Final Rejection
DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 11/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 and all subsequent dependent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the references cited in the most current rejection as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 20150333800 A1) in view of Song (US 20200297324 A1), Chang (US 20160008032 A1) and Mandell (US 20060287597 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Perry teaches an external transceiver (101, 106) configured for ultrasonic communication with a medical implant (108) configured to distract bone of a patient, the external transceiver comprising: an array of ultrasonic transducers configured to be placed adjacent to a patient's skin and each ultrasonic transducer of the array of ultrasonic transducers configured to send and receive an ultrasonic signal. (Paragraphs 13-18, 29, 32, 34-43, 59, Claims 1, 3, Fig.1)
Perry does not explicitly teach a wearable technology configured to be worn by the patient, wherein the wearable technology is a bracelet and wherein the external transceiver is disposed in a remote control configured to rotate a magnet to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet and wherein thrust bearings of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet and wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor operably coupled to a distraction rod of the medical implant via an adapter plate.
Song teaches wherein the external transceiver (ultrasound transducer array) is disposed in a remote control (140, 210) configured to rotate (rotating) a magnet (230) to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver (140, 210) receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet (output change in magnetic flux density according to the rotation of the magnet 230). (Paragraphs 76, 96-101, 173, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-5)
Song also teaches wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor (240) operably coupled to a distraction rod (211) of the medical implant via an adapter plate (“the position sensor 240 may be variously located as long as it can measure a change in magnetic flux density according to rotation of the magnet 230”). (Paragraphs 99-101, Figs.4-5)
Chang teaches wherein thrust bearings (142,342, 354, 356) of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet (138, 338). (Paragraphs 43, 50, 53, Figs.8, 14, 15A)
Mandell teaches a wearable technology (SCU 302) configured to be worn by the patient, wherein the wearable technology is a bracelet (to implement the SCU 302 as an external device, e.g., within a watch-shaped housing that can be attached to a patient's wrist). (Paragraph 48)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate wherein the external transceiver is disposed in a remote control configured to rotate a magnet to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet and wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor operably coupled to a distraction rod of the medical implant via an adapter plate as taught by Song in order to detect a change in magnetic flux density according to rotation of the magnet and acquire an ultrasound image without shaking and compensate for the backlash value (See Paragraphs 100 and 186 of Song) and further modify Perry to incorporate wherein thrust bearings of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet as taught by Chang in order to enable rotation of the magnet between a radial bearing and a thrust bearing (See Paragraphs 50, 56 of Chang) and further modify Perry to incorporate a wearable technology configured to be worn by the patient, wherein the wearable technology is a bracelet as taught by Mandell in order to have a control unit that is cost effective and/or flexible (See Paragraph 48 of Mandell).
Regarding claim 2, Perry teaches the array of ultrasonic transducers comprising a phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25)
Regarding claim 3, Perry teaches the phased array configured to set an azimuthal focal point and steer the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25, 43, 50-54, 62)
Regarding claim 4, Perry teaches the phased array configured to steer the azimuthal focal point laterally and change a lateral position of the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25, 43, 49-54, 62)
Regarding claim 5, Perry teaches the phased array configured to steer the azimuthal focal point and change a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 43, 49-54, 62)
Regarding claim 6, Perry teaches the phased array configured to change a width of a focal plane at the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 43, 48, 36, 39)
Regarding claim 7, Perry teaches a system for ultrasonic communication in medical implants, the system comprising: an implant (108) configured to be implanted within a patient, the implant comprising an ultrasonic transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals; and an external transceiver (101, 106) configured to communicate with the implant using an ultrasound signal, the external transceiver comprising: an array of ultrasonic transducers configured to be placed adjacent to a patient's skin and configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. (Paragraphs 13-18, 29, 32, 34-43, 59, Fig.1)
Perry does not explicitly teach a wearable technology configured to be worn by the patient, wherein the wearable technology is a bracelet and a distraction rod, a magnet to actuate the distraction rod, and wherein the external transceiver is disposed in a remote control configured to rotate a magnet to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet and wherein thrust bearings of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet and wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor operably coupled to a distraction rod of the medical implant via an adapter plate.
Song teaches a distraction rod (211), a magnet (230) to actuate the distraction rod. (Paragraphs 88-91, Figs.3-5)
Song also teaches wherein the external transceiver (ultrasound transducer array) is disposed in a remote control (140, 210) configured to rotate (rotating) a magnet (230) to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver (140, 210) receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet (“output change in magnetic flux density according to the rotation of the magnet 230”). (Paragraphs 76, 96-101, 173, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-5)
Song also teaches wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor (240) operably coupled to a distraction rod (211) of the medical implant via an adapter plate (the position sensor 240 may be variously located as long as it can measure a change in magnetic flux density according to rotation of the magnet 230). (Paragraphs 99-101, Figs.4-5)
Chang teaches wherein thrust bearings (142,342, 354, 356) of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet (138, 338). (Paragraphs 43, 50, 53, Figs.8, 14, 15A)
Mandell teaches a wearable technology (SCU 302) configured to be worn by the patient, wherein the wearable technology is a bracelet (to implement the SCU 302 as an external device, e.g., within a watch-shaped housing that can be attached to a patient's wrist). (Paragraph 48)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate a distraction rod and a magnet to actuate the distraction rod, and wherein the external transceiver is disposed in a remote control configured to rotate a magnet to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet and wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor operably coupled to a distraction rod of the medical implant via an adapter plate as taught by Song in order to detect a change in magnetic flux density according to rotation of the magnet and acquire an ultrasound image without shaking and compensate for the backlash value (See Paragraphs 100 and 186 of Song) and further modify Perry to incorporate a wearable technology configured to be worn by the patient and wherein thrust bearings of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet as taught by Chang in order to enable rotation of the magnet between a radial bearing and a thrust bearing (See Paragraphs 50, 56 of Chang) and further modify Perry to incorporate a wearable technology configured to be worn by the patient, wherein the wearable technology is a bracelet as taught by Mandell in order to have a control unit that is cost effective and/or flexible (See Paragraph 48 of Mandell).
Regarding claim 8, Perry teaches the array of ultrasonic transducers comprising a phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25)
Regarding claim 9, Perry teaches the phased array configured to set an azimuthal focal point and steer the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25, 43, 49-54, 62)
Regarding claim 10, Perry teaches the phased array configured to steer the azimuthal focal point laterally and change a lateral position of the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25, 43, 49-54, 62)
Regarding claim 11, Perry teaches the phased array configured to steer the azimuthal focal point and vary a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 43, 49-54, 62)
Regarding claim 12, Perry teaches the phased array configured to change a width of a focal plane at the azimuthal focal point. (Paragraphs 43, 48, 36, 39)
Claim(s) 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry in view of Song and Chang.
Regarding claim 15, Perry teaches a method for ultrasonic communication in medical implants, the method comprising the steps: implanting an implant within a patient, the implant comprising an ultrasonic transducer configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals; providing adjacent to the patient's skin an external transceiver configured to communicate with the implant using an ultrasound signal, the external transceiver comprising: an array of ultrasonic transducers configured to transmit and receive ultrasonic signals. (Paragraphs 13-18, 29, 32, 34-43, 59, Fig.1)
Perry does not explicitly teach a distraction rod, a magnet to actuate the distraction rod, and wherein the external transceiver is disposed in a remote control configured to rotate a magnet to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet and wherein thrust bearings of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet and wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor operably coupled to a distraction rod of the medical implant via an adapter plate.
Song teaches a distraction rod (211), a magnet (230) to actuate the distraction rod. (Paragraphs 88-91, Figs.3-5)
Song also teaches wherein the external transceiver (ultrasound transducer array) is disposed in a remote control (140, 210) configured to rotate (rotating) a magnet (230) to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver (140, 210) receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet (output change in magnetic flux density according to the rotation of the magnet 230). (Paragraphs 76, 96-101, 173, Claims 1, 4, Figs.2-5)
Song also teaches wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor (240) operably coupled to a distraction rod (211) of the medical implant via an adapter plate (“the position sensor 240 may be variously located as long as it can measure a change in magnetic flux density according to rotation of the magnet 230”). (Paragraphs 99-101, Figs.4-5)
Chang teaches wherein thrust bearings (142,342, 354, 356) of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet (138, 338). (Paragraphs 43, 50, 53, Figs.8, 14, 15A)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate a distraction rod and a magnet to actuate the distraction rod, and wherein the external transceiver is disposed in a remote control configured to rotate a magnet to distract the medical implant, wherein the external transceiver receives information relating to an axial force on the magnet and wherein the axial force is measured by a force sensor operably coupled to a distraction rod of the medical implant via an adapter plate as taught by Song in order to detect a change in magnetic flux density according to rotation of the magnet and acquire an ultrasound image without shaking and compensate for the backlash value (See Paragraphs 100 and 186 of Song) and further modify Perry to incorporate a wearable technology configured to be worn by the patient and wherein thrust bearings of the medical implant mitigate the effect of the axial force on the magnet as taught by Chang in order to enable rotation of the magnet between a radial bearing and a thrust bearing (See Paragraphs 50, 56 of Chang).
Regarding claim 16, Perry teaches transmitting an ultrasound signal to the implant using the external transceiver, the ultrasound signal configured to activate the implant. (Paragraphs 59, 13-18, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 17, Perry teaches the phased array configured to set an azimuthal focal point and steer the azimuthal focal point relative to the phased array. (Paragraphs 13, 25, 43, 49-54, 62)
Regarding claim 20, Perry teaches varying a focal width of the azimuthal focal point to maximize transmission of an ultrasonic signal transmitted to the implant. (Paragraphs 43, 48, 36, 39)
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry in view of Song, Chang, Mandell and Van Velsor (US 20090150094 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Perry teaches the phased array configured to process the azimuthal focal point to maximize an amount of transmission of ultrasonic signals transmitted to the implant. (Paragraphs 13, 25, 38-43, 50-54, 62)
Perry does not explicitly teach the phased array configured to rasterize the azimuthal focal point.
Van Velsor teaches the phased array configured to rasterize the azimuthal focal point. (Paragraph 45, Figs.8A-8B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate the phased array configured to rasterize the azimuthal focal point as taught by Van Velsor in order generate a scan image of the inspected area (See Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 14, Perry teaches the phased array configured to process a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point to maximize transmission of the ultrasonic signal transmitted to the implant. (Paragraphs 38-43, 49-54, 62)
Perry does not explicitly teach the phased array configured to rasterize a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point.
Van Velsor teaches the phased array configured to rasterize a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point. (Paragraph 45, Figs.8A-8B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate the phased array configured to rasterize a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point as taught by Van Velsor in order generate a scan image of the inspected area (See Paragraph 45).
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry in view of Song, Chang and Van Velsor.
Regarding claim 18, Perry teaches process a lateral position of the azimuthal focal point to maximize transmission of an ultrasonic signal transmitted to the implant. (13, 25, 38-43, 49-54, 62)
Perry does not explicitly teach rasterizing a lateral position of the azimuthal focal point.
Van Velsor teaches rasterizing a lateral position of the azimuthal focal point. (Paragraph 45, Figs.8A-8B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate rasterizing a lateral position of the azimuthal focal point as taught by Van Velsor in order generate a scan image of the inspected area (See Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 19, Perry teaches process a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point to maximize transmission of an ultrasonic signal transmitted to the implant. (Paragraphs 38-43, 49-54, 62)
Perry does not explicitly teach rasterizing a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point.
Velsor teaches rasterizing a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point. (Paragraph 45, Figs.8A-8B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Perry to incorporate rasterizing a focal depth of the azimuthal focal point as taught by Van Velsor in order generate a scan image of the inspected area (See Paragraph 45).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645