to maintain quality of a link; paragraph [0011], when the reference quality value is between the first threshold and the second threshold, second management object may be determined; paragraph [0013], second management object includes serving cells and neighbor cell on frequencies corresponding to the serving cells; paragraph [0125], measure QoS; Figs. 8, 9, 10, measurement configurations; paragraphs [0087]-[0092], measurement configuration information includes a measurement object and measurement gaps which are periods that the UE may use to perform measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by into the system of Jung the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard in order to reduce power consumption of the UE (Jung; [0142]).
Regarding claim 31, Da Silva discloses wherein when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on the second measurement configuration (Da Silva, paragraph [0002], when P-cell measurements are above S-measure value, UE refrains from neighboring cell measurements; ; paragraph [0032], network configures the UE with multiple s_Measure thresholds, the UE operates according to configurations related to the neighbor cell measurements; paragraph [0088], based on different possible configurations for multiple measurement quantities, the UE shall perform serving cell measurements and act as follows; paragraph [0091], if PCell RSRP<s-Measure(RSRP) OR if PCell RSRQ< s-Measure(RSRQ), perform neighbor cell measurements, so neighbor measurements are not performed if both values are greater than the thresholds).
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose when the moving speed is greater than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration.
Dalsgaard discloses when the moving speed is greater than a speed threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on a second measurement configuration (Dalsgaard, Fig. 5, 390-3 have a new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0101], based on speed, the UE applies given rules for changing the threshold that indicates when to search for cells; paragraph [0102], new search threshold in response to a particular speed; paragraph [0105], speed scaling of s-measure threshold of when to search for neighbor cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Dalsgaard into the system of Da Silva in order to improve system performance and mobility robustness (Dalsgaard; [0053]).
The combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold but greater than a second RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold but greater than a second RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on the second measurement configuration.
Jung discloses when the measured RSRP is less than the first RSRP threshold but greater than a second RSRP threshold or the measured RSRQ is less than the first RSRQ threshold but greater than a second RSRQ threshold, determining the measurement mode as performing the RRM measurement based on the second measurement configuration (Jung, paragraph [0006], perform measurement in order to maintain quality of a link; paragraph [0011], when the reference quality value is between the first threshold and the second threshold, second management object may be determined; paragraph [0013], second management object includes serving cells and neighbor cell on frequencies corresponding to the serving cells; paragraph [0125], measure QoS; Figs. 8, 9, 10, measurement configurations; paragraphs [0087]-[0092], measurement configuration information includes a measurement object and measurement gaps which are periods that the UE may use to perform measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by into the system of Jung the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard in order to reduce power consumption of the UE (Jung; [0142]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose the wherein a power consumption of performing the RRM measurement based on the first measurement configuration is different from a power consumption of performing the RRM measurement based on the second measurement configuration.
Jung discloses wherein a power consumption of performing the RRM measurement based on the first measurement configuration is different from a power consumption of performing the RRM measurement based on the second measurement configuration (Jung, paragraphs [0012]-[0014] and [0125]-[0127], to save power by using a configuration limiting measurements to only serving cells and neighboring cells in the serving frequency as compared to a configuration that includes measurements to serving cells and neighbor cell on serving and non-serving frequencies; paragraph [0142], power consumption of the UE can be reduced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by into the system of Jung the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard in order to reduce power consumption of the UE (Jung; [0142]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard and Jung, particularly Da Silva discloses further comprising: acquiring, by the terminal device, at least one of the first RSRP threshold, the second RSRP threshold, the first RSRQ threshold, or the second RSRQ threshold stored in the terminal device (Da Silva, Fig. 8, step 802 receive s-measure values); or receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating at least one of the first RSRP threshold, the second RSRP threshold, the first RSRQ threshold, or the second RSRQ threshold (Da Silva, Fig. 8, step 802 receive s-measure values; paragraph [0030], define multiple s-Measure thresholds, e.g. one per reference signal type).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Da Silva and Dalsgaard and Jung, particularly Da Silva discloses further comprising: acquiring, by the terminal device, at least one of the first measurement configuration or the second measurement configuration stored in the terminal device (Da Silva, Fig. 8, step 802 receive s-measure values; paragraph [0080], network can configure multiple s-Measure thresholds , one per each of two or more measurement quantities); or receiving, by the terminal device, third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used for indicating at least one of the first measurement configuration or the second measurement configuration (Da Silva, Fig. 8, step 802 receive s-measure values; paragraph [0030], define multiple s-Measure thresholds, e.g. one per reference signal type; paragraph [0080], network can configure multiple s-Measure thresholds , one per each of two or more measurement quantities).
Claim 37 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 30.
Claim 38 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 31.
Claim 39 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 32.
Claim 40 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 33.
Claim 41 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 34.
Claim 44 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 32.
Claim 45 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 30.
Claim 46 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ou (US 20140036708) discloses the UE is configured with a threshold of serving cell quality, the UE determines whether to apply the threshold of serving cell quality depending on the UE speed. In one embodiment, the threshold of serving cell quality is used to control whether or not the UE is required to perform measurement of neighbor cells. Moreover, the threshold of serving cell quality is s-Measure. Furthermore, the UE (i) performs the measurement of neighbor cells when the serving cell quality is worse than the threshold, and (ii) is allowed to skip the measurement of neighbor cells when the serving cell quality is better than the threshold. Alternatively, the UE doesn't perform the measurement of neighbor cells when the serving cell quality is better than the threshold. The measurement of neighbor cells could be intra-frequency measurement, inter-frequency measurement, or inter-RAT (Radio Access Technology) measurement
Wong et al. (US 20160330660) discloses the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message can include S-Measure. S-Measure can be one or more threshold levels that can be used by the mobile device 105 when determining whether or not to send a report to the serving RAN device eNodeB 115. In one or more embodiments, the S-Measure can include thresholds for signal power/quality (RSRP) and/or for voice quality (e.g., MOS). As described above, the relationships between the RSRP and MOS S-Measure thresholds for the serving cell, a neighbor cell, and/or an IRAT neighbor cell can predefined in the measurement event triggers.
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413