DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 are pending in the application. Claims 3-5, 8-10, and 13-19 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mojarrad et al. (US 2022/0288305 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mojarrad discloses an auto-injector (drug delivery device 10) for administering a beneficial agent (drug 102) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0026] and [0028]), the auto-injector (drug delivery device 10) comprising:
a pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) defined by a pressure chamber wall (wall 101) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0027] and [0042]), and the pressure chamber wall (wall 101) configured to define a boundary of the pressure chamber (wall 101) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0042]);
a primary container (container 110) comprising a sidewall (wall 112), a stopper (plunger 120), an inner surface (interior surface 112a), and an outlet (distal/right opening of container 110), the sidewall (wall 112) defining a longitudinal axis (axis A) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0027]-[0028], [0040]), the primary container (container 110) being completely housed within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) with an entirety of the sidewall (wall 112) of the primary container (container 110) within the boundary of the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0006] and [0042]), the sidewall (wall 112) and the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) being in fixed position relative to one another (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0040]), the sidewall (wall 112) of the primary container (container 110) forming no portion of the boundary of the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0006] and [0042]), the entirety of the sidewall (wall 112) configured to receive a balanced pressure exposure within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0042]), the stopper (plunger 120) being disposed relative to the inner surface (interior surface 112a) and sealingly engaged to the inner surface (interior surface 112a) and movable along the longitudinal axis (axis A) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0027]-[0028] and [0040]), the primary container (container 110) further comprising a containment volume (reservoir 114) defined by the stopper (plunger 120) and the inner surface (interior surface 112a) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0028]);
an administration device (container access mechanism 130) aligned with the longitudinal axis (axis A) and configured to establish fluid communication with the containment volume (reservoir 114) through the outlet (distal/right opening of container 110) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0032]);
wherein an increase in a pressure within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) increases the pressure within the containment volume (reservoir 114) such that the stopper (plunger 120) moves along the longitudinal axis (axis A) relative to the inner surface (interior surface 112a) to reduce the containment volume (reservoir 114) and to expel the beneficial agent (drug 102) through the administration device (container access mechanism 130) along the longitudinal axis (axis A) in the same direction as travel of the stopper (plunger 120) (see Figs. 1-4, par. [0032], [0035], [0042], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 1, wherein the primary container (container 110) is disposed concentrically within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) about the longitudinal axis (axis A) (see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 1, further comprising:
an energy source (actuator 16 and mechanical or electrical means, see par. [0031]-[0035]) selectively activatable to increase the pressure within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) upon activation (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0031]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 6, wherein the pressure within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) equals the pressure within the containment volume (reservoir 114) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0035] and [0042]).
Regarding claim 11, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 6, wherein the energy source (actuator 16 and mechanical or electrical means, see par. [0031]-[0035]) comprises one of compressed gas or liquefied gas (see par. [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 1, wherein the administration device (container access mechanism 130) is one of a needle, a dispenser, or a connector (see Figs. 1-4, [0032]-[0033], [0044]-[0045], container access mechanism 130 includes a container needle 132; container access mechanism 130 dispenses drug 102 from container 110 into fluid conduit 18; container access mechanism 130 connects to container 110 and fluid conduit 18).
Regarding claim 20, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 1, wherein the increase in the pressure within the pressure chamber (pressure chamber 100) acts upon an exterior surface (second end 120b) of the stopper (plunger 120) to increase the pressure within the containment volume (reservoir 114) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0028], [0035], and [0042]).
Regarding claim 21, Mojarrad discloses the auto-injector of claim 1, further comprising:
the containment volume (reservoir 114) comprising the beneficial agent (drug 102) such that reduction of the containment volume (reservoir 114) expels the beneficial agent (drug 102) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0035] and [0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Mojarrad does not disclose an administration device aligned with an axis of the sidewall. This argument is not found to be persuasive. In the rejection of claim 1 above, the Examiner interprets that container access mechanism 130 of Mojarrad corresponds to the claimed administration device. Figures 1-2 clearly show that container access mechanism 130 is aligned with axis A. Thus, this interpretation of Mojarrad appears to teach an administration device aligned with an axis of the sidewall in the manner currently recited in claim 1. Applicant’s argument that needle insertion mechanism 20 must be considered the claimed “administration mechanism” is not found to be persuasive because the claim language does not require the administration mechanism to be the structure which pierces into the patient’s skin.
In regards to independent claim 1, Applicant further argues that Mojarrad does not disclose expulsion along the longitudinal axis in the same direction as travel of the stopper. This argument is not found to be persuasive. Plunger 120 (corresponding to the claimed stopper) expels the drug 102 in a direction from the second end 110b of the container 110 to the first end 110a of the container 110 (see Figs. 1-4, par. [0035], [0040], [0044]-[0045]). As shown in Figs. 1-4, plunger 120 moves along the axis A. The drug 102 travels through container access mechanism 130 in the same (left to right) direction as the plunger 120 (see Figs. 1-4, par. [0032], [0035], [0042], [0044]-[0045]). Therefore, Mojarrad appears to teach this limitation as currently recited in the claim.
In regards to dependent claim 2, Applicant argues that Mojarrad does not disclose the primary container disposed concentrically within the pressure chamber about the longitudinal axis. This argument is not found to be persuasive. Container 110 is concentric within the pressure chamber 100 about axis A as shown in Figs. 1-4. Therefore, Mojarrad appears to teach this limitation as currently recited in the claim.
Conclusion
/AVERY SMALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783