Detailed Office Action
37 C.F.R. § 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed 04 September, 2025. Claims 1, 4-9, 13, 21, 23, 25-27, 30-33, 37, 39, 47, 51, and 52 are pending in the instant application. Claims 25-27, 30-33, 37, 39, 47, 51, and 52 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
37 C.F.R. § 1.98
The information disclosure statement filed 04 November, 2025, has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Joint Inventors, Common Ownership Presumed
35 U.S.C. § 103
Graham v. Deere
Claims 1, 4-9, 13, 21, and 23 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of Mokkapati et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0275712 A1, published 28 September, 2017), Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0181360 A1, published 16 July, 2009), Nalla et al. (2020), and Yan et al. (2020). The claims are directed toward a method of detecting influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2 in a biological sample comprising the following steps:
a) amplifying nucleic acid from the biological sample with sets of primers that detect an influenza A gene, an influenza B gene, an RSV gene, and a SARS-CoV-2 gene by conducting one or more polymerase chain reactions (PCR) using a set of primers that detects the presence or absence of SARS-CoV-2 and comprises a set of primers that detect SARS-CoV-2 E, N2, and RdRP; and
b) detecting an amplicon that is produced by the PCR using a detection probe (claim 1).
Claims 4 and 5 reference various primer sets that amplify the influenza A PB2, PA, and MP, avian MP, influenza B MP and NS, RSV A and B, SARS-CoV-2 E, N2, RdRP, and ORF1ab genes. Specifically, claim 4 is directed toward a set of primers comprising the following:
a) a set of primers that detects the presence or absence of influenza A comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects influenza A PB2 selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the influenza PB2 gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 1, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 1; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 17, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 18;
ii) a set of primers that detects influenza A PA selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the influenza PA gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 2, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 2; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 20, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 21;
iii) a set of primers that detects influenza A MP selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the influenza A MP gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 3, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 3; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 23, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 24;
iv) a set of primers that detects avian influenza MP selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the avian influenza MP gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 4, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 4; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 26, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 27;
b) wherein the set of primers that detects the presence or absence of influenza B comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects influenza B MP selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the influenza B MP gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 6, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 6; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 32, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 33;
ii) a set of primers that detects influenza B NS selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the influenza B NS gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 7, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 7; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 35, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 36;
c) wherein the set of primers that detects the presence or absence of RSV comprises at least one of:i) a set of primers that detects RSV A selected from:
1) at least one forward and at least one reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the RSV A gene; and 2) at least one forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 38 and/or SEQ ID NO: 67, and at least one reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 39, SEQ ID NO: 68, and/or SEQ ID NO: 69; and
ii) a set of primers that detects RSV B selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the RSV B gene; and 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 41, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 42; and
d) wherein the set of primers that detects the presence or absence of SARS-CoV-2 comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 E selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the SARS-CoV-2 E gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 44, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 44; 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 70, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 71; 4) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 48, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 49; and 5) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 54, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 55;
ii) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 N2 selected from: 1) a forward and reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the SARS-CoV-2 N2 gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 45, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 45; 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 73 or SEQ ID NO:51, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 52; and 4) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 57, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 58;
iii) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 RdRP selected from: 1) a forward and at least one reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the SARS-CoV-2 RdRP gene; 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 76, and at least one reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 61 and/or SEQ ID NO: 78; and 3) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 60, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 61; and
iv) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 ORFlab selected from: 1) a forward and at least one reverse primer for detecting a sequence of the SARS-CoV-2 ORF lab gene; and 2) a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 63, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 64.
Claim 5 references specific primer pairs as follows:
a) a set of primers that detects the presence or absence of influenza A comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects influenza A PB2 comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 17, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 18;
ii) a set of primers that detects influenza A PA comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 20, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 21;
iii) a set of primers that detects influenza A MP comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 23, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 24; and
iv) a set of primers that detects avian influenza MP comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 26, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 27;
b) wherein the set of primers that detects the presence or absence of influenza B comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects influenza B MP comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 32, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 33; and
ii) a set of primers that detects influenza B NS comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 35, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 36;
c) wherein the set of primers that detects the presence or absence of RSV comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects RSV A comprising at least one forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 38 and/or SEQ ID NO: 67, and at least one reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 39, SEQ ID NO: 68, and/or SEQ ID NO: 69; and
ii) a set of primers that detects RSV B comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 41, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 42; and
d) wherein the set of primers that detects the presence or absence of SARS-CoV-2 comprises at least one of:
i) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 E comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 70, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 71;
ii) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 N2 comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 73, and a reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 52; and
iii) a set of primers that detects SARS-CoV-2 RdRP comprising a forward primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 76, and at least one reverse primer comprising a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 61 and/or SEQ ID NO: 78.
Claim 6 recites the following amplicons: a) the influenza A PA amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 9; b) the influenza A PB2 amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 8; c) the influenza A MP amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 10; d) the avian influenza MP amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 11; e) the influenza B MP amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 13; f) the influenza B NS amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 14; g) the RSV A amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 15;h) the RSV B amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16; i) the SARS-CoV-2 E amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 462 or SEQ ID NO: 79, or SEQ ID NO: 66;j) the SARS-CoV-2 N2 amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 47; and/or k) the SARS-CoV-2 RdRP amplicon comprises a sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO: 80 and/or SEQ ID NO: 81.
Claims 7 and 8 are directed toward the particular probes employed to detect different amplicons (claim 7, influenza A PA probe, an influenza A PB2 probe, an influenza A MP probe, an avian influenza MP probe, an influenza B MP probe, an influenza B NS probe, an RSV A probe, an RSV B probe, a SARS-CoV-2 E probe, a SARS-CoV-2 N2 probe, and a SARS-CoV-2 RdRP probe; claim 8, a) the influenza A PA probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 22;b) the influenza A PB2 probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 19; c) the influenza A MP probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 25; d) the avian influenza MP probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 28; e) the influenza B MP probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 34; f) the influenza B NS probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 37; g) the RSV A probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 40; h) the RSV B probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 43; i) the SARS-CoV-2 E probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 72, SEQ ID NO: 50 or SEQ ID NO: 56; j) the SARS-CoV-2 N2 probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 74, SEQ ID NO: 75, and/or SEQ ID NO: 53, or SEQ ID NO: 59; and/or k) the SARS-CoV-2 RdRP probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 77 or SEQ ID NO: 62; and/or 1) the SARS-CoV-2 ORF lab probe comprises a region of at least 15 contiguous nucleotides having a sequence that is at least 85% identical or complementary to at least 15 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 65.
Claims 9 and 13 are further directed toward multiplex detection methods and the utilization of suitable controls. Claims 21 and 23 reference the clinical state of the subject and sample origin.
Applicant is reminded that claim 4 does not recite any specific primer pairs, amplicons, or probes. Moreover, the claim language does not recite specific primer pairs, probes, or amplicons. The claim language is not limited to specific sequences because of the comprising limitation. It is suggested Applicant amend the claims to recite sequences that consist of the specific primer pairs, probes, and amplicons.
As previously set forth, Mokkapati et al. (2017) disclose the generation of PCR primer pairs for the detection of influenza A and B. Specifically, primer pairs were generated that are capable amplifying the influenza virus A PB2, PA, and MP regions, and the influenza B virus MP and NS regions. Multiplex RT-PCR was utilized to detect influenza A and B and various subtypes. In particular, suitable gene fragments for the design of primers and probes were identified by first generating sequence alignments of RNA segments using the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)-European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) sequence alignment software, ClustalW. ClustalW is a general purpose multiple sequence alignment program for nucleic acids or proteins that calculates the best match for the selected sequences and aligns them such that the identities, similarities, and differences can be compared. For each potential target, sequence regions, 100-200 nt in length, were chosen that differentiated the targets (see ¶ [0222]).
Design of primers and probes for amplification of RNA fragments in the selected regions was performed using DNA Software, Inc.’s Visual OMP (Oligonucleotide Modeling Platform). Visual OMP models, in silico, the folding and hybridization of single-stranded nucleic acids by incorporating all public domain thermodynamic parameters as well as proprietary nearest-neighbor and multi-state thermodynamic parameters for DNA, RNA, PNA, and Inosine. This enables the effective design of primers and probes for complex assays such as microarrays, microfluidics applications and multiplex PCR (see ¶ [0224]). This is the same approach utilized by Applicant. Specific primer/probe combinations were set forth in Tables A/B.
This assay provided good results with nasal aspirate/wash (NA/W) and nasopharyngeal (NP) swab specimens (see 5.2 Example 2: Clinical Performance; ¶s [0238-0251]). Moreover, the primers, amplicons, and probes appear to be identical to those disclosed in the instant application. This teaching does not disclose a detection method for the detection of influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2.
Chen et al. (2009) disclose a multiplex detection assay for the detection of both influenza and RSV viruses. The diagnostic panel in this example was designed to detect any of Influenza A, Influenza B, RSV A, or RSV B DNA in a singleplex or multiplex reaction. Specifically, it was designed to detect the M gene of each pathogen. The assay includes reagents and primers for the detection of nucleic acid from the target sequence of each species. The assay may further include an internal control (IC) to Verify adequate processing of the target viruses and to monitor the presence of inhibition in the amplification assay to avoid false negative results. The diagnostic test involved a two-step procedure: (1) the extraction of nucleic acid from, for example, the Subject’s nasal cavity for use as the testing template and (2) one-step RT-PCR using reverse transcription to convert target RNA to cDNA followed by the amplification and detection of the target template(s) (see ¶s [0122-0123]). Preferred RSV targets for primer selection and amplification included the RSV A and B M genes. See Table 1 for exemplary primers and probes. This teaching does not disclose a detection method for the detection of influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2.
Both Nalla et al. (2020) and Yan et al. (2020) identified suitable SARS-CoV-2 primers and probes for the detection of SARS-CoV-2. Yan and colleagues generated suitable orf1ab and S gene primers by aligning 103 complete genomes of SARS-CoV-2 obtained from four databases, GenBank, GISAID, GWH and NMDC (https://bigd.big.ac.cn/ncov), to confirm the conservation of the selected sequence. Homology analysis was conducted using BLAST (National Centre for Biotechnology Information). Five sets of primers specific to the orf1ab and S genes were designed using the software PRIMEREXPLORER V5 at the website: http://primerexplorer.jp/e/. The primers included an outer forward primer (F3), an outer backward primer (B3), a forward inner primer (FIP) and a backward inner primer (BIP). A loop forward primer (LF) and/or a loop backward primer (LB) were also designed to accelerate the reaction. Two additional primers were also designed primers to amplify the two regions by conventional PCR assay (orf1ab-F: 5ʹ-CAGACCTCGTCTATGCTTTAAGGC-3ʹ; orf1ab-R: 5ʹ-CCCTGGTCAAGGTTAATATAGGCA-3ʹ; SeF: 5ʹ-CTTCCCTCAGTCAGCACCTC-3ʹ; S-R: 5ʹ-AACCAGTGTGTGCCATTTGA-3ʹ) (see Materials and methods, Primer design, p. 774). The specificity of the assay was tested against a number of respiratory pathogens including human coronavirus HcoV-229E, HcoV-NL63, HcoV-OC43, HcoV-HKU1, SARS-CoV (pseudo-virus) and Middle East respiratory syndrome-CoV (pseudo-virus); influenza A-H3N2, H1N1, influenza B, parainfluenza viruses types 1/2/3/4, adenoviruses types 1/2/3/4/5/6/7, respiratory syncytial virus types A/B, human metapneumovirus, human bocavirus, rhinovirus types A/B/C, as well as respiratory pathogens such as Mycoplasma pneumoniae strains M129/FH, Haemophilus influenzae ATCC 49247, Staphylococcus aureus, Klebsiella pneumoniae, Streptococcus pneumoniae and Pseudomonas aeruginosa (see Materials and methods, Viruses and bacterial strains, p. 774). This teaching does not disclose a detection method for the detection of influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2.
Nalla and coworkers disclose the generation of a total of 7 different primer-probe sets to be utilized SARS-CoV-2 detection assays (see Table S1 in the supplemental material). The University of Washington (UW) RdRp primer-probe set was designed by the UW Virology Lab. Three additional primer-probe sets were designed as described in the work of Corman et al. (8); these will be referred to as the Corman N-gene, RdRp, and E-gene primer-probe sets. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) N1, N2, and N3 sets were developed by the CDC and have been published on the CDC website (see MATERIALS AND METHODS, SARS-CoV-2 detection assays, p. 2). These primer sets were extremely sensitive and specific for SARS-CoV-2. This teaching does not disclose a detection method for the detection of influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a multiplex RT-PCR assay for the simultaneous detection of influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2. Mokkapati et al. (2017) provided a detailed description of primer algorithms that are available for the identification of suitable PCR primer and probe sets. This teaching also provided multiple influenza A and B primers/probes. Chen et al. (2009) provide a detailed description about the selection and preparation of suitable influenza and RSV primers/probes. Finally, both Nalla et al. (2020) and Yan et al. (2020) provided a detailed description of suitable PCR primers/probes for the detection of SARS-CoV-2. These teachings provided specific probes and primers derived from the influenza A PB, PA, and MP genes, influenza B MP and NS genes, RSV A and B genes, and SARS-CoV-2 E/S, N2, RdRP, and ORF1ab genes.
Absent evidence to the contrary, it would have been prima facie obvious to use suitable computer algorithms to identify suitable PCR primers and probes for the detection of influenza A, influenza B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2. Moreover, Chen et al. (2009) provides a multiplex PCR detection assay to detect multiple respiratory pathogens (e.g., influenza and RSV). Therefore, it would also have been prima facie obvious to combine primers and probes from multiple respiratory viruses into a multiplex diagnostic method.
Applicant again traverses and submits that the rejection fails to adequately address all of the claim limitations. In particular it fails to identify the relevant primers and probes in any given reference. With respect to amended claim 1, no specific primers are cited. The claim simply requires primers that detect an influenza A or B gene, an RSV gene, or the SARS-CoV-2 genes E, N2, and RdRP. As previously set forth, Both Nalla et al. (2020) and Yan et al. (2020) identified suitable SARS-CoV-2 primers and probes for the detection of SARS-CoV-2. Yan and colleagues generated suitable orf1ab and S gene primers by aligning 103 complete genomes of SARS-CoV-2 obtained from four databases. Nalla and coworkers disclose the generation of a total of 7 different primer-probe sets to be utilized SARS-CoV-2 detection assays (see Table S1 in the supplemental material). The University of Washington (UW) RdRp primer-probe set was designed by the UW Virology Lab. Three additional primer-probe sets were designed as described in the work of Corman et al. (8); these will be referred to as the Corman N-gene, RdRp, and E-gene primer-probe sets. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) N1, N2, and N3 sets were developed by the CDC and have been published on the CDC website (see MATERIALS AND METHODS, SARS-CoV-2 detection assays, p. 2). These primer sets were extremely sensitive and specific for SARS-CoV-2.
With respect to the detection of influenza A and B, Mokkapati et al. (2017) disclose the generation of PCR primer pairs for the detection of influenza A and B. Specifically, primer pairs were generated that are capable amplifying the influenza virus A PB2, PA, and MP regions, and the influenza B virus MP and NS regions. Multiplex RT-PCR was utilized to detect influenza A and B and various subtypes. Chen et al. (2009) disclose a multiplex detection assay for the detection of both influenza and RSV viruses. The diagnostic panel in this example was designed to detect any of Influenza A, Influenza B, RSV A, or RSV B DNA in a singleplex or multiplex reaction. Specifically, it was designed to detect the M gene of each pathogen. The assay includes reagents and primers for the detection of nucleic acid from the target sequence of each species. These references all disclose primer and probe sets useful for the detection of influenza A/B, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2 nucleic acids in biological samples. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had ample motivation to employ these known primers/probes in a multiplex assay to detect multiple infectious respiratory pathogens.
Claim 4 references specific primers directed against influenza A PB2, PA, MP, avian influenza MP, influenza B MP and NS, RSV A, RSV B, and SARS-CoV-2 E, N2, and RdRP. As noted supra, the prior art clearly teaches the generation of specific primers directed against these respiratory pathogens, including the specific targets of the claimed primers. In particular, Mokkapati et al. (2017) disclose suitable gene fragments for the design of primers and probes were identified by first generating sequence alignments of RNA segments using the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)-European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) sequence alignment software, ClustalW. ClustalW is a general purpose multiple sequence alignment program for nucleic acids or proteins that calculates the best match for the selected sequences and aligns them such that the identities, similarities, and differences can be compared. For each potential target, sequence regions, 100-200 nt in length, were chosen that differentiated the targets (see ¶ [0222]).
Design of primers and probes for amplification of RNA fragments in the selected regions was performed using DNA Software, Inc.’s Visual OMP (Oligonucleotide Modeling Platform). Visual OMP models, in silico, the folding and hybridization of single-stranded nucleic acids by incorporating all public domain thermodynamic parameters as well as proprietary nearest-neighbor and multi-state thermodynamic parameters for DNA, RNA, PNA, and Inosine. This enables the effective design of primers and probes for complex assays such as microarrays, microfluidics applications and multiplex PCR (see ¶ [0224]). This is the same approach utilized by Applicant. Specific primer/probe combinations were set forth in Tables A/B.
Thus, the prior art clearly identifies suitable targets in influenza A PB2, PA, MP, avian influenza MP, influenza B MP and NS, RSV A, RSV B, and SARS-CoV-2 E, N2, and RdRP that can be targeted for multiplex analysis. Specific primer and probe set were designed using various art-recognized algorithms. Absent evidence to the contrary, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify suitable gene targets in influenza, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2, and to use art-recognized algorithms to identify suitable primer pairs and diagnostic probes. Applicant’s reply failed to proffer any evidence demonstrating that the recited probes provided any unexpected results with respect to multiplex amplification. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been sufficiently motivated to perform a multiplex assay on known common respiratory viral pathogens such as influenza, RSV, and SARS-CoV-2.
Correspondence
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Jeffrey S. Parkin, Ph.D., whose telephone number is (571) 272-0908. The Examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM. A message may be left on the Examiner's voice mail service. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Janet L. Andres, Ph.D., can be reached at (571) 272-0867. Direct general status inquiries to the Technology Center 1600 receptionist at (571) 272-1600.
Respectfully,
/JEFFREY S PARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671 14 November, 2025