DETAILED ACTION
Claims 36, 38, 40-46, 48 and 51-68 are pending.
Claims 64-66 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/28/2025.
Claims 36, 38, 40-46, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 are presently under consideration.
4. Claims 36, 38, 40-46, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
(i) Claim 36 is indefinite, because the recitation of “the construct” lacks proper antecedent basis in preceding parts of the claim.
(ii) Claim 68 is indefinite as being in improper Markush format. The Office recommends the use of the phrase "selected from the group consisting of ..." with the use of the conjunction "and" rather than "or" in listing the species. See MPEP 803.02.
(iii) Claims 38, 40-46, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 are indefinite, because they encompass the indefinite limitations of the claim(s) on which they depend.
In view of the above, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot unequivocally interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement. Applicant is reminded that any amendment must point to a basis in the specification so as not to add New Matter. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06.
6. Claims 36, 38, 40-46, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contain(s) subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a New Matter rejection.
Applicant does not point out the support for the amendment, and the disclosure as-filed does not appear to provide adequate written description of the following newly added limitations:
(i) Neither the specification nor the claims as originally filed provide adequate written description of an extracellular segment which “consists of amino acids 99-134 of SEQ ID NO: 10.”
(ii) Neither the specification nor the claims as originally filed provide adequate written description of newly added limitation “wherein the construct does not comprise a third intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a third receptor protein.” The specification discloses in Example 2 one specific CoStAR comprising only CD28 and CD40 costimulatory domain, which is insufficient to support the full scope of a genus of all possible pairwise combinations, in either order, of the 23 members recited in claim 36(b).
The amended claims now recite limitations which were not clearly disclosed in the specification or claims as filed, and change the scope of the instant disclosure as filed. These limitations introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Applicant is required to cancel the New Matter in the response to this Office Action. Alternatively, Applicant is invited to clearly point out the written support for the newly added limitations.
8. Claims 36, 38, 42-44, 51-52, 57-58 and 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20180201902).
Wang teaches chimeric costimulatory receptors (CCRs) which comprise a single domain antibody, an extracellular hinge region and a transmembrane domain from CD8 or CD28, and intracellular signaling domains of CD28 and 4-1BB but do not comprise a third intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a third receptor protein (e.g. [0056], [0090], [0105]), which are within the scope of instant claims 36(b), 38, 42-44, 51-52, 57-58 and 61-63, thereby anticipating these claims.
8. Claims 36, 38, 40, 42-45, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lock et al. (US 20190388468) in view of Gottschalk et al. (US 20210252058).
Embodiment (b) of claim 36 is directed to a chimeric costimulatory receptor comprising:
(i) a disease- or tumour-associated antigen binding domain, linked to
(ii) an extracellular segment of a stimulatory receptor protein, linked to
(iii) a transmembrane domain, linked to
(iv) a first intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a receptor protein, and linked to
(v) a second intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a second receptor protein,
wherein the extracellular segment, first intracellular segment, and second intracellular segment are independently segments from: CD2, CD9, CD26, CD27, CD28, CD29, CD38, CD43, CD46, CD49d, CD55, CD73, CD81, CD82, CD99, CD100, CD134 (OX40), CD137 (41BB), CD150 (SLAM), CD270 (HVEM), CD278 (ICOS), CD357 (GITR), and EphB6, and
wherein the construct does not comprise a third intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a third receptor protein.
Lock teaches chimeric costimulatory receptors (CCR) which comprise an antigen-binding domain, a transmembrane domain, and cytoplasmic costimulatory domains, but do not comprise or does not consist of an ITAM containing domain such as CD3ζ or another primary cytoplasmic signaling domain (e.g. [0031], [0079], [0105]).
Lock describes a working example of an anti-CD20 CCR comprising intracellular costimulatory signaling domains of CD28 and 4-1BB, which does not comprise a third intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a third receptor protein (e.g. [0012]-[0017]). CCR costimulatory domains can also be from CD2, CD27, CD40, CD46, OX40, HVEM or ICOS, among others (e.g. [0030], [0031], [0079], [0105], [0185], [0195]).
CCRs also comprise a linker or a spacer or a hinge between the antigen binding domain and the transmembrane domain (e.g. [0012], [0179], [0248]), which is within the scope of the “extracellular segment” recited in instant claims. Lock exemplifies transmembrane domains derived from CD8 and CD28, and spacer/hinge region derived from CD8 (e.g. [0012], [0179], [0248]).
While Lock does not specifically exemplify the extracellular segment derived from one of the molecules listed in instant claim 36(b), Gottschalk teaches CCRs comprising both the transmembrane domain and the extracellular hinge region segment from either CD8 or CD28 (e.g. [0095], [0102], claims 9 and 23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to test various extracellular segments, including one from CD28, in Lock’s CCRs, to optimize receptor function for each antigen-binding domain, because the optimal nature and length of extracellular spacer or linker domain connecting the antigen-binding domain to the transmembrane domain depends on the nature of the antigen and on the specific properties of the antigen-binding domain, as one of skill in the art would be aware. For example, Gottschalk teaches adjusting the size of the linker domain to ensure that the antigen-binding moiety is an optimal distance from the transmembrane domain (e.g. [0095]).
More specifically, Gottschalk teaches chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) molecules comprising an antigen-binding domain, a linker domain, a transmembrane domain, a cytoplasmic lymphocyte activation domain and a and a CD40 cytoplasmic signaling domain (e.g. claims 1 and 22), wherein the lymphocyte activation domain is one of DAP10, DAP12, FCER1G, CD3ζ, CD3ε, CD3γ, CD3ζ, CD5, CD22, CD226, CD79A and CD79B (e.g. claim 18, and [0111]). As such, Gottschalk’s CAR does not comprise a third intracellular segment comprising an intracellular signaling domain of a third receptor protein.
Gottschalk further exemplifies CAR extracellular linker domain as “all or part of the extracellular region of CD8, CD4 or CD28” [0095], i.e. Gottschalk specifically teaches the complete extracellular region of CD28. The transmembrane domain is derived from CD8, CD8α, CD4, CD3ζ, CD28, CD40, CD134 (OX-40), or CD7 (e.g. claim 9).
Additionally, Gottschalk teaches co-stimulatory fusion proteins ([0129]-[0135]). “In certain embodiments, the co-stimulatory fusion protein comprises an extracellular target-binding domain (as disclosed above), a transmembrane domain (as described above) and a cytoplasmic domain, wherein the cytoplasmic domain comprises at least one co-stimulatory protein (as described above). In certain embodiments, the co-stimulatory fusion protein does not comprise a lymphocyte activation domain (e.g., Cd3ζ).” [0132] Non-limiting examples of co-stimulatory proteins include 4-1BB (CD137), CD28, ICOS, CD134 (OX-40), BTLA, CD27, CD30, GITR, CD226, and HVEM [0119].
The combined teachings of Lock and Gottschalk would have provided both the motivation and the expectation of success to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elements of chimeric receptors as recited in instant claims 36, 38, 42-45, 48, 51-52, 57-58, 61, 63 and 67-68 in order to optimize the receptor properties for each particular antigen-binding domain.
Claim 53 is included in the rejection, because Gottschalk teaches folate receptor as a target [0082]. Claims 54-55 are included, because Gottschalk teaches receptors fused to epitope tags [0013]. Claims 53, 59-60 and 62 are included, because Gottschalk teaches co-stimulatory fusion proteins introduced into the host cell on the same vector as the CAR but separated by a separation sequence such as 2A [0135].
In view of the above, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
10. Claims 36, 38, 40-46, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 stand rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patents No. 12187778 and 11945876 (both of record).
Claims 36, 38, 40-46, 48, 51-63 and 67-68 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending applications USSN 17/843480, 17/936102, 18/005330, 18/157027, 18/316548, and 18/719985 (all of record).
Applicant has not substantively addressed the grounds of rejection presented in sections 10-12 of the Office action dated 03/18/2025, which are therefore maintained and incorporated by reference herein as if reiterated in full.
11. The following prior art is cited of record but not presently relied upon:
US 20220074945, e.g. claims 16-18, [0172], [0269];
US 20200207852, e.g. [0097];
US 20200399355, e.g. [0214];
US 20200308234, e.g. [0444];
US 20190055312, e.g. [0185];
US 20190023761, e.g. [0411];
US 20180305433, e.g. [0107];
US 20200317777; e.g. [0195].
12. Conclusion: no claim is allowed.
/ILIA I OUSPENSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644