DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response Applicant communication filed on
11/4/2025. In Applicant’s amendment, claims 1, 9, and 17 were amended. Claims 2, 10, and 18 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-16, and 18-22 are currently pending and have been rejected as follows.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated new grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's prior art arguments have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the newly cited portions of Saenz below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of
Saenz et al., US 20040024608 A1, hereinafter Saenz, in view of
Siebel et al., US 20170006135 A1, hereinafter Siebel, in view of
Louch et al., US 20080034314 A1, hereinafter Louch, in further view of
Rau et al., US 20060206411 A1, hereinafter Rau. As per,
Claims 1, 9, 17
Saenz teaches
A system comprising: at least one database associated with a service business; and at least one computing device in communication with the at least one database, the at least one computing device configured to: /
A method comprising: /
A system comprising: at least one database associated with a service business; at least one computing device in communication with the at least one database, the at least one computing device configured to: (Saenz fig. 1 and associated text in [0033] noting the multiple databases in communication with a computing device)
extract, from a plurality of databases, data indicative of assets located at one or more properties associated with the service business, wherein the data is in disparate formats, wherein the data indicative of the assets is extracted using at least one of Change Data Capture (CDC) or slowly changing dimensions (SCD); (Saenz Abstract; fig. 1 noting the transactional databases 108, the customer management system (CMS) database 116, and patron contact systems (PCS) database 112; [0042] “FIG. 5 is a data flow diagram which depicts the cooperation between various functional components of the system 100 in effecting a data extraction” note the extraction from the plurality of databases; [0037] “The dimension builder 236 also functions to generate a plurality of multi-dimensional data representations (cubes) based upon the contents of the data warehouse 226, and to store such representations within the multi-dimensional data storage 228;” [0043] “the ETL process 500 is conducted at least once daily, and automatically copies data from the transactional database 108, into the data warehouse 226;” [0118] “the deployment of the PCS module 216 in conjunction with the data warehouse 226 is believed to be unique and to offer the advantages of providing greater access to detailed historical data” noting the incremental storage and historical maintenance of data indicative of the assets)
stage the data indicative of the assets in disparate formats in a staging database, […]; (Saenz [0043] “a data transformation service (DTS) package 510 is developed so as to enable extraction of each of the pertinent fields from the various transactional databases (e.g., the databases 420, 424 and 426). The content of these fields are assembled into staging tables”)
write integration jobs, the integration jobs configured to convert the data indicative of the assets staged in the staging database into a single format, and populate the at least one database using the data indicative of the assets in the single format; (Saenz [0043] “a data transformation service (DTS) package 510 is developed so as to enable extraction of each of the pertinent fields from the various transactional databases (e.g., the databases 420, 424 and 426). The content of these fields are assembled into staging tables 514, at which point various data validation or integrity operations 518 are performed … the resultant transformed data is then used to update 524 the data warehouse 226” Note the developing of the DTS package corresponding to the writing of integration jobs and the resultant transformed data stored in data warehouse 226 corresponding to the populating of a database in a single format)
integrate the data indicative of the assets into the single format and store the data indicative of the assets in the single format in the at least one database using the integration jobs; (Saenz [0043] “The content of these fields are assembled into staging tables 514, at which point various data validation or integrity operations 518 are performed … the resultant transformed data is then used to update 524 the data warehouse 226” Note integration performed and the resultant transformed data stored in data warehouse 226 corresponding to the storing of the data in a database in a single format)
receive, from the at least one database, the data indicative of the assets in the single format; (Saenz [0119] “During operation of the PCS module 216, historical and otherwise "pre-processed" data may be obtained from both the dedicated PCS database 112 and the data warehouse 226” noting the Player Contact System (PCS) module receiving the data in a single format from data warehouse 226)
receive, at a first time and from a client device associated with the service business, a first indication to turn on a first user interface element among a plurality of user interface elements, but not a second user interface element among the plurality of user interface elements, wherein the first user interface element is configured to display real-time information associated with assets located at one or more properties associated with the service business, […]; (Saenz fig. 49; [0133] “a view 1204 may be provided of the set of players currently located on the "floor" of a gaming establishment … each of these views is generated by applying a filter comprised of various criteria or "warehouse measures" to the player data stored within the data warehouse 226” noting the view of current locations of players on the gaming floor by receiving criteria selections from a user corresponding to a first user interface element; fig. 53 noting another user interface view corresponding to a second user interface element; [0140])
receive a second indication of a selected configuration associated with the first user interface element, […]; (Saenz fig. 49; [0133] “a view 1204 may be provided of the set of players currently located on the "floor" of a gaming establishment … each of these views is generated by applying a filter comprised of various criteria or "warehouse measures" to the player data stored within the data warehouse 226” noting the view of current locations of players on the gaming floor by receiving criteria selections from a user. Further note the various criteria available to be selected corresponding to a second indication of a selected configuration associated with the first UI element)
receive a third indication of a selected time frame corresponding to each of the columns, wherein the selected time frame corresponding to a particular column defines a primary time window associated with metric values provided in that column; (Saenz [0155] “date range parameters may be specified in order to define different periods of interest … a user is in the process of entering a date within a Start field 6812 for the first date range, i.e., Range One 6814, of a customized period. As shown, the user may also enter start/end date information defining a second period, i.e., Range Two 6820” note the receiving of user selected time frames and presenting metrics tied to those time frames)
receive a fourth indication of a selected variance for each of the selected time frames, wherein the selected variance for a particular selected time frame indicates a difference between the metric values provided in the corresponding column in the primary time window and the metric values provided in the corresponding column in a selected historical time window; (Saenz [0155] “variance in performance then computed between the defined periods;” [0156] “the user has selected the system-defined date ranges of "Last Month" for Range One 6914 and "Month to date" for Range Two 6920 … a Variance (R1-R2) column 7060 reflective of the variance between the results of like kind for the two date ranges, and a Variance % column 7064 indicative of the corresponding variance percentage” note the two time frames and a variance between the two time frames. Further note the “Last Month” and “Month to date” compared time frames corresponding to a historical time window)
in response to receiving the first indication, populate the first user interface element with at least a first portion of the data indicative of the assets in the single format based at least on the second indication, the third indication, and the fourth indication; (Saenz fig. 49; [0133] “each of these views is generated by applying a filter comprised of various criteria or "warehouse measures" to the player data stored within the data warehouse 226” noting the view generated by applying the filters and the data pulled from the data warehouse 226)
receive, at a second time occurring after the first time and from the client device associated with the service business, a fifth indication to turn on the second user interface element among the plurality of user interface elements; and (Saenz [0140] “Turning now to FIG. 53, a user interface window 5300 is depicted which includes an initial Player Detail View pane 5310. Referring to FIG. 12, the initial Player Detail View pane 5310 may be caused to appear through execution of a Load Player Detail View operation 1232 from the context of each of the views 1204, 1208 and 1210” noting the player detail view shown by selection from the previous view)
in response to receiving the fifth indication and without retrieving additional data from the at least one database, populate the second user interface element with at least a second portion of the stored data indicative of the assets associated with the service business in the single format. (Saenz fig. 53; [0140] noting the view shown; [0119] “If there has been no activity on the applicable user account recorded in the transactional databases 108 since the last update of the data warehouse 226, the PCS module 216 pulls data exclusively from the data warehouse 226. This configuration significantly reduces load on the underlying transactional system” noting the system not retrieving additional data to reduce load if there is no new activity)
Saenz does not explicitly teach, Siebel however in the analogous art of data processing teaches
[…] the staging database separated from the plurality of databases by a protective firewall; (Siebel [0163], [0166] noting the partitioning of databases; [0538] “The enterprise Internet-of-Things application development platform 3002 may be implemented as a computer system, such as a server or series of servers and other hardware (e.g., applications servers, analytic computational servers, database servers, data integrator servers, network infrastructure (e.g., firewalls, routers, and communication nodes))” noting the firewalls)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saenz’s asset management system to include separating the databases with a firewall in view of Siebel in an effort to improve operational efficiencies (see Siebel ¶ [0060] & MPEP 2143G).
Saenz / Siebel do not explicitly teach, Louch however in the analogous art of data processing teaches
wherein the second user interface element is turned-off, and wherein only turned-on user interface elements among the plurality of user interface elements are accessible by the client device associated with the service business; (Louch [0153] “Users can also toggle each element on and off (e.g., enable/disable the widget, dashboard, etc.) by selecting a checkbox 708 located to the left of each element listing” note the selective enabling and disabling of elements/widgets/dashboards)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saenz’s asset management system and Siebel’s firewalled databases to include selectively user interface element displays in view of Louch in an effort to reduce information overland and improve user efficiency (see Louch ¶ [0018] & MPEP 2143G).
Saenz / Siebel / Louch do not explicitly teach, Rau however in the analogous art of data processing teaches
[…] wherein the selected configuration defines which columns are displayed via the first user interface element, wherein each of the columns provides a different type of information about the assets; and (Rau fig. 8 note the text “Select the columns you would like to display.” [0048] “The user may select columns, specify an operation (e.g., add, multiply, subtract, divide, determine average, determine maximum, determine minimum) to perform on the selected columns, and have the results displayed in a new column” note the metrics; fig. 7; [0047] “a user may select what … information to display” note the different types of information for each column)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saenz’s asset management system, Siebel’s firewalled databases, and Louch’s interface elements to include column configuration in view of Rau in an effort to increase overall operational efficiency (see Rau ¶ [0007] & MPEP 2143G).
Claims 3, 11, 19
wherein the information associated with the assets located at the one or more properties associated with the service business comprises at least one of information associated with guests located at the one or more properties associated with the service business and information associated with devices located at the one or more properties associated with the service business. (Saenz [0128] “The PCS module … allows users to drill down into finer grains of detail as needed to acquire information relating to the gaming activity metrics of interest. Representative metrics include, for example, number of visits to the applicable casino, theoretical win (i.e., the product of the aggregate amount of money exchanged during playing of a given game and the percentage of such aggregate amount expected to be retained by the applicable casino installation)” noting the statistics regarding both the patrons and the applicable casino installation itself)
Claims 4, 12, 20
wherein the information associated with guests located at the one or more properties associated with the service business comprises at least one of a market associated with each guest, a state associated with each guest, a tier status associated with each guest, a quantity of days since last contact associated with each guest, a zip code associated with each guest, one or more traits associated with each guest, a last contact date associated with each guest, one or more preferences associated with each guest, a last play date associated with each guest, and a birthday month associated with each guest. (Saenz fig. 36; [0096] “In the embodiment of FIG. 36 the set of population members within a given zip code are aggregated and the composite results for each zip code are displayed.”)
Claims 5, 13, 21
wherein the information associated with guests located at the one or more properties associated with the service business comprises at least one total theoretical profit associated with each guest, total actual profit associated with each guest, total average daily worth (ADW) associated with each guest, total average daily theoretical (ADT) associated with each guest, and total play days associated with each guest. (Saenz fig. 35 noting the total theoretical and the theoretical per patron; [0095] “FIG. 35 depicts a user interface window 3500 illustratively representing the type of quantitative analysis which may be effected with respect to selected campaign Segment populations. As is indicated by FIG. 35, a Selected Segments sub-panel 3510 accessible upon selection of the Segments tab 3310 displays various statistical information associated with a pair of campaign Segment populations. These statistics include, for example, total theoretical win 3520 for the Segment population, average theoretical win per patron 3530 within the Segment population”)
Claims 6, 14, 22
wherein the information associated with devices located at the one or more properties associated with the service business comprises at least one of theoretical profit associated with each device, actual profit associated with each device, average daily worth (ADW) associated with each device, average daily theoretical (ADT) associated with each device, and play days associated with each device. (Saenz [0128] “The PCS module 216 preferably uses a folder-tree type of GUI that allows users to drill down into finer grains of detail as needed to acquire information relating to the gaming activity metrics of interest. Representative metrics include, for example, number of visits to the applicable casino, theoretical win (i.e., the product of the aggregate amount of money exchanged during playing of a given game and the percentage of such aggregate amount expected to be retained by the applicable casino installation), average theoretical win per visit, actual win/loss for slot machines and table games”)
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of
Saenz in view of Siebel, in view of Louch, in further view of Rau, in further view of
Buchan, US 20040153437 A1, cite no. 1 on IDS filed 10/28/2022, hereinafter Buchan. As per,
Claims 7, 15
Saenz / Siebel / Louch / Rau do not explicitly teach, Buchan however in the analogous art of asset management teaches
wherein the first user interface element is further configured to display one or more tags associated with at least some of the assets, wherein a tag associated with an asset is an indicator that provides information associated with the asset. (Buchan figs. 8-10; [0080]-[0083] actions and results labeled (tags) in each column; the labeled column (tag) for actions with respect to the plant systems (an asset))
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saenz’s asset management system , Siebel’s firewalled databases, Louch’s interface elements, and Rau’s column configuration to include interface tags in view of Buchan in an effort to improve uptime performance of an asset (see Buchan ¶ [0051]-[0052] & MPEP 2143G).
Claims 8, 16
Saenz / Siebel / Louch / Rau do not explicitly teach, Buchan however in the analogous art of asset management teaches
wherein the first user interface element is further configured to display a task that needs to be performed by personnel at the service business based on the tag. (Buchan figs. 8-10; [0080]-[0083]; [0097]-[0099] corrective or preventative action (task))
The rationales to modify/combine the teachings of Saenz / Siebel / Louch / Rau with/and the teachings of Buchan are presented in the examining of claims 7, 15 and incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160180030 A1; AU 2014249820 A1; Sharp et al., Online games and e-business: Architecture for integrating business models and services into online games, 2006.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624