Double Patenting
Claims 1 (method), 8 (medium), 15 (server) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 (method), 11 (medium) 16 (system ) of U.S. Patent No. 10140579 in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (20070288312 A1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Wang’s referral and reward service system into Kramer’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of identifying aggregate people based on demographic information and providing service. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s communication about the member’s location, etc. information etc. would help to provide more information related to the target people into Kramer’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that providing more information related to the target people would facilitate to provide the service to the target group.
17358771 (present application)
10140579 (Parent Patent)
1. A method comprising:
receiving a request for situational awareness information from a requester defining a target audience corresponding to a geographic area of interest and one or more target demographic parameters;
receiving location data and demographic data associated with mobile communication devices corresponding to the target audience;
receiving an online query for the target audience from the requester;
determining situational awareness data pertaining to the target audience;
providing the situational awareness data to the requester;
in response to the situational awareness data, receiving a command from the requester to deliver the online query to the target audience;
sending the online query to selected mobile communication devices of the target audience;
receiving responses to the online query from responding mobile communication devices;
generating a survey report comprising a statistical representation of the responses to the online query received from the responding mobile communication devices; and providing the survey report to the requesting device.
Claim 8 A non-transitory computer readable storage medium
Claim 15 An online computer server
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a network device comprising a processor, a request for situational awareness information from a requesting device associated with a requester including one or more of a demographic profile of interest and a topical area of interest; receiving, by the network device, one or more of demographic data and topical area of interest data reported by mobile communication devices or obtained from social media files associated with the mobile communication devices; providing, by the network device, the situational awareness information to the requesting device including demographic statistics for the potential respondents;
receiving, by the network device, a survey request from the requesting device identifying a target audience for an electronic survey based on the situational awareness information;
receiving, by the network device, a target demographic objective in association with the survey request;
directing, by the network device, the survey request to the target audience;
receiving, by the network device, responses to the electronic survey from responding communication devices;
iteratively narrowing, by the network device, the target audience to those potential respondents having increasingly precise demographics needed to meet the target demographic objective as the electronic survey progresses toward completion; and
directing, by the network device, an electronic survey report based on the responses to the requesting device, wherein the electronic survey report comprises demographic statistics for persons associated with the responding communication devices.
Claim 11 A computer readable storage medium
Claim 16 A System
Claims 1 (method), 8 (medium), 15 (server) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 (method), 8 (medium) 15 (device) of U.S. Patent No. 10387786 in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (20070288312 A1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Wang’s referral and reward service system into Kramer’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of identifying aggregate people based on demographic information and providing service. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s communication about the member’s location, etc. information etc. would help to provide more information related to the target people into Kramer’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that providing more information related to the target people would facilitate to provide the service to the target group.
17358771 (present application)
10387786 (Parent Patent)
1. A method comprising:
receiving a request for situational awareness information from a requester defining a target audience corresponding to a geographic area of interest and one or more target demographic parameters;
receiving location data and demographic data associated with mobile communication devices corresponding to the target audience;
receiving an online query for the target audience from the requester;
determining situational awareness data pertaining to the target audience;
providing the situational awareness data to the requester; in response to the situational awareness data, receiving a command from the requester to deliver the online query to the target audience;
sending the online query to selected mobile communication devices of the target audience;
receiving responses to the online query from responding mobile communication devices;
generating a survey report comprising a statistical representation of the responses to the online query received from the responding mobile communication devices; and
providing the survey report to the requesting device.
Claim 8 A non-transitory computer readable storage medium
Claim 15 An online computer server
A method comprising:
receiving, from a requesting device by a network device comprising a processor, a situational awareness request associated with target mobile devices;
receiving, from the requesting device by the network device, security identifier data; accessing, by the network device, security rules;
comparing, by the network device, the security identifier data to the security rules; based on the comparison of the security identifier data to the security rules,
providing, to the requesting device by the network device, situational awareness data comprising personal data statistics associated with the target mobile devices; receiving, from the requesting device by the network device, survey request data representative of a survey request for an electronic survey identifying one or more of a demographic profile of interest and a topical area of interest;
receiving, from the requesting device by the network device, a target demographic objective associated with the survey request data;
sending, by the network device, the survey request data to selected mobile devices of the target mobile devices;
receiving, by the network device, survey results comprising initial response data associated with the survey request data from responding mobile devices of the selected mobile devices;
iteratively identifying, by the network device, narrowed target mobile devices and sending the survey request data to selected mobile devices of the narrowed target mobile devices to converge the survey results toward the target demographic objective as additional responses to the survey request data are received;
in response to determining, by the network device, that the target demographic objective has been satisfied,
sending electronic survey report data, representative of an electronic survey report associated with the survey results, to the requesting device.
Claim 8 A computer storage medium
Claim 15 A network device
Claims 1 (method), 8 (medium), 15 (server) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 (method), 19 (medium) 10 (device) of U.S. Patent No. 9965556 in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (20070288312 A1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Wang’s referral and reward service system into Kramer’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of identifying aggregate people based on demographic information and providing service. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s communication about the member’s location, etc. information etc. would help to provide more information related to the target people into Kramer’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that providing more information related to the target people would facilitate to provide the service to the target group.
17358771 (present application)
9965556 (Parent Patent)
1. A method comprising:
receiving a request for situational awareness information from a requester defining a target audience corresponding to a geographic area of interest and one or more target demographic parameters;
receiving location data and demographic data associated with mobile communication devices corresponding to the target audience;
receiving an online query for the target audience from the requester;
determining situational awareness data pertaining to the target audience;
providing the situational awareness data to the requester;
in response to the situational awareness data,
receiving a command from the requester to deliver the online query to the target audience;
sending the online query to selected mobile communication devices of the target audience;
receiving responses to the online query from responding mobile communication devices;
generating a survey report comprising a statistical representation of the responses to the online query received from the responding mobile communication devices; and providing the survey report to the requesting device.
Claim 8 A non-transitory computer readable storage medium
Claim 15 An online computer server
A method comprising:
collecting, by a network device comprising a processor, geographic location data reported by a mobile communication device associated with a selected member among a plurality of members of a situational awareness system;
analyzing, by the network device, the geographic location data to identify a topic of interest for the selected member;
prompting, by the network device, the selected member to update profile data associated with the selected member to reflect the topic of interest;
receiving, by the network device, an indication that the selected member's profile data has been updated to add the topic of interest;
accessing, by the network device, social media data associated with the selected member and assigning a query priority for the selected member relating to the added topic of interest based on the selected member's social media data;
receiving, by the network device, a situational awareness request related to the added topic of interest from a requester communication device other than the mobile communication device associated with the selected member, the situational awareness request comprising a geographic area of interest;
collecting, by the network device, geographic location data reported by the mobile communication devices associated with the plurality of members;
identifying, by the network device, mobile communication devices associated with the members located in the geographic area of interest;
obtaining, by the network device, demographic data including at least age and gender and/or subject matter of interest from member profiles for the members associated with the mobile communication devices located in the geographic area of interest; providing, by the network device, situational awareness information including demographic statistics for the members associated with the mobile communication devices located in the geographic area of interest, wherein the demographic statistics reflect the age and gender and/or subject matter of interest for the selected member to the requester communication device;
receiving from the requester communication device, by the network device, an online query from a requester relating to the topic of interest and the geographic area of interest; transmitting, by the network device, the online query to the mobile communication devices associated with the members located in the geographic area of interest in a priority order reflecting the query priority assigned to the selected member; receiving, by the network device, responses to the online query from responding mobile communication devices located in the geographic area of interest; and
transmitting to the requester communication device, by the network device, demographic statistics for the responding mobile communication devices including at least age and gender and/or subject matter of interest for the members associated with the responding mobile communication devices.
Claim 10 A network device.
Claim 19 A non-transitory computer storage medium
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al. (Kramer) US 2008/0306826 in view of Wang US 20070288312 and Sandberg et al. (Sandberg) US 2015/0269604
In regard to claim 1, Kramer disclose A method comprising: ([0011])
receiving a request for situational awareness information from a requester defining a target audience corresponding to a geographic area of interest and one or more target demographic parameters; ([0011]-[0022] [0043]-[0048] [0085]-[0096][0236]-[0248] [0261]-[0268] [0445][0446] [0608] [0609] The system includes at least mobile communication devices of members and a data processor having data comprising demographics of people, the manager can define a promotion recipient pool by specifying demographic information such as salary or education, or by specifying areas of interest such as sports interests or other interests to identify a group of people corresponding to the group of devices)
receiving location data and demographic data associated with mobile communication devices corresponding to the target audience; ([0073]-[0079] [0455]-[0456][0568]-[0570] Members describe themselves by submitting personal profiles consisting of demographic and personal fields. Demographic information is provided to venues and/or sponsors and the geographical location of the members’ devices are tracked and received)
receiving an online query for the target audience from the requester; ([0043]-[0054] [0192]-[0197] receive a request to send material to a subset of member with the desired demographic or desired behavior from the promotor)
determining situational awareness data pertaining to the target audience; ([0043]-[0054] [0192]-[0197] [0463]-[0467] the system determine if the member is at the geographic location as it identified before)
But Kramer fail to explicitly disclose “providing the situational awareness data to the requester; in response to the situational awareness data, receiving a command from the requester to deliver the online query to the target audience; sending the online query to selected mobile communication devices of the target audience; receiving responses to the online query from responding mobile communication devices;”
Wang disclose providing the situational awareness data to the requester; ([0268]-[0270] the device location may be captured and transmitted to the referral service of the service provider)
in response to the situational awareness data, receiving a command from the requester to deliver the online query to the target audience; ([0019]-[0020] [0037]-[0038] [0268]-[0277] the device location may be captured and transmitted to the referral service of the service provider, corresponding to the location or time etc. information, the advertising is sent to the interested consumers)
sending the online query to selected mobile communication devices of the target audience; ([0019]-[0020][0037]-[0038][0275]-[0277] publish, advertise and deliver a specific product, service, or an offer, reward, etc. which has certain constraints such as time, location, consumer target, etc. to consumer target and need the consumer target to accept)
receiving responses to the online query from responding mobile communication devices; ([0019]-[0020][0037]-[0038][0274][0275]-[0277] the customer accepts the merchant offer and that is transmitted to the merchant and the merchant provide the needed product or services, offer, reward, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Wang’s referral and reward service system into Kramer’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of identifying aggregate people based on demographic information and providing service. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s referral and reward service system based on user’s location, etc. would help to provide more services for the target people into Kramer’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that providing more services for the target people would improve user experience using the device.
But Kramer and Wang fail to explicitly disclose “generating a survey report comprising a statistical representation of the responses to the online query received from the responding mobile communication devices; and providing the survey report to the requesting device.”
Sandberg disclose generating a survey report comprising a statistical representation of the responses to the online query received from the responding mobile communication devices; and providing the survey report to the requesting device. ([0001] [0025]-[0035] [0038]-[0039] collecting information from the group of mobile respondents and providing the information to the requesting party and interpret information using statistical method, etc. Note: statistical is not functional language, there is not much patent weight.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Sandberg’s survey using mobile respondent observed activities into Wang and Kramer’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of identifying aggregate people based on demographic information and providing service. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Sandberg’s survey using mobile respondent observed activities would help to provide more characteristic information for the target people into Wang and Kramer’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that providing more characteristic information for the target people would help the system to provide more user desired services.
In regard to claim 2, Kramer and Wang, Sandberg disclose the method of claim 1,
Kramer disclose further comprising paying a reward to accounts associated with the responding mobile communications. ([0022] [0061]-[0072] by accepting a promotion, a member may receive reward from the promotor)
In regard to claim 3, Kramer and Wang, Sandberg disclose the method of claim 2,
Kramer disclose further comprising providing an advertisement or promotion to the responding mobile communication devices. ([0022] [0061]-[0072] by accepting a promotion, a member may receive reward from the promotor)
In regard to claim 4, Kramer and Wang, Sandberg disclose the method of claim 1,
Kramer disclose wherein the situational awareness report further comprises a graphical representation of the geographic area of interest and geographic location data for the mobile communication devices of the target audience. ([0033]-[0045] [0205] [0445]-[0461][0488] [0583][0584] view demographics reports for members and venues or send promotional material, surveys, or offers to members and display geographical information and interest for the member)
In regard to claim 6, Kramer and Sandberg, Wang disclose The method of claim 3, the rejection is incorporated herein.
Kramer disclose further comprising charging an account associated with the requesting device for the electronic survey. ([0028]-[0029] [0188]-[0189] charge the venue a placement fee upon performance by a member in response to a venue’s promotional material posted.)
In regard to claim 7, Kramer and Sandberg, Wang disclose The method of claim 4, the rejection is incorporated herein.
Kramer disclose wherein the situational awareness data comprising a number of mobile communication devices in the target audience. ([0605]-[0608] displaying based on restrictions of the target members with the devices.)
In regard to claims 8-11, 14, claims 8-11,14 are medium claims corresponding to the method claims 1-4, 7 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1-4, 7.
In regard to claim 12, Kramer and Sandberg, Wang disclose The computer readable storage medium of claim 8, the rejection is incorporated herein.
Kramer disclose wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving profile data relating to the requester; and providing the situational awareness data to the request based on an analysis of access security rules, the profile data relating to the requester, and the situational awareness request. ([0045] [0205] [0445]-[0461][0488] [0583][0584] the functionality of the Hoozware system is limited to those who have signed up and established a username and password with the system. After logging into the system, some users, such as venue managers and administrators, may view demographics reports for members and venues or send promotional material, surveys, or offers to members. These capabilities are not available to regular tracked members of the system. As such, the situational awareness report is generated in response to a request (corresponds to situational awareness request) from a user who has the proper profile setting (corresponds to profile data relating to the requester, e.g. venue manager, sponsor, or administrator) and who has successfully logged into the system with their username and password (corresponds to access security rules))
In regard to claims 15-18 claims 15-18 are computer server claims corresponding to the method claims 1-4 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1-4.
In regard to claim 19, claim 19 is a computer server claim corresponding to the medium claim 12 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 12.
Claims 5, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al. (Kramer) US 2008/0306826, Sandberg et al. (Sandberg) US 2015/0269604 and Wang US 20070288312 in view of O’Hanlon US 8,817,959
In regard to claim 5, Kramer and Sandburg, Wang disclose The method of claim 1, the rejection is incorporated herein.
But Kramer and Sandburg, Wang fail to explicitly disclose “further comprising:
Receiving a direct contact information request from the requester seeking direct contact information for a chosen mobile communication device of the target audience; transmitting an opt-in request to the chosen mobile communication device of the target audience requesting permission to provide the direct contact information for the chosen mobile communication device to the requester; receiving a response from the chosen mobile communication device providing permission to provide the direct contact information for the chosen mobile communication device to the requester; and in response to receiving the permission, providing the direct contact information for the chosen mobile communication device to the requester.”
O’Hanlon disclose further comprising:
further comprising:
Receiving a direct contact information request from the requester seeking direct contact information for a chosen mobile communication device of the target audience; transmitting an opt-in request to the chosen mobile communication device of the target audience requesting permission to provide the direct contact information for the chosen mobile communication device to the requester; receiving a response from the chosen mobile communication device providing permission to provide the direct contact information for the chosen mobile communication device to the requester; and in response to receiving the permission, providing the direct contact information for the chosen mobile communication device to the requester. (O’Hanlon, 15:40 – 16:26, “The system 100 may provide a "share" button on every page. Thus, if someone wants to share that website, property listing, product, or service information page, a click on the button will produce a drop-down or pop-up window into which the user can enter an email address or phone number for each person to whom "share" messages will be sent with the information to be shared from that website or listing or product page. […] For each person whose contact information has been provided, the system 100 then sends a text or email message to that person's mobile phone number or email address though message handler 114, making every link traceable in the same manner as a subscriber-initiated text or email blast with a link to the page to be shared. […] The friend may opt in to receive additional information by clicking the link and opting in. Because the friend did not request the link to the shared information, the friend becomes a new contact for subscriber-initiated interactions, and the system may send an opt-in email or text message if the friend doesn't respond to the shared information link message. It may be desirable to set a time limit which must pass before the system sends the opt-in message, for example 24 hours, to see if the friend initiates a contact with the system. If the friend does not click on the link within the time limit, the system may then send the opt-in email or text message. If the friend does not respond or opts out, the friend's contact may remain in the system but will not be available for sending outgoing messages from the system. If the friend clicks on a link, the email or telephone lead is reported to the subscriber, with the reported information including the customer telephone number or email address, the contact's telephone or email address, the identification of the clicked links, and the date and time each link was clicked.” A person with the device can be asked to provide the direct contact and the system sends an opt-in message to the potential contact on behalf of the subscriber (corresponds to requester). If the potential contact opts-in, the system sends the subscriber the contact’s telephone or email address.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate O’Hanlon’s method of handling message and distribution information into Wang, Sandburg and Kramer’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of identifying aggregate people based on demographic information and providing service. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because O’Hanlon’s identifying member information would help to provide more member specific information into Wang, Sandburg and Kramer’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that providing member specific information would improve efficiency of the information distribution.
In regard to claim 13, claim 13 is a medium corresponding to the medium claim 5 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 5.
In regard to claim 20, claim 20 is a computer server claim corresponding to the medium claim 5 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 7/23/2025 with regard to claim 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Documents PATENT DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 20150074515 A1 2015-03-12 Seeman et al.
SYSTEMS AND METHODS OF INFERENTIAL DEMOGRAPHIC ANALYTICS ON POTENTIAL SURVEY RESPONDENTS WHEN USING ONLINE INTERCEPT POLLS
Seeman et al. disclose Various embodiments are described herein for methods and systems for carrying out inferential demographic analytics on potential survey respondents when using online intercept polls. In one example embodiment, the inferential demographic analytics system comprises a memory unit and a processing unit coupled to the memory unit. The processing unit is configured to direct respondents to one or more polling websites offering surveys using random URL intercepts, where the one or more respondents are connected to a network via a client system, record survey data corresponding to inputs provided by the one or more respondents to the surveys, determine demographics data for the one or more polling websites, where the demographics data comprise one or more attributes defining characteristics of the respondents, process the survey data based on the demographics data to generate processed survey data and store the survey data, the demographics data and the processed survey data in the memory unit… see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143