DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the amendment received on 12/22/25. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaschillo et al. (US 2005/0050068), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2004/0181543).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vaschillo et al. (US 2005/0050068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong One asks: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea? See MPEP 2106.04 Part I. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
With respect to claim 1, the limitation of “detecting an incompatibility”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “detect” in the context of this claim encompasses the user observing a difference.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2a, prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1-4 are directed towards a system comprising a processor and a memory, however, this is recited as a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, the claim recites “receiving… a view definition” and “provide… an indication.” These elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and provide only insignificant extra solution activity that is mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
With respect to “receiving… a view definition”, the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
With respect to “provide… an indication”, the courts have found limitations directed towards presenting to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 2, the limitations are directed towards further mental processes. The limitation of “determine one or more suggested modifications”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determine” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking of a solution.
With respect to claims 3 and 4, the limitations are directed towards further defining the view definition, which is an element that is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claims 5-9, limitations present the same issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claims 1-4 and have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 10, the limitations are directed towards storing data and a first data model, the second data model, and of the management system implementing a hub data model. These data models do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
With respect to claim 11, the limitations are directed towards further defining the view definition, which is an element that is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claim 12, the limitations discuss a materialized view management service offered as part of a provider network, however, there are not limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation of “evaluating… The view definition”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “evaluating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user observing a difference.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2a, prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 13-20 are directed towards a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and one or more computing devices, however, this is recited as a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, the claim recites “receiving… a view definition” and “executing … the plan.” These elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and provide only insignificant extra solution activity that is mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
With respect to “receiving… a view definition”, the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
With respect to “executing … the plan”, the courts have found limitations directed towards invoking computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process as mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation of “identifying an incompatibility”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “identifying” in the context of this claim encompasses the user observing a difference.
The limitation of “determining a resolution”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determine” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking of a solution.
With respect to claim 15, the claim recites “provide… an indication” and “receiving… the resolution.” These elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and provide only insignificant extra solution activity that is mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea.
With respect to “provide… an indication”, the courts have found limitations directed towards presenting to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
With respect to “receiving… the resolution”, the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
With respect to claim 16, the limitations are directed towards further mental processes. The limitation of “determining one or more suggested modifications”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking of a solution.
With respect to claim 17, the limitations are directed towards further defining the view definition, which is an element that is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claim 18, the claim recites “receiving a request” and “automatically creating the mapping view definition.” These elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and provide only insignificant extra solution activity that is mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea.
With respect to “receiving a request”, the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
The limitation of “automatically creating the mapping view definition”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “automatically creating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally creating an association.
With respect to claim 19, the limitations are directed towards further mental processes. The limitation of “determining a resolution”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking of a solution.
With respect to claim 20, the limitations discuss a materialized view management service offered as part of a provider network, however, there are not limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vaschillo et al. (US 2005/0050068).
With respect to claim 13, Vaschillo teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, storing program instructions that when executed on or across one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to implement
receiving, by a view management system, a view definition that specifies one or more source data stores and a target data store (Vaschillo, pa 0044, At 200, the data models for data mapping are identified. At 202, once the data models are identified, the corresponding metadata for each model is identified. At 204, data mapping commences from the source model to the target model. & pa 0049, When one data source schema is mapped to another, what is being requested is that it is desired for the target schema to be a view of the source schema.) wherein the view definition is specified according to a query language (Vaschillo, pa 0007, The Target holds the view of the source model, where the mapping is materialized using the query language of the target domain.), and wherein the view management system implements a hub data model that is extensible to include a first data model specifying first valid types according to a first type system for the one or more source data sources and a second data model specifying second valid types according to a second type system for the target data store (Vaschillo, pa 0005, Each data model exposes at least one of three concepts (or expressions) to mapping: structure, field, and relationship. All of these concepts can be mapped between the data models. It is possible that one data model may have only one or two of the expressions to be mapped into another data model that has three expressions & pa 0259-0260, Referring now to FIG. 10, there is illustrated a hub-and-spoke implementation of the mapping architecture of the present invention. This implementation is particularly useful in a large network environment, e.g., the Internet or large corporate network, where the usefulness of data paths at any point in time can be impacted due to network interruptions, available bandwidth, etc. There is provided a central control entity 1000 in communication with any number of data sources (S1, S2, and S3) from and/or through which data is being moved or queried, and any number of intermediate data targets 1008 (also denoted as T/S). Ultimately, it may be desired that the mapping is from one of the sources (S1, S2, and S3) to a target T2. [0260] The central control entity 1000 includes a control component 1002 for controlling all aspects of the entity 1000, including a description component resource 1004 that stores a number of accessible description algorithms for transforming data from one type of data model to another (e.g., a relational, Object, XML, . . . )).
evaluating, by the view management system, the view definition according to the hub data model to determine a plan to generate a view according to the view definition (Vaschillo, pa 0044, At 206, the system determines if a mapping error has occurred. … if a mapping error has not occurred, flow is from 206 to 210 to continue the mapping process until completed.) based, at least in part, on an evaluation of an item of a data type in data of the view with respect to a rule of the second type system that specifies one or more valid features of the data type for the target data store (Vaschillo, pa 0119, The Target must be a valid structure in the target domain that has relationship to the mapped target. The Target must be a name of a related mapped structure in the target domain. It is an error to specify a name for a structure (Type, Element) that is not mapped in another map or does not have a relationship to the Target on the parent Map. & pa 0123, The relationship between two mapped target structures must be mapped. Any two mapped target structures that have a relationship defined in the target domain which are mapped to source structures through the Source attribute must have a RelationshipMap. …This validation happens using the following algorithm: For each mapped target structure get all relationships to other target structures. { For each related target structure { IF ( The related target structure is mapped And (apply only to XML domain, please ignore for Object) The related structure is a child element and the current target structure map does not mapped using the "Ref" attribute. Validate that a valid RelationshipMap based on the validation rules above exists. } }); and
executing, by the view management system, the plan to generate the view (Vaschillo, pa 0049, when mapping a relational database to XML, the view is being defined where the look (or schema) is ultimately defined by XSD, and a mapping file defines how to generate (by processing and executing) this view over the relational database represented with an RSD file. & pa 0060, At the execution step, the mapping processor exposes the mapping information which when combined with the XQuery statement will be used by the SQLGen engine to compose a query that corresponds to the relevant parts of the mapping.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaschillo et al. (US 2005/0050068), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2004/0181543).
With respect to claim 1, Wu teaches a system, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory, storing program instructions that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to implement a materialized view management service, the materialized view management service configured to:
receive, via an interface, a view definition for a materialized view, the view definition specifying data to obtain from one or more source data stores that store the data of the materialized view and identifying a target data store to store the data of the materialized view a target data store to store the data of the materialized view (Vaschillo, pa 0044, At 200, the data models for data mapping are identified. At 202, once the data models are identified, the corresponding metadata for each model is identified. At 204, data mapping commences from the source model to the target model. & pa 0049, When one data source schema is mapped to another, what is being requested is that it is desired for the target schema to be a view of the source schema.), wherein the one or more source data stores support the first type system (Vaschillo, pa 0005, Each data model exposes at least one of three concepts (or expressions) to mapping: structure, field, and relationship. All of these concepts can be mapped between the data models. It is possible that one data model may have only one or two of the expressions to be mapped into another data model that has three expressions);
detect an incompatibility between a schema for the data specified in the view definition with a second type system of the target data store based, at least in part, on a determination that an item of a data type in the data, supported according to the first type system, violates the rule of the second type system that specifies one or more valid features of the data type for the target data store (Vaschillo, pa 0044, At 206, the system determines if a mapping error has occurred. If YES, flow is to 208 to report the error., pa 0119, The Target must be a valid structure in the target domain that has relationship to the mapped target. The Target must be a name of a related mapped structure in the target domain. It is an error to specify a name for a structure (Type, Element) that is not mapped in another map or does not have a relationship to the Target on the parent Map. & pa 0123, The relationship between two mapped target structures must be mapped. Any two mapped target structures that have a relationship defined in the target domain which are mapped to source structures through the Source attribute must have a RelationshipMap. …This validation happens using the following algorithm: For each mapped target structure get all relationships to other target structures. { For each related target structure { IF ( The related target structure is mapped And (apply only to XML domain, please ignore for Object) The related structure is a child element and the current target structure map does not mapped using the "Ref" attribute. Validate that a valid RelationshipMap based on the validation rules above exists. } }).
Vaschillo doesn't expressly discuss provide, via the interface, an indication of the incompatibility of the schema specified in the view definition with the type system for the target data store.
Wu teaches receive, via an interface, a view definition for a materialized view (Wu, pa 0598, In step 1415, the process 1490 detects a user selection of one or more data sources from a list of known data sources.), the view definition specifying data to obtain from one or more source data stores that store the data of the materialized view (Wu, pa 0596, The user then selects one display template which is detected by the process 1490 in step 1410, and which is used for the new data view. Preferably, a display type is associated with a default display template and on selection of a display type, the default display template is automatically selected. & pa 0597, The display template contains a plurality of data component slots 1505 to 1525. The data components must be specified for these slots in order to create a new data view. The data component slots are related according to the semantics of the selected display type. For example, in a graph, a data component associated with the y-axis must have a point-wise correspondence with the data component associated with the x-axis. Each display type is thus associated with a particular set of semantics & pa 0598, In step 1425, the process 1490 detects a user specification of one or more data components to be included in the data view), wherein the one or more source data stores support the first type system;
detect an incompatibility between a schema for the data specified in the view definition (Wu, pa 0599, In step 1430, the process 1490 operates to detect a user request of the data browsing application 120 to provide a list of recommendations for other data components that may be relevant to the data view being created. According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view.)
provide, via the interface, an indication of the incompatibility of the schema specified in the view definition with the type system for the target data store (Wu, pa 0599, According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Vaschillo with the teachings of Wu because it assists users in making data views relevant to their tasks (Wu, pa 0595).
With respect to claim 2, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the materialized view management service is further configured to: determine one or more suggested modifications to the view definition to resolve the incompatibility; and wherein the one or more suggested modifications are provided with the indication of the incompatibility of the data type (Wu, pa 0599, According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view).
With respect to claim 3, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the view definition includes a function mapping the item in the data to the data type in the second type system for the target data store and wherein to detect the incompatibility between the schema for the data, specified in the view definition with the second type system for the target data store, the materialized view management service is configured to detect a missing data type according to the rule when evaluating the function specified in the view definition mapping the item to the data type in the second type system for the target data store (Vaschillo, pa 0151 If the SourceRelationship cardinality is OneToOne the TargetField type must be scalar, otherwise it is an error. If the SourceRelationship cardinality is OneToMany the TargetField type must be list type, otherwise it is an error. & Wu, pa 0599, According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view & pa 0745, Next, in step 3020, the software searches for views 2710 that contain all or a subset of the required data components 2730 … Step 3040, performed by the view ranking processor 2745 ranks the views 2740 according to how well they match the set of required data components 2730. Finally, in step 3050, the processor 2745, presents the ranked views as a list 2750 to the user for selection and indicating the number of required data components that were directly included.).
With respect to claim 4, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the view definition is a mapping view definition, wherein the mapping view definition identifies a schema for the view specified in a different view definition that identifies a different target data store to store the view (Wu, pa 0627, The central recommending system 2200 generates a list of recommendations that includes all data components that are possibly related to the specified one or more data components. This list contains all data components, which have direct or indirect relationships with the specified data components and is generated without knowledge of the desired display type).
With respect to claims 5-8, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 1-4, and are rejected for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 9, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the view definition is specified according to a query language (Vaschilla, pa 0007, The Target holds the view of the source model, where the mapping is materialized using the query language of the target domain. & Wu, pa 0348, each data view is associated with an XQuery expression. XQuery (see http://www.w3.org/XML/Query), or XML Query, is a query language which can be used to express queries across various forms of data).
With respect to claim 10, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more data stores store data according to a first data model, wherein the target data store stores data according to a second data model, wherein the view management system implements a hub data model, and wherein the first data model and the second data model are respective extensions of the hub data model (Vaschillo, pa 0259-0260, Referring now to FIG. 10, there is illustrated a hub-and-spoke implementation of the mapping architecture of the present invention. This implementation is particularly useful in a large network environment, e.g., the Internet or large corporate network, where the usefulness of data paths at any point in time can be impacted due to network interruptions, available bandwidth, etc. There is provided a central control entity 1000 in communication with any number of data sources (S1, S2, and S3) from and/or through which data is being moved or queried, and any number of intermediate data targets 1008 (also denoted as T/S). Ultimately, it may be desired that the mapping is from one of the sources (S1, S2, and S3) to a target T2. [0260] The central control entity 1000 includes a control component 1002 for controlling all aspects of the entity 1000, including a description component resource 1004 that stores a number of accessible description algorithms for transforming data from one type of data model to another (e.g., a relational, Object, XML, . . . ) & Wu, pa 0107, Saved views of data can act like data sources. They are associated with a query and when a user selects to present a view of data, the query is executed).
With respect to claim 11, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein view definition further specifies a different source data store in addition to the one or more source data stores to obtain further data from the different source data store to store in the target data store as part of the view, wherein the further data stored in the different source data store is stored according to a third data model different from the first data model (Wu, pa 0605, To create the bar chart (ie. a new data view), the planning manager can select to create a new data view having the bar chart display type and the default bar chart display template is displayed, as shown in FIG. 15. The planning manager may then examine the data sources that he/she knows about. Perhaps there are just two known data sources, the SalesTargetsDS and a human resource database (HRDB)).
With respect to claim 12, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the view management system is a materialized view management service offered as part of a provider network that offers a plurality of different data storage services, wherein the target data store is implemented as part of one of the plurality of data storage services different than the one or more source data stores (Vaschillo, pa 0259, There is provided a central control entity 1000 in communication with any number of data sources (S1, S2, and S3) from and/or through which data is being moved or queried, and any number of intermediate data targets 1008 (also denoted as T/S). & Wu, Fig. 1, pa 0100 & 0104).
With respect to claim 14, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 13, wherein evaluating the view definition according to the hub data model to determine the plan to generate the view, comprises: identifying an incompatibility between the one or more source data stores and the target data store(Vaschillo, pa 0044, At 206, the system determines if a mapping error has occurred. If YES, flow is to 208 to report the error.).
Vaschillo doesn't expressly discuss determining a resolution for the incompatibility.
Wu teaches identifying an incompatibility between the one or more source data stores and the target data store; determining a resolution for the incompatibility (Wu, pa 0599, In step 1430, the process 1490 operates to detect a user request of the data browsing application 120 to provide a list of recommendations for other data components that may be relevant to the data view being created. According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view.).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Vaschillo with the teachings of Wu because it assists users in making data views relevant to their tasks (Wu, pa 0595).
With respect to claim 15, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein determining the resolution for the incompatibility comprises: providing, via an interface of the view management system, an indication of the incompatibility (Wu, pa 0599, According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view); and receiving, via the interface of the view management system, the resolution for the incompatibility (Wu, pa 0600, The user can then select data components for the unspecified data component slots from this schema view, the selection action being detected by the process 1490 in step 1445.).
With respect to claim 16, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: determining one or more suggested modifications to the view definition to resolve the incompatibility; and wherein the one or more suggested modifications are provided with the indication of the incompatibility (Wu, pa 0599, According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view).
With respect to claim 17, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the resolution is a selected one of the one or more suggested modifications (Wu, pa 0600, The user can then select data components for the unspecified data component slots from this schema view, the selection action being detected by the process 1490 in step 1445.).
With respect to claim 18, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving a request to create a mapping view definition to a different target data store than the target data store in the view definition (Wu, pa 0600, The user can then select data components for the unspecified data component slots from this schema view, the selection action being detected by the process 1490 in step 1445.); and automatically creating the mapping view definition to the different target data store based on the view definition (Wu, pa 0600, the data of the data view is updated to include the selected data component. the query associated with the data view is also updated.).
With respect to claim 19, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 18, wherein automatically creating the mapping view definition comprises determining a resolution to an identified incompatibility between the one or more source data stores and the different target data store (Wu, pa 0599, According to the one or more specified data components and the semantics of the selected display type, the process 1490 then provides in step 1435 a list of recommendations for one or more unspecified data components of the new data view & pa 0745, Next, in step 3020, the software searches
for views 2710 that contain all or a subset of the required data components 2730).
With respect to claim 20, Vaschillo in view of Wu teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the view management system is a materialized view management service offered as part of a provider network that offers a plurality of different data storage services, wherein the target data store is implemented as part of one of the plurality of data storage services different than the one or more source data stores (Vaschillo, pa 0259, There is provided a central control entity 1000 in communication with any number of data sources (S1, S2, and S3) from and/or through which data is being moved or queried, and any number of intermediate data targets 1008 (also denoted as T/S). & Wu, Fig. 1, pa 0100).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant argues that the current claims are integrated into a practical application because the claimed system provides significant technical advantages including improved computing efficiency and resource utilization by enabling in efficient discovery of incompatible schemas of the materialized view using type system and hub data models without requiring the user to define or translate between the different data stores explicitly and the claims system reduces computational overhead by increasing the speed and flexibility with which of the materialized view can be deployed to additional target data stores. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions of the specification have been reviewed, however, it is not clear how the improvement of computing efficiency and resource utilization and reducing computational overhead is brought out in the claim language. As such, the claims are directed towards a judicial exception without significantly more.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach “detect an incompatibility between a schema for the data specified in the view definition with a second type system of the target data store based, at least in part, on a determination that an item of a data type in the data, supported according to the first type system, violates the rule of the second type system that specifies one or more valid features of the data type for the target data store” because Vaschillo does not discuss how the system determines a mapping error. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vaschillo teaches that the source and target structures are mapped to one another and “It is an error to specify a name for a structure (Type, Element) that is not mapped in another map or does not have a relationship to the Target on the parent Map.” See pa 0119. Further, a validation occurs to ensure the mapped target structure has a valid RelationshipMap (pa 0123). RelationshipMap is a child element of the Map element that provides the information of how to map Relationships in the Source and Target domain. It is needed in order to identify which relationship to use when moving from one structure to another in both target and source domains (pa 0114). Any two mapped target structures that have a relationship defined in the target domain which are mapped to source structures through the Source attribute must have a RelationshipMap (pa 0123).
Applicant argues that Vaschillo fails to teach different type systems. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Each data model exposes at least one of three concepts (or expressions) to mapping: structure, field, and relationship. All of these concepts can be mapped between the data models. It is possible that one data model may have only one or two of the expressions to be mapped into another data model that has three expressions (pa 0005). When the data models have different expressions, a mapping structure indicates how to apply the data. Therefore, the models with different expressions provide different type systems.
Applicant argues that Vaschillo fails to teach that an incompatibility is determined according to a violation of a rule of a type system of the target data store. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. A validation occurs to ensure the mapped target structure has a valid RelationshipMap (pa 0123). This provides a rule of the type system of the target data store.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRITTANY N ALLEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169