DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-9 of the remarks, 12/30/2025, with respect to 35 USC 103, applicant argues that the references do not teach “where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user”.
The examiner does not concede. Purushothaman teaches “where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user”. Purushothaman discloses “querying a database to retrieve a user ID and password associated with the group ID number, the user ID and password being selected from a group of usernames and passwords associated with the group ID number [0006]. User ID and/or password may be stored in an access database [0039-43]. Transmit the user ID and password to user 101 [0047]. Ability to identify the allowed access permissions of a user and to restrict the user's access to the allowed access permissions [0049]. The user ID creation engine may remove the flag on the user ID and password, indicating that the user ID and password is now available to be used by another team member requesting access to system [0062][0064]”. Applicant mainly argues that Santamaria does not teach the claim limitation. However, Purushothaman is being used to show that the passwords are inaccessible by the user. When there is a flag on the password, the password is inaccessible by the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (US 20130155948, hereinafter Pinheiro) in view of Owen et al. (US 20040187018, hereinafter Owen) and in further view of Kirkup et al. (US 20080120504, hereinafter Kirkup) and in view of Purushothaman et al. (US 20170171186, hereinafter Purushothaman) and in further view of Santamaria et al. (US 20130244614, hereinafter Santamaria).
Re. claim 1, Pinheiro discloses a communications device used for a communications system in which a plurality of information terminals included in a same group exchange data with each other via a global network (Pinheiro discloses the RAN 103/104/105 may be in communication with the core network 106/107/109, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, 102 d [0037]. Sharing a packet data protocol (PDP) context among a plurality of devices [0003]), the communications device being connected to a first information terminal included in the group, and being connected to another communications device connected to a second information terminal included in the group via the global network (Pinheiro discloses the communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, and/or 102 d (which generally or collectively may be referred to as WTRU 102), a radio access network (RAN) 103/104/105, a core network 106/107/109, a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 108, the Internet 110, and other networks 112, though it will be appreciated that the disclosed embodiments contemplate any number of WTRUs, base stations, networks, and/or network elements. Each of the WTRUs 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, 102 d may be any type of device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment [0029]), comprising:
Memory configured to store user authentication information for performing authentication of a user via the first information terminal and pre- store a device authentication list the device authentication list being pre-stored in the communications device in a state where at least part of the device authentication list is inaccessible by the user (Pinheiro discloses The HSS/HLR may attempt to authenticate the first MTC device of the shared context group based on the RES included in the Authentication Response. If the HLR/HSS successfully authenticates first MTC device of the shared context group, then the HSS/HLR may obtains and/or determine the sequence S by which the other MTC devices in the same shared context group are expected to attempt authentication [0146][0053][0093]. An association of an IMSI with a shared context group may be stored with the subscription information for the WTRU, for example in the HSS/HLR [0124], some parts of authentication information stored in the USIM and IMSI of a device is inaccessible to the user and HSS/HLR correspond to the authentication list).
Pinheiro does not explicitly teach but Owen teaches a processor programmed to: when user authentication information is entered from the first information terminal, compare the entered user authentication information with the stored user authentication information, determine whether the compared user authentication information match; if the compared user authentication match, determine that the user authentication is successful and place the first information terminal in a login state (Owen teaches Receiving the first primary identification and a suspect PIN from a suspect user; authenticating the first primary identification by considering at least one authentication factor, including comparing the suspect PIN with the PIN of the authorized user maintained in association with the first primary identification by the authentication authority [0010]. The key with which the passcode is decrypted preferably is stored within and generally unique to the personal communications device [0026]. The authorized user gains access to the network resource from an access authority. The method includes the steps of: receiving a challenge request with respect to a suspect user seeking to gain access to the network resource from the access authority; in response to the challenge request, communicating a challenge to the suspect user, receiving a challenge response and the identifier; and authenticating the identifier by comparing the challenge response to a function of the challenge, the PIN maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier, and the first key maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier [0022-0023]. The suspect user 110 seeks to gain access to a network resource from the access authority 150 utilizing an encrypted passcode provided to the suspect user 110 by the authentication authority 130 [0052]. The suspect user 110 desires to gain access to the network resource, the suspect user 110 communicates to the authentication authority-130 over an ancillary communications network 112 a primary ID and a suspect PIN. If the suspect PIN matches the retrieved PIN of the authorized user, and if the primary ID otherwise successfully authenticates, then the authentication authority 130 communicates back to the user 110. upon the receipt of an encrypted pass code by the suspect user 110, the suspect user 110 decrypts the encrypted passcode using a second key of the asymmetric key pair and communicates to the access authority 150 over a communications network 114 a suspect passcode and a user ID of the authorized user. The user ID identifies the authorized user to the access authority 150 [0053-0055], user ID and password are used to authenticate the user to give access to the network. The user ID and password are input by the user in the user device and upon successful authentication, the user gains access to the network);
input and output information to and from the first information terminal to which permission to access is given (Owen teaches receiving the first primary identification and a suspect PIN from a suspect user; authenticating the first primary identification by considering at least one authentication factor, including comparing the suspect PIN with the PIN of the authorized user maintained in association with the first primary identification by the authentication authority [0010]. The authorized user gains access to the network resource from an access authority. The method includes the steps of: receiving a challenge request with respect to a suspect user seeking to gain access to the network resource from the access authority; in response to the challenge request, communicating a challenge to the suspect user, receiving a challenge response and the identifier; and authenticating the identifier by comparing the challenge response to a function of the challenge, the PIN maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier, and the first key maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier [0022-0023]. The suspect user 110 desires to gain access to the network resource, the suspect user 110 communicates to the authentication authority-130 over an ancillary communications network 112 a primary ID and a suspect PIN. If the suspect PIN matches the retrieved PIN of the authorized user, and if the primary ID otherwise successfully authenticates, then the authentication authority 130 communicates back to the user 110. upon the receipt of an encrypted pass code by the suspect user 110, the suspect user 110 decrypts the encrypted passcode using a second key of the asymmetric key pair and communicates to the access authority 150 over a communications network 114 a suspect passcode and a user ID of the authorized user. The user ID identifies the authorized user to the access authority 150 [0053-0055], user ID and password are used to authenticate the user to give access to the network. The user ID and password are input by the user in the user device and upon successful authentication, the user gains access to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to when user authentication information is entered from the first information terminal, compare the entered user authentication information with the stored user authentication information, and if the compared user authentication match, determine that the user authentication is successful and place the first information terminal in a login state; input and output information to and from the first information terminal to which permission to access is given as disclosed by Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of use of user ID and password to securely give access and authenticate user into a system or network.
The combination of Pinheiro-Owen do not explicitly teach but Kirkup teaches when the first information terminal is placed in the login state, carry out device-to-device authentication process with the other communications device by receiving a message authentication code sent from the other communication device; perform transmission and reception of data only after carrying out the device-device authentication process with the authenticated other communications device (Kirkup teaches a user of a client device 10 or 100 is authenticated by the authentication server [0020]. The PIN itself is entered by the user at the client device 10 or 100, in response to a prompt. Preferably, instead of transmitting the PIN directly to the authentication server 40, the client device 10 or 100 generates a message authentication code (MAC) based on the PIN using methods known in the art. The public key K.sub.pub is then transmitted with the message authentication code from the client device 10 or 100 to the authentication server. The authentication server 40 then stores K.sub.pub at step 190 in association with an indicator corresponding to the user of the client device 10 or 100. The indicator may comprise a network address or e-mail address corresponding to the user of the client device 10 or 100, or another suitable indicator. The data may be stored in memory located at the authentication server 40, or alternatively in a memory store accessible to the authentication server 40 [0025][0027-0029] Figs 1-3, user and device authentication. The authentication information is being interpreted as the PIN. The PIN is carried out MAC. Entering PIN is in the login state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen to include when the first information terminal is placed in the login state, carry out device-to-device authentication process with the other communications device by receiving a message authentication code sent from the other communication device; perform transmission and reception of data only after carrying out the device-device authentication process with the authenticated other communications device as disclosed by Kirkup. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Although Owen discloses device Ids and password, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup do not explicitly teach but Purushothaman teaches the device authentication list including device IDs and passwords of the all communications devices in the group, the device authentication list being pre-stored in a state where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user (Purushothaman teaches querying a database to retrieve a user ID and password associated with the group ID number, the user ID and password being selected from a group of usernames and passwords associated with the group ID number [0006]. User ID and/or password may be stored in an access database [0039-43]. Transmit the user ID and password to user 101 [0047]. Ability to identify the allowed access permissions of a user and to restrict the user's access to the allowed access permissions [0049]. The user ID creation engine may remove the flag on the user ID and password, indicating that the user ID and password is now available to be used by another team member requesting access to system [0062][0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup to include the device authentication list including device IDs and passwords of the all communications devices in the group, the device authentication list being pre-stored in a state where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user as disclosed by Purushothaman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Although Purushothaman discloses transmitting device ID and password, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman do not explicitly teach but Santamaria teaches transmit a device ID and a password corresponding to the other communications device to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list (Santamaria teaches assuming that an association between a phone number and one or more user ID codes has been established in the database 3912 for user device 3901, when the user sends an authentication request from a new user device 4101 or 4102 containing a valid user ID and password, the identity service 3910 will collect all of the handles stored in the database 3912 for that user (e.g., phone numbers, email addresses, DSID codes, etc) and send them to the new user device 4101, 4102 as part of the authentication response [0427]. Fig. 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman to include transmit a device ID and a password corresponding to the other communications device to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list as disclosed by Santamaria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Re. claim 2, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, Owen further teaches wherein the device authentication list includes device authentication information including a device ID and a password of a valid user of each of already-registered communications devices in the group and device authentication information including a device ID and a password of a provisional user predefined for an unregistered communications device in the group, and when a new user is registered in the group, the communications device enables the device ID and the password of the provisional user, and notifies the enabled device ID of the user to all the communications devices (Owen teaches the first primary identification and suspect PIN preferably is received by the authentication authority over a communications [0012]. The authorized user gains access to the network resource from an access authority. The method includes the steps of: receiving a challenge request with respect to a suspect user seeking to gain access to the network resource from the access authority; in response to the challenge request, communicating a challenge to the suspect user, receiving a challenge response and the identifier; and authenticating the identifier by comparing the challenge response to a function of the challenge, the PIN maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier, and the first key maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier [0022-0023]. The suspect user 110 desires to gain access to the network resource, the suspect user 110 communicates to the authentication authority-130 over an ancillary communications network 112 a primary ID and a suspect PIN. If the suspect PIN matches the retrieved PIN of the authorized user, and if the primary ID otherwise successfully authenticates, then the authentication authority 130 communicates back to the user 110. upon the receipt of an encrypted pass code by the suspect user 110, the suspect user 110 decrypts the encrypted passcode using a second key of the asymmetric key pair and communicates to the access authority 150 over a communications network 114 a suspect passcode and a user ID of the authorized user. The user ID identifies the authorized user to the access authority 150 [0053-0055] Fig. 6 #636 and 638, the registration code is verified and the user ID is therefore, enabled for the user to be authenticated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to include wherein the device authentication list includes device authentication information including a device ID and a password of a valid user of each of already-registered communications devices in the group and device authentication information including a device ID and a password of a provisional user predefined for an unregistered communications device in the group, and when a new user is registered in the group, the communications device enables the device ID and the password of the provisional user, and notifies the enabled device ID of the user to all the communications devices as disclosed by Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of using a registration code to register a user and enable the user ID for security purposes.
Re. claim 4, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, Owen further teaches wherein the storage unit stores an encryption key for performing encrypted communication with the other communications device or trigger information for triggering generation of the encryption key, the encryption key or the trigger information being stored in a state where the encryption key or the trigger information is inaccessible by the user (Owen teaches generating a pair of asymmetric encryption keys of the authentication authority (Step 815) which is generally unique to the device of the authorized user that is registering and storing (Step 823) the first key of the secondary pair within the device and using it for computation of a challenge response in accordance with an aspect of the present invention. Because the first key of the secondary pair of the authentication authority preferably is not used but for computation of the challenge response, and because this key is safely stored on the device of the user, matching a received challenge response with a reconstructed challenge response by the authentication entity results in the strong indication that the device of the authorized user actually computer the challenge response [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to include wherein the storage unit stores an encryption key for performing encrypted communication with the other communications device or trigger information for triggering generation of the encryption key, the encryption key or the trigger information being stored in a state where the encryption key or the trigger information is inaccessible externally as disclosed by Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of use of user ID and password to securely give access and authenticate user into a system or network.
Re. claim 5, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, being connected to, as the first information terminal, any pieces of equipment including a personal computer, a smartphone and a tablet terminal, which are operated by the user, and/or any pieces of equipment including IoT equipment, M2M equipment, a camera, a robot, remote operation equipment, an automobile and AI equipment, which receive and transmit various pieces of data (Pinheiro discloses each of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d may be any type of device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment. By way of example, the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include user equipment (UE), a mobile station, a fixed or mobile subscriber unit, a pager, a cellular telephone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a smartphone, a laptop, a netbook, a personal computer, a wireless sensor, consumer electronics, and the like. [0029]).
Re. claim 6, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, Owen further teaches analyze communication history stored as needed in the memory; and determine an unauthorized access or an unauthorized operation in accordance with the analyzed communication history (Owen teaches in response to the access authority 150 communicating the suspect passcode to the authentication authority 130, and based on the secondary ID of the suspect user 110, the authentication authority 130 then authenticates the secondary ID by comparing the suspect passcode with the passcode previously encrypted and communicated to the suspect user 110. The authentication authority 130 then communicates an indication of the result of the passcode comparison back to the access authority 150. Conversely, if the suspect user 110 is not an authorized user of the network resource based on the authentication result, then the suspect user 110 is not granted access to the network resource by the access authority 150 [0057], authentication information used by the user is compared with the previously used authentication information for verification purposes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to include analyze communication history stored as needed in the memory; and determine an unauthorized access or an unauthorized operation in accordance with the analyzed communication history as disclosed by Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of comparing the entered authentication information with the previously registered authentication information to verify the integrity of the user.
Re. claim 7, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, comprising a sensor and being configured to determine whether or not the communications device is in an originally used state by referring to information acquired from the sensor (Pinheiro discloses By way of example, the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include user equipment (UE), a mobile station, a fixed or mobile subscriber unit, a pager, a cellular telephone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a smartphone, a laptop, a netbook, a personal computer, a wireless sensor, consumer electronics, and the like [0029]. A large number of devices attempt to be connected to the network at substantially the same time and/or when a large number of devices transmit and/or receive messages at substantially the same time and/or periodicity (e.g., reporting sensor measurements or other periodic reporting), even when these messages themselves carry small amounts of data [0070]).
Re. claim 8, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, Owen further teaches wherein the processor is programmed to display, to the first information terminal, a data entry screen imitating a postal item or a slip as a user interface (Owen teaches the passcode is displayed on the device 922 and the user 910 can use the passcode to gain access to the network service 950 [0128][0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to include display, to the first information terminal, a data entry screen imitating a postal item or a slip as a user interface as disclosed by Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of use of user ID and password to securely give access and authenticate user into a system or network.
Re. claim 10, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, being an IC card or a SIM attached to the first information terminal (Pinheiro discloses mutual authentication in E-UTRAN may be based on the fact that both the USIM card and the network have access to the same secret key K. The secret key K may be a permanent key that is stored on the USIM and in the HSS/AuC in network of the home operator [0091]).
Re. claim 12, Pinheiro discloses an information terminal in which a communications device is incorporated, wherein the communications device is used for a communications system which exchanges data with another information terminal included in a same group as the information terminal via other communications device connected with the other information terminal and a global network (Pinheiro discloses the RAN 103/104/105 may be in communication with the core network 106/107/109, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, 102 d [0037]. Sharing a packet data protocol (PDP) context among a plurality of devices [0003]. The communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, and/or 102 d (which generally or collectively may be referred to as WTRU 102), a radio access network (RAN) 103/104/105, a core network 106/107/109, a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 108, the Internet 110, and other networks 112, though it will be appreciated that the disclosed embodiments contemplate any number of WTRUs, base stations, networks, and/or network elements. Each of the WTRUs 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, 102 d may be any type of device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment [0029]), and the communications device comprises: memory configured to store user authentication information for performing authentication of a user via the information terminal and pre-store a device authentication list, the device authentication list being pre-stored in a state where at least part of the device authentication list is inaccessible by the user (Pinheiro discloses The HSS/HLR may attempt to authenticate the first MTC device of the shared context group based on the RES included in the Authentication Response. If the HLR/HSS successfully authenticates first MTC device of the shared context group, then the HSS/HLR may obtains and/or determine the sequence S by which the other MTC devices in the same shared context group are expected to attempt authentication [0146][0053][0093]. An association of an IMSI with a shared context group may be stored with the subscription information for the WTRU, for example in the HSS/HLR [0124], some parts of authentication information stored in the USIM and IMSI of a device is inaccessible to the user and HSS/HLR correspond to the authentication list).
Pinheiro does not explicitly teach but Owen teaches a processor programmed to when user authentication information is entered from the first information terminal, compare the entered user authentication information with the stored user authentication information, determine whether the compared user authentication information match; if the compared user authentication match, determine that the user authentication is successful and place the first information terminal in a login state (Owen teaches Receiving the first primary identification and a suspect PIN from a suspect user; authenticating the first primary identification by considering at least one authentication factor, including comparing the suspect PIN with the PIN of the authorized user maintained in association with the first primary identification by the authentication authority [0010]. The key with which the passcode is decrypted preferably is stored within and generally unique to the personal communications device [0026]. The authorized user gains access to the network resource from an access authority. The method includes the steps of: receiving a challenge request with respect to a suspect user seeking to gain access to the network resource from the access authority; in response to the challenge request, communicating a challenge to the suspect user, receiving a challenge response and the identifier; and authenticating the identifier by comparing the challenge response to a function of the challenge, the PIN maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier, and the first key maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier [0022-0023]. The suspect user 110 seeks to gain access to a network resource from the access authority 150 utilizing an encrypted passcode provided to the suspect user 110 by the authentication authority 130 [0052]. The suspect user 110 desires to gain access to the network resource, the suspect user 110 communicates to the authentication authority-130 over an ancillary communications network 112 a primary ID and a suspect PIN. If the suspect PIN matches the retrieved PIN of the authorized user, and if the primary ID otherwise successfully authenticates, then the authentication authority 130 communicates back to the user 110. upon the receipt of an encrypted pass code by the suspect user 110, the suspect user 110 decrypts the encrypted passcode using a second key of the asymmetric key pair and communicates to the access authority 150 over a communications network 114 a suspect passcode and a user ID of the authorized user. The user ID identifies the authorized user to the access authority 150 [0053-0055], user ID and password are used to authenticate the user to give access to the network. The user ID and password are input by the user in the user device and upon successful authentication, the user gains access to the network);
input and output information to and from the first information terminal to which permission to access is given (Owen teaches receiving the first primary identification and a suspect PIN from a suspect user; authenticating the first primary identification by considering at least one authentication factor, including comparing the suspect PIN with the PIN of the authorized user maintained in association with the first primary identification by the authentication authority [0010]. The authorized user gains access to the network resource from an access authority. The method includes the steps of: receiving a challenge request with respect to a suspect user seeking to gain access to the network resource from the access authority; in response to the challenge request, communicating a challenge to the suspect user, receiving a challenge response and the identifier; and authenticating the identifier by comparing the challenge response to a function of the challenge, the PIN maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier, and the first key maintained by the authentication authority in association with the identifier [0022-0023]. The suspect user 110 desires to gain access to the network resource, the suspect user 110 communicates to the authentication authority-130 over an ancillary communications network 112 a primary ID and a suspect PIN. If the suspect PIN matches the retrieved PIN of the authorized user, and if the primary ID otherwise successfully authenticates, then the authentication authority 130 communicates back to the user 110. upon the receipt of an encrypted pass code by the suspect user 110, the suspect user 110 decrypts the encrypted passcode using a second key of the asymmetric key pair and communicates to the access authority 150 over a communications network 114 a suspect passcode and a user ID of the authorized user. The user ID identifies the authorized user to the access authority 150 [0053-0055], user ID and password are used to authenticate the user to give access to the network. The user ID and password are input by the user in the user device and upon successful authentication, the user gains access to the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to include a user authentication unit configured to, when user authentication information is entered from the first information terminal, compare the entered user authentication information with the user authentication information stored in the storage unit, and if the compared user authentication match, determine that the user authentication is successful and place the first information terminal in a login state; an input/output unit configured to input and output information to and from the first information terminal to which permission to access is given by the user authentication unit as disclosed by Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of use of user ID and password to securely give access and authenticate user into a system or network.
The combination of Pinheiro-Owen do not explicitly teach but Kirkup teaches when the first information terminal is placed in the login state, transmit device authentication information necessary for device-to-device authentication to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list, carry out device-to-device authentication process between the communications device and the other communications device by receiving a message authentication code sent from the other communication device; and perform transmission and reception of data only after carrying out the device-to-device authentication process with the authenticated other communications device (Kirkup teaches a user of a client device 10 or 100 is authenticated by the authentication server [0020]. The PIN itself is entered by the user at the client device 10 or 100, in response to a prompt. Preferably, instead of transmitting the PIN directly to the authentication server 40, the client device 10 or 100 generates a message authentication code (MAC) based on the PIN using methods known in the art. The public key K.sub.pub is then transmitted with the message authentication code from the client device 10 or 100 to the authentication server. The authentication server 40 then stores K.sub.pub at step 190 in association with an indicator corresponding to the user of the client device 10 or 100. The indicator may comprise a network address or e-mail address corresponding to the user of the client device 10 or 100, or another suitable indicator. The data may be stored in memory located at the authentication server 40, or alternatively in a memory store accessible to the authentication server 40 [0025][0027-0029] Figs 1-3, user and device authentication. The authentication information is being interpreted as the PIN. The PIN is carried out MAC. Entering PIN is in the login state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen to include when the first information terminal is placed in the login state, transmit device authentication information necessary for device-to-device authentication to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list, carry out device-to-device authentication process with the other communications device by receiving a message authentication code sent from the other communication device; and perform transmission and reception of data only after carrying out the device-to-device authentication process with the authenticated other communications device as disclosed by Kirkup. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Although Owen discloses device Ids and password, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup do not explicitly teach but Purushothaman teaches the device authentication list including device IDs and passwords of the all communications devices in the group, the device authentication list being pre-stored in a state where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user (Purushothaman teaches querying a database to retrieve a user ID and password associated with the group ID number, the user ID and password being selected from a group of usernames and passwords associated with the group ID number [0006]. User ID and/or password may be stored in an access database [0039-43]. Transmit the user ID and password to user 101 [0047]. Ability to identify the allowed access permissions of a user and to restrict the user's access to the allowed access permissions [0049]. The user ID creation engine may remove the flag on the user ID and password, indicating that the user ID and password is now available to be used by another team member requesting access to system [0062][0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup to include the device authentication list including device IDs and passwords of the all communications devices in the group, the device authentication list being pre-stored in a state where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user as disclosed by Purushothaman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Although Purushothaman discloses transmitting device ID and password, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman do not explicitly teach but Santamaria teaches transmit a device ID and a password corresponding to the other communications device to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list (Santamaria teaches assuming that an association between a phone number and one or more user ID codes has been established in the database 3912 for user device 3901, when the user sends an authentication request from a new user device 4101 or 4102 containing a valid user ID and password, the identity service 3910 will collect all of the handles stored in the database 3912 for that user (e.g., phone numbers, email addresses, DSID codes, etc) and send them to the new user device 4101, 4102 as part of the authentication response [0427]. Fig. 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman to include transmit a device ID and a password corresponding to the other communications device to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list as disclosed by Santamaria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (US 20130155948, hereinafter Pinheiro) in view of Kirkup et al. (US 20080120504, hereinafter Kirkup) and in further view of Purushothaman et al. (US 20170171186, hereinafter Purushothaman) and in further view of Santamaria et al. (US 20130244614, hereinafter Santamaria).
Re. claim 11, Pinheiro discloses a management device used for a communications system in which a first information terminal and a second information terminal included in a same group exchange data with each other via a global network connected with a first communications device connected to the first information terminal and a second communications device connected to the second information terminal, the management device being connected to the first communications device and the second communications device via the global network (Pinheiro discloses the SGSN 148 and the GGSN 150 may provide the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c with access to packet-switched networks, such as the Internet 110, to facilitate communications between and the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and IP-enabled devices [0053][0093]. the communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, and/or 102 d (which generally or collectively may be referred to as WTRU 102), a radio access network (RAN) 103/104/105, a core network 106/107/109, a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 108, the Internet 110, and other networks 112, though it will be appreciated that the disclosed embodiments contemplate any number of WTRUs, base stations, networks, and/or network elements. Each of the WTRUs 102 a, 102 b, 102 c, 102 d may be any type of device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment [0029]. Sharing a packet data protocol (PDP) context among a plurality of devices [0003] Figs. 1A, 1C and 8), comprising: a memory configured to pre-store a device authentication list all the communications devices in the group including the first communications device and the second communications device (Pinheiro discloses The HSS/HLR may attempt to authenticate the first MTC device of the shared context group based on the RES included in the Authentication Response. If the HLR/HSS successfully authenticates first MTC device of the shared context group, then the HSS/HLR may obtains and/or determine the sequence S by which the other MTC devices in the same shared context group are expected to attempt authentication [0146][0053][0093]. An association of an IMSI with a shared context group may be stored with the subscription information for the WTRU, for example in the HSS/HLR [0124], some parts of authentication information stored in the USIM and IMSI of a device is inaccessible to the user and HSS/HLR correspond to the authentication list).
Pinheiro does not explicitly teach but Kirkup teaches a processor programmed to: authenticate the first communication device in accordance with the device authentication list stored in the storage unit, transmit a result of authentication to the second communication device, receive a message authentication code sent from the second communication device, transmit the message authentication code to the first communication device and carry out at least part of device-to-device authentication process between the first communication device and the second communication device (Kirkup teaches a user of a client device 10 or 100 is authenticated by the authentication server [0020]. The PIN itself is entered by the user at the client device 10 or 100, in response to a prompt. Preferably, instead of transmitting the PIN directly to the authentication server 40, the client device 10 or 100 generates a message authentication code (MAC) based on the PIN using methods known in the art. The public key K.sub.pub is then transmitted with the message authentication code from the client device 10 or 100 to the authentication server. The authentication server 40 then stores K.sub.pub at step 190 in association with an indicator corresponding to the user of the client device 10 or 100. The indicator may comprise a network address or e-mail address corresponding to the user of the client device 10 or 100, or another suitable indicator. The data may be stored in memory located at the authentication server 40, or alternatively in a memory store accessible to the authentication server 40 [0025][0027-0029] Figs 1-3, user and device authentication. The authentication information is being interpreted as the PIN. The PIN is carried out with MAC. Entering PIN is in the login state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Pinheiro to include authenticate the first communication device in accordance with the device authentication list stored in the storage unit, transmit a result of authentication to the second communication device, receive a message authentication code sent from the second communication device, transmit the message authentication code to the first communication device and carry out at least part of device-to-device authentication process between the first communication device and the second communication device as disclosed by Kirkup. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
The combination of Pinheiro-Kirkup do not explicitly teach but Purushothaman teaches the device authentication list including device IDs and passwords of the all communications devices in the group, the device authentication list being pre-stored in the first communications device a state where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user (Purushothaman teaches querying a database to retrieve a user ID and password associated with the group ID number, the user ID and password being selected from a group of usernames and passwords associated with the group ID number [0006]. User ID and/or password may be stored in an access database [0039-43]. Transmit the user ID and password to user 101 [0047]. Ability to identify the allowed access permissions of a user and to restrict the user's access to the allowed access permissions [0049]. The user ID creation engine may remove the flag on the user ID and password, indicating that the user ID and password is now available to be used by another team member requesting access to system [0062][0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Kirkup to include the device authentication list including device IDs and passwords of the all communications devices in the group, the device authentication list being pre-stored in a state where at least the passwords are inaccessible by the user as disclosed by Purushothaman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Although Purushothaman discloses transmitting device ID and password, the combination of Pinheiro-Kirkup-Purushothaman do not explicitly teach but Santamaria teaches receive a device ID and a password corresponding to the second communications device sent from the first communication device (Santamaria teaches assuming that an association between a phone number and one or more user ID codes has been established in the database 3912 for user device 3901, when the user sends an authentication request from a new user device 4101 or 4102 containing a valid user ID and password, the identity service 3910 will collect all of the handles stored in the database 3912 for that user (e.g., phone numbers, email addresses, DSID codes, etc) and send them to the new user device 4101, 4102 as part of the authentication response [0427]. Fig. 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Kirkup-Purushothaman to include transmit a device ID and a password corresponding to the other communications device to the other communication device based on the stored device authentication list as disclosed by Santamaria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of authentication, this leads to authenticating the device which would authenticate the user.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (US 20130155948, hereinafter Pinheiro) in view of Owen et al. (US 20040187018, hereinafter Owen), in view of Kirkup et al. (US 20080120504, hereinafter Kirkup), in view of Purushothaman et al. (US 20170171186, hereinafter Purushothaman), in view of Santamaria et al. (US 20130244614, hereinafter Santamaria) and in further view of Johnson et al. (US 20090007230, hereinafter Johnson).
Re. claim 9, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria do not explicitly teach but Johnson teaches wherein the processor is programmed to transmit commands for controlling at least one of IoT equipment, M2M equipment, camera, robot, remote operation equipment, and AI equipment as the second information terminal (Johnson teaches system 500 can also include a machine learning component 512 that can employ various schemes (e.g., artificial intelligence, rules based logic) for carrying out various aspects. For example, a process for determining how to classify data to be stored in a database or other storage media can be facilitated through an automatic classifier system and process. Such content can relate to important sections of a document, based on a received request or an annotation. In accordance with one or more aspects described herein, inferences can be made regarding assigning a reference or frequency to different portions of a project, determining if a user can receive information relating to a project, converting a file or other item to a user requested format and so forth. Inferences can also be made relating to presenting the information in a format as a function of a user device [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria to include wherein the processor is programmed to transmit commands for controlling at least one of IoT equipment, M2M equipment, camera, robot, remote operation equipment, and AI equipment as the second information terminal as disclosed by Johnson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of performing inference and/or probabilistic determinations and/or statistical-based determinations (Johnson [0046]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (US 20130155948, hereinafter Pinheiro) in view of Owen et al. (US 20040187018, hereinafter Owen), in view of Kirkup et al. (US 20080120504, hereinafter Kirkup), in view of Purushothaman et al. (US 20170171186, hereinafter Purushothaman), in view of Santamaria et al. (US 20130244614, hereinafter Santamaria) and in further view of Hideaki (WO 2016093368).
Re. claim 13, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the information terminal according to claim 12, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria do not explicitly teach but Hideaki teaches comprising a secret area which is inaccessible by the user, wherein the communications device is at least one of an EPROM unit incorporated in the secret area, and an IC card and a SIM to be attached to the information terminal (Hideaki teaches the management device contains the secure element may be an eSIM or SIM [Page 3]. Secure element included in a communication module included in the vehicle [Page 4]. The secure element includes a secure area that cannot be accessed from outside the secure element. In the eSIM_20, the key storage unit 22, the shipping initial key storage unit 25, and the carrier key storage unit 26 are located in a secure area. Note that a SIM may be used as the secure element instead of eSIM_20. eSIM and SIM are types of computers, and achieve desired functions through computer programs [Page 6]. The computer program may be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium [Page 38]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria to include secret area which is inaccessible by the user, wherein the communications device is at least one of an EPROM unit incorporated in the secret area, and an IC card and a SIM to be attached to the information terminal as disclosed by Hideaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of using a tamper-resistant cryptographic processing chip.
Re. claim 14, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria-Hideaki teach the information terminal according to claim 12, Hideaki further teaches wherein the communications device is a communication circuit and communication software incorporated into the information terminal or a communication circuit and software incorporated into a SIM attached to the information terminal (Hideaki teaches the management device contains the secure element may be an eSIM or SIM [Page 3]. Secure element included in a communication module included in the vehicle [Page 4]. The secure element includes a secure area that cannot be accessed from outside the secure element. In the eSIM_20, the key storage unit 22, the shipping initial key storage unit 25, and the carrier key storage unit 26 are located in a secure area. Note that a SIM may be used as the secure element instead of eSIM_20. eSIM and SIM are types of computers, and achieve desired functions through computer programs [Page 6]. The computer program may be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium [Page 38]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria to include wherein the communications device is a communication circuit and communication software incorporated into the information terminal or a communication circuit and software incorporated into a SIM attached to the information terminal as disclosed by Hideaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of using a tamper-resistant cryptographic processing chip.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (US 20130155948, hereinafter Pinheiro) in view of Owen et al. (US 20040187018, hereinafter Owen), in view of Kirkup et al. (US 20080120504, hereinafter Kirkup), in view of Purushothaman et al. (US 20170171186, hereinafter Purushothaman), in view of Santamaria et al. (US 20130244614, hereinafter Santamaria) and in further view of Fiske (WO 2013044192).
Re. claim 15, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria teach the communications device according to claim 1, the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria do not explicitly teach but Fiske teaches wherein the memory includes a normal area in which a general-purpose OS operates and a secure area in which a secure dedicated OS operates, and the user authentication information and the device authentication list are stored in the secure area (Fiske teaches user system 101 may include secure area 102, secure memory system 104, secure processor system 106, output system 108, input system 110, sensor 111, communication system 112, memory system 114, processor system 116, input/output system 118, operating system 120, and network interface 122 [1032]. Any device or system that is capable of sending and/or receiving communications via a network). In an embodiment, a secure area 102 may be provided for performing secure transactions. In this specification, authentication information references to any form of information used for authenticating a user. In an embodiment, within secure area 102, authentication information, such as a biometric authentication and/or another form of authentication is bound to the authorization of an action [1033]. Operating system 120 may be a set of machine instructions, stored in memory system 110 [1047]. The software that secure area 102 executes may be embedded in secure memory 104 [1065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Pinheiro-Owen-Kirkup-Purushothaman-Santamaria to include wherein the memory includes a normal area in which a general-purpose OS operates and a secure area in which a secure dedicated OS operates, and the user authentication information and the device authentication list are stored in the secure area as disclosed by Fiske. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for the purpose of capable of taking over and/or blocking access to other parts of user system (Fiske [1037]).
Re. claim 17, rejection of claim 12 is included and claim 17 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 15 above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (US 20130155948, hereinafter Pinheiro) in view of Kirkup et al. (US 20080120504, hereinafter Kirkup), in view of Purushothaman et al. (US 20170171186, hereinafter Purushothaman), in view of Santamaria et al. (US 20130244614, hereinafter Santamaria) and in further view of Fiske (WO 2013044192).
Re. claim 16, rejection of claim 11 is included and claim 16 is rejected with the same rationale as applied in claim 15 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 20170006471) discloses receive the user ID and password from the user to log in the account server.
Roth et al. (US 9660972 hereinafter Roth) discloses a database which may be utilized by a password verification system. Any method of storing information used to authenticate authenticating parties so that such information is locatable from data storage. The database includes a username column, the entries of which include identifiers of users which may be, for instance, users of the client computer systems described above. Entries may also identify other entities such as organizations or other groups of people and/or devices [Col 15 lines 47-67]. A next column has entries corresponding to a value obtained at least based in part on a password and a salt [Col 16 lines 1-9].
Chiba (US 20150334188) discloses the server 100 registers the user ID in the user database 101A by associating the user ID with the group ID associated with the first user. The second user registers a user ID and a password in the group server 100B, or obtain a user ID and a password from the group server 100B.
/KEVIN AYALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496